(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sy - ya i didnt burp him at all last night and this morning, the last feed he actually spit out quite alot of milk. will try latching him on again later and burp him. thks.

SSF,
must burp lor. during CNY period when my CL went home, we din burp him enough and he spit out practically the whole feed. so scary. i had phobia of burping and feeding him after that but now better.

Krissie,
150ml to 200ml for you boy? That's a lot man! My boy on the average only 90-100ml (2-3hrly) and he's already 2 months old.

Sunny,
During my confinement, I also want to give up direct latch cos BB took so long to finsh and night feeds are so tiring. So I tried 2 nights of EBM, end up being more tired cos have to pump, wash and sterilise, then warm up milk for BB and then wash the bottles. So many things to do! Direct latch just put BB to breast and finsh liao. So went back to direct latch even at night. And it gets easier as BB learn to suck better and faster. Now my boy only take 15mins to finsh his feed. So I just wake up 2 times a night for 15mins settle liao.

SSF,
What's stopping you from direct latch in the day?
I direct latch day and night unless i'm at work or outside. Even when we bring BB out shopping, also direct latch. Either find a nursing room or BF in car.

Just to share 1 mummy's experience:
<center>From EBM to Direct feeding</center>
In the first week after delivery, my nipples were very sore. So, I gave up feeding directly from the breast and gave my baby expressed breast milk instead. After a few feeds, I thought it was better this way as the frequency of feeding was more regular (3 hours apart) and I was also able to tell how much my baby was taking. This continued for 1 month.

However, I realised that it was a big hassle and inconvenient to pump and feed and sterilise the bottles, so I decided to switch back to feeding directly from the breast. But of course, my baby was already so used to the bottle that he refused my breast. This was definitely a very trying period, getting my baby to suckle from the breast, but I persisted. Initially, I kind of regretted the decision to do away with the bottle and just let my baby suckle directly from the breast, because it was really so stressful and tiring. He was literally crying almost every hour, sometimes even after 45 minutes or so. I think it was also because I had sort of "under-expressed", having expressed only every 3 hours in addition to the fact that he was not used to the breast,

I was feeling very down, and remembered vividly telling my husband I wanted to give up and switch back to bottle-feeding my son. In fact, I gave up the next day and switched back to giving him EBM from the bottle. Fortunately, my determination got the better of me and I called up the BMSG(S) hotline. I was advised to first step up my supply by expressing every 2 hours instead, for at least 2 days. So I was back to expressing again, and for the next 2 days, it was nothing else but expressing, storing, washing and sterilising bottles as well as my breast pump! After the 2 days, I tried putting my son to the breast again, but he just did not like my breast! The frequent crying continued for about 3 weeks, but I persevered and my efforts finally paid off. I finally succeeded. During this period, I was worried that he was not drinking much, but was pleasantly surprised at his routine check-up to find that he had actually put on 1 kg! After this trying period, he was so "skillful" at breastfeeding that he took only 5 minutes to nurse from 1 breast every 2 hours.

I have not looked back since, and breastfeeding my son has been just plain sailing. We have both grown to enjoy the warmth and convenience of nursing, as well as the closeness and bonding that develops with it. I felt good that I was my baby's main and only source of food. I also feel a very close bond when I hold him close to nurse him.

queen - intially he is quite fustrated with the slow flow and he gets very cranky and often pull my nipples away. so i end up giving him bottle feeding instead where i can also monitor the qty. since then didnt think of direct BF liao. but yesterday a call from my frd wake me up on the hassle i can save in esp in the night time. so i decided to try and i guess now my flow is quite established so he is quite OK with the feeding. and since i be gg shopping whole day tmr with him, i will be saving the EBM for tmr when we are out.

Also mainly i tried bottle feeding is also i want him to be train on bottles so tat when i return to work, he will be able to adapt to the teats and not wanting my breasts only.

have you tried giving bottle feed coz you need to prepare him abt 2 weeks before you return work.

ssf
i feel stress 'cos recently after feed, she doze off but when put her to cot, she will yell again. then i have to let her latch again. then, yesterday, we gave her 40ml after latch, and she finished it then sleep soundly!!! then, at that time, i just realised that my supply might not meet her demand....

queen
i too feel that direct latch can save lots of time spent on sterilising bottle, pumping...

Regarding the BCG
The Jovan left upper arm where the BCG is injected has some pus beneath. Is it normal? if not has to bring to PD liao

Worried
babe22

celine,

It is du4 zhong4 bu1 yao1 jing1

there are two types one will look like brand essense packaging the other is big bottle like DOM .. I bought mine at basement of Isetan shaw centre.. the pharmacy just outside the super market cashier.. and is is cheaper.. 38 dollars..

yvonne,

how come yours is on the hand.. mine is on the buttok.. mine has blood when changing diaper but bought the alcohol wipes from pharmacy for the belly button to clean and the BCG dry up in a day..

rena
the jab taken at NUH right after jovan was borned.
Was told taken on the left arm.....anyone else bb taken on the butt?

queen - just tried breastfeeding him direct and he refuse my breast after a while. keep pushing away and then start crying. i think the flow is too slow. so in the end give him bottle feed instead and he drank 60ml and now fast asleep. sigh...seems i still have to stick to bottle feed. will try again tonight. maybe night time he dun drink so much

SSF,
I cant use the similac bottles as they take up too much space in my freezer. Please give them to Krissie.

Mongs,
Mdm Rokiah unblocked my ducts for me by massaging my breasts and the lumps for me using hot towel (really hot).

Latching
I latch on during day up till 6pm then let nipples rest by bottle feeding her and pumping till 12pm, then latch again for night feeds onwards. However, I find that whether I latch or bottle, its still equally time consuming cuz my girl only drinks from one breast and I'll still have to pump the other breast otherwise I'll get engorged very badly &amp; my bra and pyjamas will be soaked by morning even if I wear breast pads as it'll be soaked through.

my boy's one on the arm. it's looks like it has pus but think it's supposed to dry up by itself?

SSF,
my boy likes to latch only pm the left side. cos my MS not a lot he seems to know when it will end n will push away after a while.

UTI
any mummies with this problem? will it go away by itself?

Hi Sunny, I am facing the same problem as you...my boy also wants to be carried half the time...luckily got my maid to help in the day...nite time...he is next to me...so not so much of a problem...

Hi Krissie...why are you selling your ameda pump? How much are you thinking of selling it for? I am quite keen in getting it...hehe...can PM me? Thanks...

Wah...my boy also drinks 120ml each time...

mong/queen/SSF
Looks like I'm just paranoid...thanks! then I'm not so worried

wendy
your milk supply is REALLY good !! no wonder u manage to staore so much milk...
envious manzz

Queen /tabb/wendy
Thanks for your advise/comment on MS... I will be patient on the MS
Oh Thanks for infor on PD jab too...

Re: Open bank account for baby
any idea can we open a bank account in baby's name for baby right now?

SY :
for UTI must drink lotsa and lotsa water to flush out... I dunno if it will go away by itself but really hurt shd see doc.
Know u drink lotsa water liao... but must drink even more lor.

RE : BCG
talking abt BCG I dun seems to find the BCG on my baby.. maybe it's on butt and I never noticed.
strange...must go and find...

Re: keeping pumping schedule
I know lotsa mum here pumping very regularly..
while I tried to keep to the 2 hr schdule but realise I'm always running later then schedule. end up pumping 2.5-4 hrs...
when I need to pump... sometimes bb cry sometimes bb wet, sometimes bb need food... and by the time I settle bb, already overshot the schedule time..
I really pei fu... mum that can keep to the schedule.
and beside after every pump.. I will wash and sterilise the equipment ready for next pump...
just wanna check... in case I overly paranoid again...
we should be sterilising the pump before every use rite?

cookie- try to have your bb feeding time fix. for my boy, he will wake up 3 hrs after each feed. so during this time, i will pump, sterilise the pump and used bottles. and 15 mins before his next feed, i will go and warm the milk and later place into a warmer so that he will not be too cranky before waiting for the milk to be warm. warmed unused milk can be kept to 4 hrs so it is within his next feed timing.

you need to make the feeding time fix or you will end up very tired and missing the timing. and yes you need to sterilise after every pump.

SY,

try dring canberry juice. . and drink lots of water .. it will go off by it self.. and try to urine more often.. to let the germs out..

joanna,

does it also helps to firm up the flabby tummy? as I do not need to slim down but more of firming up the tummy that's all

SSF,
I'm back at work already. My boy no problems with bottle feed cos he has been bottle fed during his 2 nights stay in KK for phototherapy. And subsequently, he has drank from the bottle at least once a week when I'm out. Only put him on the bottle once a day about 2 days before I went back to work. My MIL says he didn't reject the bottle when she's looking after him. At night when I brought him home and direct latch, didn't reject my breasts either.
You have been giving your boy Avent teat 2 right? Think he may be used to the fast flow liao. When latching, intitial flow sure slow one, and BB has to suckle to stimulate letdown. Then milk will spray and flow will be fast. So if you try latching must ensure that he suckle properly (lips turned out and mouth cover areola) and hold his head firmly to your breast even if he struggle. Try and try, can do it one!
BTW, do you use the Avent warmer? Is it good?

Wendy,
your MS confirm imrpessive man! Can actually soaked your breasts pads and bras!

Re. breasts pads
Used to soak my pads in the first 2 weeks. Now after MS established, doesn't leak much liao. But still wear 24hrs even to sleep cos have to soak up the milk from letdowns. But even so, also doesn't soak up more than half the pad. Has anyone tried Avent washable pads? Cos I tried the Gerber ones and really cannot make it! One letdown soak up the whole pad and even my bra.

cookie,
yes, can open bank account for BB. Just bring along the birth cert. I want to open 1 for my boy too, to deposit his ang pow money.

Hi Rena...I think it did...cos after 2 and a half courses of the session...my tummy was much firmer...
but the wt loss then comes as a bonus....

Krissie...still waiting for your reply on the cose of the ameda pump you are selling...

Queen,
The leakage can be quite frustrating at night.. gotta wake up to change pyjamas, pads &amp; bras on top of feeding baby. My girl also pee alot so although each night feed is only 15min, I'll be awake for almost 45min to 1 hour because I need to pump, wash pump, sterilise pump, change breast pads, change bras sometimes and change pyjamas sometimes. When I run out of bras, I have to wash it and blow dry then wear again. All these extra work is more tiring than feeding Ariene.

re: quantity of milk baby drink

my baby drink about 90ml (mix of bm and fm) 2 hrly. i think thats quite a lot. she is not yet 2 months. my sis son drank 120ml 3 hrly and his weight tripled from 2.5kg at birth to 7.5kg in 3 months. was real scare that my girl will be like him but her weight was 3.7kg (1 kg increase in 6 weeks) so I thought the quantity of milk was ok. maybe she uses a lot of energy cause she can cry real loud. guess the best way to see if baby is enough too much is to monitor the weight.

SSF,
warmed unused milk can also keep for 4 hrs? I thought must discard unfinished EBM. threw away 60ml of EBM one of the nights. so angry with my girl. she was screaming till no voice and thought she is very hungry, then she refused the bottle.

my girl has this problem of refusing bottle after direct latch on. eg, I feed her by direct latching, my MS not enough and she cry for more, feed her thru bottle and she cry even harder. have to make her sleep and put the teat in her mouth then she sucks because she is hungry.
if we give her a bottle right from the start during her feed. she is ok with the bottle. dnt reject it. anyone of you faces the same problem?

mongs,
my son is 3.33kg at birth and drinks 120ml every 3 hours.. it used to be 2 hour then we force him to strecth to 3hours.. his weight was 5.8kg on Monday..

that is over weigh..

mongs - i mean EMB that have not been touch can last for 4 hrs. for those drink halfway must discard 1/2 hr if not use. yeah i just threw away 60ml. so heart pain

rena - how old is your son? my son is 3kg at birth and now at 5 wks is 4.5kg

queen
what you mentioned is also my worry next time I go back to work.
May I know do you have maid to help MIL?
currently I dun and I think my HB dun intend to get one... but I not sure if my MIL can handle if she is alone, got to do marketing, cooking ( maybe) and attending to babies.
Up till now.. maybe it's ealy.. my MIL never make initialtive to make milk for my bb to eat, when diaper wet she also dun wanna change... just give us to change or come and let us check if the diaper is wet.
And making milk and changing diaper are the few main task in handling baby.. that how I feel...
I feel that I'm constantly worried..
I also thought of getting nanny to look aft the bb if my MIL cannot handle but I know she will never admit she cannot handle..
anyway maybe I really think too much.. worry too much...confinement so uptight..

does anyone have the round disc inside milk bottles to give me? The round disc that goes inside the bottle covers that I can use to cover the glass bottles. I have the round covers but not the centre disc and i can't seem to buy anywhere but i know it comes in most milk bottles.

RE: overseas

Actually wanted to bring bb overseas as I will be going to thailand with hB... but the air is no good there so have to leave with mother in law for 3 day..so worried that she can't handle.. but
I really need a break..

krissie,
who is this mrs wong? sorry, might have missed previous posts.

re: pumping
i am sometimes very ashamed of myself. i dun pump after feed during middle of the night regardless whether ethan feed on 1 side or 2. too tired and sleepy. ve to keep it up, to increase ms.

re: nursing bra
mummies, is it a must to wear nursing bra??? was complaining to my hb that too bad, vs did not have nursing bra. kinda of miss wearing those sexy bras. :p

tulips....if i'm nt wrong...mrs wong is the lc at tmc...
i also sometimes very lazy to pump at nite...must be more diligent...

Rena...my boy also cmg 6 weeks...

cookie,
For now don't intend to get a maid cos will be workign 3 day weeks till end of April. But when back to 5 day week, will porbably get a part time doemstic helper to help clean in-laws' place. Don't think my MIL likes to have a maid in the house. But not sure lah... have to ask them. So your MIL going to take care of your BB alone? What about FIL or other people?

My FIL is at home during the weekdays. So yesterday my boy wants to be carried in the evening and so MIL cannot cook. My HB ask her how come cannot let my FIL carry, my MIL says that FIL cannot make it. Dunno how to carry. Then I think she doesn't want him to carry liao. Then I'm thinking, if dunno cannot learn meh? One time two time cannot, a few more times sure can one what. There are 2 person in the house to look after the BB! If she doesn't want to let my FIL carry and cannot cook, who to blame? Blame the BB???

tulips,
don't worry about that. I only started pumping in the middle of the night yesterday and my girl is already 8 weeks old. :p

rena - wow tats heavy duty :p heehee..

ak - ya tat comes with NUK bottles. an alternative is you can buy the metal caps that the earlier discussion was going on that it is selling as cheap as i tihnk 50cents.

queen - ok will try tat method tonight to see if it works. no i did not buy the avent warmer. and yes i use avent teats 2. so maybe he not use to my slow flow.

and yes i tried the avent reusable. quite good and comfy.

Rena,
Going mini-honeymoon whith HB?
That's good!

My HB may be going to UK for a conference next month for a week. sigh... Dunno whether I can go along.

tulips,
I also don't pump after feed cos so lazy. Only last night my boy slept 6 hours! After that only finish 1 breast. The other breast feels too full, so boh bian have to pump.
Yep, I wear those ah ma cotton nursing bra at home loh. Practical what. Just pull aside and nurse. Have to wear breast pads how to wear lacy sexy bras? I also miss wearing sexy bras man! Maybe can write to VS and request them to design sexy nursing bras... haha! I find that if wear normal bras, have to get bigger cups ones cos they won't cater to boobs size increase when they become full.

SSF,
Then which warmer do you use?
I find using hot water a bit lehce.
The Avent Resusable is absorbent enough to wear whole day?

seems lots of u having the same prob as me re: bb's sleep...

my gal's bcg injection oso at buttock...

queen - i have a flask on all the time so when i want to warm e milk, i pour the water into this warmer mug i have. i didnt use any specific warmer. yes the pad is absorbent to be use thruout the day. my hubby also gg to melbourne in mar for a week. i want to go but with baby abit difficult but to leave him here..i cannot bear. so in dilema. sigh! have u ever thot of bringing baby along? but again UK is so far away.

SSF and rena,

seems like my girl is quite small build though she drink 90ml at 2 hrly.

ya, my gal injection also at buttock, that spot is slightly darker in colour.