(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi cookie...I'm also using the avent isis pump...
I pump at every 3 hours interval...I will pump for about 1/2 minute before the let down comes on...then milk will start spraying...there will be about 8 jets of milk spraying at each time...then I will pump for about 15 minutes to empty the breasts...

joanna
wow milk sprayin...!! impressive.

thanks all mummy for your contribution on Milk pumping topic!!...I learn a lot...

Qns abt health booklet injection schedule...
do we have to strictly follow the 1 mth, 3 mths...
if late by 1 week ok or not? sometimes must conincide on weekend then get Hb to go jab with me or what...

May I know do you all go to PD for injection or go polyclinics?
is there a difference? any idea the jab from polyclinis and PD?

re PD
I am going to KKH for my PD. My jabs start end of this month... I'm taking the 6-in-1 plus and additional Pneumoccocal jab... I'm working in the healthcare so exposed to all sorts of bugs so gonna take the additional jab. My jab schedule is 2, 4, 6 months. You can be late for your jabs. Polyclinic has the 5-in-1 jab.

cookie - like queen i also feed babies directly with those milk bottles i used to store. cannot meh? but now tat i switched to avent bottles and mendele pump is not suitable, i will pour out the milk to avent bottles before feeding. the clinic name is Pasir Ris Baby Clinic at second floor

re: bringing baby for holiday
My hubby is thinking of booking a stay at Bintan Banyan Tree so as to reward me as well as V day gift. anyone know if baby need a passport?

re: backache due to epi?
i realised tat occassionally i will have a backache on my left part of body. like a wave coming thru my back. but it lasted for a while. anyone having that problem too? not sure if its due to epi.

Joanna,
How much is the accupuncture session?

SSF,
Yes..can combine ur baby's passport with urs also. But if I were u, I will prefer to go alone with hubby. Think baby is too young to travel now and abit troublesome lor.

Hi all...

been missing out on all the postings here for so looooooonnng... cos MIL 'ordered' us to just pack up n go stay wf her aft the confinement lady left.. i dun even hav a say...
but juz came bk hme yest and told MIL we want to try being independent wf baby celeste. thank god she has been a gd bb, mayb cos its home sweet home... and wf my sis' help (since HB works shifts), was able to catch some rest in the evenings...
kao_smile2.gif

Re: baby acne
tulips - celeste also had lotsa pimplets on her face,ears n head... PD said its the over-active oil glands.. i was overly worried too initially n brought her see GP and PD. the GP was so funni,he said no need to apply anytin,its norm and she oni needs our tender loving care!!!
just use warm water to wipe the face aft every feed n apply a little J&J powder..its improving bit by bit for celeste...

Re : mummy celine n bb celeste
372922.jpg
though stil 'jian bu de ren', but nvm... share wf your la since sysac keep chasing for it...

SY,
no, the quantity didn't increase at the 6pm feed. it was 70ml. ya, I pump 2 hourly first because I suspect my breast storage capacity to be low. I will try to lengthen that from 2hrly pump eventually to 5 or 6hrly pump when I go back to work. manage to pump a total of 310ml from 10am to 6pm, 2 hrly. really miserable. each time, I only pump for 15 mins using medela mini electric and I pump both breasts at the same time. reading what joanna wrote, maybe I didn't pump long enough.

Queen, 50-70ml was what I achieve 2 hrly, not enough for my girl. she is 8 weeks now. actually I don't know if there is a chance for me to really increase my MS before I go back to work but some how have to try everything before really settle on partial.

I didn't cont to pump today. today decided to latch on totally coz expressing will cause the quantity to reduce quite drastically accordingly to my sis -in-law. I think it's quite true. my girl was hungry after supplementing FM60ml after the 12noon feed. yesterday she was fine.

Joanna, I also drink quite a lot of water and soup. there was a day when my urine was clear colour because of the huge quantity of fluid I took but MS is not sufficient for me girl. sigh!
I have only 2 jets spraying the most, 8 jets is so impressive!

Cookie,
Late or early 1 week is not a problem. I called my PD clinic and asked yesterday.

Mongs, Cookie -- RE: MS & Pumping
I pump every 3 hrs from 6pm onwards till Ariene's last feed at 12pm. Usually, during each pump, I'll pump out between 70ml to 100ml from each breast, so that makes a total of about 150ml to 200ml per pump. Somtimes, when I'm too busy to pump and left my breast to "harden" (about 4 hours), I'll pump out about 120ml to 150ml from one breast. Sometimes, I pump alittle less (about 90ml) cuz breast too full & engorged and soaked up my breast pad already. Currently, I'm using the Medela Dual Electric Pump and I'll take about 5-10min to empty both breasts simultaneously.

SSF,
Epidural shouldn't give u backaches if the needles were properly inserted. I also had epidural and I don't have any backaches. Could it be due to poor posture when feeding and carrying baby? Better tell your gynae about your backache the next time u see him.

Celine, Cookie -- Baby drink too much?
Ariene is 4 weeks now and she's been drinking between 70-100ml since week 2, ie, if she drinks in 2 hr intervals, she'll take about 70ml. If she drinks about 3-4hr interval, she'll drink 100ml. Although I latch her one, I know that's approximately how much she drinks cuz I'll pump out the excess occasionally to check on how much she drinks. So, I guess 90ml is not too much if you're not subsituting with FM. BTW, Ariene is on total breast feed.

Krissie -- RE: BD
I delivered vaginally on 16th Jan and I've tried BD 3 times so far cuz my lochia has completely stopped. No problems except urethra abit sore cuz just recovered from bladder wall infection due to over expansion during birth. I read that if the lochia flow has stopped means the uterus has completely healed so BD is not a problem.

Buying bras
Anyone know where can I get front buckle bras for 34E (75E)? I'm having trouble finding bras for my size.. I don't want to buy nursing bras or ah-ma bras with super big cups and back buckle. Trying to buy front buckle so easy to open up when feeding at home.

SSF,
u can either let bb do his own passport or combine. my fren did her bb's passport fr her. now passports only valid for 5 years.

i dun have backache due to epi. is it posture?

mongs,
at least u can pump 70ml.... me stll at 40ml. i get a few jets but only like 1 min....

wendy
your ss very impressive leh....

sy/wendy - yeah i think it could be due to posture too. was having a little hunchback with all the changing diapers, bathing activity. was thinking of gg alone with hubby but i think we will miss my boy badly. just an hr without him seems at a lost

wendy,
very impressive.

I suspect that those mummies with MS prob started off the wrong track right at the beginning. my baby swallowed some blood during delivery and have to have her stomach pumped. subsequently the PD instructed for the nurse to feed her with FM although I wanted total BF. so I guess it was right at the beginning. now that she is already 8 weeks. I am really not sure if there will be a chance to TBF her. ever heard of any stories that mummies manage to bring up supply after partial BF?
maybe our babies have bigger appetite? 90ml per 2 hrly feed for a 4kg, 8weeks old baby seems a lot?

SSF,
we are also thinking of bringing our girl overseas. not totally for holiday. actually my hubby need to go overseas for attachment for 10 days in march. baby will be 2 half months by then. but he is going NZ and it will be cold there so still not very sure if I should go and bring her along.

cookie,
I also use the bottle that was used to store the milk in the fridge to feed my girl. guess should be alright.

ssf
think you need to do passport for your gal. i have done for my gal online. it takes about 3 working days for them to process..

seems i am not the only one who's obsessed with the supply. share with you an encouraging breastfeeding experience shared by a mother:
"after you have feed your bb direct, you may want to
try pumping out even there's no milk supply, this is
to simulate the milkflow. The milkflow will be builtup
gradually.

I started on both side only at 2oz in total, on my
10th weeks, I have pumped 10oz every 3-4hrs, When
reached my 12th weeks, I have 12-14oz. When I return
to work, I pump about 28oz a day (in the morning 2
times, mid day, and 2 times at night), of cos the milk
supply eventually drop after I go back to work. But
with the earlier storage on my 3rd mth maternal leave,
I had about 40 pack of 4-6oz, and that will be quite
enough to pull thru til she wean. My bb start
semisolid on the 6mth, and I still have my last pack
of 6oz breastmilk in the freezer. I had stop pumping
16 days ago and have feed her on formula.

I had a colleague who had 16oz each pump after
latching her bb on on her 1st week after delivery, and
after return to work, she had drop to 6oz. That's why
'hardworking' in pumping is important when return to
work. And eventually I pump more than her.

Breastfeeding is a challenging tasks in motherhood, so
got to really be ready to feed and pump."

Wendy,
I must say your MS is quite good! Now I'm back to work, I pump 4 to 5 hrly, can get max only 200ml from both breasts. I pump 3 times at work, morning, after lunch and before going home. So total about 500 to 600ml. Just enough for a day's supply of 4 to 5 feeds. If BB needs more than 120ml per feed, wah, I think my current MS also cannot make it liao.
Wah...you boob size 34E? That's impressive. Is that your original size, if you don't mind me asking? I have gone from 34B to 34C only.

sy,
again u r just like me.. ms still din improve alot tho i drank alot of water, papaya soup, milo etc.. my best record so far is 140ml both breasts n that is only once when i din pump or feed for more than 12 hrs..the rest is avg 40/50ml n sometimes even 20ml if after a feed..also feel like giving up cos so tiring n sometimes when i see javier sleeping more soundly n longer w FM, the more lazy i m to give him breast milk n the more i feel like giving up.. no need to stress myself.. guess maybe my MS is just low.. tho some may say no such thing as low MS..

edd2jan,
my MS is also about 15ml or 20ml after a feed by direct latching. thought it's normal. the LC at KKH says that it's good. though she didn't ask how long I pump after the feed. I try to pump immediately after a feed and I pump 15mins on both breast to get 20ml. how long u pump after a feed to get 20ml?
I also feel lik giving up at times but then when I thought that by trying this or that will improve the flow, I don't mind trying and doing a bit more. anyway, there is only about 3 weeks left for me to try out.

sunny,
thanks for the story. I only started pumping after a feed this week. guess I started too late. those of u who are still doing confinement, there is a good chance for your MS to improve. "jia you"!!

SSF,
Ur glass bottles are which brand one? I want the S26 or Nan or Dumex ones! I need the tall bottles as my freezer is already full and my hubby asking me to throw away some of the milk.. so heart pain..

Queen,
My original size was 34B. I wanted to buy bra on Sunday so the triumph lady offered to measure my bust for me and she told me its 34E. I was also surprised at first but when she let me try the 34E and 34D bras, then I realised.. WA! I've grown!

Milk Supply,
I didn't start out with alot milk either. I started out by pumping only 30ml combined. Then, my nipples were soooo sore from the feeding & pumping. Initially, I tried using the electric pump but after pumping for 15min I still get only 10-15ml each side, I gave up and used the manual pump instead. So, after every feed, I faithfully used the manual pump's simulation mode and still pump out what miserable milk I had using my manual pump. Sometimes, I could only manage 10ml from both sides. In fact, I felt pumping milk out was more painful than latching on but I continued. Meanwhile, Mdm Rokiah, my massage lady helped me unblock the milk ducts and encouraged me to pump after every feed. Gradually, my MS went up and when Ariene is about 14 days old, I achieved the MS I had today already. It just takes about 5-7days of hard work, painful nipples and perserverance. I must say the Medela Harmony manual pump's simulation mode is good

wendy - mine is similac bottles.

sunny - thks..i have also check in the website that online appl is possible. will go and make for him soon.

mongs- my hubby ois also gg to melbourne in mar but dun think be bringing baby as it be challenging. so we thot maybe try the ship first. haha..anyway do let me know your experience if you bring baby along.

ssf,
backache:
i oso have this problem. it's like a spasm. feels like some nerve thingy. but i got this even before giving birth during my 3rd trimester. so i don't think it's due to epidural. juz dat after giving birth, it got worst. i told my gynae about it but he said he never heard of it b4. said i'm the first patient to experience this. now i oso don't know how... let me know if u find a solution!

wendy,
wow E cup is really impressive! keke... but i must say ur milk supply oso very impressive! :D

Hi ladies...the accupuncture sessions costs $350 for 10 sessions...rather reasonable...I feel...

Wendy...WOW...E cup...I'm impressed...

8 jets of milk is after Grace the LC at TMC cleared my milk ducts n continuous ehand efforts in massaging n hand expressing milk that the pump may nt b able to get out...
Jiayou...we can do it!!!

RE: backache

I use to have backache during my confinement but the CL recomended the tonic for me.. very good.. one week later no more pain.. it is call Du zhong bu yao jing.. just one small cup a day..
effective..

does your bb fall asleep after feed and wake up after few minutes when you put bb to bed, and yell for milk/carry?

my gal has been behaving that for few day already... it's really frustrating. she won't sleep for at least 2 hours after she is fed and kept yelling. don't know what's the reason.... then, i got to carry her, or put her to breast again. and she seems very tired already and yet doesn't wanna sleep... i really wanna give up taking care of her.... sob osb

tabbiesus
thanks.. hmm.. wld love to get something sweet for my boy too. what do boys wear? is it the same gown?

queen
wah, 9 weeks is qt long leh.
I'm only 6 weeks after delivery now.

Joanna
I might want to sell my newly bought Ameda pump? let me know if you're keen to get second hand one. is the accupunture painful? I'm keen too leh.

wendy
thanks for the info on BD.

Sunny,
my gal is having this prob too. Once carried and pat, she fall asleep, when u put her down on bed, she wake up crying..it is really tired carrying like that. Now I put her into sarong.. once she sleep soundly then transfer to bed.

Queen,
I cannot remember..is that u that have c-sect too?

RE: BD
Any mummies that have C-sect here tried BD? I tried but feels dry and there are red discharge over the night. Worried that I have worsen the wound. Will only be seeing Gynae in end of march so cannot ask him. Any one know when will it be ok to start BD for C-sect mum?

RE: Slimming Down
Now I got 3 options. Massage cost $650 for 10 session / Accupuncture cost $350 for 10 session / Eat Extrim.
My hubby ask me to try massage first, if cannot then opt for extrim. Cos he dun want to see me poke by needles again. What will u mummies choose?

sunny,
I think most babies are like that. My Isaac also wants to be carried all the time. Put him down in the cot if he's only half asleep, sure to wake up and cry or make noise. Then have to pick him up and pat him again. Must pat until he is sound asleep if not cannot put him in the cot.

Re. MIL
My MIL is taking care of him now that i'm back at work. Just now when I went home at 7 plus, my MIL has not cooked dinner yet. Kept commenting (or is it complaining) that my boy wants to be carried all the time, keep making noise or crying if left alone. Kept on telling my HB that she had to entertain and carry Isaac and said that his son is very naughty. I'm thinking come on, what does she expect from a 2 month old baby??? How can she expect baby to just eat and sleep and don't cry or make noise and demand to be carried or entertained? She always say my HB and brother-in-law not like that when they were babies. I'm thinking to myself, sure or not? She repeat again and again that my boy is very naughty. I got pissed and told my HB like that ok loh, we go look for a nanny. I don't want to come home after a day of hard work only to hear MIL complaining non-stop about how naughty my boy is! My HB told me to ignore my MIL saying she just want to nag and make comments. Dunno whether I'm being too sensitive...

May,
Mine was natural birth. Your red discharge after BD is bleeding or maybe just some spotting? Does it stop by the next morning?

krissie,
why do you want to sell the Ameda Pump?

I just bought a pack of Quakers Instant Oatmeal.
Will try that and see if MS increases.

Re: manual pumps
any comments on Avent ISIS pump or the Medela manual pump? Wld like to buy a pump but not sure which is better...my office doesn't have a suitable place with plugpoint for me to use electrical pump, so will hv to get manual one.

wendy,
wow 34E is impressive!! i only went up by 1 cup or maybe less!

may,
i had C-sect n tried BD but kind of failed coz too dry n very painful. i think too long never BD already coz whole of pregnancy also didn't...so felt tight n dry. Feels like 1st time doing it again!
read on Babycentre that C-sect mothers resume sex earlier than those with episiotomy! No fixed time i guess, but when you feel comfortable shd be fine. I didn't feel that my wound was affected though...the wound so high up will be affected?? Not sure...

Re: C-sect
anyone experiencing a bit of hardness n pain just above the C-sect wound? When i press slightly above the wound on my right, can feel that it's hard hard one, and slightly painful. But the middle part and left part of wound is totally fine. Really strange...wonder if some organ inside went 'misplaced' or something?! Didn't study bio before so a bit suaku abt such things...haha.

Queen,
Now I have brown discharge already. But after BD, there are fresh red ones. Not sure it is bleeding or spotting. Saw it on the pad, there is some clots. But when I pee after BD, a bit of pain and some blood drip out. But by the next morning, it is gone.

Durianlover,
RE: C-sect
I only experience some numb and aching feeling in between the stitches and belly button. Not sure u feel the same?

edd2jan
I'm the same as u and SY. usually is 60ml. after latching is abt 10-20ml. went to see mrs wong, she says i'm the low MS type. maybe will improve with fenugreek and PIS. so, getting the PIS tom loh. so heartache.. let's jia you together, ok?

SSF, wendy
if wendy doesnt want the bottles, can i hv them, pls. thanks!!

sunny
sounds like your bb is still hungry and didnt get a full feed in the beginning. then, later hungry and sleepy. I tried giving him more in the beginning and then it's better as he's able to sleep after the feed. u can try if u want. anyway, this was what mrs wong told me that bb is still hungry as i told her that i feed him a lot and he is cries 1hr later. He can easily 140ml. like now, just fed him 200ml in 1 shot.. so worried that i'll overfeed him.

queen
coz the LC says that I'm the low MS type.
normal pump is not useful for me and suggested that I get the PIS and fenugreek then probably might improve. So, decided to give it a try loh.

SY, Edd2jan
just pumped and got more milk, so happy.. my record. almost 100ml. maybe can try mrs wong's method. take a hot drink then pump 5min on each breast, massage in between and alternate sides, total for 30min, i.e. 3R and 3L. If you're using dual pump, use only 1 pump. she says that the dual pump is not powerful enough. anyway this method yields the most milk for me.
can give it a try lah.

krissie
u still haven't slept? i m pumping now. bb slept for 4.5 hrs!!! think she is too tired during day time... sigh..
ya, i think she is not getting enough too. but, its strange that she is ok at night time after feed...

krissie
my gal so far nvr sleep for so long... i was shocked. mayb 'cos she didn't really sleep a lot in day time, so, night time, she's exhausted like me....
so, even your boy didn't wake up for milk, you set alarm clock to wake up to pump?

recently, i am so tired at night that when bb cries, i didn't even know.... and hb is the one who wake up 1st to calm bb down and change diaper. then only i sense sth no right and wake up....

i feel like giving up letting bb direct latch and just give EBM which is so much lesser stress...

anyone know the correction method for nipple confusion? i suspect that my gal has nipple confusion that's why her suckle strength is not right to get her enough milk...

edd2jan
my boy still needs to drink another 3 oz aftr i latch. so imagine how low my MS is.

krissie
i used to pump that method but not much result. how come dual pump can only use 1 sude? i wan to save time leh...

wah 100ml not bad. how does she know u r low mmms type?

queen
i wd be super irritated by MIL too! sometimres my MIL comment that my bb got a **** kind of face (some vulgar word), i already not happy. told my hb to ask her to stop using those words cos i dun wan bad influence on my boy.

must be careful wat we say in front of them from young. my fren heard a story wgere a little gal's first word is f*** cos the family always use it....

hi rena, i would like to try the tonic u mentioned. but i don't know how to pronounce in mandarin. do u mind indication the tone? issit Du2 zhong1 bu4 yao3 jing1?

sunny
I dun set alarm to pump. my boy will usually wake up. max was 5hrs, I think.

SY
I also top up a lot for my boy. he drinks a lot, usually more than 150ml at 3hr interval. maybe your boy is a bog drinker like mine. oh, i think there's more power if u concentrate all the power on 1 side.
dun know leh.. maybe she see the milk that i pump that day v little..
that 100ml is 1 time only, but i'm still v encouraged. just now only managed to get 60ml, after latching on 1 side.

krissie - how do i pass you those bottles? i live in tampines. also some of the caps are rusty n i have threw it away. so you may need to get some.

wow ur bb down 200 ml? how old is he now? mine is drinking 120ml each 3hrs interval n frds are saying he is drinking alot already.

sunny - normally i will give my boy EBM thru bottle feeding incl night time. but yesterday i tried direct latching during the wee hours. i realise he drinks little compared to his normal 120ml each feed as he latch on for less than 10 mins and went to sleep and will wake up 2 hrs later. somehow i find direct latching gives me more time to rest as i need not sterlise and pump. i only pumped this morning at 8a.m since yesterday midnight and managed to pump 120ml. so for me its less stress lei.

now i am in a dilema if i shld latch him on in the day as well
can u tell me why ya so stress on direct feed?

Sy - my boy sleeps after he latches on. does tat mean he is filled or do i have to wake him up? btw do you burp your baby after direct feeding?

SSF
if direct latch safe hassle of washing n sterilising pumps...

for me he will take bottle cos direct feeding not enough. but best to burp or else he may spit out milk. my boy even if burp 3 times will still spit out milk...