(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

god's child - yes my baby also kick me at the rib cages and i get sudden shock here and there.

ok i am on the slim side and at 30 wks put on 10kg.

mongs - wah can see you are excited and awaiting for the arrival of your baby gal

Mashy / Mongs

great to hear bb is doing well... i b going c my Celeste at the gynae's tonite... hopefully she can weigh in about 1.5kg
justify a little for my tremendous weight gain!!!

Ribcage expansion : i realised last nite when i din put the cushions at my sides of the tummy, the sides of the ribs din hurt as much... think when expanding mayb tissue too soft... so i slept pretty ok yest

God's child,
good luck! I was pretty excited yesterday before seeing my gynae. kept telling my gal to remember to face up during the scan and smile during the photo taking session. rack my brain for questions to ask my gynae and try to remember problems that surfaced during the past month.
need to start preparing for my next visit. think I want to talk about my birth plan during my next visit, must start to read and decide what I want during labour and delivery.

i too experienced sudden kicks & shift in position of my bb, especially now. am into my 29th week and my last visit to the gynae is 4 oct, has put on abt 10kg too......am medium built....HB asked doc if weight is an issue for my case, doc said it's ok, to eat as per normal......when b4 preg does not take milk (coz low lactose tolerant), but now, think due to hormones changes, am able to drink milk (without feeling tummyaches)

mongs, good to hear that both u & bb is fine =)
for my "restless" leg syndrome, my co doc prescribed "Fastum Gel". Usually used for aches & soreness.....quite good actually.....i used it during my 1st tri but stop during 2nd tri, then now in 3rd tri start using again...Does anyone oso experience pain on the knees?

Abt confinement food, my MIL asked me whether if i take "chicken wine" (chicken cooked in rice wine)....told her ok, coz my grandma has cooked this dish occasionally too....taste quite shiok actually.....another dish most cantonese would prepare would be the ginger vinegar trotters.....i dun really fancy this dish coz of the smell.....but my grandma said it's good for me after i give birth to "remove" the wind, thereafter to take lots of water to "cleanse" the system before BF......

Generally steam food are good during confinement too.....healthy, not that oily and can slim down some more!!

Thanks SY, Sysa and Wenyl!

I'm very excited for you gals. Going to pop soon. Must be very exciting. Take care and enjoy your last trimester.

Sysa, can I ask which airlines and agency did you book your Japan trip with. I'm planning a trip to Australia in Jan or Feb. But was told that after 24wks cant travel. Pls advise. Thanks.

Hi Yvonne,

Ya. common dish is chicken wine, vinegar trotters. I actually didn't like them but after my confinement, i actually crave for them
The venigar trotters is the only dish that can be eaten for days. Sometimes my mum add hard boiled egg and the longer it was soaked in the vinegar, the better.
Actually the ginger soaked in the vinegar trotters taste nice too. Like those preserved food.

During confinement, all dishes including fried vegs etc are cooked with ginger....... My mum used don;t know how many kgs of ginger......

hi Yuki,

yup agree that most confinement food used alot of ginger. Besides for cooking, the ginger skin can be used for bathing purposes.....heard from my grandma that ginger skin hv to be dried in the sun for many days thereafter to boil in water in a large pot then for me to bathe.

another point to take note is to drink a small cup of d.o.m. wine @ nite to keep our body warm.

beansprouts husk used for bb pillow:
my grandma-in-law asked the tao gay lady to give her the husk & my mil is sunning it to make into pillow & bolster for my bb......tot mil is not very "kan cheong" abt my bb.......but seem like it's not the case after all.....

Breastfeeing:
My mil also not keen abt me expressing milk and keeping in fridge for bb.she said it smell
dunno how leh.HB said better to BF bb until 1 year if possible.....think think will buy the pump after confinement so that can express BM when i go bk to work.

kriss
wow 40 boxes for offices is alot!
I favour those individual little tarts cos easier to eat in office ( I remember last time when there are full mth cakes and stuff always got problem finishing one)...
I haven't decide to give 1 boxes each or a few boxes to share among a section.
I haven't work out the combination each of them are giving and the price and disc etc maybe do it this weekend.
But my selection abt same as u... sweet secret/blossom/choz but choz seems to be more exp is it?... I like red-egg too very ncie packging and colour but they only offer candies and choc bars...I wonder if that are appropriate.
Another I will consider could be prima deli becos there is a branch very near my house for sake of convenience.

Oh talking abt the choz one... if giving 1 box per pax than the $5.50 is what I would consider too. But if I'm giving a few boxes for them to share I probably choose the higher value ones...with bigger/more cakes/tarts and other stuff.

RE: CL/MIL/Mun pro BF
talking abt this... I also tell my HB that we have to check out if my MIL is pro BF or not cause I dun want my confinement to end up been nagged by MIL to say bb eat not enough (becos we cannot exactly tell how much she eat) etc ect... it is gng to be very stress.
Last nite class was on BF and the nurse is totally pro BF (of course) and my HB also know what so good abt BF. I told my HB if MIL not pro BF he has to educate her.

anyone knows if the Isetan sale starting tmr will have baby items other than Combi??? haven gotten my pump and steriliser...

oh my... it seems like theres stil 1001 things undone for me... CL, pump, etc etc...why din i start earlier???
kao_angry.gif

Heard Metro is having a 20% store wide this friday to Sunday.

Hi cookie,

It is indeed very stressful when someone tells you baby didn't have enough. Especially when we latch baby on direct, hard to tell how much they drink. But if we expressed out, at least know how much they drink...........

how is everyone doing?
not sure about my weight gain now, will find out this friday during my appt. 3 weeks ago, my total weight gain 3kgs.

thanks yuki for the sales info...

btw, did anyone of you buy maternity pad? my colleague told me it's necessary to buy 'cos for her case, her flow was really heavy...

so far, i have bought baby car seat and pump. both are 2nd hand items. now left with cot and pram not yet settled.

btw, what brand and size of diapers did you buy?

Hi Celine,
Me 32nd week, already put on 12kg.

For those who have completed their Mt A class, can I ask what is the 1st lesson about? Coz HB may not be able to attend the whole lesson so he was asking if its important...

YIPPEEE....!! Me finally Bang(3) Shang(4) Liu(2) Ming(2) n get to see my name on the "Archive through November 08, 2005" section... HAHAHA... pardon my sua ku-ness...

Yuki
my mum says can eat toast bread, so maybe will be eating toast bread for breakfast. Ya, heard that cant eat bread, pao, etc coz of the yeast. U ate lots of ginger during confinement. Your bb was ok, hor? Coz some say that when we bf, to avoid ginger and wine?

Yvonne
I love the ginger vinegar trotters and chicken wine. But, will ask my mum not to put so much wine coz i wanna bf lah.

Yasmin
Can consider BA for your trip to Australia. Qt cheap.

Cookie
Yup, am considering the $5.50 one, coz my colleague told me that the box was qt big with a tray + the 8items, so look v presentable loh..easier to eat than the big cake also.

Sunny
I bought NB and S size pampers.

Clare
1st session at MT A is abt nutrition. Not v impt.. can skip if he's busy.

Did not read thru all the postings..

Did my glucose test on Sat, results are fine.
Now into my 29 weeks, gained 15.8kg... some of u hv good weight gain yah.
Bbs are about 1.238kg and 1.415kg respectively.. tummy is big!!!
Gynae gave me 2 weeks to rest..

mongs
I also bot the Tired Legs cream, dun know if effective but v fragrant...hehe.

SY
How are u? U have check-up today?

Sunny
I ordered Nepia diapers as they are on promo.
Was advised by a mum that the size is smaller than PP so I will not over-buy.

God's child,
Sorry my fren just replied my mail, saying the CL already booked for CNY. I will continue to keep a lookout for u.

Sunny,
My fren passed me her leftover maternity pads. (New of cos!) Got 2 brands...Madame & Kotex. Her feedback is Madame tends to loose its shape after it's soaked. But its cotton type so it is quite comfy. I guess it is up to individual. I tink I will use the Kotex one first cos all along I have been using Kotex. Good to standby cos we dunno if flow heavy or not. If normal, can just use nightsafe will do.

mongs,
thanks for ur advice. i think my package includes gynae fees. Phew!

mashy,
u also had early contractions? i'm also on ventolin to relax the uterus.

yvonne,
yup i love chicken cooked in rice wine n vinegar trotters! yummy!!

sunny,
i bought 1 NB fitti premium & 1 NB Nepia. The rest are S size fitti brand.

Hi Krissie,

Thank God my baby was fine. No jaundice at all
Wine if cooked with veg should be fine. Thou the veg contains ginger etc, i didn;t eat the ginger itself. Only about two weeks later than i start to eat a bit especially those soaked in the vinegar pig trotters

As for sipping a bit of D.O.M (reminds me of Dirty Old Man - Ha ha) i tried to BF first then i drink. Generally the guide is to let two hours pass before BF baby.
So i only drink it after my midnight feed.

sunny - i bought 1 pack pamper NB n 1 Dryper S. Oh ya! talking abt maternity pad, i almost forgotten.

krissie n sleepingdeer - hey! me too leh, put on abt 14kg liao.

celine77,
think if underweight before pregnancy, think shd put on more weight but it still varies with pple.

krissie,
think i recieve the value pack. quite nice. got glutinious rice etc...

me 28 weeks+ and put on 10 kg....think quite a lot..

just came back from my gynae and think my bb still the smallest here..
but doc keep saying no need to worry. keep telling me that i will have easier birth so it's good. bb is abt 800-900g, head facing down, body on the left and legs on the right. no wonder i always feel that left side of my stomach sticks out!

durianlover

yah lor. gynae said better to take that to be on the safe side. also said could be due to wind. so have to avoid food that causes wind.

mongs,
good to hear that all went well! think we all can't help worrying abt bb...

god's child,
so u decided to get CL already? just now i had a review with my boss and he started asking how's everything blah blah and he was so funny. he asked whether i m getting CL. i told him yes and he said it's money well spent. he kept telling me it's impt etc and that shd really get one for the first kid. u know what i find funny? i hear this comment from male colleagues more than female colleagues. female colleagues usually say this if they find out that it's MIL who offers to do the confinement but male colleagues will tell me to get CL no matter what....funny hor...

stylobb,
glad to hear both boys doing well!! think u really need to rest. shd be very heavy. my boy less than 1 kg and i feel the strain already. yesterday was walking at marina square trying to find my way and the pressure got too much and got cramps at the tummy and got to sit. cannot imagine how yours will feel!!

re: confinement food
hee, actually i love vinegar pig trotters so i dun mind eating it everyday!! but i know it's heaty...

zhi min,
today i went to mothercare and the bathtub no longer on sale and i haven bought!! but they have other promo with credit cards. got like 10% with HSBC and Citibank with spending of 50 bucks.

re: pump
mothercare selling the avent pump at 59. so for those who want to get but haven get, can go there to get. think it's the cheapest already

no one buying mummy poko? is it because it's expensive?
where do you all buy the diapers from? any cheap place? you all intend to use cloth diaper?
i plan to use cloth diaper 100% in 1st mth when CL is around. then, 2nd mth onwards will use diapers at night. unless we are bring bb to see PD during that mth. so, i am not too sure if i should get NB or S size leh.

my colleague told me kotex loop type is better than the adhesive one.... i still haven't decided which to buy..

stylobb,
me blur already....yah now i remember. u always say u want to buy pink stuff!! when i was at mothercare, i saw all the gal stuff and think they are so nice.....not like boy stuff...

did u use those adhesive type? is it nec to use maternity pads or just normal ones?

Re: maternity pads
i just bought normal pads....kotex and laurier brands, the heavy flow night use type. Hope it's sufficient!

sunny,
din think of buying mamy poko coz quite ex i think. i got my diapers from Suntec Carrefour as well as from JL. wow u very onz...actually intend to use cloth diapers 100% for 1st month? very xiong even with CL! mabbe can just buy 1 pack of NB diapers to standby in case

mashy,
contractions due to wind? never knew this cld be the case! i hv no idea how come i got contractions either.

SY,
wow ur bb in such a cute n flexible position! my left side of tummy also seems to stick out...thot it's my bb's head or what!

SY

i b confirming wf the agency tmr , its charged at $2500 for stay in 28 days thru out CNY also... HB say wana tell MIL tonite n c her reaction before paying deposit...haiz...

Avent pump: u mean the manual pump oni selling at $59??? tats reali cheap.. think someone got it at bout tis price also at isetan sales...n it was the best buy i ever read about... but thought u say mothercare sale over, stil hav promo on the pump? u know when the sale end?

Maternity pads : i also got the Kotex night use pads... was 40pcs for $8... ya, hopefully the flow wont b too overwhelming after being stopped for 9 months!!!
anyway, i intend to use nappy liners tog wf the pad if reali too heavy... last time i ever got use liners (din know its the same as nappy liners until i was a mother-to-be ) and it was good for the 2 heavy flow days... think my mum got them somewhere and i managed to have better nights... cos they absorb reali well...

durian

no no. pain pain due to wind and not contractions. Coz she never examined me when i was in pain mah. So give me med just in case.

Hi Jan MTBS!

im from the Dec thread, my edd is end dec so i might just end up being a Jan mummy if junior decides to come later!

hi hi all mommies

i very stress due to work recently... no chance to log in during office hour... but sometimes come in and peep peep... will try to catch up the posts and talk to you all again.

hi durianlover
'cos the CL doesn't need to do cooking mah. and i wanna do TBF, meaning she could be quite 'eng' leh... so, intent to use cloth diaper 100% loh. :p
i think i might buy 1 pack NB to stand by lah.

nepia is smaller than other brands ah? where to get nepia har?

god's child,
i got the avent manual pump at isetan at that price. so i think that's abt the cheapest.

the mothercare sale for bathtubs over but still got other stuff on sale. i just saw the avent one on sale today. shd be until nov 13 i guess. i know their sale is until then. but just din know that bath tub sale end earlier.

durianlover,
i really feel a lot of movement on the left. he doesn't really kick but he moves......so now i know why i feel what i feel..

RE :Maternity pad
My colleague also pass me her unused ones... I haven't bought any yet, thought will use what I have left at home, regular and nite use.
Before preggie, my mensus is never heavy and always stop around 3rd days so I also dunno if mine will be heavy flow or not.

Anyone has any idea... when CK Tangs going to have Sales ah??

RE: breast Pump
After my antenatal class last nite... the nurse was telling the class that Manuel Pump is good ONLY when the breast milk flow is established that means good to use only after 1 mth of direct BF.
If we intend to express milk out right from the start... in case baby cannot direct latch on and we need to express milk out, it was recommended to use Electric Pump(they actually recommend Medella brand, I was suprise MAH opening endorse on this product) becos it mimic the baby sucking pattern better and will help the breast/brain to register production of milk.

Therefore in case u are considering getting Manual pump(the speaker recommend either medela or Avent)to use from the start... you may want to consider.

SY/StyloBB
Good to hear bbs are all doing fine... Yeh!!

StyloBB
u have so bbs so tummy will be bigger than ours, and need more rest. Rest well, ok.

Yuki
Thanks.. will note the 2hr guide.

Re pampers
My cousin bb was born 3.6kg and used NB for 1mth. My gf used NB for 1 mth before switching to S. So, I've ordered Nepia too, 2 S and 2NB. Might get a pack of PP NB too, see how lah.

SY
Ya, that's the pack which I'll most likely order too.

Sunny
I got the Nepia promo coz my gf says it's qt good. So, now with the promo, it's worth it for the price loh. The promotion is from nepia company. Valid till end Nov. Tel: 62262650 or 63241223 or email [email protected], $14 per pack, Free Delivery for 4 packs & above. Can Mix & Match

NB - 60psc (0-5kg)
S - 54psc (4-8kg)
M - 51psc (6-12kg)
L - 42psc (9-14kg)

cookie,
i was just talking to my fren who finished her one month confinement. she say BF is tough! and her milk supply not very established. and she said it's so tiring etc. so got to be mentally prepared.

i read before that we shd do TBF for 6 weeks before using pump. unless like what u say baby got problems latching on....then got to use pump earlier. must read up and prepare myself first!!

krissie,
think i shall go check out all these 1 month stuff also. dun want to stress at htat time!

SY
ya lor... we haven't experienced it really difficult to knwo how tough it is. My colleague came back from ML... she only BF for 1 mth saying very tiring etc...
I think one of the key things is during the 1 mth to establish milk flow, at least every 3 hrs must feed baby even if baby is sleepy must wake baby up...according to the nurse who speak in the class. If baby demand to eat even before 3 hrs is up... feed according to his demand. I think this aspect maybe very tiring but we MUST ren... and hopefully baby can latch properly.
The nurse says if baby can latch on at 1st few attempt it will be very much easier to carry on.
So learning the right technique during our stay in hospital is very impt.

Oh accoring to the nurse from MAH, she say we must TBF between 4-6 weeks before starting pump. the period to establish is 4 weeks. if baby can latch direct immediately than by 5 weeks can let baby learn bottle. if baby cannot latch immediately maybe mummy took 2 weeks to "train" baby to latch... then only on the 7 weeks then start bottle... the important thing is baby must direct BF for 4 weeks.

Sunny
Are u sure u want to use cloth diaper?? Bb is gonna use 8 diapers each day....
Think most NBs upgrade to S in a month or so....

MP and PP shud be around the same price range.

SY
Kekeke....yah, pink and all the nice colours...!

Adhesive is good enuf. Think I switch to the normal ones after the discharge was less.

I think it needs abt 6 weeks for bm ss to be established....

krissie
Thanks... may all the bbs grow well!

Did u order Nepia? I ordered quite a lot cos really worth it on promo...

Welcome to join our thread.

Zhimin,
Take care! Dun overstress urself hor!

Cookie,
Heard tat if ur menses not the heavy flow type, then shld be ok. For me, Mine also around 3-4 days but usually 1st 2 days very heavy. So I better stand by some maternity pads lor. Told hubby, if not enuf, will make him run to NTUC to buy for me. Kekeke!

hi styloBB
ya, i wanna use cloth diaper. hehe... hopefully can be 100% lah. 'cos CL will be around mah. so, everything handled by her loh. save $$ and good for bb's butt...

nepia's promotion is $14 per pack? that day i went to buy MP s size (3-8kg) leh. compare to nepia, it's ex... since there's promotion now, maybe i will by another pack of nepia S, 2 M and 1 L? hehe.... like very kiasu hor... oh, i heard from another friend that NTUC's diaper not bad leh.. i wonder how much does it cost....

cookie,
i totally agree with u...must REN!!! all mummies must jia you. my fren say her milk ss quite low so sometimes in an hour bb get hungry and when dun drink enough, bb will cry so she will feed FM....

yah think i read that also. milk ss need abt 6 weeks to establish so dun start on pump too early unless no choice.

stylobb,
u must stock up on diapers cos u have x2!!

StyloBB
yup, I ordered Nepia too, delivering next sat. 2 S and 2 NB, coz my gf says it's very good, and with the promo, it's qt cheap loh.

Actually, I dun mind supplementing with FM in the 1st mth. Only worried that bb will not want my breast and then supply will drop / stop.

Morning Mummies

sunny
MP is ex, but good... did not try the NB but my boi's been using M to XL now... the material is v soft..

Yes, on promo is $14, order directly from them.

SY
Yeah I stocked up but after asking my mummy friends, decided not to overstock the NB, if it runs out, will get either sealer or PP.

krissie
Yah, can't help but ordered more for stock. It is good cos my boi used the M size onwards till now he wears the Big pants.
My last order is at my parents' place...hee...

krissie/SY
Worst scenario if u can supplement but u can also express at the same time to keep the ss coming. Dun feel so guilty (my personal opinion) that must give bm but dun give up either as the ss only comes in after a while. It won't be easy but persevere. I also thot I cud not do it but in the end managed quite ok... only that I gave fm for the last feed cos I needed to rest but I pumped during that time...
One of my gfs gv fm and pumped and once her ss was established, she went to ttl b/feeding. So it's up to the individual, most impt is bb is feeding well.

good morning.
i bot a 2nd hand pram already. hehe.... another thing can strike off from my list. now big item left bb cot....

think i will discuss with hb if wanna order nepia... but it's good that they do home delivery.

so, we pay when they deliver?

Hi God' child,
sama sama, I was resting heavily in first trimester coz of bleeding, cannot exercise at all, probably tat's why gain so much...

Krissie/durianlover,
me am distracted, can't decide whether to get or not to get CL lady... i super indecisive one, sometimes, I very confident, think as long as slow and steady, dun panick, sure can handle without CL, some times, I think maybe better to get one just in case... very see saw hoh? Still thinking...

YUki,
I also hope bb will be guai guai and I will be cool also, then think confinement will be a breeze. I'm very inspired by my hubby's friend, the wife did her confinement totally alone, no maid, no parents, no CL, and her hubby can still travel for work during that period of time... and she is happy! I definitely cannot be like that!

Stylobb,
glad to hear your checkup went fine... it's fun to buy girl stuff huh? I keep trying to resist buying pink stuff, and get neutral colours instead, but sometimes cannot help it, they are so cute!

SY,
Don't worry about your bb's weight, still have 10 weeks to catch up! As long as Gynae is not concerned, then just rest more, and eat more

Welcome 2005!
You probably will be one of the first ones here to pop..

Cookie,
MAH really recommend Medela PIS? I was thinking of getting Ameda, coz about $300 cheaper leh... though I do like Medeal alot, dunno whether worth the investment or not...

Sunny,
the shopping is never ending... even my mum is surprised. Everytime we drop by with loads of bags, she will ask, 'huh, haven't buy enough yet?' She recall that when we were borned, she only had milk bottles, nappies and a cot to settle.. hee hee

I also worry alot about bfeeding, really really want to do it, but worry whether will be able to do it... gonna try the best I can...

Hi Krissie and SY ,

I agreed with what styloBB says. Each baby is different so have to go case by case.

My friend and i were just talking that day that how stubborn we were on insisting on TBF. For my case i had supplement with FM since day one. My friend TBF her baby for one year for during the first day, the nurse advise her to give FM as baby was hungry and she gave in once. And she felt she had let her baby down etc....and when people asked her if she TBF her baby and thou she said yes, in her heart she was telling herself :You are telling lies... you gave FM once...."..... Now that we look back, it's all very funny and silly but that was the actually feeling during that stage of time.

So whatever it is, don't be too hard on yourself. As long as baby is healthy and growing well - BF or not, with supplement etc is secondary.

I was like StyloBB's friend. I went on total BF only after two months.

Thou it's recommend to direct feed baby during the first six weeks, sometimes it's just impossible. My niece had jaundice and had to remain hospitalise when my sis was discharge. So my sis can only pump out the milk for those few days. However my niece got used to feeding via bottle in the hospital so she refuse to latch on.... end up my sister preserver for two months and gave up on BF. Some things are just hard to plan.