(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF,

What is the reason fo bb to cry? is it too cold? not wearing enough? is he or pram ?

I took elijah shopping so many times and he is ok.. but always remember to give him extra long slevee top to wear and cover bb with a blanket..

rena - regarding outing, it be challenging for me. I cannot handle my baby alone. as mentioned above, he cried alot when we are out. he needs his naps in between feed or he will get very very cranky. i may give the first gathering a miss until he is much bigger. for now, i really cannot handle him alone. cannot even managed the pram alone since it is a whopping 7kg! so always my hubby will carry baby when he cries or push and lift the pram. haha.i just go and unwind and window shopping. hee..

rena - i also dun know. he was ok when he was in the pram..sound asleep. once i reached the baby section, he starts fidgeting and then start crying non stop. not sure if he is too cold coz we didnt let him wear a hat or long pants. just a rompers but we did cover him with a blanket when he is in the pram. i guess its too noisy and sort of disturb his sleep. he was cranky almost the whole day and it sort of make his feed schedule all haywire. at the end of the day, we are like just complete a battle. so exhausted and drain out.

then yesterday, we wanted to go church but in the end he was sleeping..so we didnt go. hopefully next weekend can make it. haven't been gg church for so long...

Hi Rena,

Will check & send out for you.

Hi SSF,

For the last 3 weeks, I feed him at abt 10pm 150-180ml of milk (depends on how much he drinks till he falls asleep) & then let him sleep on his tummy. He will sleep all the way to 7-8am the next morning. During the day, he feeds every 3-4 hours.

We have been bringing him out since he turned 2 months old. We wld go out 2-3 times a week. He's quite a good & well behaved boy in public. Will only fret when he poos. Got to change him fast in order not to make him man zhang.

rena - so nice of your hubby. so it seems things are improving between you both. good lah

also have you order the tingkat? my food is so so only. rice is quite hard and i actually feedback to them and today the rice seems better. may try another caterer once this mth is over.

sysac - so your nights are so shiok! able to sleep thruout. i am still waiting for that to happen to my boy. but was thinking, i need to wake up and pump also. sigh! btw, are you still breastfeeding?

ur boy is so guai...must train my boy to give us some peace when we are out mann. tat day valentine day, we went airport and was cranky too. when the food came, he started crying .so hubby carried him away while poor me eating by myself. then later hubby came and join in but not without us eating our dinner quickly before he start figeting. we ate at 10p.m and left at 10.20p.m. haha...

so mummies...how was your V day? hopefully it turns out to be better than mine.

Milk Bottle Sealing discs
Everyone who wants to store their EBM is looking for the sealing discs, or at least I know of several mummies in this forum, including me, looking for it. You can go to Cheong Choon to buy the caps.

Dr Winston Ng, PD at CCK
Today just visited the PD at CCK. I must say he's patient and answers all my questions. Very good! My Ariene is now 4.01kg and 55cm tall. Anyway, he calculated for me that my girl at 4kg should be drinking about 75ml, which is about the amount I normally feed her if I'm feeding her EBM. So, maybe u can use this as a rough guide?

Ariene seems to be refusing the bottle these few days. Think its because the bottle flow is too slow compared to my breast. When I latch her on, she always choke
Gonna buy the fast flow teat for her to try..

Bras
I've given up trying to find a normal, non-nursing front buckle bra. Shops onbly carry up to cup C. My sis told me mothercare has nursing bra up to cup G with front buckle so I'm going to check it out on wednesday, my birthday (get my hubby to buy me the bras as birthday present after my birthday dinner. haha!) I always remove my bra during feeds so the milk don't wet Ariene and my bra but I sprained both my thumbs hooking and unhooking the bra.. Stupid ya?

Durian,
So, confirm u want the Avent pump if Prof Ng selling it for less than $60? If confirm, friday I go back see him I help u buy.

Smell & texture of EBM
My defrosted EBM smells and tastes like "coconut oil" and leaves an oily film on the bottle after feeding. I noticed that my fresh EBM does not smell like this, is not oily & tastes slightly sweet. Does your defrosted frozen EBM smell and feel the same? I think its quite stinky leh.. Hope my EBM not spoilt if not gotta throw my whole freezer of milk..

Cookie,
I just had the hep B jab for Ariene today. PD say its not supposed to give bb fever. If fever breaks out, must go back see PD cuz of possible infection. Also, you'll have to press harder and use really HOT towel to massage the engorged lumps on your breast but I read that the best way to unblock the engorged ducts is to let ur baby suck on it as much as possible until the flow corrects itself.

BCG
Ariene's BCG is also near the butt but I forgot which side.. later bathe her I check again. Its just a small red lump, no biggie.

Mongs,
Electric pump supposed to express more milk than manual pump right? Manual pump is so time consuming and tiring.. Do adjust the pump level to a comfortable level but if u want to express more and faster, use a higher setting but it may give u sore nipples as they pull really hard. I had sore nipples before using MAX setting but it expressed more milk & much faster from me compared to my normal low setting (2nd dot).

have yet take ethan out except to my inlaw. would love to take him out. any baby-friendly place or eating places to recommend? e.g. nursing room where we can bf?

RE: V Day
no v day celebration cos was still doing confinement. but went for a quick lunch with hb last fri. lunch was within 2 hours so that i will not miss my pumping session.

din come in for 2 days and so many things to catch up on!!

re: pacifier
initially i din wan to give but now when he turns cranky, i give it to him to calm him down. also dun wan him to cry too much until he has a lot of wind

May, SSF,
both of u look slim and very young too!

SSF,
my bb is like yours. he is very cranky when going out and when there's a lot of strangers. he seems afriad of noise too. we had his one month at a restaurant and he was crying and crying.

does it help if i bring bb out more often?

i got a problem. after my CL left, i fed bb myself but his feeding becomes very erratic. he sometimes will drink his usual amt and sometimes he will just drink like 1 oz and fall asleep. thne he either wakes up the next hour to feed or sleeps another 3-4 hours before he wants his milk. he has been drinking little but sleeping a lot.

also he refuse to let me burp him. we seem to be fighting each time i wan to burp him. so sometimes i let him go to sleep without burping.

i dun think i m feeding him too much but he will refuse to swallow his milk and in the end spit it out. how?

May
my bb can turn his head from side to side easily. reaching 5 weeks tmr. on sat, i even saw him do like a half flip. his legs were almost one on top of the other in a side lying position...

SY,

It is normal after the CL left.. try different position while burping him.. if he is on FM, better burp him if not too much air and he will have wind... Mine too refuse to swallow his milk.. there was one scary time when bb have just finish his milk and trying to poo.. as he try to squeeze his poo.. he puke out all the milk from his mouth and nose.. I was alone , I got a little frighten.. even though this has happen before when the CL was around and she has taught me what to so..

It has happen about 3 times so far..

tulips - taka has a very big nursing room and a private area for breastfeeding with 2 seated sofa. plaza singapura has it too. suntec has a room for breastfeeding i think. i just peep thru it only.lastly, heard from frd best is Tangs which has a steriliser provided. yeah can understand abt the pumping session everytime we go out. can be quite troublesome at times. hee..

SY - as for my son, 1 mth party, he was very quiet even though its noisy so not sure why in taka so cranky. maybe next time i bring him out, i will make sure he wear long pants and hat. maybe its due to coldness. anyway trial and error la. hehee

babylon - did u give bb water to drink? if so, shld be fine

SY,
When Ariene hasn't fed enough yet & I try to wind her, she'll fight me and keep trying to lie down to latch on again. Maybe your bb also the same.

Bring bb out
I've brought Ariene out quite a few times already. No problem. I normally give her one big feed either before going out or in the car so she'll sleep throughout. Try the MIM sling. Its a god sent when going out. Baby sleeps in it like a log and frees my hands to hold hp to sms/call pple & hold bag.

Pacifier
Tried giving Ariene the pacifier before to let my poor nipples a rest. She rejects it totally..

babylon,'

my bb is on FM too and he poos alomst every day.. some time two days once but PD mention that it is normal as FM can dun poo for five days and still normal...

Hi SSF,

Cephas is on FM. I stopped having milk supply after 1.5 months even though I drank lots of soup. It runs in the family. Mum & aunts all stopped having milk flow after abt 1.5 months too. On FM, he poos twice a day (morning & evening). His timing for poo time is also abt the same everyday. So it's quite easy to guage when he poos.

Hi Rena,

Heard can mix cereals into the FM at 4 months. Intending to try that on cephas when he turns 4 months.

re: feeds

My baby has gone crazy with her feeding.. she takes in so much, 100ml initially and then within half hour wants 80mls! Funny thing is that the more I feed her, the shorter the intervals between feeds. Its so strange. During the day, she feeds every 2-3hourly, and she gets crazy at night around 9plus til 11plus wanting to feed almost every hour, I usually end up giving her a top of EBM of 100mls. Then, she will fall asleep at 12 or 1 am and wake up about 5-6am. One day, she was so good she slept till 7am!

Re: teary
Today, for some strange reason when she was getting fretful and I give her enough at my breast, and had to give her EBM, I suddenly felt really sad, and wanted to burst into tears!!???!! For some strange reason, I felt so bad that I had to give her extra, and suddenly worried about not having enough MS or EBM for when I go back to work. I start work in march.. sigh.. separation anxiety+++

RE: outings,
I have taken my baby out to takashimaya a couple of times and around holland village, and it usually for dinner or lunch. When she gets fussy, I just put her in the MIM sling and latch her on. I find the sling quite useful cos than I can carry on eating and still be with everyone else. I got a lot of nursing tops so I can nurse discreetly without exposing myself.

Tulips,

Paragon also has a changing/feeding room. They also have a water dispenser inside. Marina Sq also has a baby room.

Bought a Maxi Cosi infant car seat. Will attach it to the main frame of the Quinny Zapp stroller when we go out. Cephas is alright in there. He will be awake & then will slowly fall asleep in there when we are out. I also have a Baby Bjorn baby sling. Tried it out today on him. He is able to fit in it now that he is bigger. Planning to use the sling when I go out with him on my own.

SSF
thanks for the reminder..
I plan to get Neo gardens.
Phew I worry get 60pax might not be enough..
I hope mine will be just nice too. very scare not enough to eat then paisey..

so many posting to catch up.. read later now gng out to get a fan...weather so hot.

cookie
i gv my gal water early in the morning when she juz wake up. sometimes she can drink 30ml n after a while, she will cry for milk...
for catering of food, that time i gv discount of abt 20 - 30%. eg number of guests r 60, i will order 40.

wendy,
your 75ml is 2 hrly? does dr winston ng took her age into consideration?
my girl is 4.3kg at 8weeks. she is taking about 90ml 2hrly.

Sysa,
Your Cephas looking very strong and sturdy!
Actually I still can't tell whether my boy looks like me or my HB, but everyone seems to think looks like my HB leh.
Wah, Cephas can actually take in 150ml+ at one go? My boy's intake seemed to cap at 120ml max leh. His record was 6hrs of sleep but I think that's because he was too tired. Do you still wake up to pump? Or you have stop BF?

Re. outing with BB
Brought my boy out shopping a few times already. So far so good, except once he got cranky after taking in all the new sights at Suntec and started bawling. Had to rush to the nursing room (which was so far away) cos thought he was hungry. Turns out that he wants to sleep and stopped crying when I put him into the MIM sling. This sling works wonders man. He'll sleep quite long in the sling.

SSF,
was at work on Vday. Nothing special loh. Had dinner at in-laws' place and then went home. Well, did managed to BD that night.
Did go to the airport for lunch last Wednesday. My Isaac started crying and I had to rush to the toilet to BF. Luckily airport toilet very clean. Dunno where is the nursing room in Terminal 2.

Wendy,
Never actually smell defrosted EBM but don't recall it having strong smell. But EBM is oily after standing for a while. This is normal.

SY,
Your BB still having 2 or 3 big poos and at least 6 or more wet diapers? If he is, then he's taking in enough. Don't worry.

Rena,
If outing have to be weekends liao and probably in March so all of us would have completed confinement.
maybe we should go to somewhere open cos if our babies started crying, won't disturn others so much. Botanical gardens maybe?

tulip,
can refer to this link for shopping malls with nursing room
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/351660.html?1139849242

mongs,
My girl is 35days old, 4.01kg. I don't think age is taken into consideration, just weight. She takes about 75ml on the average of every 3 hours during the day and 80ml every 4-5hrs at night.

feeding water to bb
Oh ya.. PD say babies on BM don't need to be fed water. Feed water only to babies on FM

mongs
so, meaning i have to b with bb when she's sleeping so that i could pull the pacifier out b4 she goes to deep sleep?

rena
bb can b on soft diet when they r 4 mths.

tabbiesus
i bot mim sling but haven't tried yet. n for the nursing top, how do u unhook the bra n bf bb wearing nursing top? i tried in the car, but seems the nipples will expose... and how abt with the sling? how to bf without everyonr knows?

here r the places which hv bf place
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/breastfeeding/default.asp

sunny,
ya, it's better to pull out the pacifier before the baby goes into deep sleep else baby may develop a dependency to suck on it while sleeping. next time, their teeth won't be nice.

wendy,
wow, I think your girl is a small eater and yet u have so much milk. if only my girl can drink 75ml and last 3hrs. I won't have problem with my supply.

mongs,
just keep letting ur bb suck on ur breast and try not to supplement with fm, your ms should go up. remember.. supply = demand. The more u feed fm, the less ur bb will drink, the less ur ms will be ( or at least that's what the LC told me before I discharged from gleneagles to encourage me not to give up bf)

RE: Outing
I have brought my girl (1mth 5days) out for 5times already. Think she is like mummy, likes shopping alot. So when she is out, she will not sleep, her eyes will be very busy looking around. Only brought her to Jurong Point as that is the nearest. My mum was with me. On average, I think it is quite ok lor, she is only cranky when she feels hot inside the pram.

RE: Vday
Didn't plan for Vday. But my mum voluntary tell me to go for dinner with HB and she will look after Jamie for me. My HB and I had a quick dinner at Jurong Point Food Court. As all the rest. has had long queue. Then my gastric relapse again.. and HB say no choice we have to eat either fast food or at food court lor.
He is not romantic lar.. keep hinting him that pple have flowers but I dun have. End up he finally got the hint and bought a rose from Toy'R'Us.. u know those kind the stem can bend, furry kind? And he tell me.. pple one will die..mine forever won't die.. haha..so I got no reason to say he didn't get me anything.

Sysac,
How do u increase the milk volume till so high? My girl is feeding 90ml for 2.5hrs, I tried to increase to 100ml sometimes but she will vomit out some after 5mins.

RE: BCG
The BCG on my girl's butt has got some pus already. Now got to be very careful when I change her diaper.

RE: Meeting up
Rena, I think most of the mummies here are too busy with our babies as it is still very difficult to handle them. Maybe can organise when they are older?

Sunny,
Jamie will entertain herself when she is put on the rocking chair. But she has to hear some noise in the backgnd. If it is all quiet, she will cry as she doesn't like to be alone.

Re: V Day
Didn't celebrate coz was still on confinement plus baby is enough to keep hb and me occupied.

Re: Meeting up
i think it'll be tough for me to bring baby out alone too. Already alone at home with baby i'm so busy...can't imagine how i'll handle if i were to go out alone with her!

RE: MIM sling
Yes can loosen the MIM sling to bf discreetly in public, though i'm still not v gd at it and i fumble with nursing wear. Any of you fumble with nursing tops too? I find it more troublesome leh! Prefer to just wear normal tops and lift it up...but then it won't be discreet if i do so. What a dilemma.

Sunny,
my gal also can;t be entertained by herself for long. At most can leave her alone for 10 mins then she'll cry to be carried. V tiring. Am also trying ways n means to keep her occupied!

wendy,
Glad u found Dr Winston Ng ok. i like the fact that he's patient and willing to answer my qns in great detail, even when he has lots of patients waiting outside! So what did Dr Ng say abt Ariene's pimples n vomitting?
Yes pls help me to get the Avent ISIS if it's below $60. Even if below $70 would be fine. Thanks

Hi Jan mummies,

Congrats on the smooth delivery of your beautiful BBs.

I am from the May thread. Just like to find out your experience on massage ladies and if they are really effective. Thanks!

sunny,
what i do is i will loosen the sling such that baby's head is inside the outer fold and usethe outer fold to block the view, then will unhook the bra from top first b4 lifting up nursing top,if still cannot then i use the long dangly part that is meant for adjusting the size of the pouch and fold over to block view...

durianlover,
my nusing tops open just under the bra area, i prefer these to those that u have to lift up.

i think mostly practice and sheer desperation from needing to go out without being slave to baby helps!

re: bring baby out
wow some of you very steady... can bring baby ou already.
My HB gng back to work and I'm already like having separation anxiety :p wish he could be home longer...
I cannot imagine bring my baby out anytime soon unless it's like walk to dowstair and buy things.
I also have a sling but hasnt tried using it yet... dunno can handle or not.
my baby is just 18 days old.. can I use start using the sling already?

Durian,
Today he charged me $89 for consultation, hepB, colic drop & cream for Ariene's rashes. Don't know if its expensive but I thought its quite reasonable. Think I'll have to pay more at my old PD in gleneagles.

Sling & Breastfeeding
Today Ariene was crying for a feed after her hepB injection so I let her suckle in the sling. Did the football hold with the sling. Fumbled alittle with the nursing top & bra & latching on Ariene but still can manage. I prefer wearing nursing tops cuz I have trouble buttoning my shirt across the chest area. Also if I wear non nursing tops, I'll have to either wrap a shaw over Ariene (which can be very warm & stuffy for Ariene & my chest) or confine myself to a room to feed her.

Vday
I sent my maid to IL home & prepared a simple, romantic candlelight 4-course dinner at home. Fed & bathed Ariene full full before cooking so she'll give us at least 3 hrs of time alone. Thankfully, we had 4 hrs of private time alone

sunny,
Dr Winston Ng is from Kidslink at CCK centre (building just beside Lot 1). Not sure what are his consultation charges like bcoz i never asked for breakdown in the costs. But usually i pay abt $40+ or $50+ for consultation plus medication.

Re: nursing tops & sling
yes i think i'll hv to practise more using the sling! Yesterday went out and bf my gal in the sling but i think everyone knew i was trying to bf coz i was fumbling with the nursing top n trying to use the sling to cover up. Plus Janelle was so hungry she was crying n crying, so attracted a lot attn!

Re. Sarong
As usual, my MIL is complaining non-stop when I got home after work that my boy wants to be carried, have to walk around while patting him to sleep and cannot sleep long on the bed. So she insisted on having a sarong. I'm not against it if it really makes taking care of him easier but I don't intend to have one in my own home. Scared he will get so used to it that when we bring him home at night, he cannot sleep without it. How???

Re. Sarong
As usual, my MIL is complaining non-stop that my boy wants to be carried, have to walk around while patting him to sleep and cannot sleep long on the bed. So she insisted on having a sarong. I'm not against it if it really makes taking care of him easier but I don't intend to have one in my own home. Scared he will get so used to it that when we bring him home at night, he cannot sleep without it. How???

Re. nursing tops and sling
I have also yet to master the art of not exposing breasts and BF when trying to lift up the outer fold of the nursing top... Think have to practise more at home.

Oops, sorry double posting.

Ivy,
I had a 5 day massage and find that it helps to firm up the tummy and unblock my milk ducts (cos my massage lady massage breasts as well). Supposed to help get rid of wind in the body but personally, I dunno whether it is effective cos didn't really feel like I had a lot of wind in my body. Quite relaxing and shiok lah.

Oops, sorry double posting.

Ivy,
I had a 5 day massage and find that it helps to firm up the tummy and unblock my milk ducts (cos my massage lady massage breasts as well). Supposed to help get rid of wind in the body but personally, I dunno whether it is effective cos didn't really feel like I had a lot of wind in my body. Quite relaxing and shiok lah.

Wendy,
Think it is cheap already. My PD charge me $95 for consultation, Hep B jab, Nose Drop and Moisturiser for Jamie's rashes.

Queen,
I put my girl in sarong during the night to make her sleep. After that I will take her out and put her in the cot. So this is how she get used to both sarong and cot. My mum will be using sarong during daytime for her to sleep. But I must admit that sarong really can let her have deep sleep and keep her quiet.

My massage will be 10days but only can start next wk.

RE: Sling
Jamie don't like to be in the sling. Think it is too hot for her. I have to try other position when she is able to keep her head up. Cos I tried cradle and lying down position but she get very mang zhang as her legs cannot kick around also.

re: air con for bb
I find my bb dun really like air con... but I would want her to get use to aircon sooner or later cos weather so hot.
May I know mummy who sleep in air con with baby.. what is the temp you all set.. ? I set at 26C.. it is ok. I let her wear long sleeve and long pants and mitten and bootie.. should be enough rite? I also give her a cloth blanket ( not quilt)..
anyone has bb who dun like air con too??

re: bb more cranky from 8-11pm
I notice my bb is more cranky during these hour..for a few nites now.
it seems she always hungry during these hour..
we have to keep feeding her...
how do I identify if she is coliky? I hope it not due to colic...
But my bb is hard to calm down during these hour and when finally we feed her more... tho we already feed her alot... she will calm down and sleep.
Last nite.. 5pm - 90ml fm, 7pm-90ml FM, 830-70ml FM,930-50ml EBM and finally 11pm-40ml FM

tabbiesus
SOund like my baby having same problem as yours...
her feeding schedule is messy just before sleeping time... and she cry so hard...
SOmetimes I dun even know if I should feed her..or will I over fed her.
But my friend told me babies are very smart.. they know what they want.. and if we feed her and she eats then likely she is hungry. If they have enough they will use their tougue to push out the teats.