(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Joanna,
Just one more qn, what is hind milk and how do we know if bb is drinking that? usually i will just let Javier latch on until he is 'high' and he will sleep but soemtimes he can sleep for 3 hrs but at times he can only tong for 1 hr. so i m really confused why so. and how do we know when our breast milk is established? whenever i squeeze my breast, there are milk flowing out does this consider milk established?

for those using Medela mini electric,
does ur pump stop when u on to the max? i bought it yst but when i tried it, the motor will stop after a few pumps esp when i on to the max. and when i tried using it, it does not really pump alot leh. even the manual one pigeon, i can pump more but its just tiring. sometimes i tihnk hand pump is also easier but just very messy.. pls advice.

i tot i have the electric pump and it will ease my BM stress but now the stress is back again. sianz... HELP!!

Confused,
your girl is so cute! smiling already.

My boy smiles with his eyes half closed one leh. Usually when he's about to drift off to sleep. When he's awake with eyes big big, never see him smile before.

Re. HB
My HB also didn't bother to read up on pregnancy and caring for BB before I popped. A bit bo chap also lah. But now BB is here, I have to say he's doing his part. Change diapers, hold and pat him to sleep when I'm sleepy. Yah loh, nowadays, our conversations are mainly about BB. His sms from work also asking about BB. Sigh... it's like that one lah. Sometimes I make it a point to ask him about his day at work and all that.

Wendy,
Not to worry lah. I didn't have any popping signs too, cevix only open 1 cm. Was actually was to be induced due to dropping water level. But BB quite cooperative, water bag burst in the morning on the day I was to be induced. So end up natural afterall. You may not need to be induced too... still have a few more days to Monday!

tabbiesus,
I latched my BB on at least 20 mins on the 1st breast to ensure intake of hind milk. Sometimes, he can suck for 25 mins. But usually after that he contented liao. 2nd breast not latched.

Re. BF,
nowadays, when I feed on 1 breast, will feel a tingle in the other breast and start to leak. Think it's a letdown reaction. But Isaac usually doesn't want to suck on 2 breasts. And even for the 1 breast he'll pump vigorously for only about 10 mins, the rest of the 10 mins start stop and towards the end will end up mainly just suckling and not swallowing. Then he'll want to sleep liao. Sometimes I worry whether he's getting enough from just 1 breast.

SY,
I understand why you don't want your ILs with you. 1st few days of confinement are really quite tiring and very easy to get emotional. Hopefully your ILs will not add additional pressure on you!

Joanna,
COngrats!
How to pump 220ml??? Using the electric pump?
I use the Avent ISIS manual and can pump at most 125ml now and I think I have a lot of milk. I'm actually thinking of using the manual at work!

Hi eddjan02...hind milk is the milk that is rich in protein and will come out last after the foremilk...that's why the lactation consultants will always encourage us to feed with the breast we last fed with...say for example...if my last feed ended with the right breast...then my next feed will start with the right breast...in this way....the baby will get hind milk and then foremilk. Hind milk is what the baby gets to make him full...foremilk is the thinner milk to satisfy thirst quench...
No need to worry...babies have their own survival tactics...they will definitely cry and make noise if they did not have enuf...if baby falls asleep on your breast...try to tickle his chin...this action will stimulate baby to suckle again...
Hope this helps...

Queen...nope...I get stressed hearing the electric pump...can die ah...the pump makes me so stressed I can let down at all...
I used the Avent Manual Isis Pump...that pump is really good for me...I tried medela but no use for me...cant let down at all...Avent works wonders for me and I swear by that...
Avent pump needs only a couple of pumps initially to get the milk flowing...then subsequently, just hold the pump down and the milk will continue to flow...
I hope it helps.

Hi edd2jan,
hind milk is the rich milk which comes after bb has suckled more than 15min on that breast. You can tell it's hind milk from it's colour, pure white or rich looking, whileas the milk that comes out when bb first latches on is thin looking and very watery, that's fore milk. yep, Shannon also changes her sleep patterns, sometimes she is very sleepy and can sleep soundly for hours, sometimes, she is restless and wakes up only after 1 hour as well, think sometimes bb dun latch on well? Someimes I realise Shannon is playing aoround with suckling coz her suction is weak, like she is not swallowing milk, I try to watch and listen then to see whether she is just playing a fool or really still drinking... it's tough to tell sometimes.

Me using PIS Advanced, no such problem, though sometimes when the funnel doesn't form tight enough seal, there is no suction at all. Take your time with the pump... I get very disheartened to see I can only pump out 10ml per breast... though the milk supply is there.. like what you say, squeeze and milk flow out, our supply is not fully established yet ie pumping out 80ml per breast etc...I think that takes time, and patience... hang in there!

For me, I break down almost every night and cry when Shannon demand non stop attention... after a good cry, and come morning, I feel better. Jia you!

SY,

I sunbathed my baby today, hopefully it'll help... her jaundice was very high before hari raya, almost needed readmission to kkh but I think its coming down very slowly now... yesterday's level was 259 and previous level was 264. If levels are more than 300 than need admission... now watching cos after 2 weeks may need to do more investigations at 3 weeks of life to rule out other forms of jaundice.

queen,

how u manage to use the isis for 125 ml, i'm so impressed! how long does it take you? today, I struggled with the isis and managed 40ml both breast, I am so so happy liao... I think my MS is just only starting...

I only latch my baby on for 15min, maybe I should latch on longer for hindmilk. But if I latch her for 15min both sides and she still can last 2-3 hours, does that mean she's already getting hindmilk? I dunno why psychologically I feel i have to nurse with both sides. Do you nurse one side and then pump from other side?

Like you say, after 10 min, my baby also act like she's asleep, i have to tickle her feet or her chin to remind her to suck... but I guess if your baby is growing well then should be no problem abt whether he's getting enough...

wow so many posts to catch up!!

wendy,
what do u talk to your maid abt? i dunno what to talk to her abt leh. good luck on your visit to gynae!

tabbiesus,
hope the weather remains sunny so that your bb can get sunlight on the next few days!

re HB
my hb din read any of the books that i bought too! so sometimes after i read, i will pretend to sulk and he will ask me what's wrong. then i told him the description of labor very scary and i very scared so he must read and help me thru labor...ha..that trick worked and he did read a part on labor...

queen
i hope i can really tahan. i keep telling myself bb is most impt so cannot think abt other things.

confused,
your girl is very cute!!

joanna,
thanks for the sharing! think all mummies here are very good to share their experience. will definitely be useful when my time comes!

<center><font size="+2">January 2006 Babies - We are born!!!</font></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2"><center>S/N</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Age</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>EDD</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Birthdate</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Gender</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Age / Days</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Wt @ Birth</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Hosp</center></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Sysa</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD>2-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Cephas</TD><TD>42.0 </TD><TD>2.2 kg</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>klisa</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Rae Chin Yong Yi</font></TD><TD>30.0 </TD><TD>2.95 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD>15-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Aron Chan</TD><TD>29.0 </TD><TD>2.98 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>queen</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD>19-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Issac</TD><TD>25.0 </TD><TD>2.47 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Bao Bao</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>31-Dec-05</TD><TD>20-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>24.0 </TD><TD>3.4 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>wenyl</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD>20-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Ethan</TD><TD>24.0 </TD><TD>1.78 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Clare</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>3-Jan-06</TD><TD>24-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Ashley</TD><TD>20.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>mongs</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>10-Jan-06</TD><TD>25-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Clariss Tan</TD><TD>19.0 </TD><TD>2.85 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>babylon</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Damien</TD><TD>16.0 </TD><TD>2.94 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>edd2jan</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>2-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>16.0 </TD><TD>2.55 kg</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>yuen yuen</TD><TD><center>34</center></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD>28-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Bryant</TD><TD>16.0 </TD><TD>3.02 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>missyladee</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Russell</TD><TD>15.0 </TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Rena</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Elijah</TD><TD>15.0 </TD><TD>3.34 kg</TD><TD>GHL </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD>29-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Shannon</TD><TD>15.0 </TD><TD>2.75 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>tabbiesus</TD><TD><center>31</center></TD><TD>13-Jan-06</TD><TD>30-Dec-05</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font size="-1">Tabitha Kay Shen</font></TD><TD>14.0 </TD><TD>2.4 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>mashy brainz</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>1-Feb-06</TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Caeden</TD><TD>12.0 </TD><TD>2.8 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Pochacco</TD><TD><center>23</center></TD><TD>9-Jan-06</TD><TD>1-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>Reeve Ng</TD><TD>12.0 </TD><TD>3.42 kg</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Joanna</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>4-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD>James</TD><TD>9.0 </TD><TD>3.3 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>confused</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD>5-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>8.0 </TD><TD>3.5 kg</TD><TD>Mt E </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>krissie</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><center><font color="0000ff">boy</font></center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>styloBB</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>6-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girls</font></center></TD><TD>Chara &amp; Julien</TD><TD>7.0 </TD><TD><font size="-1">3.2 kg &amp; 2.6 kg</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Zhimin</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>31-Jan-06</TD><TD>7-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Clarisse Yiow</TD><TD>6.0 </TD><TD>2.85 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>god's child</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>19-Jan-06</TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><center><font color="ff0000">girl</font></center></TD><TD>Celest</TD><TD>2.0 </TD><TD>2.97 kg</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

Hi mummies who BF,
can I ask what positions you use for breastfeeding? I have difficulty having a comfortable position to breastfeed, and it's been irritating me.

At Mt. A, the nurses taught me cradle and football hold, but I find it's very cumbersome with the stacking of the pillows and what not... at home, I have a brest pillow n it's pretty useful, but I still have to stack a pillow under it to get the right height for bb, at breast level. I also have tendency to hunch so that bb can access my nipples easily, anyone have this problem? how do you position your babies for breastfeeding? Do you just carry them in cradle position, coz I find that very tiring on the arms w/o support.

joanna
what do you mean by milk is establish and how do I how whether my BF is establish or not. Currently, the quantity I get flunctuate like nobody business sometimes can get 50ml but sometimes only 20ml no matter how I pump.

Sleepingdeer
agree that the football hold is not ideal, I was so worry that I will drop the bb and the position is not very comfortable.

Given-up on direct latch on already and is expressing every three hourly.

Queen
You are getting 125ml, that is alot, how long do you need to pump to get that? is there any special food to eat to increase milk supply?

joanna,

you are so lucky, my each pump is only 50 ml and per day I only pump twice.. but these two day it is getting lesser.. due to stress I suppose..

Yuen yuen,

my nigera line is so ugly and I hear from my CL that I may not go off and my belly button looks like shit.. Just can't stand the way I look now.. by the way.. has your wound heal? do you feel backache..

my back is really pain.. due to the prolong of the edpidural drip in the spine.. It is so pain that sometimes I am unable to look after my son..

Mashy,
Wow! Ur bb sooo powerful! Shoots like a cannon ball...poo!! :p

Confused,
ur bb gal is sooo cute! Post more pics okie!

Zhimin,
Ur weight loss is real fast. For me, the 1st week I lost abt 8kg. Now abt 11kg. Hope Mdm Rokiah's massage can help me firm up my flabby tummy. Btw, do we have to pay her the full amount on the 1st visit?

BOCHAP HB
Sounds like many of our hubby like dat hor. B4 bb Ethan was born, my hb wasn't interested in reading up on baby magz &amp; books. So I had to practically point to that paragraph to get him read. My hb nowadays more kancheong abt bb. His sms or phone calls from ofc is always asking... how's bb?

edd2jan,
I m using a 2nd hand medela mini, bought from my galfren. The pump is ok even on max. Only find it noisy tat's all.

rena,
havent seen u for some time!
tot u will have to go back to gynae to do follow up and undo stitches? did u tell him abt the backpain?

Thanks. yes she's very chubby. She is the da jie da (biggest baby) in the nursery room last thurs.

Oso i'm so sorry that i didnt share with you mummies regarding my birth story cos i find it nothing exciting. Morning admit to hospital n then follow by c-section. B4 no pain n after operation, aiyo can feel teh pain.

queen - ya! my bb gal open both her eyes on the first day. And hubby bring her to the room, she smile at us.

sleepingdeer - ya! me too. Trying very hard n only manag e to pump out BM 60ml n she seems to get hungry easily. I oso dont know how much is enough for her. Really headache ah!

Rena
Thanks for your concern, my wound have healed nicely just that at the end of the cut there seems to be alittle overgrowth. Check with Gynae, nothing I can do as this is how my skin heal.

Actually, I stop taking the painkiller after 4days and felt some pain but it is alright now.

No backache due to edpidural, any backache should be due to carrying bb. According to some friends, backache can be cause by sitting for too long, so tried not to sit too much.

Hi All...

Im back home wf Princess Celeste!!! Thanks for the well wishes and congrats... Thanks for updating, Ivory

ok,my birth story while its stil fresh in my mind,,HB out buying dinner so can sneak in...

1/11/06 - 8.30am: Reach TMC wf much anxiety and a little fear. went to delivery ward and saw this poster on the wall which reli encouraged me. It says : WHEN A CHILD IS BORN, A MOTHER IS BORN. and i thot, ya im gona b promoted to a mum soon and the fear pangs left me..

9.20am: Waterbag burst by gynae and he said i was 2-3cm dilated. (I was so happy as i thot to myself tat the walking did help the dilation)

9.20am-1pm, contractions came in at 2-3 mins apart *like mild &amp; severe menses cramps* but bearable. Nurse was encouraging and said tat i was GOOD cos the contractions hit the max and i wasn't asking for pain relief..nurse told my HB tat i very good, help him save $$$ on epidural... (turned to HB and told him to pass me the $ for the savings on epi..haha)

1pm:Gynae came and i was expecting him to tell me tat im 5-6cm dilated BUT.. it was stil 3cm!!! abit dissapointed.. and BB's head was stil high up..

2.30pm:the REAL pain started coming in and i reali mean PAIN!!! there was tis nurse (not the ancouraging one) who kept asking if i want pain relief, was saying where got pple in labour so relaxed like you, must hav pain then can give birth mah.. and my HB asked me to try the gas since i was aldy in pain and thot the gas can make me HIGH.. but it din make me any higher seriously... but i kept using it since i was aldy pyschologically addicted to it...

3.30pm: VERY PAIN...asked for pethidine injection. Another discouraging nurse was saying tat it can oni take away little pain not like epidural... but i told her NO. Pethidine administered BUT it seems tat i was immune to it... or the pain has surpassed the effect totally...

4-4.30pm: told nurse i feel sometin bursting down there ( think it was cervix bursting open and spilling of blood *sori if i sound gross* )and HB seeing tat i was crying fr the pain asked nurse if can use epidural and nurse said i was 8cm dilated so i cant. i keep telling myself : god bless, Celeste is coming!!! Felt urge to push and did 2-3 pushes before gynae came. HB said he can see Celeste's head aldy!!!

5pm: Gynae arrived and wf 3 pushes in a contraction span, she was out. It was reali magical when she was placed on my tummy and my heart reali went out to her.. while i was being stitched up, could c the nurse handling her and GOSH,saw her pulling one of Celeste's leg upside down (like wat they do to chickens in the market)was so touched when HB came to me and said a soft thank you in my my ears... and seeing Celeste beside me smiling, it was ALL worth it...

ok, it was long winded BUT i reali had so much to elaborate actuali. this aldy a short cut
BUT again, though having scraped thru wfout epi, i think i will go for epi early for the next birth cos i reali felt like slapping myself during the last 2 hrs of labour when the pain took over me... unless by then, i can forget the pain and go for it again...haha

Joanna,
I have only tried Avent ISIS. Never tried any of those electruc ones. And I really liked ISIS. Think very easy to use leh, not tiring at all. When my breasts are full, can pump 125ml in 10mins! Quite fast right? That's why thinking of using at work. Only thing I worried about it's whether I can pump enough at work with ISIS.

tabbiesus/Yuen Yuen,
Initially on the 4th or 5th day, I can only pump about 30ml even though breasts are super full! Then when Isaac was admitted to KK on the 6th day, I had to EBM and suddenly can express 80ml liao. Now my record is 125ml, fill up the Avent bottle loh. Never attempt to pump more than that yet.
Anyway, back to the point. To encourage letdown, I always start with 6 quick pumps, press down 123456. Usually milk will come out. Then just press and hold 3 seconds for each pump. I'll pump 1 breast for at most 4 or 5 mins then switch to breast 2. Pump 5 mins and then back to breast 1 for 5 mins. Then back to breast 2. Can pump more this way. Make sure that the funnel cups the breasts fully so that there are no gaps.
As for food, I has those soups in TMC and then back home, I drank the papaya soup only once. No special food leh. Actually I think milk is definitely there for all of us. As long as there is demand, there is sure to be enough supply. It is plain biological response. The difference in pumping amount could be due to stress or pumping technique etc.

sleepingdeer,
I find the crossover hold (eg. right arm hold BB to left breast) the easiest, maybe cos Isaac is still light. After I ensure that he's latched on properly, I'll switched to cradle hold (left arm takeover) and used pillows (or sometimes just my tummy) to support. Sometimes if I'm really sleepy at night, I'll use the side lying position though I still prefer to sit up most of the time. No need to hunch is BB is at the right height.

god's child
wow your birth story is really touching. your hb actually went to look at your bottom to look at your gal gal's head... wow your hb so really brave! i doubt my hb will do tat, he confirm will get cold foot =p haha

went for my gynae appointment today. did my second time VE *pain*, abit disappointed when gynae told me my cervix only open by the tip of her finger...sigh... tat means less than 1 cm! but bb head now very low le and now weight 3.3 to 3.4 kg! gee... jia luck liao. gynae asked whether we want to induce by this weekend or not.. coz she worry bb might hit 3.6 and above by next week which will be in my 39 weeks liao. but me and my hb decided to wait for another week and will bb decide when he really wan to come out and meet us =)
hopefully our boy will be good and by next week automatic come out la.

god's child
your birth story so cute. i got my hb to read it as well! very touching esp the last part when your hb said thank you....

queen,
i will be using AVENT ISIS also. any tips on the best way to use?

rachel,
your bb is big!! keep talking to your boy to come out next week. i also doing the same.

god's child,
ur story is very touching. U mentioned that ur bb head was still high up. Is Celest engaged when u admit to hospital? Ur labour seems short as she comes out after a few push. I am hoping mine to pop this weekend cos doc say I am 2cm dilated during Wed VE test. So waiting anxiously for her to pop. Next Tues will be her EDD.

SY,
yes.. have been very excited since wed. Hoping to see her soon. But I am scared of the pain.. so will definitely choose epidural. As I am also being told by my doc that it will be a long labour as bb does not engaged and she will be 3.2kg at least.

Sorry I've been busy whole day so haven't uploaded the recipes yet. Will keep all of you posted once I've uploaded them cuz they'll require some time for me to type them out also. I'll be putting them up in my website. When its ready, I'll tell u where to go to see them.

Hubbies,
I thought I was the only one with bochap hubby.. My hubby's friends whose wives were also pregnant few months before me all like super on! Reading up articles and books, going for antenatal classes with them, etc. Even tonight, my hubby went for a meetup with his car forum friends saying if tonight don't go, next time no need go for long time already. *DOH*

Epidural,
Today my gynae was asking if I want epidural as 90% of first time mothers will want it. I told him I want to wait and try to loon until I cannot tahan. He seemed very surprised to hear that and so was my husband as I've always told my husband that I want epidural as I'm afraid of pain. Baby has gained alittle weight weighing slightly above 3kg now. Head has not engaged yet but is slowly descending, so gynae say she'll most likely engage by Monday.

Pelvic bone pain,
Recently, my left pelvic bone behind my left bum has been hurting. Sometimes, it hurt so much i find it hard to shift my position while sitting down or getting up from bed or a chair. Funny thing is my right side does not hurt. Do you get the same pain too?

Ok, I'll go type in the recipes now. Will try to upload as many as I can.

SY,
I just talk to my maid about anything I can think of.. ask about her family, her daughter, whether she is happy working here, anything she not happy with about here, talk about food, gossip about my FIL (haha), etc. We usually talk more when she's helping me bake cookies. My maid can be quite talkative once engaged in a conversation so usually she'll be the one talking and I'll be listening and giving advice. Just want to give her a vent to "air" abit.

dear mummies
I've popped last Fri, hv been v busy trying to settle in with bb and can only check the posts now.

cookie
was induced coz bb had lesser movement and the day i was induced was my EDD. coz of lesser movement plus, I'm 1.5cm dilated and cervix effaced, he advised inducing. I agreed loh.

Re birth story
5 Jan - induced at 6pm, 1.5cm dilated
6 Jan -
2+am - 2.5cm dilated
4+am - cannot tahan the pain, ask for epi. nurse suggested trying laughing gas, so i took it coz i didnt want epi for so long.
6+am - really cant tahan anymore, 4cm dilated, ask for epi.
12+pm - 6cm dilated
2+pm -10cm dilated
3+pm - started pushing for 1hr, bb still cant come out.
4+pm - gynae came and used vacuum.
My little Gerald was born at 5.17pm.

But, due to the size of my bb which was too big for me, I lost a lot of blood and was very weak after delivery.

bb crying liao. will catch up again sometime.

Krissie,
Congrats on little Gerald! We've been waiting for your news

I've typed out some of the recipes in this excel file. My maids handwriting is quite cursive so I'm also not sure if I got any spelling mistakes for the Indonesian translations. Some of the ingredients are missing quantities as I use gut feel when I cook so I didn't give my maid any measurements when I teach her.. Some quantities are hard to describe but I'll try to explain as much as I can if you got problems. If there's anything you don't understand, just ask me. I'll probably put this up on my website tomorrow. Getting a little tired and feeling some menses cramp on the lower abdomen now and baby is moving quite violently, so I'll try get some sleep.. hope its not contractions..

mime_msexcel.gif

confinement food.xls (31.2 k)</td></tr></table></center>

morning mummies...

Hi..i am still in hospital now catching up on this forum. wow lotsa of stuffs to read but thot i share with you my birth story first.

but first..congrats to god's child who has delivered..hey i think i may be in the same waiting room with you. i heard some women crying in pain. heee..was that you? were you near the door or near the toilet?

ok anyway here is my birth story..i am suppose to be induce on 12th jan thurs.

but on 10th jan - show appeared and called my gynae. he told the monitor and say it may be anytime earlier than expected. so ask me to check if have contraction. thot he gg to come out on haji but he didnt.

11th jan - went to see gynae in the morning. did a VE for me for the first time. the pain was still bearable. OK for me. then he said i induce only 0.5cm and ask if i want to induce today. and we said OK. so we headed to the hosp by 1p.m but not b4 rushing hm to get some stuffs and drink my essence of chicken

1.45p.m was wheeled in to waiting room. there was already 3 women inside and i think god's child was one of them
those women were in pain lor and frankly it doesn;t help me at all hearing them moaning. i was quite scared lor. so after a change, the nurse shave me alittle and then my gynae arrive to put a tablet in for me to speed up contraction. he said he be back again in 2 hrs time. meantime, i was reading a book. contraction came in but i can endure.

4.30p.m - gynae arrive and did VE for me. this time abit painful and uncomfortable. gynae check and i still dilating 0.5cm. so he ask the nurse to check on me ard 7 plus again. till then the contraction starts increasing but i still tahan lor with deep breathing.

7.30p.m- nurse came in and did a VE for me and ouch ouch..still painful. so she said i dilate only 1cm. oh gosh i was thinking..how long more mann. so nurse as instructed by my gynae told her to put me on drip and to increase the contraction even more. but not before i was wheel to my own personal labour ward with tv. coz by then..left only me and one more person who came in.

10p.m nurse did another VE and said i manage to dilate only 2 cm. contraction was greater and i actually ask how long more har? she said maybe till the next day. so i said if so i want an epidural. but she said the baby heart beat is pretty weak when contraction increases and baby could be in stress already. so my gynae suggested a c sect and rushed down to the hospital.

10.30p.m - gynae ask to do a c sect and i opted for the half conscious so that the side effect is not that bad and hubby get to witness the arrival of baby. nurse prepare me and shave me entirely.

11.20p.m - was wheeled to operating theatre. was given epidural and gynae immediately started the op. hubby wore a gown and was seated beside me. i am not sure if the epidural really take effect coz i can still feel the pulling effect by my gynae. so i said pain ..and after that my hubby said they inject some dosages but i stil feel pain. so they gave me a gas mask and then my head start spinning as i was really high and the next moment i knew baby was screaming and out.i was unconscious for a while but waken up shortly shivering from the side effect. baby was out by 10.51p.m

sorry for my long story...but so drama lor. 8hrs long labour and end with c sect. it was a good experience though. tmr morning i be discharging and hopefully baby can join me without any jaudice. i tried breastfeeding him and on top of that supplement him with similac milk. so hopefully it helps.

now as i am typing. i just BF him at 3.30a.m and could not get back to sleep. so i ask hubby to sleep while i surf the net using his laptop. hee..and now baby and him is soundly asleep

ivory - can you please update my baby's particular. Caleb Lee is born!!! weight is 3.055kg. more heavy than expected wgt of 2.5kg. hospital is TMC and out on 11th Jan. thanks!

ok back to reading the thread...all mummies yet to pop..jia you jia you!

I had contraction at abt 3.50am this morning. Going to head to TMC soon after breakfast. Managed to slip in awhile while HB go down to get me breakfast. Will update all of u when I am back. Bye....

May - all the best..wishing you a smooth delivery!!!

Mothers yet to pop - if you are not dilating enough, no contraction, baby not engaged and you are in good health ..meaning no GD, high blood pressure etc..
my advise is to wait lor. else c sect chances can be high if you cannot dilate. just like me..baby stressed and i also very stressed. just my 2 cents worth of advise.

re: BF
today is my third day, and i still have not had milk flow yet. only colostrum and i tried latching Caleb on and he was OK with my nipples but was not getting enough so supplement him with FM and he drinks alot. anyone whose flow came on third day? i am hoping to see my milk flow soon coz everytime i tried expressing, the colostrum is so so pathetic. i also enourage all mummies to bring nipple cream along. it really helps me to soothe the nipples after every latch.

re: pump
i got the mendele pump from my cousin and i find it OK. although noisy but i think baby seems to like the vibration sound.

re: c sect wound
anyone still has difficult moving around? my wound still hurt a little and be gg to remove the stitches on next thurs. is it painful when removal? any lotion to apply thereafter?

re: one mth celebration
can someone tell me abt celebrating at foster? wats the package like?

ok, i will try to post a pic of Caleb when i return later today. take care all mummies and must PERSERVERE for those who BF. you are doing a great job!

re: stiff neck

any mummies are having stiff neck? i seem to have it while breastfeeding as well as pumping. hopefully it gets better when i am on my own bed. hosp bed is quite uncomfortable and my bone between the backside and back is quite painful. lucky i have like few hrs left to rest on this bed and i am off by 12. yippy!!!! havent seen the bill yet..so maybe dun be too happy also
i had c sect, tablet and drip for contraction, epidural and stayed a total of 3 nights in TMC. so dun know if the cost will be high sky

SSF
COngrats on the arrival of Caleb.

I had c-section as well, no stitch to remove as they are dissolvable. Of course the wound hurt, was on painkiller for 4 days. I didn't apply anything to the wound thereafter.

hi yuen yuen
so early you woke up. heehee...
oh so no need to remove the stitches? hmm...hopefully mine as well. is it the same as for all? do you know? i didnt take any painkiller at all after the surgery. i didnt feel much pain except for dizziness on the first day. i hope i can start back walking as normal as i find it difficult to move ard and carry and burp baby. so now my hubby is doing all those. and i will just express and latch baby on. heehee..maybe its a good thing also coz hubby is doing a great job!

re: bathing
cannot tahan..didnt wash hair for 3 days when i am in hosp. gg home later to my mom place and have ask hubby to wash my hair and wipe myself dry with herbal water. so happy! gg to have a clean fresh me..ahhhh!!!!

wendy
sounds like your bb is progressing well..who knows ..maybe come mon u dun even need to be induced!

think all hb are like that. when they are engrossed in their own stuff, they can turn a deaf ear to everything else. sometimes i also quite upset as my hb doesn't seem as caring but i guess must learn to close one eye.

i have been having cramps on and off since last night. dunno whether it is a sign that my turn is coming..

i guess me and my maid got language problems. and even when she's free, she will go to her room. i just try to ask her whether she wants to read anything. she usually tells me no also...

think i will just bring her out with me more often when bb comes, esp to my mum's place.

thanks for the recipes! next time when i have nice ones, i will also pass it to u!
probably will want to try out some during my ML... rest well!

krissie,
congrats on your bb! do rest well since u lost a lot of blood....

SSF,
knew u had popped!! yah i hope bb can come out at the timing he choose. the only thing i do is to keep telling him what time i wan...

thanks for sharing your story. really quite long labor. the wait for dilation must be quite torturing

May,
good luck and hear from u soon!

Went for checkup yesterday. Was 2cm dilated and gynae said, its anytime now. If by EDD still not delivered, gota induced.

Shared news with my family and they have decided to bring the reunion dinner forward to tonight so that me and HB won't miss it. They wanted to have it next week but learning that I may pop anytime, they changed their minds. So thoughtful of them! As my family consists of 17 members, it is difficult to have a reunion dinner just b4 CNY. I shall look forward to tonight's prawns and crabs... yum yum

SSF,

I remove my stitches on Monday.. just slight pain whem doc pull out the string..

I have yet recover from my wound but there are many things I need to learn from the CL so cannot be lazy..

This is Yuki here. I have opped on the 11th Jan. Baby Megan is born 2.74kg.

Birth Story
10 Jan, 7pm - First contraction. was trying to observe if it is regular.

10 jan, 10pm - contractions at every 20 mins apart. still endurable. call hospital and they replied that if it's at 5 mins interval, can start to go hospital.

11 jan, 4am - contractsions at about 10 mins interval. hoping that it will get into 5 mins interval soon. didn't get much sleep throughout the night. hubby was rushing to finish up his work and finally get to rest at 3am.

11 jan, 6am - still at 10 mins interval. was getting worried cos i don't want to be caught in the traffic jam. So wake hubby up to get ready to go hospital.... on the way to hospital, hubby was on the phone all the time to delicate his work and to update his colleague on their big project.

11 jan, 730am - reach hospital, was admitted to delivery suite immediately. already dilated 4cm but was on tremendrous pain. asked for epidural bebofe it's too late. (kiasu mummy). Was very tired cos didn't get to sleep the night before.

11 jan, 830am - dilated 9 cm already! regret taking epidural!

11 jan 0900am - dilated 10cm already but baby's head not fully down yet so have to wait. At this point i again think that epidural is a good idea.

11 jan 1130am - nurse says can see baby's head and is ready to push. Practice for about 10 mins, by then can almost see baby's head fully so the nurse called gynae.

11 jan 1155am - Baby Megan is born!

Simple birth story isn't it?

It's the after birth that is dramatic.

My mum, who is my elder gal's caregiver is sick so hubby had to rush betwwen home and hospital to look after my gal and me.... My elder gal is also not feeling very well but we had to bring her to hospital cos no one can look after her.....

I was discharge yesterday but Megan remains in hospital due to jaundice. Doctor called today and says that she's not gaining weight but losing it (which is a norm) but they are afraid she will lose more weight so asked to keep her for one more day to observe her. That's means i can only bring her home tomorroew. I would love to stay in the hospital to be with her but as there's no one to look after my elder gal - i had to come home and shuttle between hospital and home for these two days.

Pray that God will look after my two gals!

As for breast feeding - so pathetic. For my first child, at least i have colustrum right away. Today is my fourth day already, can only see two drops of colustrum..... trying to pump while at home to stimulate the flow. Was wooried about milk supply but am determine to BF. Any one has any advise how to increase milk flow? Thinking of seeking TMC lactation nurse advice. heard they provide home service. Any one knows about it?

Hi Queen,

Read with envy that you can pump 30ml on the third day already! This is my fourth day but hardly see the colustrum....

Overall the nurses at NUH are very good, polite and encouraging. I see a tremendrous improvement in their service

Trying to pump some milk now. Catch up with mommies here soon. Please pray for me that both my gals will recover soon!

yuki,
was just thikning abt u yesterday and how long u din log in...figured u had popped also.

hope your gal can come home soon.

thought can increase milk flow by taking more fish?

COngrats to Krissie and SSF and God's Child
Best wishes and Good Luck to Casey...

God's child>> your baby so cute!!!

Take care everyone...

Seeing so mummies pop liao... I getting more and more kancheong....

Yuki,
to increase milk supply, u can try fernugreek pills from GNC. drink more water and eat more fish like what SY says. I guess it depends on individual. don't worry.. cont to let your baby suckle (this is the most impt) and the milk will be in. this is my 3rd week and my milk is still not fully established. my baby suckle almost every hr interval but she poos and wet her diapers regularly so don't worry. some people take 4 weeks to establish the milk and some takes 6-8weeks. I must say that Queen is very lucky.

May - Celeste was engaged prior to giving birth aldy leh, so also dunno why her head so high up...

Thanks for the comments, Baby Celeste can smile so well after she's well fed... BUT sad to say, me also no MILK yet!!!

Yuki - me also deliver on 11th but then also dun see any colosrtum coming out... Celeste is being supplemented wf FM of bout 30ml after suckling at each breast for bout 15-20mins each... so sad tat i got no milk leh...

SSF - no lah, i dun think im the crying woman u heard. HB also told me he heard one crying very badly...i was in birth room 10. My gynmae actuali had 4 patients delivering at the same moment, and thank god i was the first if not i gota wait for him to come...

btw, Jas also delivered by same gynae on same day and was in the same ward as me!!! was telling her bout forum information to b so useful and she said she also comes in but not as often...
so tat makes it total of 4 babies on 11 Jan 2006...