(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: bringing pump to hospital

I didn't bring my pump and didn't get to use it coz no engorgement. However, my neighbour had bad engorgement and she was busy pumping away at night in the hospital. So I guess it differs from pp to pp.

krissie,
thks for the well wishes!

i'm delivering in GlenEagles. think i better bring my pump, juz in case engorgement.

to mummies haven't pop:
I also haven't pop wor... I know what you mean... the waiting....waiting...waiting...

Congrats to SY!!!

SSF
I'm not sure abt SAFAR mt faber facilities and info I have not been there.
but I think you can check with Sysac... she had her baby's full mth celebraton there.
She even post up the photos of the function room, pretty nice.

Re:bringing pump to hospital
I tok breast pump can be provided if we never bring ours?...
they charge us for loaning us a short period also ah?

ariel
My EDD is 21 Jan and gynae says, to induce on 21 Jan if not delivered yet. Anyway, going for my checkup tomorrow to see whats the decision.

Hi Celine...no prob...always glad to share...

Cookie...I think the hospital's pump are the technical kind...when I was at TMC for my first boy, I used the pump the lactation consultant lent to me...they didn't charge me for it though...dunno abt other hospitals...but they have a limited no. of pumps...as such, I don't get to keep it throughout my stay...it was circulating from one room to another which was rather inconvenient...as such...I used my own manual pump instead.

Mashy
My also yellow, you will have to monitor yourself and if you think Caeden looks more yellow than before is very sleepy, than you can bring him to the polyclinic, just walk in will do and tell them that you want a jaundice test, but you know the que at polyclinic.

Secondly have to make sure bb not losing weight, which is why I brought a digital scale to weight him and also at one stage bb's poo was black/greenish and according to PD, this is a sign of under feeding which is also why now bb is on EBM instead of latching.

Babylon
I also took cold rebina, cold milo, cold fruit cocktail and last sunday took one scoop of chocolate ice-cream.

Started washing hair and bathing from 5 days although strong advise not to by mum, told her that my gynae say can bath. I only use the herb water once, the rest were using warm water from the tap, but I make sure I dry my hair.

Joanna
Why your confinement 1 week shorter ?

Confinement
Have been out of the home due to bb jaundice, went back to PD twice and re-admitted and also went back to gynae for follow-up and this saturday need to go to HDB hub at Toa Payoh. So not very confined to the home leh.

Celine
If you are going to deliver at GHL better bring your pump. I delivered there earlier and I think they have only 2-3 pumps for the whole floor. Requested for a pump in one of the night and the pump never turn up. Also, feel that they are under-staff. I stay at 1 bedder at level 5. Maybe other mummies who also delivered there have other feedback.

Anyone had an epidural during birth?
I will be giving birth within the next few days so very scared as tis my first baby.

Hi YuenYuen...according to the old folks at home...confinement cannot be done during CNY or after CNY...as such...doing it a week earlier...which means...I'm gona be FREE soon...haha...actually...nw that I'm on my own...I've been going out too...hehe...just ensure that I am properly wrapped up hehe...

Casey, looks like we have the same EDD of 21 Jan! My gynae asked me to go back on Fri for checkup and also to decide if I want to induce...who knows, we could deliver on the same day! Btw, which hospital r u going and which gynae are you using? I'm going to MAH, Dr Fong Yang.

Hi Cecilia,

I had Epidural for my birth. I was induced as my water bag burst & the water was just gushing out like tap water and so had to speed up the contractions. Gynae did not want baby to be inside for too long.

It was a painless process for me when the epidural was administered. My fren felt some pressure when they inserted the needle. However, I did not. Jus hold still when they are injecting and you will feel numbness on the lower half of your body after that.

Hi Joanna,

Can get the Avent Babycare set at Kiddy Palace too or any major shopping centre unless Mothercare is a more convenient place for you.

Hi sysac...thanks...will check out kiddy palace at compass pt then...hehe...

babylon...my full month also this Sun...but hor...second baby liao...will just give out cakes after that...hehe...lazy already lah...:p

durianlover and celine..all the best..we'll be praying for you for a smooth delivery!

went to Elias mall PD today and Caleb is clear of jaundice
. the PD is very good and patient. So we'll be sticking to this since it is near our place. i also did something i shouldn;t do. haha...when my hubby brought the baby to see PD, i went next door and cut and wash hair. haha...so shiok! but i ask the hairdresser to wash with warm water. so now my hair is so nice smelling and won't be washing for the next few days at least. not sure if in law will be shock to see my new hair cut

SSF
I also in need of a hair cut, even my hubby commented that I need to do something to my hair.

Joanna
Also my second one, so will not be having 1st month celebration, actually hubby wants it because it a BOY but I was against it as normally I don't like too many nosey relative giving too much comments. Will be giving out cakes/vouchers on 27 Jan which is just before the CNY.

Need to go back to office to get increment and bonus letter lai.

yeah my hubby was telling me the same thg too. haha..but he actually read my mind coz when in the car, i was thinking how nice if i can cut my hair in time for 1 mth party and then he ask if i want to do it. haha..he said i deserve it. so he carry baby and walk ard while naughty mummy quickly have a cut and wash.

SSF - so good Caleb is cleared of jaundice...i juz came back fr PD and Celeste is having mild jaundice... so heart pain when she cried herlungs out when being poked for blood... i myself also cried...but thank god, she need not be admitted... gota sunbathe her for next few days...

god child - did u sun bathe him after you discharge? i sun bathe him for 2 days. as my parents hse the sun does not come in, i went down the park to catch the morning sun 8a.m to 10a.m. take off all his clothes except diapers and sun for 20 mins each front and back. its hot lor..must for sake of baby so i think tats why his jaundice is gone.

btw, are totaly on BF? if so, you may want to mix ard and give him FM as supplement to reduce the jaundice. dun worry...Celeste be fine soon!
update us again on her well being.

Yuenyuen

oic.So far Caeden's very wakeful in the day. Sometimes want him to make him take nap also cannot. Like yesterday, he was awake from 9am till 5pm leh!

SSF
U sunbathe your bb in the park? I thot cannot take direct sun? That's why I only put my boy at the window. It's so windy at my place.

think my time is near! this morning since 1am hv been getting up 4 times to pee. since then cant get back to sleep, bb moving vy strongly n forcefully. at 5am when got up to pee again n oso start to feel cramp. at first tot is due to wan to poo but after returning fr toilet been getting on n off cramp. got up ard 545am n start to time... contraction every 5 mins interval! lower abdominal start to hv those cramps.
ard 8am it stops n came back ard 1030am... till now still at home monitoring, coz pain still bearable. now contraction sometime 10mins n sometime 5mins interval... shld i go to hospital now?? hv not call gynae coz i know she sure will say go in at once!
now coming to 12hrs since i first had my contraction at 5am this morning. any advise?

SSF
20 mins on each side is alot, according to PD can only do max 15 mins in total for sun from 8-9 a.m. and 5-6 p.m. Other timing, max 5 mins as it is too strong.

Mashy
If you are still worry, can go polyclinic for a test. If I remember correctly, reading below 100 is fine and 100-200 is acceptable.

Bryant also still look yellow yellow but as long as he is awake, gaining weight and have normal poos and wet diaper, I think so be alright.

i be doing Javier's full mth this coming sun too as his actual full mth falls on 28 dec. dun intend to do it but both side parents wan it cos its our first bb they said. so only invite those relatives and only a few friends as i will still be doing my confinement. but i already declare to all that i will take a good shower and wash my hair at the salon on that day. if not how to meet the guest man.

sysac,
yes, i heard abt the lines thing on the thigh. yst my MIL just mentioned that my next birth will be a gal and my mum asked how u see and she also mentioned abt the line thing. then i just said softly nxt one? i think one enough liao and both my MIL and mum abit shock.. keke

mashy - oh is it? yeah i sun bathe him in the park. window no sun so no choice. morning sun is fine.

yuen yuen - 20 mins is wat TMC told me. but i only stay for 15 mins the most as it was really hot. evening timing was not recommended by TMC also. hmm i tink different hospital different method.

edd2jan - where are you holding Javier's full mth? i have problem now finding a function rm for Caleb as his 1 mth is on 11th Feb which is CNY 14th day. so most places are fully book. sigh!

yuen yuen,

I will be giving cakes only too.. same day 27.. really counting to be out of confinement..I would like to color my hair but CL says that I should wait for 40 days then can color..

dun know leh .. my hair looks terrible..

Will you be buying new year clothing?

Although I can now wear back my old clothes but new year leh......

SY congrats.......

Re: full month celebration
Clariss will be doing her full month celebration this sunday as well. we are doing it at the SingTel Recreation Club at Comcentre opp Somerset MRT. quite a nice place.

Re: routine for breastfeeding
This is my last week of confinement and clariss is still not on routine for her breastfeeding. last night, she woke up 3 times to be fed and fell asleep after suckling for 10 mins. very frustrating. how do I set up a routine for clariss feeding?

Re: sore nipples
This is the 4th week and I am still having sore nipples. is it going to be like that forever? or is it because I didn't latch her on correctly? actually even after I put her on correctly, she will move her mouth to find a place that is comfortable for her, very frustrating.

SSF,
i m holding it at my own hse (but very reluntantly). cos i m worried my hse will get messier when so many pple come. my hse already so messy now with all the cooking grease and mess but i just close one eye. cannot imagine so many pple coming and gosh.. how long will i need to pack to original state man!!! actually wanted to hold it at the downstair common function place.. but HB dun like the idea cos he said good or bad thing also hold there.. and he dun like so bo bian lor.

Rena
Last night was talking to mum about CNY clothes n I am not sure whether will i be doing any visiting this year..... Anyway to buy clothes now very depressing as still look 4 months pregant leh.

Colouring of Hair
my friend told me not to give the EBM for the feed immediately after colour i.e. throw away the feed.

edd2jan
I told everyone that one is enough too after my first daughter. This one accident leh so the age gap is quite wide at 4 years and I am not getting any younger so it was now or never and Bryant come along. Mum was a little surprised when I told her I am pregant.

Rena

Recommend Singapore Baby and Child Clinic which is at AMK central. My boy will be going there. His PD at TMC was Dr Ong (very patient and prof), but we'll be following up with Dr Koh who's also my hb's PD. Haha! 2nd generation liao.

mongs

Try waking her up by stroking her cheek or her back. Another sure way is to change her diapers and unwrap her from the swaddling.

Your sore nipples are probably from improper latching. Make sure your gal has the areola in her mouth. Wait until she opens her mouth wide wide like yawning. So far, I didn't have any sore nipples. So don't think it's meant to be painful.

And I feed on demand. So no prob for me so far. I just roughly time abt 2-3hrs between each feed. Have to get bb to drink beyond 15mins, coz that's where the hind milk is. If bb can take the hind milk, bb can tong for a longer period. No need to feed every 1hr.

mongs
I have the same routine problem tried to withhold milk till the correct timing but bb have been crying till sore throat already and so today give-in after being nagged at.

Sore nipple - previously when I latch on, had the same problem. Bryant will bite on the nipple and shift to him own comfort postion and then start sucking, because of that not sure whether he is still latch on properly as I constantly have pain and sore nipple. So I have since stop latching on, pumping every 3 hours instead.

Mongs/Yuenyuen

My boy has this horrible habit. He likes to pull my nipple with his mouth then suck it in. Like some lollipop leh. I've to hold him tight tight to prevent him from pulling back. noti boy!

ariel
I will be delivering at NUH A/P Mary Rauff. Yeap, probably our babies will have the same birthdate. BTW, my niece also 21 Jan.. :p

Zhimin/Pochacco,
Tomorrow my last session with Mdm Rokiah. Total took 6 sessions. Yep, she mentioned to me the both of u.

Mashy/Rena,
Dr Ong will also be at Singapore Baby and Child Clinic every mon nite. He is very patient. Was bb Ethan's PD when in NICU. However, I heard the charges more ex compared to some PD clinics.

Rachel, have you heard of braxton hick contractions? Normally these kind are different from labour contraction, they will come irregularly. So what you describe sounds abit like braxton hicks. The actual contraction will be regular, and will increase in frequency as the time progress, e.g. from 10min to 5min etc.http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/childbirth/156.html You can read up about braxton hicks from the link above.

If you are unsure, you can call your gynae and describe to her the symptoms, see what she says.

Casey, I have heard of Mary Rauff, a few of my colleagues also use her. I also have a friend born on 21st Jan. Curious, is there any reason why your gynae want to induce you on your EDD? For me, actually I'm healthy and amniotic fluid is good, just that I feeling impatient....

Ariel
Cos I have slight gestational diabetics (though its well controlled) and gynae says better don't have it beyond EDD. I would really like to deliver soon as I have also developed rashes on my leg and tummy and no cream/lotion helps!

Casey, I also hv lotsa rashes at my legs, tummy and hands...its call PUPPP. Very very itchy, thats why I also couldn't wait for baby to come out. I went to measure my big tummy, its now 46.4 inches, I used to be 28 inches, in fact people have been asking if I'm carrying twins haha

Ariel
called my gynae, she said is either go down n let her check my cervix or wait till tomo morning n go see her. i know about braxton hick contractions, it oso seems like it. but sometime my contraction can be 5mins interval for 2 to 3 hour, die down for 1 hour and come back at 5 to 10mins inerval again...

Casey, do not take peanuts and seafood as these may cause your rashes to worsen. When I stopped taking these, my rashes actually became better. In fact, my arms and legs are healing and only my tummy itches (legs and arms dun itch anymore). I also use cold packs on itchy areas

Rachel, I have heard of mummies who have severe braxton hicks for 3 days before the actual contractions started. For me, I am praying I will get braxton hick contraction because its a sign that labour is imminent

casey
jia you jia you! left jus a few days, tahan w the itch.

ariel
wow... your tummy is 46.4"! tats big! mine 43" heehee

SSF
I live just next to Elias mall...
Can you tell me the name of PD's clinic again?...
So I can remember next time can bring bb there too if required

ariel
really!? oh man... tat means i might hv to wait... at first so happy tat im having contraction liao but now seems tat its false alarm. =( tot my bb can come out tomo 19 Jan, coz me n my hb birthday fall on 19 too, although on different month.

think some of u guessed that i popped liao.

birth story first..

16 Jan
din go to work cos had flu so stayed home to rest

9am
woke up to go to toilet and found fresh blood.

9.20am
called KKH and they ask me to go down immediately to check.

9.30am
went to bathe, eat etc and after bathing felt a lot of mucous discharge (not the show yet)

10+
hubby came home and we went down to kk. did CTG montioring, gynae came to check and only 1.5cm dilated. given choice to go home and wait (as birth will be within these few days) or stay in hosp to rest and wait or to be induced. decided to stay in hosp to rest first and decide on the induction later cos gynae say induced birth can take up to at least 8 hours.

11-3pm
went to check in, eat lunch etc and at 3pm, we decided to induce

4pm
nurse came in to put the CTG monitor and noticed my contraction quite close so decided not to insert medicine. gynae decide to break water back instead

7pm
gynae came to break water bag. contraction still bearable. abt 3cm dilated

9pm
contraction start to get stronger and decided to take epi before i start struggling with the pain and delay the birth. the nurse with me was very good. think she gave very good advice. for me, as i was taking the epi, i was dealing with pretty strong contractions and struggled not to move when taking the epi. used the gas mask to help me stay still as well.

1am
fully dilated. nurse checked and bb's head can be felt but not fully descend yet. tried a few pushes but no movement

1.30am
most difficult part....the PUSHING! think i got no energy to push so had a very hard time. started to push and was really pushing so hard but so little progress. at about 2.15am, gynae came and he really helped me to push by pushing bb down from the top of my stomach. i was pushing really hard by then cos dun want to do assisted delivery. and i threw up abt twice during pushing cos of epi effect and empty stomach. really felt like asking for op to take bb out but fortunately with gynae's help, bb got deliverd at 0234 hours!

after birth, they wrap bb and put him on my tummy. he was so cute. he din cry much, opened his eyes and stare at me. even when they carried him away, he cried quietly.

re: epidural
think it's a great help. and i really pei fu mummies who do without it cos the pain is really quite intense.

okie, post pic another time. going to check on bb

cookie - its Pasir Ris Baby and Clinic at second level. no need to make appt..just walk in. you may need to visit for your baby's second dose of hep.