(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sysa..wow so envy. say go japan means go japan. i want to travel but abit ma fan la. now diagnose with GD, food must ctrl so cannot anyhow eat. so did you buy anythg for baby over in Japan? which part did u go? so nice to travel before your due date. great to hear that you enjoyed too.

Just wanna check have you all engage your confinement lady? Can i check how much does it cost? Does she stay with you even during the CNY? What are her duties?

SY - Really ah? Leg swell mean early delivery. My leg swell like pig trotter liao n i had cramp every nite

Oso u looking for combi pram? If i m not wrong isetan going to have a sales. I receive their newsletter n saw combi will be having special price n additional 10% for card members.

confused,
think the swelling is not just leg swelling. i having swelling at fingers. cannot wear ring already.

is isetan having sales?? there's a model that my hb likes so depends on whether they have that model there. when is the sale?

yuki,
i got my CL already. paid 2200 (she gets CNY off for 4 days). if need her to stay, will have to pay 2500. duties will be to take care of mother and baby and my hb's meals. will also do some housework as well. marketing, depends on whether u trust them. most pple will still do the marketing themselves.

yuki not getting CL. but i know its abt 2K plus. CNY mostly they will opt to go hm. so lugi lor..plus all the public holidays..not even one mth and so ex.

confused..do raise your feet and wear socks during the night. so you won;t get cramps.

yuki,
i oso engaged mine already. $2200. she will be staying for the duration of CNY. but she doesn't have to do housework coz i got maid.

Ivory, I have sent u an email with my particulars. Please include me in your update the next round. Thanks so much in advance!!

SY - alamak! i forgotten the date.(If i not wrong should be 10the Nov) i go home n check n let u know tomoro. Very funny is mu swelling is only on my leg.

missy - i raise up my feet no use. Worse ah! i try wearing sock n i couldnt sleep for days n eyes become panda so dare not wear liao. So weh the cramp comes, i got to quickly stand up lor. Every nite i'll get up 2-3 times. Hope time flies n after my delivery i wont have tis problem liao.

gals - Do u gals have any CL to recommend cos my maid going back. So sad, its a last min decision. At first, She agree to stay until my bb 1mth old but now cant liao cos her husband ran away with other woman n now she wanted to go back find husband.

confused,
that's thur!! hee, then got plans for thur already.....

maybe u dun drink too much water at night? some books that i read say drink a lot of water in the day and after 7pm, cut down the amt of water u drink.

Hi SY & SSF,

Yeah! It was really a last minute tip but I enjoyed tremendously!

Upon arrival, Went to Hakone and cruised Lake Ashi, Owakudani Boiling Valley before going up to Mt Fuji. It was snowing rather heavily when we went up. Cld play but had to be careful. It was followed by Hoshino Hakkai Village (Hot Springs) and Japanese steamboat for dinner.

2nd day - Took bullet train from Yokohama to Tokyo. Lunch @ Ginza and then visited the Hello Kitty Store. Visited the Asakusa Kannon Temple. Did not go in but was shopping at the stalls outside it

3rd day - Spent the entire day at Disney Sea. Went for the shows cos cldn't take the rides. Hubby went for rides while I shopped. That's where I really shopped for Baby. Spent abt $200 on his barang barang.

4th day - After breakfast, we went to shop shop for Japanese products (chocs,biscuits, hankies, chopsticks, make-up, etc) until my flight in the evening at 6pm. So I really ate lots of Japanese food and shopped loads.

The weather was cool and so I wore mostly light coloured sweaters to show I was pregnant. If wear dark colours, cannot really see my tummy.

SY - You can reward yourself and visit your sister when your baby is born. Then you can shop for baby too. I try to travel abt twice a year and so I took advantage of the festive holidays to go. It was a good relaxing trip. Glad I went

My stuff are more or less settled. Now got to get things to pack into the hospital bag. I will be 32 weeks tomorrow so got to chop chop cos I want to rest and relax by week 36
4 more weeks to shop or do stocktake for anything I may have left out. Very forgetful nowadays.

Confused / Yuki

I also stil searching for CL leh... the one i found ( a malaysian ) actuali quoted me $2000 but then she wants to take 6 days off!!! so its like 3 weeks for $2k... i think my last resort is to go to TMC and get their confinement lady, its $2500 ( wf GST ) if im not wrong...
kao_dizzy.gif

sy - thanks i'll try your method n see whether it works on me boh. Oso i confirm the date with u again tomoro yeah! yalor! i got to plan juz in case we cant get a replacement on time.

god's child - har! 3 weeks only. I find ex leh. u mean i can get TMC confinement lady even though i'm not delivering there?

wah sysa..u really enjoyed urself. thks for your itinery. japan is also one place i want to go. we actually have free tix using mileage but too bad...pregnant and dun think i can walk and eat much. so decided to put it off.

rena,
i think a bit early to take young coconut juice right? my MIL says shd take 1-2 weeks before delivery...no need to take too early.
Usually if babies come out too early (ie. premature), v high chance they'll hv jaundice coz liver not fully developed yet...so i dun think it's coz ur fren didn't get to drink coconut juice, but more coz baby premature that's why yellow!

sleepingdeer,
ok will look out for u! hee
i think i shd be quite easy to recognize too...am short but hubby is tall!

SY,
re: swelling
my fren started to swell everywhere since her 4th month of pregnancy - can u imagine?! but her baby came out at full term leh. So dun think swelling is a sign of early delivery...

sysa,
wow glad u cld hv a chance to go Japan! Sounds like a really nice getaway!!

confused,
oh my, your poor maid. Things like that actually happen huh?

Re: kicking
yes my bb's kicks getting stronger and more complex now! sometimes quite painful n uncomfortable...then i'll tell bb not to kick too much...but then again if she doesn't kick so much i'll also get worried. Wat a dilemma huh!

Hi girls, haven't log in for some time liao....

Congrats, Yasmin! Wish you have a smooth pregnancy this time!

confused, you can also flex your feet towards you when you experience leg cramp.

sysa, really envy you!! Had such a nice trip! Now gotta wait for bb to arrive first before we can go for our next holiday.

Me not getting a CL.... Asked my mum to cook for me.... My aunt from Malaysia just finished her assignment for my cousin but not interested to be my CL since it's CNY period.

Ask you girls who had bought your bb cot, the mattress which comes with it, do you know what kind of mattress that is? I bought Tom Craft and it comes with fibre mattress. It's quite soft compared to to foam mattress (was told fibre one cooler to sleep on). Just wondering if it'll be too soft for bb?

hi SY,
if Isetan having sales, worth it to get the Combi there... I got mine for $360 something, but that was only after super hard bargaining and I also bought cot and car seat together...

Yuki,
I also not getting CL... mum helping, and hubby taking 2 weeks off.. hope I will be able to cope... but perhaps good time to sweat off all the fat I've gained

Sysa,
you steady ah, go means go! Sounds like you really had fun... the only place I am going this weekend for my wedding anniversary is Ritz Carlton
coz hubby say cannot travel...

Curly,
TOm Craft is nice cot! I bought a safety mattress for my playpen, but feel it's a little soft also...

Yasmin,
Congrats! I m sooo happy to hear ur good news. I remembered I cried when I read abt ur MC. Keep us updated ok! Do take good care of urself!

Clare,
I bot Bayb supplies sling at $48 during their sales. Their display set was going at $35. Yes, theirs come with light padding for shoulder. Din noticed any headrest for bb thou?? This sling is recommended by my close fren. She using it since her birth of her bb. Now her boy is 1+yr old & still using on short duration. If carry too long period, can be quite tiring for my fren cos her boy now weighs 10+kg.

Celine,
Thanks! I tink Yew Kwang pkg is much cheaper compared to Decharacter. Do u hv his portfolio for maternity shots? Din see any in his website thou. Here's decharacter pkg....www.decharacter.com/maternityPkg.htm

Ivory,
Thanks for the update! Btw, I intend to deliver at TMC.

Sysa,
Envy! Envy! So nice can go Japan. Me stuck at home. Hubby now having exams. So no travel plans at all. *Sigh! My cousin staying in Yokohama keeps asking me to go over.

Yuki,
I booked my CL thru a fren recommendation. She Singaporean, charging me $2000 for 1 mth (will stay thruout CNY). $1200 for half mth. Initially booked her for 2 weeks cos thot of getting a maid. Now thinkg of 1 full mth cos scared cannot cope on my own. Having 2nd thots of employing stayin maid. The CL will take care of mum & babe, cook for hubby also & do some hsework during her free time (tats when bb is asleep).

My fren SIL just finished her confinement. The CL from M'sia charged only $1400. Cheap hor! My fren say she is good & easy going. Too bad I booked mine liao. Anyone needs, I can ask my fren for her contact. But I dunno how much she charging during CNY thou.

durianlover,
i think my face looks very fat now. dunno whether it's considered swelling but those who see me all commented on it!

sysa,
your trips sounds really fantastic!!! but can you eat all the japanese food there? i wd really miss eating the sashimi....
sigh, makes me feel like going hol now. my mum has this feeling htat i will go hol very soon after giving birth!!

sleepingdeer,
so your bought your stroller at 360+...i will get it together with car seat but like what u say, must do some hard bargaining.... i keep asking him how much lower he can go and all he tell me is depends on what i get....

Durianlover & Sleepingdeer,
Me will be your classmate too... = ) I'm on the tan side while my HB is fair n we both wear specs... hee hee easy to recognise?? But HB working night shift this week n may/may not be able to join me this Thursday so i may end up going alone... = (

Wenly,
So u bought at $200 off their normal price that's a very good deal oh... think i should wait also.. = P

Clare,
U can try calling them to see if they can still sell the sling to u at $48. Sometimes they are quite flexi.

SleepingDeer,thanks for the info about the Combi pram and location of Baby Kingdom.

SY: Actually if you go kiddypalace and apply for their $10 membership card, you also get 10% off, and the price works out to be $360. Or if you have HSBC card, can get the same 10% discount from Kidsmall, so no need to bargain very hard. However, if the Isetan sale can offer even better price, then I think its good to wait for that.

Wenyl, I will try calling the BabyB supplies as I think their slings are very pretty. Curious, when was their sale? Do you know how often they have sale?

Ivory, thanks for faithfully updating the Mummy list. I will be delivering at Mt A.

Ladies, I will also be attending the antennatel class this Thur, see ya!

Hi Ariel
think i wil got to kidsmall to check it out cos i have HSBC card.
i did search online on their website but din see it.

hopefully isetan will have sale. do you know the list price for the model? u considering it as well?

seems like the HSBC offer doesn't apply to car seats and strollers...

* Offers are valid for regular-priced items unless otherwise stated, for the period from Now til 31st Dec 2003. * Payment must be charged to your HSBC credit Card. * Please present your credit card from HSBC before payment in order to enjoy the attractive offers/ discounts. * No Discount on Car Seats, Strollers, Furniture, Baby gears. * If you are current Kids Mall members, we will base on which ever discount is higher.

Seems like everyone is talking abt CL now.. how abt malay massage lady? anyone got any good recommendation, rates and how many times per package etc? i believe we need to book for one early too if we intend to engage one..

also i know we need to start packing our hospital bag soon.. any check list for what to pack?

sy
guess ur face is round due to water retention bah.. heard ppl said that when u drink water right, dun gulp 1 cup down at 1 time.. pace it slowly.. then will not have swollen feet etc
Duno how true.. i'm trying to do that now cos i have abit of swelling at the feet.

wah really envy sysa leh.. can go japan for holiday.. my hubbie refuse to go for holiday.. say not safe cos got baby. So sianz.

Wenyl,
sorry can't show u the pics coz my friend said it's for my eyes only. pai seh. personally i think it looks good. similar to those wedding studio shots. at least definitely better than those DIY photos u take urself.

See you all on Thursday for the class...

SY,
Seiyu seems like got more choice for Combi, go take a look if have sale...!

Re: Massage lady,
I heard Rohaya is good, and so is Naini... anyone know others?

Pack hospital bag? Gulp! Here I am thinking still have plenty of time... but come to think of it, we are all approaching 3Xth week already, most of us past it liao...

edd2jan,

i heard tat Naini is good too....my fren's sis did a pre-natal massage during her 7th mth of pregnancy and she did not even need epidural when she deliver her baby
.....am also getting her to do massage prob not the pre-natal one but the post-natal massage.....cos my hubby said my treshold for pain is damn low.....so not feasible to go for pre-natal massage then spend more $$$ for epidural....
nono.gif

sept 03,
my hb say the same thing too! cannot go hol cos not safe for bb...

confused,
thanks for the tip!! will go and check out the combi.

sleepingdeer,
i agree, seiyu got more choices. but they dun have sale so often..

re: massage lady
i got a contact from my fren. haven't call up yet. it's 350 for 7 days for post natal.

krissie,
i posted something on the HSBC discount. only until 31st dec and not applicable for everything.

edd2jan,
think i will start to pack my bag slowly..

For your information, i just checked with Mdm Naini...

Her charges:
pre-natal $600 (10 sessions)
for 1 session is $65 (only on sundays)

post-natal $450 (5 sessions, 6th session is body scrub)(massage is conducted throughout the week) got to purchase belt ($20) from her. She uses traditional javanese massage oil. Massage only commences (for NON C-SECTION) within 1 week or 10 days after birth of child, depending on healing of wound.

Hv already booked her for the post-natal massage

Anyone interested can contact her @ 94562817

Ariel,
I bot the sling last mth at $48. I tink one of the mummies here bot the display set at $35 after the sale ended. So my impression is that they are quite flexible. But that was when it just ended. Now I dunno if they still give disc.

God's child,
I will ask my fren for the CL contact. My fren just left last week for Shanghai so dunno if she can access her emails.

Celine,
It's ok. I understand. No prob. I tink Yew Kwang pkg looks more attractive. May go for it too. Told hubby since our wedding anniversary on 5 Dec, we can use that as anniversary shots mah. Initially he not keen on the idea of me taking maternity shots. Hopefully he will change his mind lor. *MAN! Sometimes they just don't GET IT! Hiaz!!!

HOSPITAL BAG
I keep procrastinating to pack my hospital bag since last week. Sigh! Tink I better start soon!

wenyl,
good for u. ya wedding anni would be a nice day to take the pics. more meaningful. i was initially oso thinking of taking the preggie shots on 14 nov which is my 1 yr wed anniversary. but coz my tummy is not very big,YK said may want to wait till 33-35 weeks when tummy is bigger. so i have booked him for dec instead. luckily my hubby is quite sporting, he was all for it when i suggested

hello Yvonne,
how long is each section? 1hr? when do we need to confirm with her? I am afraid of complication during the delivery process and may need emer c-section. 2 of my colleagues kerna that. Your baby is already in the head down position?

hi mongs, think the session will be around an hour....didn't really ask her....ah yah, quite forgetful and brain can't think fast enuff nowadays.....

She sounded quite approachable....try calling her, dun think there's any obligation to engage her svcs....

baby still hvnt turn head down yet....am into my 29th week....wat abt u?

The thot of going thru the whole birthing process is quite nerve-wrecking.....
Told my HB that i dunno how to survive the labour thingy.....he said dun need to be scare coz he will be wif me.....damn, as if he's the one pushing the baby.....duh...

haha yes i think hubbies can never fully understd wat we go thru during labour, that's why they all say it's ok dun need to be scared. My hb even said suggested that i dun go for epidural since i mentioned that some of u said it seems scary!

Re: packing of hospital bag
i think really need to start packing liao...esp after my early-contractions-scare the other day..i realised how unprepared i was for actual delivery!! Did not even think of packing hosp bag yet till then.

durianlover,
if the pain is really terrible, i guess epidural is still the answer....die die oso must jap

i don't think i will be ever prepared for actual labour & delivery.....it still seem soooo far away and yet sooooo near....

just this morning HB told me he dreamt that my waterbag broke and the bed is wet and (in the dream) he said it can't be coz it's still in 28th going to 29th wk....then he woke up....think he's too stress liao....or probably can't wait to see BB....

RE: sling at bayb supplies
Think some one is enquiring...
the sling at bayb supplies, last went abt 2 weeks ago selling at : new in boxs @$48, on display which is good condition @ $35, cannot rem the price on silk ones. Like wendy says they pretty flexi... infact they are suppose to have 20% store wide the week I went down but on the day she told me they decided to offer 30% store wide. SO I ended up buy a few items for baby :p

Wendy
heehee that mummy is ME who bought the display sling at $35

There are so many display to choose from and I remember u told me must wash a few times as the colour run... the lady told me the display are washed to give customer see what it looks like after wash... so I reckon it's ok anyway.
I bought the aqua colour which is their new colour

Sysa
Wow so shiok!!... Japan trip!! Japan is one of the country I dying to go
but did u eat their sashimi and try their hot spring?
The only thing I never go Japan is since preggie like lotsa things not suitable scare will miss out all the good stuff

Glad you enjoy tremendously!

RE :FULL month celebration
Hey.. sometime ago some mummies here provide some link on full month cakes...
Do you still have the various link? think i will be ordering full month cakes so starting to think abt it now.

Re: starting of Labour
Hi mummies...do you think if we work half way in office and get into labour, like show or contraction or worse water bag burse... do we have time to go home shower and take our bag??
I'm thinking do we need to prepare a bag in office and a bag in home... in case our water bag burst in office..
Any comment?

Violet
can try doing hemstring stretch for the leg cramp.

Sunny
Dont worry too much, rest well, it helps. My colleague's bb was also small and she had ageing placenta. She worked from home, rested well and bb was 3.25kg when born. So, resting really does help. Try to lie on your left when u rest, so that bb gets more nutrients, and drink more milk.

Jan
yup, waiting for the Daniel cot, if not, will get the Johnson cot loh. My EDD is 6 Jan, so have to settle it by 1st week of Dec. You can wait longer coz your EDD is later, mah.

actually i also feel a bit scared about the birth. thikning abt it feels scary!!

yvonne,
must we book so early? i better call up also.

cookie,
think if you are not dilated yet, there will be time to go back to get your bags. but there are pple who tell me to bring extra clothes towards the later stage when u go office in case your water bag burst and your clothes get wet....

haven pack my bag also! think will start setting aside the things.

SY,
i spoke with mdm naini in Sept @ tat time she said still long way to go, so i called her today, since u & i hv the same EDD can call her and check first, anyway, am quite kiasu oso....i hope the massage is good and i can still wear my size 7 or 9 pants after tat......oso must control diet/food intake.

huh, really need a set of clothes in the office? dun really think it's necessary lah.....hope to go on leave one week before EDD, unless BB decides to come to this beautiful world before EDD....
, then it's a diff story altogether...

Packing of bags:
I also dun think need to pack for the office... worst come to worst u can just go hosp directly n get HB to collect our things n meet us at hosp. Anyway i heard when water bag burst its really still not that wet at all coz water just slooooowly trickle down n you would actually have time to go home, bath, change, etc. But of coz if worried can also go hosp direct lah. = P