(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Celine
PIS is so ex.. why don't u get the Medela Mini Electric Dual Pump instead? It serves the same purpose and costs half the price. Only difference is its not nicely packaged into a bag but paying almost double is alot to pay for packaging isn't it?

My gynae just called me. I'll be admitting to Gleneagles on Monday morning 12am in preparation for my birth. Getting alittle panicky liao. I've always been so sure I wanted epidural because I'm afraid of pain, but now, I'm not so sure if I still want epidural. I also haven't made up my mind if I want to store cord blood.. Panic, panic..

Wendy,
thanks for the advice! dunno whether my MIL will know how to cook what i can eat for reunion dinner. probably i will be eating my own food from the way it looks. dun think i want to eat steamboat with them. the last time we ate steamboat, think me and hb want to faint. they are quite unhygenic when it comes to eating steamboat esp my FIL. and all of them were sick but keep putting their chopsticks into the soup. the children nag and nag at them when we were eating but my FIL keeps throwing the uncooked stuff in when we haven't even taken what we cooked. so not very pleasant.

u have the recipe for the chicken soup and the honey chicken? sounds yummy. think i may get my maid to try to do that. cos my CL will be going back on NY's eve.

celine
Medela PIS is selling at mothercare - I saw KKH having sale a couple of weeks ago cheaper by $100+++ not sure if it's still on.
Also selling at Mums & Babes (they have outlet at United Sq and Plaza Sing).
ALso selling at Metro ( if during their 20% sale will have discount too)
Good luck in your shopping!

God's child
COngrats on the arrival of Celeste!

SY
sorry to hear abt the upsetting plan by your MIL... I have no clue what to eat and what not to... sorry couldnt give much advice.
But do think on the bright side that your bb will have lotsa pple to celebrate new year with him
plus u dun have to be go to your MIL place for dinner and have the comfort of your home
Think positively, otherwise by that time got some many other things, may end up feeling more mang zhang...

Wendy,
dun panic...u r quite well prepared actually and no matter how well prepared we are, think birth is always something that we cannot be fully prepared for. go with the flow. if you really cannot take it, then just take the epidural. think if take epi can be more relax leading to shorter labor, i think it's worth it!

u still not decided on whether to store cord blood? how come?

SY,
Sure, when I go back to my dad's place on friday, I'll ge the recipe and post it for u. Maybe I'll also put it up in my multiply web site if I got the time so you can access my other recipes as well.

cookie,
i think the reason why i m not very pleased abt it is cos hb din even discuss with me and just agree to everything MIL say. and from what she has cooked so far since my pregnancy, she always cook stuff that i can't eat. and i think it's pointless if she says wan to do reunion dinner at my place and then end up i have to eat alone and nothing i can eat with them. defeats the purpose right? she always cook things and then tell me not to eat so much cos not suitable. so this time i do my homework first and will tell her what she shd cook.

and it's actually the first year we have reunion dinner with them. i din really want it at my place cos i wanted to go down to my parents' place after that. and i suspect my MIL will want o come to my place every year from now on cos i have maid at home.

and what if i give birth very close to the NY's eve? i dun think i will want pple coming to my place to eat reunion dinner when i m still adjusting. i know i m thinking too much but i cna't help it. must be the hormones running wild again...

HI Wendy,
but i heard that the mini one is very noisy. is it not?

btw don't panic. at least u know when exactly you are going to deliver. better than some of us here... juz waiting for D day... i'm due this sat but still no signs of labour. gynae say may be overdue. sianz!

Wendy,
thanks. i have been racking my brains over what i can teach my maid to cook cos i know how to cook very little stuff. plus hb is a very fussy eater.

wendy
if u wan cord blood banking must do it fast and register with the co over this weekend.
How come your gynae will call u to admit hospital for delivery one?...not wait naturally?

celine,
the waiting is quite torturous i feel! did your gynae say when will induce if overdue?

my cousin also overdue by 2 days and only gave birth yesterday.

i also tot the mini one is the one that's quite noisy?

SY,
My MIL might have this plan also. She has been wanting to cook in my kitchen. Furthermore I do not have maid, not sure how to answer if she brought up the qn too.

Wendy,
I tried to answer yday but server was down. I have got the same prob with u too. My MIL want to take leave to stay 2wks after I pop. But she requested us to buy a queen size bed for her and FIL to stay over. I dun want to waste so much money just for a 2wks stay. End up when we go home, I show him black face also cos he didnt reject immed. My hb say jokingly to her the following wk when we go back..to tell her we no money to buy bed, only buy mattress for her to slp on the floor.Then she say buy single bed with pull-out at the bottom. I got so fedup and end up getting the bed that I used to slp at my parents place like u also. hehe.. but my MIL not very happy abt it. But I just dun bother already.

SY,
Don't get urself too upset. Some things in life just cant be helped, so what for we upset ourselves too much over it? Just like my ILs who insist on staying here for CNY period even though their house is just 5 min away. No matter what I say, its going to realise anyway so might as well just make my hubby happy and prepare the room for them. Life will be easier, less quarrelsome and less stressful that way.

Cord Blood
I had wanted to store but my hubby don't want. If I want to store I'll have to pay for it myself and its not a small sum.

Last night when I was sleeping, my stomach was cramping whole night, I was wondering if this was it. However, morning when I wake up, everything was ok. I always tell my husband bb like both of us, know how to appreciate good food so don't want to come out cuz come out already only got milk to drink for long long time. Sigh.. so near yet so far.. the anticipation is killing..

Anyway, tonight going to friend's wedding dinner. Going to indulge myself in good food for me and baby before giving birth on Monday. Kekeke! Abalone! Scallops! F& N ORange! Here I come!

Cookie,
My last checkup showed that my baby is not gaining weight and I'm losing weight. Also, my water level is dropping and my CTG showed that I'm having irregular contractions already but cervix not dilated at all. So, he suggest that I induce a few days earlier and not wait cuz chances are baby will be overdue but placenta is degenerating. Anyway, its only 4 days earlier than my EDD so I'm ok with it. I also don't want baby to start excreting in the water and swallowing the dirty water.

edd2jan, clare & sleepingdeer,
thanks for sharing pics of ur darlings! All soooo cute you know!! Makes me wish mine would hurry up come out! haha

Wendy,
wow i'm amazed at the no. of stuff you know about confinement food and u even have recipes!! impressed!

SY,
hmm yah can understand how u feel abt ur MIL wanting to come over for reunion. Maybe she sees it as a celebration and can chou4 re4 nao4 (double celebration). Well but if i were u i'd also feel stressed coz just delivered n everything, then still gotta zhao1 dai4 pple. Perhaps just look on the brighter side of things n hope that it'll be a good time of reunion!

celine,
did your gynae check ur cervix for u to see if u're ready for labour anytime soon? and will u be induced?

wendy & confused & SY,
actually when i saw gynae yesterday i lost 0.1kg as compared to 1 wk ago but baby put on 0.4kg. i've only gained 8kg this whole pregnancy so don't think it's a lot. Gynae was concerned abt baby's big size coz she's been constantly growing at a steady rate - know what i mean? It's not based on a one-time estimate kinda thing. And if u see me, u'll understand why i feel stressed. I'm only 1.52m and petite (39kg before preggie). Can't imagine myself delivering a big baby! Oh well...shan't worry too much...just see how things go and trust God has His best timing!

Re: Medela pump
borrowed 1 from my fren and it's noisy. But heard it's good. Think the normal PIS one will do...no need to get the Advanced one. So much more ex too.

May,
your situation even more difficult than mine. at least i have my maid to help clean the kitchen. but who will help clean if your MIL cooks in your kitchen? i m quite fussy abt the kitchen and can't stand it if the floor is sticky or oily after cooking. even before my maid came, each time i cook, i will also make sure i wipe it clean.

Wendy,
yah i guess u r right. that's what i keep telling myself too. no point thinking abt it. guess sometimes it's not so much of MIL that i mind but my HB who doesn't discuss anything with me.

your hb is opp of mine. he's the one who insists on the cord blood banking. actually it's a good form of insurance for bb and for ourselves. my fren just told me his fren got cancer but fortunately she had stored her bb's cord blood so it may be some hope to her. i told my hb abt it and he said it is a good thing we store the cord blood cos we never know what may happen.

yah man, must eat all the things we can eat now. last night my bb also kept moving so much until i cannot sleep. had satay last night..yummy..

durianlover,
yeah, i just hope it's not going ot be every year that she comes over. if not i dun have chance to go to my parents' place! nowadays family all so small. if i dun go back, there's so few pple eating with my parents.

SY, Celine,
If you're using the Medela at home, the noise level doesn't really matter right? I heard from friends it is alittle noisy but it sucks well, so its worth the money. Afterall, I won't be using it for very long so I don't want to blow our budget. Already spent alot money buying baby stuff already and my husband and I are already feeling the pinch.

Maid training
I got my maid here in September to train her to cook confinement food for me. Lucky for me, she's quite smart and learnt rather fast even though she cant cook at all when she first came. Her cooking is also quite good now so no problems for me. Its not easy to train them how to cook properly, especially confinement food, so be prepared for abit of blood boiling. Don't get yourself too worked up ok?

SY
cord blood banking - from what I understand, under the current technology, the amount of blood collect is sufficient for one time use by a kid only. Not for adult yet, there are research to try to cultivate it such that it is enough for adult.

I also selected to bank the cord blood this time with cord life incase in future his siblings need it but according to the gynae if the same kid get some sickness in future you might not want to use back the same cord blood as it was from the same original source.

SY,
My MIL will claim to clean up. But I went to her place every week. See her kitchen make me headache already.. So oily and ants all over! Can't imagine what my kitchen will become when she comes over to cook! Urgh...

Wendy
The Medela pump is kind of noisy but serve it purpose. I find that daytime is ok but at night my husband complain that it is noisy and he can't sleep. I am also using it for short term only, so don't mind the noise and at night I will try to pump in another room instead. I have the Avent manual pump as well (borrowed), I don't get as much BM and after a while, my hand get tired and I have given-up using it.

Wendy,
actually my maid knows how to cook but i think she always ask me what to cook so in the end, she just cooks according to my instructions. think i will just tell her to cook what she can... one thing abt her is that she is the 'listen to my instructions' type. pros and cons.

but for the medela if u use at work, will it be too noisy?

yuen yuen,
not sure how the cord blood thing will work for my fren's fren. only heard that it may be some sort of hope for her. hope she recovers soon.

May,
yah one thing i noticed after my maid came is that no more ants! in the past, think i din clean some areas very well and got ants. but after my maid came, all the ants disappear so i m very happy with that.

my MIL is the opp of yours. think if her kitchen is messy, she will scream at FIL. the only thing that i told my hb she shd clean is her washing sponge. always wet and soaking. quite unhygenic.

Hi all mummies
Anyone have stretch marks and pigmentation. I have very bad stretch marks and pigmentation, and a thick dark brown line that runs from the chest (just below the breast) to the navel and from navel to the bottom. the navel is now a big round dark brown patch. Anyone know how to get rid of them ? so ugly.

Hi ladies...

I'm back...haha....was discharged last Sat but still not up to it to post...finally....today I feel up to it...

K...here goes my birth story....I had a c-sectn for my 1st birth and was hoping to try for natural delivery this second round...my gynae was supportive despite the fact that i have a really stubborn cervix...so here goes...

3rd Jan...10pm....had my first sign of show....slightly brownish discharge with mucous...but no pain...decided to wait....

4th Jan...12am...had urge to "pang sai"...went to the toilet and had second show....this round more bloody discharge....but still no contractions...so waited....

4th Jan...8am....called labour ward at TMC...midwives asked me to go down to labour ward immediately cos I had 2 shows in the nite...

4th Jan...9.30am....after depositing maid and elder boy at mum's plc...hubby and I drove to TMC....arrived at 9.30am....sent into observation ward where i wld try for natural delivery....still no contractions so gynae said to wait and c....did VE and not dilated yet....but bleeding so waited....

4th Jan...2.30pm....contractions started at 8 mins apart...

4th Jan...4.30pm....contractions came to become 5 minutes apart each lasting abt 30 secs...but pain still bearable...so no pain relief....waited for gynae....did VE...still not dilated but still bleeding....waterbag did not burst either....as such....plan for natural delivery aborted and was wheeled into OT for C-section at 5pm...

4th Jan....5.30pm...Little James arrived weighing 3.3kg and 54cm long...he's a real guzzler and as such...by the 3rd day...i had engorgement and now he is on full breastmilk....

he's asleep most of the day but awake most parts of the nite so now u can imagine me looking like a panda....hubby went back to work today and was telling me that he had lost 4kg over the last 1 week...hehe....me still learning to cope with an elder boy and a young baby....nt easy i must admit and a little trying at times....thankfully hubby is really supportive....

Oke.....will try to log in more often...to the rest of the mummies who have not popped...all the best....

YuenYuen,
I have got very bad stretchmark all round tummy and my thighs too. My pigmentation is quite bad.. on my neck, around my breast and near armpit area. I tried very hard to scrub but cannot get rid of it. Had not been hardworking enough to apply stretchmark cream also =P

Any mummies know about this?
If I have cervix dilation of 2cm already, when will I most probably pop? Doc just told me abt this when he done a VE on me.

Hi May...if it is your first child...the dilation to be fully completed at 10cm may take a pretty long process....u may need to start tracking your contractions....once they become regular...5 minutes apart and each lasting abt 30 secs....ur cervix will start to dilate even further....however, i've heard abt cases where the woman is 7cm dilated and still not aware of it....quite rare though....

u take care and please do not squat as of nw....let us know when u pop...

Joanna,
This is my first child. But I dun feel any contraction yet. No feelings at all. Only when yday doc done VE and tell me that I have dilated 2cm then I know. My feet used to swell alot but yday it is back to normal already. Quite shocked also.

hi may...my gram used to tell me that once swelling subsides...bb will follow soon aft... no worries...juz let nature take its course...when the bb is ready...u will start getting all the signs and symptoms...the surest would be the show or the waterbag bursting...
all the best!

Stretch Marks
I also have quite alot of stretch marks on lower abdomen and tighs and buttocks
They're permenant but will fade to a silvery/white streak in time. Meanwhile, still gotta keep applying the Dermaveen to lighten it and keep it under control.

SY,
Maybe you can write down the menu for the week in advance and pass it to your maid. Ask her what can she cook so you both can work out the menu for the week?

Yuenyuen,
I got the double pump cuz all my colleagues and sister who breastfeed advised me that the dual pump is better as can pump both at same time, not so tiring. For work, I bought myself the Medela manual pump so it doesn't make noise. Its just for reliefing engorgement in between lessons, not intending to pump like a cow at work cuz by the time I go back to work, my baby would be 6mths already.

Cord Blood
I think most likely I'll not be storing the cord blood as its too costly and its uses are still under research.

Durian,
My grandmother used to be the main chef in one of the big restaurants (Tai Tong) in Chinatown back in the 1930s. My family has a long tradition of cooking and I'm lucky to have inherited some skills from my dad and gu-ma. I love cooking and baking and has been cooking since 10yrs old (experimented my first dish at 8yrs old). Remembered standing on a stool and teaching my dad's maid how to cook. So funny! Anyway, if you want recipes, I can also pass u since we live across the road only.

yuenyuen,
i have a lot of SM..very ugly..hope they really fade after birth.

joanna,
congrats and thanks for sharing your birth story!your bb is really big!

wendy,
when u go and give birth will u be putting your maid at your mum's place?

can send me your recipes?

SY,
I'll be leaving my maid with my parents so she can help my dad cook some of my confinement foods and tonic. As for recipes, I can only send to u earliest tomorrow cuz I'm only going back to my dad's place in hougang tomorrow. Unless you want ordinary recipes, then I got alot, but u need to tell me roughly what kinda recipes u want. I uploaded some online in my website. You can go there have a look first if u want :

http://slinky.multiply.com/

wendy,
went to your website to take a look. Hee can tell u really love cooking and stuff! Thanks for the offer to pass me recipes...my cooking very simple one...never really tried out recipes..mostly go by 'feeling'. Hee. But next time i know if i need recipes i can look for u!
And btw u really don't look as though u've put on a lot of weight during pregnancy lah.

Re: stretch marks
i was just telling my mum i'm quite glad that i don't have any SM so far. But she said now cannot see...it's after giving birth that the SM will appear!! So we better continue applying cream after birth!

hi SY, Durianlover,

my gynae did a VE during my 39 weeks checkup and said that cervix not dilated yet. dat's y he said may be overdue. but he said water level and bb is still good. he said that bb is not big, 2.8+kg so no need to induce. even if induce, chances of success not high, may end up emergency c-section. so he doesn't recommend. he say may be overdue up to 1 week. anyways, this sat will see him again. which is my EDD. totally agree with SY that the waiting game is no fun at all. me getting impatient! keke...

hi durianlover,
u mentioned that u borrowed a pump from ur friend, issit the Advanced one? heard that it's noisier than the normal PIS, issit true?

celine,
actually i'm not sure which Medela pump it is coz it didn't come in the box. So how to tell? But i don't think it's the advanced one coz i remember my fren saying it's quite affordable.
You're getting a pump for usage when u go back to work?
my gynae also doesn't recommend induction coz he says labour will be long and in many cases end up C-section. But with my big growing baby...i also dunno how. See how lah. Yes waiting not fun!! Esp when i know my girl is growing bigger with each moment!!

durianlover,
ic... then i guess the one u tried is the mini.
erm, actually i oso don't know y i want to get it :p guess it's for expressing at nite, so that whoever assigned can do the nite feeding via bottle and i can get ample rest at nite.

is ur bb big?

celine,
my fren who lent me the Medela pump said it's useful n better than the Avent manual one..in the sense that it's faster n can pump more. But i myself haven't tried out so no comments! i guess if u intend to pump only at home, then the noise of the pump doesn't really matter right? :p

i think my baby is quite big, though not super super big lah. She's big in comparison to my size! Estimated to be 3kg at slightly less than 38wks. But it's just an estimate...so hopefully it's an over-estimate!

WEndy,
no prob. take your time to send the recipes over. i have a lot too but not easy enough..
i always on the lookout for easy recipes.

dunno whether i have enough time to leave my maid at my mum's place when i go to give birth. cos hb not coming home to sleep also. think will ask my mum whether that is needed.

celine,
if everything is still good and bb still growing, then think no need to worry abt bb being overdue. but think if bb is past 40 weeks, their bones are harder.

durianlover,
ic... guess i shall wait till after my milk is established then decide which pump to get loh. for now, i have the avent manual one. if need be, then will buy the medela.

dat's not too big lah. still alright

SY,
ya i'm not worried, juz impatient. keke... luckily my bb is not big. gynae said it's a skinny boy like mum and dad. think he wants to hit 3kg b4 he pops! :p

celine,
i m using the avent manual one too. fren said it's not bad for her so trying that out first.
i also feel impatient, now when pple ask me when m i delivering, i say i hope next week...
hope bb listens to me!

Don't worry so much. My gynae says 3.2kg to 3.4kg is a healthy weight for babies. In fact, he wants me to try to achieve that weight for my bb before giving birth but last check at 38 weeks, baby weight still estimated to be 3kg, no change from 37 weeks, so he got worried. When you're near term, I think baby has no more space to grow so they gain weight slower, but they'll still need to gain weight.

Durian,
Thanks for the compliements. The photo you saw was taken when I'm only 6 mths. I've just uploaded another 2 more photos (30 weeks and 32 weeks). Can see the difference liao. Will try to get the photos taken on Xmas day from my dad and upload again. Think this sunday I'm going to take some nice photos as momentos before I ward myself. I'll miss being pregnant and having bb inside me. After Monday must share bb with others liao...

eddjan2,
my girl is behaving the same way as your baby. I think it's the growth spurt. I fed her hrly (from start from 1 feed to the start of next feed) almost the whole of today. meaning she literally go from 1 breast to another most of the afternoon. finally get to sleep for a while just now when she slept. I think she is tired of suckling as well. just received a volunteer call from the Breastfeeding Support Group. I check with her on this and she said that it's normal for a 18 day old baby. she is looking for comfort and warmth as well besides the milk. guess we have to endure a bit. I really feel very tired and discouraged. thought that my milk is in already but the volunteer was saying that more milk will come in if I cont to feed her to her demand. we just have to endure a bit now. luckily there is TV in my room. I watched the TV in silent mode in the room now that I am stuck to the room.

Re: bathing with herbs
the herbs come in packet form and just throw the whole packet to boil. the water has a bit of herbal smell but that is better than not bathing.
gals, remember to dry yourself real dry and blow dry your hair after bathing. don't catch a cold.

may,
my gyane also checked that i m 2cm dilated on 27 dec and from the CTG scan, it shows i have regular contaction which i feel nothing. then on 28 Dec, Javier popped. So be careful. if u think bb can come out anytime, then just relax.. cos relaxing will cause the dilation to be faster.. if u think u are not ready, then dun walk too much and take more rest. treasure this very precious moment cos once bb is out.. ur life will be really busy.

mongs,
i also feel v discouraged and tired recently. yst, Javier kept crying for milk and after breast feeding him, he slept for only like less than 1 hr and cry for more again.. i was so stress and HB asked if u wan to supp him with FM.. i said u asked until like that, how can i say no right cos bb kept crying and if i said no, its like torturing the bb.. sometimes when mil or mum asked this, i also feel really stressed.. how can i say no!!
in the end i cry.. and felt really sad.. like we just wan to do our best and yet we cant do much.

jia you all mummies who popped..

and for those yet to popped, TREASURE, TREASURE and still TREASURE this v special moment with ur HB.

edd2jan,
don't feel so stressed out ya. actually there's nothing wrong with FM. if need be, juz do watever that will ease the tension and stress. afterall most of us grew up on FM and we turned out fine isn't it.

think for those of us who haven't popped, we shld b opened minded about giving FM and not be to hard on ourselves ya.... our bb is suppose to bring us a bundle of joy, not bundle of stress! so jia you everyone! :D

celine,
gynae say bb may be early. but so far no signs yet... so will go see him again this sat and hope to get a more positive update!

edd2jan,
no signs yet leh even though my last CTG showed regular contractions.

try to be easier on yourself. maybe he's going thru the growth spurt so he needs more milk? u r doing well already so dun be too hard on yourself.

re FM,
i haven't buy any yet. think if need be, can always ask hb to go and get right?

edd2jan,
don't be discouraged. it's really alright to supplement FM but always try to let him suckle till he drops and still cry, then supplement.
I am a bit stubborn, I will really go from left to right and right to left breast till I really tired. I only supplement at last feed at night. I don't want to give up, I can feel that my baby is happier after each feed now. I am also happier that she is happier.
your family support is very important. everyone wants the best for the baby and for you. they don't want you to be too tired. if you r tired, don't worry about supplementing the FM. if you think u can follow thru, cont to do so. always keep in mind that the worst is over and things are going to be better. believe in yourself. u are doing very well. Javier will appreciate your efforts in the future.