(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie

maybe your baby is going thro a growth spurt at around 3 weeks of life. If not, maybe she is like my baby (almost 2 months already) and she is trying to settle into a night routine cos now she can sleep 5-6 hours thro nite if we feed her continuously...

i worry abt overfeedig cos nowadays she has a tendency to regugitate milk when we burp her, sometimes its very little, but sometimes its very frightening cos its projectile and comes thro her nose. It really freaks us all out, but my baby doesn't seemed bothered, doesn't even cry when that happens. Its quite scary when you feed baby 100mls and then within 30 min they can down another 80ml...

cookie

my baby girl also dun like aircon but we sleep in the aircon room at night. We set the temp at 26 degrees too. Initially tried 27 degrees during confinement, but hubby complained too warm! So compromise at 26. I don't necessarily put her in long sleeve/ pants but wrap her up in a warm blanket. I got some flannel ones. We found out that she likes it warm cos initially we used to bundle her up like crazy until others mentioned that we could be overdoing it, however, we find she seems to like it cos once we stopped keeping her so warm, she gets really upset until we wrap her up again. SOmetimes if she gets fussy in the aircon, we will walk her outside til she's sleeping then bring back in again. Usually I find that she will tolerate the aircon once she's well fed cos after she has had enough mlk, she is too zonked out to care.

Hi May,

Since he was 2 months old, I slowly increased 10ml per week. If Cephas can finish, then fine. If he can't, then I let it be. So far, he will usually finish 150ml. 180ml are when his last nite feed has been stretched from the previous one.

Cookie,

My air-con temp is set at 25c. As the cot is quite a distance away from the air-con, Cephas wears short sleeve top & long pants with mittens & booties. Will place a flannel blanket over him from his waist down. I let him sleep on his tummy at night so that he will sleep through the nite.

May,

I think you bb is the same as mine.. love noise and hates loneiness..

BTW, you can try to clean the BCG using the wipes that was use for the cord.. I bought quite a lot from the pahrmacy.. the last time bb cord drop off only at two weeks so have to buy extra to clean.. his BCG had pus and bleed a little so I clean with the wipes and it dried up the next day..

RE : Sarong..

Queen , I have the same problem too.. my MIL insist too and I am worried that during the 3 days of our trip to Thailand she will put bb on the sarong..

RE: aircon

Cookie, my bb too hates aircon during the confinement I really suffer coz I must sleep with aircon.. then the Cl taught me to set the aircon to 25 or 26 degree then on the fan but fan only blowing one direction.. this way it will create a breeze feeling and not coldness.. try that .. my bb loves it and after a week I switch off the fan and now bb needs aircon to sleep soundly..

RE: messy feeding time

Cookie , what I did was I increase the dose of milk then each time he wants to drink before the milk time I will feed him water of give him pacifier.. he will refuse but I will force him and carry him round the house.. very tired but bo pian coz bb over weight so have to prolong his hours..

Tabbiesus,

my bb too have this experience.. and it scare me .. until I refuse to feed him and ask my hb or mom to take over.. slowly I got over and try again..

Re: air con
my baby has no problems with or w/o air con. In either case, i always let her wear longs n be all covered up. Sometimes i overdo it coz she perspires but yet doesn't complain!

Re: clogged milk duct
i hv this clogged duct on 1 breast very high up near the middle of chest bone. Can't seem to unclog it...tried warm towel, massaging, pressing the area, expressing milk out, letting bb latch on to empty breast, etc. But that area is still clogged, hard n painful. Hmmm any other remedies?
now when i carry my gal upright against my chest it hurts!

wendy,
ya, I know about demand=supply but I am still on demand feeding at 8weeks and she is constantly on my breast. been like that for the past 8 weeks. so tired. no choice but to supplement a bit else think I will go bonkers. my production seems too slow for her.
anyway, I think ur baby will experience a growth spurt at her 6 weeks where she will need more milk. think age has some relation to the amount babies drink.

re:aircon,
my baby sleeps in aircon room at night with us at 26deg. we let her wear long sleeves shirt and long pants. we used to swaddle her before her 1st month with a receiving blanket then cover with a felt blanket but think it's too hot for her. we stop swaddling after her 1st month. just the long sleeves and pants and blanket.

re:messy feeding time
I heard from my friend that babies want to 'tank up' for the night so that they can sleep longer. my baby used to do that during my confinement. but now she don't, she will wake up twice to be fed. tried to feed her more at her last feed but she still wake up at either 2am and 4am or 3am and 5am for her feed.

Hi Ladies...good afternoon...

Krissie...sorry for the late reply...I am still interested...will check my email for your PM...the last few days were packed with family dinners and activities and then yesterday...my elder boy took ill and he is now at home with me today...

Re: Milk supply...
I have started to be alittle more diligent and try to pump after feeds...it works wonders leh...now hor...every 2 hours...my breast will be engorged unlike the past...and the highest record was pumping out 260ml from both breasts aft a feed...I have got 6 bottles of "fresh" milk supply in the fridge and 4 packs of frozen milk for now...

RE: Bottle feeding
As I will be going back to work next month...I decided to start James on EBM...but realised he gets really cranky when I start to feed him the bottle...he will complain and cry and refuse to suckle from the bottle...but when my maid does the feeding...he will drink despite still crying and complaining...sigh...does any of you face the same problem? The funniest thing was that after he woke from a bottle feed and I carried him and decided to put him to my breast...he smiled at me and suckled contentedly at the breast...haha

re :aircon / baby feeding
thanks all for the advise...
I'm slowly let my baby learn to sleep in aircon..
we let her sleep first then on the aircon.. and last nite she manage to sleep well.. what a relief but I know baby's pattern changes now and then... just pray that she will sleepinng good from now on...

Durain lover
the massage lady who help to unclog my breast..
you may try lying down and feel that lump and massage and then push the lump towards to the nipple until milk flow out... repeat doing that many times.
before the massage lady come I didn't know I have so much clog and now that she did the unclogging.. it's much better now.. my breast also softer but hor.. MS still low la..sigh.

cookie,
i've tried massaging the way you described but to no avail. Now there's a big bruise on the part of my breast which is clogged. And it's still clogged! When i lift my arm it hurts too..i dun even need to touch it and it hurts. i really wonder if it's clogged milk duct or if i injured myself??
And it seems a bit ex and silly to call LC to come to my place just to help massage away the clogged duct. Dunno what to do...

re pacifier,
my boy will spit out pacifier once he is in deep sleep so it's a good way to know whether he has fallen asleep soundly.

re sarong
my MIL also keep telling me to give sarong to my boy but so far i have been refusing. dun want to let him have the habit of being rocked. so far he can sleep these few days so i have been saying that to refuse the sarong.

re air con
ha..i m a kiasu mummy, i set the temp at 29-30 cos of his block nose! think when it's too cold he doesn't like it.

i have this white spot on my nipple. i remember someone also got it. how to get rid of it?

re bringing baby out
think i need to start to train my boy to go out. so far the attempts have been unsuccessful. (not counting poly clinic visits etc)

re 6 in 1 jab
can i check with mummies who are taking this. when do they need to go for the next jab? the clinic told me when bb is 6 weeks.

re messy feeding time
my bb has this too. i m trying to tank him up for night but sometimes he doesn't even want to wake up to drink before i go to bed.....

joanna,

after a feed and still 260ml pumped out. my goodness, some production plant you have. if I can HALF of that quantity BEFORE a feed, I will be very grateful.

joanna - wow..you really have good MS like Wendy. envy envy lei...for me after 5 hrs i managed to pump only 160ml and my boy drinks like 120ml per feed. so always have only like a few ml extra in case he wants more.

i used to be able to pump like 200ml every 4 hrs...but MS seems to drop. i think its due to inadequate rest and also food intake. have not been eating well balanced meal lately and no soup since i am hm all by myself to look after my boy. anyway , will perserve until it dries up. the most i will give him wat i have and supplement with FM
other mummies who have low MS, must also perserve together ya!

joanna
wow your supply is really good!!! envy.

sy
me has white spot b4. i tried to squeeze it during shower as what joanna suggested. but, cannot. so, i tried diff latching method. after few days, it's juz gone.

today i asked LC to come and teach me correct latching method. feel more confident. and i let bb sleep on her tummy, she can sleep v well!!! and of course, i get to hv some rest...

sunny, which LC did you ask?

can't remember is it sleepingdeer who use a pte LC. sleepingdeer, can u PM me the contact. thanks.

sunny - yeah i let my baby sleep on his tummy in the noon as he can sleep very long and not easily frightened. at night, i dare not as i am afraid he will suffocate himself as he can now move his head and chg position and at times will face down.

mongs
i m seeing the LC, betty lee. hp: 9833 0170.

ssf
ya, i don't think i will let my gal sleep on tummy at night, too... 'cos she still can't control her neck muscle very well...

Hi durianlover...I had the same prob as you when baby was 3 weeks old...it was near the chest region and despite getting hot baths and hot towl massages...it refused to go away...it became so bad that even when I carried baby close to my chest...the pain was unbearable...finally...no choice but to go to the LC at TMC...Grace, one of the LCs had to massage me so HARD that I almost fell off the chair...if you ask me...I think contractions are less painful as compared to blocked ducts...in the end...it was cleared and the milk flow got even better...

Re: MS
Err...the 260ml was the highest in pumping record time lor...but dunno whether will sustain anot...no joke waking up with hardened breasts every 2 hours...worse still...it starts leaking after a while and it feels terribly soaky, wet and uncomfortable...I only started pumping after feeds last week after reading the thread...but hor...I can be very lazy at times lah...so...sometimes...when I'm tired...I choose rest over pumping...hehe...dun worry...just persevere...I've been drinking lots of marigold yoghurt drink and milo and I wonder if that has an effect on my breastmilk supply...also... been making soup for dinner...tonite is pumpkin, pork ribs, honey dates and carrot soup...I think what we really need is a good diet...also...I have been taking cheese daily...dunno if it helps...

Re: Ameda Pump
Krissie...I have emailed you liao...
do feel free to contact me on my mobile, okie? Most likely I will be going down for the accupuncture session this Sunday...hehe...then will leave baby with maid and bring my elder boy along...

Re: White spot on nipples...
SY...what I did was to remove it with my fingernails during a really hot shower...I had it more than once...so sometimes...I will use a toothpick and then try to remove it...it's actually dried up milk at the opening of the duct...so if we don't remove it...it may get harder and prevent proper milk flow...but must be very gentle when removing...after the removal...u may still feel pain but it should subside in a day or two...
Hope this helps

and ohh....just found this while packing and thought I would type some out to share with all mommies in this thread...(Its a brochure from TMC)

Re: Why Soups?
- A protein rich soup enhanced with nutritious fresh ingredients is needed to build-up and maintain health to every part of the body. The glandular tissue of the breasts is capable of selecting from the blood in the breast the necessaary nutrients for the formation and preparation of milk. thus, the level of essential vitamins, minerals and folate in the breast milk will depend on the intake by the mother.
- A nutritious soup also provides energy for milk production. Soups provide the necessary fluids. Breastmilk consists of 87.2% water.

Re: Recipes to improve milk flow in lactation (Also from TMC Brochure)

- Longan and Red Date Tea
10 pcs of dried longan flesh, 10-20 pcs red date(seed removed, 4-5 tang kwei (Optional) ---boil and simmer ingredients in 4-5 cups water for 45 minutes to 1 hour until liquid is fragrant and tasty...drink throughout the day

- Fish and papaya soup---200g green unripe papaya, a few pieces of fish (snakehead, carp, seabream, pomfret or kurau), few slices of ginger --- scale and clean fish. Simmer together with pieces of papaya and ginger for 4 hours or till soft.

also...chicken curry and fish curry are supposedly helpful to lactating mothers...hehe

Hope this info helps!

joanna,
thanks for the info on food n soups! Didn't know that curry's good for us too!

Yes i think what u experienced last time is what i'm going thru now. My gal likes to be carried w her head against my chest n i screamed in pain just now when she put her head on my chest! Very painful
Already called sister kang (LC at Mt A) and she gave me some tips on what to do - i tried n it helped for like 1 min, then the clogged part hardened again. Sigh...even wearing t-shirt is painful. If it doesn't improve by tmr i may go see a LC...

durianlover

you better take care! If not better mustn't wait, harder to clear plus risk getting mastitis! If u go see LC, make sure u take some painkiller if u have no allergy cos VERY PAINFUL!!

re: carry baby upright..
I also notice my bb is easier to calm to be carried upright...
but once come back to cradle position she scream again.. but so difficult to carry her whole nite upright.. and my MIL will comment from side say will suffocate her... sigh..
but carry bb upright really helps to calm her down.

joanna - 260ml, thats a lot. how long did u pump from each side after feed?

re: milk supply
it is such a paradox. probs with low supply - thinking how to increase, too much u will suffer from engorgment. but, to see ethan smiling at me after nursing, it is all worthwhile.

re: staying alone with baby
i really pei fu those of you who stay alone with babies. my hb and i moved back from my mom after confinement last weekend. the two of us were vexed, dunno what to do with ethan. we could not coax him despite carrying him, putting him in sarong. in the end, have to move back to mom. will be trying again this weekend. hopefully, we will do better this time.

re: latching vs pumping
i heard that milk supply will increase from more latching rather than pumping. mummies, any idea if this is true???

cookie
my boy also drank a lot at one stage. think it's ok. they'll know when to stop when full. that's what PD said.

durianlover
think it's best to get LC or massage lady to clear the blocked ducts. it can be v serious if not treated and may even need operation if inflammed. when i went to see LC, a few pple were there just to clear blocked ducts. also, it can affect MS in future if not treated.

RE: who want hospital glass bottle - the tall and slim kind not the similac kind
I have quiet a number of it.. any mum want them? before I throw...dun think my MS can make it to use them all.

SY
1st jab for 6 in 1 can be 6 weeks or 2mths. depending on the schedule u want.

SSF
your MS also qt good lah, better than me. for me the most so far is 125ml after 4/5hrs. normal times ard 70ml only.. but, like what u say let's jia you together loh.

durianlover
yup, take 2 panadol before u go. the painkiller which gynae gave also can.

Re: clogged milk ducts
oh my!! Sounds serious! Hmm yah i think i will see LC tmr if it's not better. Tabbiesus, what's mastitis? But now i got phobia of seeing LC knowing that it's gonna be so painfuL! Already without touching the area it's painful, can't imagine what will happen if they massage that hard lump
But so far the past few feeds i've been latching my gal on my left breast (the one that's clogged) and massaging it...seems slightly better. Hopefully it'll get better!

tulips,
yah i also heard that latching will increase MS better than pumping...coz baby's suckle stimulates MS well. But that's provided that baby can suck well.

Re: staying alone with baby
That's what i'm doing now after my confinement and it's a lot of adjusting to get used to. Really not easy esp when my gal keeps crying to be carried! Can hardly do anything in peace...

SY,
i'm also bringing my gal for 6-in-1 jab when she's 6 weeks old.

RE: 6in1 jab
My PD dun encourage 6in1 jab at 6weeks old. Cos 6in1 mean DPT + Hep B. Which DPT will cause fever. She is afraid that first time mum will not be able to handle the 6weeks old baby well.

So she recommend me to take Hep B on 1st mth (which won't have fever) and 5in1 (which is DPT) when Jamie is in 3mth. Cos by then, she is much easier to handle already.

durianlover,

Mastitis is when the milk kena stuck in the breast too long and causes inflammation, gets red & painful and can cause fever and even become infected. I think a good way to loosen the clogged duct is to let the baby latch on esp.when baby is very hungry. My LC used this method to help me clear some of my blocked ducts. Hope it gets better 4 you...

have you had friends or relatives who brought their very young infants overseas on long haul flights? I'm seriously thinking of going with my HB to UK and then Paris and bringing Isaac along.

I'm new here. My boy is 7.5 weeks old (EDD 11/01/06 but ADD 30/12/05)

I have been reading your postings here for the last 2 days. Very informative.

Re: Sling
I've been using a sling since day 1. I use it to BF when we're out and about. I sometimes use it at home when I need to work on the computer and Keenan needs to feed. It's been really indispensible for me... but I must admit it gets a little too hot and stuffy after a while.

Also, your breast pad gets scrunched up when u use it under a nursing bra. Anyone with that problem? It's quite fiddly when u BF in public, as u want to be quite discreet...

Wendy,
How do you BF bb in rugby position in a sling? It's always cradle position for me. When I switch breast, I had to flip sling around. Very cumbersome especially if bb is fussing.

Queen,
How old is your bb? My 1st child was born in UK and we traveled back to Singapore when he was 7 mths. At that time, we even went to HK and Shenzhen.

Sterilise Pump
Is it necessary to sterilise the pump after every use? Or do u ladies do it once a day? Very ma fan for me cos I use the boiling method. So most of the time, I m too tired/lazy to pump after feed.

Acupuncture for slimming
Krissie - R u the one who is going for the acupuncture? May I know how many needles the acupuncturist used? Is it mainly around the tummy area?

tabbiesus,
thanks for the info. Have decided to go ahead. Now applying passport for my boy.

Wenyl,
You can try using sterilising tablets (can get at pharmacies). Just need to fill up a plastic container with water and throw in the tablet. Good to last 24hours, so after using the pump, just wash and then put inside the solution. Can repeat several times a day. no need to rinse when removed from solution cos milk will react with the solution and turn it into sodium chloride or somethign like that. Less hassle. But the downside is, solution smells like chlorine.

tabbiesus
try to relax, think of bb and pump longer. i encounter twice that when i pump, there's no milk or gradually lesser, but after i kept pumping for few minutes, the let down comes in...

yesterday mayb my gal had been sleeping a lot (compared to previous days) in day time, she didn't wanna sleep at night after feed!!! end up, i got to let her suckle my nipples and sleep... so tired.
recently, when bb doesn't wanna sleep and i didn't have energy to carry, pat or play with her, i get very mang zhang. and keep thinking of giving bb away or pass to my hb to deal with her ... gosh.. what happen to me?

tulips - i have moved back to my home after 1 mth. and in the day, i am alone with my boy. so far so good, i had his feeding timing schedule fix. is your feeding timing fix?if so, you will manage your time better. my boy will drinks every 3 hrs, so i will warm the milk 15 mins before he wakes up and put in a warmer bag which can last for 4 hrs if not touched. then after each feed, he will nap and tats when my free time comes. i will read papers, watch tv, surf the net, have a quick meal, nap or shower. but of coz, there are times when he is cranky, so i will cuddle him to sleep or play with him. as for lunch, how do u settle once you are home alone? i order tingkat food and dinner, either we eat out together with baby or hubby will buy back. since my hubby returns only in the evening, i will ask him to take over the feeding, cuddling and also we'll bathe my boy togther so that he can bond with him. i think its possible to manage alone, just need to have his feeding fix and it be easier. i remember reading a book saying that you are to control your time and not let the baby do that

krissie - yeah lets jia you together for our babies' health sake. wat more impt than wanting him to be in pink health

durianlover - is your baby not having enough milk since she is cranky after each feed? or did you burp her in between feed? for me, my boy drinks 120ml and i ensure I burp him at least twice. and once he is full, he will be in zombie state and sometimes will sleep when i burp him. then i will put him to lie on his tummy and he can sleep straight 3 hrs until next feed. if he gets cranky still, i will check diapers. a book also mentioned if the above all done and baby still cranky, do check on your meals intake. do not eat too spicy food or too much dairy products since some baby may get tummy upset.

queen - wow..you are really thinking of bringing Issac along. it be challenging since distance is pretty long and Issac have to pay 75% of the air fare a well.i had already made my boy passport and will be collecting this sat. did it online and it was pretty fast. as mentioned, my hubby also gg to melbourne and Las vegas in mar and apr but we decided against bringing him along as he gets cranky when he is out and i dun want to disturb the passengers. hehee.. but we are thinking of banyan tree in bintan or maybe a car ride to malacca. so it depends on his schedule. for me, i really wish for a break but not without bringing my boy. i will miss him lor if i lave him here.

denmy- welcome..wats the brand of your breast pad? avent disposable one is good as it has adhesive tape to keep it in the same position without being scrunched up.

wenyl - you can use the sterilizing tablets. its very easy. just find a plastic container withe water n throw one tablet in. it can last for 24 hrs. so after using the pump or bottles, just wash it with the baby detergent and then throw it in the container. when you want to use just take it and use it. i have bought a pack in Pharmacy but havent gotten the container yet.

re: bringing baby out

yesterday brought him again to Changi Airport and ate Fish and Co. haha..and he was much better than V day. less cranky and maybe because i heed advise from Rena to wear long pants/sleeves and hat for him. so he was quite cosy. although he does cry alittle..but we had a good meal. been a while since i last ate a good meal of seafood since i had c sect and doc advise against it.

ssf
at night do you put bb sleep on tummy, too?
i dare not leh... but if she still doesn't wanna sleep at night, i might put her to sleep on tummy, too...

sunny - no at night i dun put him on the tummy to sleep as i also dun dare. moreover, his neck will be stiff if i dun rotate his neck every couple of hrs. so in the day, i will rotate his head. but at night, it be difficult since i am also in deep sleep. haha.. if he gets cranky still, this is where pacifier comes needy. i will let him suckle to sleep. and once he is in deep sleep, he will drop the pacifier and i will keep it. if all else fails, i will cuddle him to sleep. he likes the upright position where i lean him to my chest over the shoulder. even burping, i do tat and he seems more comfy and makes burping easier.

Dear mummies...GOOD MORNING!!!

Tulips...I took about 15-20 minutes in total on the avent isis manual pump to get the 260ml of milk...
After visitng the LC the last time I had blocked ducts...I have been able to set 6-8 jets of milk shooting at the same time when I pump...so it is quite fast...but then...tiring lor...

Re: Milk Supply...
Err...my 260ml is usually in the morning when I pump after my rest at night...I think it is because James takes pretty little in the midnight feeds and as such...I have lots of storage over the nite...but in the day...if I pump after each feed...(he usually empties one breast)...the breast which he empties may produce up to max of about 40ml while the breast he didn't empty 140-160ml each time...meaning to say...in between feeds...if I am really diligent...I can get about 180ml of milk pumped out after each feed...normally I pump in the day and in the afternoon...come evening...I will latch him on directly.

Re: Baby refusing bottle
Queen...did you have any problems giving your baby milk from the bottle? My boy is still grumbling and crying each time he gets fed from the bottle...when he sees me or hears my voice...it is even worse...so when maid is feeding him...I gotta act as though I am not around...sigh...He will kick up such a fuss despite the fact that he IS hungry...he will suckle on the bottle for a while then push it out with his tongue and refuse to suckle further and will need lots of coaxing...SIGH!!!

Any mums experienced the same thing? I need to get him started on the bottle cos I will be going back to work really soon...sigh...

Re: Bringing baby out
If I bring baby in the sling...he tends to be able to sleep better and for a longer duration...but if it is in a pram hor...he will fidget at the slightest noise and will start wailing...haha...so...imagine the "war" we have to battle when he starts his wailing session...he sounds as though someone had just pinched him...haha...normally...I will make sure he is fed before we leave so that we have more time to do what we need to do prior to his waking up...
The other nite...we went for dinner at a restaurant with my family and he refused to be fed by the bottle cos I was the one feeding him...he struggled and cried till I gave in and gave him his ORIGINAL milk Bottle...MY BREASTS...haha...I was so worn out by then...
I guess this is really part and parcel of Motherhood

Re: Accupuncture to lose wt
Wenyl...I'm the one who's going for the accupuncture...they put a total of 20 needles...some on your tummy and some on your thighs...then it will be connected to some electrical current and we will just lie there for 45 mins...
pretty comfy actually if you ask me...helped me go down 2 dress sizes when I had it before my pregnancy...each session is $35 but it comes in a package of 10 sessions and we just pay $350 each time...
even the thighs would slim down...only downside is we can't eat carbo except for potatoes...but...I cheated lah...sometimes...during my last accupuncture sessions...I would snack on biscuits...hehe...but...can still take ice-cream and chocolates...so not too bad lah...

joanna - did you check the teats size. do you need to upgrade to a bigger hole for a faster flow? since you need to go back to work soon, its better to start giving him bottle and let me adjust asap else once you start work, it be a problem if he still refuse milk bottle. maybe tats why i start as early as the third week to give him bottle feed as advised by my frd. And pro and cons lor, coz now he refuse my breast as i think the flow is too slow for him since he is on avent teats 2. and yeah i can understand the "war" you are talking abt. my hubby and me always seems to be in the battlefield whenever we take him out. at the end of the day, so worn out and still have to unpack his bag. hee..

my boy cranky right now and I had to put him in the sling to make him sleep. Looks like sarong is inevitable...

tabbiesus,
have to keep pumping to stimulate letdowns. Sometimes I stare at my boy's photo and think of him. When I'm at work, my first letdown is almost instantaneous. Sometimes it comes even before I get my bra off, cos my body knows that I have to pump already. Can usually get about 140 to 160ml before the next let down, which will probably give me only about 30 to 60ml. So up till now, my best record is only 220ml after 4 hours. All in all take about 20mins to get 2 letdowns for me. It's true that morning pumps will produce more. I pump 3 times at work, at 8.15am, 1.30pm and 5.45pm. Always get the least in the evenings.

sunny,
don't worry. Takes some time for BBs to adjust to the normal day/night sleeping pattern. My boy sleeps throughout the night now, except for feeding. So more awake and cranky in the day (much to my MIL's despair).

SSF,
Yah loh, decided to go cos my HB says he will be lonely going himself and I really didn't want to pass up the chance to go Europe again! Somemore my HB's flight & accomodation are paid for. Got daily allowance too for the first 5 days. Only have to pay for trip to Paris. My MIL was surprisingly agreeable to us bringing BB along. Think she tired of taking care of my mang zhang Isaac.

Joanna,
Must say your MS is good. After feed, it's very difficult for me to get much milk out, max also 40ml. Must pump very long to stimulate a letdown to get like 100ml or so or milk. Been trying to pump after night feeds cos my boy doesn't drink much and breasts feel full. But I took so long to get letdown that sometimes give up and tahan the fullness.
My boy never had problems with teat, pacifier and my nipples. No confusion at all. He was using NUK teats when in KKH for phototherapy. Then when he's home, on the odd occasion that I bottle feed, I use Avent. Then I give him a Pigeon pacifier. Amazingly doesn't reject any of them! And when I'm back from work, he can also happily suckle at my breasts. Perhaps you started bottle training too late with James. He has grown smart and recognises your voice, face and smell. Obviously likes your breasts more! What to do, have to get your maid to keep feeding him with bottles. Must persevere. Eventually he'll learn.