(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Me just came back from gynae visit. He used his new 3D machine to scan baby. Say will charge if print pics. But baby head down facing inwards somemore. So no pics to see...so wasted! *Baby camera shy lah!*
Doc gave me the "Fit for Travel" letter to travel next week. Now hubby checking out the Perth tickets. Hopefully can still get cheap seats. School hols just started.
I told doc abt the tightness of tummy that I felt for the last few nites. He confirmed it is Braxton Hicks. Gave me ventolin to take cos he worried I might go into preterm labour if I travel next week.
Baby weighs 1.6kg at 31weeks. Commented that baby is on the small side.

Wenyl,
Wah, 31 weeks already still travelling? Better take care when you are overseas! My doc has been using the 3D scan for my past few visits too. Never charge me for printing.
But didn't manage to get a very good pictures cos my BB always use his hands to cover part of his face. Heehee, very shy boy. So always end up with good 3D pics of his hands! My BB was 1.7kg at 32+ weeks during my last checkup, doc says ok weight. So your 1.6kg at 31 weeks should be ok too?

Hi ladies, me also visited gynae this morning. Will be 30 wks tomorrow and bb weighs 1.58kg. Gynae said if bb continues to grow at this rate (he was abt half the size 4 wks ago), he expected bb to be abt 3.6 to 3.7kg at full term.... Think my weight has stablised; put on 1.4 kg since 6 wks ago. Was told to cut down on chocolate and ice cream though....

Yah Wenyl, think 1.6kg at 31 wks is ok. Maybe your gynae was comparing to US/European scale? So nice can go to Perth!

I also have not packed my hospital bag, think maybe another 2 to 4 wks.... Just being lazy!

StyloBB
Wah, it's qt amazing that u didnt put on any wt. Anyway, rest well... dun be stressed abt your work, ok.

Wendyl
Just bought the Eternity maternity bra at Metro Compass Point. $9.90. JL also sells.

Queen,
No choice lah. Waited till now for hubby exams to be over. Wished could have gone for hol earlier. Nowadays, my movement seems more clumsy. Not like few weeks b4 where I could still walk fast fast. Now really walk like penguin. May end up going somewhere nearby... or maybe no nowhere...cos quite rush to book now & travel by 25 Nov. Somemore school hols just started.

Tink our boys all camera shy..hehehe! Urs use hand cover face, mine totally "siam" away from camera.

Curly,
My weight gain has been quite steady (1-2kg per mth) all along but since last mth, I shot up by 2.5kg, thou only 0.5 kg goes to baby. Hope baby will reach his 2kg mark soon. My next gynae visit is in 3 weeks' time. Hope baby will quickly reach his 2 kg mark soon.

Krissie,
I also just bot 2 Eternity nursing bra at JL compass point yesterday. $9.90 each (got less 5% rebate). Very cheap hor! I saw Kiddy Palace sells Max-Cool nursing bras at $29. Thot was cheap, compared to Mothercare, until I saw Eternity.

rena - how come your cervix open so soon? my gynae did not check for me except for the stre B test. when did he check and why? is it a normal procedure?

All - regarding the dark brown line at our navel.. will it go away after birth. its so unslightly.

krissie - yes u have to make hospital reservation now. i have already inform my clinic staff but till now have not receive any confirmation letter from TMC yet. may ask in teh next visit if still haven't receive.

wenyl - so nice..ya gg perth. following package tour or F&E? have u guys plan the itinery? gee i want to travel too..but now abit difficult to walk ard and dun think can enjoy much too. maybe a quick get away is good enuff. btw did your gynae ask u to take flu jab? my baby is at 1.5 in the same wks as urs. gynae also said at the small side but OK lah. as long as healthy can liao.

Hi sleepingdeer,

Ya, it's a cute little sock to hang. Baby's present all in his room. Cannot fit into the sock

I packed my bag yesterday. Realised the maternity pads are super long & super huge! Goodness! I dread having to put them on! Got most of my stuff but decided to buy 1-2 pcs nursing tops. Saw that some of you are planning to buy PJs...wearing during hosp stay or at home?

i went to bb kingdom to buy bb cot. it's $279. i guess the price is pretty standard everywhere, so, i just decide to buy it...

how many set of bedsheet and pillow case did you gals buy for changing? anywhere selling cheap one?

Sysa,
I also thought of buying those simple nursing tops instead of PJs. Pants can just wear those yoga pants. But how much will our tummy contract immediately after birth? Dunno those nursing tops can fit or not?

so many posts to catch up!

rena,
hope u r feeling better. dun think too much on negative stuff. think positive!

ivory
i heard the osim uzap vibration is quite hard. (heard from a colleague. her mum is using it). maybe u want to consider the oto trimax? think more gentle.

let's do an outing after birth! nowadays i feel a bit nervous at night. cannot believe going to see baby in less than 3 months!

wenyl,
enjoy your trip! my hubby just came back from HK and i was dying to follow him but my mum din wan. so anyway went back to my mum's place to stay and treat it like a mini hol

SSF,
the black line is supposed to go away. mine looks ugly too! plus i have a scar from previous op so it looks worse....

sunny,
i bought cot sheets from aussino. plain ones. i m not sure whether they have it in all shops but i din see it at most places and only saw at tampines. bought at 15.90 for 2 sheets. they were having 20% a few weeks ok. normal price is 19.90. quite alright i think

re: baby's weight
think my bb is the smallest here
initially quite worried but my fren's bf (who is also a doc) told me it's ok cos some babies genetic makeup just mean that they are smaller size. as long as the detailed scan shows no abnormalities, and baby still moves actively, there's nothing to be worried abt. he also told me not much can be done abt it and just make sure i eat normally. i estimate that my bb shd be abt 2.5-2.8kg at birth. maybe can consider not taking epidural then...

re: admission
seems like most of you have done your pre admission. when are we supposed to do that? i haven done it yet and the nurses haven talked to me abt it as well.

re $450
i think the 450 is something we can claim from medisave for the gynae visits. if you dun claim it for gyane visit, can use for hospital bill?

my fren was just commenting to me how expensive having a baby was....it's really ex!

re: swollen feet
my feet are also swollen and can't fit into my usual shoes! had to go buy a new pair just now.... hope it doesn't happen every morning or very few pairs of shoes that i can wear...

Wenyl, my next visit is also in 3 wks' time. Was told that the weight gain now would be abt 1kg every 4 wks. Hopefully, my weight gain will be in this rate as I had already put on 12.5kg!

SY, I have a swollen right foot only! Looks really funny with my unswollen left foot. It has been like this for almost 2 wks. Usually, the swell went down 2 or 3 days after I had slept with my feet prop up but now it doesn't seem to work...

curly,
so funny. how come only one foot swollen??

i also heard that we will gain more weight towards this end. think i will gain abt 15kg by the end of pregnancy...

anyone getting those netted bouncers? no difference between different brands right?

Wendyl
Ya, v cheap.. hee hee.. JL didnt hv my size. Metro has lots of stock and colours, pink too. I bought 1 size bigger at Metro.

SSF
Oh, I think Mt. A and TMC is diff. I just asked them yest and they said that I cant book the room now coz they cant confirm the availability of the 1-bedded room.

Sysa
I got the PJs to wear in hosp. anyway, am wearing them now coz my old PJs are all too tight.

Sunny
I bought 4 cots sheets coz they came in pack of 2 and the cot came with 1 set. cheap ones can get from Ikea or Aussino. But, I prefer the Aussino one. Quality is good and so cheap. $19.90 for 2. Plus, if u pay by DBS / POSB card, can get 10% off.

SY
I have a hand me down bouncer. But, heard that the netted one is v cooling and practical for bbs. Abt $30, I think.

Haha... SY, I also dont know leh? I was dreaming to gain just 10kg.... now I can only hope that I won't exceed 15kg! Me haven't got a bouncer but is it necessary?

For nursing bra, think will buy nearer to due date. Thinking of mothercare or mark & spencer. Anyone bought m&s? Any comments?

Its really enlightening reading your threads,esp as a first time mum-to-be. I have done my shopping. Just checking the thread to see if I missed out any.

Saw Pochacco shopping list, just like to share with you on this LOBANG I found on the BABY MUST HAVE beansprout Pillow.
Now sales package comes with 2PCS of beautiful baby BLUE/ Sweet Pink covers @$12.
Maybe if we can gather more orders, we can get a cheaper deal... He..He.. Got delivery, but I have to check how much they charge. : )
Let me know...

Since it has been proven for generations that beansprout pillow will give newborns and babies a sense of security and comfort, so guess this kind of Money cannot save one loh.....

Been really busy and was sick for the past week. So din really have time to contribute. Lots to catch up also.

Just a quick update. Went for my gyane chk up last tues and bb is est 1.7kg at 33 weeks 1 day. Mummy has since put on 6 kg from pre preg weight. And this is the first time gyane said bb is slightly below avg size.. abit worried at first but he said not to worry so much as all the measurement seems ok and maybe due to HB and me being on the small size, bb is also smaller.. moreover, it might be bcos i had been sick, so din get to eat very well.. now getting better and will try to get back to my balanced diet.. hopefully bb will grow well and healthily...

now really busy handing over my work so that i can relax more in dec.. plus i have not finish buying all the bb stuff and packing the hospital bag.. am getting abit worried that i m not well prepared...

meantime, let's all count down to our second big day in our life beside wedding.. yeah its our precious bb birth day!!

Hi Queen,

I went to Spring maternity just now. Saw the sizes for the nursing tops. I am likely to buy M size. It's good to buy a little loose so that we will feel comfy while feeding baby.

I am not buying PJs to wear. Intend to wear my cotton tops and the cotton 3/4 pants in hospital & home during my confinement.

SSF,

He check me as I told him that I was in pain the day before and when he check the bb , he saw that he has engaged so he decided to do a check on me.

Sunny,

I had prepare 4 sets of the cot sheets for changing and bought 1 cotton made water proof protecter too. I was Lucky as the pillow casing an cot sheet sets are sew by my sister in law..

yep, such a nice day to sleep in, so tempted to take MC...

Sunny,
you bought the Taurus Cot huh? I also bought it at Baby Kingdom, at $279
I bought cot sheets from Spotlight, funny, came in a pack of 1 fitted sheet, and 1 flat sheet, dunno really know what the flat sheet is for...but it was only $12.90 I think... hee hee, memory really bad now, can't really remember..

Sysac,
Pack bag liao...? At least one thing settled for you... I too lazy to start, must push to start packing next week liao...

Wenyl,
I love Perth, really envy you! Have fun!

Curly,
How come one side of the foot? Maybe you put more weight on that foot?

SY,
me too, feet swollen, my closed shoes cannot fit very well now, still can wear, but pretty tight. Nowadays, I wear open toe sandals...

Last Saturday went for antenatal class, and all hubbies got chided for not doing the same excerises as the mummies.. haha...

Durianlover,
were you there for the class? COuldn't locate you still... haha

Clare/Rena,
I think pregnant women not advisable to use i-squeeze or massage chair. I ever saw this warning at the shopping malls when they are letting people do the trials.

re: gripe water
I heard from my sister that it contains alcohol. she used to give her baby drink once per day but has since cut down that. if we burp them properly, the babies should be fine.

Krissie/wenyl,
the eternity bras quite ok right. I am wearing one now but think I bought a size too big, using the 3rd set of hooks. I thought I may put on more weight towards the end but don't think it's happening. luckily there is 3 levels of hooks but if I slim down after delivery, may not be able to use.

eddjan2,
wow, your weight is well maintained.

sysac,
the PJ is for wearing in the hos. think most pte hos asked their patients to bring PJ to wear. should be with front buttons so that nursing is easier. PJ can also be worn at home during confinement. front buttons make it easier to breastfeed.

re: packing bag,
I have not pack my bag as well. plan to pack it in first week of dec when I will be 35 weeks.

hi sleepingdeer
me too, so tempted to take mc. but got things to rush out today... so can't take. sigh.
not sure what's the name of the cot. just find it nice and with wheel and can serve as changing table. so, i just bought that loh. hehe.....
what colour do you choose? i choose the natural wood colour. initially wanted to buy the dark wood color but hb doesn't like it.

Am so relieved and happy.. my cot came on Sat and also collected my pump from my gf. Then, managed to wash 1st set of bb's clothes on Sat and packed my hosp bag last night. Took longer than I expected. Only short of few items in the hosp bag and it's done liao.

Morning everyone! Wow! Seems that many ladies were at home logging on yesterday huh! All so "guai", never go out! Heehee!

SSF,
Me still not confirm going anywhere, thou hoping to still go Perth since got Green Pass (Doc's letter..heehee). Guess our babies are on the small side. Doc say its easier for mummies to deliver but he worried I will go into preterm labour if I go travelling (cos I told him got experienced frequent BH & slight pelvic pain last week)... then baby will be very small if born premature. So he put me on Ventolin. I decided to start taking today. Wat's ur weight gain so far?

Sysac,
The maternity pads are of the same length as those normal nightsafe types, only difference is without the wings & more cottony. I tink I still prefer using nightsafe. I standby 2 packs of maternity pads (A fren passed me Kotex & Madame).

Curly,
My weight gain is 2.5kg in the last 4 weeks!!! Almost reaching 60kg mark liao!!! My hubby say I m gonna overtake him soon. So now, whenever I buy something to eat, I will always leave some for him too. So that he can gain together with me! *Hiak hiak! "You Fu Tong Xiang" mah!

Edd2jan,
Wow! u only put on 6 kg so far! Amazing! I have gained 12kg so far thou some pple still comment I look like 4-5mths preg.

VENTOLIN
Anyone taking Ventolin?? So far got experience any side effects? Doc told me the most is feeling breathless & trembling hands.

Krissie,
My galfren used her dining table to place the bathtub when bathing her NB baby. Comfortable height & ample space to place bathtub & changing mat & toiletries. Dun need to bend our back too much. Was told we can also do it on the floor too.

Krissie - the pre-admission is maninly for HB to save time when he do our admission on the actual day, not for booking...

me gain alots of weight... 12kg... but doc never say anything...

i actually wanted to pack my maternity bag last weekend but was really too lazy... so postphone to this weekend... kekeke...

i checked with MT A nurse on friday - the baby wipes can be use from newborn as they already start using it in the hospital... any brand are the same.

Hi Sunny,
we bought the dark wood one, coz both me and hubby like dark wood, all our bedroom furniture is in that tone
Natural colour is also nice..

Krissie,
me thinking the same thing... at my parents's home, the toilet is pretty big, so not problem putting on the floor, and we just seat on small stools... but at home, my bathroom is super small...may have to bathe her on the dining room table

Hi Curly,

Hee so wierd. My gynae says my baby is about 2kg at 31 weeks and is expected to be about 3kg upon full term. YOurs is 1.58kg at 30 weeks and expected to be 3.5 - 3.8kg upon full term......

Wonder how gynae check????

Hi POchacco,

If i recalled correctly, NUH uses cotton wool with water to clean baby's poo poo......... Guess different hospital has different practice.

Wenyl,

How many pills did your doc advise you to take each times? if it is half then there will benot effect. I am currently taking 2 pills each time so per day is 6 pills.
I am having the side effects and some time feels uncomfortable, but doc mention that it will have no effect on the baby.

When baby is in hospital the nurses will use wet wipes but when bb is at home it will be good to use water and cotton wool to clean.. Using wet wipes to offten is not very good for bb skin.

hi mummies, I put the bath tub on top of the toilet bowl (with the cover down) and then get a chair to bath the baby...u may want to consider that too.

Rena,
He prescribed 2 tablets 3 times daily for 2 weeks. Told me to cut down to 1 tab if got side effects. Wat kind of discomforts u experience? Doc also mentioned got no side effects on baby. Just on the mummy only.

Rena,
Those are the exactly the side effects my gynae told me. But he said to cut down the dosage if got such side effects. He prescribe for 2 weeks. How long u suppose to take it?

Sunny,
Ventolin to prevent preterm labour. Cos I experienced frequent Braxton Hicks & a bit of pelvic pain last week. So gynae say better to take it to prevent early labour.

Hi Sleepingdeer,

Yep, packed liao.

Hi Mongs,

Oic on the PJs. Have not worn PJs for the longest time. Going to live with my nursing tops & cotton 3/4 or exercise pants during hos stay & confinement

Hi Wenyl,

The maternity pads I bought (Madame) looks super long to me. Think can cover from front to back. I've nt used nitesafe ones b4 so this is the first time I have seeen such broad & long ones. I almost freaked out! :p

I bought a little rectagular table from Ikea some time back. I plan to place it next to the cot during bath time to put the tub on top of it. After bathing the baby, can straight away put him in the cot to change.

god's child - got to go for GD test cos my bb is big. (if i'm not wrong, the test is to show whether is it the cause that make bb so big) And gynae say if too big then i may have early delivery liao. (ard week 37-38)

Hi Confused,

My baby is also about 2kg at 31 weeks but my gynae didn;t say anything about being big or do i required GD test leh......

hihi ladies,

went for gyane appt on sat. bb is 1.7+kg at 32 weeks. gynae say medium size. read from babycentre, that bb's size is now about half to 2/3 of his size till birth. so by 40weeks bb shld be around 2.5kg - 3.4kg. gee... which means within the next 2 mths will be the growth spurt. better splat on more stretchmark oil!! :p

sleepingdear, I also think it could be the pressure is more on my right foot.... So when I notice that I will switch to my left to balance but still not balance leh... My gf said it could be bb sitting on the certain nerves?

Wenyl, I already past 60kg! Just hope that I won't put on too much for the next 10 weeks.....

Yuki, I also don't know how they estimate the weight? Gynae said he'll need to measure my plevic nearer to due date to see if the labour is going to be easy or difficult...

Re PJ, is 2 enough?

Wenyl,

The doc did not mention when I should stop but I guess Until I am 34 or 35 week then I may stop coz if I stop now I may be in labour any time.. remember cervix open 2cm already..

yuki - Wow! u didnt have to go for GD test. so nice leh. But did your gynae comment anything? Mine is becos bb is big n my urine test show high sugar level.

Pochacco/sleeping deer
Thanks... if u asked MAH abt the 2 bedder room in thing. pls let me know too.
Pls help to check for me... in case 2 bedder room cannot room in at nite with Mummy but when baby is hungry, will nurse bring in for me to BF? or they just feed baby with formula?
According to my collegaue KKH nurse wun bring baby to mummy one, they just feed baby with spoon on formula...
So I wanna be sure with MAH... hope they are different from KKH.

Sleeping deer
I feel Dr Ho's clinic very ON collecting $$...:p

Rena
My package with Gynae does not include delivery fee.
I suppose our medisave is only enough to cover the hospital bills (exclude delivery fee), that's why my gynae is collecting the minimum delivery fee. I think his fee charge for normal delivery is $1000.00
My EDD 29 Jan 05.

Yuki
Thanks... ok noted... will use wipe for baby when she is older.

Wendy
i think no need to bring our electric pump to hospital... cos Hospital will provide electric pump is necessary if I'm not wrong.

I'm currently using the tollyjoy wipe for my dogs...it's ok too but 1 thing I dun like is the dispenser.
It's a round container right... sometimes the next one wun come out, then got to open the container cap and pull out. I get prettyu frustrated with this actually :p

Sunny
cheap baby cot sheet...try SPotlight at Plaza Sing. 1 pack consist of 2 pillow, 2 flat sheets and 2 fitted sheet. I bought $9.90 only very cheap but only has White!...

RE: PJ and Nursing bra
I bought 3 PJ and 2+1 nursing bra, 1 bra not very right size...
Think should be enough la hor?

Curly
I bought 2 M&S nursing. it's their sale item. Used to be $69 and now selling $30.00. I find it very very comfortable, am wearing 1 of them already now.
The non-sales one cost $120.00 for pack of 2, very very exp.
I'm thinking of whether to buy 1 more sale item from M&S...but dunno got my size or not.

In case u going to M&S, ONLY wheelock place, paragon and centre point has nursing bra range. ALL other outlet dun carry... dun waste your trip like me.

Phew... finally I read all the threat... back to work!...Happy Mondays Mommies!

cookie,

your gynae seem expensive.. mine is 1000 dollars inclusive of delivery.. I made half the payment when I was 12 weeks but on the second visit he does not charge me for scan and consultation already..

Rena,
Oh ya... U mentioned earlier ur cervix already opened 2 cm. For me, my gynae didn't check my cervix at all.