(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Went for my gynae apt again this morning... am in my 31wk+ n BB Ashley is ard 1.5kg. Gynae says my tummy is considered small so usually will have an easier labour... i sure hope so!! Ever since I'm pregnant I have been gaining AT LEAST 2 kg for my every visit n was starting to wonder if my last trimester would be worse but today's weight check surprised me... I've only gained 0.5kg since 3 weeks ago!! Yippee....
Now am at 62kg so hopefully can keep to about 65/66kg max when give birth....

....Hmm... it didn't occur to me this morning but while i was typing the above suddenly this came to my mind: what if this means BB is not growing well?? Now i start to get worried liao...
Gynae didn't say anything though...

That's how paranoid we can get huh?? Gain too much weight scared too fat, gain too little scared BB not growing... SIGH.....

Babe22 HB,
Glad to know that everything's fine with your BB. So nice to have a HB who comes in n check things out for his wife... doubt my HB would ever do that...

babe22 HB,
glad that your wife's check-up went fine and everything's going well! and i agree with clare - so sweet of u to come in here n check stuff for ur wife!

cookie,
yah i hope supply of milk will be fine too! only thing is that MIL is my CL and she doesn't really think that full bf is good...she feels shd supplement with FM. So i must 'educate' her before baby comes!
i guess even if u go back work can express BM right? Well anyway see how things go then!

sleepingdeer,
guess i may go for flu jab since lots of pple hv been saying it's gd for preggies to go for it. Just hope i won't fall sick!

clare,
glad to hear that u had a gd time at gynae's! yah dun worry too much lah...i guess it's just natural tt we keep worrying abt different things!
How come tummy small will hv easier labour? oh no, my tummy's big...

I'm planning to do some shopping at the sales at JL & OG tomorrow so hopefully can accomplish some of my outstanding items.

1 thing i really dun know whether i should buy tomorrow: Lucky Baby stroller JL advertised at $169 (u.p $299).
I thought its a good buy but HB says no need to buy 1st can go around those smaller shops n look somemore... but where? He says anyway no hurry we wun need it during 1st / 2nd month also coz wun bring BB out... but it'll be CNY period so at least will have to go back own home & visit grandma place... can do without stroller? Or just buy the baby sling first??
kao_confused.gif

Oh n i've been wanting to ask this for quite some time but always forget... anyone here got a good recommendation for digital camera??

My ideal camera would be:
- less than $500
- at least 5 mega pixels
- ability to take continuous shots without too long a "lag" time. I dun mean taking 3 / 4 shots with just 1 click but at least dun have to pause & wait before i can take the next shot. Think this very important coz when BB is out I want my HB to capture as many shots as possible. My current camera always have to wait 3/4 secs before can take again so bit annoying.

Guess my HB is one of the rare guys who is totally NOT into the tech stuff so we got no clue at all which to buy. In fact if I can walk straight after baby pops (of coz i know i can't.. sigh) I'll rather me taking the camera than HB coz I'l prob capture better & more shots than him. = P

Anyone here good with IT or who's HB is into cameras can help pls??

Hi Clare
With ur budget, can get a P&S (point & shoot) DC liao.....perhaps u can top up abit and get a digital video camera and every single moments will be capture in motion and much much better than DC

As for those DC which u wan to have faster response...better check with those DC dealers to advise u better....
For me, i bought a nikon D70 so that i can take pics for my little boyboy next time....that is a DSLR but the camera set me back by 2.2k...
Plus i also getting a Digital video camera to capture my bb growth...

Durianlover

I'm those more paranoid HB perhaps so i read up book which my wife bought to read first before she read......kiasu maybe......plus i really looking forward to see him.......
kao_love.gif

babe22 HB

hi clare
i also plan to buy the pram after confinement. unless i can get a 2nd hand pram for the brand i want from the auction. i am aiming peg perego plico, actually. hehe.... 'cos it's expensive, still thinking whether to buy new one or not... maybe i will put in my wish list for friends' group buy for bb. haha...

for digital cam, my hb got a canon A80 4 megapix. the waiting time of each shot is about 1 to 2 seconds. he told me, it's quite hard to get at least 5 mega pix digi cam for your budget. the lag time depends on the temperary memory of the digi cam i.e. the writing speed. for canon, the function which allows lesser lag time is called sports mode. hehe... i am not a cam person, hb is. so, i just try to interpret what he said here.... :p
(there's a cam shop at funan centre giving really good service. can't remember the shop name, just can recall that the shop name is relating to bible.)

cookie,
i mean the nursing bra cost $8...think the one at metro warehouse sale got quite a few sizes. i not very big so took small size...

rachel,
i m also looking for those wall decor things. want to do something up nicely for bb.

god's child,
i bought those disposable panty there as well. 3 for $10. the impression one. the crowd wasn't as bad as i expected but still got a lot of pple. got some baby's clothes if you want to buy. i din buy too many cos i think i got quite a bit already.

sleepingdeer,
realised you haven't been logging on for some time... yah my right butt bone hurts at times too. got 2 mornings, woke up with it hurting. maybe really expanding..hee hopefully this means easier birth.

SSF,
i also find that the nursing bra cup looks quite ugly. the lady say must put those padding in. she ask me to try to wear now...

clare,
i m using minolta 5 megapixel and i like it. got video function as well. bought early this year and can't remember how much is it.

re: pain,
i keep getting those pain near the pte part leh. is it serious? it's on and off. dunno whether is it cos i walked too much,,,

clare,
some pple advised not to buy pram too soon. can use the bb sling first. do you have car? only if no car, then will prob need it more. some bb dun like to sit in pram so can be quite a waste if get one that's too ex

re: BF
my fren told me not to feed FM first as it will give bb less incentive to suckle. so must really be diligent in letting bb suckle to encourage milk flow...

Babe22 HB,
Wah... u really very technical leh... the only thing i can understand is u bought a $2.2k camera plus planning to get a video cam as well... WOW!!!
kao_scared.gif
But so nice to hear of such a gan cheong daddy for once... hee hee...

Sunny,
How much did your HB buy the camera for?? Hmm Funan centre is quite near my place but they have sooo many retailers there bit scared to go...but since u say the shop has got very good service i shall go take a look. Do let me know if you've more info on the shop name, which floor, etc. THANKS!!

hi clare
my hb bot it about 2 years ago, around $600+.
not many cam shops at funan centre. i think that shop i was talking abt is at 3rd or 4th flr, hb said the shop name is john 3:16. look for samuel, he always gives advice b4 asking you to buy... hb normally goes there to seek for his advice when he got interest in new cam though no interest to buy. haha... lots of customer there, so, need to be patient.

god's child

The PJ is listed as $6.90. But can bargain lor.

Confused
Apparently so. I also dunno lah. I also just bought 2 as standby. If later grow bigger then buy again.

celine77
Don't worry so much abt the breast milk now lah. Whatever you do, just latch your bb on as often as possible. This will encourage milk flow. In fact, Mrs Wong said nighttime is the best time for latching. So don't be lazy and give to your CL to feed your bb at night. :p I've heard that it'll be painful initially. So when the hospital prescribe u painkillers on your discharge, take it. Have to be very persistent if you're determined to breastfeed.

cookie
I think must prep your MIL abt bf. coz their generation are not so pro-bf. They think that we will not produce enough milk, starving bb, etc. My friend who just gave birth said that her MIL keep saying that she's not producing enough milk and want to suppl with formula.

Clare
dun worry, i think if gynae nvr say anything, means bb is growing well. they are qt sharp one lah.

The shop at Funan that Sunny mention is called John 3:16. Yup, good service. I bought my old "normal" cam from there.

Clare

why don't u try Sim Lim to get camera? Alternatively, wait for another of those IT/Camera fairs. Nowadays they have it quite frequently. Can get very good deals during those fairs. U can check out the SUntec convention or singapore expo website to see if there's any coming up.

Good Morning all,

Thanks Sunny & Krissie for the shop name and referral... really need to ask someone trustworthy n not just hardsell certain models. Will check it out.

Mashy,
Sim Lim very scary leh... so many shops n heard lots bad service... plus both HB & I totally cluless on wat to buy so need will definitely get headache going there. I know there will be a IT fair someing at suntec in 2 weeks time if i'm not wrong... so think I'll drop by Funan first n at least shortlist on a few models.

hello gals

Clare - i personally like cannon camera. i bought my digital cam at Funan harvey norman. yeah! its gd to look around (different sales person will have different view)

i bought my mini disc playing at Sim Lim square 5yrs ago n now still in gd condition. i cant really recall the name (if i'm not wrong its Song brother/brother) the biggest shop unit n @ the upper floor.

Anyone knows how much is the taurus cot at baby kingdom? I called and the salesgal refused to tell me the price over the phone. So silly.

krissie - maybe they thought that you are their competitor lor. Perhaps u tell them that the other day u came with your hubby n saw the taurus cot n forgotten the price liao. See whether they'll tell u or not.

for those planning to buy digital cam or view cam mummies n daddy. there will be a year end sales @ expo offering good items (tats wat i know fr my hubby)!! so maybe u guys can wait for this great chance to grab an ideal one
me n my hubby planning to buy a view cam, so waiting for this coming sales actually. as for the detail of the sales i need to check w my hubby first lo

i die die oso wont go sim lim to get any stuff unless u really do your homework n confirm to buy certain model liao. got bad experience b4 lo.

SSF- hourly maid will be helpful but will of cos be extra cost. anyway its a good chance for my hubby to do the hsework n make him burn some fats off
as for me doing some light cleaning n packing is good exercise too

SY- u mentioned abt pain near the pte part rit? i read fr some books indicating tat it is nothing serious. actually it is caused by the pressure cause by the BB. unless the pain is vy bad then u shld contact ur gynae @ once, if not it shld be fine

u oso looking for the deco sticker ah... i will be lokking ard, if manage to find it will inform u where to get them
talker.gif

hello all,

seems like all is getting digital camera to capture the special moments. my hubby just bought one the day before.Canon Ixus 55 (5.0 megapix) at $616 comes with a free 512mb SD card.

bot at sim lim first flr..canon shop. so he is now busy experimenting the camera..taking puffy shots of me. sigh!

Rachael - yah! i agree, going sim Lim square got to do homework n must make sure they are quthorise dealer n with warranty card. btw, wat sticker are u searching? (disney character) i saw it at IMM DIY store.

missy - wow! your hubby practising now so that he more familiar with the cam n on actual day no problem. Yo! i better bring out mine n ask hubby to practise oso.

confused...yeah he is checking the effect with and w/o flash. hehe..

all- we have a video cam and a digital cam. but i think on the delivery date..it is impossible to use both. i was suggesting to my hubby maybe a digital cam is good enuff as he may not have time to switch between 2 gadgets and also guiding me with the delivery. any thots anyone?

missy - ya! must try with n without flash to get the best result. Mine is Ixus 700. and i regretted that when we bought we didnt test out to see the effect (some pics we took at disneyland not really gd cos we took in a hurry n not familiar with the cam)

i told hubby digi can liao cos can oso have take video mah.(i dont think can do 2 things at one time)cos already so gan cheong liao.

confused..ixus 700(7.0 megapix) is very good. how come pics turn out to be lousy? we tried ours 5.0 and it is quite good leh.

missy - its very good. But bcos we dont know how to adjust the right effect. (Both of us not gd at camera n gan cheong lor) certain plcs too dark n pic turn out not very nice. ya! i find canon camera very good.

clare,
memory very short. had to go and look at my camera before i can remember the model. it is dimage x50. easy to use.

rachel,
i also think that it is the pressure of BB. if it doens't persist, i usually won't be so worried.

confused,
sometimes my pic also dun come out very good. hee, i lazy i use auto mode most of the time...

today went to baby kingdom and baby hyperstore. i dun quite like baby hyperstore. prefer the service at baby kingdom. but not really sure that their things are really cheaper though can bargain...

hi mummies..
went for my gynae checkup this morning.
Baby is 28 weeks now and weigh 1.2kg, so happie to see him again.
Went to Kids Mall to check out baby prams. Did any mummies get Maclaren prams?

Sept 03 Bride
good to hear that your check up went fine

mine is this coming wed and quite excited to see bb again. hope he has grown much more since i last saw him!!

i shd be getting combi pram. they have this new model that has some shock absorb thing that my hb likes. selling 398 at baby kingdom

septbride - i saw one mum pushing a maclaren pram. i personally like the design and find it very nice. but i heard tat brand is not cheap. Quinny and pegpregro is also some brands i am considering too.

anway, i will not be buying so early. maybe after my confinement and carry baby out to test those pram and see which fits him best. i am thinking if i were to buy them now, i will be taking up space in my room. and i already have like quite alot of stuffs in the room already :p

Hi Krissie,
I bought thr Taurus cot from Baby Kingdom, $269, comes with bumpers, cot sheets, and pillow...

Hi SY,
yah lor, super busy at work, machiam more work than b4 I got pregnant... haiz! Was it you who was stressed at work also? Hang in there!

I got the same stroller you are eyeing... the egg shock one, also at Baby Kingdom, yah prefer the service there to Hyperstore... Can bargain with the lady there... we managed to get it for $34... something I think, coz we bought cot, car seat and stroller from them...

Clare,
dun worry, if Gynae never say anything, weight of baby should be okie bah!

One thing to note if you buy camera or electronic stuff, always check where it is manufactured. Most of the times, new models which get launched get manufactured in Japan, and the quality is first class... but after a few rounds, they move the manufacturing to Korea or Taiwan, and that makes a lot of difference with durablility and quality... learned this from a guy selling cameras and electronic stuff

Confused
I told them liao, then they ask me to go down to see again. So stupid, rite? My legs so pain still hv to go down.. Siao one lah..

SSF
MacClaren designs are nice, but too heavy for me.

Sleepingdeer
Thanks, comes with mattress hor? So, it's $269. The gal told me $300+. BTW, have they delivered to you yet? how is it?

krissie - yes its heavy..same as pegpegro but sturdy and stable lor. if got car, shld not be a problem. else weight is definitely a factor to consider.

SY,
Thanks for the model. = )

Sleepingdeer,
Thanks for reminding me to check the manufacturer... it never occur to me to do so. = P

Hi SY and SleepingDeer,

I am also eyeing the same combi pram, I believe the model is 500. I saw it at Kidsmall and Kiddy palace. Btw where is Baby Kingdom? I understand if you have HSBC credit card, you get 10% off from Kidsmall. For Kiddy palace, you get 10% if you sign up as member for $10.

Btw, Sleepingdeer, which color did you get? I only saw black colour but I heard they have a red color one? My hubby like this model alot becoz its very light weight, think only 3kg+? I guess the only thing is that the hood can't seem to be pulled forward all the way.

Hi Krissie,
yep it comes with Mattress, paiseh, orginal price is $329, but on sale is $279, not $269, but I think the sale is all year round one...you can top up $20 if you wanna a safety mattress with those breathable holes... not Babysafe brand though, hee hee.

Ariel,
yes, it's NU500, I got the red and grey one. Only sad thing is the pram cannot be reversed for bb to face you, and yep, the hood is not a full hood... the lady told me all high end prams dun have full hood, dunno whether true or not, but we like it coz it is super lightweight, 3.8 kg, I think. Also, if you wanna get one to push bb around until she/he is 4, then NU500 may be too small, can only fit until bb is 2.5 or 3... for us, we wanna train bb to walk by herself by then, so got it

Hi Clare,
no problem. BTW, I saw you were asking about the LUCKY Baby pram? I also saw it at Baby Kingdom, the one with the 4 swivel wheels, reversable, and full hood, pretty impressive! I think the lady quoted $199 normal price, sale is $160 something also, or was it $140 something... aiyoh memory failing liao...may wanna call and check the price. Only reason why we didn't get it was coz it was about 5kg, little heavy for us.

Ariel,
Baby Kindgom is at Kaki Bukit, Shun Li Industrial Park, next door is Baby Hypermart...

BTW, ladies,
any idea where to get diaper Bin? I remember one mummy posting, but can't find it. Also, I have been having hard time finding those T shaped fasteners for cloth nappies, you know whose which can substitute safety pins? Feel safer using those than safety pins... just came back from Kiddy Palace, they dun sell anymore

sleepingdeer,
hv u tried Ikea for diaper bin? Thought they might sell in their children/baby section.

Btw, anyone NOT intending to use cloth nappies at all? i haven't even bought any to standby...

Sleepingdeer,
U can find the T shaped nappy fastener at Baybsupplies.net. Comes in pack of 3 at $8.50.

Durianlover,
I intend to use cloth nappies during the daytime, at least for the 1st mth, since engaging a CL. The cloth nappies can also be used as a blanket to wrap & swaddle baby. Not so thick & hot. Multi-function. I feel that it is good to standby some.

I also not getting the baby pram now. Intend to use the baby sling during his 1st few mths. My bro passing me his used pram & bathtub (luckily hvnt bot the tub yet). But need to check pram condition 1st. If ok, then no need to buy. If not, will wait till baby few mths old then bring him to test out the prams.

Any ladies went for makeover shots yet? Now I only know of this studio...DeCharacter at Tg Pagar. But dunno if they r gd or not.
Any good recommendations? Anyone?

re full bf:
thanks ladies for ur feedback. for those whose mil is doing confinement for u, i think it's wise to educate them on the benefits of bf. coz during their generation, most of them cmi when it comes to bf, so gave up either due to pain or no milk and the imptance of bf wasn't instilled in them. for me, both my mil and mum didn't bf their children coz either no milk and too painful. and i think the advertisements at that time brainwashed them that FM is juz as good, if not better than BM. so ladies, time to reverse that theory! :D i have already told my mil and mum that there will be no FM for my boy unless till the 5th day still no milk, then bo bian. think my bb would be damn hungry by then. i was planning that if that happens, i will spoon feed him FM rather than bottle feed. and still continue to let him suckle the breast for comfort and hopefully later the milkflow will kick in. is this alright?

sleepingdeer,
it was me who asked about the diaper bin. i got my aprica diaper bin from motherswork. the refills can be purchased at robinsons. first few years sell playtex diaper bins but u gotta get the refills from them. i'm not sure where else sells playtex refills.

wenyl,
i have booked an appt to do my shots on the 2nd dec when i'm 34wks. heard of DeCharacter but don't know their quality of work. i'm doing mine with Yew Kwang. He's a wedding photographer.

SY,
its always exciting on a gynae visit. Hahaha can see the baby again.

yeah we are also considering Combi prams.. it seem lightweight and easy to handle should I go out alone with baby.
But then Combi seems abit too light weight.. if i was to hang my shopping stuff on the pram, duno can take the weight anot.

SSF,
i saw the quinny pram too and quite like it. But the SA at Kids Mall say that it is for joggers. And it seems abit bulky, maybe cannot put inside the car boot.

Sleeping Dear,
i think i vividly saw the diaper bin from Kids Mall. Maybe u can check with the staff
I'm not using those T-shaped fasteners. I'm using those velcro bottoms type, not sure the exact name for it.

Sleepingdeer
oh I see, okie thanks.. the cot seems quite good also, just troublesome to have to go down to see it again. Have they delivered the cot to you yet? how is it?

Can get diaper bin from Robinsons (Aprica) brand or Mothercare (own brand).

Durianlover
I'm using pampers, but bought a pack nappies to wrap bb, as blanket, etc. Like what Wendyl says, it's more cooling for bb.

Wendyl
I think LewLian in Dec thread took her pics from there. Maybe u can ask her?

Celine
I plan to do the same too, i.e. cup or spoon feed bb if necc till milk kicks in. I really hope to bf, so am planning to give myself 2 weeks before I give up.

hi krissie,
hehe... glad that there's a mummy who is planning to do the same. of coz let's hope that our milk flow will kick in asap. my cousin who juz gave birth last week didn't have milk even until the 5th day. so have been feeding him FM. hopefully i'll not be like her....

Good Morning!

Do you ladies remember me? I was earlier in this thread, but was sad to leave here as I had a m/c. But I am back with good news. I am pregnant again and am currently in my week 12 and EDD is 19 May 06.

Wishing all a blissful pregnancy and motherhood.

hi yasmin,
yes i remember u. so glad to hear ur good news! and boy, u'r really efficient and productive! :D

wish u have a smooth pregnancy too!