(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

need to ask your opinion on something, today I took leave to take care of bb coz yesterday jab, so afraid today have fever. Also in view of MIL complaining that she cannot handle taking care of bb, and me quitting my job to take care of bb full time, I get very upset when MIL still hover and snatch bb away from me to carry... like today's bath, I was happily washing her hair with a cloth, and she just snatched the cloth away from me and wash the back of the head... and just now, bb was crying, so I wanted to pick her up... again, she just picked her up and dun let me carry..

I think if this is going to continue when I stop work for good, then I will be in deep trouble with my MIL, coz I sure will show black face want...

Any mummies feel like that? Since I am assuming full responsibility as bb's care giver, shouldn't I have say about how I want to take care of my daughter, since MIL doesn't want to take care of her? Or am I just being too protective?

rachel - how do u get dumex sample? i also want to try out before buying? is it dumex gold?

sleepingdeer - when ya back to work..do u still have to go ur MIL place? why dun u stay home and look after baby alone. in tat case u wont have conflicts with your MIL.

Sleepingdeer, u staying with ur mil??

me also thinking of getting the bobux shoes... which size u getting?

SSF - me using similac now, so far bb seem to like the taste...

sleepingdeer
think your MIL is not used of having you around bah. so she still react and respond the way she do when you are away to work. this actions of hers have upset you which she herself is not unware of. you stay with her? if no then no worry coz your gal will be all to yourself after you are SAHM. but if yes.... then maybe you should inform her that since you will be fully caring for your gal, she is free to do her stuff le.

Another photo to share with u.. its a photo of my new freezer which I bought just to store EBM. Hee hee. Just for keepsake before my MS goes down when I start work on 17th.

398556.jpg

398557.jpg

398558.jpg

SSF
I got the request form from one of those baby magazine which was given to us in the goodie bag from the hospital. so i just fill up the form and post it. they even call me up to check my address and what FM Im using now.

hi tracy..
yes my gynae is Doc Soong.
Yalor, i oso read from the thread that babies are drinking lesser now.. so i was wondering if i'm overfeeding
Any mummies giving Wyeth S-26Gold to babies?

sleepingdeer,
I also faced similar problems like u earlier when bb was about 1-2 weeks old. She would carry Ariene for no reason and refuse to put her down. She even insisted on staying overnight every Mon & Thurs here and want Ariene to sleep with her without consulting me. I felt that was over the limits, so I was very clear to my husband and MIL that I wasn't happy with that arrangement. Thereafter, I was very firm with my MIL. When she carries Ariene for no reason, I would ask her to put Ariene down. When she "fights" with me for Ariene (like your MIL) I would firmly ask her to "return" me MY baby. It may sound rude but I felt it was necessary to set certain boundaries right. Now, I don't have this problem anymore. In fact, my MIL would ask me for "permission".

Rachel,
I collected some from hospital, a few from a fellow mom in the forum, some from my sis and another 45 more from hospitals. Still not enough.. today threw away another 10 bottles of old milk to "refresh" stock cuz no more bottles to store. My girl is consuming less than my production.

Wendy,
WOW WOW WOW! I must say your MS is damn fantastic man! You can make a business selling yoru BM with the amount that you have! I only have a pathertic 6 bottles in reserves right now.

wendy
wow, your MS is so good. mine so miserable. why throw away?? feel so wasted.i want more oso dont have woh =( you can buy those BM storage bag. like that your gal will have plenty to drink le =)

SSF - i am using Dumex Mamex gold for Celeste right now and she has been liking it so far... my MS also super low, so only 1 out of her 5-6feeds is BM... juz gota try harder... alittle is stil better than nothing rite
i did try switching to Similac but it seems to be create alot of bubbles and causes Celeste to have alot of wind... switched back to Mamex... anyway, if you compare the scoop, Dumex is cheaper... you will know what i mean when u see the scoop...Dumex per scoop is 30ml & Similac 1scoop is 60ml... but the depth of the Similac scoop will tell you how soon the milk can b consumed!!! anyway, Dumex is a rather mid range milk powder,not too cheap not too exp and it was recommended by my gynae...

Steriliser : NUK is very exp! i saw it on Sun at $119 ( offer somemore )... i also got 1 Pigeon $87 to share wf my sis-in-law to put at my in-laws house since they looking after our babies... think long run, its qorth spending since they can use up to 2 years old and by then , no. 2 will be coming along too!!!

mongs,

what rachel/tracy said is correct - must like bb suckle on the blocked duct side. The LC taught me to "open" up your nipple first and then massage to clear the lumps. You "open" up the nipples by twisting them using U and C with your fingers. If really cannot massage away, then need to get the LC to clear.

rachel,

I think so too. As it is now, even when I am very irritated and super frustrated with her, she smiles at me then I can forget abt how angry I am. Can you imagine when she starts to walk and talk and start calling you mummy? Better train myself to be more hardhearted so that can disciple her in future.

rachel,queen
As you can see, I'm out of space even for storing with freezer bags. I also feel very wasted but no choice la.. I also don't want to keep the EB<in>1month so I throw away those that are >3 weeks old so I can recycle the bottles.

Then, my next problem is... my girl refuses to drink EBM from bottle.. she only wants to latch on. Everyday, my maid has to fight battle with her to force her to suck EBM from the bottle. No choice la.. 17th going back work, she's gonna starve for half day until I get home. Sat, if I can recover from my eye infection in time, you'll see that I'll be latching on Ariene in public. I don't have a choice else she'll be screaming at the top of her head when she sees the bottle coming her way.

sleepingdeer,

I also bought the window shade mobile! It's the one from the small small world right? I am looking forward to the delivery.

What's a bumpermat?

I also like the bobux shoes but not sure if it's really practical leh. Since our babies can't walk now.

sl,
I'm also very scared my MS will drop once I start work.. now at home, can latch and pump at will. Back at work, sure get engorged one. Last time already no time to eat between breaks. Now, still need to pump and eat, also dunno how to handle.. sianz.. don't feel like going back to work.. I'll miss my girl..

wendyheng
he will be 11 weeks tomo!

sl
haha no matter how hard you try to be hardhearted, once she smile and baby talk to you, confirm will give in one =)
for example yesterday, when me and hubby reach my mum place after work. as usual my boy refuse to sleep. finally my mum could him to sleep and put him in sarong. not more than 10 mins he woke up again and twist about in it, wanting to come out. my hubby go shake the sarong (all the while avoid to have any eye contact with him), hoping he will drift off to sleep. when my hubby take a look to see has he zzz liao, and guess what, he eye big big look at my hubby and said "ah guuuuu"! thats it! it melts my hubby heart and ended up carry him out of sarong and start playing with him! give up! =p

wendy
have you thought of putting some at your mum and MIL place? when you guys are over there for visit can prepare those for your gal. in freezer can store up to 3 months and above one. consider?

you are a teacher right? must busy very busy conducting lesson, can understand your worries are there... working mummy not easy.

wendy - Whoa!!! tats a lot alot of milk!!!!! ya doing such a good job. keep it up. may i name you the mother of all MILK. hehee..u deserve tat title :p i threw away all 7 glass bottles as no one wants them and its been an eye sore to have them around since its breakable. my record as of now is only 11 packs of frozen EBM and i think i have to use them up pretty soon since my MS is dipping.

re: rashes on bb's face

my boy has very bad rashes on his face and it doesnt seem to go away. so sad to see his face red all the time. i thot baby is suppose to have smooth silk skin. his neck has rashes too. we are thinking of bringing him to see PD but not sure if its normal. i am also trying to watch my diet too as not sure if its because of what i eat. i tried to cut down on spicy food already but his face still the same.

wendy
that is tough.. must really get your gal to drink from bottle. if not go hungry how? i let my boy drink from bottle 3 weeks before i go back to work. lucky he take the teat willingly, although sometime still play with the teat for sometime before he finally suck.try to reduce the number of time of latching, might help. jia you!

Hi SSF, Pochacco, Rachel,
Yes, I stay with my MIL
It's really irritating me, first she complains of taking care of bb, and then now she fight over bb with me... now that she is sleepy, she just leave bb alone to take a nap... seems like I become her assistant to take care of bb, when she happy to carry bb, she does it, irregardless of what I may be doing. When not happy or tired, I take over? sian...

Wendy, I really admire you for your way of dealing with MIL and your milk supply leh! very firm with your MIL, how I iwsh I can also say that to her...

POchacco,
I bought M, L and XL, figure that at $25, it's really worth it and she can wear all the way to 2 years old...

SL,
I got it first, coz she can start using at 8months liao.. might as well, since it is really reasonable...!

sep03bride,
200ml every 3 hrs?? My boy is born on the same day as yours, he consumes only 120ml every 3hrly. He's about 6.7kg... wow, your must be quite mighty, maybe can fight with Rena's.

sleepingdeer (sleepingdeer)
Oh i think u replying to wendy ng. hehe. Ya she's correct should be firm. Luckily my mil very good!!!! Help me nite feeding actually she's a insurance agent so time is flexible ma... Glad i got her but i also wake up when i hear my baby cry in the nite but mostly nite feed is my mil. Me working ma.... I look after my son when e next day i'm not working and weekend.

Because she noe i cant cope alone so she help me. but luckily i play with him he still smile. at least i feel better. hai no choice i feel that i need rest too. but when he can slp thru nite i'll put him back to my room....

wendyheng,
sori delayed reply, went out lunch appt. my email is [email protected]

SSF,
i used to feed Similac, but after jus half tin, i switched to Friso cos like gods_child, i tink it causes wind in her. Similac got lotsa bubbles when u stir it.

Wendy (Slinky)
wah wah wah!!! my jaw dropped whn i saw ur storage of ms!! envy envy...

Wendyheng,
yah, if I still intend to work, and MIL taking care of bb, then nothing to say... but I stopping work soon already, and she had complained that she cannot handle taking care of bb leh...

SSF,
maybe you should check whether his neck is clean? My gal also, first 2 months so many rashes on her face, it spread to her tummy and arms...it was terrible. Then we realised that coz she have many folds under her neck, we were not cleaning in between the folds well enough, and the milk and dirt remained trapped in the folds, causing the rashes... now we make a very conscious effort to clean her neck well, even if she screams like hell when we do it! Coz the folds are red from heat and moisture...

SL,
bumpermat is like a playmat, only better... I wanted to buy one for her to play on when she starts crawling, since with the bulk purchase, it was $151 instead of $189, saved about $38, so decided to get it a little earlier!

hi cindy,
i'm actually quite concerned abt the amt of milk that he drinks. I'm thinking of going to a PD and check if everything is ok.
Read somewhere in the thread that a PD at CCK Kidslink is quite good, does any mummies goes to him? Can advise contact no?

Hi Wendy,
she is only 3 months, but I kaisu mummy, since have huge discount, so bought the bumpermat first, as I was gonna buy it later on anyway...
Want to use it to train her arm muscles when I place her on her tummy in the day...

Think it depends on your son's needs... like for my gal, I bought the car window mobile coz she hates sitting in car seat, so need to get something to entertain her... for her, she loves moving objects, that's why I bought one that can turn automatically..

The 3 shoes I bought can use till 2 years old, so ok for that price...

Wanted to get her cloth books also... also having bulk purchase, but my hubby say wait first... so ok, have to stop buying now..

Nope, she is not sleeping through the night yet, wake up at least twice in the night for feeding.

tracy - yeah lotsa of bubbles when i swirl the bottle of Similac. hmm..may consider changing but then worry he will not like the taste of the new FM. so confuse.

sleepingdeer - thks..will check out his neck when cleaning. agree that its difficult to clean that area thoroughly.

oic. hehe any cheap bumpermat??? If so inform me??? How much u buy??? This fri my son 3 months too. Wat's cloth books? U since like noe alot of stuff ah. me stupid one haha

SSF,
My PD recommends to put a little diaper rash cream on neck to help keep off the moisture. My bb's condition improves after that. I also bought liquid talc for night use... better than powder as it doesn't leave a 'powder line' when he sweats.

sleepingdeer (sleepingdeer)
My son will alway sleeping when in the car
different character ma. hehe
That day i trying place him in tummy end up he cry and cry. He cant even lift up his head and arm. hai. Actually must train ah

wendy ng,

Yea, I can understand. I also fear that there might be no time or place for me to pump when working. But so far okay. For me, I believe that God will provide so i don't freeze a lot.

wendyheng,

you can check out bulk purchases at the marketplace threads. Some of them are really worth buying.

i bought carters dress sets for $8 each.

Was bz the past week at work &amp; socially

Well, I started feeding Cephas unpolished rice (Chor Bi)this week. He is enjoying it. He loves drinking from the spoon

He's growing really well &amp; will be brining him for his 4th mth jab next Tue. Yep, he turned 4th months on 2 Apr. So fast! Very cheeky boy! Always grinning, laughing &amp; making noises nowadays.

In the morning, he will suck his thumb when he wakes up &amp; his eye-lids are half closed. When I pull out his thumb, he will open his eyes &amp; give me a sheepish grin (look of guilt).