(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rena
My bb same same as yours, recently not interested in drink milk, drink half to satisfy his stomach and then start to talk, smile and play with me. Very angry as he wasted at least 100ml of EBM everyday.

sleepingdeer,
my email address is [email protected]
ok, will PM you all my account no.
Pls include tabbiesus, sunny and sl in your email to Ling too! Thanks!

Feeding interval
Week 14 already and my boy still drinking 100ml only, 8 feeds aday, so about 800ml daily only, he still managed to gain weight infact slightly overweight at 6.8kg at 3mths. Maybe he absorb everything as he poo once every 3-4 days.

Wonder how you all managed to stretch the feeding interval ? Sometimes I am too slow in warming the milk, he will start crying.

Today, quite bad, he was on 3 hrly feed but today change back to 2 hrly, another growth spurt?

Tracy,
yah... lug at least 1kg or so worth of ice packs. If not how to keep the EBM cool for 12 hours. Adding the weight of the EBM, maybe ~500g, the cooler bag weight is about 2kg liao. Yep, still using 2 Avent manual pumps at the same time. The pumps are very light, portable and easy to wash. I don't even put the pumps in a proper bag. Just thrown them into a big ziploc bag. Anyway, I take about 10-15 mins to get 180-200ml from both breast with 1 letdown and some breast compression. If I continue to pump for another 5-10 mins, sometimes can get another letdown, that will give me another 20-30ml. So my best record is 230ml so far. All in all, if MS is good can get 200ml in 15 mins. If not so good, have to pump like 25mins to get the 200ml. I find that using 2 Avents can save some time, at least don't have to switch between breasts with just 1 pump and can catch and pump the letdowns at the same time. With 1 pump, once the letdown comes, can only pump 1 breast while the other breast leaks. Waste of milk!

Rachel,
I dunno whether will starve our BBs if we let them sleep through. That's my worry also cos direct latch before sleeping, dunno if my boy taking enough to last him for at least 5 hours...
Which building you work in again? Perhaps you can let the mummies share the nursing room? Just tell them you need to pump and if they don't mind, can share the room with you.

Re: when to stop BF
I also intend to TBF for 6 months inititally. Now I'm thinking maybe continue BF till the no. of milk feed are down to only 2 or 3 feeds a day. Then will switch to FM. But dunno when that will be? Or stop when MS drops. If MS is still there, a bit wasted to stop BF. Last Sat, I was sharing the nursing room with another mom. Looks to be late 20s or early 30w, still direct latching his boy who can talk and walk liao. Definitely more than 1 years old.

Re: when to stop BF
I also intended to TBF with direct latching-on for 6mths but now I start to become lazy... don't wake up at night to pump... stopped taking papaya soup for 2 weeks already, and not consistent with the fenugreek capsules. The MS has dropped. I can feel it, cos in the mornings now, not so painful with engorgement already... Now i think I'll just give whatever I still have and top up with FM and also start giving EBM & FM full-time (no direct latch)from 4-5 mths onwards when BB starts to grow teeth...

YuenYeun,
My boy is 13.5 weeks with 7-8 feeds a day. Cos I latch him on so dunno the total amount he drinks. But when on bottle, he takes 180-220ml of EBM/FM. I seldom give FM. If any, it'll be like 1 every 2-3 days or when I go back to the shop. He poos 2-3 times every day.

I read today on the back of the Enfalac A+ tin: for BBs 12 wks or older, feeding is 4-5 times, 240ml per feed in a day. It's a bit too much too little isn't it? If you know what I mean... too much FM per feed, too little times a day.

Rena,
Re: Gathering
I'll pay you on Sat. Might not bring my elder son, cos no one else is bring an older sibling leh... he might get bored.

I'll bring both my slings also, so we can play around with them.

Cookie,
Do let me know if you need a lift or not.

queen - no did not go to the spa as there are limited services in the hotel i am staying. the rest are available in other resorts in nirwana itself. moreover not cheap also.

tracy - welcome to the thread..wat a coincidence on our delivery. hee..

SY
I dun wake my boy up for night feeds, think you can try that. they'll slowly adjust their clock and drop the night feed. I also feed him more during the last feed.

re colic drops
we use detinox. qt good and taste better than ridwind.

wendy
the pics are so sweet and the effect is v good. thanks for sharing.

morning "moo-mies" (dats wat my colleague calls me now)!

sigh, i also getting lazy expressing milk evryday. dun tink can last 6mths..my gynae was telling me 4mths can oredi. i used to target to express at least 100ml per session, now can't be bothered, jus express watever amt the breasts can give then stop liao. sometimes, i secretly wish got some valid reason to stop now cos i feel guilty stopping cos only lazy.

queen,
thks for sharing. maybe i'll try dat, cos my SIL passed me her manual pump so i ve 2 pumps too. i jus lazy lah..

SSF,
ya, same day, also c-section, also TMC. hee hee.maybe our babies know each other.

sleepingdeer,
so u took the rotavirus vac same day as the jab? hen when's the next dose? cos my bb's due for her 3-mth jab next wed.

re: when to stop breastfeeding
actually I will cont to pump in the office and latch on at home even if there is very little milk. hopefully by the time clariss is 6 months old and the no. of feeds drop to 2-3 per day, I will still have enough for her. I intend to breastfeed as long as possible and only stop if my milk dwindle to nothing or she wants to stop. it's a bit troublesome and at times baby may want to stick on like a leech but I find it fulfilling.

my colleague whose son is 3 and half is still breastfeeding her at night. it's really amazing that there is still milk after such a long time but it's not really enough for his supper so she top up a bit of FM.

queen
my fren din give her bb milk when she wakes up at night n slowly she learned to sleep thru. thijnking of trying to pat him to sleep at night if he does wake up for feed.

rachel, sleepingdeer,
i know i shouldn't feel sad abt how bb is begaving but can't help it, i can't talk to him for more than 5 min without him complaining...he will shout if i dun carry him.

tracy
hee i m also like u. now getting lazy in pumping but dun wan to stop too. hoping for ss to fall then got reason to stop...

krissie,
i tink pigeon has one of the cheapest sterilizer. i've not tried it tho, i'm using the avent one. at my MIL's place, she uses the boiling method cos only 3 bots.

SY,
dun feel bad. now dat i leave my bb at MIL's, i only get to bathe and wipe her down on wknds, so spend less bonding time wif her. initially wori dat she'll b more attch to my MIL, but it seems she still knows who's mummy. whenever i return hm fm work, she v happy to c me. so dun wori, they noe who's mummy one. sometimes they also noe who to bully. like she bullies daddy by crying whenever he's around to make him carry her cos he more meaty

hi mummies..shld our bb be drinking less often now? i am still feeding my boy every 3 hrs except for the night time. shldn't their milk time be dragged to maybe every 4 or 5 hrs instead?

i also wundering, cos i read most mummies' bb feeding less now. but my bb still the same..140ml 3hrly. only rarely drag to 3.5-4hr but once a day.

tracy
My boy dun seem to recognise me when i come home. so sad.. he only baby talk with daddy.

was wondering if tollyjoy etc is cheaper than the pigeon one.

queen

im working in IMM building. so there is totallly NO nursing room in the whole building expect for 1 miserable small diaper room with a miserable small bench.with 2 adults inside is so cramp. it is beside gaint so can imagine the human traffic and noise... most of time is parent wanting to change their baby diaper. so oso cant keep open and close the door to let people in and out... sigh...
stupid management...

SY / tracy
agreed with tracy that babies really know who to bully and who to look for for different needs. my boy bully my mum! in the day time when at my mum place he will not want to sleep or will only take very short nap like 10 mins and will cry for attention and to be carry around. he dont even allow my mum to sit down when carrying him! will cry and complain untill she get up and walk around.
but when it comes to weekends when me and my hubby take care of him, he will sleep more and longer during the day. funny right? think he know that me and hubby not that easy to deal with bah haha

rachel,
aiyo, IMM building sounds bad. such a huge bldg but poor facilities.

yup, babies are quite smart after all, choosing ppl. my bb luvs to chat wif my mum. n my bb prefers girls to boys cos she ignores my nephews, but whn my nieces tok to her, she smiles and replies.

anyone have a blocked duct prob before. can the baby suckling relieve the block duct? I felt a bit feverish, my colleague says that baby can't feed on the side that has blocked duct. so I need to see a lactation consultant? I tried to apply hot towel but it's not much use. still painful.

queen,

at least your wt is only from the ice bag - I have to lug my pump around somewhere. I am using the PIs - it's really heavy.

re: when to stop bf
Ya - my original target is also 6 mths, according to WHO guidelines mah. But now I also agree with queen that it's a waste to stop when there's still ms. Take one step at a time and see lor.

denmy,
the lc told me that there's no need to pump at night anymore unless the engorgement is terrible. I also don't feel the engorgement anymore now. I just feel that my breasts are full but not painful.

sleepingdeer,

my email add is [email protected]

krissie,

i bought my pigeon during offer. It's $87. I quite like it cos you can use any bottles - not restricted to pigeon bottles.

rachel,

I also agree that babies are very smart - they really know how to bully. mine bullies me cos I more softhearted.

krissie,

you may want to get the Piegon on.. it cost about 39 dollars.. but can only sterlize 2 bottle.. for traveling also can..

tollyjoy is cheaper than pigeon. i may consider switching to tollyjoy once my pigeon is used up.

so sad my MS seems to dip lately. no choice for the past 2 nights need to give my boy FM instead. but realise he doesnt like drinking water at all. we tried waking him up an hr after feed last night and he was so disturbed and keep wailing. stopped only when we put him back to the cot. i tried changing to NUK bottles for water but he also doesnt like it. any idea how to introduce water to him? as i am worried once i switched to FM totally he will not like water at all

rachel,

my boy is the same.. usually bully my MIL...

RE: gathering.

in case of anyone who is worried of the hand foot and mouth .. I will bring some alcho wipes.. plus we should all try not to touch babies hands.. if so can minimize the worries lor...

Alr apply ru yee oil for my boy but still e same. b4 his nite feed an hour wake up cried. hai but i carry him let him suck zhuzhu then he return to sleep. my nanny said is it because now is qing ming baby c those things so afraid nite time wake up. Today alr the six day still like that. hai. But if he's healthy not sick then ok loh. hai. any advice again????????

mongs

MUST let your bb suckle more on the affected breast! your colleague is wrong. for me i kena three times on my right breast. what i do is keep massaging the affected breast when bb is latch, although the pain is killing me. must massage alot and must use some force to press on the lumps. push towards your nipple. bb suckle works best to remove the block duct. i works for me =) even if you go see a LC, what she will do is oso press and push and no joke.. the pain is killing! me went to see a LC before regarding breastfeeding and she helped me clear my ducts. wow!! PAIN!
so let your bb start on the affected breast first to help clear the block ducts. read from a book that if you are right handed, the right breast will tends to be more likely to block due to the position bb is carry and suckle powder will be affected.
hope my info helps.

hi rena..
did not weigh my boi for quite some time already..his next visit to doc is 18th Apr..
He is about 12 weeks..delivered on 17th Jan

rena
where did u buy the $39 steraliser? I've not seen it before.

SSF
any idea how much is the tollyjoy steraliser?

SY (sychua79)
How old is your friend's baby??? I thinking of not feeding him le but he's still small this fri 3 mths. hai don noe wat to do. How your friend did it???? Advice me can???? Really very tired as i'm working mummy. can use zhuzhu when he wake up the nite???? don feed him. actually hope he can slp thru without even waking up in the nite

mongs,
yes yes, must let bb suckle to clear ur blocked duct! for me, my bb forgot my breast oredi cos i stopped direct latch long ago. so now got block duct gotta slowly massage n keep pumping.

Sept03,
dunno leh, i was reading that most mummies here experiencing bb drinking less. but urs is reali wow! 200ml? btw we ve the same gynae - Dr. Soong rite?

krissie - sorry i thot you are referring to the washing detergent. as for steriliser..there is also the NUK steriliser but not sure abt the price.

any mummies out there using Similac FM ? i thot of stocking up some milk powder at my mum's place just in case my EBM is not enough when i am at work. currently using Similac and heard many feedback that its heaty. anyone switched from Similac to other brand? what abt Dumex? any recommendation?

Tracy (cml77)
Haha actually i don really believe this but is my nanny said. Now still thinking wat cause him like this. as he alway sleep in air-con room temp is alway the same. hai maybe this few days he's more fussy loh.
Can have your email????

tracy
yah, what to do. ,my working environment can only allow me to pump once at work. so every morning before go work and every evening after work i will always get my boy to latch on, even if he is not hungry. at least help me to empty my breasts and reduce the discomfort of fullness.
the inconvience of no nursing room is really discouraging...

sept03 bride
wow your bb drink alot! how old is he? wt?

sl / rena
believe our babies will bully us even more when they start to talk, walk and run. will confirm make our blood boil and us pulling our hair! hahaha oh dear..

wendyheng
maybe this is a transition period for your boy. since you have done whatever is possible to make him sleep better. since he is drinking and feeding well,he will be growing well. but for you its tough since have to stay awoke and coax him through the night. take care of yourself. I went through the same period like you are now.

picasa
yes, this is the picasa that can edit photos and upload directly to your blog.

pigeon steriliser
Cheong Choon is selling it for $80+. Can sterilise 6 bottles

mongs
If ur ducts are blocked, you should let ur baby suck even more. Keep nursing on the affected side until the blockage is cleared.

gathering
I really would love to go but now, my left eye swollen from infection. Dunno if I can recover by sat or not

back to work this week. manage to clear all emails one day 1 but beginning to feel the pressure coming. kept thinking abt what my boi is doing nw etc etc and also kept worrying if he will be used to my mum's care and whether my mum will bring him up the way i wan etc etc.. the list just goes on and on..

RE. feeding interval,
i m feeing Javier on a 4 hrs + interval.. he is ok with it.. and in fact nw he seldom cry for milk cos we will feed him before he cry out loud.. so ard the time, we will prepare the milk, say put all hot water till half way and when he is fully awake, will feed him before he cries.. oh btw, he is drinking like 150ml starting 5+am, 11+am, 3+pm, 7+pm and 11+pm.. and nxt will be 5+am again.. total 5 feeds and the 7+pm one we will feed lesser cos if nt he cant drink much at the 11+pm feed.. but i did notice he drink slightly lesser nw and tend to play with the teats when the milk is finishing soon.

RE, breast feeding
I gave him full FM nw.. tho at times when i try to squeeze my breast there are still some milk.. but it will be hard and painful liao lor.. guess i m those low MS type so its easy for me to wean him off totally.. ya i kept blaming myself for using laziness to cut him off BM but at least i see that he is sleeping and playing well.. and most impt i m nt that stress except missing those days when he latched on..

mummies, enjoy the gathering this coming sat and i will try to join the nxt time rd.. now dn with flu and cough. will look fwd to ur pics tho.. ;)

SSF
im giving similac to my boy. out of 7 feeds a day, 2 feeds are on FM. since returning to work have start supplement abit of FM. want him to get use to FM when the time comes when he will be totally on FM. not sure whether is it due to FM but my boy has little pimples recently. or is it due to the weather im not sure too. but his stool is soft.
now waiting for Dumex to send their sample to me. then will try out and see whether it suit my boy.

Hi Tracy,
next dose is in two month's time...

Wendy,
You should try the Singapore motherhood marketplace and exchange thread, lots of bulk purchases going on... I just bought a bumpermat for bb, and a car window mobile for her... the bobux shoes are also on bulk purchase right now, and they are super cheap, about $25 instead of the usual $42.

Krissie,
I saw the two bottle Pigeon sterilzer at IMM, at the kiddy shop. Is the name Kids Mall or something like that..