(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Congrats to Krissie and SSF and God's Child and Yuki.

SSF
Wake up because feeding time. Feel like I am the cow now. do nothing but produce milk.

Rena
Why yours must remove stitch one? I had c-section for both my bb and the gynae use those that can dissolve kind. Maybe the dissolve kind not suitable for u ?

Mongs - how much milk do you consider milk supply to be establish ? Currently I can only pump about 50-60 mls from both breast. U mentioned 6-8 weeks for some ..... going back to work already by the 7 weeks how to establish ss likethat. Will only be pumping once in the office.

prettycloud
Tomorrow is the last day for your confinement. Wow so fast, you can start bathing/washing hair etc starting tomorrow.

Yuen yuen,

I dun know leh.. but he remove very pain lor then still must pay.. pay one time hundred plus for changing of dressing and the another hundred plus for removing of stitch.

I use to pump about 50 to 60ml of milk too but these two day it became only 30ml plus baby refuse to suck as it is too slow and not fulfiling for him.. he will get angry and will bang his head on my nipples and cry very loud..

I think soon there will be no milk..

SY,

some how felt that my stress level is going up.. maybe I am those kind that need lots of love and attention therefore my expection from hubby has unknowingly increase..however hubby is not those expressive type...haiz...

Sometime just hoping that he will just give me a big hug and thank me for giving him such a cute baby .. but I think diffcult lor..

SSF, Yuki, Krissie, god's child,
CONGRATS!!!
Thanks for sharing your birth story.

BB's pics pls!

SY,
Like how I described earlier, to use ISIS must first achieve letdown. Basically, I followed the instruction manual, pump in quick sucession 6 times and then for each pump, press and hold for about 2-3 seconds. Only thing is I switch between breasts every 5 mins (or less once I see no milk coming out). So back and forth between breasts loh. Oh yah, sometimes before pumping, I'll try to massage my breasts. I think that helps as well.

Re. HB,
Come to think of it. I don't recall my HB saying 'thank you' for giving him a son! I certainly said thank you to him when he has shown to be supportive! Hmmph! Must go ask him. kekeke...

Rena - i think it is becos of stress tat ur milk supply drop... otherwise i tot the more we pump the more supply.

me now is pumping at the interval of 6 hrs each and each pump is 160ml... so can split into 2..bb is now 14 days alreadi & drinking 70ml at 3 hr interval

SSF, yuki, god's child, krissie!
congrats to you all!! All of u are so brave!!
Thanks for sharing your birth stories...it really prepares pple like me who hv yet to deliver!

god's child,
i'm amazed by your perseverance in not taking epidural! Wow. Usually when u're induced the pain is much greater n most pple wld opt for epi. U're amazing! And celeste is soo cute! looks so happy in the photo

SSF,
great that u can surf net while in hospital too! Well i also dun like the idea of being induced, but i may hv to be induced coz baby too big. But i've no other problems - no GD, BP ok, fluid level sufficient. Just that bb may be too big. Such a sad reason for inducing.

Pochacco,
hee your baby so cute n chubby! i recognize the top! i also bought it at the JL sale

May,
do keep us updated!

casey,
so sweet of ur family to hold reunion dinner earlier coz of you
All the best to u too!

Congratulations to SSF, Krissie and Yuki!!

ivory
thanks for the update!

pochacco/ gods child
Reeve and Celest are so lovely... in fact all the babies are cute... everytime i visit clarisse in hospital i will stand at the nursery looking at other babies too... so cute!

re: expressing milk
there will be improvement in every pump... is quite encouraging... today exactly one week clarisse is born... i can express about 80ml from both side... hope can improve again... but using manual is a bit tiring... i need about half an hour to pump each time.

wenyl
mdm rokiah will collect $200 for first visit and balance on last visit.

re: breast feed
i tried to breastfeed clarisse once a day in hospital... every feed still a challege to me... cos she will take at least half an hour to latch on properly... then sometimes after feed, i find my nipple a bit sore and cracked... is that alright? i worried she will swallow some blood leh?

dear all mummies
i have a very very silly question... confinement is 28 day, 30 or 31 day?

dear all, thanks for the wellwishes & congrats to the others who popped.

Ivory
Forgot to mention, bb is 3.3kg and born on 06/01/06.

SSF
I've backache from bf soemtimes, maybe positioning is wrong.

celcel
celeste is so cute, can open her eyes so big on day 1. My Gerald only starts to open his eyes more freqeuntly after 1week.

hello mummies

krissie, yuki, god'schild n SSF - Congratulation to you all

yuki - hope that you gal can come home soon.

SSF - i m going to remove my stitches this coming monday. My wound still hurt n i oso have difficult walking.

dear mummies who hv not popped, rem to set aside some allowance time for the anethesist to come if u request for epi. They take abt 30mins to come. I find the laughing gas useful too, esp when administering the epi. Makes you relaxed and it's less painful. Anyway, my epi was quite painless coz he administered the local anasethic at the area before putting the epi.

cookie
Dr Tay's administration of epi is very good. not painful. Also, rethink abt getting a 2 bedder room. I stayed in 1 bedder for 1st night coz single rooms are full. Couldnt sleep the whole nite. nurses kept checking my neighbour coz she has C-section and her relatives were SUPER noisy. In the end, I didnt' sleep for 2 nites.
So shag.

zhimin
ok for bb to swallow a bit of blood, but it seems that the latch is wrong. for me, i had sore nipples in hosp too, coz let bb suckle for >1hr. big mistake. LC says max on 1 side in 30mins. At least u can pump out 80ml from both side. very good liao. which pump are u using and do u pump to feed EBM or this 80ml is in addition to the direct latching. For me, i find the pump not very effective. prefer hand expressing, dun know if pump is spoilt, coz it's a hand me down. When I latch, i'll collect the leaking milk & usually can get 20-30ml from both breasts.

COngrats to Yuki!!...

Pochacco
Your bb really chubby.... so cute... buay tahan... :p

Kriss
think u are the 1st one give birth rite on the dot of EDD
Congrats again...
I'm trying to see if I can go without EPI...hehehehe....I wonder if we can choose the Dr to admin EPI... ok will note Dr Tay.
Oh dear... so 2nd nite u sleep in 1 bedder or 2 nites also kenan 2 bedder?
Are relatives allow in the nite too??
Ok thanks... will think think again abt the room.

Always wanted to ask you... what causes Dr Ho to recommend induce for your delivery?
Last visit Dr Ho... my bb is still happy to remain in my Tummy...heehee...

kriss
FYI... dunno if I inform u before..
Candy lover is still in busniess...
In case u planning for the candy bar for full month, Candy lover is still accepting order but try contact her earlier.
SO far.. candy lover has the best printing I feel.
Take Care!

congrats to SSF, Krissie, Yuki and God's child! SO many mummies popping already, though it is only mid january!

SSF,
for my c-sections, have to remove stitches, but no pain, no worries..
For my gynae, he stitched and also applied tape stitches, still feel a twinge here and there after 2 weeks, but other than that, not painful...

I do have stiff neck from breastfeeding, cos everytime look down at Shannon to ensure she is feeding well... Back also hurts..

Pochacco,
my bb so chubby and cute..!

God's child,
Celeste's so fair and adorable!

Zhimin,
the nipples can get sore and cracked after a few days of nursing, mine were quite bad, there was sometimes that Shannon was drinking milk with blood! But I guess no harm done...I applied Purelan cream and that helped alot. The nurses also advised me to apply breastmilk on the nipples and air it, which I try to do as well...

Hi Cookie,
me opted for 1 bedder at Mt. A, and feel it was the best decision we made, though heartpain about the cost... I needed alot of rest and felt very lost without my hubby to support me... coz I had c-section in the end, I couldn't move alot, so alot of things my hubby had to help me out. The nurses are super helpful, but felt paiseh to keep calling for them...

I've not popped yet. Fake contractions.. 1 more day to go.. I'm hoping to have contractions by afternoon tomorrow so I can pop by early Monday morning so no need induce. LOL.

Congratulations to Krissie, GOd's Child, Yuki, SSF! May and Casey, seems like your turns are coming too! Good luck!

Confinement food,
I forgot to mention that you can go to my website for the chicken rice recipe. I didn't type it out in the excel file cuz its already up in my site. If u need the link, here it is again :

http://slinky.multiply.com

I'll upload the excel file of confinement food recipes in my website as well. Sorry I didn't have time to finish typing all the confinement food recipes. Had been busy today preparing for so many things and was too tired last night to finish typing.

krissie
i using avent isis manual... the milk i pump out i will normally pass to the nurse in hospital and let them feed clarisse... if not enough nurse will supplement with FM...

i think clarisse now will need about 60ml at least for each feed... i find breaking the suction very painful also... still practising the best way to breastfeed... she prefers only one side of my breast cos she finds easier to suck... when sometimes switch to other one she refuses to suck liao...

rena,
u can continue to express even if your bb doesn't want to suckle right?

i know what u mean..my hb also not very expressive unless i really sulk. well, at least you can focus your energies on elijah.
dun think too much abt other things.

queen,
thanks. i hope i remember the steps. maybe i din read the manual carefully. will go check again.

pochacco,
your bb so cute!!

wendy,
u better rest well for the big day. dun worry too much abt uploading the recipes. already very grateful that u r willing to do it and share with us!
good luck to you on mon!

Krissie,
Congrats to u! Take care & rest well.

SSF,
Congrats on ur bb Caleb's arrival!! U so fast start surfing net liao! Must lie down more. Sitting up can cause backache.
My C sect wound hurts for abt 2 weeks. Was taking synflex as painkiller for 1st week. Gynae gave me a lotion to clean & cream to apply. Mine no need to remove stitches.

My wound got quite bad bruises around it. Gynae say it is cosmetic bruise. So I thot it's normal but yesterday had my 1st massage session & the lady said it's uncommon. It's her 1st time in her many yrs of svc that she saw such bruise. Anyone C-sect mummies have that???

God's child,
Ur Celeste so pretty! Does she look like u or daddy?

Pochacco,
Ur bb looks so chubby at day 14. What's his weight now? R u the other Kelly staying in SK who also engaged Mdm Rokiah for massage? She told me yesterday got 2 Kellys in SK. I also bot similar tops from JL but tink still too big for Ethan. This mummy KS buy all big big size.

Casey,
Ur family is so thoughtful. Guess our own family members will think more for us. If its my inlaw, my MIL will definitely hold it without me & ask hb to join them one.

Zhimin,
Thanks! Mdm Rokiah collected $200 from me yesterday liao. So I will pay her the remaining on the last visit. U engage her for 5 or 7days? Find her good & friendly. She recommended a Jamu baby oil (only $3) for me to use on bb Ethan. Will try on him today after bath. Much cheaper than the Avent massage gel I bought.

My CL will be here for 31 days. She came on 26dec & she said her last day is 25 jan. So I guess confinement is 31days but my mum say I shld still practice confinement even after the CL leaves. From what i know, some CL practice 28days, while the older generation say confinement is 40 days.

wendyl, mdm rokiah told me tat ur app is at 3pm... me is the kelly at 11am... the photo is taken at Day 4... the weight at day 5 when we visit the PD at Riervale Mall is 3.6kg which is o a gd weight as the birth weight is 3.42kg... now i dun know the weigh... maybe can try weighing him...

my boi at Day 14:-
359468.jpg

Krissie - me using avent manual... so far so good...

Pochacco,
U having 5 or 7 days massage?
Ur boy is sooo meaty. Mine still got a lot of catching up to do.

Is the PD clinic at Rivervale mall....the Kids Clinic? Which PD u seeing, Dr Allyson or Dr Lilian? How is their charges like? Thot of bringing bb Ethan there instead of going back to TMC clinic.

Wenyl - me now taking the 10 days, today is the 9th session... thinking of extending to 15 days but got to see how much first and whether need or not...

ya, the PD i am seeing is Dr Lillian as nearer to my place rather than gg back to the PD at the hospital... i think the first time consultation is 45, then subsequent will be 25... maybe got to call them to re-confirm... i have also booked for the 6-in 1 injection on the 13 Feb... she is veri friendly and detailed... any other information u need, u can sms me...

sleepingdeer
thanks for sharing on the 1 bedder...
sigh... I have other consideration also..of course $$ is 1 of them.
Cos I have 2 dogs mah... so for the 1st 2 weeks we r putting them up at the boarding house first and that cost quiet alot too. So that eat into my expenses also.
That's why I'm considering taking 2 bedder, somemore I'm a sound sleeper...hehehe everytime I sleep will be dead to the world :p so was thinking should be ok..
but in any case.. I still can change my mind at the hospital.. see how it goes

But your and kriss pointer... I will definitely rememeber!

RE :part-time maid
Hi I know a few of mummies here has part time maid helping out to clean the house.
Can I have your contacts on the part time maid? and their charges?
My part time maid fly aeroplane on me for 2 consecutive weeks now, I'm pretty angry... so more never call up

So hope to look for atlternative liao.

pochacco,
your bb so cute!! esp in his rompers..
you doing such a long massage? how is she charging u? actually someone told me to do massage for 2 weeks as it is really effective to do longer...

how much are you paying for the 6 in 1 jab?

Hi mummies who are breastfeeding, see my friend advice. so encouraging to read something like that.
It's really tough initially, you feel like a cow, right? That's how often you have to feed now.I remember feeling like I wanted to push her off my breasts and stay off it. but once you pass the 5 week mark, it gets better, trust me.
If you spend about 40 min or more feeding and manage to keep her awake and sucking for that long, it's good enough. Your milk will have come in by now, so don't worry about not giving her enough. But to make sure the milk is established, you feed on demand now, which seems to be what you're doing. However, eventually, like after the first month, you want to try to stretch the feeds out to 11/2 hours, then 2hours ( from start of one feed to the next). That means, it's not demand feeding anymore. So for example, if I feed at 6am, the next feed should be at 8am-8:30am, plus minus 15min. If she starts crying and seems to want to feed before that, I will check her diaper, see if she's tired... basically, I won't just feed her everytime she cries.

i keep her to a feed/ wake/ sleep cycle, in that order, and find that it works really well to keep her to a schedule. so after a feed, i keep her awake by playing with her, then I put her down for a nap.

you cannot check to see if she's reached the hindmilk, but if you keep her on for 20 mins, it's long enough for her to get to it. When your breast gets soft and limp, that means it's emptied. Keep to the times you are keeping, and trust yourself that she's getting the milk she needs to grow. i'm sure you see her getting bigger. so don't worry and just keep doing what you're doing, bearing in mind that it's not necessarily milk she wants everytime she cries. she may just want to be cuddled.

you know when the growth spurts are right? 3 weeks, 6 weeks, 3 months...babies also tend to feed continuously at night, to 'tank up' for the night.

Wendyl
I had c-section for both kids and never had the bruise you describe. I also took synflex for 4 days, it hurts a little when I am off the painkiller but it went away after 2-3 days.

Gynae never give me anything to apply and I must say he stitching skill is very good, a clean straight line at the same place.

I asked around from friends that had c-section and none have the bruise too. you better check with your gynae again since it have been 3-4 weeks already.

zhimin
Your ss quite good. I am into the three week n ss is only about 60ml per pump and I also take 30 min to pump each time.

Pochacco
your bb so cute and chubby.

Mongs
BF - Realyt need the encouragement as I was thinking of giving up these few days as ss decreasing not sure why. but will try to give as much as possible till i cann't squeeze out anymore.

Rena
Since I start to give him EBM, he didn't want to suck on the breast anymore...due to the flow and i think is laziness as he need little effect from the bottle, why don't you try expressing for every feed, but it is ver tiring given that the feeding and expressing time is separate, twice the work and also bottke to wash.

Wow! So much action after I MIA. As mentioned earlier in the week on Tuesday I had show, I went to the KKH with HB with our hospital bags, just in case.

Anyway, I gave birth on 11th Jan 2006 at 1401hrs via emergency C-sect under epidural to baby Daren Chan, he weighs 3.55kg and 52cm tall.

I'll update my birth story later. My mom aka confinement lady nagging me not to sit too long in front of the comp and to get some rest. I've been breastfeeding my boy and my nipples are really sore!! I just tried starting to use the AVENT ISIS manual breast pump today. Didn't get much, not sure if I'm doing it right but there are some BM being expressed.

Later

check tat my stitches will dissolve by itself so no need to remove. hee..but i think it be painful too since the sticker is on the skin and the pubic area which is shaven. anyway will know on thurs visit to gynae.

how often do we need to express? today is my 4th day and i have 20ml of colustrum as compare to yesterday morning 2ml. i still let baby latch on but feel my breast very firm and full, so i express out every 3 hrs. is that ok? or can i wait longer? can be quite lazy at times though.

Caleb is having a little jaudice and i have taken him out to sun today and tmr be gg to see my PD for checkup. hopefully he need not stay in for treatment.

anyway here is a pic of my lil precious one!
kao_kiss.gif
359487.jpg

Congrats Mamachan!!

SSF
Caleb is so cute...chubby chubby face...
Congrats once again... and the pillow is so nice.
hiya I didn't buy it the last time

may and wendy,

me also got this pelvic bone pain espically during my pregency and the first week after gave birth. I told my massage lady and my gynea about this problem that i felt pain even when i lifted up my legs...

according to them was that our utrus is still very low..it take some timefor the womb to move up. But i think my massage lady did help me when i told her my problem the she massaged my tummy and pelvic area..it did help and now no more pain.

Wenyl,

I dun have the bruise u mention too.. why dun you seek for second opinion?

Yuen yuen,

Even when I express out, baby refuse to drink.. some how..he is choosy even on his sleeping area..haiz....

Congrats to all other mummies who have popped and yes, the babies' pics are all so lovely!!! dun we have a bunch of lovely babies here !

Re : BF
im having engorgement now, very very pain leh... i tried to pump using Avent ISIS but can see NOTHING!!! but i stil let Celeste suck on each breast for 15min each... i wonder if theres anything coming out at all...*abit dissapointed wf myself*
wats colostrum's colour like? when will my milk come in...

Wenyl - Thanks! she actuali looks like me, no one has said she looks like daddy... the oni good thing was she got the 'fair' genes from him cos im tanned by nature...in fact, i prayed for her to get the best features from each parent and i think God heard me..hehe

Wenyl,
me too, had c-section, but no bruise... does it hurt?

Mongs and all mummies on BF,
glad to know that there are many other mums who feel this way as well, the message shows that we are not alone in this, so have to jia you... nowadays I really feel like a cow, and nothing else, feel so cooped up in the house, even going out to buy panty liners is a no no... On bad nights, I really feel like letting Shannon cry and pretend to go to sleep, so horrible right.. we just have to tahan a few more weeks, am sure it will be okay soon

BTW, I feed Shannon one FM at night, and that lets her sleep 4 or 5 hours, which really helps me rest as well, mummies can try it too...

Yuen Yuen,
hang in there, my milk supply is also very patheic, still only 30ml for both breast when I express out, not enough for one feed... though when I latch her on, she seems to be getting enough. I enjoy expressing out in morning, coz I have the most milk then... try papaya fish soup, see whether it helps? It seems to work for me..

COngrats Mamachan!

SSF,
cannot be lazy loh, actually bb latch on directly is best way to increase MS, I also try to express out after every feed...

Mashy,
is the white dot in the centre of the nipple? I read before it's called blanching, pretty normal, I have it too.

thanks mummies again for the well wishes.

cookie
they will usually call dr tay for dr ho's patients, unless he cant make it lah. I was induced on edd. EDD supposed to be 05/01/06. I stayed 2 bedder on fri, rest is in 1 bedder, discharged on tues noon. very long stay.

sleepingdeer
good to hear that dr ho's c-section is not painful. need to take painkiller?

zhimin
I can understand.. i also had problem breaking suction earlier and had sore nipples. no better. hmm.. u pump out how long to get 90ml? I so eny u, I think we gave birth ard same time. but, i cant pump out much using the pump.
each time i bf, I collect the leaking milk, abt 30ml for both breasts.

pochacco
thanks.. me thinking of getting either your pump or the ameda one. Are you on FM or TBF? So good, your bb has regained his weight. My boy didnt put on till his birth weight when I went for the 1st week checkup.

mongs
thanks for sharing. me also trying thos feed / wake / sleep cycle now, recommended by my friend too.

etelle
I'm short, ard 1.53m, was 46kg pre-preggie, maybe hips cant expand much.

SSF
I was also following a 3hr cycle during my hosp stay. now, 2.5hr to 3hr or if bb is really super hungry. I try not to feed too often as i want him to get the hindmilk.

cel cel
dun be discouraged.. i also had engorgement at the beginning. try hand expressing. it works for me. also, before feeding massage your breasts. The LC said:
1. put palm on nipple and move breasts round in circles.
2.use fingers to clear duct to the nipple, i.e. hands at 12pm and 6pm and then 3pm and 6pm
3.hand express - 4 fingers at bottom of breasts and the thumb at the top and clear the milk duct towards the nipple. milk will come out.
BTW, I've been drinking lots of papaya soup since birth. Try it lah. colustrum is yellow.

does you bb burped most of the time.
I try burping my bb and sometime i stroke and never hear anything out from my bb

krissie

thanks for the encouragement... now i have got 2 cabbage leaves on my breasts... though Celeste did suck juz now, it was stil painful... i tried using the pump and can see a few drops of milkish colour liquid, though oni a few drops but im encourgaed... at least it not NOTHING anymore... but my nipples now got crack and i think it did bleed cos can see dried blood on it... is it alrite? oh, how bout stiches? i feel reali sore and a little pain at my V area leh... how long will it take to heal?

god child - colostrum is yellow in colour. i got my colustrum very very little on first day and till today which is my fourth day, i think i am still prodcuing colostrum as it is still yellow in colour not white. must massage your breast regularly so that the duct will not be block. after you express, you will feel your breast much lighter.

for me, i express every three to four hrs but still very full. and manage to get only 20ml. anyone has white milk already? if so which day is that?

thks sleepingdeer, i will let him latch on more often then. hopefully my MS will increase day by day. lets jia you together.

my bb was born on 11/1/06. here's my birth story.

0245: woke up and went to toilet as usual.. asked bb you still dont wanna to pop ah? haha.

then, went back to bed and felt that strange fluid flowing out then went to toilet and changed another pad to double confirm if its burst of water bag.

0300: called gynae and told him that water bag burst, and felt a bit of cramp. Told him that theres some pinkish discharge together with the fluid, too. He told me to admit hospital.

(when he picked up the phone, the 1st qn he asked me, good news?......)

0335: After taking shower and breakfast, we went to hospital for admission.

0400: Reached hospital and went directly to delivery suite. Contraction was not frequent and very bearable. Haha Nurse checked cervix and its 3 cm dilated.

0600: Contraction getting more but still bearable. Nurse taught me how to use laughing gas. But I tried not to use it cos didnt wanna depend on it so much.

0700: Contraction got worse, ermmm. still bearable. But tried to use the gas, didnt like it, cos it gave a numb feeling to the nose. Nurse kept asking me to use it, but didnt listen to her. Haha.

0800: Nurse came to check cervix. 5 cm dilated. She asked me if I wanna use, pathedinm which can last for 4 hours. Then got one jab on the thigh. Ouch

after the jab, feeling extremely drowsy. and I managed to sleep!!!! So happy about that. :p Hb told me that I still managed to sleep while complaining the pain. And he was busy in massaging my back.

1130: Finally, I totally woke up. :p The contraction. hmmm. Getting a bit unbearable, but with hbs support and massaged, I managed to tolerate it.

1200: The feeling of getting the bowel out was getting stronger and stronger. Kept telling hb that I wanna go toilet. Hb said, not possible lah. You just cleared it this morning. Then, he called nurse. Nurse came in and asked me to start pushing. Then, doc came, also. Everyone told me when theres pushing bowel feeling, push hard.

1230: Cant remember after how many push, bb was popped!!!

bb weight 3.12kg, 47cm. apgar test results 9/10!!!

Feeling really amazing when saw her

I have delivered my little princess naturally without any epidural, on 12th January morning at TMC.

Baby Shermaine weighs 3.135kg at birth and is doing very well now.

She looks so beautiful in my eyes