(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sunny,
think the formula for BM is 170ml per kg.

you can bring your own oil/lotion if you have. Otherwise, my colleague will be bringing them. Prob will also be giving each some samples to use and bring home.

Do bring along a big soft towel. If afraid that floor too hard, also bring along an exercise mat/small mattress to lay below the towel.

thks yuen yuen for the advise. wat brand of supplements are u taking now? i dun really like iron as i always have constipation after consuming them.

may,
Jamie looks totally adorable! Does she like to try out stunts n exercise a lot? So far my boy only waves and kicks wildly. What position does your girl sleep in?
Don't know if sleeping on his back makes my boy less willing to learn flips... now hard to correct liao, his head also getting flatter and flatter at the back. Simply refuse to sleep on his side nor tummy anymore.

RE : Milk Feeding Amount
Was concern about my boy regarding this. He's having the same problem. Used to be able to drink ard 120ml but nowadays after 4hrs, drink only ard 70ml and can last for ard 3hrs. Once after 5hrs, still dun wan milk. Feeding is very messy now and has been throwing away milk. A friend told me babies go through this phase.

RE : Formula Milk
Called to check how long can we keep milk after we made them as sometimes i keep it up to 1hr as i need to coax my boy to drink. Was told 15mins. She commented babies shld be able to finish milk within that time. My boy takes ard 25min and rarely 15min. Isnt it kinda short?

medela mini pump vs pis
hi mummies, i am currently using the mini electric pump n the motor is dying on me (think i push the pump to work too hard). contemplating buying a pis. any advise???

tulips,
i'm using the PIS advance. personally find it very good compared to the avent. coz less tiring. but like all pumps, i suppose, it doesn't empty the breasts as well as latching on. and i still need to compress the breast to get more milk towards the end.

Harlow mummies...me going back to work tomorrow...kinda mixed feelings...I know my maid can take good care of my boy...but I believe I will miss him...

So...I may not have so much time to catch up with you mummies anymore...cos all my free time will be used for pumping...can only log on once in a blue blue moon...so...mummies...take care! and cya all soon!

queen, thank you very much for your advise, now i feel more confident. will try your advise to store my milk after feeds, hopefully i can store enough soon!

thanks!!

hunniepot, my baby is 4 weeks now and she drinks about 90ml at least per 3hrly (night time can stretch longer)

i think she drinks that amount lah cuz i latch her on 99% and the 90ml is my CL says one and a couple of times when i feed her on bottle that's the amount we feed her and she is ok with it.

Hi Ginger...I am using the Avent and Playtex Milkbags...and I secure them with rubber bands...

ginger,
i'm using playtex. secured with ikea clips. once it's frozen, i wil "dead" seal it using a sealer. those that "melts" the plastic. hope u understand wat i mean.

btw i got a question to ask. if i have milk in the fridge which i have stored for say 10-15 hrs, can i still put in the freezer to freeze? if yes, then how long can it last after i thaw? issit 24 hrs ? or 24 minus 10-15 hrs(depending how long it has been in the fridge)?

been missing for quite sometime here. now back to work... so more time n chance for me to come in.
went through the posts n discover that some mummies oso encounter the sampe problem as me. my boy now start having irregular feeding amount... sometime only finish 60ml n tat will last him at least 3hrs! normally he will drink up 120 ml.
he will even play around the teat in his mouth but simply not drinking.... sigh. but luckily no problem latching him on.

PD:
any mummies can recommend PD that is good. i live in bukit panjang so hopefully can get one around west area.

celine
help my info can be some help to you.
i have tried before storing my express milk in fridge for around 12 hours before combining freshly pump BM n store in the freeze. that should not be any problem.
as for thawing... i will bring down from the freeze say at 8pm and by the next morning around 9am i will transfer them to bottles and place in fridge so my mum can warm up when my boy is hungry. normally will prepare 3 bottles, jus enough for him before i fly back from work. so that means its around 10 hrs after thawing... so far no problem =)

celine
where did you buy the sealer? what brand? i tried to find in ck tang, can't find...

ginger
i use playtex, use ikea clip to secure it.

thanks moms, can i ask if you are using the ikea clips it wont leak?

SSF loose cable must be from 3M or is it those wire kind that we sometimes see when we buy electrical appliances n they use that to tie the wires??

celine using sealer is a double work huh?

Arranging a Bulk Buy for Blank Flash Cards and Math Red Dots.

I manage to negotiate for $65 for 600pcs (410gsm) which will be abt $11 for 100pcs. 410gsm is thicker and more sturdy when you flash the cards. I'm trying to get discounts too for the dots/math DIY pack. If there is a discount, likely 5%.

[A] Blank Flash Cards [410gsm]; One side Glossy + One Side Matt
===============================================================
[1] 11" by 11" - 100pcs $15 [For BITs & Maths]

[2] 5" by 25" - 100pcs $15 [For English & Chinese Sentences cards]

Others
==========
[1] Maths Dots stickers - $6 /pkt (You'll need 4pks for a complete set)

[2] Maths Dots DIY set - $50
consists of:
11" by 11" - 106pcs
Red Dots [1280 dots per pack]- 4 pkts
Sign stickers for equations [long type] - 8pcs

If you're interested, pm me. Thanks!

Hi Yuen yuen,

My baby doesn't sleep through either. As for feeding, she drinks on a 2.5 - 3 hrly interval. I think it's because she doesn't drink till she's full at each feed. Only drink till she's not hungry then she stops. I will try to stretch her and keep her occupied till the feeding time. If that's not possible, then I will feed her lor. Think 1/2 hr earlier should be fine right?

Joanna,

Just sent you the details. Let me know if you wanna the cooler bag. Me and queen getting it. Need at least 3 pcs to get the best rate.

Queen,
Just forwarded you the reply from Ling. Let me know which one you are getting. I think I will still go ahead with the mini fridge one. Although the price diff is $20 but the hours longer by 4 hrs more which definitely can last me till I get home.

rachel,

Frozen milk need to thaw for so long ah? I haven't tried thawing mine yet. How long can we keep the frozen milk?

ginger,

i am using the gerber milk bags - they work like ziplock bags so no need for sealers.

celine,

I have tried combining milk from different pumping sessions and freeze them. But I haven't thaw and use them yet so not sure if the milk is okay.

Celine...normally after pumping...I'll pack my milk into 150ml packs cos my boy takes 150ml each time...the night before consumption, either my maid or my mum's maid will take it out from the freezer and thaw it in the lower compartment. Thawed breast milk can last for 48 hours from the time they are taken down from the freezer...for EBM in the fridge, they can also last for 2 days. Warmed EBM can only last for an hour from the time it had been taken out. Hope it helps.

SL...received liao...thinking of getting the mini fridge one...then at least milk can remain cool for up to 16 hours. Will most likely store the entire bag inside the fridge of the school's pantry...think cleaner that way...
Will check with hubby and email u again, k? thanks!

SSF,
U can get swim diapers from Bumwear at United Sq. Cost ard $22. Alternatively, I was told we can use bumwear diaper pants as swim diapers too but it will be heavier becos of the fleece material. Remember to remove the insert before going into the swimming pool.

sl
think my mum adjust the temperature of the fidge quite low so even when i wan to transfer the thaw BM into bottles there are still ice in it. if store in fridge can keep for 48 hrs. if store in freezer is up to 1 mth.

SL
can pm me the cooler bag details too? how does it look like, cost? does it look like medela's cooler bag?

Got an even cheaper quote. So follow this one:

400g, 1 side glossy, 1 side matte

11" by 11", 600pcs $52
5" by 25", 700pcs $52

But they don't supply the red dots stickers, so will need to get from the other supplier.

RE: gathering..

cindy please check with your friend what we need for the session.. thanks

RE: flash cards

mashy .. do they have only chinese ones?

rena

this is DIY one. So u can get the blank flash cards and print on computer. then paste. can change and add more and more words as u like.

ginger - any wire will do as long as u wash them first. my frd recommend those wire from bakery shops to be used as well.

thks wenyl n sleepingdeer for the swimwear details. anyone brought their bb to the pool already??

Joanna,

No probs - let me know. most likely will get the mini fridge one as well. : )

sunny, tulips,

Just emailed you the details. sunny, got pics and dimensions in the attachments.
i measured my medela cooler bag and compared, the mini fridge one that I am looking at is a bit bigger but much taller so can put my nuk bottles inside. : )

Hi Tabbiesus,

Don't worry abt weight. As long as baby is drinking & sleeping, they will grow. Your baby is prob on the petite side.

I was worried too when I first saw Cephas. Thot it was impossible to fatten him up. Look at his new born pics & him now, no one can tell he was a premature baby who was only 2.2kg.

Gathering:

I assumed that it was confirmed to be changed to 14th. As a result, I made another appointment on the 8th
Will not be joining you gals already.

HI SL,
hee hee, I also emailed Ling on the cooler bag, am ordering the mini Fridge one... think she should have enuff numbers to get the discount.

RE: Gathering
Rena, have mentioned.
Things to bring:
1) one big soft towel
2) mattress/exercise mat to lay on floor (optional)
3) Your own preferred lotion/oil if you have. Otherwise, Johnson's Baby Lotion & Oil will be provided

Pls note that the aircon should not be too cold.

She can also give us each a baby massage CD-rom.

Re: Formula Milk
Y,
I thought can be kept for up to 4 hrs at room temp? However, I always feed up to 1.5hrs max warmed in between while burping my bb. 15 mins is ridiculously short...

Re: Puke
My boy puked the whole feed again, all 100ml. 2nd time this month. He seemed quite happy after that, grinned at me even.
Do your bbies regurgitate milk often? Is it a lot?

ak,
I don't take any supplements at all! Sigh, have always been a very ching cai person.. don't really take car of myself. Like during confinement, my mom always say must drink chicken essence, bird's nest, DOM for my own good and I seldom touch those! So can I just take those multi-vitamin & calcium pills?

Yuen Yuen,
What brand of hair tonic do you use? Good or not?

SSF,
not ice pack group... but purchasing cooler bags with sl and some of the moms here. The cooler bags look quite good and useful. Can email sl for more details!

Cindy,
Yours only 2nd time this month? Wah, my boy can regurgitate every few days... smell like vomit. But not really entire feed, but enough to wet like his shoulder and sleeve!

just finished feeding my bb and by force after 5 hrs only managed to make him drink 2 oz of milk..i gave up..

he actually choose the pacifier than milk coz he refuse to drink so i tried to put pacifier inside his mouth and began to suck..i gaveup..

could it be the teat? coz i am using avent bottles and gaving him NUK pacifier..different texture of teat and shape?

Thinking of getting NUK bottles to try it out..

i am not sure of his weight again..but pretty sure that he put on weight coz his clothes is getting smaller...

Damien is going for ject next monday..will check his pd

Sunny/Cindy,
She is sleeping in sarong. She likes to kick, her legs and arms are moving non-stop when putting her on bed. Didn't give her training.. she dun like to lie flat on bed too. Also dunno why that day I leave her on bed to make milk and heard her crying.. when I come back, I saw her turning sideway and she is crying after trying many times to flip over. Maybe she is fedup of unable to flip..can only turn one side.

can I check with you all where to get those plastic caps for the glass bottles other than Cheong Choon?

re feeding
my boy drinks 5 oz now n doesn't throw up milk so often now. sometimes he doesn't seem to have enough but i will not give him cos he usually end up throwing milk. wat i do after a feed is to burp n carry him upright for some time. realise he doesn't throw up milk so often

babylon
sometimes when my boy fuss during a feed i give him his pacifier n he won't drink after that also....

SL and Queen,

can email me details of the cooler bag too? Need to buy one. my email is [email protected]

Queen,
I am still on the same supplements gynae gave altho i heard some ppl say take multi vits. Suppose u go ask the stores what type of multivits suitable for lactating mothers. I haven't experienced hair loss so far ....altho my boi has been losing hair....

sl,
Can I have info on the cooler bags too? Thanks! [email protected]

Re: Feeding
My boy takes 180-220ml of both FM & EBM when fed by my mum/hb. He doesn't regurgitate. Just like SY, we hold him upright for a little while when burping him to let the milk settle.

sleepingdeer, joanna
Me also going back to work next Monday. this is my last week at home with my boy.

tulips
I'm using the PIS. to me, it's good coz it has this feature which can achieve a faster letdown. so, for me I pumped out more milk as compared to the ameda pump.

celine
how many treatments can we go for the slimming package? any idea how does it work?

me looking for a lightweight pram. anyone has any recommendations? so far, only saw a combi eggshock at 4.2kg.

babylon
that time we gave our boy the nuk pacifier, he totally refused to feed from avent teat or breast. very super serious nipple confusion.

y
who did u call to ask abt the FM? coz it says on the tin to discard milk after 1hr.