(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rachel, don't be discouraged, there is still a likelihood that you will give birth tomorrow since some mummies do have actual contractions quite soon after braxton hicks. Just keep monitoring your situation

Congrats SY! The vomitting part sounds very bad, but thank god you manage to give birth naturally

ariel
thanks for the encouragement! hopefully wil happen as what you mention. montoring at home now. can feel cramp still... bb moving ard too

SY
CONGRATS!!! rest well n hope to see your boy pic soon!

congratulations to SY! welcome to the mummies club

SSF
heard from Mdm Rokiah that c-sect can only start the massage after 3 weeks.

pochacco
ya i am the kelly stay in 320... i think mine time slot just after your session.

re:pD
clarisse pd in TMC is Dr Ong... he is quite patient and friendly... tomorrow has an scheduled appt with him... haven find out his charges though... but find his clinic quite far away...

SY
i also got a very hard time pushing the bb... almost gave up and asked for emergency c-sect... but i am glad i din.

god's child
think the stitches are quite secure... dun worry... first few days i also keep on thinking the stitches come out but it should be fine... but my gynae did mention to use cool water to wash...

zhimin - thks ..in that case i will wait for another 2 more weeks. can u tell me abt the massage? do they massage ur back and shoulder like those in spa? or is it very painful kind?

Hi mummies! I delivered on 9 Jan morning at 37w1d.

My birth story as below (time is agah one bec didn't really take note of the time):

12.45am - felt like going to wet the bed so woke up and went toilet. Took longer than usual as the "pee" seem to take forever. Went back to bed but woke up abt 5 min later as there was still urge to go toilet. Again seem to pee forever, so decided to sit and see how... Went on for like 20 min and intuition told me that the time has come!

1.45am - woke up hubby and told him water bag leaking. He very gan cheong and asked if we should call gynae or go hospital. Told him no need, wait first as there wasn't any contraction and should go hospital only when contractions is 5 min apart. Went back to sit in the toilet. Shortly afterwards, contractions started, like every 20 min. And then 5 min apart!

3am - woke up MIL and told her it's time! Started to throw in a few things into our not so packed bag.

3.45am - admitted to hospital and straight to delivery room.

4.30am - nurse said already 3cm dilated and as cervix is very thin, so labour should be a short one (which is good news). Contractions was like 3 or 4 min apart now. Asked if I needed epidural and I said no! I wanted to use my breathing first.

5.15am - contractions slowed down to 5 or 6 min apart. Nurse asked if I want to try entonox, I said ok.

7am - gynae came to check on me and was told dilated between 5 and 6 cm and asked if I wanted epidural since I looked very tired and would have another at least 3 hours to go. I refused and he was concerned that I won't have the strength to push later. Hubby encouraged me so that I could rest.

7.15am -finally given in to have epidural. Very disappointed with myself! Kind of dozed off after that.

8.45am - if I didn't heard wrongly, gynae said dilated 9cm liao but baby still not engaged! And heartbeats were dropping!! Decision to have emergency c-section under GA.

9.20am - Baby Sebastian Kai-Jie was born.

Some pics to share.....

http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/meow_dave/album?.dir=a923&.src=ph&store=&prodid=&.done=http%3a//sg.photos.yahoo.com/ph//my_photos

HI all...
I'm pretty upset after speaking to my MIL just now...not sure if it's a good decision to get her as my CL

My MIL was asking what I wanna eat for Confinement... so I told her maybe can cook more fish etc... then she told me.. confinement CANNOT eat FISH!!!?... becos when we grow old, we will have bad breathe...
ANyone of you heard of this?
I only know my colleagues who went thru confiement advise me to take more fishes...

Then I told my MIL perhaps she can also cook the papaya fish/pork rib soup for me...
She told me, whoever who advise me the recipe, ask THAT person to cook for me cos so modern she dunno all these... I was fuming and just told her if she is unwilling to cook then I will cook myself...

I dunno if she is ignorant or what... she did her daughter confinement 7 yrs ago...but she keep referring to HER time of confinement which was like 30 yrs ago...

when I told me HB... I guess he feel stuck in between... just looked very confused and vexed.

sorry so long winded...but really upset ley

sometimes I think I cannot communicate with my MIL.. looks like I got to get my HB to be the communicator

really cannot stand talking to her....

Sorry to have only log in till today. I have just discharge.

My Delivery was pretty long and end up having C-sect.

14Jan
3.50am - Felt the contraction
4.30am - Contraction is every 15 mins. Wake hubby up.
6.00am - Had my last breakfast.
7.30am - Reach TMC. Had 2cm dilation. Nurse insert Enema.Pushed into Delivery Ward.
10.30am - Doc arrive to break water bag. Still 2cm dilation.
2pm - Doc check still 2cm. Pain is more severe. Asked for Epidural.
6pm - Doc check 5cm. Estimate will deliver at 10pm-12pm.
10pm - Still 5cm. Now got the urge of pushing. Doc say baby is trying to force herself into engagement.He say think got prob. Will need to observe until 1-3am.

15Jan
1am - Now 8cm. More severe pain. Already taken 3 dosage of Epidural. Doc say baby is pushing in a wrong direction. Might need to op if she doesn't turn by 3am.
3am - Still 8cm. Doc say cannot wait already. Will arrange C-sect. Hubby was so worried that his tears nearly flow down. I tried to be strong and console him. Actually I am very scared also.
3.15am - Pushed into Operating Theater.
3.43am - Baby Jamie was born.

She is 3.565kg, 52cm in length.
Stayed in the hospital till this AM then I discharge. Now got prob latching her on breast. Feel like giving up, I am having engorgement already. Very painful. Any tips from BF mummies?

I will post her pic once I have got the time.
Got to feed her already. Bye...

cookie
dun think that mt. A charge for the pump. BTW, where did sysac post the mt. faber pics? Didnt see it leh. my mum also mentioned that eating fish during confinement will make us smelly when old. I said nvr mind loh, all my friends are also taking fish, so we all smelly together when old. ha ha... anyway, old pple sure got smell one lah, old men also got.

mongs
why dun u go see a LC? 4 weeks seems qt long for sore nipples.

mashy
my boy does that to my nipple too.. hmm, only recently he started it.

May
I also had engorgement plus sore nipples during 1st few days. Massage your breasts before pumping, clears the duct for better flow. Also, can try using a pump to pump out the excess. but cant pump too long. massage + pump for 5mins, repeat cycle 3 times.

Wow! Just few days never login, so many posts to catch up on.. I am pleased to announce the arrival of baby Ariane on 16 January 1630. Here's a quick acconut of my birth story while Ariane is happily suckling away on my left now..

0030 Check in to gleneagles hospital. Go straight to labour room and a tablet was inserted into my vaginal to help soften my cervix.

0800 Dr came and did a VE. Only 1cm dilated. Opened to 3cm by hand and water bag was hooked and broken. Was supposed to be given oxytoxin drip to hasten labour but had to be pushed to the first stage labour ward to wait because another women is about to give birth and all other labour rooms are occupied.

0900 Can start to feel contractions, like period cramps lasting about 10-15sec every 5 minutes. Tried leaning forward to relieve ache, doesn't help. Heard a woman scream very very loud while pushing. Thought about how how the pain is going to worsen so chickened out and opted for epidural (no will power

1000 Epidural was given and oxytoxin was dripped. Anaesthetist told me he only gave me partial blockage (5ml/hr) so I can still feel the contractions but not painful. True enough, I can still wiggle my right toes and move my right leg but not enough sensation to lift it up. Nothing to do while lying there and wait so drifted to sleep while watching boring tv..

1230 Dr came and did a VE. Still only 3cm dilated but cervix has totally effaced (flattened). Expected time of delivery 5-7pm. Sianz.. still got so long more to go. Bored so drifted off to sleep again..

1400 Tummy very painful.. can feel strong contractions lasting 40 secd coming every minute. Feel like I need to shit in my sleep.. then I remembered I'm on epidural so should not be so painful. Woke up & was shivering very badly. Called my hubby to call for the midwife. Did a VE and midwife says I'm already fully dilated but baby still not fully engaged yet so if start pushing now will expend alot energy. Advised to wait 1 more hour before trying to push. Doubled my epidural dosage to 10ml/hr so I don't feel pain.

1415 Pain subsided but so did the sensation in my right leg. Hubby say epidural drip dripping very fast so I asked him to reduce the dosage to 7ml/hr but was still shivering very badly. Got very tired from shivering and kept drifting off to sleep..

1530 Very very tired from shivering and very cold. Called for my hubby to help me cover up so not so cold. Can feel the want to shit feeling very badly now so hubby called for midwife again.

1545 Midwife came, checked and asked my hubby go see baby's head. Hubby say can see baby's head liao and midwife asked hb to help ask me take deep breath and count to 10 slowly 3 times with each contraction. So, started the wait, take deep breath, chin down, legs open, push 1,2,...10 3 times per contraction. Can feel bb very heavy stuck there. Hb say can see bb hairline then bb go back in but abit more outside liao.

1615 Dr arrives. Can feel contraction coming on own so started telling hb when to start count for me instead cuz stupid CTG not accurate. Continue to push on my signals. Can feel bb getting more & more heavy like drop out. Finally Dr say ok give 3 loooong push & long as I can & as hard as I can. So take deeeep breath & puuuush. Hb say can see down there tear & bb like sruck at the entrance. Dr snip to prevent more tears & signal me to puuush again. This time can feel BIG Thing stuck there and dropping. Push again & out comes baby Ariane at 1630. Was so happy to see bb after she was out. Stopped crying the moment she was placed on my tummy. Midwife then wrapped bb in blanket & placed her in my arms beside me. Asked me kiss her b4 she weigh & clean her up.

My story nothing exciting except I had alot natural tears cuz push too hard I guess. Was so tired from shivering I kept falling asleep.

Breastfeeding
Left nipple feel very sore but right side no problem. Had been bf bb at hospital full time & milk came in today. Relief... cuz bb started to get cranky this noon from just colostrum alone. Luckily felt pain in breast after 12pm feed so massaged it and pressed & eureka! Milk! But bb appetite also getting VERY BIG..

congrats to Wendy, May, Curly, SY and all other new mummies... so many mummies popping now! Welcome to the exhuasting world of motherhood..!

Cookie,
I'm eating fish everyday, your MIL views are quite strange, thought it's good for us.
Understand how you feel about the funny views of other people, even with my mum, I get very short tempered when she suggest things which are not relevant and funny to me... like not enough milk, drink more gripe water to clean the stomach, these kind of funny stuff... so try to turn a deaf ear to these things, we are also more emotional these few days.

after days of enduring Shannon's non-stop cry for milk and feeding every hour, my hubby called our paed, and the paed said it Shannon may be having Gastroesophageal Reflux, which is similar to heartburn in babies. Her stomach muscles may be weak, and this results in acid reaching her throat, causing discomfort. To solve this, she keeps feeding milk to neutralise the acid, thus the feed stop feed stop cycle, until she eaten too much, and then she throws up the milk.

We're monitoring to see whether Shannon really has it, but it's been very iffy... sometimes she sleeps fine after a feed, sometimes she wails for more food after drinking 80ml of breast milk, and I can be feeding her non stop for 3 hours...!

Any mummies in similar situation?

Sleepdeer
Me in same situation. Bryant is feeding from bottle either with EBM or FM. Sometimes, he is fine after a feed and can last for 2-3 hours. sometimes, he wants milk afterr 1 hour after finishing 70-80ml. Yesterday and this morning, he throw up some milk and some come through the nose. Veri worried. Will monitor and see how, must bring to PD?

sleepingdeer,
perhaps I'm just too emotional...but I get quiet mad, becos initially out of respect I have to ask her first if she wanna be my CL and she wanted to claiming all the bad things abt CL
then now.. she tell me she forgot most of the things and start telling me cannot eat fishes etc... and give scastic comment

Just feel frustrated talking to her...aarrgghh

Kriss
Sysac post in this thread on her boy's full mth ley... but I cannot remember the date liao. Maybe u got to check back or ask sysac to post again

Huh... really har your mum also say so...
But I think old pple smell in old age is due to poor hyginene... but they always blame it on confinement. SOmetimes I just hate it when old folk put all the blame on confiement when things turn out bad.
I will learn from you la... just tell smelly smelly lor.. I dun mind. Ask her to cook more fishes.

Sorry gals for venting my frustration here...
will try to be more even temper...towards my MIL..:D

COngrats to May, wendy, curly... and all mummies who popped recently!

Kriss
So Mt A has sufficient electric pump to share around ah... glad to know that... bo I have lotsa things to bring to hospital :p

Hi Yuen Yuen,
me too, pretty worried... not coz Shannon may have it, we can cure that with medicine, but diagnosing it is a headache. Our Paed advised that there are tests which can be done at KKH, but it is harrowing for the bb, so I rather go with observing her for a few days and see whether can spot anything... been reading up on the Net about this, spitting up some milk is normal for bbs, but if they do it regularly and in large amounts, then that may be a symtom. Also if they arch their back, and fuss alot when lying flat on their back rather than elevated position...

My Paed says Shannon 50-50 after asking me questions about her behaviour, yep, she also has milk coming our from her nose when she spits milk. May be that Bryant doesn't have it, maybe just having growth spurt, monitor and see how, that's all we can do for the time being..

Cookie,
know what you mean, I hate it when people dun have the full picture and just impose their own judgement... that is my pet peeve
I find I'm more open if they have heard and read all sides of the story b4 they start saying things... hang in there, it's tough when your MIL doing CL for you, at least with my mum, I can show her face when I unhappy, but MIL have to be careful, I find myself unhappy with some of the things my MIL say also, and she is not even staying with me during my confinement!

Sleeping deer
Now I'm banking on my HB. My colleague not to get angry with MIL during confinement period.. anyway Son talk better than DIL. I will get my HB to do the talking and my request

In this way hopefully I will not get buay tahan with MIl and yet message convey... but hard on HB lor..kekeke
u are right lor... no matter how.. I dun wan to show black face to MIL la... still to face each other daily.
totally agree with u and thats y I'm upset with MIL la... she dun get the whole picture and start saying things.

Hi kriss
Just to check.. when you discharge from hospital, did MT A provide any wash for the stitches? I heard Mt A provide a wash bottle with cotton wool...
Just wondering if Dr Ho provide any?
My friend told me her gynae also gave her a spray bottle which she could spray at the wound after every pee much more convenient.

Zhimin,
Bb Ethan's PD also Dr Ong. Agree his clinic is far. I may consider changing to Kids Clinic at Rivervale mall when he reach 3 mths. Recommended by a close fren.

SY,
actually, I can't remember the pain during labour already though I didn't use epidural. the soreness after the delivery due to the stitches is the same for all mummies whose gynae perform epistomy. but for me the thing that bothered me the most is the pile that I have from the pushing. if I have the choice to go back, I will still choose to go without epidural but i will definitely make sure that my diet during my pregnancy has a lot of fibre to prevent the piles from developing from the pushing.

Hi cookie...sigh...i know what you mean...when I was staying with my in-laws...my MIL could get a little cranky too...nt with food but with her cleanliness freak...she would be so preoccupied cleaning the hse and scolding everyone else that it upset me...there was once I got into direct conflict with her...carried my boy and left the house...after that...I think she realised that altho I don't speak up most of the time, that doesn't mean I hv no temper...so we treaded very carefully on each other's turf...nw that I no longer stay with her...the relnship is so much beta...so i really believe in "siang jian rong yi tong ju nan"... Just "tong" for 1 month...bo bian...My hubby was also stuck in between but I tell him I just need to vent frustration loh...nt expecting action...

Wendy...CONGRATS!!! Wow...u muz be tired after all the pushing...hehe....take care and enjoy your baby!

Congrats to Curly, May and Wendy for having delivered! Curly, your baby has beautiful big eyes

May, you mentioned baby pushing in the wrong direction, do you mean baby is in breech position?

Wendy - your story very detailed

Joanna
Sigh...ya lor...and to think that I have not even stay with her, already cannot tahan her way of speaking.
She tend to pass scastic remark/comment or thread, always saying "u dun listen to me, when u grow old then u know, look at me, I dun have all these problem..." or whoever told you so, then u ask that person do for you...
*faintzzz*
After complaining... I felt much better liao...:D

RE :Mensus like cramp
These few days I have more and more mensus like cramp... I wonder if these are signs of labour or just one of those practise cramp...
but it doesn't accompany with hardening of tummy ley...

<center><font size="+2">January 2006 Babies - We are born!!!</font></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2"><center>S/N</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Age</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>EDD</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Birthdate</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Gender</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Age / Days</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Wt @ Birth</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Hosp</center></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Sysa</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD>2-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Cephas</TD><TD>48.0 </TD><TD>2.2 kg</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>klisa</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Rae Chin Yong Yi</font></TD><TD>36.0 </TD><TD>2.95 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD>15-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Aron Chan</TD><TD>35.0 </TD><TD>2.98 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>queen</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD>19-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Issac</TD><TD>31.0 </TD><TD>2.47 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Bao Bao</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>31-Dec-05</TD><TD>20-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>30.0 </TD><TD>3.4 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>wenyl</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD>20-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Ethan</TD><TD>30.0 </TD><TD>1.78 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Clare</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>3-Jan-06</TD><TD>24-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Ashley</TD><TD>26.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>mongs</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>10-Jan-06</TD><TD>25-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Clariss Tan</TD><TD>25.0 </TD><TD>2.85 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>babylon</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Damien</TD><TD>22.0 </TD><TD>2.94 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>edd2jan</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>2-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>22.0 </TD><TD>2.55 kg</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>yuen yuen</TD><TD><center>34</center></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Bryant</TD><TD>22.0 </TD><TD>3.02 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>missyladee</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Russell</TD><TD>21.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Rena</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Elijah</TD><TD>21.0 </TD><TD>3.34 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Shannon</TD><TD>21.0 </TD><TD>2.75 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD><center>31</center></TD><TD>13-Jan-06</TD><TD>30-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Tabitha Kay Shen</font></TD><TD>20.0 </TD><TD>2.4 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>mashy brainz</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>1-Feb-06</TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>18.0 </TD><TD>2.8 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Pochacco</TD><TD><center>23</center></TD><TD>9-Jan-06</TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Reeve Ng</TD><TD>18.0 </TD><TD>3.42 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Joanna</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>James</TD><TD>15.0 </TD><TD>3.3 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>confused</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD>5-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Valerie</TD><TD>14.0 </TD><TD>3.5 kg</TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>krissie</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Gerald</TD><TD>13.0 </TD><TD>3.3 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>styloBB</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girls</font></center></TD><TD>Chara &amp; Julien</TD><TD>13.0 </TD><TD><font size="-1">3.2 kg &amp; 2.6 kg</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Zhimin</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>31-Jan-06</TD><TD>7-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Clarisse Yiow</TD><TD>12.0 </TD><TD>2.85 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Curly</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD>9-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Sebastian Kai Jie</font></TD><TD>10.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>god's child</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>19-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Celest</TD><TD>8.0 </TD><TD>2.97 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>MamaChan</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>13-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Daren Chan</TD><TD>8.0 </TD><TD>3.55 kg</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Missy</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>15-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Caleb Lee</TD><TD>8.0 </TD><TD>3.05 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>sunny</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>8.0 </TD><TD>3.12 kg</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>yuki</TD><TD><center>31</center></TD><TD>14-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Megan</TD><TD>8.0 </TD><TD>2.74 kg</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>juliann</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Shermaine</TD><TD>7.0 </TD><TD>3.14 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Yvonne Lee</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD>13-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Jovan Chia</TD><TD>6.0 </TD><TD>2.99 kg</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>May Wong</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD>15-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>4.0 </TD><TD>3.57 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Wendy Ng</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>21-Jan-06</TD><TD>16-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Araine</TD><TD>3.0 </TD><TD></TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>sychua</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Li Cheng Jun</TD><TD>2.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

It's really great to hear that most of us has popped!

MIL &amp; Confinement
My MIL is my CL too. She oso has her own set of thinking and practice. When my granny came to visit me the other day, they were chatting abt confinement food and oso exchange pointers, altho i still unable to eat certain kind of food like certain fish, veg or chicken. My MIL usually ask what i wanna eat and if she suggest something and i think i can take it, i will tell her to go ahead and cook it for me.

Oh, BTW, i hv been having alot of ginger &amp; rice wine in my diet since beginning of the confinement. Went to the hospital yesterday to check on BB Jovan's jaundice, he got slight jaundice, but hv been advice not to give him my BM. MIL was concern, so i told her that i will express my BM in the meantime and not give to BB, will only let BB hv BM once my confinement is over (coz till then diet can fully omit ginger)!

Cramps
Does anyone here experience pain like menses cramp after delivery? I hv been having this pain every now &amp; then, like uterus is "contracting".....?

Ivory, thanks for the update again!

Cookie, dun worry, think u prob quite near to popping too....i oso experience cramps like you during last week b4 i pop on friday. I told my mum &amp; granny abt it and they say that BB will be out early and not wait till the EDD! True enuff....BB is 2 weeks early, popped out on the 38th week.

Think all the new mummies here deserve a pat in their backs, as labour is tiring &amp; painful, i now truly understand my mum's pain when she's giving birth to me &amp; my siblings.... =) Mummies, U are All VERY GREAT!!! After all the pain and pushing, nothing can compare to hearing BB's cries and HB's "thank u" &amp; a kiss.

IMO, a family is never complete without children! Can't wait to hv the next one!! hahahaaaaa

Hi Cookie...I had menses like cramp for abt 2 weeks prior to my actual show...normal...as long as no hardening of tummy...not contractions...why dun u start timing them and see?
Let us know if you are going to pop...k?

Breat Pumps
I just gotten my Ameda breast pumps.....whoa....it's a really great invention man!.....So convenient and fast. Does anyone here oso use Ameda Breast pumps? So far my BB does not like to be latch on....so i express only 2x so far for him to drink, but kena jaundice so hv to express &amp; feed BB later when jaundice is better.

Hi, Attached is my handsome Jovan
361839.jpg
361840.jpg
361841.jpg

Review from the PD yesterday that our bb is gaining weight and is a good sign....now is 3.176kg liao.
Discharged that day weighted at 2.95 kg.

Babe22 HB

yvonne and joanna
thanks for sharing your expereince!
Ok... so far not much sign except more mensus like cramp...
My EDD is Chu Yi... dunno if bb will stay till then

but after speaking to my MIL ytd... she sound like hope bb will not arrive on Chu Yi...keep asking me got any sign that tell bb will be early.
She ever told me Chu Yi baby is tough to bring up... sigh...

Cookie, dun worry, whether BB difficult to bring up or not is hard to say now, as long as bb is healthy and grow up well, what more as a parent can we ask for.... =) Now, i see my BB, my heart melt lieo.....so, keeping a positive frame of mind is always good. Dun brood over something which has not happen yet....if Bb wants to pop on Chu Yi, so be it, as if u want it to happen, we can't go against nature rite?

Yvonne
u are rite ley... I only pray that bb is healthy and well... seriously I'm not bother by those old wife tales... sometimes I feel upset when MIL just like to pass comment that doesn't help or valid at all.
In fact I dun mind bb come Chu yi... cos my Hb like doggie bb
... anyway doggie or chicky equally good to me

kriss
sorry I very long winded...
did Dr Ho provide any wound cleaning solution? other then the one given by hospital?

cookie
he prescribed for hosp to give us one. when i went for my 1st week check up, i got another bottle from him.

Ivory,
Sorry, my mistake. Spelt my baby girl's name wrongly. Should be Ariane Ng. Birth weight is 2.61kg.. lost weight. Luckily took gynae advice and induced. But PD say bb is healthy and good, then I guess its ok even if she's tiny. She's very long though.. my mum say she's just like me when I was born. Similar weight and very "tall".

SY,
Can I check with you your hospital bill? U are pte patient, single bedded room, normal delivery with epidural? We paid $2298 for 1-bed room, normal delivery with epidural at gleneagles in total. What about you?

Bleeding
I was expecting alot of bleeding after delivery &amp; bought 2 packs of maternity pads. In the end, didn't even used 1 piece.. only used the hospital provided loop ones. NOw, only bleed when breastfeeding baby. Also, its not like period blood. Kinda light bloods, watery and stinky.. You experience the same thing?

I feel like my time don't belong to me anymore.. no time to read emails, read posts or even unpack the hosp bag since bb came home. Can only sneak out to do these things while bb is sleeping. Her milk demand is really BIG. Feel like a milk cow now and breasts feel so heavy. Massaging the blocked ducts is so painful I had to ask my hb to do it for me &amp; ignore my cries..

Cookie,
If u look at the Tong Seng, the dog cycle only begins on the 7th day of CNY this year. If u follow strictly the chinese tradition, bb born on 1st day to 6th day of CNY are still chicky.

hi mummies..

back from my gynae visit and had clean the stitches. gynae said stitches looks good and have to keep it dry. he didnt give me any lotion to clean the stitches though. however, he check on my breast and realise there is some redness and could be too strenous while i was breastfeeding..so he gave me some antibotics to take to prevent infection. next visit is a mth later...

re: choking
i was bf him earlier and i think i make lots of movement while bf like getting tissue ..writing the timing etc and he suddenly choke. i was so scared mann as he was like gasping for air! so mummies who are bf or bottle feeding, better dun make too much movement. it was a scary experience for a week old mum.
kao_scared.gif

re: MIL
yeah they can be very nagging..but get hubby to speak to them. my hubby he has a mind of his own. so he simply ignore and will even put their words down. but of coz must be logical and give reasoning from doc. like glutinous rice wine, they bot 10 bottles and i ask so far 2 PDs and they said if can dun drink it as if it is not cook properly, it is basically drinking alcohol and bad for breastfeeding. Next is the cord binder, MIL bot 2 of them and insist we put on, we flip the guide bk and they said a BIG NO to it. so just flip to the page and show them. haha...tats the best explanantion from the experts themselves!

wendy
wow really ah... I didn't know :p
heehee I guess... surely my bb is chicky liao :D

Kriss
this sat I'm gng to see Dr Ho... dunno will he suggest any induction to my birth... I hope my bb will arrive naturally-naturally...
pple said induced labour could be more painful as the pain come not gradually...
how was it for you?

wendy - yeah the menses stink a whole lot. mine has also stopped after 5 days..its now like last stage of menses but still stink. so i am now wearing the normal pad no longer the night ones.

SSF
ya agree...so when my MIL told me cannot eat fish or drink peanut chick soup... I went internet and surf and found advice on the goodness of fish and soup...somemore explanation in chinese... surely she can understand.

Hi mummies, I've given birth liao. Baby Xavier born on 13 Jan. 2.7kg.

Anyone has any idea where to do the "tai mao bi"? I heard from my CL that the person will come and shave the hair and make it into a brush.

Y
I saw there is a counter at Mt A doing tai mao bi..located right outside the retail phamarcy.

I think KKH also has 1 shop doing it. the shop is opp prima deli and near motherhood.

Yvonne, your baby very handsome!
Cookie, looks like you will be popping soon, ganbatte!

I just came back from climbing staircase for 7 floors, but still no sign of cramps or contractions....and my EDD is this sat. Have been climbing staircase for past 3 days liao....think maybe should climb to higher floor?

Ivory, thanks for faithfully updating the list

Ariel
u very steady... climb 7 floors.. not tired meh?
Does climbing stair really trigger contractions?
I also read from books... sex is a good way to trigger too cos there is some homones in spearmie that will trigger contraction...
pehaps u wanna try that too :p

Cookie...thanks for your advice! I think its a bit uncomfy to do that now becoz of the huge tummy, kinda get in the way haha. I also heard stimulating the nipple will cause uterus to contract....have been trying that too.

So far, not tire leh...in fact, my legs are swollen, so its a bit uncomfortable. But going to climb again after dinner tonite. I dun wish for inducement, so no choice