(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Casey and Durianlover,

I know what you mean, I am still waiting for my gal to pop. Went for checkup yesterday, gynae says no dilation yet, baby too comfy inside. Feel very down, this Friday going for another checkup, and gynae may want to induce. My EDD is this Sat, but baby has been fully engaged since 3 weeks ago. Seeing so many of my friends and colleagues giving birth make me very anxious too.

To all the mums- CONGRATULATIONS! I hope to join the mummies club soon

Seems like your BB can drink quite a lot!
My Isaac into 4th week liao and only taking about 80ml of BM. When I direct latch him, sometimes he can even tong 4hrs or so till his next feed.

krissie,
I've been drinking water and logan drink.
No problems peeing lah.

Re. pimples / white heads
My boy also has them lah. Some white heads which comes and goes. Now he seemed to be developing some kind of red rash on his face with small pimply dots. Also comes and goes. Will appear when he strains himself or stretches in process of waking up. Strange leh.

durianlover,
Just checked the Fitti packaging. Doesn't say basic or premium leh. But it's blue in colour. Yah loh, seems a bit papery compared to Pampers. But I think good enough lah considering got to change so often. So far my BB seems ok with it.

Re. pumping between feeds
I'm so lazy to do that! Sometimes can feel the tingle of letdown between feeds but I just ignore it. Find it very troublesome to pump and wash when the next feed is like in 1+ hrs time. I only pump when Isaac feeds on only 1 breast and the other feels too full to tahan. Wonder whether this will reduce my MS? I'm beginning to worry whether can sustain when back to work.

Rena,
You mean you are on 100% FM now?

queen
Can't compare like that, it depends on the bb weight and since Issac is on the lighter side, so he will require less. I remember someone posted that the requirement is bb weight X 150ml for the full day.

Do you know Issac's current weight?

Yuen Yuen,
Actually, I'm not sure of BB's weight.
Last measured 2 weeks ago was about 3kg at the polyclinic. Think I better go buy a digital weighing machine.

Re: pimple/whiteheads
My boy has it. I read it's pretty common for babies to have that.

Diapers
Argh, I'm running out of diapers! Almost finishing my 2nd pack of Nepia NB. Left with only 1 and half pack of Pampers Premium. Dunno can last me how long. The amt of diapers he use a day is scary, kept peeing and pooing! And includes accidents too...

Babylon
I'm so sick of confinement food too! Can't wait for it to end. Still another 1.5weeks more!!!
Have already started bathing with normal shower. My hb didn't allow me to bathe at first, only wipe. Then finally he relented. I started off bathing with the herbal bath. Now I can't even be bothered. Hehe! :p

Queen
I think it should be alright since Isaac can tong for 4hrs. If he's hungry, he would have cried lor. Me too, also too lazy to pump. Find it waste of time. Only pump when I feel too full in my breast.

SSF
My boy hasn't been sweating yet. He's very hot today, but didn't sweat. Think his sweat glands are not so well developed yet.

Re: pacifier
haha, tried to give my boy the pacifier, but he spit it out after a while when he realised that it's not the real thing. No milk for him. Haha, in the end, had to give him the real thing.

My boy is back to sleeping at night and waking abt 3-4hrs. In fact, I've to wake him up at night for feeds. Sometimes, he just sleep thru. So worried when he didn't wake up to take milk. Today, he's awake the whole morning and afternoon. Refused to sleep until 5pm. Aiyoh! Wanted him to take nap, but he refuse leh. Hope it didn't upset his internal clock.

He's 2weeks+ already but still looks jaundiced. How ah? Been sunning him but he still looks yellow leh. But I think he should be getting better coz he's not sleepy sleepy like the 1st 2 weeks.

Mashy - same as me, Celeste wont take the pacifier, she knows its fake too!!!

Re : Malaya massage
do your feel crampy at the stomach aft the massage? the lady was saying its cos the blood all clot inside and waiting to come out.is tat true? should i continue the massage?

joanna
thanks, yup, he has at least 8 wet diapers a day.

Pachacco
It is normal as FM is more difficult to disgest so last longer. BM is more watery so have to take more or it will not last as long.

my boy is 20 days old and takes 70ml of FM but 90ml of EBM every 2.5 hour.

Mashy
My boy also still have the Jaundice look. According to the PD as long as he is gaining weight, should be ok unless the reading is more than 300 but can not tell from look have to have blood test. Do you need to bring him to the polyclinic for blood test?

Queen
I gotten one digital weighting machine (not the kind for baby one) but have difficulty placing the baby on top. So I weight myself first (very depressing as no weight lose yet) and then weight together with the bb. To get bb weight, take the difference, but sometimes not very acurate +- 0.1 kg.

casey / durianlover / ariel
sigh... the waiting is really making me xian too. at first when start to hv this hard n soft of tummy contraction i was all up n excited. thinking tat my time is near.. but seems like as days went by n my bb is still comfortably inside me... still hv some time to wait...
one more week n tat will be my EDD, gynae been asking too whether wan to induce. had started my maternity leave since yesterday and on n off frens n colleagues been messaging me asking whether i hv pop. really making me anxious n restless.
today is my wedding anni but stuck at home. at first tot my bb will choose today to come out but no sign no nothing till now...
now the hot topic here is sharing information of BF n im trying my best to absorb the things tat r shared by other mummies. oso to keep my mind off the popping issue for awhile haha

sorry for my long winded nagging

Finally Clarisse is back from hospital yesterday.

wenyl/ pochacco
I engaged mdm rokiah for 5 sessions... but now a bit regret cos my tummy still a bit flabby... but will try put on the binder if i can... however with clarisse around i cant do much things except breastfeed her... think next bb i will engage her for 10 sessions hehe...

btw i am another kelly staying in sk one... dunno she got mentioned to you all?

krissie
i will try the hot towel massage everytime before i breastfeed or express milk... i find it quite useful... maybe can try?

now clarisse is back from hospital... i tried to feed her with breast milk everytime but think she always not enough le... dunno due to stress or wat today milk supply lesser...

and my nipple is painful now le... so busy with pumping milk and feeding...

casey
hv you tried the cream? saw your email abt your rashes, hopefully it can help you more or less. for my case my itch is gone but on n off i still apply a small amount on the areas where it use to itch. now the patches r fading away =)

pochacco
my hands also feel numb when i wake up everytime...

so far only bath once on sunday (after abt 9 days)... cant really stand myself cos so smelly... but my mum quite strict to my confinement alto she is not my CL... but i still a bit naughty la... cos suppose to use hot water to wash hand but now sometimes i did sometimes i dun...

yesterday clarisse back and think the weather is so hot and she cant get to sleep... den we start to on air con thru out the night liao...

Thanks Joanna & Yuen Yuen,
i m not sure if that is the milk rashes. but i really hope it will get away soon. sometimes just cant stand MIL and mum kept saying bb is heaty and kept giving him water. and it is not that i dun wan to feed him for as long as he wans but it is that sometimes i m really tired too. so when he still seem so alert after i had fed him, i felt really discouraged and my mind will just say just give him FM.. think i really need to work more on my mind and body.

SSF,
Yes, i do drink warm water like milo, longan water etc but do u mean just before pumping? i normally drink when i m thirsty and not just b4 pumping, is this the reason?

re papaya soup
is it really effective? how do u all cook it?

SY,
<font color="ff6000">COnGrAts!!!</font>
Hope to read ur birth story and pic of your precious one soon!

Zhimin - i am the other kelly at blk 315, u must the e the one at 319...just be4 birth my weight is 70.7kg, i gain aprox. 18 kg durin pregnancy... now i am still 63kg... still min mus go down 10 kg...

BTW, for those mum whose give FM, wat brand u are giving? i am giving Enfalac HA... dun know what the different between Enfalac HA, Enfalac AR &amp; Enfalac A+...

Hi Joanna,

The Avent talc &amp; balm is good! Light &amp; nice smelling. Buy the Babycare set. It costs abt $40. Includes the wash, massage gel &amp; moiturising lotion. If you buy separately, it costs more than $20 for the talc &amp; more than $16 for the balm. So it's more worth it to try out the babycare set 1st.

Hi SY,

Congrats! Welcome to the club!

2 nites ago, my grandaunt saw Cephas's thighs and said "Your next baby will be a boy." She told me according to the older folks, they will look at your babies thighs. If both thighs have two lines each when they bend, it will be a boy for the next baby. If one thigh has 2 lines and the other has a line, it will be a gal.

Anyway, she was saying that's how peope in the older days see the sex of their next baby. HB &amp; I were laughing &amp; thot it was funny. Last nite, my MIL said the same thing. Just to share this little funny story. Bear this in mind and let's see if it turns out to be true for our 2nd babies just for the fun of it

2 nites ago, my grandaunt saw Cephas's thighs and said "Your next baby will be a boy." She told me according to the older folks, they will look at your babies thighs. If both thighs have two lines each when they bend, it will be a boy for the next baby. If one thigh has 2 lines and the other has a line, it will be a gal.

Anyway, she was saying that's how peope in the older days see the sex of their next baby. HB &amp; I were laughing &amp; thot it was funny. Last nite, my MIL said the same thing. Just to share this little funny story. Bear this in mind and let's see if it turns out to be true for our 2nd babies just for the fun of it

hello mummies...

can see lots of mummies updating this thread in the wee hours
how is everyone? as for me, first few nights was difficult to have enough rest in the night but now feeling better and able to rest more at night.

I slept at 11p.m yesterday and woke up at 2a.m to BF Caleb after 75ml of FM. and then he was sound asleep and BF him again at 5.30a.m. now he is soundly asleep and its my free time again. i try my best not to give him FM unless really want him to sleep longer which is normally during the night.

Hence, i think i am 50% BF, 30% EBM and 20% FM.
later, will be bringing Caleb to see a PD (gg to elias mall) to check again on his jaundice. the last time the PD in mt A didnt do any blood withdrawal to check on his jaundice. he simply press his body and face. my hubby and I don;t like him and find him working for the sake of working. no passion at all and rigid. hence, we decided to get someone in the east. hopefully the one at elias mall dun disappoint me. anyway will find out in a couple of hrs time

re: finger numbness
i am also experiencing numbness of fingers just like when i was pregnant. not sure if its because i get in contact with cold water all the time when washing hands.

re: bruise on hand due to drip jab
I realise i have a bruise at the bone area of my left arm near the wrist. i beleive its due to the injection for the drip. anyone has it too?

For those mummies who are using the Medela Mini E, can check if there's some air coming out from the hole (which we insert the power cable, i.e. the white cable.) Mine has some air blowing out. wonder if that's normal? Thanks

need ur advice. Think my waterbag leaking since 11:15pm last nite. But i'm not v sure coz it's not like a lot of water - know wat i mean? But little bit by bit...after wearing pad for 1 whole nite also not fully soaked. And anyway the liquid is colourless so i also can't tell how soaked the pad is! Called my gynae and he asked me to go to hospital straightaway...but i feel silly coz it's not as though a lot of water n i'm not 100% certain it's waterbag. Plus no contractions...hmm...how ah?!

Zhimin, i wash it wf warm water everytime and also use the antiseptic leh. but think oni one stich area super pain... maby due to getting uo and down, i burst my stitch...

SSF - i dun have a bruise leh. mayb you wana rub a little to make the bruise go away...just like in blue black cases?

Re : Post natal check-up
my gynae din say when he wana c me again leh. when will ur b going back to c your gynae?

durianlover... think u better go hospital... when my waterbag was burst by gynae, it din come in a gush too... it leaked little by little... as the water gets lesser inside, contractions will come in more intense... and also, its good to shift positions in the labour ward so as to empty the water faster cos baby might be blocking the passage... just some advise for a faster labour....

god child - i be gg back tmr. c sect is 1 wk for the next checkup. and normal is 2 or 3 wks later. maybe you want to call your gynae and check. mine was already scheduled by my gynae when he visits me in the hospital.

hihi everyone, so long never log in. just to update. me will be admitting tonite to induce coz overdue by a few days liao. my edd was 14 jan but till date still no sign no symptons thou bb engaged already. gynae said bb is not big, 2.9kg at 40wk, so still ok and water level oso alright.

so excited now... keke... :D

Hi sysac...thanks...will go mothercare to check out the baby set...hehe...I like it when the baby is nice nice smelling...hehe...

Hi Sunshinekid....great to see you again!!! Hope everythings fine with you so far...let me know when you pop...k?

SY...Congrats!

Hi Durianlover...all the best to you!!! Jiayou!!

Durianlover and Celine,

I am so excited for both of you! Ganbatte!!

Rachel, I know what you mean about waiting anxiously for baby to pop. I have been doing more exercises e.g. yesterday I climbed up and down 7th floor of my flat....but still no sign of contraction yet. I think for you, since you already have some contractions, you will not have to wait too long.

My gynae has suggested inducing me (EDD 21 Jan) but I am not sure since everything is healthy although I am very tire carrying the huge tummy around.

hi ariel,

i have been waiting for this day for very long liao. can totally understand ur anxiety and rachel's. so don't fret coz no one carries a bb indefinitely, ur day will come soon! enjoy ur peace and quiet while u can now... :D

yuenyeun,

look like both of us already start eating the non confinment food...the other day was so hot that i drank 1/2 of cold rebina...kekeke..so sick of the longon and red dates tea...

me been bathing since the day i gave birth.

2 days hosptial,..washed my hair without my mum knowing and returned back home been showering with herbal water that my mum boil...just 1 pail of water..when she is not in then i will washed hair with the water heater.

The past few days been sleeping in the air con room. Fan was on most of the time except the 12 days of the raining days beinging of the year

rachel,
I tried your cream for few days but I find it very sticky. Now I am back to my own stretch mark cream. Not that sticky but still did not relieve the itch. Only kept the skin moisture.

I am still waiting for symptoms of labour but nothing. Tomorrow will be the start of my maternity leave. And if still no labour, by 21 Jan, I will be induced.

dun know if any one have problems letting baby sleep in aircon room..
My son totally hates aircon and just love fan and normal breeze..

and the problem is without aircon I can't sleep..

Haiz..

Hi Celine...I didn't bring initially...but the nurses at TMC asked me to get hubby to bring the pump so that I can start expressing when I have engorgement...
Just bring along and if you need to use it...at least you have it on hand...

babylon...I took cold chocolate milk also...cannot tahan liao...then last nite...my hubby and son ate ice cream...I looked at him and he gave me one small teaspoonful of it...haha...me counting down to the end of my confinement liao...Sunday will be "celebrating" confinement...1 week earlier...

joanna,
tks for the advice. i oso hope i will have a chance to use it. coz it means got milk supply. but i doubt very much lah.. keke... anyways, will still bring it along then... :D

Hi Celine...my hospital was TMC and everything they give will be charged...I bought my own sterilizing tablet and my own plastic container to sterilize my pump...the nurses will help me with the sterilizing and the set up of the pump when I need to use it...Juz bring along...

SSF

celcel
i went back to gynae 1 week after natural birth.

celine, durianlover
all the best!!!

celine
which hosp you're going? I went Mt. A and used their hosp pump.