(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie
then, u better pack eveything to put in the car, in case you hv to be induced. rem to bring the admission letter. To me, induced was more painful, coz from induction, 6pm till next am, 7+am when Dr Ho came to break waterbag, it was already painful and Dr Ho says real labour has not started.

Hi Wendy and SSF...I think my "menses" also on and off...then always alot and smelly and very sticky and bloody one...not like the normal menses...then not consisitent kind...it's kinda normal...

Ariel
I also dun wanna be induced too ley
ya... I also heard stimulating nipple will help.

Kriss
Oh ok...think perhaps I should place my bag in the car then. I carry the Gynae's doc and blood test result in my bag everywhere I go.
I also heard induced more painful too... hopefully I do not need to go thru induce...
Looks like I have to talk to bb every nite now... encourage her to come out automatically.

SY, Wendy, May, Yvonne (hope I didn't leave anyone out!),
CONGRATS! Welcome to mummies' club!

Yvonne,
How good if the Ameda pump? How much adn your pump and how fast?

I'm still in 2 minds about whether to bring the Avent ISIS manual to work or really invest in an electric pump... ISIS is so lightweight and easy to use but downside is can only pump 1 breast. When there is letdown, the other breats will start to leak and have to hold a tissue to absorb those precious milk!

A few times when my Isaac is feeding from my breast, he'll suck and cry at the same time. How come huh? When I take him off, he'll stop crying for a while and the nstart crying and rooting for my nipple. Ok, so i put him back and then he;ll start crying and sucking at the same time. Aiyo... why like that???

Sometime ago, my HB got cold and cough. Think spread to BB and he's having a bit of cough as well (didn't bring to doctor yet). Now I'm getting the cough! DO you think I should stop BF?

Wendy,
my bleeding doesn't stink leh. It's like normal menses loh, only brighter red and sometimes with clots.

Congrats to all the mummies who have delivered!

SSF
the massage is whole body massage... before i did mine i heard from friends that it is quite painful... but i find it very relaxing leh... not painful leh... basically she will massage both legs and hands, back, tummy and head using the herbal oil...

as for the nursing bra... i am thinking to get from moms in mind... the cheapest is $20 per piece i think... cos i think i need a few more too...

my bb always sleep longer in the afternoon... that means probably 4 hours to 5 hours and she does not cry for milk... should i wake her up 3 hourly to feed her? but if i wake her up she doesnt seem interested to suck also...

sometimes when suckling she will fall asleep... then i tot she enough... but i put her back to her bed she will cry for milk again.

zhimin- where is mom in minds shop? also, feed only upon demand. unless if he sleeps for more than 4 or 5 hrs than wake him up. this is wat the PD told us. sit your baby upright for a while and diligently burp him. normally baby will feel hungry after burping. if not, out him down and later continue when he cries.you can also try touching his cheek when you are breastfeeding to make him alert and not fall asleep. remember your breast is for feeding not sleeping else baby will go toyour breast when they want to sleep.

Queen / Krissie
I also having cough and was wondering whether should give bb BM. very slight cough only so will monitor and see. My elder girl having cough so must have gotten the cough from her and also body resistance low due to insufficient sleep.

Queen
bb suck and cried at the sametime maybe due to your BM flow is too fast for him. This happen when we express BM and the body produce more than the bb requirement. I read it somewhere in the net and can't remember where already.

Ariel,
Thanks. Not sure if it is called breech position. Baby should face down when coming being pushed out. But mine is facing up.

Morning mummies..

OK! MIM allows exchange up to 30 days. But stlll not comfortable to buy without trying.

Krissie - how much is the eternity brand? how is the design like? I may want to buy tmr.

Hi gals, me is from the march 06 MTB.

My mum is a nanny and is available right after CNY onward. She stays at Ubi ave 1. If interested, pls contact / sms me at 90616776 or e-mail me at [email protected]

Thanks / Kei

hi Queen,
yep, Yuen Yuen is right, could be coz you are pumping milk, so the milk starts spraying, and bb cannot handle, sometimes, they pull away also.

my nipples are so sore now that I can't latch Shannon on anymore. Everytime I latch her on, I start crying from the pain. Despite me reading up on latching on in the Net, and getting advise from lactation consultants, my nipple are still so sore. How do you mummies latch your bbs on successfully without getting sore nipples? I've tried ensuring her chin is down, lower lips turned out, waiting for her mouth to open wide, and bringing her to the breast, not my breast to her mouth, making sure as much of breast is in her mouth, but still having sore nipples... on the verge of giving up..

My hubby asks me to stop for today and feed her via bottle, am so worried that she will reject my breast after feeding easily on the bottle, but I really cannot tahan the pain already

sleepingdeer - my nipples are also getting a little sore as my boy really suckle hard on it. so for today, i will pump and put it in the fridge and when he wants to drink, will put in hot water to warm it. nipples rest day today.

finally tmr is the weekend..looking forward to it as hubby said he will stay hm and look after baby..i just need to ensure got EBM or not he will make FM. i can go out and destress a little. hip hip hurray!
already planning to go and buy nursing bra and do my pedicure as my nail are getting long and the removal by the hospital is done so poorly. so since cannot bend..so haha...my chance is here!

re: pampers

what brand are you guys using. my boy seems to have nappy rash and not sure if its because of the pampers. any recommendation?

sleepingdeer
Don't worry, I have switch Bryant to bottle since more than a week ago and Bryant still root for the breast when I try to feed him with the bottle. But the problem is now he does not open his mouth big enough and also he feel the flow is too slow if I try to latch him on.

SSF,
you can still go out during confinement?

sleepingdeer,
Is Shannon sucking very hard? Does her mouth cover part of your areola? Yes, give yourself a break by EBM. My boy uses the Avent teat for EBM and does not reject my breasts. You can try as well.

Yuen2, May, sleepingdeer,
Yah, I thought maybe milk flowing too fast for him as well, especially when letdown comes. But I seldom EBM leh... Will it affect the rate of milk flow?

Zhimin / SSF,
Yes, best is feed on demand. Sometimes my Isaac can also sleep for 4 hrs or so. But normally by 4 hrs, i try to wake him up cos breasts feel full and uncomfortable after 4 hrs. Sometimes Isaac will also fall asleep after like 10mins. Then I try to stroke his chin, tickle his feetv to keep him awake but his sucking also half hearted. After 20mins, I'll give up and put him back to the cot. But breasts still feel full. But I'm so lazy to pump it out. So always end up with slight engorgement and leaking breasts. I'm hoping my body will adjust by itself.

How's weight loss going? I still have 3 kg to go. I'm so happy that I could fit into one of my old denim skirt (though a teeny bit tight at the butt) and wore it to bring the full month goodies to my office yesterday. Then I went home and tried to put on my Levis, so depressing, cannot pull the jeans over my butt!

RE:slight sickness during BF
I remember from Antenatal class... nurse advise even with slight sickness still can continue BF in fact the more should continue becos our body will develop natural anti-bodies to counter our sickness and these anti-bodies will be pass on to bb as well and make bb stronger...

Maybe u all can check with lactation consultant

queen - i went out on my 6th and 8th day to bring baby to PD and also for a hair cut/wash. haha... my mum dun care..she very modern one. tmr i will take a break and go shopping. i am fine anyway.

as for wgt loss, i lost 8kg and have abt 6 kg inside me. but i dun want it to go away as i am always on the skinny side so now 45kg and its my ideal wgt and no longer under wgt. but frankly i dun noe where the extra fats gone to. i havent tried trying my jeans due to my stitches but already set aside a sum of money to revamp my wardrobe b4 i return work. as basically during my maternity i didnt buy any top and all my top are pretty stretch. so haha..good excuse to do some shopping!

May,
Baby coming up face up is called posterior cyphallic position. The normal and easiest for delivery position is anterior cyphallic (face down). Breech position is baby legs down and head up.

BF mums,
Does your breasts feel hot? Mine feel like they're having fever and heavy. Makes me sweat under my breasts all the time. so uncomfortable

Period blood,
Mine is still very stinky (fishy smell) and watery mixed with normal period blood.

I am having trouble passing motion since I gave birth cuz the tear was so big, it went all the way to my anus. I think I'm going to fall sick soon if I still fail to move my bowels..

Hi SSF,
haha, your and my nipples both sore at the same time... wah, you so lucky, can go out jalan jalan, I have not been out of the house except gynae and paed visit, feel like going to 'fa fong' already, even pads, I have to ask my hubby to bring for me. Have fun tomorrow! I also so gian to cut and colour my hair, but cannot, only will do it before I go back to work, so CNY, will look like a auntie with untidy hair and still wearing maternity clothing...

Hi Yuen Yuen,
yah, that's what I worry about, that she gets used to bottle, and dun open her mouth big enuff, then another problem...

Hi Queen,
her mouth opens wide enuff to cover part of my areola, but think not big enuff so my nipples hurt.. if I can put in my whole areola in her mouth, I find it doesn't hurt, but it slips out very easily, and starts to hurt again. She has 'tu tu' (small) mouth, think that's why my nipples hurt?

Yuen Yuen and SSF,
how much EBM do you feed your bbs? How many feeds a day if you give EBM?

I fed Shannon 50mls EBM today morning, after latching her on for 10min, and she was still hungry. After that, fed her another 40ml of EBM, so she drank total of 90mls EBM in the morning, plus whatever she had from my breast, is that normal?

sleepingdeer my boy can drink a lot. so far he has even drank 100ml of EBM. but today out of that 100ml, he drank only 75ml and then refuse. but after a while i BF him again. i realise if he is not asleep after his milk, he will want to suckle a while later.

i think my boy is having problem latching on to my right breast. left is ok but not right. not sure if its the pump tat mis-shaped my nipples or that he is used to the NUK teats.

How long(minutes) does your babies suck per feed? Sometimes I also wonder if baby is still sucking milk or just suckling on my nipple like a pacifier. Also, do u feed both breasts at each feed or alternate breasts per feed?

wendy - i try to switch sides every 10 mins as the other nipple always leak when he suckle on one breast. for me to know if he really drink, i burp him and if milk flows out means he did really drink. and if he dun ask for more mean he does really drink. i think u can also estimate base on the amt of EBM you have.

Krissie,
the contractions which i had is not due to breastfeeing, is it normal? My BB refuse my breasts, and whenever i try to make him suckle, he will suckle 3-4 times then fall asleep! As i was complaining for not having breast milk earlier, i had engorgement on the 4th day and with the Ameda pump arriving on the same day, i tried to express the BM and feed BB. The pumps are really good! It has this control thingy that are able to hasten the pump effect.

nov my BB had slight jaundice and the pd said to stop feeding him BM, so no choice i still continue to express the BM (to keep the BM coming so that BB can still hv BM even after confinement) and throw them away! (so wasteful).....Will wait till after confinement then feed BB with BM (coz confinement food too much ginger & rice wine).

Cookie/Queen,
i find the pump quite good as it does hv control to fasten or lessen the pumping effect, which has the same effect like having your BB suckle on your breasts. The pump is $290 and the cooler bag is $80. It has a transformer whereby hv to plug to a power point. so far, it's my 3rd day using the pump, so no complaints. Hv been able to express about 60mls of BM from each breasts @ the moment.

Ariel,
Walking/climbing of stairs does not really give u contractions lah, in actual fact, i walk & climb stairs (which i do every morning when i need to travel to work) till the day b4 i pop! It does help when you are in labour as it make the process faster too.

SSf, You can check out Perfect Mums for their nursing bras too! I bought 3 pieces from them and they oso allow you to exchange the bra (if not rite size) within a period of 6 or 9 months (if i remember correctly) after birth of your child.

Any mummies experience Bb waking up in the middle of the nite for straight 2-3 hours? My BB Jovan very naughty. Hv been waking up @ 2 plus for his milk then he will not go back to sleep until 4 or 5am! I'm quite zombified now..... =P

Yvonne, I also realise because I just went to see my gynae and only 0.5cm dilated. I will be admitting tonite for inducement, now feeling a bit anxious.

My gynae did a membrane sweep, so got quite a fair bit of bleeding....so I don't really dare to move around too much.

Any advice for me who is going for inducement?

how's everyone?

hi yvonne
my bb also has jaundice and admitted to hospital for 2 days. but my pd didn't ask me to stop feeding him BM. now, other than BM, we keep letting her drink palin water.

Pump
luckily i have electric pump, if not, i will be more stressful....

BF
i think if the milk flow is too fast, bb will reject the breast. i encountered it yesterday... it's really stressful 'cos bb was rejecting the breast and the milk kept flowing out.... then end up got to let her suckle another side.

how's your bb feeding schedule like? my gal can ask for milk like every 1 hour, 2 hours or 3 hours... so hard to gauge. and i experience one night that, she asked for milk every 1.5 hours!!! i really nearly surrender to direct BF 'cos my confinement lady and mil kept asking me to feed EBM at night...

sunny..
how I envy.. my BM is too slow so bb hates it .. now I have stop EBM too as bb refuse to suck and my milk flow has stop too..

hi rena
i read from magazine that it's possible to relactate the bb if you keep letting bb to suckle...
but i know it's stressful to do it.

don't feel too bad about it if you are unable to give BM to bb. the most important is bb is growing happily and healthily.

sleepingdeer
My boy drinks 80ml per feed and 12 feeds a day. As I only pump 7 times a day the rest of the feed when there is no EBM, i give FM and he drinks about the same amount.

Don't be too stress about how much your bb drinks as i am sure she will let u know if she getting enough.

Sunny
my boy also have no schedule one, can cry every 1.5, 2 or 3 hours, so will give as and when he wants. tried to train him by withholding he milk but give-up after 2 days.

Rena
Don't be sad, At least he gotten some BM, Breastfeeding is not everything the bb need, he need our love etc and now u can concentrate on playing with him.

Rena,
If your flow has not completely stopped, I think its still possible to rebuild the flow by getting ur bb to suck on both every 3 hours. Not so sure if pumps will do the job as well though but if u really want to establish milk flow again, its worth a try. Don't give up so easily! Did u try massaging ur breasts on the hard areas to release milk from the blocked glands and pushing the released milk towards the nipple so its easier for bb to suck? BTW, how are u coping at home? Have things settled down for u?

queen, yuen yuen
I've checked with PD today, since we hv cough, all the more we must bf, so that bb gets the antibodies from cough. Anyway, he said that common cough, flu, fever (not high fever), we can still bf.

SSF
the bra is only $9.90. To me, all the nursing bra are the same leh. Re nappy rash, put Drapolene or Desitin after each change to prevent nappy rash. I tried it for a few times and it worked for my boy.

Sleepingdeer
I had sore nipples earlier due to latching for too long. LC says not to latch for >30mins on each breast. And I follow it strictly now. And it works. It takes a while. Dont give up, ok.

Wendy
My whole body feels hot, not only my body. Try prune juice. It worked for me, I'm also taking stool softener. My cut is also v big.

Yvonne
eh.. if not due to contractions, then i dun know leh. coz the nurse told me to be prepared for some cramps when bf, due to the uterus contracting. Wow, the pump sounds so good, makes me so tempted to get it. How long do you hv to pump to get 60ml from each breast?

Wendy
LC told me to feed 1 breast for 30mins. IF bb wants more, then give other breast, if not, massage and pump for 5 mins on the other breast. He usually feeds abt 30-45mins. But, sometimes only 15-20mins too.

sleepingdeer,
I got prob latching on too. Now starting to pump out and feed via bottle. But I will prefer formula milk cos she is more used to it. Only 2days she discharge, she has gain weight also. Born - 3.6kg, Discharge on Wed - 3.4kg, Today - 3.8kg

Mummies that have C-sect,
My wound has this very "aching".. "SUAN" feeling when I get up from bed. And one has got this prob? Is it normal?

Brought my baby to the paed today for her jaudice check. Luckily only with index 7, and not 10 or else got to admit to TMC again. I cried when the doc poke her when needle. She cried very loudly also.

hi mummies..
is it OK to rest a while and continue pumping using the same container again later. Coz sometimes there is no milk flow and have to wait a while later then the milk comes in. hence, i normally take a towel and cover the suction and continue later.anyone did the same too? wondering if it is safe?

hi may..yes i have that too. do you wear a binder? for me because i didnt wear and that's why it is pain when i get off the bed. after i start wearing it, it helps to relieve the pain.

Hi all mummies

I have a pack of newborn fitti diapers for sale @$0.20 each.
A pack of Pureen Dry5 small size at $0.15 each

Any taker?
pls PM me, I don't come to this threat often.

thanks for the congrats. been so busy and think i m falling sick also. getting a cold and cough.

wendy,
i dun know my total bill yet cos KKH will send whatever extra incurred. so far the bill is abt 2.5K (including medisave claim)

your bleeding sounds very ligh. mine is on and off.

re bf
think i m having a lot of problems with it and sometimes i really feel like giving up.
bb is impatient and milk flow is not established well as my milk ducts are blocked. i m so engorged now and it is so painful. what should i do? bb doesn't latch on well and he gets impatient and kept crying. after letting him suckle, he will still take FM. currently he's 4 days old and he can take 60ml at each feed.

what shd i do abt my engorged breasts? i tried massaging and pumping but doesn't relaly work. only managed to pump less than 10ml. i am using Avent isis but somehow i think my technique is not good.

sigh..feel very discouraged.

re episotomy wound.
how do you clean this area? my gynae say clean with water is fine and dab. but what abt the rest of the vaginal area? shd use soap?

stylobb
doing that now but it gets hard very fast. and when i pump, nothing comes out. so i have to use hand to squeeze the milk out. breasts feel so sore now. but it feels worse when it's clog.

and i can't latch bb on properly.

how's your gals doing? do they look really identical?

Hi SY,

Cleaning the area with water is fine. I washed the area thoroughly with water and dab dry. When the wound is better, then use soap. That's what I did.

Use cold cabbage to ease the engorgement. Then pump regularly after that. Is yours the manual/electric pump? I did not suffer from engorgement becos I was pumping every 3 hours or when the breasts fill up.

Congrats to all mums who have popped and thanks for the birth stories... it never fails to keep me engrossed reading them... cos every labour is UNIQUE!!!

May - so heart pain rite when see baby being poked for blood... who's ur PD? mine is Keoy SS and Celeste's jaundice level was 12 tat day and he din mention bout admitting her, he said 16 and above then considered high leh...

SY - hot towel massgae will help alot.i had engorgement on 4th day also, very PAIN and felt like taking the pill to stop milk flow but after latching and hand-expressing, it was gone... and for now, as milk supply comes in, also abit engorged but not as bad... actuali i kinda prefer hand expressing
each drop goes straight in to bottle rather then being stuck and wasted at t he funnel..haha precious milk...