(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

morning gals!

am happy today coz my pain has disappeared since yesterday!

krissie & SY & mashy,
actually i also dunno how to differentiate between BH & contractions. Honestly i thought i was just experiencing some stretching of uterus at the lower abdomen, but it was gynae who said it was contractions. So up to now i also still can't tell.

But i also had tightening of tummy kind of feel. Think a few of u mentioned that u experienced that before....like whole tummy will tighten up into a hard ball kind of feeling. My fren told me that one is normal. But i think basically if the pain doesn't come in intervals it shd be quite fine...so dun worry SY, since ur pain has disappeared i guess it shd be fine! At the most ask ur gynae abt it when u see him

SY,
ur backache better? hv u tried doing some exercises to strengthen ur back? know there are quite a few exercises that can be done...may wanna try it out!

mongs,
the colourful chair u got - does it have a handrest to support your arms while u bf? i'm also looking for a bf chair...wonder whether i shd buy a chair or get a bf pillow.

Hello gals

cookie - Can understand the feeling. my bb gal oso very gentle. Sometimes i oso dont feel the kick.

krissie - thanks for the info. Yesterday i went Robinson to check the Tom craft bb cot. Yep! its comes with 2 side panel(when convert to toddler bed) n Johnson cot come with 2 side pane n 2 front n back panel. Btw, u bought your bb cot liao mah? hey! me too leh, feel upper tummy very tight n numb. My last checkup i told gynae abt tis n he say its normal.

Morning all..

its such a nice weather to laze in bed today, gota drag drag myself out to come in to office...
kao_yawn.gif

Zhimin

hw much was the pj at OG? i also haven buy and im running out of time!! nowadays reali very tired and my feet has swelled a little... think i walk too much, i was practically out the whole day in orchard yest...

Re : Baby feeding eqpt detergent/cleanser

anyone bought this yet? wats a good buy? i saw the tollyjoy one at JL for $18, 2 bots of 900ml each. the pigeon one was more exp,cant rem the price but was oni 700ml... thinking of taking the tollyjoy one..comments any???

Re : baby wipes

haven got this yet. recommendations?
kao_confused.gif

god's child,

re baby feeding detergent/cleanse,
i bot NUK brand. can't remember how much thou.

re baby wipes,
i got Anaku, tollyjoy, avent and chicco. wanted to try out the brands, see which one is better. didn't buy pigeon coz many friends said it has a funnie smell.

god's child
the kalmys pj at OG is $16.80 or $16.90 i think before disc... but i not sure whether they still having the 20% discount in OG

god's child: I was using the pigeon cleanser, must get it on offer though, as for baby wipes, we get pigeon ones too. We tried Tollyjoy (the roll type), it give a sticky feeling on the hands after using.

durianlover: glad that everything is ok now...

zhimin

the chinatown complex is the one with the hawker centre on 2nd floor and wet market at basement one. It's not closed for reno. So i think u went to the wrong one. That one is people's park complex.

durianlover
yah, i think i'll ask my gynae when i see her next week.

god's child
the PJ at Chinatown complex is $6.50.

god's child, zhimin,
metro warehouse sale got karmy PJ. selling at 9 and 13. but designs limited

sept03
i also bought 8 nursing bra....

durianlover,
glad to hear that you are better. my backache seems to be worse on somedays esp if i sit too long when i work. and plus can't walk too long now cos get tired so fast. yesterday went shopping and within an hour, my feet felt like lead!! really so different from last time

god's child,
u can get the pigeon cleanser from medical hall. saw one with refill at 17.90 before. very cheap

i got johnson's wipes. there was an offer to buy 12packs for 24 bucks. my fren said it's quite good. maybe u see whether the lady who started the thread still selling if u interested

god's child

Mrs Wong from TMC said no need to buy those bottle cleanser. can use normal detergent. just dilute in a basin of water. no direct pouring into bottles and teats. Up to u lor whether u wanna buy or not.

Clare - The bb cot at john little do they oso have 20% sales.

SY - me too cant really walk liao. (get tired easily) u try putting a cushion behind when u sit n u'll feel more comfortable. Oso i feel hot most of the time.

durianlover
my pain is also right below tummy and veryvery near to pte part too!... but I had the pain only when I'm standing or intially stand up from a sleeping or standing position or standing on 1 leg....it's has been disturbing me abt 2-3 weeks already. my next appt is next thurs... can't wait to see my gyane...

wow your gal so active!... heehee

confused
wow.. I hope our baby is just being very gentle..heehee... but I must check with gynae when I see him next week...

SY
wow you bought 8 nursing bra!!... any idea what is their cup size available?
I bought a nursing bra from my place at $8, just trying.. but turn out the cup a bit small. the lady say it's C cup

RE:Nursing Bra
Any recommemdation where selling bigger cup size nursing bra besides M & S?
I check out ERO... the cup up to C only...err...I need bigger cup

cookie

U might wanna buy after u give birth. Understand that you will increase even more after giving birth. So may be better to leave it till then. In case u go F cup... hehe

durianlover,
the seat is as below. I bought 3 colours each. green, red and white (transparent). u can stack it up if you don't want so many lying around. I think kids will like it. but it's more for adults. I tried to position my hands on the side and I realise that it's the right position for my hands to be when breastfeeding. it's not too hot and it ensure that I will be sitting upright.
331322.jpg

Zhimin

i went to see the PJ at chinatown juz now... quite a lot designs, but din see wat mashy mentioned bout $6.50. i oni saw $9 for a set. din buy cos lunch too rush and i thought the material looked a bit thin, wonder if can trace out our panty...

SY

so metro sale worth going la? if can buy PJ and nursing bra there, i dun mind going leh... had thought of saving to squeeze wf the crowd if not much to buy there? wat else did u get ?

cookie

u got a dainty fair lady there... whereas mine is a little 'rough' she practically moves every hour and it hurts a little at times.i do notice she loves cuddling up on the right side

All - thanks for the advice onthe wipes n cleanser... hmm, let me go see if the thread for JJ wipes stil available...

the thread is so fast moving tat got to spend 1 hr to catch up with all the past infor i had missed!

went for my check up n growth scan last fri. now im in my 28 weeks and my baby boy has turned.
he is now 1.1KG n strong heart beat. happy tat everything is well.

for the past two public hoildays have been @ home doing cleaning up of the house. coz me n hubby think tat its better to start our spring cleaning now then wait till im too heavy to move ard
my hubby knows im vy particular abt cleaning n arranging of stuffs. hv u gals start doing some spring cleaning too?

need to check w u gals, d anyone of u know where to get those pretty wall deco border sticker tat we can stick ard the baby room. im been looking ard for a nice one but no success. hope tat there will be some good news... cos the cot will be coming in next weekend n we plan to do up the room by then

cookie - yalor! sometimes i find it so scary when i didnt feel any kick. (I'll talk to my bb n ask her to kick leh)

mashy - u mean our cup size will increase. Last mon i went mothercare n bought their nursing bra n wast told not to get too big cup size lah. (of course 1 size bigger can liao cos after 2-3 mths of breast feed, our breast will become smaller) dont know how true leh cos the sales gal told me.

durianlover
yeh.. good to hear pain is gone. medicine must have worked well.
was your pain during regular intervals?

Confused
No, haven bought it yet.

cel cel
I got the Pigeon bottle cleaning detergent liao. Also got Pigeon baby wipes. All recommended by my colleagues.

god's child,
i bought the tollyjoy detergent for washing milk bottles n other baby stuff. Got it coz it was cheaper than pigeon one. But haven't used yet so no idea how good/bad it is!

baby wipes - i bought 2 packets of tollyjoy ones and 1 pigeon one. i think wipes shd be more or less the same right? My fren said that tollyjoy one harder to pull out of the packet...sometimes get stuck...so i only bought 2 packets of that.

SY,
hmm better take care of ur back, considering that backaches will prob get worse as our tummies get bigger! how abt asking ur hubby to massage? hee not sure if it'll help but i guess a gd massage always does wonders for aches!
nowadays i also cannot walk/stand for too long...legs n feet will get tired!

cookie,
yeah better check with ur gynae on the pain!
and wow, i'm just the opposite of you! i'm wondering where to find nursing bras of smaller cup size?! i think the ones that are normally sold outside are too big for me...
so sad

mongs,
thanks for the pic! looks nice! i may go ikea n check it out then

rachel,
i intend to spring clean the house only in Dec...isn't it a bit too early to clean now? i think if i clean now the baby room might be dirty/dusty by the time baby arrives. Anyway i've been forbidden to do anymore housework or cleaning after the contractions scare that i had. So i think my MIL will help my hubby with the cleaning in Dec.

Krissie

ya, i heard pigeon good but then alittle exp leh. mayb will chk out the mdeical halls first tmr and see if they have... or else i will just grab the tollyjoy ones at JL tmr. got lotsa shopping to complete tmr...

durianlover

NO cleaning for you! rest rest rest... juz get ur HB to do it lor.at most you supervise oni
now, i also sit on sofa and 'instruct' Hb on wat to clean.. less than 3mths to enjoy tis kinda 'commandership'!!!

god's child,
hee hee yup now i just sit down and instruct hubby to do this or that! must enjoy this privilege while we can!

krissie,
the pain wasn't at regular intervals...which is why i also didn't suspect anything. It came for abt 1 hr, then stopped for a while (mabbe like 20mins?), then came back again. But gynae did ask me to monitor the interval in btw pain - which i didn't do b4 i saw gynae coz i didn't know i was supposed to!

zhimin,
was it you who was talking abt raspberry tea? anyway i bought some at cold storage the other day...it's raspberry plus some other ingredient (weird name...can't rem what it is). Tea bag type. Very yummy n nice! add a bit of honey and it tastes wonderful!

But not sure if it's as effective as pure raspberry tea? anyway doesn't matter to me...tastes nice can already

ask u all ar, during the first few days after we deliver we may not have milk flow yet right? then will bb b hungry if they juz rely on our colostrum. and if mummy dont even have colostrum (is this possible?) then how?

hi celine
read from some books that newborns do not really need that much milk for the 1st few days as they have reserves in their bodies. Hence our colostrum should be sufficient.
But i think if u are really concerned that baby is not taking enough, maybe u can supplment with FM?

hi sept03bride,
i'm quite determine to go full breastfeeding coz i'm afraid once bb takes on FM, he may reject my nipple. so i'm not even buying FM to stand by. well, as long as got colostrum then shldn't be a problem ya...

been so busy lately, only have time to browse thru' quickly, type a few lines, and ciao again...

The thread is moving so fast.

Durianlover,
really hope you are feeling lots lots better today.... take care, and relax, rest as much as you can!

SY,
hope your backache is better as well... sometimes, my right butt bone hurts like hell, gynae say that my pelvic bones are starting to widen, that's why it aches...

COnfused,
hope your bleeding has stopped, take care!

BTW, gals, I went for the flu jab when I saw my gynae... he suggested that it would be better to get it since your immunity will be lower then normaly during this period... wah, the moment I got the jab, I developed flu on Tuesday, which may happen if the jab is pretty strong

Mongs,
I saw that chair, from IKEA right? I'm also looking for a bf chair, but was thinking of something cushy... but most armchairs I saw are like $300 at least!

Krissie/Cookie,
I saw Dr. Ho last Sat, and asked him point blank for bb's weight, hee hee... coz I have been super stressed lately with work, and worried bb not growing well... baby is 1.28kg at 28weeks, whew! Anyway I asked him about flu jab, and he advised me to take...

OK, gals, gotta run off, take care, and hand in there, all of us!

durianlover
ya i am the one mentioned abt raspberry tea... probably you may wan to limit the intake to only max per cup a day... cos i also heard tea are not very good to pregnant lady (very blur now)... alto the raspberry tea in MIM stated that can start drink even from 1st trimester to ease some discomfort... but i also read somewhere in the forum in other thread those ladies who bought the tea only start to drink that in week 37 to 38 to induce labour...

hi celine,
although i also intend to go for full BM but i think i will still be buying 1 can of FM just in case i dun have milk.
This is because I have lumps in my breast and i'm worried if my milk ducts will be affected. My gynae has said the lumps should not affect the milk flow, but just in case i will standby lor.

yeah durianlover...piyo piyo was so ex in kiddy palace. i rather buy MC one.

god's child i bot the pigeon bottles cleanser..at 19.90 for a big bottle and a refill pack. tat time isetan was having discount. i find it cheap so i bot it already. baby wipes i also bot pigeons brand from taka baby sales so its cheaper. hehe seems i am very On with this brand. even clothes and sterilsier also from pigeon. hehee...

SY ..wah ya bot so many nursing bra..hehee...is the cup material OK? personally i find if u wear a tight t-shirt ..ur cup there will be very creasy and looks ugly. so far i only bot one and it is already like that. do u have tat prob too?

rachel - u can get those stickers from DIY shops

celine77 - mrs wong said that first few days baby will not be hungry as he/she has already store up enough food for those days we do not have milk. so do not worry. just latch baby on to prepare yourself for breastfeeding and relax.

hi Sept bride..when did you discover those lumps? i have one too on my left and it was tested benign and i didnt remove it. i am not sure if its safe for BF. do u know? did you go for extra test on those lumps?

hi SSF,
i discovered them sometime this year.. it runs in my family. My mum got it and my sister also got it. Even after they removed it, the lumps still came back.
After i found them, I went for my breast ultrasound and found them to be non-cancerous. My doc did not recommend me to remove them cos I have too many lumps already. In my right breast, i have as many as 6 lumps leh and my left breast has 2 lumps. So the initial plan was to go back every 6 mths for an ultrasound to make sure that the lumps did not mutate.

But after I got pregnant, my breast kinda hurt alittle and i consulted my gynae. She was shocked to see the size of my lumps and she recommend me to go for surgery after i'm done with the breastfeeding. She said that it should not affect my breastfeeding plans but she did mentioned that i may feel some pain during engorgement.

sept bride - it happens to one of my frd too. and she just keep removing them. no worries...if your gynae said its ok..then u shld be fine. but yes, do monitor the condition and do follow up.

yeah.. i'm not too worried lar cos both my mum and sis has it.. i jus monitor lor. But anyway once baby wean off BM, i think i will go remove them.

ssf,
ic. thanks for the info. so don't have to worry. juz let bb suckle for comfort and hopefully milk flow will kick in faster dat way! :D

yup latching is very impt in the first few days after delivering. if you dun do that..chance of successful BF is slim. my hubby always remind me must go full BF ya....i tell him yeah but pls dun stress me,.,..i will try my best.hahah..

celine

Mrs Wong said according to research, newborns can last 3 days without food and no prob coz when they're born, they already have reserves.

celine77 don't worry. ur hospital nurses wll be able to guide u. for me, i know i will call mrs wong for personal assistance. since i am her student somemore. where are u delivering?

durianlover,
u must rest alot since u r getting those contraction. as for me i jus cant tahan sitting there n instruct my hubby leh =P in the end its my hubby who keep nagging me to sit down n tell him wat to put where... haha anyway we still hv lots of things to clean like washing the toilets, windows (which is really a big headache, so many windows!), kitchen.... etc etc. so me n my hubby hv calculated tat if every weekend do a little @ least we would not panic when the CNY draw close lo...heehee. of cos window will leave the last since yr end keep raining

SSF
i tried my luck @ a few HomeFix branch but till now not luck yet. will try looking ard still, thx anyway =P

ssf,
but after 2-3 days we will be discharged and no nurse to help already. me delivering in glenE. think i better get some breastfeeding helpline to standby juz in case i need help! :p

rachel why dun u get an hourly maid to do those stuffs? i am asking her to clean for my hse every 2 weeks.

yeah celine..thereafter we are on our own.so must really pay attention and watch closely. is ur mum or CL helping u? for me, my mum will be helping me as i will stay her place. not sure if she still remember ..but shld be OK la..if not, i will call mrs wong. heee..

ssf,
i'v engaged a CL. hopefully she is pro breastfeeding. my mum was not successful in breastfeeding me and my bro so don't think she is in any position to help me. she told me it was damn painful for her, so she gave up.

hi everybody
Just came back with my wife from my appt with gynae...
I asked alot of questions regarding the down syndrome stuffs with the gynae.....and double confirm the triple blood test.....detailed scan....
Was told that the combined test assessment is abt 90% accuracy and found out that my wife risk ratio was adjusted to 1:23XXX which the gynae told me is extremely low.....plus my bb neck thickness is 1.9mm....phew....really relieve after hearing the detail explanantion from the gynae

Babe22 HB

zhimin,
oh no, u mean drinking raspberry tea induces labour??! hmm getting confused with so many things that i hear and read! anyway i've only been drinking at the most 1 cup per day since i bought it abt 2 days ago.

celine,
i'm also quite determined to go on full bf but am concerned not enuff milk flow. It doesn't help that my MIL thinks shd supplement with FM in case bb doesn't get enuff to drink! am also not buying any FM to standby.

sleepingdeer,
how much is the flu jab n where to take it? am also considering...

rachel,
hee yeah housework is never-ending! i used to be like u too...can never stop doing housework till hubby will scold me. but after this scare i had, i fully lay my hands off housework or vigorous exercise...scared already! heh. i guess i learnt my lesson!

durianlover
ya, no packing/cleaning for you. ask hb to do.. wah, pain for 1hr is qt long leh.. mine come and go.. I also nvr time, maybe only a few minutes.

sleepingdeer
hmm.. dr Ho advised u to take? I see.. will consider lah.. coz my colleagues who took fell ill. So, I'm not that keen.

mashy
wow dun think will go F cup ba....
Saw M & S one... very expensive lor...
hmm.. buy after delivery like abit too late ley...

sleepingdeer
wow so good u know your baby weight... dunno Dr Ho will offer to ask me what I wanna knoe next thur my appt.
oh the flu jab i took before during SARS time, my co sponsor one...

Kriss
Some of my colleague was sick after the flu jab.. but for me it was ok... as normal.

celine
talking abt it, I have never discuss abt BF with my MIL... I hope she will be supportive since she is gng to be my CL...

durianlover
I believe as long as we BF our baby full time and at regular hours, the milk flow will be sustain and enough to feed.
I also hope to BF my baby full time at least for first 3 mths, tho I would like to aslong as 6 mths but dunno if my work allow me to be this long since I always need to OT

Hi Durianlover,
I got it at my gynae, at about $30, but you can go to any GP to get it done as well. The first time I got jab was last year, before I went for honeymoon, and I was fine... dunno why this time kana sick...

Hi Krissie,
yah lor, I thot I would be strong enuff, so knows fell ill after a few days, my hubby so mad at me for taking it, coz he have to bear with my whining, hehe. But it won't happen to everyone, last year when I took it, I was fine...

Cookie,
this time round, I was very direct, the moment Dr. Ho started scanning, I asked him the weight, so he had to estimate and do for me..
I die die wanted to know, cos lately been very stressed, so worried that bb not growing well.

RE: Nursing bras
I bought 3, all from Thyme, coz most of my bras all cannot fit liao, so got it... also all my bras have underwire, and I read that better to go non-wire if you are breast feeding, so I made the switch to non-wire bras... if my bust goes up again after birth, then buy again lor...