(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Yuenyuen,
My girl is drinking FRISO, 100% FM. Poo is yellowish and quite hard sometime. I will have to make her drink lots of water, 1hr every feed to soften her poo or else she will cry loudly.

May,
Baby poo should be loose. I think if its hard means she not having enough water. Also, read somewhere before that if u feed bb more during the day for them to store up enough energy, they'll sleep longer in the night. My bb feeds every 2-3hrs in the day but night, feeds every 4.5hrs max. I'll wake her up to feed her if she doesn't wake up after 4hrs. LC says its not good to let them sleep through hunger also.

Queen,
Do the allow u to try the bras before buying? I'm wearing 38C now and I need to buy more. Thinking of getting more 38C or 38D. Tried 36C from the shop I bought my bras from but too uncomfortably tight.. Was 34B pre-preggie.

Recommendations
I'm thinking of buying a small sized 300L fridge to store my BM. Too many bottles taking up too much space in my main fridge. Right now, I got 20+ bottles inside and my meats running out of space to store. Any of u got any recommendations for places that sell new household appliances cheap? Buying from courts or denki etc more expensive right? Was thinking of $200-$300 range fridge.

Wendy

Why not considering getting those pre-sterilised bags to store your BM? I'm not too sure where to get them though, I know AVENT used to carry them but it's discontinued. I'm using them as have a friend who has weaned off her BB girl and had some bags left and passed them on to me. I find them really good and space saving.

Am currently on the lookout for such storage bags.

Mamachan,
I saw those bags before. Medela has them too but they're quite expensive and are non-reusable. I'll need about 4-5 per day.

ALso, my home is double storey and the main fridge is downstairs. Im' getting quite lazy walking up and down in the middle of the night getting her milk form the fridge too. Right now, I'm using the glass bottles from the hospital & my medela bottles but I've used up all of them. Really scratching head.. maybe I'll just listen to hubby and throw away some milk..

Yuen Yuen, May,
Sometimes at night, say 2.30pm, my Isaac will poo after feed and when I change his diapers, he'll be awakened. Then his eyes big big loh, arms and legs moving about. I'll try to pat and rock him for a while. If he still doesn't want to sleep, then I just switch off the lights and leave him the cot and return to bed. He'll make noises lah, but won't cry. I just ignore it and soon he'll tire himself out and sleep on his own. As long as your BB doesn't cry, maybe can try leaving them to sleep by themselves. Just ignore their BB noise. Entertaining them sure make them more awake.
Those few times I fed FM, my boy only drinks 60ml, as compared to 80ml BM.

Yuen Yuen,
wah... $80 for a weighing machine! My HB sure don't want to buy one...

Wendy,
Do you mean the bras I'm going to get from Maternity Mall? It is an US online store so of cos no trying. But I think should be similar to most lingerie brand sizing. I was 34B pre-preggie. Since I'm almost back to pre-preggie weight, I could wear my old bras, except that, cup size may have to increase to C cup.

Mamachan,
You can buy try Gerber (can get from Robinsons) or Lasinoh (from Mothercare) milk bags.

Queen
Your boy drinking so little, then mine must be very greedy. drinking 120ml BM since last week and FM can drink from 90-120ml. And he is on 10 feeds aday.

Weight machine - no choice, force hus to buy as was worry about him jaundice. $80 is better than admitting bb to hospital ehich cost me $600-$700 per day.

May
Mine just want to be carried too. since mum have been carrying him from day one, so he is spolit already.

Wendy
I thought bb on FM, the poo is different from bb on BM as mine seem to change to paste form when i put him on FM.

Yuenyuen,
wow..ur boy is drinking so much FM? How many weeks is he? Mine abt 3weeks only 70ml.

For her poo, noticed that more FM given, poo will be more solid. Then I will feed her more water with glucose, it will turn to yellowish paste. My girl refused to drink plain water, so must put some glucose to sweeten it.

krissie,
i brought him to see PD but PD din say it's reflux. now my boy poos after every feed. is it normal? sometimes his poo quite watery

mamachan,
i also went to the KKH consultant but when come back, bb refuse to cooperate again. even my hb helped to position him and din work...

yuenyuen,
my boy feeds ard 60ml-80ml on FM and abt 30ml on BM. his poo is yellowish.

May
what do u play with your bb? sometimes my bb refuse to sleep and i try to play with him but he can't focus...

my boy also wants to be carried. and he takes long to drink....he's on bottle but can take an hour at times.

SY,
same as mine...she will take 1 hr sometimes. She falls asleep too..during feed and burping.

I play with 3 toys that I bought.

1st, u squeeze and there is beep beep sound. It has yellow,red and green colour that newborn of 0-1mths is capable of seeing.

2nd, A tollyjoy star. Where u pull and there will be lullaby music. That's for her to sleep.

3rd, A small frog and duck that can be tie at baby's wirst which has rattling noise. But now cannot tie yet. So shake it in front of her lor.

sorry missed out.. I play with her when there is time and she is quite focus and tends to stop crying when these toys appears in front of her.

Read abt these from a book. I will type out the summary in the next msg for all mummies.

May
thanks for sharing. i have some flash cards in red/black/white that i try to play with him but he doesn't seem very interested. mainly not focused. also got a rattle as well. maybe will try to play with him more so that he doesn't cry...

I went MPH before giving birth that time. And bought this book. Quite good. I can type out some for u all. Since all of our baby is 0-1mth. I will type some in the next msg.

Title: Help Your Baby Learn
Author: Penny Warner
Bought From: MPH
Why good? : A comprehensive guide to baby's growth and development in the 1st yr. Include a chart to access baby's mth-by-mth development

Do you know where to get the bolster especially for preggie? think those curve shaped ones instead of the normal ones we r using. thks

YUen yuen
Your weighing machine can weigh up to how many kgs or how big? What is the brand and where you bought it from?

Queen
MAybe I should go out and try on new bras again.. Going out nowadays very troublesome cuz gotta carry my girl ard. I bought the MIM sarong sling but I dunno how to use it even after watching the VCD. My girl cries & cries after I tried a few times cuz she was so oddly positioned I gave up. Anyone staying near Greenridge Shopping Centre (Bukit Panjang) got the sling? I need some practical help in learning how to use it

I found out yday that my girl can turn her head 180deg already so I let her sleep on her tummy today. She was uncomfortable initially but after moving, lifting and adjusting her head a few times, she settled down & quietened down very fast. Also, putting her down tummy to tummy with me lying down propped on a bolster and her head sideways on my chest above my heart does wonders when she's crying. In fact, both of us were so comfy we fell asleep. Maybe you can try also to calm ur babies down.

SY

Oh, is your bb currently being bottle fed?? How many weeks old is bb already?

For me, BB Daren takes to the breast like a guzzler. and he'll try to drink as much as there is to offer. somtimes he needs to be on the breast to fall asleep at night which is tiring. So the lying down position works best for me as taught by the consultant

Hi Wendy,
My bb is can turn his 180degrees. Agree that by putting him to sleep on his tummy, he can sleep longer. Looks uncomfortable to me but guess it's comfy for him! keke...

hi celine

remember you were asking me about the pump in style adaptor? I finally got my PIS advanced from the US for USD$215 and it works with a ac to ac step down transformer that I got. So far it is working well for me. I bought my pump from ebay.

cookie,
congrats! Glad for you that you finally have given birth!!
enjoy motherhood

wendy,
yes me stay just opp Greenridge shopping centre (blk 504) and i bought the MIM sling. Not very good with it yet but able to put my baby into the sling and she'll sleep in it. Want to come over and we try out the sling? Can contact me at 93831991.

maywong,
my boy is 2wk3d old. at 2wk he could turn his head 180degrees liao.

tabbiesus,
hi yes, i was asking u about the PIS advanced. me oso bot liao but i buy in sg coz can't wait. breast was so engorged then.paid $650 for it. must say u got a very good deal..

wendy
i used the position u mention to comfort my boy initially but now he rejects the position. any other positions to try?

my boy can also turn his head already. think nowadays bbies develop very fast!

May,
thanks for typing it out!! will read thru so that cna have more things to do with bb

mamachan
my boy is being bottlefed now. he rejects the breast at times. think i made a mistake in allowing him the bottle too soon. won't do that with my next kid.

durianlover, wendy
does the sling really help bb to sleep well in it?

queen
issac is so guai.. okie. i'll try swaddling him during his cry time.

yuenyuen
what brand is your weighing scale?

SY
my baby used to poo after each feed too, but now older, so lesser.

May Wong
Mine boy is already 6 weeks old so drinking alot. 70ml for 3 weeks old is about right as mine as taking that amount too on week 3. Thanks for typing the material out.

Wendy / Krissie
Scale is for adult and can weigh till 150kg. Brand will check tommorow as i am using the study room now.

SY,
I find that my boy sleeps well in the sling. Can go shopping with him in it and he doesn't even stir!

Wendy,
I put my Isaac on his tummy a couple of times and he'll lift his head and turn 180 degrees as well, push his feet and hands and struggle. So end up turn him back. But it seems like BBs do stop crying when put on their tummy. My boy also will stop crying when I do that.

Yuen Yuen,
I have no idea how much my boy drinks now. He was dinking about 70-80ml BM when in week 3 to 4. Last week (week 5) he drank 110ml according to my MIL but she says she tried to make him finish the bottle.

Wendy / durianlover,
So far I have tried only 1 sling position, with BB lying almost flat to sleep in the sling. Works well for me. Let me know if you need any help.

Last call for to share in Maternity Mall nursing bra/wear purchases! Do email me by Monday night if want to order.

It has been a long time since I pop by..

i think I am going into depression soon..i felt mang zhang when elijah cry non stop..Plus now that I am down with flu, I am so worried that he will catch the virus.. especially when I am looking after him full time at home..

Re : hubby

recently I keep picking on hubby as I felt that I am making lots of sacrifce for elijah but not for him.. and he gets sort of upset when I ask he to do simple things...

As I am looking after elijah during the day and night, some how I expect him to take over from me during the evening totally until 11 plus but some how things are not going my way..

at time when I am worried about baby (eg.. strand of blood from his poo , bb gets choke at time of feeding), he seems boh chap and feels that I am too gan chong.

Stress!!!!!

Re tingkat services for dinner and lunch

Does anyone has tried ? I wish to order any recommandation?

Rena
Long time didn't hear from you, so the CL left already and you are taking care of Elijah alone. Very tough, me also just finish feeding. mine keep crying from 11.30 till now, peacefully asleep now.

I know what you mean, my hub also sleep like a log, lucky for me, my mum is helping me so we take shift. Complained to my hub previously and he mentioned that he have to work while I am on ML so can rest during the day.

Told him that for 2 hourly feed how to rest and since now bb more on FM, there are endless things to wash. He still said that he will take shift once I start work.

Strand of blood from poo, is that because the poo is too hard and dry? try giving water. I realise the bb on FM need more water.

Mine also choke during feed, should be ok, don't worry.

RE: Book
Hope that it helps

Rena,
U are not alone. There are many of us having bo chup hubby too. Sigh..wat to do..
My hubby only handle baby 8-11pm only when asked. The rest of the time if he is at home, he will stick to the PC or TV. My baby has been crying every night lately from 1am to 4am. I am the only one that wake up to handle her. I was very fedup with him and very mang zhang whenever she cry.

Hi Cookie,
congrats! yep, you have to wake bb up every 3 hours at least, else she will not wake up to feed on her own... also check that bb is latched on well, if she is not latched on well, you will have engorgement, and sore nipples... I experienced sore nipples for 5 weeks b4 it subsided, and that is the worst thing about breastfeeding for me, nearly give up coz of the pain, hang in there!

SY,
sorry, just saw your qn, sorry, symptoms of reflux - continous feeding, even though bb is full, Shannon could latch on for 1 hour at my breast, and still drink 90ml of FM when she was 3 weeks old.. non stop, if not, she will start crying and crying and only quiet down when we give her milk, coz milk help with the stomach acid, so bbs are smart to drink to try to minimise the discomfort... after the overeating, she will throw up alot... after every feed, she throws up about 3 mouthfuls of milk... sometimes, can come up projectile, like merlion. Also, backward arching of the back, which lessens the discomfort in the tummy. After she passed week 5, she started getting heartburn, so she will feed at the breast for a few min, then start crying, coz of the pain in her throat...

Shannon wakes up if she throws up for her reflux, coz of the pain, otherwise she is pretty prompt in her feedings, every 2 hours will wake up. I will swaddle her everytime I put her down for a nap, coz she can't sleep well without swaddling. Her hands moving around will wake her up, so this is sometihing perhaps can try?

In the day, I let her sleep in a rocker, in the night will be her cot. At night, I let her have one FM at 12am, then she will sleep at least 3 or 4 hours, which eases my tiredness. Also, night time, lights will be dim, and I will keep it very quiet, so she gets the hint and falls asleep after every feed... sometimes after feeding FM, she will be wide awake, so I give her comfort by latching her at the breast, and it works most of the time, in 5 min, she will doze off, and I can carry her off to her cot. Also at night, I 'pack' the cot so she have very little space to move, so she feels secure and stays asleep.. bostlers on both sides..

Clare,
Shannon and Ashley sama sama, when she wakes up for milk and starts crying, she wants it NOW, means NOW! When she starts crying at night, the first thing we do is not to pick her up, is to close all the windows and the doors so that she dun wake up the neighbours!

I going crazy again. My MIL took 1 week leave to stay at my house again. She is sick, got flu and sore throat. So worried that she will passed to my baby. Told me hubby, can't she wait till she recover then come over? My hubby just keep quiet. I showed black face last night, he got no choice then tell my MIL not to go close baby.

Now, not only I have to take care of baby alone. I have to take care of the sick MIL. Make her herbal tea. My hubby even ask me to wake up early to make her breakfast!! Wanted to tell him that I am supposed to be still doing confinement leh. Urgh...with baby crying at night and handling her alone..now another sick elderly come over.

may,
poor thing...sounds terrible to hv to take care of a sick person n bb during confinement. Why don't u try talking to MIL nicely to ask her to stay home till she recovers? Let her know that newborns very sensitive to germs n might catch it from her...see what she says..

SY,
i find that my baby sleeps well in the sling too. She sleeps like a log! Heh. But then again, she generally sleeps well, so i'm not sure if the sling is better for her to sleep, or just that she sleeps well so can sleep in the sling - know what i mean?

queen,
i also only know how to put baby in lying down position in the sling. Now still a bit too young to try out the other positions.

rena,
yah really long time never hear from u! For me, my hubby also doesn't take care of baby at night - but it's also coz i don't want him to. He's a teacher and very xiong for him to keep waking up and to have to still go to sch early next morning, so i decided to spare him the 'torture'. ANyway i'm breastfeeding so no pt for him to wake up either. Perhaps u can try talking to ur hb to let him know how u feel?

Yuenyuen,
my boy is taking 80-90EBM since week2. and now he's into week3, i'm giving 90-110ml. issit too much? seems like the other bbies here are drinking much lesser than my boy. wonder if i'm giving too much. but if i don't give that amt, bb seems unsatisfied.

sleepingdeer,
maybe u can try putting her to sleep on her tummy, so her hands can't move as much. think quite a few of us mummies here are putting our bbies to sleep that way and it works well. u may wanna try.

Rena,
ya my hb oso super bo chap. worst still, he will walk away when bb cries. don't even bother to pick him up. all he knows how to do shout for the confinement lady. dat's y we are extending our confinement lady for another month. coz if not, i think i will go mad taking care of the bb all by myself. hopefully by 2-3 mths bb is bigger and able to sleep thru the night then won't be so taxing.

Hi May,
poor thing, it is already super stressful when you ahve to take care of bb, and do confiement, now still have to take care of your MIL, your hubby deserves a scolding leh.. how can he ask you to take care of your MIL when you are the one who should be taken care instead... during confinement, our bodies are very weak, you have to take care of yourself too..! Your MIL also quite funnie leh, if she is sick, she should stay away from bb, tell your hubby to talk to her and ask her to go home, he needs to be very considerate and senstive of your needs and bb's needs during this time... take care!

Hi Celine,
hee hee, never thought of that, though bb sleeps on my chest like that, on her tummy

Thanks, will try that out and see whether she is ok or not... initially I was worried about SIDS, but my LC say our mattresses are firm enuff, so no need to worry, and so far, she has no problem lifting her head to turn to the side... think I will still supervise first and see how she takes it.

Celine,
think as long as your bb weight gain is ok, and not over the limit, should be fine. Shannon was taking about that amount + more with her reflux, and her weight gain is little over the expected, but since she came out small, our paed didn't say anything, so should be fine.

any one still epxeriencing lochia after 5 weeks? and red in colour? I still am, thot of going back to see my gynae to check, but when I call the clinic to ask the nurses there, they say it's normal, some people can go up to 8 weeks... as long as no heavy bleeding or clots, she just ask me to monitor, say it could be a hormone inbalance woh..

sleepingdeer,
i was very KS. I bot a baby monitor that is also a motion detector, so if bb stops breathing, it will beep. hence don't have to worry about SIDS. but i think SIDS are pretty rare coz bb will make noises automatically if they are uncomfortable. then again, to have a peace of mind, better to monitor initially.

i have yet to weigh my bb. think will do so later. btw wat's the guage for the weight gain?

Durianlover and sleepingdeer,
My hubby told her not to go close baby last night. She show black face immediately and say "can't i come to see my granddaughter?" Then he keep quiet liao.
Difficult to ask her go home leh.. since she is already here with all her stuff liao. She used to sleep in the same room as my hubby, baby and me when she come over during the 2nd week of my confinement. But now my hubby ask her to sleep in separate room already. What I can do now is carry baby away from her lor.. try to use excuses like she is thirsty or what. Hate it when she bend closely to baby and start talking to baby. She dun understand that her germs will spread to my baby when she do that !!! Urgh..now my hubby go work. She go close to my baby again.

Queen, durian,
I think i really need someone to show me how to use the sling. Maybe becuz my bb very small sized so very difficult to use the sling properly? When will be a good time to meet up?

May,
My bb is 21days old. She can turn her head 180deg and turn her body from side to side. I noticed sometimes when I placed her to sleep on 1 side or facing up, she'll end up sleeping on the other side after awhile. Also, sometimes I put her down straight, she'll end up sleeping perpendicular to the position I placed her so gotta watch out for her falling off the cot & bed now.

Celine,
RE: baby monitor

which baby monitor u using? I need to buy baby monitor too as I cannot hear bb cry upstairs when i'm downstairs watching tv. Any recommendations and brands to avoid for baby monitors?

Baby weighing scale
I'm actually looking for a baby weighing scale like the ones in PD clinic, not adult weighing scale. Anyone know where to buy one?

congrats cookie on your delivery! wow ur baby is quite heavy ya.

had a great time over the weekend. sat brought baby to suntec and sunday brought to plaza singapura. they have nursing room and made feeding or baby crying retreat room easier. hee..bot the infant carrier but baby does not like to be in it. keep crying so end up sleeping in the pram.

re: colic

we bought avent bottles yesterday as we find he drinks better and not so grouchy during burp. NUK bottles does not seem to reduce colic. wat brands of bottles are u all using?

krissie - i not sure abt the PD name as its my frd frd who been there and wat i know is the PD is from woodland..quite famous one. wat bottles are u currently using?

my boy now does not have colic already. not sure if its because of the brand of bottle we switch to. we did not give him any colic drops.

yuen yuen - we gave my boy twice on similac milk as we are outside and we found his poo changed from yellowish to green. then today, i check again and his poo is back to yellowish as he is on BM again. normally to make thgs easier when we are out, i will give FM. any mum also the same?

rena - i order my tinkat lunch from house of catering. 133 nett for lunch only including rice. either 4 dishes or 3 dishes

Wendy,
My baby is 23days old. She can turn 180 degrees too. But when lie on tummy, she will try to lift her head up awhile. When burping her, she also try to lift up her head awhile too. So cute to see them move like that.

RE: Rebonding
I don't care liao.. Sunday then my confinement is over. But I will go rebond this thurs or fri when my MIL is feeling better. Got to grab 1 or 2 sets of new clothes also.

SSF
I using aprica dr browne's bottles to feed my bb ebm at night. Had a few avent bottles free when i bought my avent iq express steriliser. tried using it but bb rejects it cuz the teat is too hard. aprica teat very softm more like real nipple so bb accepts. Didn't want confuse bb also cuz i still latch her on during the day. so far no colic also.

may,
how come ur confinement so fast over? its supposed to be 40 days right? ur bb only 23 days so only halfway through?

Poo colour & type for BF babies

I always wonder if my bb got diahrroea cuz her poo is always loose, wet & yellowish (not to mention ALOT). Can i check with if your total bf babies poo is the same or my bb tummy ache?

Wendy,
Oh no.. then got to check with my mum again. 30 days already very jialat for me.. can't imagine it is 40days!!!