(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

RE: Bulk purchase of Cooler Bag
Hi SL and all other mummies interested to get the cooler bag, I am in contact with Ling Chua and have placed order for the Mini Fridge, she is awaiting my confirmation on it. Anyone wants to get it as well? I can get it from Ling and pass on to you when we meet for the bb massage on 8th?

mashy
huh, so scary, i'm abt to bring my boy for the rotavirus jab. hmm..but the rotavirus if dun take 1st dose by 3.5 mths, then cant take liao. will ask my PD also, see what he says. Coz I find this vaccine v impt as we're intending to put him in childcare next time. I read the mag, there was this boy who had the rotavirus and became a bit retarded after that. so poor thing, think the virus damaged his brain.

mongs
read somewhere that bbs devt will be affected if they wear mittens more than 1mth. for my boy, he loves grabbing things once we removed his mittens. He also has scratches on his face.

sleepingdeer
did u see the eggshock at seiyu? coz i hv the seiyu card, so cheaper.

RE: food for gathering..

instead of bringing food.. shall we order mini buffet at 11 dollars per person?.. from neo gardens?

Re: Jab
not sure about the price difference between polyclinic and private. but know that the difference should not be great. as for the waiting time, polyclinic many ppl should know is damn long. that is why many parent go private for the 5 in 1 jab.

Re: mitten
my boy now is coming to 10weeks. still wearing mitten bcoz he tends to rub and scatch his face. have to change a few time a day since he always like to bite and make the mitten vy smelly.
i oso trim his nail once a week. there is once i accidently cut his flesh while trimming his thumb and he cry like mad. i nearly break down when i saw blood and he keep crying. now abit scare whenever i need to trim his nails.

krissie

I also was very concerned abt rotavirus. But since my PD told me got bbies die from it, i think better don't. haha, u know what my PD told me. Don't be the guinea pig. Anyway, 5-in-1 also got its risks leh. Can also cause retardation in some children. But that's a compulsory vaccine. So have to take.

hi krissie,

i don't know if it's good to have so much milk. coz i'm finding it inconvenient. like when i bring my boy out and latch him on, he can't empty my breasts. so end up i still gotta rush home to pump. if only he can empty my breasts, then i can be out for a long period.

bb yanking on breasts:
phew, so glad i'm not the only one.. keke... so i guess it's normal. i tot i was the only one... now i so scared to latch bb on, rather feed him ebm...

hi mums...my first day back at work..so stressed...gotta pump and keep to the clock so that I dun miss classes with the pupils...

Today milk supply dipped by a 100ml...sigh...dunno issit no time to eat and drink...that's why supply dipped...

Sigh...how huh...wait not enuf to TBF how...sigh...

cindy,

my baby also regurgitates a iot of milk, similarly, my baby seems quite happy after that. As parents, we tend to panic when we see that happens. Checked with PD - she said that sometimes when the baby swallows a lot of wind and she throws out the wind, she will also throw up some milk. As long as the wt gain is normal, should be okay.

Thks for the list of thigns to bring and for organising the gathering!

sleepingdeer,

thought that we must each have a min of 3 pcs in our order before we can get the discount?

sunny,

tried sending to you again.

ak, denmy,

you've got mail.

krissie,

i am using the egg shock combi pram - grey and red one also - can't remember the model no.. so far quite happy with it - it's really light. I can carry it around alone. But the thing that I don't like about it is that the canopy provided is half canopy.

tabbiesus,

i latch on my baby when i am home too. it's easier - no need to warm up milk. she likes it as well. she will look at me with big, big eyes while drinking.

rena,

thks - what's the addy of the condo?

mashy.

i took the rotavirus immunisation leh. But thought that it's oral immunisation? the PD never say anything... thought that i read in the papers to give babies the immunisation also?

re: cooler bags

sleepingdeer,
thks for offering - we will order the bags thru you then - how do we pay you?

mummies who want to add on their orders for the bags, just add your name and model/colour below okay? i will start
1) sl - mini fridge
2) tabbiesus - mini fridge
3) queen - mini fridge

joanna
me same same. drop so much like nobody's business... sigh... got to see open, try to relax, as long as bb is healthy and growing. if keep thinking scare no enough the stress will really make our supply drop further. i think for my case my boy vy soon will have to take formula liao. sigh...
my mum today even told me i can stop breast feed liao coz boyboy is coming to 3 month, saying boyboy is lucky to have BM for so long, some bb only have for 1 month... hear liao so discouraging

RE: gathering

I am just worried that mommies have to cook and also to prepare bb.. so since every one is bring food.. we must as well order .. no need to bring containers back or to prepare for cutleries..thank no need to clean up also..

RE: the venue is at east meadow condo.. tanah merah.. directly opp the MRT station..

Tabbiesus,
Agree with sysac, as long as baby drinks her milk & sleeps well, they will be alright. Maybe boys are on the heavier side. It's not exactly true that TBF bb are on the smaller side cos my galfren who BF her son till 1+yrs old, the bb is of good weight & built.

5-in-1 jab
PD says most bb won't kanna fever. My boy was alright after his 3rd mth jab last sat. Paid $126 (including consultation & medicine to stdby for fever).
Dunno is it true that the risk of fever is higher if taking the 6-in-1??

Hi Krissie,
yep, saw the egg shock one, so you should go take a look. That time we bought it at Baby Kingdom, then realise that Seiyu having sale, so sim tia...

Mongs,
my gal too, always scratch her face until it bleeds... though I try to cut her nails every week, it's tough coz only I dare to cut, and when I latch on, I cannot cut... and when my Mum or MIL feed via bottle, I am not at home
My hubby keep wanting to put on mittens coz he scared she will poke her eyes, and that is what she always does, stick her fingers in her eyes, sigh...

re: Cooler bags

Hi SL,
great, I will pay Ling first when I get the cooler bags from her, then when I pass them on 8th, you gals can pay me, how's that? If we buy more than 3 pieces of the same model, it's $53 each rather than $58.
1) sl - mini fridge
2) tabbiesus - mini fridge
3) queen - mini fridge
4) Sleepingdeer - mini fridge

Rena,
buffet's good too...

RE: Buffet

if every one agree I will order either the high tea or mini buffet .. I would like to cater for sunny too..

we need to have at least 30 pp ok? as for cindy's friend will be foc as she is giving us the lesson right?

sl

Yah, it's an oral vaccine. Well, just relating what my PD (from SBCC, so a pretty big pd clinic) told me, coz his colleague had the patients whose bb died. I think the papers didn't touch on whether it's safe or not. Anyway, the company denied that the deaths had got to do with their vaccine. Good thing your bb is ok. Just thot need to inform those who haven't taken of the risks involved coz the papers didn't talk abt the bbies dying so that we can make an informed choice.

dear mummies,
understand that some of you have sarong slings, may I know which ones most of you are using? is it the Moms in Minds slings or the BB Supplies slings? which one is better? or are they the same?

sleepingdeer,
ya, my hubby also scare that she will poke her eyes when she rub. just now I called home and my MIL told me that she cried when she scratched herself too hard so she put back the mittens although I really wanted her to stop wearing mittens. don't know when to stop lei.

rena, I am ok with buffet.

rena
thanks!!! buffet is ok for me. if too ma fan, i will take the meal then go for the gathering 'cos i can't take garlic, onion, spring onion. :p btw what time har?

sl
you sent the mail liao har? still didn't receive wor... you used pm right?

i got blocked ducts at left breast. very painful, trying to massage and hand express it. hope it clears soon.
btw, what's the difference b/w blocked ducts and engorgement?

RE: Cooler bags
those who would like to order the bags, please let me know by Thursday ok? I will ask Ling when is the earliest I can collect...

rena
I dun mind buffet, but i cant confirm if i'm going yet. my hb says maybe he's not free that day. Will let you know.

celine
that's true. you can bring a pump out with you.

sl
where did u buy the egg shock and how much?

sleepingdeer
thanks, so wasted, seiyu just had sale 2 weeks ago.

mashy
your PD's colleague, whoose bb died are also in SBCC?

sleepingdeer
you have the pix and dimension of the cooler bags? i haven't received mail from SL...
i cut my gal's nail ave abt every 3 days, the nails seem growing very fast. so, got to cut it in case she scratches her face and mil will have sth to say again.

mongs
i am using MIM's sarong sling. at 1st got difficulty in putting bb in. thought she doesn't like it, nearly give up. but then, i tried to put her in after she's fed and while putting, i will shake her a bit, after that, she's ok with it already.

does your bb still wearing booties?
after few times of massage and pumping and latching, finally my breast is not painful already. hopefully the blocked ducts have been cleared. just now feeling feverish... so scared.

mashy
so, rotavirus is oral vaccination ah?

rena
am ok with the gathering and buffet.

re mittens
my boy has lots of scratches too ever since i remove his mittens. the first time he scratched , i so heart pain, now i immune liao. everyday see new scratch but they heal fast so not a problem. in fact i trim his nails twice a week and file! but still can scratch.

i let him wear mittens when sleeping.

re combi stroller
i have the smae egg shock one too! NU500. really small. mine was a gift. isetan sells it as well.

rena,
i m fine with neo gdns. I tink they hv high tea menu.

mongs,
I m using bayb supply sling. Big & comfy. I like the embrodiery designs on it.

sunny,
i still let bb wear booties wholeday. As for mittens, only at night. I need to trim his nails once every 2-3 days. He likes to rub his face, esp the eye area, when tired.
Rotavirus is an oral vaccine. Total need to take 2 vaccines. We opt out.

Rena,
Buffet is a good idea!

Perhaps we can get those high tea buffet that has more stuff that can cater for vegetarians?

Re. Back to work MS
Dunno whether MS has dropped since returning to work cos dunno exactly how much milk I have to in the first place ... cos very seldom pump before returning to work. My reserves also running out fast cos recently I have to put in OTs and have to use more bottles that I can pump from work. So what I'll do is come sat & sun, I'll try to at least pump 1 bottle per day to replenish the reserves.

suny,
no mittens & booties for my boy after 1st month.

sleepingdeer,
Now I'm carrying this cooler bag with so many ice packs that it weighs at least 3kg! Hopefully this new cooler bag can really do without any ice pack to last 16 hours.

ak/denmy/tulips,
emailed you all the details of the cooler bag.

sleepingdeer/mongs,
Better stop lettign them wear the mittens. Now's the time for them to develop their sense of touch and motor movements. Just ensure that the nails are trim short and must file the nails. Some scratching with blood is inevitable but as long as nails are not sharp, scratches are minor and thet'll heal in a day or 2. They won't poke themselves in the eye one lah. I usually as my hubby to cut while I latch my boy on after feeding, I'll file his nails. Sometimes, I even trim and file while he's awake! Just have to hold the fingers firmly to trim so that he doesn't fidget too much and do so after he had fed and slept.

Mongs,
I use the MIM sling, but find that BB getting a bit big for the lying down position. But neck is not strong enough to try other positions...

Re: Rotavirus Vaccine
Huh??? Din know abt the risk. My boy took it last week together with his 6in1, it's taken orally. My PD says minimal side effects if any, it'll be very loose stools. My boy din have the side effects of rotavirus but had mild fever due to the DPT in the 6in1 jab. I was a little hesitant as so many vaccines in a day but thot might as well do one shot.. kiasu.
The Rotavirus vaccine is expensive though... $100 bucks! So that day plus consultation and 6in1, I paid $420. Siong...

There is a 2nd dose for Rotavirus vaccine on his 4th mth, think i better ask PD again.

Re: Gathering
Any mummies who are going and are experts at using the MIM sling? I have one but not very savvy at using it. Can teach?

Re: Flashcards
I wish to order.

Babylon,
My mom tried the Avent 3 teats. It seems to work better (can hear the bottle sizzling sound) and feeding is now down from 1hr to 30mins for 120ml. Phew. But, quite a lot also flowed out which i think is a lesser problem than not wanting to suckle or playing with the teat.

queen/ wenyl/ cookie
thanks... clarisse looks exactly like me and my hb with her single eye lids and not-so-sharp nose... when comparing her bb photos with our bb photos, she looks more like me.

dear all mummies
i will be starting work next monday... just heard that my co banned internet during work... haiz think i will have lesser chance to surf motherhood...

queen
i don't let my gal wear booties anymore. but when mil saw it, she will wear for bb... a bit upset actually.
can email me the details of cooler bag?

SY
my gal's palms are always sticky. haha... think she sweat a lot.

cindy
my gal using avent 2 teats, drinking 100ml in abt 5 min time. think it's very fast though...

Rena
Bad news for me, apparently my HB is gng to have some re-servist activities every Sat

So i think 8th April I cannot join you gals liao.

1) rena + hubby + bb (Pizza)
2) sunny + hubby + bb (Veggie Spaghetti)
3) valerie + hubby + bb (drink)
4) cindy + cindy's mom + bb (assorted fruits)
5) Cookie + hubby + bb (crispy fried chicken) NO
6) sysac + bb (rocky pizza) (NO)
7) queen + bb (tiramisu)
8) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
9) krissie + hubby + bb (logan almond jelly)
10) sl+hubby+bb (walnut cake)
11)mongs + hubby + bb (peanut pancakes)
12) serene + hubby + bb (bee hoon) (NO)
13) pochacco + hubby + bb
14) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (spring rolls)
15)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom/hb + bb
16) Wenyl + bb
17) SY +hubby + bb

Mong
I have bought the baby supplies sling but I find it very difficult to do adjustment after put baby inside... you know we got to release or tighten the sling etc to get the rite fit.. but bayb supplie sling like got too much or too thick cloth that make adjstment difficult.
I think you might want to buy moms in mind one.

Re: 5in1 vs 6in1 jab
I have asked my PD and also my friend who is PD if it is true that 6in1 may have higher chance of fever as compare to 5in1... both of them say its not true because the difference between 5in1 and 6in1 is 6in1 include the Hep B dose, all others components are the same and Hep B dose are not the cause of fever after jab usually.
So in their opinion, it should not have higher chance of fever like what other PD has say.

sunny
My mum also sim tia when my boy has scratches. but, i say that better than bb is developing slower than other bbs. then she'll remove the mittens.

SY
why do you say that the NU300 is small leh? I thot this pram's seat is the widest. BTW, I wanna ask you how you control the temp of the avent warmer? you always set to 1 for half hour? when i want it quick, i set to 3. but when the light goes off, the milk is still cold. qt silly, right? Me still cant get the temp, right.

krissie,
I am also using advent warmer. according to the instructions, if it's from the fridge at 4degC can use 3 and put it for 5-6 mins. if it's at room temp or slightly lower, then use 1. I always use 3 for 5-6mins. the lights will keep coming on and going off, think it's a thermostat but it's normal. use the time as the guide to remove the bottle from the warmer. actually it's always wise to test the milk after removing it from the warmer even after establishing a consistent timing and temp after a few trials.

My baby is down with slight running nose and sneezing and sneezing..and slight cough..so my mum brought him to GP and is 2 block away from my coz it was going to rain instead of going to PD.

She was shock that the doctor not going to prescribe her any medicine to the bb and was told that he was too young to take medicine and might afraid bbs WEI cannot take it. So bb was only given nose drop and something (orange flavor) that to mix with water to dissolve his phlegm.

That mean nothing for the bb..eg medication?

My advise to all mummies..in any case, please do not bring you bb to normal GP.

Btw, bb start drinking milk yesterday..his weight now is 6.7kg and 3 month old.

Hi ladies...
Looong time never hear from me right?? I try to occassionally log in n read abit but the threads are still going strong n guess I've missed out sooo much already... = (

Back to work already, my 2nd week at a new dept so also cannot log in n read as obviously as last time... getting used to pumping twice a day at work so far so good... been eating Fernugreek also coz so scared milk supply drop.

Anyway would love to join u guys for the 8th Apr if its not too late can I register too?? But Pai Seh I won't be able to cook but I'm all for the buffet. = )

Ok got to go liao... will try to sneak in again later if i can...

Miss ya all!!! = )

Hi Sunny,
have emailed to you already, the file is almost
1MB, hope you got it...

re: cooler bag
Mummies, Ling just emailed again, she is consolidating one order latest by 6pm today. If we miss this one, we will have to wait for the next one, as she says the salesman in charge will be overseas till 7th April.. I hope to get the stuff to distribute in time for our gathering, so if any other mummy interested to order, can revert by 5pm tpday? thanks!

Babylon,
my bb was given panadol for her fever when we visited the PD, but no antibotics as well, as PD says have to let bb try to fight the virus herself...

Queen,
yah, the ice pack is heavy huh? This new technology sounds really good.

Re: Mittens
yep, we try not to let her wear mittens, but my hubby is the paranoid one, everytime see blood on her face, then he start getting gan chiong... but I still let her wear botties at night, coz her feet get easily chilled... and I think she still doesn't know that her toes exists, so still safe.. hee hee...

RE: MIM sling
yah, if any expert around who can teach the MIM sling, that will be good... I've given up on it already actually

Hi Clare!
Welcome back! and welcome to the gathering!

Joanna, queen, rachel,
my MS also drop drastically... now can only pump enuff for half my gal's feeds, and my stock is fast running out... we use at least 4 bottles a day while I am at work, and I can only fill up 2 bottles while pumping in the office... so resigned to giving her FM liao...

babylon,
think what your GP gave is ok. My fren's bb had bad phlegm and was also given the orange color medication by her PD. The nose drops are also good as they are not harmful to bb, prob saline drops are the most harmless. Also think that should not give bb antibotics when they are so young.

Good to hear that your bb is drinking well again. He is of good weight too. My boy cranked up at midnight yesterday and i totally could not feed him any milk, so he went 6 hrs without milk after a feed of 120ml and during the next feed, only managed 80ml. Wondering why he's not hungry anymore. But he wants to sleep just let him sleep lor...

Sunny,
Your gal drinks at fantastic speed! Hiaz, I couldn;t manage with Avent 3 last night (flowed out a lot and bb seemed angry)... although my mom could during the day, so today all switch back to 2 and the lhr feeding!!

re: times of feeding
I know this has been discuss before... some of babies are eating lesser...
I noticed these days, my baby is feeding only 5 times in 24 hr block and the amount she drink remain the same.
used to be 6 times if she wake up in the middle of the nite for feed but these 1 week or so, she manage to sleep thru and thus miss 1 feed so to speak.
While I'm happy she sleep thru the nite, I'm also worry she is drinking too little.
Plus plus these days when she burp she tend to regurgitate some milk out as well, worry ley

any of your baby also feed 5 times a day only?

RE: gathering

this is the latest update so far.. however please let me know latest by 31st march as I need to order buffet. each person approx. about 10 dollars.. exculding bb ok.. High tea is better cater for all inculding sunny..Thus if last moment any mummies couldn't make it then we may have to split the cost accordingly as it is a 30 pax min..

5) queen + bb (tiramisu)
6) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
7) krissie + hubby + bb (logan almond jelly)
8) sl+hubby+bb (walnut cake)
9)mongs + hubby + bb (peanut pancakes)
10) pochacco + hubby + bb
11) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb (spring rolls)
12)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom/hb + bb
13) Wenyl + bb
14) SY +hubby + bb
15) Clare + bubby + bb

Some updates of little Ariene. She's changed alot

394248.jpg
2 days
394249.jpg
2 weeks
394250.jpg
2 months

BTW, I don't think I'll be able to make it for the gathering. Too many things to do before I go back to work on 16th April.

re: gathering

I can make it... I think catering is a good idea. Thanks Rena for the trouble!

5) queen + bb (tiramisu)
6) Denmy + hubby + elder son(anyone else also?) + bb (finger sandwiches, will make some vegetarian ones for Sunny & HB)
12)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom + bb
13) Wenyl + bb
14) SY +hubby + bb
15) Clare + bubby + bb

wendy,

it a pity that you can't make it.. thought that you can conduct a cooking class too for us.. hee hee..your bb is so cute.. I think her two weeks and two days pictures are swop..

I am coming along too!!! YEAH!!!

I am fine wf the buffet idea... but if need be potluck, i will then add in my contribution k... thanks Rena for organising...

5) queen + bb (tiramisu)
13) Wenyl + bb
14) SY +hubby + bb
15) Clare + bubby + bb
16) God's child + hb + bb

I am coming along too!!! YEAH!!!

I am fine wf the buffet idea... but if need be potluck, i will then add in my contribution k... thanks Rena for organising...

5) queen + bb (tiramisu)
13) Wenyl + bb
14) SY +hubby + bb
15) Clare + bubby + bb
16) God's child + hb + bb

Re: gathering
Rena... sorry for the trouble... maybe I can join la, but I need to check with my hb again.
Cos both denmy and tabbie mummy offer to give me a ride home if my hb not around...
thanks again denmy and tabbie for your offer

if really need to trouble will probably be denmy since she also stay in pasir ris

I confirm again later