(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Krissie

I think I'm also those with low milk supply type.
Have been getting only 20-40ml from both breasts during expressing whether I latch him or not.

Sianzz... Been taking fenugreek. So far only a little increase. I just managed to pump 60ml just now after abt 3hrs of not latching him on. Already a feat for me. Think i've lots of plugged ducts. They kept coming back!

Let's all jia you together!

Krissie,
did Mrs Wong say how much fenugreek to take?

RE: avent resuable breast pads
i also bought but dun really like how it looks under tight-fitting clothes leh. Coz it's quite 'stiff' as compared to Pigeon disposable breast pads, so doesn't fall nicely with the shape of the bra. That's just what i feel lah, but other than that, it's comfy and absorbent.

RE: BCG
my girl had hers on her butt.

btw, i think drinking lots of milo helps in increasing MS leh. Coz i've been drinking at least 2 cups of milo per day and haven't experienced any problem with MS yet. i also add in the Anmum breastfeeding milk powder to my milo - guess that helps! Perhaps u all may wanna try

Another fren told me that to have good MS, must make sure you eat a lot and take more meals! Coz bf burns away calories so in order to keep the MS going, gotta take in more food. So don't sting on your food intake

Mashy and May,

My PD did mentiont that bb is owver weight but if he can drink just let him be as he will slim down later on.. plus he will stop when he is full.

queen,
robinsons having promo on avent bottle warmer but my fren recommend philips one.

ssf-i dun like the metal one cos i find that wen i sterilise it, it turns rusty

SSF,
eh, no it's Anmum Breastfeeding milk powder. Think it's a new range of milk powder that Anmum came up with. It's meant for breastfeeding mothers - supposed to provide the necessary nutrients

RE: BCG
I dun seem to be able to find the BCG for my gal...I check the butt looks alright ley... no sign of injection...
I delivery at Mt A... think should be at butt area rite?
Kriss/durian lover/sleeping deer... where are your bb BCG?

cookie,
yes i think ur gal's BCG shd be on the butt then. My gal's one is on her left butt. Check her left butt perhaps? Actually i also never noticed if there's any BCG mark on her butt....i think quite unnoticeable! Which is good

didn't manage to pump after any feed today. because the baby is almost always at my breast. just fed her 60ml FM and she wants some more. try to keep a 2hrs routine but she takes almost more than an hour to be full, sometimes not even full. sigh! how to pump after feed in this case?

re: let down
if i'm pumping 1 side if the breast n the other start to leak.. is that let down?
or when i massage 1 side the other also leak.. does that means let down on the other breast?

queen
my FIL is still working right now.. not sure if by then will he not work and stay home.. but jialat also whcih we have to compensate him his lost income?
my MIL is opp.. the other nite.. my HB wanna go IKEA buy table and my MIL wanna go with him.. I wanted a break tok wanna go with HB cos tok MIL wont follow.. then when my HB told MIL I gng also she said let FIL handle bb alone at home.
that nite was my FIL second time see bb at home..
he dun even know where are the changing diaper and never make milk for bb before.
Even my MIL also never make milk for my bb before and she expect and claim that my FIL can make..
I bu fang xin so give up gng.. in the end all 3 of them went IKEA, I home alone with babe..
but it's a good expereince... no MIL hovering around me or rush in to take over bb when she cry.. I hate it.

mongs,
could it be that she just wants to suckle? How do you know that she has drained your breasts?
does she come off the nipple herself?

cookie,
yes, that is letdown. Do you feel a tingling sensation in your breasts when that happens? Also, when you have letdown, the milk comes out fast in jets.

ak,
thanks for the info on the warmer.

cookie,
your MIL ever take care of your HB herself? Then maybe can let her try first. just have to be clear on how you want her to take care. My MIL can take care of babies, just that cannot stand the way she keep commenting that my boy is naughty!

RE: MIM Sling
I bought one today. The salesgirl at kidslink taught me how to use. But Jamie doesn't seems to like it cos it is very warm inside. For first 5mins she is ok, after that she will start crying. Have u all figure out how to use it already?

mongs
me too have the same prob as you. my gal is almost always on my breast these few days during day time... i dare not pump after feed 'cos worry that she will yell for milk again after that and the milk flow will be too slow for her, and she yells even more... sigh...

today my husband volunteer to knock off from work earlier to take care of bb and let me go for my lunch appt with my colleague... so happy that hb wanna help and able to take a short break.
so, when i was away, hb fed bb EBM. and my gal fell asleep after feed; unlike those days that she latched direct, and refused to sleep and cry after feed. after i knew it, i was thinking that my supply might not be enough for her... so sad...

queen
but pumping... cannot tell if the flow comes out in jets... sometimes before I started pumping.. already feel the tingling feeling
but I have never seen my milk in jet before.

Ya I think my MIL take care of my HB, i suppose has to let her try definitely... perhaps I worry too much. I believe she can take care of babies..it just that whether I get use to her way.

ssf
he's 7weeks old. re bottles. i'll ask my hb whether he can go pick up from you.

queen
ya, he drinks a lot. LC says so too.

sunny
no need to be stressed. my boy is like that too, then i realised that my MS is not enough. when i suppl with FM, he became a much happier bb. so, i tell myself not to stress. as long as he's getting some BM, v good liao.

joanna
hmm..since not painful, then i dun mind trying. shall we see who's interested and we can all go together. re pump, coz my MS is not good, so LC recommended me to get PIS and try fenugreek to see if can up supply. So, i bought the PIS. wanna try all ways to increase supply before giving up on bf. I Pm'ed u. let me know if you dun receive hor? I dun really know how PM works. u can email or sms me to discuss further lah.

tulips
mrs wong is the LC at TMC.

mashy
dun be discouraged. i also used to pump 20-40ml only. now, slightly better. let's all jia you together. fenugreek to take 6 pills a day.

ak
what's the promo on the avent warmer?

cookie
BCG is on the butt. left side if i rem correctly.

krissie
mayb cos i m still quite 'kan bu kai' for not able to bf bb... that's y i feel so stress abt it...

anyone giving bb pacifier?

Hi God's Child,

Thanks for the pix. U look okie. Dun say u jian bu de ren
I chase so many times only one pic pop out :p Haha. Any more other brave mothers? ")

Just returned from my little break in Genting. I must say I kept thinking of the baby
While driving, think of him. Went there, shopped for him. B4 sleeping, kp asking HB "Do u think he misses us?" Didn't know it was so tough leaving baby behind to go for a short break When we passed the checkpoint, we headed straight to pick him to come home together.

Sunny,
I gave my Isaac pacifier since week 2! THink it is useful in calming him and he needs the sucking comfort to sleep sometimes. But he's not too dependent on it, luckily.

Sysac,
My Hb most probably going to UK for a week for a conference. I'm thinking of going with him and bringing baby. Dunno whether it's advisable to bing such a young baby overseas? But I can't imagine having to stay with my in-laws for a week while he's away! It's like confinement again!

sunny,
yest nite was the first time i gave my son the pacifier, he's 1mth old tmr. i think he has difficulty calming down and falling asleep without pple carrying. so i tot of trying. and it works wonders... hopefully he doesn't get to attach to it. will only use it as a last resort. but i read in one book and it's alrite to use pacifier for up to 3 mths. it puts them into a routine rather than having them being cranky and break all routine.

re: 1 breast difficult to let down
I got this problem... my left breast seems ready to let down and the milk flow is usually much better.
My right breast hwever always seems harder and more engogred and when pumping, milk flow always less than the other side.

What can I do? is this common/normal?
I have tried to massage and use warm towel before pumping...

re: 1mth injection for bb - Hep B 2nd does
hi all i believe most of your bb already had the 1mth injection.. just wanna know.. does any of your bb has fever after the injection?

my full mth celebration for bb will on the next day.. a bit worry in case she got fever and uncomfortable the next day.
if I postpone will be 1 week later.. not sure if it's ok or not.

queen,
yes, she comes off the nipple by herself. I press on the areola where there milk reservoir is immediately after she pull off and there is no more milk so I believe my breast is empty then I switch to the other side. she will need more than both side of my breast so I go back to the first side so it goes on like that. when she is actively sucking, she will take 20mins to empty both breasts and cry for more, then I switch sides or give FM. if she is not actively sucking, she can take up to an hour to finish and also cry for more at the end.

To mummies who don't have enough BM and are doing direct latch,
do you have problem with your baby not wanting the bottle after direct latch? my baby cry for more milk after direct latch but when I feed her FM thru bottle, she reject the bottle. If I feed her EBM for that feed straight from the bottle, she is ok to another bottle of FM. dun know what to do. she will cry and cry for milk but I have no milk from my breasts and she wont take from the bottle.

Its been a long time since I post something. Was down with fever yesterday due to breast engorgement, this is my first time. My gal was borned on 22 Jan. This morning got stomache, suspected food poisoning, but thank God I am ok now.

Re: vaccination jabs

Can I find out how much is the 5 in 1 jabs? My PD quoted me $550 for the package, including chicken pox and Hep A jabs. Is this a reasonable rate?

Re: Breastfeeding

I normally prefer to hand express as I find I can express more milk as compared to using my Medela electric pump. When I pump, only have 10ml (very pathetic) but if use hand, can have 40ml...so not sure if any of you encounter the same issue?

ariel,

I have tried hand express previously but find that I can express only very little even when my breast are full. maybe I don't know the right method. been using medela dual electric. express 50-70ml when both breasts are full or about 20ml after a feed. I have low MS. so I thought using electric pumps will be better.

Mongs,

maybe its me who doesn't know how to use the electric pump as I read that many have no prob expressing with it. But when using hand, hv to exert quite a bit of strength

mongs,
have you seen any LC? Maybe they can help you with your MS...
Could it be that your girl just wants to suckle? Have you tried giving her a pacifier? Is she gaining weight and having enough poos and urine? How about slowly weaning her off FM? Cos your body will produce more when there is demand. So for one or feed, just let her suck and suck and don't give FM. Even if she comes off, keep switching sides so that your body will have to produce more to meet her demand. Maybe for the first few times, your body has yet to adapt to her demand and your BB will cry and cry. But just have to tahan and hopefully your body will adjust soon and produce more for your BB. It is not possible for breasts to be totally empty. Supplementing FM will not help in increasing your MS.

cookie,
my milk flow is also imbalanced between breasts. Right breast more milk than left. Usually both breasts will letdown together when pumping but the right breast will always have more jets loh. Right breast also harder when engorged.

Hi Queen,

Have you ever flown so far b4? Are u going into London? That's 12 hrs of flight. I personally think it's okie to bring baby. Just keep him snug & warm. The weather there is quite crazy. One minute sunshine, next minute downpour. Let me know if you want recommendations to visit places of interests. Been there 3 times so am quite familiar with some of the places.

Buy the warm clothes at Fox Baby. Good sale on now

Hi cookie,

Cephas did not get fever when he was jabbed the last round. What my mum did was feed him 3 teaspoons of "leng yang". My friend's kid had high fever & was medicated aft his jab.

Cephas is getting his next jab on Thu. Will be feeding him the "leng yang" again. Hopefully, he will not get a fever.

sysac,
U feed Cephas with Leng Yang before or after the jab?? I heard doc will give fever medicine after the jab just in case baby have fever.

Sysac,

okie.. I will be the brave one..haha.. Here's my family pic. I still got 7kg more to lose..see this fat mummy here..my girl looks more like my hubby.. see the close up

373883.jpg

373884.jpg

tabbiesus
do u know the opening hours for the maris stella kindergarden? we wld like to get an outfit too for my boy. what do infant boys wear? the same type of gown? is it unisex?

may
your bb is so cute... and you look great, don't look fat leh.

yesterday i brought my gal to see PD for 1 mth growth review. my gal's weight is 3.8kg at wk 5 now. feel relieve that she gains weight.
told PD that to save cost, we will bring bb to GP for injection. :p

Sunny,

Thanks..but I have 7kg more to lose then will be back to pre-preggy's weight. Now 60kg and it has been stagnant for 2wks already. =(

GP offer 5in1 also? Where is ur GP? I also want to save cost. Cos PD offer package of $482 excluding consultation. Which I think it is very ex.

Sysa,
Yah, I have been to London before. THe weather there is really carzy. Strong winds even in summer. But my HB not going to London. He's going to some military college in some small town . Sigh... so maybe forget about the idea liao even though I would still like to go with him.

Krissie,

I'm sorry I don'tknow the opening hours, but I think they close during lunch. I went at about 3pm on a weekday. I think the outfit is the same for boys and girls.

May,
You don't look like you are 60kg leh...are you very tall? Me also got 7 kg to lose... :D

Yesterday, my baby set a record! She slept at 1am but only woke up at 7am this morning to feed!!! :D

tabbiesus
okie, thanks.. will pop by to get it. my hb likes it v much. how much did u pay for it? he says your gal looks like an angel in the pic.