(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Thanks Ivory!...
Wow scary how time flies... I counting down 10 weeks left! and I haven't decide a name for my baby!

RE: Flesh tag/Mole
I also have some very small flesh protuding on my breast...

RE: baby wipe
ANyone has any recommendation which baby wipe to buy? the most seen in dept store is Pigeon and Nuk....
Which is better?

cookie,

normally for 2 bedder baby can only be there for awhile and not rooming as it will disturbed other patients.

Well my advise is that pregancy is tough so treat yourself well .. that is why i choose the one bedder..

cookie, ya the 2 bedder cannot allow the baby to room in. i think the pre-admission is to be submitted before the delivery but of course we dun know when the exact date be so better to send in earlier... this will help to save time for HB when he is doing the admission... i dun wan me to stay alone in the delivery suite waitin for him... i am SCARED... hahaha... me onli counting down to 7 weeks... i AM really really SCARED... kekeke... HB ask me to take epidural as he feel tat i cannot make it without it once...

Hi Yvonne,

I was shocked when i see my bills too. In my opinion, NUH charges is till high. My friend paid $2k plus but still closer to the $3k range............

Hi cookie,

Pigeon wipes is very common. I used it for my gal daily. Another brand is tolly joy. Both Pigeon and Tolly wipes are less thick than NUK. Can used to wipe baby upon every nappy change. NUK's wipes are thicker, heavier and wetter. Good for cleaning poos poos.

My friend jsut gave birth at Mt A one month ago. C-section, 1 bedded.

Her bills is about $5k, paid cash of $2.6k.

So can see from here that my charges at that time at NUH is quite high. Bills about the same but i delivered naturally which suppose to be cheaper.........

But then again maybe my gynae fees is higher.......

yuki,
just remember to bring your gynae receipt for your package durig your admission, you will be able to claim back 400 dollars from govt.

Steriliser :

mummies to be, i was calculating if the Pigeon steriliser b worth it durin JL private sale on Tues. Assuming norm $116 - 20% (storewide) - $10 voucher (min $60 spent ) = $82.80!! better than $87... hoping to get my wipes and cleaning dtergent there also... my colleague will pass me her voucher since she's not using

yuki - i brought the kodomo and NTUC one... tot of buying the new pigeon in yellow packaging for wiping of face and mouth...

i think i have almost finished my shopping list. except for the following:-

1) Ru Yi Oil
2) Baby lotion / oil
3) Baby Shorts (pass down all no shorts one...)
4) baby cot mattress cover
5) Woodwards Gripe Water
6) Beanspout pillow
7) Cotton balls

Maternity pad - i have brought the Kotex stick on and Madamne stick on... think got total of 20 or 30pcs...think temp enough for the first few days of heavy flow...

Rena,
We can claim $400 from govt? I didn't know that there's such a claim to be done...

Yuki,
True that it's not cheap....but still HB thinks 1 bedder better, oso i got quite a number of relatives, so need the privacy too when they come to visit loh

i also bought Tollyjoy wipes (2 bottles with 1 pkt refill-$8.50 from Kiddy Palace)....mayb coz it's a well-established brand, so more reliable....

Hv anyone heard of "NAPISAN"? It's a detergent cum disinfectant for washing of BB's nappies.....seems good coz my aunt oso used it for her boy's nappies.

Pochacco
u asked MAH before that 2 bedder cannot room in with baby har... cos during antenatal class, they keep encouraging us to room in with baby to nurse them etc ect... but they never say pre-requisite is to have 1 bedder room then can room in ley... Oh ya I think I better send in my Form soon too...

Those attending class in MAH ( I finish mine already)... can ask the nurse if 2 bedder can room in with baby??

Yuki
Thanks!... looks like it's good to have 2 type of brand, NUK and Pigeon.
I read that the wet wipe is better to use on baby when she is older... cos initial few weeks maybe their skin still very "fresh" maybe too chemical to use on new born... is it true?

Talking abt... paying cash on top of medi save..
My gynae is collecting $1050 CASH as deposit for delivery during next visit liao ley...*faint*

Rena and other mummies
Just wan to clarify...the additional $450 that we can claim is actually just to reduce our cash pay out when we settle out bills right.
If our medi save claim can cover all the hospital bills, actually Govt also wun give us back the cash... just that we claim less from medi save rite?

cookie ,
that I am not too sure but the nursr told me that with the receipt you can claim back the money,so I think it equals to less cash fork out.

Hi Cookie/Pochacco,
2 room bedder cannot have bb with us uh? Okie, will ask about it when I go for class. The classes will give one Hospital tour right? Can ask then...

Yuki,
thanks for the info, I only bought pigeon so far... better buy some other brands also...

Cookie,
haha, my wallet hurt the last visit liao, $1000 gone also

Actually, I have no idea where my pre-admission forms are leh... haha, better ask my hubby, he probably kept it somewhere, knowing how messy I am...

just peeked into the Aug/Sep thread, a group of mummies went for outing at Breeks, and took photos... ohmigosh, all of them look so super slim and pretty, wonder how they did it, only 2/3 months after giving birth!

Re: $450 Medisave Claim
I think that is the max one can claim for pre-delivery gynae costs incurred... my gynae's package for 5th month onwards is $450 (excluding actual delivery) n i was told by the assistant that she will print the receipt for me only nearer to delivery together with my admission docs etc so that we will remember to bring to hospital for medisave deduction. This $450 is separate from what is claimable for actual delivery if i'm not wrong.

Clare,
u are right. $450 is for the costs incurred before the delivery but I think no package also can claim, just submit all the receipts when going for delivery.

my baby was having hiccups just now for quite a while. so difficult to concentrate when my tummy keeps bobbing up and down.

actually i went to ask the nurses why the gynae is charging me for plancenta test . she told me that they dun charge me from 2nd visit onwards.. so I think it is quite cheap..

Hi cookie,

Actually i use cotton wool (dipped in water, squeeze dry) to clean baby's pee and poos till she's about 2-3 months old. Newborn's skin are too delicate for wipes during the initial stage. So wipes are actually for the later stage.

Our hospital bills is always higher than what we can claim from Medisave cos if i am not wrong, they go by percentage, subject to a max. amount. So even you hospital bill is not much, you can only claim a percentage of it.

Hi Yvonne,

Ya. As NUH has only 2 options - 1 bedded or 4 bedded........ I chose the 1 bedded one. Even this time round, second child, i'll still choose 1 bedded

Hi Pocchacco,

Think you can only give gripe water after baby's one month.... if i recall correctly. Just check tobe on the safe side.

Likewise for the wipes you mentioned, better not use on newborn. Terry cloth with clean water should be fine.

Dear mommies

I still thinking whether to go to malaysia (jb) this coming thursday?

Any recommendation what is worth to buy there?

Do I need to obtain letter from gynae in order to go malaysia??

For the flesh tags... last time even before pregnant I found that I have a few on neck liao... but seems like it will disappear le... then now my neck still has quite a few new one.

I am also still thinking whether to take 1 or 2 bedder... so headache.

<font color="aa00aa">sleepingdeer...</font>
so the aug/sep mums are the gals my hubby saw when he was doing deliver at Taka... the moment he came home he so excited n told me he say at least 10 mums n bbs with stroller waiting outside breeks... i was even joking how come breeks got promotion for mums n bbs meh...

he oso say they all look so slim... stressed on me man.. he very smart wor... guessed that the bbs are at most 2-3 mths old oni..

Sorry got another question...

Do we need to pack our NRIC, marriage cert, antenatal package receipts in our hospital bag? Any other kind of documents we need to pack?

Yuki - thks for the information. i think i will get the cotton pad or ball to wipe baby eye. and for bottom, i will hsve to think think think...
i am thinking of asking them today if new born baby need to drink water or not. hopefully i remember...

cookie, i think during the day, bb are allow to stay with us, onli at nite they are not allow as might disturb neighbour mummy. if i remember i will ask on your behalf..

Wah 10 mummies with 10 Babies + Strollers... that must be quite a scene!! So cute hor wonder if they have to make prior reservation... = P

Ya ,
Me too.. I plan to go for treatment during the second month after birth.
I really bo bian if not my hubby will find another girl again??? *stress)

Ya ,
Me too.. I plan to go for treatment during the second month after birth.
I really bo bian if not my hubby will find another girl again??? *stress)

<font color="aa00aa">clare...</font>
ya lor... that's y my hubby keep staring at them ah... kekekeke...

<font color="aa00aa">rena...</font>
relaxed... dun think too much on the -ve side... be more +ve then u have a happy bb oso ah...

me intend to ask my sis to help me buy the osim zap massager from DFS shop after my postnatal massage... she say every day use 10 mins can liao, outside retail price is $268 so if buy from DFS can be cheaper bah... an alternative to slimming treatments lah...

<font color="aa00aa">rena...</font>
dunno leh... see how lah... if not wait 1 mth then use lor... no matter wat, after giving birth if we have excess fats are all considered new fats, can get rid faster.. wait any longer have to spend more time n effort to get rid wor... that's y post natal massage n wrap are so helpful ah..

Ivory,
u mean the one put across the waist one?? Good meh?? Like only vibrate vibrate only... my HB also say wan to give me that for my delivery present i say i dun wan i prefer I-Squeeze coz i always have very sore n tired legs but he refuse...
kao_angry.gif

<font color="aa00aa">clare...</font>
yap... the green /white belt lor... can put on waist, back n butt.. u go slimming centre they put those electro pads on u oso vibrate vibrate ah..
see how lah... its supposed to be for slimming oni..

y u have sore n tired legs leh? u need to stand n walk alot ah?

Zhimin,
U dun need doc's letter to go JB. Unless u intend to travel by air.

PRE-ADMISSION
My gynae clinic has done the initial pre-admission for me last month (default booking 4 bedder). Recently received the admission letter from TMC to confirm but I will be opting for the 1 bedded. Managed to convince hubby to take 1 bedded since it's our 1st child.

$450 CLAIM
I thot this is claimable from our Medisave account. Not cashback, right???

BABY WIPES
I bot Tollyjoy wipes to standby cos all along I simply luv the smell of it. Have been using it as wet wipes especially when travelling. I will be bringing it along in my hospital bag too. Mummy will use it first. Baby must wait till few mths old. HeeHee! Recently my friend feedback to me that Tollyjoy wipes are better than Pigeon. Guess it is a personal preference afterall.

GRIPE WATER
Wat's gripe water for???

Anyone knows if we can sterilise the breast pumps using the boiling method? I bot the Medela electric single pump from my galfren who only used it like less than 5 times. Have washed it thoroughly but was tinking of sterilising it before packing it into the hospital bag.
Any idea if the plastic funnels, bottle, cap.... can withstand the boiling temp???

Rena,
Yah i like I-Squeeze but to date he still refuse so sad...

Ivory,
Not that i walk or stand alot but even before pregnancy my feet always very sore n tired after shopping especially the balls of my feet very hard... maybe i put too much pressure when walking ?? Anyway i tried I-squeeze once at Metro where they have those sample units for tired shoppers n i simply love it!!
kao_love.gif

Wenyl,
Gripe Water is the "Wood Wood Fei Chai Shui"... I love it when i was young remember drinking 1 table spoon of it after meal n even to date every time i see i feel like buying n drink it... so now with BB on the way i got excuse to drink again... hahaha... think its for removal of wind in the tummy...

SY/krissie/yuki/sleepingdeer/durianlover/rena/SSF
and all mummies

So many postings I can't follow.

Went for check-up, gynae asked me why I never put on weight ??!! It was two weeks ago that I saw her... The gals put on tho: 1.5kg and 1.6kg at 30 weeks. Still gotta continue with the tablets to prevent pre-term labour. She gave me another 2 weeks HL to rest but I think I have to go back to office on monday to clear some work.

Yuki
Is it true that NUH is one of the more ex hosps around?

Rena
Me at gleneagles too.

Ur hb ok now???

Pochacco
Why u so scared of hosp ah? It's ok what, pretty cosy....

Room: yah, so long as someone stays over, they will charge.

Single bed vs double: I stayed in single last time. Think u all beta think carefully, esp first-born, think u wl have a lot of visitors.

Hi StyloBB,

Yes. NUH is one of the most expensive hospital, ven more expensive than some private ones.

Actually when i delivered last time, it was the post SARS period but everyone still paranoid about it. They restrict 4 visitors per room per day. BUt security not very tight lah. One evening, my church cellgroup friends, all 10 of them manage to get in at the same time........ Ha Ha.

I prefer one bedded due to the privacy. Can sleep anytime i want without any interuption. PLus since i intend to BF, i really want the privacy, don't want noisy environment etc to stress me out. PLus i always feel very insecure behind the curtain........ in case wrong person peek in while i am BF...........

MH,
Thanks. I more fang xin now that u said u tried b4. Will go boil &amp; sterilise the breastpump parts later.

Clare,
Thanks. Now i know what gripe water is used for. Saw b4 in pharmacy. Tink my mum mentioned b4 but I never pay attention. Heehee!

NURSING BRA
Where can I find good &amp; affordable nursing bras? I remember some of u ladies have bot it during the recent warehse sales.
Any idea where else selling at disc now?

Hi Ivory,
yah man, they took photos, have to admit it's quite a sight, 10 over young and slim ladies with babies... your hubby is smart, until now, my hubby still cannot tell how many months are the babies we see on the streets, I also sama sama, blur blur

Rena,
It'll be fun to organise one right before the 3 month maternity leave is up, then, we will have time to slim down... hee hee, I will have to work hard then, I already gain so much weight! Dun worry, think positive!

Clare,
think they had to make reservations, coz they also needed space for the strollers.

Wah, think need to learn from you mummies liao... i did tell my hubby I want a post delivery present, but he only looking at small small pieces of jewellery... must boarden his options hee hee...

Clare,
you tell your hubby that you deserve it! Afterall 9 months of carrying extra weight around, back aches, swollen legs, pain and cramps..!

Stylobb,
as long as your bbs are gaining weight, and you never gain any, that's very good! I think I will be little elephant by the time I deliver
Continue to take care, and don't overwork!

I also xin yang yang, feel like one bedder...

saw rena and StyloBB's posting on their babies weight at 31 week. When i visited Gynae on Wed, i am also 31 week but gynae says baby about 2kg........ Am i abnormal????? My baby too big?

Yuki
U must not forget I am at 30 weeks and carrying two...
2 kg good what, what's the 'complaint'?? Hehe

sleepingdeer
First time I go see her and never gain weight! hehe.

Rena
When are u due?? Not so soon right??

Yuki
Anyway the weight is an estimate... who really knows but God and when we deliver .... so long as gynae never says anything or say must go for c-sec, just leave it lor.

stylobb,
Oh coz my cervix has open 2 cm.. now on pills to stop it from opening futher. So that is why may labor anytime.

Pochacco
Need to book room now meh? I asked the nurse and she said no need. Only tell them upon delivery coz they cant reserve for us now?

Mashy
But, if the rash is v bad, then maybe. Coz at first mine also only on tummy, butt and thighs. Then later, spread to legs and arms. Maybe to be on the safe side, just show your gynae during the next visit.

Good morning all mummies

Slept so early last nite. Spent the entire week shopping for Xmas presents. Finally bought a smaller Xmas tree than the one I have too! This yr no energy to put up/take down the big one and so decided to get a small one. Even bought a small stocking for baby to put presents in

Think I am going to pack my hosp bag today. Since I got most of my stuff, might as well go it

Think it's a good idea for us to pack our hospbags now. Cos I was reading the Nov thread, seems like quite a no. of them popped at least 2 to 3 weeks early. One even popped at almost 7 weeks early, Bb only weight 1.4kg! But that mum and BB is doing fine now. A lot of them couldn't tahan the pain and ended up with epidural.

A bit kan cheong now cos I haven't got my PJs and nursing bras yet!

Sysac,
so cute, small stocking for bb, but think bb will be getting the biggest presents, so may not be big enuff!

Queen/Sysac,
Talking about hospital bags, I haven't started at all... my PJs also haven't bought, need to pop by JL I think... and I only have 3 nursing bras now which I am using, if pack in bag, then I have no more to use..