(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF,
u still ard or go to hosp already? your hb is so funny. getting ready to go hosp..

mashy,
your boy is good!! think if my boy can be so guai and quiet when he wakes up, my hb will let him stay in the room.

god's child,
so excited for u too!! tmr u will be able to hear your darling's cries!

rachel,
yeah, maybe we will end up being in KK at the same time!

sleepingdeer/Yuen2,
My Isaac is only feeding at 2 hrs interval in the day only for the past 3 days. At night still 3 hours interval. 2 hrs feed, that I can handle. It's getting him to sleep after feed that's the problem. Now in the day, he will refuse to sleep after feed and will mang zhang. Sometimes giving the pacifier will quiet him down for a while. When I hold and pat him, he'll seemed to have drift off to sleep but once I set him down into his cot, he'll wake up after a while and mang zhang again! How??? Does that mean he needs the sarong? Jialat!

Now my MIL (who's my CL) thinks Isaac is mang zhang cos he's always not full. And she's sort of hinting that maybe my BM may not be enough for him, says things like we don't know how much BM he's taking from direct latch, that's why he's mouthing away and ask me whether I squeeze my breasts when feeding him (meaning she thinks my breasts not producing milk???). Suggest that I try giving him FM and see whether he settles better.

I'm quite unhappy about it... Milk is practically squirting out non-stop once Isaac latch on (I know cos sometimes when I pull him off to reposition him, milk will shoot out). And Isaac poos a lot! At least 3 big poos and sometimes even have a bit of poo when he farts. So he must be having enough milk right?

Sigh...
Isaac was quite easy to handle during the 1st two weeks once the 3 hours routine is established. Now seems like haywire liao... Also dunno how to pacify him or get him to sleep.

Re. feeding water
My mom also insists on giving BB water. I think no harm giving him 5 to 10 mls or so once/twice a day. I tried to but seems like my Isaac doesn't like water leh. He doesn't swallow when when bottle feed him water. I don't insist lah as long as he pees a lot.

Sysa,
How do you stretch Cephas night feed such that he can sleep more than 4 or 5 hours?

cookie

depends on whether your hb staying over. for my case the only item beside view cam and digital cam is his sweater. so me will be bring 1 bag only.

SY

haha.. right now my tummy is very hard like rock... maybe is contraction...??
remember your EDD is 29 Jan, mine is 25 Jan. so really vy high chance tat we will meet =)

queen
regarding your MIL, assure her tat Isaac is feeding well. maybe show her all isaac's poos to show tat he eating alot inorder to poo so much right? heehee maybe like tat she will stop nagging you liao? your Isaac keep getting mang zhang maybe is bcoz he is oso trying to adjust to things around him? always heard ppl say if sometime we carry bb to much and they like it and once we put them down they will start crying.. maybe its this reason...

Queen
Bryant is the reverse, he feed 3 hrs interval in the day and 2 hrs interval at night and refuse to go to sleep after the night feeds especially from 1 a.m. onwards.

My mother is the same as your MIL, when I latch on directly previously, she will ask very minutes whether the bb is drinking and have milk or not. Of course have milk if not the bb is not stupid and will be crying away right.

I have given up on direct latch on as Bryant have gotten use to the teat and flow that he refuse my breast as the flow is slower and needs effect from him.

Anyway, I am not expressing enough for him so we have 2 feed per day on FM and I do give about 5ml of water after the FM feed as I think the FM is quite thick and there is always so residue in his mouth.

Not so stress now on the breast feeding part as when we go back to work also have to express what and I will be returning to work after 7 weeks i.e. 20 Feb which is shorter than expected.

edd2jan
I think no harm giving alittle water but not too much that the bb feel full and refuse to drink milk. I give about 10mls a water (5mls each after FM)

Hi Queen/Yuen yuen,
why are all mums and Mils like that? My mum too, she has been putting pressure on me to try FM and bottle feeds coz she is worried that Shannon is not getting enough and she thinks that her crying at night is due to hunger, coz Shannon always wants to feed every hour at night... and she is afraid Shannon will be sticky to me and give her a hard time after I return to work. I am getting stressed listening to her, and she even roped in my dad yesterday to advise me on FM! Everyday, I feel more like giving up and just do total FM and forget about BM... been telling her over and over again about BM, and there's no such thing as not enough milk, just whether we have patience to train up our supply, and she can still ask me is it not enough milk...!!! Arrrgghhh!

BTW, mummies, if we give FM, how much should we give? Yesterday we tested the Nuk teat and Shannon had no problem with it... in fact she gluped down the 50ml I made for her in 2 min, no joke! After that, she still latched on for 20min, so this is making me confused, how much should a bb drink in a day? We learnt in class that estimate will be 150ml X weight of bb, so that works out to 450ml a day for Shannon. I still have to divide the amount by no. of feeds, ie 8, so she should be drinking only 50ml per feed isn't it? Why is she still hungry, and latches on for more? ANy mummy can advise how much your bb drink by bottle each feed? And is it normal to be able to gulp 50ml of milk in 2min?

Queen, Yuen Yuen and Sleepingdeer,
ya, I agree that my mother is the same as your mums and in laws. she is so discouraging. my MIL is the opposite. she encourage me to let Clariss suckle whenever she knows that Clariss is hungry. it's really a blessing that my MIL is doing the confinement for me. however, I am equally stressed because Clariss has been feeding at 1 hr interval since yesterday. I think it's her growth spurt. heard that it happens in the 3rd week. today is the 17 day for her.

Queen,
did you burp Issac after his feed. it's very impt to do that. from now till 3 months, some baby becomes colicky and there is no explanation for that. my sister's son was like that for 3 months and after 3 months, it just disappear. If you have a rocker where he can lie semi upright, he maybe better. my Clariss enjoyed her awake time at the rocker (semi-upright) listen to the fish tank compressor humming and water sounds. we seldom rocked her.

Sleepingdeer,
I have thoughts about giving up breastfeeding as well earlier on. so tired and stressed that I cried a couple of times. even my MIL saw me crying. but I will advise you not to give up. you heard about the Breastfeeding support group in singapore. call them to talk to them. go online to read about some of the experiences some of the mothers shared. u will feel better. their hotline is 63393558. we are all young and new mothers and will definitely feel lost and discouraged but all we want is the best for our kid so don't be too pressurised and discouraged.

for FM, I will advise that you let her drink only after she has suckle on both side of your breasts and when she root for more. I control the quantity of FM because I don't want her to be too full that she sleep for 4-5 hrs at a go. I don't give FM in the day. only FM as a supplement for her last feed. I let her suckle both breasts for 1hr until she don't want, then wake her up a bit and give her the FM. she will be able to last from 11pm to 3am-4am. I intend to replace this FM with my EBM once I have enough to go through the day. now she suckle at 1 hr interval so I don't have much to expressed in between. it will take 2-3days to simulate the milk production so hopefully, 2-3 days later, my production on meet her demand and the intervals can be stretched.

Mongs
I think it is due to the growth spurt, last night and this morning Bryant was feeding every 2 hrs drinking about 50mls.

sleepingdeer
Bryant is also drinking more than his weight. Should be alright as i read somewhere should feed on demand, no point making them go hungry, but my mother keeps asking me am i over feeding him, that why he poos every night!!!!!

Sometime feel so frustrating, as if i am going to harm the bb with my action. sigh....

morning mummies

Finally can chat with u mummies liao.

i oso have problem BF. I only manage to pump out 30ml BF. Anyone encounter tis problem?

sleepingdeer - my bb gal on FM cos i have problem latching her on. She oso drink a lot. (now only 7 days and yesterday she drink abt 50ml, i was so worried that she over fed) now i very stress.

Log in while waiting for my massage lady to come. Today's my First day of massage even though I delivered on 24 Dec... she was busy first week then say yesterday hari Raya so earliest can only come today. Its been 3 weeks already also dun know the massage still effective anot. Thought of not doin it anymore but then have been having bodyaches all over (can always hear my bones go "cluck cluck cluck" whenever i stretch) so think think better do the massage hopefully it'll be similar to those Spa Aromatherapy/Javanese body massage type...

Hi SY,

When baby is out, you will be given a health booklet. In there, there will be a schedule of when & which jabs to take. Not to worry, the table is very clear to follow. Cephas took was given Hep B jab at birth and he took his 2nd dose last week when he turned a month old. Next jab is when he is 3 months. I have a choice of bringing him to NUH or the polyclinic. HB & I are thinking of bringing him to NUH for his jabs.

Hi Queen,

Cephas is drinking 100mls now. We kept him awake after his 6.30pm feed yesterday. Then he drank at 10.30pm and slept until 5.20am this morning for the next feed. Maybe keeping baby awake for w hile is a trick. However, he is into his 2nd month now so I think it is okie.

Your baby isn't one month old yet right? Maybe for now, you have to tahan for a while for the night feeds. I was also waking up every 2.5-3 hrs when Cephas was not yet a month old. Had to set alarm to go off 1-2 hr b4 feedg time to thaw the frozen EBM & wait for him to wake up. It was a tiring period. Somehow, babies will change after they turn a month old.

Yuenyuen
It's start time to the next start time. So means if i express at 3pm, next time at 6pm regardless of the time i pump. Hhaa, read today in the papers that i should not overpump. Think i overdid it. Yesterday, my boy was very tired and drank from 1 breast, then my other breast felt engorged and i had to express the milk out.

Yah, all ILs are so xxxxx. My ILs came to visit yesterday night and was playing with my boy throughout. End up my boy was so t if tired and didn't have energy to suck.
And, my IL still dare to tell me to rest more during this month! Ai yoh, i would have rested if they didn't come! End up i was even more tired, and so is my boy. So told my hb i'm banning all visiting at night.

Re: Feeding Water
My ILs also asked abt giving water to bb. Showed them the booklet from PD which advised against giving water if we're breastfeeding.
Then they didn't insist.

So long as bb peed and shit enough, it's ok. I suggest keeping a record of your bb's poo and pees so that can use as proof that your bb is feeding. Else where did all those come from? Hehe.

For those yet to pop, and intending to bf, I suggest that u tell the nurses to cupfeed if u let your bb have FM at the hospital. Then bb won't have nipple confusion. You can do that at home too, but it's rather troublesome and time consuming.

RE: Breast Feeding
I asked my gynae abt mixing FM and BM last week. He was telling me:" If u want to mix feeding ur bb 2 different kinds, feed ur bb FM with spoon and not thru milk bottle. Bcos the flow from the milk bottle is faster that ur breast. BB will get frustrated drinking BM when she is too used to the fast flow from the milk bootle."

Not sure if I should try that or not. Cos I intend to use FM at night, so that she can sleep longer.

i guess SSF & God's Child & Mamachan are popping now? Or have already popped??
Do update us!!

clare,
how's ur massage? let me know if it's good and the contact. Thanks!!

rachel, cookie & SY,
are we the only 4 left who have yet to pop? Heh. i think i won't be popping so soon...can't tell also. My girl seems to be very comfy in the womb! Though i am feeling v uncomfy all the time now...having problems sleeping at night! And i've been 'injuring' my tummy quite a bit coz keep knocking my tummy into things. Heh blame it on my poor judgement on the size of tummy!

rachel,
tummy hard like rock is contraction, but it's only 'practising contraction' - according to my gynae. My tummy has been super hard on and off since weeks ago but still no sign of delivery...

durianlover..
me too, not yet pop. I have got unfomfy feelings like u nowadays and very tight tummy. Esp at night, got prob sleeping..

Good morning all!

So envious you gals can TBF. Now Clarisse in hospital for observation i only visit her once a day and try to latch her on. Not possible for me to opt for TBF.

Now i also start to feel a bit pressurize regarding different point of views which my MIL has. She is my CL and sometimes i also dun like the idea dat within this month she needs to serve me food and do laundry for me... like i no respect like dat. (you all get wat i mean?) and sometimes she is quite stubborn on her view too...

i got a few doubts need some help...

1) during confinement can we eat vegetables? my mum said too "cooling".

2) when we take the herbal bath can we use shampoo and bathing gel? or just use the herbal water only.

3) clarisse got a bit of jaundice... i heard dat if i breastfeed my diet should not have too much ginger? but my mil cook every dish and every meal with lots of ginger le.

4) any mommy using canon ixus? can the red light be removed? i scared the red light always flash into clarisse eyes le... she seems irritated by the light sometimes too.

Morning Zhimin,

I have bought disposable panties so that my mum won't have to wash that for me. I feel paiseh even though my mum will soon to be my CL. MIL is worse still.. difficult to open ur mouth to tell her do things..but no choice =(

(1)
Heard from my mum that we can't eat certain veg during confinement. Esp, spinach. Too cooling. But not sure what else can we eat.

(3)
I heard abt that also. Maybe can request ur MIL to reduce the amt of ginger?

hey durianlover,
me oso haven pop yet.. waiting anxiously..

Zhimin,
yes, during confinement we can eat vegetables. I read that we can eat veg like kailan. Even fruits we can take also, not a problem

my mum say jus use the herbal bath can liao.. mus take a quick shower not those super long bath. Scared wind will enter our body

durian,
I also havent pop yet ma. I'm going in to pop on Monday 16th.

Mashy,
At least ur IL visiting only. My ILs want to stay in my house during CNY period. Upset quite a few of my plans for the nursery. Gotta clear 1 room and change plans for nursery specially to accomodate them. I refused to waste money buying a new bed and show my hb black face all night. In the end, hb had to give in & my old bed from my parent's place instead.

May,
Stay away from cooling and windy vegetables. These include cabbage, wong bok, brocolli, cauliflower, radish. Cant remem wad else is there though.. Memory getting a little poor.

Sept03,
My dad keeps all the peeled ginger skin from the gingers for the ginger vinegar pig trotters for me to bathe. Supposed to use that together with some herbal bath he bought for me to get rid of "wind"

Zhimin,
Still have to stay away from cooling fruits like pineapples, watermelons, etc until confinement is over I think.

may
ya i wearing disposable panties too... but asked her to help out to do laundry, cooking and some light housework i still find not comfortable with the idea... but no choice... like this morning, she actually served me the whole bowl to my front... u know like i no respect like dat...

sept03bride
can use the herbal water to wash hair?

breastfeed
this morning i only managed to express 40ml of milk from both side, is it too little? my engorgement started yesterday... sometimes in hospital i latch clarisse on but i not sure whether she has enough le? then she always fall asleep halfway!

SSF
thanks.. I'm taking 2 bedder so HB wont be staying over... unless I change my mind last min

Finally I pack my hospital bag... and it's a BIG over nite bag...
I wonder if other mummy also pack a big bag
) like gng for short trip like that...heehee..

Sleeping deer
Thanks for the info on massge lady... wow she is really not cheap ah....phew...
By the way... I have heard very good comment on Dr Ho's skill... so far ok for you ??
he told me last time.. will try to make our expereince painless...

durainlover
heehee... ya I'm waiting also.. my EDD 29 Jan so far everything seems fine and bb also seems comfy inside me ley
I also had problem sleeping well and soundly. My dreams are coming back and also need to wake up in the nite for at least 2 times to pee... so sian and becos of the weight on tummy... walking got pelvic pain lor...
but no matter what discomfort, I hope bb can come out on her own time own target and not induce.

Rach
I also pack all in one bag... and it's a big bag...heehee...

durianlover
seems like its me, you, cookie, SY, May, wendy and sept 03 not yet pop... anyone else???
my boy oso very comfy inside me! me oso having problem sleeping, these few days really eye big big and keep wanting to get up to pee. after returning fr toilet will stare at my hb sleeping so soundly beside me and tat will took me at least 45 mins before i can drift off to sleep again...
recently i oso injure my tummy =p during one time shower my finger nail scratch my tummy and left a long red line till now =( tummy really getting in the way when wan to close or open those public toilet cubical door. haha

wendy,
my mum bought those packets of herb from the chinese physician shops for me to bathe. SO i guess i will only be using that to bathe.

May,
i have also bought disposable panties.. dun feel good to ask my mum (who is my CL) to wash my panties.

Zhimin,
my mum said she will not allow me to wash my hair for 1 mth. i will be using the powder for my hair. Although i think it sounds gross not to wash my hair for 1 mth, but i rather endure for 1 mth than suffer in future.
I have frequent headaches prior to my pregnancy so decided not to risk it by washing my hair.

I am also waiting for the delivery of my girl. EDD is 21 Jan. Yesterday went to supermarket. While queueing to pay, I was hyper-ventilating and had fainting spells. Thought its TIME! But after sitting down for few mins, I was ok to go back home. Sigh...

Has anyone thought of where to hold there one month celebration yet?

edd2jan,

I have 2 caterers in mind:
1. neogarden
2. fostre

I think I will be holding it on the second day of CNY cos my baby born on 30 Dec. Prob... CNY menu is so ex... was thinking of holding it later ie. 4 feb/5 feb instead... but my parents feel that we should do it during CNY, since relatives will be coming over anyways.

do you have any other caterers in mind?

rachel,
I am also have problem sleeping. But the biggest problem is my itchy tummy! The stretch mark is red and I cant stop scratching. Got an anti-itch oinment from gynae to apply but does not seems to work.
Now, the itch also spread to my calf... Sigh, itchy here; itchy there!

Casey,
I used to have itchy tummy too. Stopped since my gynae gave me the Dermaveen bath lotion and Dermaveen moisturising lotion. I recommeneded it to rachel also but dunno if it has helped her.

rachel,
u still having contractions? yah think quite likely we will meet.
hee i just asked my mum how long her labor was when she had me and my bro. she said first one was 4 hours and second one 2 hours. i hope mine is so short like hers too!!

zhimin,
i know what u mean. that was my concern as well and reason why i din wan MIL to be my CL. i will find it hard to ask her to do things. but in your case, since MIL has done the things without u asking, maybe after your confinement, u can show your appreciation for her by getting a gift for her?

casey, rachel, durianlover,wendy,may, sept03bride, cookie...
seems like quite a few of us haven pop yet!
wonder who will be next!

i m hoping my boy will come out after this sat. on one hand, can't wait to see him and on the other, wan to enjoy this stage a bit longer..though it's not that enjoyable.

for your first month, are most of you giving cakes or holding celebration? i want to give cakes but hb just wants to give vouchers. feel so pissed with him and feel that i got no say. i hinted to him that i shd have a say over such things cos i have harder time than him. dunno whether he gets the hint or not

Wendy / Casey
wendy thanks for the recommendation! =) no more itch tummy for me! yahoo!
i bought a bottle of Dermaveen moisturising lotion from guradiance. after applying a few times (a small amount each time) and the itch is gone!

casey, if you wan i can prepare some for you and pass to you? its quite a big bottle and i seem to use only less than 5% of it... which area you live?

Rachel,
How kind of you. I bought Palmers previously and it did not seems to help too!

I am staying at Dover area and working in Alexandra area.

SY
me only keep having those hardening of tummy. till now only a few time of clamp ard my lower abdominal...
wow think you will have a high chance of short labour!!! me not the forturate... my mum went through ard 8 to 10 hours before she gave give to me... i believe its a "pass-down" thing from mother to daughter. coz for my aunties side they all went through c sect, i mean "All" my aunts wor! imagine all sisters went through c sect and can't natural...

for my case had discuss w hb tat not going to hold any one month party, coz bb will be small n i will be still in the adjusting stage... so most pro will only give cake and red egg lo. maybe you just talk to your hb wat you wish to have?? sometime hinting really dun works for man =p

casey
its fine, you r welcome! we mummies must help each other =) anyway it will be wasteful too to buy the whole bottle and use only a small amount. im working at IMM Jurong area... do your hb drive, if yes can ask him to get from me. no need us mummies to travel ard too =p too bad our car not here yet.

Rachel,
How about I send u a self-addressed envelop with postage paid? That way, you can just pop the cream into the envelop and send it to me? You don't have to incur any postage?

1st month party
we will be having a buffet. Think we will also be getting some boxes of cakes from Choz as well.
For buffet, most likely will be getting from Neo Gardens. We have used them previously during our wedding, not too bad. So likely we will use them again.

hi all Mummies,

From my previous birth, please still continue to apply the stretch mark cream even though you have give birth. My stretch mark only come after gave birth to my first son, still lossing weight.

casey
its fine with me. so i PM you my full addresss? is it all right if i transfer the cream into a small zip-lock bag and drop and seal into the envelop you sending me?

Sept03 bride
I bath and washed my hair twice already since giving birth on 28 Dec. Previously when I had my first girl I did the same and had no problem so did the same this time round. But note that I went through c-section and not natural birth so didn't know whether there is a diff.

I need to back to gynae for follow-up on the second week. Image not bathing, I think my gynae will faint man.

Zhimin
40mls is alot, I am two weeks into BF and can only squeeze 40mls on good days if not it only 20-30mls.

edd2jan
Are you having the first month celebration on 28 Jan which is CNY eve? Bryant was delivered on the same day as Javier but if I hold it on 28Jan, I doubt many people will turn up.

rachel,
Yes pls put the cream into a small bag. You can PM me your full address. And pls also estimate how much postage must I put on the self-addressed envelop.
20g - $0.23
40g - $0.31
100g - $0.50

I guess if put $0.50, it should be more than sufficient. Thanks very much!

I have not popped too...everyday thinking whether is it the day? Anxious but have to wait....

trying to enjoy the last few days but tired and frustrating too and painful if I have pelvic pain...

rachel,
i hope i will be like my mum. dunno whether really will follow my mum. will know after i give birth! i have occasional cramps. think it's getting more frequent. can't wait for the real one to start actually.

i want to give out cakes cos i think it's more personal and also better way of showing appreciation. giving cake vouchers just makes me feel like it's just trying to get the job done. and my hb doesn't want to go ard giving relatives. i know it's tiring but i think it's nice to share the joy. will convince him again.

sept03bride,
seems like neogardens is a popular choice!

Zhimin

Re: vege
I've been eating vege. Constipated, so have to take. Haha, my aunt said i'm different, coz women during confinement can take lots of heaty stuff and still not constipate. Even stopped all my longan drinks and ginger liao. Coz my boy has jaundice, so my aunt reduced the amt of ginger in my diet. Think u have to tell your MIL lor. If not, she will not understand.

Wendy
Sorry to hear abt your plight. They aren't Singaporeans?

casey
PM you liao. pls check.

SY
yah agreed with you on the thought of appreciation. anyway can oso ask your parent and PIL to make in delivering to some relatives. at least can cut down on some traveling...