(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

pochacco,
can you continue to update me on your new milk experiment? My bb has been disinterested in his milk a few weeks ago but i did not change formula as PD says it may not be of much help, moreover his poo and weight gain has been ok with current formula too.

how old is your bb?

Re: Weight gain
I know bb weight gain suppose to slow down after 3 mths. Any mommies experiencing this? My bb is only 10 weeks but his 8th-10th week weight gain is very much slower than before. Due to lowered milk intake i suppose, but so stressful to see slow weight gain this early.

rena
can still do any amendments to the buffet? my hb just told me that on that day we are celebrating my mil's birthday!!! got to cancel the buffet. might still be able to go for the gathering. so sorry about that.

how's your bb's sleeping pattern recently? my gal is 11th week already. and she still zzz a lot. is it normal?

sleepingdeer
i applaud u for making the decision to quit to take care of your bb. not easy decision but the best for the moment i guess. wish i can do it too.

were u the one who last min got to look for CL cos MIL couldn't do confinement for u?

serene
u put your bowl at toilet bowl everyday? sometimes i forget. think i must be more consistent....

sigh i also feel like crying when i think abt going back to work and all the moments i will miss.

cookie
i do marketing for the whole week on sat. maybe your MIL can do that. so inconvenient to buy everyday.

if u r looking after baby alone, what happens if u want to go toilet etc and bb is crying??

pochacco
my boy takes similac also and he takes 150ml now. sometimes even more after sleeping for a longer stretch. maybe it's the taste?

yuenyuen
u cutting down to 1 pump a day? how come? u plannign to stop bf?

mummies taking 6 in 1 jab
when is bb supposed to go for the 2nd dose?

re vaccination
not sure whether to take the other 2 vaccination but if take, we will let him finish his 6 in 1 first

cookie
i try to drag his feeding time a bit esp the evening feed cos he likes to fuss during that feed so i let him be hungrier before feeding. and i realise in the morning when he wakes up, he is not hungry immediately. probably sleeping only doesn't make him hungry. so will play with him about half an hour before feed.

sunny
my bb seems to sleep more i feel... in the morning after his morning feed, he will take a nap. after his late morning feed, he will sleep. then in the afternoon, sometimes he takes a long nap. and after evening feed, i will let him sleep and wake him for his night feed. then he can sleep til abt 4. so he seems to sleep qutie a lot

SY
I am cutting from 4 pumps to 3 pumps aday and yes I am trying to wean off and also I need to travel to HK for meeting/conference and the break in between is not long enough to pump so trying to get use not pumping in the day time so that breast will not be too painful.

yuenyuen
what's the interval u use in between pumps? scared that if interval too long my MS will drop but find it hard to pump twice during work. a bit can't bear to let go of ss...

yuen yuen
thats very very good.. lesser pump yet more milk, very encouraging
unfortunately mine werent as good as you...

Re: Avent disaposable breast pad
I just used 2 of avent sample and ouch...!! Avent pad is not as good as pigeon ones, despite I apply nipple cream (Avent sample also) my nipple still stick onto the pad and when peel off.. really ouch...

SY
ya we are going to suggest to mil to do marketing once a week. But very scare my mil will say buy one week once veggie not fresh etc etc...
but no choice I dun think it's feasible for her to bring my bb to wet market in the morning.

SY
when my bb wake up for middle of nite feed, in the morning she usually not hungry immediately when wake up too.. she usually fuss abt 1 hr later and she will be in real good mood when she wake up.
my gals seems to be able to sleep thru the nite now, so when she wake up very soon will be hungry

hopefully she can maintain this sleep thru the ntie from now on

Sy
there was once.. I had upset tummy but I was almost there to settle my bb from fussy cry and she faling alseep.. so I bo bian must ren..
other times if really need to answer nature's call, then let bb cry a bit lor no choice.

Re: bb fussy
for the 2 weeks when I handle my bb alone, all thigns seems fine and get the hang of it, when my mil come back last week, cos she dote on my bb and miss her so much, mil tend to carry bb when she cry a bit bit.
Today it was so difficult for both my hb and I to take care of bb, my gal keep fussing and refuse to take nap and want to be carry.
The coming week I'm alone with bb again, hope baby will not be fussy and expect to be carry all the time.... bo very bo eng ah... cham..

sleepingdeer,
Glad u came to such a decision. I'm sure u'll enjoy those moments with Shannon that money cannot replace!

Re: 6-in-1 jab
2nd dose is 6 weeks after the 1st dose.

SY,
If i need to go toilet & baby is fussing, i'll talk to her and tell her to be good for a while when mummy's in the toilet. Surprisingly sometimes it works leh! As though she understands that mummy's not free! U can try that. Usually i put her in the cot to look at her musical mobile while i go toilet. It keeps her entertained for some time

cookie,
hv u tried using bm to soothe cracked nipple? it worked v well for me in the earlier stages of breastfeeding. Strange that you still getting cracked nipples now...perhaps can try Avent pump? i find it more gentle than electric pumps

sunny,
my gal also sleeps quite a lot. But her sleeping pattern varies day to day. Sometimes she can sleep a lot in the day, sometimes less. But regardless of how much she sleeps in the day, she can still sleep pretty well at night!

Dear all ,

since there is lesser people coming for the gathering and since sunny is not joining then I will order the economy set that comes in the microwave container and without the warmers.. thus the min is only 15 pax.. and cheaper.. if it is ok then I will order on wed..

RE: sling

SL , my bb is 7 over kg.. I am also feeling the ache too.. let meet up on the 8th and see if we are doing it right..

durainlover
ya.. i know it's strange too
maybe I have very "thin skinned" nipple and aerola.
hmm.. i think my problem, every time the wound heal and I pump again, a new crack occur so it's a vicious cycle, never ending as long as I pump.
I already lower the cycle and suction seems like not much help and pump lesser milk.

RE: gathering..

At this moment we have 22 pp inculding the instructor.. and I will be ordering the mini high tea.. and I have caculate the total cost exculding the instructor each person will need to pay $10.90.. per couple will be 21.80.. you can either transfer to me via internet banking or pay me on that day.. my account number is 148-11345-9 .. POSB saving.. please put in you nick name.. thanks

SY
My interval is 6 hourly, 12am, 6am, 12pm, 6pm. As I am taking flexible ML in the form of half-day, only pump once in the office. If need to work full day, the 12pm and 6pm pump will do in the office. Quite busy in the office so normally don't feel painful till lunchtime.

The thought of reducing pump depress me already but very tired to pump lai.

cookie
Ya, quite surprise that can pump more milk with longer interval. I realise that if I stick to the sametime everyday, the supply quite consistent. If take huge breakfast, the lunchtime pump can sometime pump 160ml. Hope that if I pump only 3 times can still have sufficient for 4-5 feeds.

Weight at 3 months
Brought bb for jab yesterday and he weighs 6.8kg and is 62cm long. Quite big but no fight with Rena's boy.

Weight of mummy
Have a few stubborn 4kg to lose and weight seems to have stop dropping and still unable to wear pre-pregancy clothes. Anyone have idea have to decrease waistline?

Rena,
Dunno if this has been asked before... the baby massage can use baby lotion? cos if use baby oil might need to bathe the baby right?
Oh, and pls add my huubby into the list...
1) rena + hubby + bb
2) sunny + hubby + bb
3) cindy + cindy's mom + bb
4) queen + hubby + bb
5) Denmy + hubby + elder son
6) sl + hubby + bb
7) mongs + hubby + bb
8) pochacco + hubby + bb
9) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb
10)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom + bb
11) Wenyl + hb/wenyl's mom + bb
12) SY + hubby + bb
13) Clare + hubby + bb

Hi Serene and Krissie,
know what you mean about starting work... missed my gal alot the first few days, and had to discpline myself regarding expressing of milk. Lucky most of my colleagues are ladies, so not so pai seh... the male colleagues are more awkard.

Serene,
hopefully the maid will work out for you... think everything should be ok

Yuen Yuen, pup pup, durianlover, SY, SL, Sunny, Sysac,
thanks for all the encouragement... yep, have to admit it is pretty scary without dual income, but I try to keep a open mind about it, and think that money can always be earned back, just that we have to xin ku abit now...

I imgaine how tough it will be since I got a taste of it last night...

Baby was up every hour last night, dunno why she couldn't sleep well... so had to tahan her crying and try rocking her to sleep etc. Any mummy experience this before? Baby could differentiate from day to night at about 2 months, so she will get really sleepy from 9pm every night, and will drop off to wonderland for about 4 hours until 2am, wake up to feed, and go back to sleep to 6am. But yesterday, she was up every hour from 1am! 2am, 3am, 4am, 5am, 6am, 7am... wah, nearly went crazy... hee hee. Told my hubby to not let her sleep so much in the day today, so that hopefully there won't be a repeat of this again tonight...

RE: Cradle Cap
need to also ask does any of your babies have this? My daughter's cradle cap is super thick on the centre of her head, and is finally starting to flake off... problem is the hair is going with the cradle cap as well, so we imagine that once all of it drops off, she will have a totally bald patch in the centre of her head, like a old bald man! The hair at the sides of her head is untouched, and very thick... now struggling to deicde whether we should shave her totally now to prevent such a unsightly sight...

Rena and Yuen Yuen,
your babies are super babies leh, 6.8 and 7kg! Think my gal is only 5.8kg... tomorrow going for her 3 month jab... have to remember to go buy leng yang today...

YUen Yuen,
4kg left to shed is really good leh, I have still 7kgs to go!

cookie,
i can totally empathise with u regarding the cracked bleeding nipple. coz i went thru that once myself. another way u can try is to use hand to express for a few days. i did that for 2 days, each time took me about an hour to express both breasts. express until my fingers ache like hell. and quantity is not as good as pumping. but at least nipples got chance to heal. and maybe latch on ur bb instead of pumping coz pumping is more straining on the nipples..

Sleepingdeer
Our bb boy lah, so should be heavier and bigger build, anyway Paed mention that bb on the heavier side and try to control his intake. Your gal is of good weight, if not wrong that fall on the 50% percentile.

I did not give leng yang and bb had slight fever 38C yesterday. Gave half dose of medicine and he is alright already. Normally 95% of bb do not get fever for this jab.

I hate to exercise, managed to lose weight due to work stress and night feed and pumping. When I pump 6 times aday previously, realise that I didn't have time to sleep.

Up every hour, must be very tired for bb and you. Could it be due to temp. of room? I realise that when I switch on the air-con, my bb can't sleep and have stuffy nose, but if don't switch on air-con, I can't sleep, very hot these few days.

rena
can pm me your hp number? the birthday celebration is not confirmed if it's in afternoon or at night. if i can make it last minute, i sms you. but definitely no need to order me and my hb's lunch. sorry for the trouble.

these few days my gal managed to sleep from 10pm+ till about 6am. so happy. hope she can continue this sleeping pattern.

cookie/celine
Yep, hand express will let the nipple recover but when I hand express, there are area that can't be reach and after one day, there was a hard piece on certain part. So I use the pump once a day to try to clear the hard part. That was during the early days. Now the nipple is used to the pump already.

Cookie
If there is blood in the milk, do you still give the milk to bb?

sleepingdeer,
my baby has very bad cradle cap problem as well. she has since recovered from that. I just shaved her head last sat after her cradle cap prob is solved. what u have to do is to use olive oil to apply on crusts 1 hr before washing her hair. use the shampoo for cradle cap, the brand is denitox (think it's spelt like that), can get from guardian. if the cradle cap is bad, u have to wash 2 times, maybe once in the morning and once at night. all these instructions are given by my PD. cradle cap is very itchy for the baby so I believe shannon fussing has a lot to do with the cradle cap. some people say can comb the crusts after apply the oil and before washing but depending on her skin, it may trigger the growth again after the initial crust drop. that was what happened to clariss hence I stop combing out the crust. it took almost 3 weeks for us to get rid of the crust completely. u have to be diligent about that cause it's causes a lot of discomfort.
see she is go happy with her clean head now.
397322.jpg

wow, such a big pic. sorry about it.
sleepingdeer,
yes, the top part will be bald, have to shave away the hair at her back else very ugly.

Hi Mongs,
Clariss is so cute after being shaved, like a little fat monk... really adorable!

Yah, the last picture will be how Shannon will look like if all her cradle cap falls off, except she will have hair near the ears, think she will look terrible! You mean it's itchy huh? oh dear, must get rid of it fast then... when you see us on Saturday, you can see how bad is her cradle cap...

Want to ask you where did you get your bb shaved? Or did you do it yourself? So we have to wait until the cradle cap falls off huh? I do use olive oil but I find that it takes so long for the curst to fall out. Also, I only did it once, coz immediately after that day, Shannon fell ill...after bath time when her hair is damp, I find the crust very easy to peel off, so I just spend time brushing out whose which start peeling off, does your bb skin become red after the crust fall off? Coz Shannon's does...

Yuen Yuen,
I very scared when Shannon gets fever, the last time she got it, was really worried, so this time wanna try feeding her a little leng yang... I love chubby babies, so that's why i envy your bb boy's weight

THe room temperature is constant, so I have no idea why she kept waking up... the whole night was so groggy that I only remember that I was so frustrated that I kicked my hubby up from bed, hee hee...

sleepingdeer,
very brave decision to stop working. Salute you... I also comtemplated being SAHM but really have to tighten our money belt a lot man!
My MIL uses Johnson's baby oil on the cradle cap. Then wash off with normal baby wash... seems ok. But the crust strating to form again, it's been almost 2 weeks liao. Have to reapply the oil again soon.

cookie,
do you have a manual pump? Try using a manual for a few days, at least you can control the suction better and let your nipples heal. Manual pump should be gentler on your nipples.

Re. weight loss
I have lost all my pregnancy weight. Some of my colleagues even commented that I seem to be slimmer than before but don't think so lah... Anyway, my tummy still have loose flab. Definitely not fit for bikini wearing!

Yuen Yuen,
Don't give up BF! Not only good for your BB, but also good for your weight loss! The only other way is to exercise loh. I'm dying to go out for a good run or swim but always difficult to squeeze out time.

YuenYuen

my baby reject me to latch him since he is 2 weeks old and so i expressed it out to give him till he is one month..due to SS canot meet DD, i decided to him give full on FM and i also intend to give back to work after 2 months.

My elder son was also on full FM and there is no problem on his growth. He is current 3 years old and the youngest in the class but he seem to be talles and biggest size in the class.

Although i know that BF of coz is better than FM but what can i do if dd cannnot meet supply.

BTW, my bb cannot go for vancination since he got flu..i will delay it for another week after he recover.

My menese only last for 3 days and was very light flow.

yuenyuen
i find that if i pump about 4-5 hours interval the letdown is better maybe that's why longer interval more milk??

i haven decide on my timing of pump but wan to pump twice in office if possible. find that if wait too long to pump, usually got to spend a longer time extracting the milk

cookie
so did the LC get back to u?

re weight loss
i have about 4 kg that won't go away also.....wanted to go swimming during ML but last week of ML already and still haven don it!

when can we switch bb to 4 hourly feeds?

pochacco/cindy

my bb was ok drinking milk on sat and finished every single drink in the milk bottles..and i even tot that not enough for him. i am taking care of him alone on Sat.

But he behavior changes on sun and rejcted every time that i tried to feed him. and instead my mum successful feed till till the last drink of milk. I think he prefer my mum more than me..coz think my mum was more "ba ba" and feel very comfortable when carry him.

My baby will wake up around 6am in the morning and refuse to sleep...all my family member was saying that maybe he is born on the year of rooster that why he sleep very early 8pm and wake up at around 6am.

sleepingdeer,
actually clariss is not so fat. somehow the pic makes her look fat. she is actually on the skinnier side.

try not to peel unless u are sure it's very dry and not attached to the skin. it maybe painful. my PD actually gave Clariss antibotics because her face (rashes) and cradle cap is very bad. after washing, her skin can be red and looks a bit raw. very afraid that she will have infection. the 2nd time when I visited the PD, she gave me a antiseptics cream to apply on those red area.

babylon
i use to think like u that my bb prefer my maid to feed cos she more baba. but not true. now i think he ok. sometimes he doesn't wan me or maid to feed and wan my skinny hubby. so depends on his mood. when he fusses during feed, i will just carry him upright and walk ard and soon he will dirnk. if he doesn't wan, i will just let him be. then now i drag his feeding time a bit and it works.

HI Mongs,
thanks for the advise, sounds like it can get pretty serious huh? My PD didn't advise much, just use olive oil to massage.... hopefully this time round, he can advise what else we can do...

So where did you get Clariss shaved? Or did you do it your self? If I had known that she would get cradle cap, would have shaved off all her hair at her one month celebration and saved the trouble, but my parents and MIL think wasted since she had so much hair, sigh..

celine
thanks..so sad to say I can't latch my bb either. I stop latching and pump cos of the crack and bleeding nipple and of course the knife cutting pain.
After my nipple recover from the latch I did re-latch again after LC teach me correct postioning and just barely 2 latch, the nipples are crack and start bleeding again.
I haven't try hand express yet... only did it end of pump session and usually just dripping away and diffcult to collect.

yuenyuen
although I dun produce strawberry mil ( Thank God!) but I guess there could be trace of blood in my milk tho. From nake eye, my BM are still white in colour and I continue to feed my bb.

SY
Page on sat no reply.. almost forgot to page this morning until read your post.
now waiting for her to return call.

queen
I dun have manuel pump..
not only the nipple crack.. the aerola also crack..
scary hor..sigh.

re: cradle cap
my boy oso had it but not so much as on the whole head. mainly on 2 areas which i m so tempted to peel =p had actually peel some off but discover that some hair oso came off! so stopped my itchy hand and hopefully it will drop off by itself.

observed that my boy are lossing quite alot of hair (just like me)! everytime will see his hair on the cloth that i alway place under his head. did any mummies baby oso like that.

re: weight loss
everyday have to creack head what to wear to work. still have 5kg of unwanted weight and totally cant wear pre- pergnant cloth *sigh* my mum keep commenting on my tummy that it seems im like 4 mths pergnant! *sigh*............

cookie
that sounds bad... must feel very sian when everytime its time to pump. have you tried apply your breast milk over the area instead of the cream?

Hi Rachel,
me too, cannot tahan and started peeling... actually didn't stick to her head already, and was very easy to peel, especially after her bath, she didn't protest coz she was sleeping, so guess it was not painful to her? But the hair also came off with it, and now she have two bald patches at the sides of her head... sigh..

rachel,

me too still got 5kg more to loss...every day also have to think what to wear. now i only have enough clothes for 1 week. actually i went shopping 2 days before i got to work..coz all my clothes cannot fit it...kekeke

sleepingdeer
hahaha, so we same same. for me its everytime when i latch him on i will start looking at his head and searching for any loose pieces to peel =p

envy that you can totally enjoy bring yp your gal after 2 months time! this morning when im going off to work, boyboy just had his morning bath and my mum is carrying him. really tear me apart to make myself to leave him. he has start to "ee ahah" alot, always looking for people to talk to him. he will always start a convesation in his own language and get excited when you respond to him.

yesterday brought him out to centrepoint robinson for the first time official shopping trip =) really glad he is willing to stay in the pram and even fell asleep. when he woke up and start to fuss for milk, i asked around whether there is any nursing room in the building. luckily a sales person offer me to go to the fitting room when she saw boyboy cry =) after hs feed he is one happy baby and start to look for people to chit chat. a sales person start to talk to him and he happily responds. how i wish can everyday 24 hrs be with him, rather than only after my work and weekends...

babylon
yah lo. dont know how long will take us to get rid of all those nasty fats. at first tot breastfeeding will help me to lose weight but till now after coming to 3 months still have 5kg!! somemore all my pre-pergnant tops are all body fit ones... want to exercise but really cant make time when all is use to care for baby le...

re: period
me start to get vy light flow since yesterday. is it normal?? since im still on BF, i will still get it?

Babylon
I also didn't latch bb since 3rd week and similar to you, I start working after 7-8 weeks of ML and taking the balance as and when I want.

Having been pumping since 3rd and hope to do about 4-5 months. My girl also on BM for 4 months, so want to be fair. My girl is 5 years old now, also very big size, so I am not too concern whether give BM or FM. My mum is the one who keeps changing her mind. If the feed is too frequent, comment that BM not good not full one, if he does not poo for 5 days, think that FM not good, too heaty, must give water. So I just pump and keep and it up to her whether to give BM/FM.

Don't worry lah, FM is also good. I grow up with FM, never have BM before.

yuen2,

as long as baby is growing well, i have no concern on BF or FM,..

current my bb is in good weight 6.82kg (weighted last week)..but my mum was complaining that there is no "lotus root aka lian oh" on my baby hands but only on his legs compared to my elder son when he was 3 months old.

i think most grandma would to see big, fat and baby.

Babylon
Lucky my top can stretch one, so no need to buy. Must buy for bottom and so depressing have to buy 'L' size. Tried 'M' but have so much fab overflow out from the side.

My colleague told me that for the second child harder to lose those fab, seem like true.

RE : Weight Loss
I still have 9kg. That's quite alot. Met a friend couple of days ago and she asked what happened to me? So out of shape. Can u imagine how bad i look now? sian...hopefully when i return to work, wld slim down faster.

RE : Baby Drinking Habit
My boy has been rejecting his formula milk, and drinking irregular amount. I wonder is it because I'm stretching him to 4hr feed on 130ml. He fusses alot and there's simply no way to coax him. Once i carry him in the "feeding position", he'll immediately fusses. Sometimes I can hear his tummy grumbling, he still fusses...and need coaxing at times. Well, got worried and went to see PD. She just told me to record and monitor. As long as he gains weight, it shld be fine. When we go my MIL place, she fed him and he actually finished the milk with a little fuss. Urgh!!! Dont know what's the problem.

RE : Baby's urine
Does your baby urine alot? Minw didnt drink alot and when i checked his diapers 2+hrs later, it was soaking wet just now! Is that normal? Wonder did he keep his urine from the night feed?

RE : Menses
Its almost 3 months and mine is yet to come though I'm not breastfeeding

sleepingdeer,
I ask taimaobi to come to my place to shave my baby hair. used the hair to make into a brush. also encase her umbilical cord and fingernails to make into a stamp. bought a very nice box for the brush so ended up paying $378 on sat to taimaobi. if you are interested can go to www.taimaobi.com to see. I think sunny also make a brush for her baby.

yuenyuen,

I took the rotavirus vaccine too. PD also asked us to consider regarding the prevenar vaccine. Still haven't decide yet. Are you going to take the prevenar vaccine?

cookie,

the lc once told me that need to give your body some time to get used to the pump also. Initially with my pump, I turn it to the max to get more milk. Now, don't need to turn to max already. I just turn to a comfortable level and I get more milk per session.

pup_pup,

ya - both my parents and in laws commented that my bb's very strong compared to the bbs of our generation.

cookie,

my mum wld usually warm up the milk 15 mins before the feeding time. Can't wait for my girl to fuss first - she will scream her head off when she's hungry.

re: nipple cream

I only applied nipple cream once. Cos my nipples got some dried skin at the initial stage. Thereafter, too lazy to apply already.

Sy,
i will put the bb in the cot and go toilet then keep talking to my bb. No choice even if she cries. Need to go toilet means need to go right?

Pochacco,

I heard from a fren that Similac tastes sweeter than Enfalac.

Re: 6-in-1 Jab

the second dose should be at the 3rd month?

rena,

okay - will remember to bring my sling. thks!

re: gathering

thks rena! Will pay you on that day if you don't mind.

sleepingdeer,

i think my daughter does this too! Was wondering yesterday what's that on her head. Do we have to do anything about it? Or just let it flake off by itself? I hands itchy, yesterday tried to rub it off then got scared cos the skin underneath is red. Immediately stopped when I saw that.

re: clothes

i can wear all my pre-pregnancy bottoms but not the tops cos I realise that my bust has grown after bf.

rachel,

centrepoint got nursing room. It's at the topmost floor. Very ulu. Where the old marketplace used to be? need to either take lift or use the stairs from the 7th floor.

Hi there!

I'm new to this thread. Just like to find out who are letting their babies sleep in sarong. I just introduced the sarong to my colicky boy one week ago and he seems to get addicted to it! really worried that he will refuse to sleep in the cot soon. He tends to fuss a lot after feeding and regurgitates quite a bit. It can take up to 1.5 hour just feeding him and coaxing him to sleep.