(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Yvonne,
I am 31 weeks today. I don't know if my gal is head down yet. going for check up today. my last check at my 26 weeks, she is head down but my gynae says that she still have space and will shift around. hopefully I have good news after the check up.

re packing of bags,
I will pack my bag 1 month in advance probably early dec. won't be packing another bag to leave it at the office.

My cot was delivered last sat to my place. we even set up the mosquito net. so kiasu but very happy that most of the things are done. now just need to wash the baby clothes. think I will do that only 2-3 weeks before my due date. else they will get dusty again.

I bought the bimbo bella (I think that is the name of the cot). solid cherrywood. it's quite nice and solid. can be converted to toddler's bed. $299 inclusive of mattress and 7 pcs bedding and covers. bought it during john little sale for members. Johnson cot is also a good buy. My sis is using that. but I have already bought this cot when robinson put johnson cot on sale.

mongs, hope u hv fun later @ the checkup....i usually enjoy the talk with the gynae & seeing my hb always asking questions....listening to bb's heartbeat, etc...damn funny....hope all is well for u & bb. my next detail scan is in Dec, so will only know then if bb is head down...

my bb now also very active. last nite can't sleep till around 12.30am or so.....dunno why...legs seem to feel "restless" & poor hb has to "thump" the lower calves for me & rub my back....

hi yvonne,
i read on babycenter website that 1 syndrome of pregancy is the 'restless leg syndrome'...that somehow our legs get restless n reason not really known! heh i'm also suffering from that! nowadays i find it tough to hv a gd nite's rest..no idea why...just can't really fall into a good deep sleep!

Re: packing of bag
i also won't be packing any extra bag to put in office. i think no matter what, shd still hv time to go home to bathe n get bag 1st before going to hospital...worse come to the worse, i'll ask my hb to get the bag from home for me!

i'm getting the jitters thinking of labour and delivery! any of u feel the same?! and the worse thing is that i still can't decide whether or not to go for epidural...

mongs,
your cot is from JL? i saw it there before.

let us knkow how is your checkup!

durianlover,
i also feel a bit anxious. sometimes get those anxiety attack at night and cannot sleep and got to use some breathing to relax myself. read a book that says when u breathe out, u sigh loudly and it helps. find it quite good too!

hi all...wat will the pre natal massage package do? i feel like doing it but will it be uncomfortable having to lie flat for an hr plus?

Hi SY and Celine,

May i know where you get the CF contacts? The rate sounds reasonable.

Hi God's child,

I have another contact (an agency) that can look for confinement lady for you. Getting one is not a problem but when i called to enquire, the charges for CNY is $2700 (very steep). In case you are really desperate for one and don't mind paying that price - PM me.

My friend and i had different experience. When her water bag burst, she said lots of water came out. she had to place a towel on her car seat on her way to hospital and the towel was rather wet. For me, the first flow was like the size of a mouse. Subsequently a normal pad is able to 'hold' the water......

kriss
wow you very steady !!! so many link.. thanks.
My collegaue also recommend cakes from San Marino say pretty good... btu I dunno how much la.
I also thinking what cakes to give my office colleagues too... each one cake or a few boxes for them to share...my dept has 3 sections and consist of 20 pax!

SY
ok.. thanks... the only thing I worry is water bag burst in office... so malu!!...

Durianlover - me too n cant really have a gd sleep at nite. (i keep waking up in the middle of the nite)

Gals - may i know wat are the items should i pack?

Hi durian lover,

Don't panic. Decide on the day itself whether you need an epidural etc. No point planning and think too much.

My friend's first child was a breech baby so she went for caesaerean. For her second child, her gynae advise her to opt for c section too cos he was afraid the first wound may tear. End up she dilate pretty fast second time round - no time even for epidural and she delivered naturally.

For those who has a car, once you pack the bag, just put the bag in the car. In this case, even if you need to go hospital direct, need not go home to fetch the bag.

cookie,
wow! got 30% tatz even better. I bot 3 nursing tops from them. only got 20% leh. My sling is the blue one. Dunno issit the same aqua u mentioned. I decided to buy the new one cos the salesgal said some of the displays got some minor defects, like twisted paddings, etc.

SSF,
for pre natal massage, u will not be asked to lie flat for an hr, but probably on your sides, oso, massage done only to back, legs & arms (i think) most effective for pain relieve...definitely not tummy & breasts.... =)

Yvonne, thks for the details. can someone pls share after gg through the pre-natal massages and let me know if its really good?

yuki & SY,
ok then, seems like no pt planning so much since we can't predict what will happen anyway! shan't think too much abt the delivery then...only causes me to get more stressed abt it!

dear mummies,
i feel like a big buffalo now...even my hb says i'm walking like a pregnant woman already!! coz my tummy's so huge so i think i inevitably walk in a way so as to balance properly...know wat i mean? hmm dun like this feeling. i feel clumsy n huge n round. and i'm only 7 months...can't imagine how much bigger i'll be at 9 months!

durianlover,
same here.....my mum calls me a BABY ELEPHANT
...so sad.....like humpty dumpty....but must try to walk more often, cos it says to help during delivery....think it's good for pelvic...

Durianlover,
Dun worry u r not alone lah... My HB was laughing at me when i walk briskly to "chase" the MRT... he say i looked like a penguin... all the more coz I was wearing black some white... = P

I feel breathless easily... especially when i talk n walk/stand at the same time.... anyone too??

yvonne,
really? walk more often? i'm told not to walk so much after i got the contractions last week. So am refraining from strenuous activity or walking too much...in fact, i'm banned from shopping by my hb!!
Gd thing i've bought most of my stuff already!

clare,
well at least ur hb laughed at u only when u walked briskly! my hb now laughs at me all the time coz he says i look so funny walking like a preggie!!! hmmpphh!
and yes i also feel breathless easily...it's common - don't worry. Sometimes i don't even have to be doing anything (can be just sitting down) and i can feel breathless!

durianlover,
dun really know, but somehow or rather walking does help.....heard from mum & aunts....

for my case, when i need to walk fast, i need to "flap"/swing my hands....like a penguin....i too experience breathlessness....think it's normal for preggies

wendy
the salesgal say the aqua is suppose to be new colour, a bright blue colour.
oh yes the sales gal did say some with minor defect and some is pre-wash that y display ones cost only $35.00. I also tok wanna get the box one but HB says... nevermind as long as it is not defect. I manage to choose one which is pretty alright, no defect seems to me

Yuki
Thanks... I was also thinking of placing the hospital bag in my car...

Clare
I also get breathless easily now... really 3rd trimester no longer honeymoon period...

RE :Full month cakes
Wow just went thru all the link provided by Kriss ( Thanks again)... so many types these days but see until blur blur...
There are some new kinds which dun comes in cakes and Ang Ku Kway etc... but are in candies and choc bar instead... looks so nice but dunno the old folk can take it or not...but they really looked so sweet and nice.

Oh did I mentioned my collegaue also recommend
- Jane's cake station ( no website, located at Jln Kayu)
- San Marino ( no website again, can't even find them in yellow pages
I remember eating her San marino cake, pretty nice.

durianlover
I'm also getting jitters abt labour.. coz I keep telling myself not to worry coz it's so far away. Then, now that it's nearing, cant delay worrying liao..

Cookie
hee hee.. wanna settle it before confinement, 1 less thing to worry. Have shortlisted a few liao. That's why got headache loh.. since I've joined, only 1 colleague had 1st mth celebration, so gave Bengawan voucher. My previous office also all gave Bengawan vouchers. I find it less personal. So, now thinking of getting either, cake, mini cakes, tarts combi, etc to distribute. Each person 1 box loh. Based on the collection for my colleague who just gave birth, 40 pple contributed, so I have to get ard that no. loh.

Yuki
Good idea, shall put the bag in the car, plus a big towel to prevent the seat from getting wet.

Cookie
No prob.. I also see till got headache. Esp with the disc and free delivery. I shortlisted Sweet Secrets (for whole plain cake), Blossoms mini assorted cake (coz it's below hb's office) and Choz value pack (2 Fruit Tarts, 2 Ang Ku Kueh, 2 G/Rice, 2 Eggs). So, that it's easier for me to decide which one to get. My colleague recommended Choz coz she said good feedback when she used it, taste nice and looks good too. So, am considering Choz one or the whole cake loh. For Sweet Secrets, they can print bb's pic to place on the cake. So, I like that too. Which one are u looking at?

durianlover, yvonne is right...we must exercise. at least 30 mins of walking everyday. i am gg to stadium later with my hubby. he will jog while i walk. walking is good to help us deliver and dilate easier. also help to keep my insulin working too

Wenyl

no prob, u let me know again if you can manage to get her...

Yuki

i also called up the agency and they charged me $2600 (stay in for 8 days ) and $196 for govt levy... i find it steep too.. am waiting for 2 ladies to get back to me, they r malaysians and will need to go back for bout 5-6 days... atmost i will get my sis to come help out...

durianlover

i also feel so big... and nowadays i get aches at my ribcage at the sides... have anyone experienced this yet? was sitting on the bed to sleep last nite , and HB said he was shocked to see a 'Godzilla' sitting there..haha

Oh okie so guess almost everyone is breathless... my HB was worried n keep asking me is this normal i just said think soo... n whenever i tok n start to get breathless he will cut me half way n say "BREATHE BREATHE"... as if practicing for labour.... hahaha

Hi God's child,

What do you mean by stay in for 8 days? Don't stay thru out?

For me, my MIL offer to help out but i am worried she cannot handle cos she has a maid at home to do housework one.......... Plus she's working and she's nice enough to apply leave to do confinement for me. But i am just paranoid that what if my baby comes earlier etc............ My mum is looking after my elder girl so inconvenient for her to do confinement for me..........

hi clare,

i don't experience breathlessness yet. i can still walk very fast and sometimes run (when i forget :p). maybe becos i didn't put on alot.

can i juz do a poll? juz wondering how much extra kilos does mtb put on...

celine77, 30weeks, put on 7kg

durianlover,
think before u do any exercise, check with your gynae cos u had experienced contractions. walking is supposed to help in delivery but in certain cases, exercise must be refrained.

krissie,
i got choz one before also. it's nice. and i realised it's really popular...

i also realised i walk like a penguin too! seems like that's the most common description. also get breatheless and sometimes when i sleep it happens too! so have difficulty sleeping...

celine77
how much you shd put on also depend on prepregnancy weight....i put on about 10kg already and i m only about 28 weeks and 3 days....

there are some guidelines on how much weight to put on ideally but as long as bb is healthy, i think it's ok.

god's child,
the CL sounds expensive. u mean she only stay for 8 days?

SY,
ic.. u mean if pre preggie slim, will put on less ar? but i got some friends who are very slim but put on 15-20+ kg leh.

SY
hmmm.. then, maybe i'll get Choz too. Did u receive the value pack that i mentioned or the whole cake?

celine
no, usually pre-preg slimmer, will put on more. I put on the most here lah. 31 weeks - 14kg.

SY & krissie,
yes i received Choz one before too...nice! i like the packaging n food
But i thot wat i received was a mixture of red eggs, ang ku kueh, etc in a box? it's not a whole cake. Anyway choz is really popular with actresses who gave birth!

celine,
i only put on abt 5kg and am 28weeks plus. Din put on much but my tummy is really really really huge! i'm not kidding! even all my female frenz who gave birth before commented that my tummy is huge for my stage in pregnancy
oh no...it doesn't help that i'm by nature short n quite petite, so a huge tummy makes me look even more like penguin!

Yuki,
Me same same. It's my mum who wanted to help me during confinement. Also working, also got maid at home do hsework one. So dunno if she can really handle my confinement well. So I decided to engage a CL while my mum will come by as n when to help out.

Celine,
Me 30weeks. So far put on 8kg.

Hi Celine n ladies,
you all put on so little, compared to me, 14 kgs at week 30
And I didn't started out slim also.. hee hee. Lucky my hubby is tall and big sized, if not, feel like a giant beside him.

Yuki and Wenyl,
strangly, I was also thinking about confinement lady. My mum is doing my confinement, but had a row with her yesterday, coz she not pro breast feeding... and she also start to give me hint to get help, so now rethinking my options. I dun wanna have to deal with the stress if mum nagging, so if I get a confinement lady who is pro bfing, that may solve the problem... still thinking, actually I just want to do a simple and fuss free confinement, now like getting complicated...

good morning! saw my gynae yesterday. he was out to gleneagles for delivery when we arrived at 6.45pm. went for dinner and he came back at 7.30pm. that was quite a fast trip. think the to and fro plus delivery took him 1hr. I was thinking it's real expensive to pay the prof fee of 1000+ when he will be there only for 20-30mins. actually that's what my colleagues said as well. some gynae was there when the baby start crowning and less than 1 hr, can clamp and cut the cord already.

I have no strep B bacteria and that's good news. my discharge is still present but he says very difficult to get it clear because of the lower immunity.
My weight gain from last visit is 2kg a month ago. so far put on 10kg. now in 31 weeks. baby is head down but may move some more according to gynae. he said at 34 weeks, then he will safely say that she is head down. baby is around 1.5kg. 0.7kg increase from my last visit. next visit at 34 weeks will do detailed growth scan at the hos. he will expect my baby to be more than 2kg when I next visit him.

I also have restless legs and can't sleep well due to that but I tried a leg cream by elancyl (can be found in guardian) and it's quite good. made the legs very comfortable. the few nights when I applied, can actually sleep very well. cost 39.9. maybe u gals may want to try and share a tube esp for those who are attending the same antenatal classes.

Yuki/SY

sorrie!!! typo error... i mean 28 days...but then im stil looking ard for contacts... hopefully can get one soon before i go home and face my MIL...

Krissie/sleepingdeer

*slap high 5* me also put on 14 kg at week 30 now. i also heard before tat if u are slim before preggie, u put on much more... the huge chunk came from first trimester when i was having intake of alot of milk and caouldnt walk or exercise coz of bedrest... now i dun take milk ( cos will feel uncomfy ), but i take cheese n soya milk frquently...

durianlover
yup, that's the one I'm looking at loh, 2 Fruit Tarts, 2 Ang Ku Kueh, 2 G/Rice, 2 Eggs for $5.50. I like it coz of the variety. I also heard from my other colleagues that the food was nice and packaging was good. But, does it look small and cheap as compared to the whole cake? My hb says it looks cheaper than the whole cakes, so he prefer whole cakes, more presentable.

Sleepingdeer
I had a similar prob with my mum earlier too. She knows that I'm keen to bf loh. She's neutral abt bf, i think. Coz my cousin also bf. But, she was worried that she couldnt cope and suggested that we get help. My mum is those type that like to stress herself and worry excessively. Then, I told her what she needed to do and she was less overwhelmed. She also spoke to my aunt who helped my cousin with her confinement and my aunt reassured her that she can cope as we don't eat pig's stomach, kidney, etc, which require a lot of cleaning. So, simple lean meat, chicken dishes are managable. I'm also using pampers so my mum doesnt have to wash the nappies. I told my mum that the priority is to look after bb, if cant manage with the food, then I'll order confinement food. But, finally, managed to ask my dad to help with cooking for the 1st 2 weeks while we all settle in.

sleepingdeer,
yeah know what u mean, i also want a fuss-free confinement. I think u still can hv a fuss-free one if u employ CL, coz whether or not u want to follow her 'rules' is up to u! Whereas if u get ur own mum or MIL may be tougher coz they kinda expect u to follow what they say...or so i think!
Yes and from what my other frenz say, it's gd to hv someone who's pro-bf if not will be v tough.

mongs,
gd to hear ur visit went well! hee, u mean we hv to pay for gynae to come n deliver the baby when in hosp? i think my package already includes those charges, if i'm not wrong.
Re: leg cream - is it to solve restless legs problem?

god's child,
i also read that if u're slim before preggie, will put on more weight. But it doesn't seem to be the case for me. Am considered petite n slim before preggie so i thot i'd put on more, but never leh. But still my bb seems to be quite big!

mongs
congrats.. no strep B bacteria and bb is growing well. I wonder how big my bb will be next week. Also doing my growth scan next week.

durianlover,
I use the leg cream because it came free with my elancyl stretch cream when I bought it from guardian when there was still a promotion. was quite skeptical about the use too but my legs felt very relaxed and comfortable after rubbing that. alternative way is to ask hubby to massage for you but not all hubby will want to do the massaging every night, right?

for the maternity packages at the hos, normally they don't include the professsional fee in the rates they publish. u can read the small prints at the maternity packages brochures that doctors fees are excluded. I believe u took up the consultation package with your gynae, u should check with him if your delivery prof fee is included. normally it's not included.
I have to pay the deposit ($500) for my maternity package the next time i visit my gynae. we have sort of decided to go gleneagles (my gynae can deliver in all pte hos) since my gynae is based there so he can visit me when he is around and when I am in labour but still have not decided what bedding to go for. going for a visit at the hos first.

I forget to share that my baby head is now 8cm. gynae said that if it's more than 10cm by the time i am due, I have to go for c-section because we only dilate 10cm, baby head can't come out. quite worrying coz my hubby side has big heads, my nephew and niece both are in the 90percentile group for their head measurements. :p

Hi Celine,

Me, 30 weeks, 6.6kg

During my first confinement - thank God that my baby was a easy one to take care of so it was rather easy for my mum and i. Basically what my mum did was to cook for all of my meals, bath the baby and feed once or twice. As i was BF, i was with baby most of the time. So for my mum, morning is the busiest. Cook breakfast, bath baby, wash nappies etc. Then cook lunch. 2-5 is her 'relax' time where she go look for her friends for cup of coffee, etc. Then cook dinner. I did all the night feeds by myself so i must say my mum have a easy time. Besides, like i say, my baby was very calm and easy so she doesn't cry often. When she gets hungry, she will make some noise but not cry and will get satisfied upon feeding. This is one trick that i have learn - feed on demand. Don;t wait till baby cry very hard. By then hard to feed and they will also take in lots of air when crying. Must burp them often.

I must say my mum did a good job taking care of me and my baby. Basically i feel that my mum is calm so the baby can feel the security. If we are stressful and panicky, the baby may not feel secure.......... That's also my worry about my MIL cos she's a panicky person........

thanks for the feedback on the poll! so it's not necessary true that slim gals put one more!

mongs,
btw, i think u ordered the playmat from korea right? juz tot i let u know they have arrived in case u are not aware. coz i think you have not responded on how/where u want to receive the playmats. u may want to check out the thread in the market exchange.

Went for my gynae check up yesterday. My boy's 1.255kg at 28weeks.

Gotta take ventolin to relax the womb after the contraction episode.

My boy so cute, can be gymnast liao, he was holding his leg up until cannot see his face.

Yuki
Thanks for sharing. What do we eat for breakfast during confinement? I shall ask my mum to go for coffee in the afternoon too, gives her some sanity. She loves coffee.

Mashy
Your bb is so cute. Good to hear that bb is doing well. Rest well lah, since u had contractions.

celine,
thanks. ya, just inform sgmom on my preferred location for collection. my gal room is filling up fast with the cot, bouncer, ikea chair, toy bench from I'M toyz and now the mat.:p

Hi Krissie,

Breakfast nothing much. Half boiled eggs, chicken essence or milo with biscuits. No bread or cakes cos my mum says that the yeast will cause us to be 'bloated', next time will have puffy face etc. But i think all angmohs eat bread and cereals etc and tehy are still ok.

For lunch, rice with vegs or meat etc or sometimes just mee sua. Fish are always steam etc. Hubby commented taht with such healthy meal, sure slim down fast.

My mum is very particular about the confinement food and always had to cook it fresh. Meaning even if i have the same dish for both lunch and dinner, she will cook twice. Cannot eat leftover food even if it is just cook in the afternoon.... And everytime she finished cooking, i had to eat immediately......