(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi SSF...hmm...didn't occur to me to check the teat size...may check on that if he still refuses to take the bottle...funny thing is...if he doesn't hear my voice or sense my presence...he will gladly take the bottle my maid feeds him...sigh...I think he is just being difficult...

Ohh...queen...how much milk do you store each time? I am now starting to store the milk I expressed out into the freezer in the playtex milk bags...as I only managed to get the 118ml bags...I decided to store 60mls in each pack...so currently...I have 5 packs of 60mls and 1 pack of 90mls in the freezer...and a total of 6 bottles in the fridge...hmm...headache...worry that he will not get enuf when I get back to work...juz fed him 125mls but he is crying for more...hmmm....

Hi cookie...I want the milk bottles...how many mls can the milk bottles store?
Thanks in advance and how do I collect it from you?

joanna
my bb is like james too . when maid feeds him he doesn't fuss. when i feed or burp, he fuss so much!

SSF
when do we change to teat no 2?

i still can't get my bb on a fixed routine yet. trying to record down his feeding etc to work out a routine

do u know of any website that states bb's physical n mental development?

Joanna,
Initially I store 125ml in the 125ml Avent bottles. But realise that my boy doesn't finish it. So cut down to 110ml. I have 9 of those Avent bottles. On top of that I bought two 260ml Avent bottles to bring to work for pumping. Then I'll bring home and pour it into the 125ml Avent bottles. Only use milk bags when my bottles run out (milk bags are expensive!). Think you better store about 100ml per bag. Cos 60ml is definitely not enough.

ssf - i did not fix the feeding schedule, it's feed on demand. ethan seemed to recognise places, refused to sleep at home. the only time he was at peace was on my breast. sigh

hi SY...sigh...sian right? I get really mang zhang when my baby starts fussing...it really makes me irritable and upset...

Queen...hmm...so you don't store in the freezer? I am worried that 2 260ml may not be sufficient for me...now that I am pumping at 260-270ml every morning and about 120-140ml per breast if I dun feed him directly...so I will definitely need even more bottles, rite? I am storing it at 60ml so maid can defrost 2 packs at one time and then pour into milk bottle for warming thereafter...SIGH!!!

Was calculating and thinking of getting a separate storage fridge for milk...(the small fridges)...it will even out the cost of getting formula milk in the long run...hehe...mad right?
My hubby says at the rate I produce...this time surely can save on formula...haha

joanna,
i used to be a bit upset about bb not wanting me but i guess i have to go along with the flow. if he prefers maid to feed, then i let her feed and use the time to do other things.

your supply really power leh.... can save a lot of money.

queen,
will check out the website.

any of you tried flashing cards already? i want to try to make my own but not sure how to do it. besides GD cards, any other flash cards available?

sy...haha...hopefully the supply stays when I start teaching next month...still have 1 month and a few more days to pump and pump...store and store...sigh...cos teachers have very irregular schedules so I will be unable to keep up with a constant pumping schedule...that's what worries me most....if I can...I would definitely want to bf till James is 1 years old...

Flashcards best to use black and red markers...that's the colour that stimulates them most now...hehe...me no flashcard...but hubby borrows the einstein VCDs home for baby to listen to...seemingly...allowing babies to listen to diff languages stimulates his brains faster...

sy - third week he is on teats 2 already.

queen - so gd ur MIL does not object. i think mine will definitely jump. hee...anyway r u planning to take flu jab for u n ur bb?

Joanna,
Bottles to be consumed the next day, I store in fridge. Longer than that, I freeze it. I pump about 600ml when at work, so I usually bring 2 260ml bottles, 1 125ml bottle and 2 milk bag just in case my MS miraculously increases. Haha... For you, think need at least 3 or 4 260ml bottles. Actually if your MS is so good, you can consider BF till your boy is at least 1 year old. Then can save on formula! For me, if I'm back to 5 day work week, I doubt I can maintain my MS... So now trying to pump off days to build up reserves in freezer. Hopefully can BF till my boy is 6 to 9 months old.

SSF,
Oh yah... Think I should get the flu jab right? Is it cheap?

queen,
i think its 30 bucks which is wat my gynae charges. its better lor...to build up the immune system. do show us ur pics in europe. so excited for u...enjoy! so how long u be away? i think u need a luggage for bb too.

Queen...sigh...got milk supply also headache...cos not enuf storage place woh...
ya...intend to hopefully bf till he is one year old...then can really save on formula...cos one tin of formula costs $26 plus...and for infants below one years old...they require 4 tins a month leh...so very siong...(I know cos that's the amt my elder boy used to drink when I couldn't keep up with the EBM supply...)
Wah...I also wanna go on a trip leh...u applied baby's passport already right? How did you manage to take his passport photo? My elder boy had his passport done when he was I think 8-9 months old...hehe...cos when he was 1 years old...we went to Bangkok with him...haha

joanna
260ml is after how many hours without pump/feed? it's really amazing!!!
my best record is only 130ml after 4 hours...

joanna - i use digital cam to take a pic of my son n submit via online. cost 50 bucks for new passport application.

Sunny...260ml is after the last early morning feed at abt 7am...I normally pump at abt 10am...and today he suckled at one breast for abt 20 mins before I pumped...But I only started to get this much milk as of this week...in the past...max was 240ml before feed and 120-140ml after feed...

SSF...k...the pic muz have white background, right?

joanna
wow... ok. the supply is really good. did you take anything special to increase the supply?

yap, the background for the photo has to be white. i got my gal the passport last week. also sent online like ssf.

RE: Family Outing
Really envy u all that u can go out with hubby and baby only. I have only gone out twice with hubby and baby which my mum also comes along. Cos my hubby finds it very troublesome to bring baby out. Got to bring alot of things and he worried that baby crys when we are out.
So when he doesn't work on sat or sun, he will go buy food and household stuffs alone. Then baby and me will stay at home.

He say next time when baby is older then bring her out. The only place we go in threes are my IN-LAWS HOUSE !! But during weekdays, my mum and I will bring her to nearby neighbourhood shopping centre once or twice a week.

Hi sunny...no special diet...just eat as per normal but drink lots of milo and yoghurt drink lor...
I seldom take plain water...its either the milo, milk, red date longan tea(Allswell bottled type) or yoghurt drink...
Also...in the night...I try my best to make soup for dinner so that I can have some soup to drink at night...tonite is salmon bone soup with onion, tomato and carrots...

I really believe in taking soup and warm drinks...though my yoghurt and red date longan tea is cold and stored in the fridge...

Juz pumped another 200ml...like I said...the early morning supply is the best...the afternoon supply without baby suckling is only at best 200ml...

May,

My hubby also finds bring bb out a chore.. but I always try to bring mininum.. bring only the necessary things..actually quite easy.. if bb drinks every 3 or 4 hours just bring the sterlize bottle with cold water in it so you only need to bring hot water.. then you bring wet wipes plus 2 diaper but make sure you change bb before leaving the house, then wear long slevee and long pants for bb if you intend to go to aircorn place..plus milk powder.. bascially that is all.. if taking pram then remember to bring a light blanket or towel..plus hanki ..

RE: outing for bb..

we have been bring bb out alot since his full month...hee... hee. until MIL complain..

Queen..

Bring bb overseas is good but you must know what season it is over there so that you can bring the right clothes for bb..bb tends to cry due to air presure..so better check with PD

May -when we go out, it always take like half hr to prepare his stuff, chg him, get milk etc. so can understand how ur hubby felt. my hubby he quite willing as he knows i am quite bored at hm, so weekend, we will go out and dinner times, we sometimes eat out. but lately he has been cranky after outing and his feeding timing quite haywire so we decide to bring him out only when needed.

hi wendy or any mummies using aprica dr brown's milk bottle:
was it u who bot the aprica dr brown's milk bottle? i juz bot 2 but not too sure how to use it. was wondering if u can help me? tx!

celine
I'm using Bfree... think the concept is abt the same, anti colic reduce air intake.. they have this additional cap and tube in the bottle rite?
what is it u not sure..not sure I can help tho..

re: changing to teat 2
how do we know when is the right time to change to teat 2? I thought teat 2 is for above 3 mths ?

hi cookie,
ya think bfree is oso the same concept. i bot 2 kind, one has an additional cap at the end of the tube(straw-like thingy), ie. the end that is nearer to the base of the bottle, not near the teat. is that additional cap suppose to be attached to the tube or not? coz the other dr brown's bottle which i bot doesn't have that additional cap.

celine
actually I bot more than necessary I bought 4 Bfree bottles 2 from metro, 2 from baby hyper mart.

bascially the Bfree bottle (not sure if exactly same as Dr brown), besides the usual teat and screw on cap and bottle, 2 other parts is a straw with Colour marking at the end ( to reflex temp) and a cap in which the straw will attached to.

attached the straw to the rubber cap then fix it into the bottle, it should sit nicely covering the whole of the bottle then screw on the cap together with the teat.

err I hope my explanation is clear...
therefore the Bfree bottle I have.. instead of having 3 parts to assemble, there are 5 parts to assemble.

i m on yahoo MSN. anyone?

re bb going out
May my hubby is like yours. not keen to bring bb out cos he finds troublesome. but really must bring. both my MIL and mum encouraged me to bring bb out.

re MSN
will try to set up.

Queen, SSF,
Thanks! I ever used the sterilising tablets when I was still in TMC. The nurse gave me a few tablets to bring home. Hubby & I didn't like the chlorine smell so we never use the remaining tablets. Wondering whether is it safe to just wash & use the pump and sterilise once or twice a day??

Joanna,
20 needles sounds painful leh! But i guess it is no pain no gain!

BF while having Flu
I m down with flu for the last few days. TMC LC said shld continue to BF cos our milk got antibodies. But I still worry whenever I BF my bb Ethan. Worried Bb will kanna my flu bug....

hi cookie,
ic. i get wat u mean, thx. my bottle has 6 parts, other than the 5 u mentioned, mine has another rubber thingy to be attached to the other end of the straw, ie. both ends of the straw has something to be attached to it. i kinda figured out how to use it liao. thanks for ur explanation anyways

hi may wong,
thanks for the info!

I've added you guys on MSN.
My MSN: [email protected]

Hi SSF,
I've tried pigeon, gerber and avent, all disposables, as well as avent washables. I like gerber best cos it's thin and contoured and it doesn't show thru' the bra, though it doesn't stay flushed and seamless after a couple of feeds... as for avent disposables, i find it a bit too thick, as with it's washables. I only use them at home.

Hi Joanna,
Your accupuncture sessions sound good. It's probably best suited for BFing mums when it comes to losing those xtra pounds. Where is this place?

Hi Celine,
Re: Feeding bottle
I use Bfree feeding bottles. http://www.babybfree.com/
They can be bought at Baby's Hyperstore Pte Ltd, 69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Ind Pk Singapore 417947, (65)6844 1123. They are the main distributor for Bfree bottles... so should be cheaper then shops outside.

joanna
re feeding baby bottle, LC says to let someone else feed bb with the bottle. i guess it's to avoid any confusion for them. yes, better train him early. my colleague's bb refuse to be fed by bottle and she has to go home during lunch to feed him everyday.

wendyl
yup, it's joanna who went for accupunture.

wendyl
PD told me to bf when i had cough. he's says it's v good for bb as he gets the antibodies.

joanna
ya loh, 20 needles soounds v painful leh.

one question re: bebe hairgrowth, is it true must shave head for hairgrowth? If so when to shave... my bebe girl quite bald leh...got more hair on side than center like male pattern baldness
! So wondering to shave or not... i like her baby fine hair now, sure will feel xintia if shave...
375635.jpg

tabbiesus
i shaved my gal when she's just 1 mth old. old ppl said it's better to shave. but it's all up to you lah.

tabbiesus
pple tell me to shave bb when 4 months but it doesn't work for all bb.

how to set uo msn? me trying but seems to have problems

wenyl - i tried yest for the first time using sterlising tablets. and like u i also hate the chlorine smell but at night it really help to save time and electricity since at times i will sterilise just the pump only since i have only 1. so when i am sterilising in bulk, i will include the pump as well. else it will be soak in the container.

tabbiesus - no i didnt shave my boy and no plans as yet although his hair is quite little

Hi denmy...it is at upper thomson rd...hehe...
it is really not painful at all...once you get used to it...u can even set your own electirc current...hehe...
It is really effective though...

Krissie...actually...not painful lah...in fact...after the session...it will itch a little due to the fats being burnt...the only unbearable part for me is the part where they put small suction cups all over your tummy to suck the "water" content out...:p Ya...now I get the maid to feed him the bottle and he is okie with it....AARGGHH....hehe...if I had known earlier...I would have given the bottle to the maid...In fact...he doesn't even fuss when the maid gives him the bottle...

Wenyl...juz wear a mask when BF...I did that when I had flu the last time...bb didn't catch it from me...I continued to BF...I got the mask from my GP...think he mentioned that can get it from Pharmacy...