(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

stylobb - i want to buy bathing tub. yeah the non slip mat if u want to buy must really maintain. i will not be getting that as mrs wong is advising against having one.

styloBB - ya! she not only scold us she even curse her own son. she's not looking after our bb. (b4 i get pregnant she told hubby that she'll help us to look after our bb and when i pregnant liao, she told hubby that she wants to be a modern MIL dont want to care abt our affairs) Anyway, i dont intend to let her look after bb. My mum will be help me looking after bb and if not i bring bb to office.

missy - they didnt state any additional discount leh. its either 20%/30% dicount or buy 3 pack of clothing n get 1 free.

SSF
the mothercare bathtub got 3 designs... i bought the white bathub with rubber duckie print...

There is a blue one cost abt $35 before disc i think and the classic pooh one cost $42 before discount... if i am not wrong... think all come with the drainage.

SSF
Yah just one of those nice-to-have items but not necessary. Bet u it will have a lot of germs if not cleaned properly...hehe...

confused
Think best for u now is to ignore their remarks... no point getting angry at them. Not good for u or bb. Concentrate on carrying ur bb well. I think beta she does not look after, less conflict, otherwise v difficult later on.

clare,
that's what my sis said as well. now her son sleeps through the night at 4 months but she still have to wake up at least once or twice to express. thanks for sharing with us.

seems like some of you looking at bath tub, I am going to use the red one that my mom bought for me as dowry. gee, I think can lah. one of my company gifts for the expecting parents is a bathtub and guess how much is that? it's worth $80. ridiculous right? those gift shops sure know how to earn money. anyway, I didn't choose that gift. decided to get a infant car seat worth $120. have to top up $40.

ok will go check out. thks zhimin.

yup stylobb, if u want to get it must take good care. make sure mat does not turn mouldy. proper care needs to be taken

gee...tmr holiday again. so shiok and lookign forward! yippy...

Ivory
Thanks for the update.

Mashy
I've seen Lactacyd wash (not feminine) at pharmacies also. I think some pharmacies carry lesser stock, so some brs don't have. Have to keep scouting whenever u pass by one. I saw the promo pack few weeks ago at the Br along thomson rd.

Pochacco
Yup, DFS (airport) is selling the clarins oil at $56.

Confused
Better call gynae since it's fresh blood stains. I'm also starting to feel tightening. I think shld be BH loh, my gf says that slowly, it'll be painful too.

Tom craft is good too.. I also wanted to buy Daniel cot, so now thinking which other cot to buy. How much did u pay for the Tom craft one? Robinsons sale?

Mongs,
I saw the paperback/softcover version which is cheaper ard $30+ at Kino Bugis. Didn't see it at Kino Taka though. But Borders having 20% off till tomorrow so may wan to check out Borders.

StyloBB,
If I dun remember wrongly Mothercare 20% is on MOST of their items, those not on 20% are on Buy 3 Get 1 Free.

Update on Sales:
John Little 20% Baby & nursery (Till 6 Nov)
Robinsons 15% storewide(Till 6 Nov)
MotherCare 20% storewide (Till 13 Nov)

OG having sales?

dear mummies,
i had a scary experience this morning.
Woke up at 6plus in morning to pee, then went back to bed, n started to feel tummy pain. Pain didn't go away though i lay in bed till 7plus, then decided to contact my gynae coz i wasn't sure what it was. Over the phone, gynae said it didn't sound like anything serious but asked me to come down to see him for a check-up just in case.

Good thing i went to see him! Coz after asking me a few qns n checking my tummy, he said he actually felt a contraction n the pain i was experiencing was early contractions. Felt so worried after that coz i dun wanna go into preterm labour! Gynae gave me medicine to relax the uterus, and MC till Mon...supposed to stay home to rest n dun exert or do anything that might worsen the contractions. Hopefully it goes away.

Only praying and trusting God to stop the contractions n that baby will be kept safe in womb till full term!

So for all mummies out there, pls be extra cautious n kiasu when it comes to to things relating to pregnancy!

Clare

OG sale thinkin is ending today,until 2nd Nov i rem...

ur think the Pigeon steriliser is a good buy? i very hesitant but then it has been tat pricing for so long...advice any???

durianlover..ur edd is 27 jan and u are already experiencing labour pain? tats rare and i dun think you will go into labour so soon. its only beginning of nov. anyway, will pray for u and your baby. yeah i also dun want to go into early labour. 2006 is my target not dec mann! pls take this mc to rest. dun go shopping ya. hee.. do update us on your status.

god's child. i think its the best price already. normal is abt $118 i think. i managed to get 10 dollars off that price as i use voucher. but i think $87 is already the best price.

mongs
My boi has been using the 'ugly' red one eversince he was borne...hehe... ok lah, practical, he sits in it and enjoys his baths with all his toys...

U made the rite choice: car seat is definitely more practical.

clare
Clothes and towels included? I have the towels with the hood..so cute.. it was a gift, me thinking of getting another pack for the gals...

durianlover
Wow, what a scare. Thank God u are ok.
FYI my gynae also prescribed some pills for me to take to relax the uterus.. taking one pill each day....

SSF
U know how I got reminded, cos hb read sth that the sponge we used to clean our dishes is the dirtiest thing around with the most bacteria...

Yah man, me so tired today....

confused
U still have stains?

yeah stlyobb..recent reports state that the powder sponge we used on the face is even more dirty than the toilet bowl. gosh!

krissie - ya! i check with gyane liao. I bought it at $349 less 20% n 5%. I dont know whether its gd or not leh. Actually i wanted Daniel cot cos its cheaper n i dont intend to convert to toddler bed so now no choice lor. Btw, does any website showing Tom craft bb cot?

styloBB - heng ah! Dont have liao. hee! tomoro i can go shopping liao

Durainlover - oh no! Then better have a gd rest n dont stress yourself. Can understand the scary feeling.

SSF
I'm back from Malacca. Thanks again for your detailed directions. I managed to try the pork porridge & chendol next to team salon.
I also bought 2 rompers from FOS for RM16 (same as you). You can check out the other factory outlet, Reject Shop. They have qt nice branded bb clothes at reasonable prices. My hb didn't let me buy much coz we have a lot of hnad me downs. So, only bought 1 old navy jacket at RM15. Are you expecting boy or gal? lots of sweet bb gals clothes. Bought Pigeon nappies for RM25 for 10pcs at Parkson. That's qt a steal coz sing also selling at the same price. And bought a nursing bra at Parkson. Brand is Aubrey (something like that). It was RM39.90 before the 20% disc. So, after disc was abt S$15+. Also got the tummy binder (slimming belt) from Watsons at RM9.90. My gf says Sing is selling too, but so far, I've not seen it, so I just bought it lah.

durianlover
wah.. take care..was the tummy v painful? so, the pain was abt 1hr. I had tightening with a bit of pain last friday. I think it's BH. 1st time I'm experiencing it. But, your EDD is still qt far, so it's a bit early for contractions. You take the medicine and take care.. Rest well.

Confused
The Tom Craft one seems just as good too. And since it's cheaper than the Johnson one, it's qt a good buy too.

krissie - the different is only $20. Do u think johnson or tom craft better? i cant shop around so i dont know which one is better n worth buying.
which do u think?

durianlover,
did the pain move to your back? I read that BH concentrate on the front lower portion of the tummy whereas real contraction, the pain will move to the back. luckily you went to your gynae. don't worry too much. rest well and relax.

Durianlover

do take care... stay in bed and only venture no where other than home!!! God bless you n bb...
kao_smile2.gif

SSF

thanks! think i will head down for it then...

girls, my Celeste been moving so much lately and sometimes when she does full stretch, i can feel her at 2 sides of my tummy...it does get a little painful at times ( stil bearable ) and a little sharp. do your feel this too?

hi welcome back krissie. great to hear that my instructions are clear. hee..so how was the porridge? oh yes went to Reject shop but lotsa girl stuffs and i am expecting a boy. so didnt buy anthg frm them. ya the pigeon nappies is selling at the same price here in singapore. i am gg down next weekend to buy. hheee.. ya as for nursing bra. bot only one..thinking of buying 2 more. bot sorella last time and quite comfy. so may get back the same one. great to hear tat you enjoyed urself! so where did u stay? how was the hotel?

durianlover
take care

yesterday i went to clementi to buy cloth nappy. 30"x30" per pack (12 pc) cost me $13. don't know what brand is that (not tollyjoy, pigeon etc). but find the material is quite ok. i bot 2 packs... think maybe i will need another pack. then i also went to the medical hall to buy cotton wool which cost of $3.25. it's made in china type, but used b4, it's good.

btw, for bb cot like tom craft, daniel craft etc, which is the one with the function of changing table? i need one which can allow me the minimal bend down when carry and put bb back to the cot so it won't stress my back too much.

may i know when is the earlier for pregnant woman to experience contraction?
My wife EDD is 27 Jan 06

Babe22 HB

Durianlover,
Do take care n remember to take the medication. My aunt who's EDD is 27 Dec has also started experiencing contractions recently and is currently now on medication to prevent it. I do experience pain/strain on and off but not for long so guess probably due to overstrained/overwalked. But thanks for sharing... will certainly be more kiasu when it comes to such pain in future.

Babe22 HB,
Hee hee u are so cute n sweet to check on behalf of your wife. Sorry i can't help much as this is my 1st child. = P But looking at Durianlover & my Aunt's experience it seems contractions can start as early as 1 to 2 mths before the EDD. Of coz if its too early better to take medication to prevent it so BB can stay longer n safer in the womb. But I read before some mummies water bag actually leaked prematurely and so no choice BB must come out.

hey ladies,
thanks for all ur concern n prayers! hmm am still a bit concerned coz despite resting the whole day and taking the medicine to relax the uterus, my tummy still feels a bit pain, like cramping kind of feel. Really hope it's not contractions or what coz i never experienced anything like that in my pregnancy till now.

styloBB,
oh u're also taking those pills? is it coz u're carrying twins that's why gynae prescribed to you?

god's child,
my bb can also kick on both sides of my tummy at the same time, but not painful lah...just uncomfortable at times.

mongs,
no the pain didn't move to the back. Just at lower part. Gynae was just concerned that the contractions i felt wld lead to the start of more severe contractions which wld lead to preterm labour. Actually talking to gynae also made me worried leh...coz he said things like i'm now in my 27+ week, baby abt 1.2kg...so if come out now can survive but will hv lots of problems, etc etc. Like preparing me for the worst like that!!

Babe22 HB,
yah u're so cute! Basically if contractions start before your 36th week of pregnancy, it'll be considered preterm labour. But some gynaes say that before 38th week can also be considered preterm.

durianlover
Yep, it's becos I'm carrying twins that's why I gotta take the pills. She prescribed, I went to pharmacy to get.
For my boi no need, he came out at 39th week...
U take care yah. Beta monitor and have bed rest if possible.

I think once reach 37th week, considered ok...

I am v tired today, just now rested in bed too... thankfully my boi KO quite early cos he had a bit of running nose..

durianlover,
how and where is the pain? Today I also felt pain on my lower tummy below the navel lasted for a while but now gone already...

how do we know when a pain is actually contraction?

Nipple Cream
Ladies, Thanks for all the feedbacks. So far the brands mentioned here are Medela, Palmer's & Lansinoh. My galfren who is still bf her 1+yr old son didnt use any nipple cream. Says to use ur own breastmilk sometimes can help soothe cracked nipples. I remember Mrs Wong mentioned that before in class too. Guess it is not a necessity but good to standby thou.

Do u ladies feel hot nowadays?? I perspire very easily nowadays & after shower, still feel hot & sweaty. Dunno is it the weather or our body temp leh??

Queen,
Me too. Had felt pain in my tummy below navel this afternoon. Thot could be due to busy work today. Told myself to rest tomorrow & monitor to see if the pain comes back. Have been experienceing tightness in tummy for the last few weeks. Guess could be BH.

durianlover
so scary abt the contraction pain... do take care and pls stay in bed and rest alot.

God's child...
On the contrary... I find my gal gal so gentle... she is 7 mths already but her movement is still very gentle. Sometimes I get worry, dunno becos she is very small size or what but my gynae says she is medium size. My HB tell me maybe cos he is gal and very dainty...
I'm gng to check with my gynae. SOmetimes she is very quiet I get worried.

Clare
update on borders...
Just now I wanted to save time and went straigh to info counter to ask for the book. The gal told me there is stock and help to look for me. after 10 mins, she said its out of stock but her system was not updated timely.
Then guess what? after she left I turn around and saw 5 books sitting on the shelf!!!I even found 2 different version...*faint*
Ok.. anyway I found 2 version of Secrets of The baby Whispere - How to calm, connect and communicate with your baby.
Both version by different publisher, one (left abt 4 books) cost $17.85 come in smaller size wording smaller paperback, the other one cost est $30.50 comes in abt 1.5 times bigger size then the small one, in paper back as well, content all the same except the wordings are bigger easier to read.
Finally I decided to buy the smaller size one which cost almost 1/2 the price and suppose to be newer version and easier to bring around. The other one I find it too big and heavy.

styloBB,
where to get the Mustela nipple cream? How much is it?

when will you all start your maternity leave? I had planned to work until labour but heard from my colleagues that I may have to start my leave 2 weeks before EDD. Some kind of company policy. Sounds damn stupid to me... I mean, what if the BB comes late? Then waste our leave right?

zhimin - i went down to mothercare yest and i really like the blue one but its so ex. $35 before 20% disc and that is stil like $28. seems so ex for just a bathtub. but i like it coz the size is just right and no seat inside and a drainage. quality is also good. but after pondering for a while, i didnt get it. will look ard somemore.i saw the white one. very nice too but i am afraid white will be dirty. sigh..more bathtub hunting to do..

wenyl - yes i am also feeling hot easily these days. these few nights i have been sleeping air con thruout coz buay tahan, feel very stuffy and hot. this is normal due to our pregnancy. so try to stay cool if possible.

queen, you an get mustela nipple cream at all guardian pharmacy or those malls like isetan, taka, etc. i am not sure abt the price though. i am using palmers brand but found out that guardian doesn;t carry palmer's nipple cream. i bot it in malacca though.

i will start my maternity leave the day i am delivering. my job allows me to work from home as it is an MNC and is very flexible. so i will be working from home mid dec and till mid jan is my edd. and that is the start of my Maternity Leave. and add 3 more months. ehee...cannot wait to take a break from work and start on motherhood!
yes they will encourage u to start ur leave 2 weeks just in case u go in early labour. but its your choice, you can always start later. your gynae shld be able to predict your labour date. check with him.

Morning Ladies!!

Cookie, thanks for the update. So i figured its near the cashier loh? I'll go check it out later. = )

Update on Sales:
John Little 20% Baby & nursery (Till 6 Nov)
Robinsons 15% storewide(Till 6 Nov)
OG 20% storewide(Till 6 Nov)
MotherCare 20% storewide (Till 13 Nov)

queen,
the pain is at the lower part of the tummy, very near the private part that area...erm, know what i mean? felt like stretching pain...like muscle being stretched kinda thing. Actually i didn't think it was contractions...in fact i wldn't know how contractions feel like! But gynae v experienced, he touched my tummy for a while n then said he felt a contraction. I was amazed coz i didn't even feel anything!
i guess if ur pain goes away it shd be ok..not sure..or u can monitor to see if it comes back, n what's the interval between the pain. If it becomes regular pain, like 15min interval or what, then it's cause for worry. If not shd be fine.

and i intend to work all the way till i go into labour. Don't want to waste my precious maternity leave!

wenyl,
yes i always feel hot nowadays!! even when i sleep at night...i can feel so hot i'll kick away the blanket...and my poor hubby will be freezing under the blanket coz the aircon's cold but i still feel hot!

cookie,
hee seems like u hv a very sweet n gentle little baby girl! on the contrary, my girl is super active. Forever kicking me...until i also get worried that she's in danger or what! in fact, if my gynae didn't say that i'm carrying a girl, i wld think i'm actually carrying a boy judging from the baby's ferocious kicks!

have a good holiday everyone!

stylobb,
i will put bb in his own cot in our room first. dun like the idea of letting him sleep on the own bed.

that's the problem i only have 3 rooms and one is used for study already. can't expect the maid to sleep in study room lor...

zhimin,
you bought bathtub liao?? hee that's fast. i still haven buy yet. tmr on leave will go look and see

confused,
good to hear that the bleeding is not a cause ofr concern.

clare,
thanks for the update from your fren! sounds like a tough job waking up through the night to express but better than bb keep waking up at night!

i so busy with work until i forgot that i asked them to deliver the cot yesterday cos i supposed to be on leave! so paiseh when i realised..lucky hb never say anything cos i was the one who made us cancel leave...

durianlover,
do take care. lucky u decided to call gyane.
some times i get pain also and wonder whether it's contraction but as long as it pass after a while i usually ignore it.
u said the pain is quite low is it? there was once i felt a weird feeling near the vagina also. like tingling kind. is it contraction? i din realyl bother cos it went away after one day.

sunny,
i did buy a food warmer cos i tot it will be faster in warming up milk. not sure whether it's needed but bought during those 20% sales

SSF,
your company very flexible in working arrangement so u dun need to waste leave...so good. i wonder whether my boss will let me take no pay after i finish my maternity lave..

krissie,
sounds like u had a good time in malacca. i wish i can take a short trip but think walking a bit makes me so tired now

yesterday when i was on the train and had such back pains. train was so crowded and i couldn't hold on to anything and was carrying my laptop as well. when i met my hb, i just cried cos it was so painful when i walked.... think i scared him. he always say we shall stop at one kid....

i also plan to work till i go into labour. 'cos it's really unpredictable that when the labour will start...

do you think food warmer is necessary?
and the cot that you have bot can serve as changing table, too? what brand is that?

today, bb is dancing inside. can see my tummy shaking... haha

going anywhere today? i plan to go JL and OG after lunch...

I saw Unity selling Palmer's nipple cream. Its a small tube with few pcs of free disposable breast pads. But forgot the price liao. Hee Hee nowadays got short memory.

sunny
I have thinking of whether need to buy food warmer but it's useful if we have lotsa express milk to warm from fride or freeze. If finally we never BF, no use of it anyway... that's what I'm think... for the 1st 3 mths if we successful in BF direct latch on... dun need food wamer so soon only if we back to work, then care taker may need to warm our expressed milk.

Wendy
My friend recommend I apply nipple cream 2-3 weeks before delivery to condition our nipple to be more supple... not easily crack thats why I bought the medela one already.

Clare
Sorry... forgot to mention.. the books are in "Parenting" section not near the cashier.

durianlover

wah, what a scare! I also had that last week, i thought i was going thru preterm contractions too. But mine was on my tummy and my back felt very 'suan'. My boy was like cling wrapped. It was super painful. I'm going to see my gynae next week, will ask her whether that's preterm contractions. If your case is serious, i think i better watch out too. Rest rest.

SUnny
I'm not getting a warmer. Can just put the milk in a container of hot water can liao. Mrs Wong said can also use cool water to defrost frozen EBM, then warm one portion for bb to drink and the other leave in fridge. Can keep for another 24hrs.

queen
Sorry, I wrote wrongly, it's the Medela Purelan cream, I always get confused with Mustela. Hehe..

SY
Yah dun know where to put the maid....same same.

SSF/durianlover
I might have to take a few days prior cos tummy really big and me getting clumsy....

cookie
Thanx for info on the book....

went to the metro warehouse sale today

bought pajamas and nursing bra. dunno whether good or not. but quite cheap so buy in case. if i really can bf for longer time, then will get better ones.

saw quite a few mummies buying stuff. did any of you go this afternoon ard 5-6pm??
bought some bb clothes also. 3 for 11. got some strollers on sale also but din look.

good morning! though it's friday today but it certainly don't feel like it. felt like monday today. really have to drag my feet to work. thank goodness it's weekend tomorrow. think not many people working today.

went ikea yesterday to buy some storage organisers for my gal wardrobe. bought 3 very cute and simple plastic easy chairs. going to use that for my breastfeeding in my gal room. cost $39 but very nice to sit. no pics to show u gals. not it's quite comfortable. gave 2 to my PIL and they like it quite a lot. think my niece and nephew will like it too coz it's colourful and simple.

Confused
Actually, bought are qt good buys liao. Hmmm.. But, if really have to choose, Johnson wld be just slightly better, coz it comes with the additional small end boards, therefore, so called slightly more worth it. But, the Tom craft one doesn need it coz the end boards are in 2 parts, so u only need to remove the top panel when converting. It also comes with side rails. Does the Tom Craft one has it? We also prefer the Johnson one coz the mattress could be slightly firmer than the Tom craft one. Other than that, it's more or less the same.

BTW, someone bought the Taurus cot from BB kingdom? How much huh? That one is not bad too.

hi SY,
was at the Metro warehouse sales yesterday but i went about 1pm. Also bought the nursing bras.. $8 each only, like quite cheap hor.But not sure if it is good too but the lady say its good..

SSF
Thanks.. porridge was not bad, something diff, coz very watery, but after eating a while, it's actually v fragant.
But, the porridge was so hot, I was in a sauna. ha ha.. needed the chendol to cool down. I'm also expecting boy. Did u see the old navy jacket for boys? It's dark blue. I got it to use when we bring bb to restaurants, church, etc. We stayed at Equtorial. Room was not bad. Qt good liao for their standard.

Sunny
The tom craft, daniel, johnson cot don have changing table. I saw one in the Noel catalogue that comes with the changing table but it's a bit small. You can see
http://www.noelgifts.com/index.php?t=1131068324&Mentry=10Uij1N-30bda051ad534afb28f2307262b0664f&module=item&Pid=6522&Gid=210&Pgs=3

durianlover
Take care, lie on the left when resting and let bb grow bigger.. BTW, how to differentiate between tightening / BH and contractions? I also feel tightening with pain sometimes. I thot it's BH, but hearing your case makes me worried too.

Wendyl, Queen
My tightening (with pain sometimes) is higher up, below the breast. But, seems also like whole tummy is tightening. ha ha..

SY
I didnt find Malacca v enjoyable.. maybe coz hb was bored and I cant walk much. Walk a while, then my legs are aching liao. So qt xian loh.

durianlover
how are you feeling? lucky you go and see your gynae... sometimes we tends to think it is not serious but i think better to consult gynae if we really feel not well...

SSF/SY
ya the blue one is nice and yours is boy boy so very suitable... i tried to search at kiddy palace but seems like all bath tub are about this price range... like piyo piyo i think cost $39 at Kiddy Palace...

Mashy
wed i went to chinatown hoping to search for some PJ... but i not sure which one is chinatown complex... is it the one next to OG and chinatown mrt? but it was closed for renovation... so din manage to get any...

cookie/ wenyl
i went OG take a look at the kalmys PJ also... the material is good but a bit out of my budget alto got 20% disc... so i din get also...