(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sept03bride
oic... but i really cant tahan my hair esp after the massage... today started my first massage... practically my whole body is oily now...
cant wait to wash my hair... i using the dry shampoo too... after apply is much better than without... but still wish to wash...

just now i asked the massage lady also... she said can wash with the herbal water only without shampoo... and must blow really really dry... then she applied a herd on my forehead said is to get ride of the "wind" so next time wont have headache.

yuen yuen
40ml is a lot? actually until now i still not sure how much clarisse needs each feed... i tried to ask the nurse yesterday in hospital... they said depends le...

are you on TBF?

To all mummies who haven't popped
maybe you all can bring a tube of nipple cream along... during the hospital stay... when there wasn't any milk supply i have to latch on clarisse to stimulate... then my nipple cracked leh... so painful... so i asked my hb went home to take my lasinoh nipple cream... after apply then is much better.

my mum is rather particular about me wanting to wash my hair. So i think ok lar, give in to her for this lar.
But my colleague did taught me this trick. She said when i need to go for check up, can make use of the chance to go hair salon to wash hair and blow dry. This is what she did also.

rachel,
yah, think i will ask my parents for help on their relatives side. dunno abt my PIL though cos they dun drive. but my hb doesn't want to do it so have to discuss later.

zhimin,
during confinement, can we use normal shampoo or can only use those dry shampoo?

sy
if you can tahan... better use the dry shampoo... but if not... den only use those herbal bath water to wash (without shampoo and a fast one) and blow really really dry immediately.

cos i delivered clarisse much earlier... i dun have chance to cut my hair shorter... so a bit irritated now cant wash.

For those mummies who have popped
my wound wash only left half a bottle like that le... if run out how ah? normally the stitches take how long to heal? i have to keep on apply the wound wash frequently?

cookie & rachel,
haha yes i know what you mean! so many public toilets have such tiny cubicles....really not suitable for pple with big tummies!! the toilet door will always like 'scratch' against my tummy when i open it. Ha i feel like a big pooh bear!
i also wake up very often to pee...like 4 or 5 times per night. i also want baby to come out on her own coz i believe that when she comes out on her own means she's ready for the world liao! So hopefully will be healthier and everything

cookie & Sept 03 bride,
my hospital bag also very big! haha i feel so kiasu bringing such a big bag, but since hubby will be the one carrying it so nvm lah.

SY,
i intend to get cakes for full-month celebration. Prefer that to vouchers too. Well try to explain to ur hb that as a friend/relative, u'll feel happier receiving cake rather than voucher...then see what he says. Or get ur parents/brother to help out with distributing the cakes?

zhimin,
thanks for the advice abt nipple cream! shall pack it in then!

Re: vege
I am having alot of vege every meal to prevent constipation and also to prevent aggravating my piles. I was taking brocoli when my MIL cooked for me but the massage lady says that brocoli cause wind in my baby tummy since I am breastfeeding so I told my MIL and she didn't cook that. she cooked spinach as well.

Re: bath
I took my 3rd bath today, now into my 3rd week of confinement. simply cannot stand myself. I wonder how my baby stand it. my hair is so smelly and I washed it twice with shampoo but still feel that it's oily. My MIL boiled the herbal thingy for me. it's really better than nothing but some people don't like it and opt not to bath. I guess it really depends on individual. there are some colleagues of mine who bathe and go out as usual after their delivery. the ang mos don't observed these traditions and yet we see them climbing mountains in their 60s. really very strong ladies.

Mummies who have yet to deliver,
I really want you gals to be real prepared for the breastfeeding part. I think I started off the wrong foot because I was a bit blurred by the sudden change in situation with the newborn and perhaps it's also the hormones.
remember to learn the right latch on technique, don't let the nurse simply push the baby mouth into your nipple. don't take pain initally as part and parcel of breastfeeding. after a few mins of chewing on the nipple, it can get real sore and that is the beginning of a vicious cycle because pain will hinder the let down. let the nurse bring the baby to your room for you to suckle at least 3 hrly.

durianlover,
yah, i will push for that again when the time comes.

how big is your bb now? mine is ard 2.5kg. my stomach is sharp sharp one...

mongs,
thanks for sharing. i know we can take certain vege but i can't remember what we can take already. think must ask again.

u use the herbal thing to wash hair also? i think i won't be able to stand not bathing and washing hair!

Hi Zhimin,
Same like u, I wanted to cut my hair shorter but bb came early too. So far washed once only with normal shampoo. Then quickly blow dry. I use herbs (those pkt type from Hock Hua) to wipe body every 2-3 days. For washing hands, I use warm boiled water with rice wine added.

Vege....can take most green types. I tink broccoli ok. Avoid those liang vege like watercrest, cabbage, cucumber, etc. Fruits like longan, apples ok. Dun eat it cold. Same... no liang fruits like pineapple, watermelon.

Btw, who's ur massage lady?

I just made appt with Mdm Rokiah for my 1st session this coming sat. Hope I will enjoy the massage. She sounds friendly thou.
Anyone tried her svc? Any comments?

wenyl,
must we wash our hands in warm boiled water with rice wine? where do we get the rice wine?

isn't it quite difficult to ensure that we have warm boiled water all the time?

SY,
Tat's what my ahma did for my mum during her confinement. Some pple say its to prevent rheumatism when old. A bit "ma fan" but i got my CL to fill up a hot water flask everyday & a pail of boiled water. Whenever i want to wash hands, I just use a container to mix some warm water & add rice wine. Can last me whole day. Rice wine can get from provision shops. Get those cheap ones will do...$1+ per bottle.

SY - i'm oso not celebrating my bb gal full month. i giving cake voucher. i oso bought the dry shampoo from Guardian pharmacy (Klorane) Really cant tahan that unable to wash hair.

mashy - i oso got constipation problem. But my mum still dont allow me to eat certain veg.

Re: Bathing
I have been bathing every alternate days since the 2nd day I'm home for the 1st week and every day since 2nd week... Secretly wash hair twice (with shampoo of coz) when MIL not at home during the first week with the support of HB. MIL suddenly asked 1 day on the 2nd week "how many times u washed hair already?" I didn't lie n said Twice. From then on since i dun have to "hide" anymore I continue to wash hair every alternate days as well. Of coz she frown on it but i dun care lah... confinement so hot n sweaty plus hair oil n smelly aiyo how to tahan? Plus think it affected my mood as well coz i become quite man zhang with every thing. I started bathing Baby everyday too from the 2nd day we're home so all the more i feel so dirty carrying such a clean n nice smelly baby...

Oh yes I bathed with boiled herbal water with soap n shampoo. Not supposed to add tap water but MIL always only boil 2 pots of herbal water (enough only to fill 2/3 of a normal big pail) n expect me to bath where got enough??? Plus she always tell me water cold already quickly go bath when its only less than half hour after the water was boiled. I tried to tell her water still VERY hot must wait and she'll ask me to go bath again in 15 mins. I gave up n didn't bother to ask her to boil extra water also so I everytime just add more tap water myself.

Re: Massage
Had my first massage today by Mdm Ratna as recommended by my aunty. She's a very nice lady n overall I would say I'm happy with her service n the full body massage (which does not leave you oily n sticky) really make me feel so much more relax. She applied some herbs on my tummy n finished off by a tight binding cloth. But one thing after she left my tummy got sooo itchy for more than half hour that i really cannot sleep n cannot scratch also. Must ask her tomorrow if its normal. She's also very flexible with the payment when i told her I forgot to prepare the cash for her she say no worries can pay her on the last day. Btw she charges $400 for 7 consecutive days of massage.

Sept03 bride,

Most probably I will be engaging Neo Gdns too for my bb 1st mth. My inlaws used them for my bro-in-law's wedding last sun. Overall received quite good feedback from relatives. Called them today & found out they stopped giving 20%disc for 1st mth...claiming its CNY period. *sigh!*

mongs,
does the herbal bath leave a herbal smell on your body? i'm intending to use herbal bath but can't imagine if i end up smelling like chinese herbs!

SY,
i'm seeing my gynae later this evening so i'll get another more updated estimate of her weight. 1 wk ago baby was abt 2.6kg. Wow ur baby has caught up on his weight! Think 2.5kg is a gd weight already
See...dun worry, baby will put on lots of weight in the last few wks! Hee your tummy really sharp sharp one...just like what pple say abt mothers who are expecting baby boys
My tummy is also quite sharp n very huge! Someone actually asked if i'm carrying twins!?! So sad right!!

clare,
does Mdm Ratna have any package for 3 days or something like that? i wld like to try out postnatal massage but dun want so many days...

wenyl,
think i will ask my CL whehter need to get the rice wine. think shd be ok if i ask my hb to get.

clare,
u very good leh. bathe so often. i also think i will be like that!

your MIL so funny. ask u to go bathe when water so hot. too hot also not good for the skin.

wenyl,
u mean neo gardens got 20% usually? what are the nicer things they provide? seems like so many pple using.

durianlover,
i think my one week leave did help in bb to put on weight. this week come back to work dunno whether he will continue to put on. lucky got quite a few public hol recently....

mongs
thanks for the reminder. will remind myself to be alert by tat time n not blur blur let the nurse push us around. worst come to worst i know i can look for help n advise here if i encounter any problem.

SY
my tummy is sharp sharp n low low one. last friday gynae told me my bb is 3.1KG liao!!! haha jia luck!

Yah loh. Older generation really don't understand what is BF. Worse still my HB also not educated enough and actually suggested that we try FM when he got impatient with BB's mang zhangness. So I flared up and force him to go read up on BF.

Re. Bathing
Good (and bad) thing about my MIL as a CL, she's seemed quite ignorant about some of the confinement rules. So far, I have bathed everyday with the herbs, soap & shampoo (my MIL doesn't even know that such herbs existed!) and I washed my hair alternate days in the beginning. Now weather so wet, I washed after every 2 days.

Mongs,
I can't imagine that you only bathed once a week!
How to tahan man! But luckily weather nowadays quite cool.

With MIL as my CL, I have been wearing disposable panties daily, save the hassle of washing possibly blood stained undies. I asked my MIL whether she minds washing my clothes, she says ok as long as no undies. So heehee, I told not to worry, I'm wearing disposables! In any case, last time whenever I stayed over, I washed my own undies lah.

Mummies popping soon,
I agree with mongs that if you are determine to BF, must really be prepared for the nipple soreness and possibly cracked nipples during the 1st 2 days when your BB is suckling. Cos both you and your BB is learning from each other to BF. And it will hurt loh. So don't be put off, and not reject when nurse bring BBs to you to BF every 3 hours. Must try at least 10 mins both breasts! And yes, nipple cream will definitely help!

Zhimin,
When I had engorgement, I could only express 30mls from both breasts! So your 40 mls not bad liao. Don't worry, you'll be able to express more soon!

Zhimin
Not on TBF, with my 20-30mls how to TBF, giving FM whenever there is no more express BF available. Very stress during the first two weeks but with the support from this forum, now think that FM also OK as long as bb is growing otherwise bb so poor thing, hungry and I have not enough BF to give.

Queen
My husband know about BM but impatient whenever bb cry and will insist that I give FM. So stress previously but now it is OK as long as everyone is happy and get to get some sleep.

Mashy,
They're both Singaporeans and they live just 5 min away from us..

Wenyl
I'm also getting Mdm Rokiah to do my massage. Do let me know if she's good
HOw much did she charge you?

Brocoli,
Brocoli causes wind in your tummy. Better not eat too much.

sept03bride/durainlover
hahaah what a relief..to know you have big bag too..hehehehe...
my big bag contain only 1 sweater for my HB.. the rest is for me and bb

like u too... since I not the one carrying heheheh so never mind..
my HB was telling me.. wow such big bag and so heavy!!... the bigger bag u bring the more stuff u take along...

SY
I also thinking of full mth celebration but my HB also not keen ley... I also think it's a time to share the good news and joy with friends and relative...
As we do not meet up with some frequently, I think is good that they know our baby has arrive.
I'm also thinking of personalise Chocolate bar for guest that come and for office colleagues to make it special

Mong
Thanks for your good advice on BF... I will remember that...
I hope will encounter a supportive and experience nurse. ya I think we need to learn the proper BF method esp in hospital when the nurse can help..

wendyl/sy
I rec'd neogarden's latest leaflet too.. and the 20% discount start only from 27th Feb onward... I suppose that is last day of CNY or what...
somemore they have strict condition to entitle for the 20%, bb must be +-1week from full mth date...20% discount is alot ley....
Hmm.. so far I tried NeoGarden on 2 different occassion.. and their food taste nice lor...
even my fussy HB also say their food nice, my friends who are at the same function with me also agree... so I suppose their cooking is not bad lar.

No news from SSF and MamaChan... think they have popped.

I might be the next one.. will keep all of u updated. Cos today I went to see doc. He say my cervix has opened 2cm but bb has not engaged. I can choose to induce on Fri. But I dun want to. Let it pop naturally. But he say most likely can delay until sat or sun only. If fast, it will be within this 2 days. Not necessary bb head must engaged then can give birth. The delivery time might be longer for me as compared to those has already engaged. Estimate my bb gal will be 3.2kg. So excited now...

Hi, im god's child sista posting on her behalf.

Baby Celeste has arrived today at 5pm. She weighs at 2.965kg, 48cm and looking very pretty. She will post her birth story when she is bk on friday.

May,
Don't worry too much. I'm inducing on Monday and my cervix has not dilated, neither has my bb engaged. Hopefully friday will hear better news from my gynae. He's also getting worried cuz I'll be 40 weeks on Saturday and my water level is dropping. I'm also worried I'll have a long labour. I've been walking and standing alot throughout pregnancy but my cervix just refuses to budge.

Full month celebration
I will definitely be celebrating full month. Baby is my husband's side only grandchild as my hubby is the only child and only male in the family. All his cousins are girls. Also, its also my close to my birthday, so double celebration. Hee! Hee! Think we'll go for the same caterer we got for our wedding. The food is delicious and the price is very reasonable.

SY,
I think I'll be giving out the cakes and red eggs to relatives who come for the celebration. Will only deliver to those who are unable to come. Don't really like the idea of giving vouchers and cards.. feel its not sincere enough.

god's child,
congrats on your baby celeste!! hope we can see her pretty pic soon..

may,
yah SSF and Mamachan missing today. sure will hear more birth stories.

so u may be next! so exciting...as more and more mummies pop, i wonder when is my turn!

wenyl, cookie,
i never tried neogardens before. but u gals make it sound very good.

mongs, queen,
thanks for all the advice. initially i din think i need to bring my nipple cream. now i better put it in!

wendy
so u will see bb soon! i m trying to walk more so that bb will engage. hope this sat when i go see gynae will have better news. my water level went up. strange that though u stand and walk so much, your cervix still not open...

my hb is also only son but not only male so i guess not so impt to have the celebration and he hates going to the trouble. i also think it's nice to give out cakes if i m not having celebration. esp if pple have given gifts of well wishes. will convince him again. if not i complain to MIL..

hi gals, mealso have been engaging Mdm Rokiah 4 mine massage for the past 5 days, overall she is good & helpful... anythin regarding confinement can ask her. rite now, my hands are really aching... think because i have been washing my hands as usual... think the charges are the same.... 5 for $300, 7 for $400 & 10 for $570...

Mashy - our bb are born the same day... i will probably have my full month on the 27 jan'06.

god's child, SSF, mamachan,
congrats!! can't wait to hear from you all!

wendy,
seems like ur baby is very comfy in the womb...well u'll never know what can happen within the next few days so just wait n see

dear mummies,
i just went to see my gynae and feel kinda stressed now. Guess what?? Baby put on 0.4kg within 1 week and is now estimated to be 3kg!! Gynae said that my baby is growing very fast. Coz at 35wks she was 2.2kg, then 37wks was 2.6kg, then now at 38wks she's 3.0kg. So it's a constant steady growth. Means if i were to carry till full-term she'll be super big (3.8kg?) at the rate she's growing and may have to deliver by C-section!! i really don't want to deliver by C-section just because baby's too big. So now i feel kinda stressed.

Gynae said i can choose to induce baby out before baby grows too big. But warned that induction also has its risks coz labour will be long and also chance of emergency C-section. But then if i don't induce and just wait for baby to come out, then baby might prob be too big for me to deliver naturally at full term too so may also end up in C-section. Looks like i'm in a fix.

i can only hope that baby will pop soon...in the next few days!! Or hope that gynae's estimation of baby's weight is an OVER-estimate! Hmm...

durianlover,
maybe u try to work more the next few days?? your bb really grow very fast!! hope my bb will be abt 2.7-2.8kg this week. then if born next week think quite a good weight

dun feel too stressed. the estimate may be off.....

Durianlover,
My doc used to say I am putting weight too fast oso. And ask me to control my diet abit. Now just right lor.. abt 3.2kg..not too big not too small. Anyway it is an estimation only, might not be very accurate.

yuen yuen,
nope i m not holding my full mth on 28 dec. instead i m holding it on 22 dec cos like you said, 28 dec sure no one wans to come.

tabbiesus,
frankly i have no idea which caterer to choose. kept hearing that neo garden is good but i think their price is of the higher side.

queen,
my Javier is also like that. first 2 weeks, at least he woke up on a 3 hrs interval for feed but now all goes haywire. sometimes also 1 hr.. and i agree putting him to sleep is a challenge. he can be asleep while feeding on the breast and once u put him down, he will goes 'eik eik' again and then cry for MORE!!! what is going on man.. and its really stress when MIL or MUM kept asking if he had enough etc etc and asked whether wan to supp with FM.. but i told them he just 'ork' milk and this shld show that he is full right? its really getting v stressed at times when we wan to give bb the best but then no one seems to understand (execpt for my HB). he is really supportive and i think i really cant do all these without him.

Durian,
Yeah, I also think bb very comfy inside, dun wanna come out. Hahaha. Anyway, don't worry too much abt bb weight. My gynae say above 38 weeks very hard to get accurate weight of bb. All based on clinical estimation and your weight gain. Just try not to overeat and you'll be fine. I was also worried abt bb being too big initially as she was also 2.9 kg at 37weeks. Last checkup at 38 weeks, I lost almost 1.5kg instead so my gynae got worried that bb is not gaining weight.

God's Child,
COngratulations! Can't wait to see Princess Celeste pretty pics & read abt ur exciting birth story!

Wendy,
Dunno how much Mdm Rokiah will charge me but read in the forum her pkg is $300/5 sessions or $400/7sessions. She only told me she dun charge for cloth binder.

Cookie,
So disappointed hor! Neo Gdns 20% is a lot of savings to us. Now the only promo I can get is the weekday promo price as I will be holding on Fri nite (actual day).

Pochacco,
Was the massage done on the floor using a thin mattress (as recommended by her)? Or can we do it on the bed (more comfy)? How long is the duration of each massage session? Is it more than 1 hr? Did she massage ur bb as well? Was it smelly or oily after the massage?
By the way, r u staying in SengKang? She mentioned this week she got 3 customers from SK.

wendyl
ya lor... 20% is alot ley... imagine total $1000 can save $200 liao.
I'm hoping when I do the full mth celebration, they have re-open their offer.

SY
my HB abit like yours like.. only son but not only child and he also not keen on celebration...
but fortunately we both dun like giving out cake voucher... so we will give CHoz cake but I will be convincing if he is ok to full mth celebration.
I'm looking at personalise choc bar too but he said is waste of $...but I tok is a good way to make pple rem the event and also thanks them... at most I pay for the choc bar lor...

i want to post pic of my bb gal but how to post? Can anyone guide me cos i'm not gd at computer.

God'child - Congratulation on the arrival of your baby princess

Durianlover - Dont stress. Talk to your bb (ask bb to come out soon) n maybe can control your diet n see whether it helps or not. Frankly speaking, i oso afriad of c-section cos it takes time to heal. But i tell myself that so long bb is fine n healthy its worth the pain.

edd2jan,
glad to hear that you have a supportive hb. think tat's the most impt. if hb not supportive it is hard to continue BF.

javier so cute! post more pics when u have time!

cookie,
worst come to worst, i will tell hb he can give out cake vouchers on his side and i want to give cake on my side..haha...

hi 2x Times Mummies,

anybody know abt the baby bonus..
After we registered get the birth cert..can we straight away get an account for our bb.

need your advice on something. my MIL wants to do reunion dinner at my place (even though i m giving birth ard that time). she's planning what to cook at my place. i dun really like the idea of someone using my kitchen plus i have a maid who can cook for us. anyway, hb has already agreed to let his family come to our place. so now that my MIL is planning what to cook at my place, i want hb to tell her what to buy for me to eat or i think it's quite pointless to have the dinner at our place. i dun think MIL will cater for me so better tell her upfront what i can eat.

for soup, she was planning to cook those carrot, potato soup. can i drink that during confinement?

i told hb must buy fish cos i must eat fish during confinement. for vege, what are the vege that we can take? i only remember we must avoid cabbage, spinach, brocoli.

what other things can we take?

SY,
Typical confinement food includes black vinegar, black sesame oil, Kidney, liver, loin pork aka Yao Rou (the tenderloin, very soft part), chicken, threadfin aka baby fish (ma you yu in cantonese) and eggs. As for vegetables, caixin and kailan is fine. Try to avoid all foods that cause wind like cabbage, wong bok, spinach, brocoli, cauliflower, beans (esp baked beans) and onions. Avoid cooling foods like winter melon, water melon, coconut, pineapples, oranges, etc (your lochia already expected to be heavy, you won't want it to get heavier right?)

As for herbs, my dad has prepared 30 packets of mixed dates (black dates, southern dates, red dates, logan, and some other herbs which I cant remem the names) for me to take everyday. Then, there's dang1 gui1, ginseng (be careful abt ginseng though, avoid the cooling type ginseng like American Ginseng or Hua1 Qi2 Sen1. Can take Wild type Pao Seng or Ye3 San1 Pao4 Sen1), du zhong and birds nest. For a more comprehensive list, you can go to a reputable chinese medicine hall and enquire. Otherwise, I can try to get the list from my dad and post it here.

Ask your MIL double boil Chicken Soup with Korean Ginseng or GLazed Honey Chicken baked in Dang Gui so all can eat. Also more suitable for renuion dinner right? They can also eat confinement food if they don't mind the ginger and heatiness. If not, just ask them eat steamboat like my IL. Save everybody the trouble. I can post u some recipes if u need