(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rena
I think you'll be able to settle bb yourself after the 1st mth, then slowly try to adjust. Dun think abt looking for a job now, think that will be 2-3 mths later. Anyway, u need help. Who's going to look after bb after u work, rite? Most impt is to recover your health and look after bb now. Take care.

Wendy
Thanks, but i dread the idea of being induced loh.

SSF
ha ha.. who's knows maybe u'll pop before me.. even mashy popped before me. : p The waiting is starting to kill the excitment.. maybe cause I've lots of false alarms. This am at 4am, had mild contractions, was so excited, thinking this is IT. Then, it went off, aiyo... so anti-climax right? So, now, I really can't differentiate, think I need a clear sign..

Confused
Wow, this Thursday.. so exciting.. not like me, no action leh. We talk to bb all the time, I think I'm feeding him too well, he seems to love my tummy.

Hi Joanna
Welcome.

Wendy

For myself, so far not yet. Then again my last check up was 2 weeks ago at the end of 36 weeks. I'm going for my check-up tomorrow. Will let you know if it's a common practice. I'm with KKH

missy - very bad. i have problem fliping here n there n difficult to get down from bed. i had it long time ago but wasnt that painful. Only these 1-2 weeks extremely painful.

Baby Engaging, Induction and then C-section

Well, one of my friends who gave birth in November. Her baby was overdue and yet to engage back then. So her gynae induced her and after several hours, her cervix wasn't dilated enough and found that each time baby tried to engage, the heartbeat goes down as her bb's leg was caught in the umbilical cord. so each time tried to engage, the umbilical cord gets stretched.
So in the end, she had to have emergency C-section so as not to have fetal distress.

hi wendy
doc didn't examine the cervix leh. so far only did the swap test.

krissie
i also don't wanna to have induction... heard that it's very painful...

hi mamachan
i saw quite a number of birth story, those mummies ended up having emergency c-sec when they were induced. so scary....

have not log in for a number of days. well, similar to the rest of the mothers who have given birth, this period is really a stressful time.

been trying very hard to breastfeed. so stress because the lactation consultants and books says that we should avoid giving water, formula and glucose, yet Clariss is not having enough and I need to feed her every hour. very tired.
my mother and sister came to see me two days ago. they were very encouraging, my whole husband family as well. I should really count myself lucky. anyway, here is my long over due birth story of clariss.

25 Dec 2005,

7.20am went toilet and heard a strange sound then a tickle of water came out. was a bit surprise, not very sure if my water bag break. waited for a while, some more water but tickling only. told my hubby about it. call 24 hr for my gynae.

7.30am gynae Dr Chong called back. he sounded sleepy. ask me if this is the time. told him that I suspect my water bag break. he asked me to go to hos.

8.15am finally left home to gleneagles as hubby wants to settle his work and I bathe and pack some last min stuff.

8.50am reached delivery suite. met gynae downstairs. he saw me walking around to make payment and scolded the staff at the reception that my water bag break already. a staff pushed a wheelchair to me.

9.10am Dr chong came to the suite and checked on my dilation. already 3cm dilated and head of baby very low although I feel no contractions. put me on drip with medications to induce contraction.

12.03pm still felt nothing and the midwives periodically came to check if I am feeling anything. increase dosage of medication.

2.00pm went a bit of contraction. hubby went for lunch.

2.20pm midwife checked on my dilation and says that I am 6 cm dilated. asked if I want epidural. I say no because I still can tahan the pain. further increase the dosage but the CTG monitoring wasn't placed properly.

2.30pm felt strong and long contractions. hubby came back from lunch. told him that my contraction is worse. midwife came in and advise me to use laughing gas. use the gas and felt better. only sniff twice in between contractions.

3-4pm lost track of time as my contractions worsen. kept using the gas. hubby very encouraging. midwife checked on my dilation twice. from 8cm went to 9.5cm and ask me to start pushing when I have the urge. I knew that gynae not in yet. can't use the gas while pushing.

4pm gynae came and straight away perform the epistomy. instruct me to push when there is a contraction. the pain was like you really feel like passing motion but can't get it out and the contraction is a very severe menstruation cramp.

4.23pm. clariss was born. crying very loudly. didn't breastfeed her immediately. don't know why the midwife didn't put her to my breast but too tired to ask. maybe because they think that I am tired.

midwife gave a jab but placenta didn't follow through. gynae quite worried. decided to put his hand after 20mins. may need to go for operation in situation like this but gynae was confident that he can perform the task. use the gas as pain relief. can still feel the pain but I trust my hubby and followed his instructions to breath. finally placenta was out and the nurse piece everything together to make sure that nothing is left behind. gynae said that I am very brave.

I think the delivery of the placenta is more traumatic than the delivery of the baby.

SSF,
with regards to work i decided i shan't care too much. Already did tell them that i may deliver early so it's up to them to be prepared! All i can is to do my part

wendy,
u teaching in primary or secondary sch? aren't u glad to be going on ML soon?

my gynae hasn't checked my cervix yet but he said he'll do so at my next check-up which is tmr.
Cld it be that u sleep too much on left side that's why more stretchmarks? Hee i also dunno. But i dun experience more pain on either side.

confused,
are u still working now with the pain??

krissie,
yah know what you mean...i'm also v excited and simply can't wait to give birth!!! each nite i go to bed thinking whether i'll wake up with waterbag bursting or with contractions. haha. but sadly so far nothing!

Krissie,
Don't get impatient ba. Just wait for bb to be ready lor. I also don't want to be induced but if really need to then no choice la. My friend who popped on christmas day was also induced. She had contractions, then admitted to TMC. Doctor poked her water bag, say bb already excreted and shitted in water so much induce. Her labour was only 6 hours and she gave birth naturally without epidural but assisted with vacuum.

VE
So far, my gynae also did 1 for me last week. He was checking the size of my pelvic bone and if cervix has dilated after doing the swap test. I was wondering if I had to go through that again this friday.. Think my colleague who was under the same gynae mentioned before he checks cervix for dilation every week for signs of early birth once bb is 36 weeks.

SSF
wow you really exercise. me vy unwilling through, coz real tired. now climbing of overhead bridge nearly wan my life, by the time climb finish tat flight of stairs im already gradding for oxygen!!
pray for you and hope your bb will guai guai listen to mummy's request =)

sunny
haha no choice lo, got to balance ourselves so our walking turns out to be like penguin. but at least is like penguin la, cute mah! hee....

Durian,
I'm teaching in Secondary school. I intend to work until my bag burst.. wanna push back my leave as far as possible. At most I'll just ask my gynae to give me MC for the last 2-3 days before delivery. I don't want to go back during exam period and get arrowed to mark or set exam papers. Hee!

SSF, Wendy,
my fren told me if u can tahan VE, then pain threshold will be higher. dunno whether true or not. my gynae also never check. shd i ask?

durianlover
better handover work soon. i m planning to do my handover next week. need to do or else tings will be quite messy if we suddenly deliver!

wendy,
i have pain in my right buttock although bb is on the left mostly. dunno why. think he must have pressed on a particular nerve. been having this pain for days!

mamachan,
your fren's bb got problems engaging is it due to the cord?

mongs,
congrats on your bb!!

your birth sounds traumatic and u did it without epi! so brave.

dun feel too stressed abt BF. stress will affect your MS.

Hi durian lover...yah, i shd be anytime soon, in fact, overdue already! my bb probably listening to grandparents who want him out only after the 5th....so he staying put until then....

I am still carrying bb very high up, bb hasn't dropped yet....just now was on all fours as i hear my collg say that will help bb engage but my hands became v tired.

now at home resting but getting very bored as i am alone at home....want to go back office as there is some interaction at least...but so pai say as everyone keeps asking why you are still around...in fact, was talking to my collgs just now and got a bit teary about how come i still havent deliver yet...

am still praying for the moment waterbag burst..

Hi mummies to be,
If it's any consolation, I didn't have any sign of BB coming out at all! No cramps, no BH etc. until that faithful morning woke up and water bag burst suddenly. So doesn't mean you all will be past EDD. Now it's any moment lah. So don't worry so much.

Rena,
Pls put aside all negative thoughts about yourself and your hubby. Concentrate on your Elijah! Don't add unnecessary stress to yourself. Take this first 2 weeks to bond with your BB, after that learn how to care for you Bb without CL's help. You can do it!

Joanna,
Welcome! Are you a SAHM (stay at home mom)? You mean you have been able to BF by direct latch on for 8 months?

Mummies who EBM now,
Do you all sterilise your pump after every use? Is it clean enough to just rinse with water?
I'm doing a combination of bottle feed and latching on but find it quite a hassle to pump and wash so many times as opposed to latching on.

Re. MIL/Mom being CL
Actually I was thinking $500 as a token ang bow. But my HB actually think $300 enough to cover expenses liao. Cos he thinks my MIL not doing a lot extra, just having to wash more clothes and cook extra soups sometimes. I'm the one taking care of the BB most of the time. But I think not nice to give so little right?

New mummies,
Does your BB want to continue suckling after feeding? Mine will want to suckle again (his mouth will twitch and search for nipple) after some time if he's still awake after a feed. Don't indulge him and he'll cry. Jialat, ended up giving him a pacifier cos he just want to suckle. He's only 2 weeks old! Is it bad to give him pacifier so soon?

Hi SY

Yup. That's what happen to my friend who gave birth in Nov. But Praise God that both mother and daughter are safe.

The cord was somehow around the foot of the bb in the womb, so each time the baby tried to engage, could see the heartbeat dip on the monitor.

SY,
My gynae only did the VE for me on my 36weeks6days visit. You're not 36weeks yet right? Baby is only considered full term when you reach 37weeks so if they do the VE too early, may trigger premature labour so most gynaes only do it after you've reached 37weeks, ie, 38th week of pregnancy. YOur gynae will probably do the VE for u in another 1-2 weeks time. Its not painful but its very "gao yue" dunno how to explain the feeling..

Sunny/Rachel,
I also walk like penguin and I really walk alot. Just looked at my timetable.. gonna be lesson marathon every thurs with 3 hours of non-stop teaching, break 30min, then another 3hours of non-stop teaching. Think I better arrange for my gynae visits on thursday.. otherwise, how to tahan standing 6 hours with only 30min break in-between?

hi queen
it's the 'any time' thingy making me worried and kind of sleepless.... if everything is as per planned, i will be more relaxed.

Queen,
My colleague said she gave her baby the pacifier until about 6 months when they start teething so it doesn't affect their teething. My Hb is also anti-pacifier but I think I'd rather give the pacifier than my breast for pure suckling pleasure. I just thought its bad habit leh.. I also dunno if pacifier has any bad effect.. let me check it out and get back to you ok?

Mongs,
Thanks for sharing your birth story!
Feeding your Clariss every hour? It's very tiring! About delivery of placenta, I have no idea when my placenta came out! My last push was to push Isaac out, then nurse let me hug him, then I think my gynae strated to sew me up. So I have absolutely no recollection of having to push the placenta out leh.

Wendy,
Yah loh. At first I indulge him and give him my nipple, so he'll suck suck for a while and not really swallowing the milk. Now I really don't want to use my nipple, imagine having to do this on top of direct BF. Already I feel my breasts no longer belong to me (heehee, my HB also jokingly complain, doesn't belong to him anymore as well). So end up giving him a pacifier.

Queen,
I found a very good article which may answer your questions on the pacifier.

http://www.lalecheleague.org/NB/NBNovDec95p172.html

Guess we'll have to bear with it and offer the breast for baby to suckle before they learn the latch on properly. Until breastfeeding is well-established, it seems its not advisable to give the pacifier as they'll have difficulties latching on the breast properly.

queen,
my fren initially let her bb use pacifier but after some time she stopped giving and bb din ask for it. so think if u give now, u can still break the habit.

Mamachan,
think it's every mother's nightmare if the cord is entangled ard bb not matter which part!

Wendy,
think i shd be 36 weeks + 6 days when i visit gynae this sat. so that means the VE shd be soon. i think it once in first trimester before. just a bit uncomfortable.

SY,
Think your gynae will perform the VE for u this sat liao. I also did once during my 2nd tri when I had bleeding due UTI and the 2nd one last week. Still remem my hb and I was all panicky as I thought I was going to pop at 24 weeks. So funny..

Queen,
Has Issac established the correct latching on technique yet? Do you get sore nipples? I heard alot mummies gave up on BF because their babies cant latch on properly and they just end up sucking and sucking on their nipples and no milk. In the end, they just gave FM because nipples too sore and baby keep crying and crying. I also very scared my girl cannot latch on properly next time so I've been watching alot of videos on BF. Hopefully I can get my girl to latch on properly. Spoke to my gynae abt my concern, he asked me to start applying nipple cream (he gave me Avent) once daily on the whole nipple area to prepare it for BF.

Wendy,
yah. does doing VE allow gynae more accurate idea of when baby will come? cos it also tells them whether our cervix is soft or not etc right? not very sure...

do we need to apply nipple cream? i din get one yet.

SY,
I read somewhere before also that applying nipple cream on the nipples during pregnancy helps soften and prepare the nipples for breastfeeding. So, when my gynae ask me apply, I just applied.

I dont know if VE can give gynae a more accurate idea of when baby will pop but it does tells them how much we have dilated. If they feel our cervix has softened, it means we'll pop soon.

mongs,
thanks for sharing your birth story! seems like different pple really hv different experience. First time i hear that delivery of placenta more traumatic than delivery of baby!

ak,
yes i heard that going down on all fours does help baby to engage! How come ur parents want baby out after the 5th? special date?

Wendy,
wah u very 'zai'...still can tahan standing for such long periods during lessons! i always admire female teachers who have to teach while being preggie...coz i think it's really not easy!

SY,
my fren passed to me the Palmer's nipple cream. She said it's useful for first few days when u'll get sore nipples from breastfeeding. May be good to standby the cream just in case! Imagine if really painful then gotta ask ur hubby to go out buy nipple cream?

queen,
actually i think it's ok to give baby pacifier leh...at least better than offering ur breast for comfort sucking! If not baby will become over-reliant on breast.

Re: Maternity Leave
anyone knows if the 12 weeks of ML we get excludes or includes public holidays? Coz i realised there're lots of public hols in Jan...very bo hua for us if 12 weeks is exactly 12 weeks regardless of public hols!

durian,
ML includes saturdays, sundays and public holidays too. In other words, its exactly 12x7 = 84 days. For me, its even more bor hua cuz it includes the march holidays as well. My admin was advising me to take only 8 weeks ML and take the last 4 weeks another time so that I'll have the march holidays off. On top of that, I've already been told I won't be paid my full salary in June because I did not "earn" my June pay as I'm on ML. Not fair right?

My new time table is ok la.. I remembered last yr from july to november, I had 4 hours marathon, then 1 hour break then another 3 hours marathon again. That was really tiring esp when my tummy starts to get bigger and bigger. When you scold the naughty students, they agitate you more by telling reminding you that you should not get angry because its bad for baby. Sigh.. students nowadays..

Hi Rena
Maybe we did meet each other along the corrider but didn't realise it was you ? I don't login very often as I am so busy. I was staying at bed 502 at Gleneagle, how about you ? My bb is hospitalised today due to jaundice and the PD was saying that I did not feed him enough, should be taking about 60ml already, how about yours ?? I can pump only about 40ml every 3 hrs. Anyone knows how to increase supply.

I cried today when he needs to be admitted, so sad now that he is not with me. Crying very often the last few days as my husband prefer me to pump while I prefer to latch but I think no choice now as he is hospitalised.

Experienced mummies - Normally for Jaundice, how long does he need to stay in the hospital ?

wow, finally manage to post... been typing and posting and getting rejected due to the forum's network problems... argh...

VE - i also haven had any VE done..i hope not acutali... cos very paisay and also uncomfortable... somemore wf my skin having darkening, i dare not imagine opening/baring all for gynae to see..

Rena - FOCUS on Elijah!!!

Mongs - WOW, u were reali brave.. cant imagine the gynae's BIG hand in our womb.. *gulps*

see picture of Clariss when she is happy and contented after her feed.
354807.jpg

Queen,
I also have prob with Clariss suckling long after she is supposed to be full. actually, I am not totally sure if she is full. today is the 9th day for her excluding her birthday so I am not sure if my milk is totally in. I let her drink FM after some suckling at my breast and if she doesn't seems full.
I have cracked and sore nipples. sometimes when she slept over her feed time and she suddenly wake up, she will be very impatient and keep fighting with me. she wants my breast but find the flow too slow. it's really very easy to give up but we must really be patient. I am trying to be more flexible to allow her some FM (20-40ml) after some suckling. was very stressed initally when I have not enough milk for her and she keeps crying and I just keep feeding because this is what the lactation consultant advise. but decided to be more flexible.

no matter how much preparation we put in, we must be prepared that things don't go our way. I can only say that we decide there and then.

sunny,

my due date is supposed to be 10 jan 06. Clariss came 2 weeks and 2 days earlier but I sort of knew that she will come earlier because my gynae said that she is quite low in my check up during the 36 and 37 weeks.

on christmas eve, the night before she was born, she kept moving a lot. I have a hunch that she maybe coming in the next few days.
I also read that we will have softer stools and there will be some changes to our body before the delivery.

durian lover....after 5th is becos the full month celebration will be after people pray "Tee kong" which is better....

anyways, the ML is exact 3 months for me which means if i take from 8 Jan, i return to work on 8 april. So it includes all the PH. So best time to deliver would be in May cos June and July has no PH.

anyone knows what is the max number of coconut i can take?? I still have two more in my fridge and soooo tempting

Hi Mongs
Total agree that feeding is the most stressful part. How long does Clariss stays on the breast per feed. My Bryant can feed up to 1 hr per feed and thus it left me with 2 hours between feed and with the burping, I only have 1.5 hrs of rest. As he is admitted to the hospital today, I decided to give total FM at night so that he can sleep longer and I can rest, if not I realise that my milk supply is running low.

Queen
I'm giving my MIL $1200-1500... considering a CL during CNY will be abt $2K with some discount..
I also wanted her to cook lotsa fishes for me to eat during confienemnt and they are expesnisve... I suppose thos amt is reasonable, I dun wan her to come out her $ as well.

Kriss
The amt I'm giving should be for all... I think $1500 is more than enough for food for 1 mth, plus I think my HB will continue to give her the mthly allowance it add up to alot of $$ already.

Wendy, durianlover,
think i better get the nipple cream to standby in case. can imagine hb's reaction if i tell him to go and get it for me haha...

yup ML includes all public hol so a bit bo hua over CNY. told myself next time must have kid after that!

mongs,
clariss looks really pretty in the pic. so cute!

hmm,i notice a few mummies say their babies moved a lot before birth. sometimes when mine moves a lot, i wonder whether it means he's coming out soon!!

ak,
dunno whether there is a max. so far i took 2....

Mongs
ur daughter is so so adorable hee hee
She looked so satisfied hee hee :p

Queen
I am giving my mum 1.2k to 1.5k as well cuz CNY period if we hire a CL is deifnitely way higher. And my mother temporarily applied 1 month's leave off her job to help me so dun want her to lose out. Though i know my mum dun mind....

Those mummies who have just given birth. What if stools are always hard to come out??? then how? when will delivery comes?

Durian lover and SY
Antenatal class and also my colleague told me the miracle product to relief crack nipple is actually our Breast Milk

Just applied our Milk onto the crack or sore nipple and let it air dry will do.

But my friend advise me to buy nipple cream now to apply to condition our nipple...so I'm using nipple cream now since no milk yet..

hi durianlover...nope i am not a SAHM....I'm working full time and in the same profession as Wendy. I am currently on maternity leave.

Ladies....in case i dun log on for the next few days...I had "show" at 10pm and 12am...nw contractions getting strong and I can't sleep...waiting for contractions to get even stronger before I move off to the hospital....every single minute feel like peeing...pls help to pray that baby will be delivered naturally...delaying going to the hospital becos dun want to end up with emergency c-section again...

K....gotta go and do some stuff to keep my mind off the pain...tata

Morning mummies...wow the thread is moving so fast esp after office hrs. didnt had a good sleep yesterday. i think i woke up at ard 3 am plus and could not get to sleep until an hr later. thank GOD i need not go office to work..so just with shorts and tees, i am ready and hubby drop me off at my mum;s place. yest also told my hubby to place my emergency bag in the car's boot. so anythg, he will be alerted and go off from his office. yesterday he also gan cheong was charging all the batteries of the digital cam and video cam. heee..

btw, anyone bot any CD for baby to listen in Mothercare? anyone know the pricing? last time i went to the store and they are playing and find it quite soothing. thot of playing it when baby is out during nap time.

krissie - at least u experience a fake contracttion. i dun lei. so still awaiting. ya like u i also want to just get over it asap. so anxious.

confused - yeah lots of bed rest required. dun move too much. if its really bad, go see your gynae and ask for painkillers. the last time he gave me some but i didnt take. also ask gynae to check if uterus is fine.

mongs - thks for your story! i guess your tolerance level of pain is pretty high going without epidural. and Clariss is so sweet. thks for the pic!

rachel- dun climb stairs..its too tiring. basically my exercise is walking and just walking alot. hopefully it can help in dilation which i heard from my frds.

SY - i believe VE uncomfort and menstruation cramps are different lei. if it is so, then i be really happy coz VE is just the same as pap smear test. as long as u relax, there is only slight discomfort.

ak - dun worry too much. will be praying for you...

queen - yeah 300 is a bit little. maybe since its your hubby mum he can give more lor. take it as for CNY bonus as well. hehee..

wendy - pacifier is also the only item i didnt buy yet. i am afraid my son will have buck teeth as it applies the same to my family. all my sisters esp the eldest one has very bad buck teeth due to prolong use of pacifier. so i thot of getting it only when i cannot tahan

durianlover - yes it includes weekends/PH as well.

edd2jan - thks for pic of Javier. he is already learning how to pose. hehee..

Joanna - wow 2a.m posting. we'll keep you in prayer. take care!

Finally managed to login.....with sooo many updates to catch up.

Congrats to all the new mummies that just pop recently! Now....left who hasn't pop yet huh?

Mongs,
Clariss looks so pretty...& chubby!

edd2jan,
Javier looks so adorable. Got nice eyes!

STrollers/Prams
Anyone knows where to find Quinny or Maxi Cosi prams/strollers?? Does the shop in Chinatown sells it? Can someone pass me the contact no. of tat shop?

NEPIA diapers
Where to find Nepia newborn? Seems like NTUC only sells the larger sizes leh.

SSF,
I bot the Mozart for Newborns last yr at Mothercare. Now playing for little Ethan in the afternoons when he sleeps in my room. I tink it cost around $20+. Can't remember the exact price liao.

PACIFIER
I gave Ethan pacifier only when he sometimes get cranky & refuse to sleep. So far he used it thrice. He will cry very loud even after we carry him walk around the hse. Only the pacifier can calm him down. Initially hubby & I didn't want to use it but when nothing seems to work, it was the pacifier that could calm his crankiness.

thanks wenyl - i go to mothercare this weekend to check out the CDs. i am also looking for Quinny strollers. I know Kaki Bukit Warehouse have it but not sure if its cheap there. last hearad its not really that cheap but it is a good stop to buy all the baby's stuff at one place.

yuen yuen,

I was staying in ward 636 that's why..
since bb is in hospital.. try to feed him with FM and not Breast milk.. according to book.. once the bb is born.. try to let him latch on your breast to suck few times then immediately switch to FM..

I realise that if bb take FM the chances of Jundice is small..

I made that mistake that was why bb was admitted for one day..

let the bb have full treatment , therefore my advice is that as the nurses to feed him fM direct so that there is less distruption in his treatment..

Dun worry I will pray for you

SSF,
I tink someone bot the stroller from one of the stores in kaki bukit for ard $500+++. Close to $600. Very ex hor! **Wonder if hubby willing to spend so much on the stroller/pram??** Must try to catch him in a good mood......hee!