(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sorry on the re-posting...

cookie - dun worry on the decreased feeds... Celeste also feeds lesser than before. she used to have 7-8 feeds but now tat she is sleeping thru the nite, she has oni 6 feeds daily. per feed is bout 120ml which makes up an avg of 700ml per day. for me, i try to make sure she gets at least 600-700ml. so long as shes growing well, it shld nt pose a prob. my MIL also say dun try to wake her up to feed else i disrupt her sleeping cycle again... anyway, babies are smart. if they are hungry, they know wat to do... wat else but CRY!!!

Re : teat size
shld we b changing teat size aldy Celeste stil on size 1 and we oni tried to enlarge it a little... shes drinking well and it takes bout 10-15mins oni. is it ok???

Hi Rena,
The pictures are not swopped. They're correct. You can see that her cheeks are more chubby at 2 weeks

Btw, where is the gathering be held? Can I have the address? I've not been following postings for a long time cuz I'm too busy lately. Maybe I can drop by for awhile. Its on this saturday right?

RE: Venue and Timing

The Venue is east Meadow condo at Tanah Merah..(EAST) proper address I will let you know..

Timing: 2pm.. Can come early for a swim too..

Hi cookie,
yah, dun worry about bb not feeding enuff... my PD says that babies are very smart, their bodies will tell them what they need the most, so let her sleep and she will cry if she needs to feed... the only worrying thing is when they cry and we stuff the pacificer in their mouth to keep them quiet without finding out why they are crying in the first place... sometimes my MIL does that, and my hubby always worry that bb is not getting enough to eat, that's why she cry...

serene - good for u..my boy still have yet to show his double eyelid.

mashybrain - thks for the roataviris warning..so scary. was planning to take in the next appt for the 6-in-1 jab. will confirm with my PD abt the withdrawal case.

rachel - like u i also accidentally cut off a flesh from my son's finger but it wasn't bleeding just a little raw red. he was wailing like mad too.now i am also afraid to cut his nails. make sure he is asleep before i cut.

re: mittens
still wearing during sleeping as i find his fingers very cold in the night when we are sleeping in aircon room. i will take it off in the morning. try to get ur bb grab some toys..my rocker chair has a pull toy, so i always make him grab the circle.

god's child
thanks.. but I still worry la.. hehe paranoid mum
cos she is still infant bearly 2mths ley yet she drink so little wor.

Sleeping deer
so far never give pacifier to my bb, hopefully no need to give if she is alrgith with it. My mil wanna give at first tho when bb keep crying , heng my bb spit it out.. and the reason of crying is becos she was hungry.
On the contrary, now.. whenever my bb cry all my mil ask is if it's time to feed but the fact is my bb cry cos she is tired and wanna sleep...
sigh...

sunny
I also change a teat fro my gal and she drank 150ml in less than 3 mins.. I tink she finish the milk before she can register in her brain that she is full...heehee... we change back to the slower flow

Oops, next sat? I just told DurianLover its this sat.. better update her.

How do u increase the size of the teat for bottles? My girl is still screaming away at the sight of the bottle. I feel so stressed hearing her cry from downstairs while my maid feeds her upstairs & I cant go up to see what's going on else she'll cry even harder. Can cry until whole face turn purple & choke one.. poor thing..

krissie

Yupz.

Cindy
If u wanna order the flashcards, can go to marketplace? I set up a new thread for it. Hurry , coz 5" by 25" reaching target liao.

sleepingdeer
thanks. received already. i wonder if it can be fit into my medela back pack....
anyone buying the cooler bag and is using medela pump?

cookie
what teat size are you using now?

hi sleepingdeer,

thks! Will pay you $53 on 8 Apr then. : )

my gal also like to rub her eyes nowadays! and her fingernails are very sharp - so worried that she will hurt her eyes...

mongs,

i am using the bbay supplies sling - chose this over the mim one as there are padding. But realise that I can't sling my gal for more than an hour now cos the wt of the baby is mostly borne by 1 shoulder. considering now whether to buy the carrier instead.

sunny,

can't cos got attachments. can you give me your email add? thks!

krissie,

bought the egg shock at baby kingdom also. think it's $400+? can't remember already.

babylon,

your baby's wt is very good.

queen,

i can understand the inconvenience of lagging the ice bag around. I am lagging this big backpack containing the pump to work everyday.... really feel like a turtle ....

wendy,

your gal looks so pretty...

Hi Cookie,

Dun worry abt the decreased feeds. Cephas used to drink 7-8 feeds a day. He has dropped to 5 feeds per day for abt a mth already. I was also worried as he was sleeping for 10-12 hrs at night. This week, he has gone back to sleeping schedule of abt 10.30pm-7.30am instead of 7.30pm-7am block.

Started Cephas on baby food on Mon. Bought the Heinz bottled puree (Tomato with beef). Mixed 1 tsp of it with a bit of water. He cringed his face during the 1st meal. After that, he was chomping away during the subsequent meals. So far so good. Bought the baby bottled apple juice for him to try also. It is already dilued but I diluted it further. He wld drink a bit & then spit the teat out. Plan to buy other flavours this weekend

Re: Nails

Yes, their nails grow very fast! I trim Cephas' nails every 3 days. Though I trim real short & file all his nails, he will dig into his fac or sides of the head in the middle of the nite. As a result, we see his scratches every morning!

Put him to sleep on Thu nite. Fri morning woke up with one scratch across the nose. Applied Vaseline & it was not so red. Put him to bed on Fri nite and on Sat morning, one line on the right side of the head. Applied Vaseline again. When we woke up on Sunday morning, one across left side of the head.

HB & I joked that while we were sleeping, Cephas sneaked out of the house & went to fight with the secret society members like those HK movies. That's y all the scratch marks. Fortunately, the marks heal fast & disappear with 2 days.

just come back from PD..coz bb flu is getting bad..was given some medicine...

BB not drinking
checked with PD why bb not drinking..was told some bb eventually growth will be slowly after 3 month and does not need more milk..

Menses
I start having brownish discharge..wonder was it first menses..

BB's Weight
PD comments that bb is in good weight..6.82kg for 3 months..

Vacination
Suppose to have his 3rd month vacccination but due to flu, PD suggested to delay it for another week.

i would like to join in for the gathering unfortunately cannot make it coz i am having exam around that time. need to study, hubby use come back from states and going taiwan 3 days later and also by birthday on the 9 april so need to spend time with my family..

HI SUnny,
the mini fridge is longer than the medela cooler bag, so think cannot fit. I buying coz I normally carry it seperate from the pump...
So do you think you want to order?

Sl,
no problem..

Sysac,
so fast Cephas on semi solids already! Think I will introduce semis to my gal maybe at 5months plus...

Babylon,
your bb weight is super good leh, 6.82kg at 3 months! Think my gal will only be 5.8kg at her next weigh in...

Re. no. of feeds,
well, Javier is currently drinking 150ml of milk times a day. his timing is more or less fixed. we will feed him ard 11+pm and he will wake up ard 5+am for milk. actually he will not cry but will just move ard and eyes big big and of cos make some noise so we will just change his diaper and feed him and he will go back to sleep till ard 9+am. had ask PD before and he also say it is fine that bb is drinking lesser now cos their body will now tell them how much they need.

cookie,
wow ur gal can drink 150ml in 3 mins? is that a typo or really it is?? Javier can drink 150ml in 10mins using Nuk teat size 2 and if i use pigeon (the 2 bottles that comes free with the steriliser) he will down the 150ml in ard 20mins...

Javier will be having his 5in1 jab tml. think someone ask before, any prep that we can do to make them less likely to have fever.. i know some say give them some leng yang.. other than that? how abt more water?? and after the jab, do u all still bath bb? my appt is 9am so i doubt i will bath him.. the most just use a cloth to clean him.. dun really wan to disturb his rest or move him too much.

Hi edd2jan,
you mean you change to teat 2 already for Javier? I am still using NUk teat 1 for my gal, and someimes the small flow one some more... coz she can choke if I use the medium flow one... I thought teat 2 is for 6months onwards, Javier can take it well?

sunny,

think you got the details from sleepingdeer? yes, the mini fridge is longer than the medela cooler bag so it definitely can't pack into the medela backpack. I also using the medela backpack but i don't think i wanna put the cooler bag into the backpack.

sysac,

how old is Cephas? so fast he's on semi-solids? when can we feed baby semi-solids?

just got back to work this mon - so busy!! Don't have time to check the forum so often.

sleepingdeer,
think i type wrong, its size 1 medium. i had read the nuk brochure and they said small size is for water and medium is for milk and i think large is for those milk plus cereal.. yes you are right, teat 2 is for 6 mths onwards

sunny
I'm on bfree bottle, still using no.1 then my hb change it to another teat, we thought it was teat no.2 but actually it was a teat with variable flow which is very very fast.
last nite I start using teat 2 and she is ok and drinking not very fast

Eddjan2
heehee thats not a typo error, as I wrote to sunny... I mistakenly use the teats for variable flow and the milk was very very fast, my gal drank 150ml in 3 mins really... she didn't choke herself but can tell she drink really fast.
I was very worry after that... although she didn't cry or fuss, just that she thought there will be some more milk coming...
usually she feed around 10-15 mins

sysac
Thanks...tho I know I shouldn't worry too much but my baby is less than 2 mths only ley.. thats why I can't help still worry.
heehee.. your boy sleep not such long block liao

re: starting on semi solid...
this has been on my mind.. although my bb has another 2-3 mths before considering start semi solid.
But I have no clue how to start and what to do...
really have to learn from you all.
What fruit and veggie puree, food grinder etc...
or buy off the shelf etc...
really a lot to learn in motherhood..

sysac- so fast cephas started on solid food? is it because he is on FM? I read from a mag, it is recommended to start on solid food after 6mths of breast milk.

sl
ya, got it from sleepingdeer liao.

sleepingdeer
i might still get the cooler bag 'cos the medela one can only fit in 4 bottles and kind of heavy with the ice pack. and the cooler bag can be used for other purpose. i check with my hb if he wanna buy for his picnic purpose, too. haha..

tmr is the due date to order right? i let you know soon.

sysac
other than those bb food from the shelf, could we make our own one? 4th mth bb can take wat kind of semi solid food?

harlow....queen, sleepingdeer, SL, Rachel...my MS came back this morning...I gathered it was due to the lack of fluids and food...sigh...so last night before I slept...I took 2 cups of milo then when I got home...I was super hungry..took food...but no rice though...

This morning...ate 2 slices of wholemeal bread and viola...MS came back...could be due to our eating habits too...

SO....let's Jia you together...k?

Cookie...no worries...after 6 mths...u start baby on cereal first...then slowly intro other types of food...

Okie gals...gotta go...piles and piles of books waiting to be marked...cya all again soon!

cookies,
wow.. that is damn fast.. somemore its a gal leh.. my niece ard 5mths now sometimes even need abt an hr for milk according to my MIL. she simply play ard with the teats and refuse to drink etc.

Re. Gathering.
sorry i cant make it as i may need to work on that sat. sianz tot of returning to work on monday really spoil my day...

Hi SUnny,
sorry to rush you, but I wrote in my previous posts, Ling is compiling one set of orders by today 6pm, if we miss it, we will have to wait for next one, which will put it after our gathering on 8th, so I hope to confirm and order by today 6pm liao... can? Thanks!

Hi Sleepingdeer

Can start on semi at 4 months. The nurse gave me brochures during my last PD visit at 3 months. Can slowly introduce. Anyway, we were trying out and so diluted the puree further. 1 tsp plus water. He was chomping away & smiling. So far so good.

Hi SL,

Cephas is 17 weeks old this week. We were just trying out. Since he likes it, we will con't with the different flavours. Will start him on porridge at 6 months.

Hi Cookie/SSF/Sunny,

My friend started feeding her baby fruits at 5 months. Mash till very fine & feed. Of cse, introduce little bit at a time. I plan to start Cephas on porridge with fish, potatoes & carrots when he turns 6 months. Got to cook the stuff until it looks like puree.

haven't logged in for some time and so many postings can't catch up!

Seems like most of ur babies feeding less but my gal seems to be feeding more these 2 days. Dunno why. Even woke up twice in the middle of the night to feed and that is very unlike her! Oh well. She's 10 weeks old...perhaps undergoing growth spurt?

Re: gathering
Not sure whether i can make it yet. Will have a really busy week next week so gotta see how.

Re: teat size
Must we really change the teat size as they grow older? My gal still on teat 1 but i direct latch most of the time. So that's why don't wanna change teat size in case she rejects breast coz the milk flow slower than teat.

Re: work
returned to work today and Janelle has been pretty good. Slept most of the time i brought her to work! Heh.
But not sure how it'll work out...must see how she responds over the next few days.

Re: baby play
How and what do u all play with your babies? Other than flashcards, talking to them, and rattles/toys? My gal not so interested in toys leh.

krissie
when i put my boy in the pram he looks like he fit it nicely already.

here's a pic of him in his pram.

394655.jpg

for the avent warmer, if i only need it half an hour later, i set it between 0-1 (0 would be all the way to the left). if i need it quick, i will turn to 2-3 and keep shaking the milk inside to mix the milk. usually can get it quite right within 5 min.

cookie
my boy feeds 5 times only as well. seems to want to sleep more. think as long as got gain weight shd be fine.

durianlover
envious that u can bring bb to work! where does she sleep when u work? your boss really understanding...

i usually talk to my boy. he's really chatty. flashcards i do with him when he's in a good mood. he likes music so i have a musical book that i use with him also. and i have this toy that makes a lot of bb sounds. he likes it too!

sysac,
u started on semi solids already? i think it would be very intersting to start bb on semi solids. maybe we can start some collection of bb food that we can give..

edd2jan,
I was the one who asked abt the prep b4 going for 5-in-1 jab. Was told that we can take lengyang just b4 going for jab. However, i didnt do it cos no time to go buy from medical hall. Turn out ok, no fever. But I bathed him b4 going for our 9.30am appt.

Cookie,
Me too....quite clueless abt feeding semi-solids. So now trying to read up more info. I think I will start introducing semi-solids to bb when he is abt 5++mths, when his digestive system is more develop. U can check out these websites...
www.wholesomebabyfood.com
www.forbaby.com.au
Some mummies from the marketplc is buying organic cereals from this shop called supernature. Website: www.supernature.com.sg

SY
re pram
thanks.. ya hor, he looks like just nice in the pram. but this pram is supposed to be wider than the other prams... hmm.. will confirm again later. hopefully, we manage to buy it today.

re warmer
I used your method, temp is qt right for 1 if i leave it for half hr. It's the no. 3 one which is either too cold when light goes off.. or too hot if i dun remove it promptly. so funny.

cookie, SY
so envy you gals. my boy seems to hv adjusted his clock and can only tahan for 6 hrs, last time can be abt 8hrs.
poor mummy.

wendyl
thanks for the links. v informative.

rena
so sad, dun think can join you gals for the gathering.
my hb cant make it & i doubt that bb can stand being in the car seat alone all the way to tanah merah.

anyone knows of any mummies who has a kid in a special school? My sis research company needs to conduct a survey approx 1.5 hrs and the mummy will get $70. PM me if keen.

HI Mummies

re: Cooler Bag
Ling has replied on the cooler bags. She can only meet me next week, hopefully I can get it from her before going for the gathering...

Sunny,
Pls advise the color preferred for Ace (Red, Blue or Black) & Easy-Tote (also known as Pack 'N' Go)(Red, Blue, Black or Brown).

Have checked for you, the discount applies, as follows: -

4 Mini-Fridge: 4 x $53
1 Easy-Tote (Pack 'N' Go): 1 x $33
1 Ace: 1 x $28

Total: $273

I will pay first, then you gals can pay me back when we meet, ok?

Re : babies fussing during milktime
hi mummies, i know someone mentioned b4 bout babies fussing during milktime. Lately Celeste has been refusing to take her milk and always shifts her head here n there and uses her tongue to push the teat out. I will hav to coax her for bout 30-45mins and at the same time, walk around and feed her... i will be changing the teat size today cos she's stil on number 1. any other ideas why she is like this???

god's child
she's on FM or BM? if BM, mayb you can try to smell & taste the milk before giving her?
ya, try to change bigger size teat, mayb she feels 'mang zhang' after few times suckle and yet little milk flow.

sunny

shes on partial BM and FM. but she reacts the same to both types of milk... so i dun think its the taste ... hopefully the teat will work for her. its so worrying being a mother... and i realised shes rather lean too, she weighs 5.13kg at 9+weeks, wonder if its alrite... she doent look very chubby to me. but MIL says shes small built...

sunny

shes on partial BM and FM. but she reacts the same to both types of milk... so i dun think its the taste ... hopefully the teat will work for her. its so worrying being a mother... and i realised shes rather lean too, she weighs 5.13kg at 9+weeks, wonder if its alrite... she doent look very chubby to me. but MIL says shes small built...

gods child,

my son also behaved the same way. He is 3 months old rite now. Such behavior started when he was 2 months old.
I went to PD yesterday and checked with him. Was told that some bb eventually will lower intake of milk when they 2-3 months old. It is very common. So nowadays, I will still make 125ml of milk for Damien, if he cannot I will not try to force him anymore, strongly believed that they not reject milk when they are hungry.

Damien drinking intakes was inconsistent, sometime can finished 125ml and was still sucking the bottles even the milk is finished. And there are times that he will take only 30ml after 4 hours.

tabbiesus
me stay at serangoon.

babylon
wah, 30ml after 4hrs. my boy only took 80ml each time for 2 continous feed and I was a bit worried. usually, he takes 120ml.

Mashy

Abt the rotavirus it oral leh. I let my son have it when he 3mths old. My boi oso go SBCC at thomson theyn didn't say these thing to me wor. And all nurses there encouraging bb to take rotavirus.

Hw my son take the first doze liao and he hving 2nd doze when he 5mths

god's child, babylon, mine boi is also one of this kind... rejecting milk... this happen about 3 weeks ago... imagine how worried i am. my mum who is currently taking care of my boi also never met this kind of pattern. so my solution is to feed bb only when he is sleeping... this is much more easier.

i have check with PD, she say we go to monitor, if the BB refuse to drink at ALL, bb might got mouth infection or wat.

if otherwise, most of the time, this mean that bb is fussy or you can called them naughty and happen that my boi falls in this category... hahaha.

now i have just changed from Enfalac to Similac to let him try. today is the 2nd day already. so far no improvement yet. PD advise is to wait for 5 days, if still no improvement, then it mean that not the formula problem.

PD also mention that if this continue, weight gain will be slow. and in the 4th month, we have no choice but to gradually introduce cereal to them.

can PM me and we can continue to share our same topic on this...

Yesterday my boi went for the second jab for the 6-in one, after the 5.30pm feed, he refuse to drink till 3.30am... i contribute this to the injection... imagine 10 hrs without milk...

Re: Diapers
Realise that the diapers packaging has this "cut-out" thingy which says "10 points" e.g. on Pampers & Huggis Diapers. Does anyone know what is it for? How to accumulate? Saw somewhere b4 that can accumulate & xchange for NTUC vouchers.