(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy

but was it good? u think its worth going, baby items got alot or not? i actuali looking for the pigeon steriliser, hopefully its less then $90. and also little bit here n there... if got, then i dun mind go early early and be the first kiasu customer at the door

Clare,

i oni bought 2 pcks Sealer (24 pcs each ). but i think aft 3 weeks or so, can upgrade to S size. my niece just born 3 wks ago now using Drypers and seems ok, shes just an avg size baby weighing 3kg at birth. so i think also no need too many NB size...plus hosp will also give us some to bring back...

Zhimin,

i thought i looked like a penguin too, so we all are!!!
esp when i wear black n white, my HB will defnitely say look even more like a FAT penguin..
kao_frustrated.gif

clare
Nepia NB has 60 pieces... Sealer NB only 24 pieces (if I rembr correctly.)

durianlover/mongs
Advice from my insurance agent: dun overcommit on ur first kid cos u have additional fin'l commitment. Best to take up what u can afford and later add on to it. He says he has seen couples who cud not afford paying the premiums due over-commitment.

Bb shud be turning only around 32 weeks right.... so far for me, one girl is head down, one is breech... gynae says still have time....

Initially we did toy with idea of 2-bedded altho my first boi was 1-bedded, but now with twins, doubt if 2-bedded wl accommodate us since we expect more visitors man!!!!!

durianlover
I'll be going for the GD test this Sat....

SY
I wont talk to my mil direct on such 'sensitive' issue.... hehe.. anyway thankfully my hb hardly goes back to their house... they usu come over to our place and now with my big fat tummy, lagi never go....

I am so tired these days, sooo different from my first pregnancy.... can't do much, can't walk much, can't shop much....sigh..... Hb says he has never seen me so tired before... say I so poor thing...

cookie
I went to OG and bot Clarks slippers and sandals cos prices marked down drastically!! Me super happy with my purchases....hehe.....

wenyl
I bot the Mustela nipple cream last time but only used it twice, it's still sitting on my study table at home...

celine
I ordered Nepia... I dun know how many pieces u need, depends on how fast ur bb 'upgrades' to the next size. I asked my mummy counterparts and some of them recalled moving from NB to S in a month.
I calculated mine: 1 bb=8 diapers/day, 2 bbs=16 diapers/day, 10 days = 160 diapers... 30 days = 480 diapers..... .scary or not?? Hehehe.....

confused
Aiyoh, so poor thing.... why are they like that? Dun get so worked up, just go to ur room and close the door, no point getting so upset, ur bb can feel your stress.

yvonne
Low DS from TT, usu the gynae won't ask u to go for further test, except for the detailed scan.

clare
i also bought only 1 pk of pampers NB and 2 pks of sealer NB to standby only... if not enough den will ask my hb to rush to buy.

this week my mission is to start buying things to pack my hospital bag...

For those who are looking for a good book on care for baby...

Recommendation: The Baby Whisperer by Tracy Hogg (make sure its the latest edition)

Just to share with you my friend who recommended me this book says it has really good advice in taking care of BB. She followed the book and apparently by 2nd month her baby was able to sleep throughout the whole night without any need for night feeds already! I managed to borrow the book from the library but it was in hardcover n i hardly even had the time to read it at home. Since Borders is having 20% storewide till tomorrow I probably would be going to buy the paperback version so can carry it around where ever i go. = )

Back from a trip to Malacca-KL-Genting. Bought Lollipop bedding and Pampers from Giant in Makhota (Malacca). Dunno whether they are cheap leh... I think it's cheaper. Pampers cost RM29 (= S$13) per pack. Is that cheap?

SY,
I think better don't talk to MIL directly. Sometimes our words may be misinterpreted wrongly... If you HB insists on going back than once a week, just ask him top give your MIL an excuse, say your tummy big already, quite tired.

Confused,
Feel so angry for you! Can't beilieve you can still tahan your SIL and MIL! I hope your HB is at leaset supportive and defensive for you... Now is really not the time to stress over you in-laws. Don't think about them!

Do you all get dark yellowish discharge? Today found quite a bit on my panty liner. Usually at the end of the day, the liner is only very faint yellow. Dut today found blobs in dark yellow. Should I be concerned? It's not brown...

I'm trying to find nipple cream too! Midwife Ling who conducted the classes at TMC which I finshed attending recently recommended some yellowish cream in a tube which is made entirely of botanical extracts. Supposed to be safe for mother and BB. But I can't remember the name. You all know?

mongs,
i also like that. i tot being more tired will mean easier to fall asleep but i have difficulty still and worse, keep waking up at night.

plus feeling stress from work etc, i really cant sleep.

clare,
for your fren's case, even though bb doesn't need night feeds, does she get up to express milk if she's breastfeeding? tot must be consistent so that milk supply is good.

will you be putting baby in the same room as you or separate? i m thinking of putting bb in my room so that it's more convenient to feed him. i also read somewhere that bb who share room with parents learn a routine of night and day faster cos they see their parents go to bed and turn off the lights.

I get greenish discharge. cleared for a while after gynae prescribe antibotics but came back again. sign! he was saying that our immunity is a bit low when pregnant so bacteria inbalance, it will keep coming back. better inform your gynae because if it's bacterial infection, then there maybe a risk of preterm labour. my gynae took a swap for me to culture the cells to see if it's strep B bacteria. no news from him, so should be good news.

hi stylobb,

haha i based on the same calculation as u. 8 diapers/day. but for me only 1 bb, so not so siong! keke... anyways, i got 1 pampers premium NB, 1 mamypokos NB, 1 nepia NB and 3 nepia NB. think hospital will oso give 1 pack. so i'll have enuff to last ard 3 weeks.

btw any chance the bb will upgrade from NB to S size b4 1mth?

God's child

I didn't see any Pigeon Steam steriliser. Only lucky bb brand. JL having sale on Pigeon Steam Steriliser, maybe u wanna buy there. It's $87 with free bb wipes.

SY,
i will be putting my bb in my room. even created a bb corner to put his cot, wardrobe, chest of drawer and change table. oh plus a recliner chair for myself when i'm breastfeeding him. will only move him to his own room when he's around 2-3 yo, or when no. 2 comes along. keke

SY
My boi is in our room, easier mah, esp when u need to wake up every few hours to b/feed...where got energy to walk to another room??? Plus need to monitor them since they are so young.... just in case.....
The gals will also be in our room next time....

celine
Hehe... think it's possible to upgrade within 3 weeks if bb grows fast.... keke.... think u have enuf NB diapers for the time being..... dun overbuy....

queen
Cream - U thinking of Mustela brand???

queen n StyloBB - Ya! 1st time i come across such a family. i try to ignore but sometimes i really feel like giving them a slap (i dont care even thought she's my MIL cos she dont respect people) they always want people to respect them (i know they are our senior but how to respect such people)?

celine - My friend told me not to buy to many NB pamaper cos some babies can wear S cos big size bb mah if not bb grow very fast.

confused
U must be feeling so pek chek esp the flat belongs to u and hb..? Not good hor, to keep quarrelling like that .... BUT u must take care of yourself and bb ok...

WENDY
I also bought the same one as you...hee hee the PJ, I also have 1 as illustrated by you. ya am gng to be the 1 I will be wearing in MAH.

SY
ya lor.. not 3rd trimester more tired. my cheklist almost complete except the bigbig item not bought yet.
talking abt the medical hall at west plaza.. I also bought the kodomo 2lt detegent from them, they selling $15 whereas supermarkets sell 16.90. slightly cheaper but I never see the latcyn last time.

Confused
Better call your gyane and ask if necessary to see him... fresh blood stain not good ley.
I think the pain we have around lower pelvic area could be some soft tissue stretching,
Cos I ask my HB is it liagament tear... he says liagament tear is very serious one, need to go for operation and physio therapy one...
I definitely we are not having liagament problem manzzz....

stylobb
I only went OG to see PJ... never get to see lotsa other things... cos my HB keep rushing me cos we need to go other place...

SY
for a start, I plan to place baby same room as me. Anyway currently I do not have a room ready for bb, if in the day my MIL help us to take care of bb... I dun expect her to help out at nite also... I also wanna have bond with bb la..plus if BF the more should be in same room ba.

Mong
looks like I have to inform my gynae abt my discharge in case I always tok it's normal but it not...
mine tho not greenish but alot very watery and can be yellowish, sometimes when there too much, yellowsih became dark yellow or light brown.
but thank God, no itch or bad smell...
when u have greenish discharge... was it accompanied by itch ?

RE :Nipple cream
I bought Medela nipple cream last week... then I remember I dun ask around which nipple cream is good....
ANyone has any comment on medela nipple cream? tho a bit late ... I aleady bough :p

cookie
I never went beyond the shoes section cos too tired and hb was at level three with my boi and my boi went ballistic running all over and playing with Thomas the Train plates and tumbler....hiaz... hb almost surrendered!!!

confused..
I also felt buay tahan for you...
but looks like the best thing to do now is to stay out their path, stay in your room.
See no evil, hear no evil...
When they wag their tougue, quickly get away to avoid listening the unpleasant stuff.
it's very tough for you... but must hang on ok... ren until can sell the flat, u will be free!

stylobb
lucky your HB is here to keep up withyou boiboi...heehee... bo you sure very tired

I saw lotsa pple squeezing thru the on sale cart and item... but my HB do not like crowd and already felt very dragged by me to do shopping so keep rushing me to buy and go dun look around...

mongs,
like what we say, no news is good news

celine77,
i also bought a lot of packs of NB diapers. Some pple tell me no need to buy too many. Plus i intend to use cloth nappies when i m at home.

my room not very big leh. still thinking how to put his cot. dunno whether can fit. one reason why i want to put him in my room is also if i dun put him in my room, he will be in the maid's room. and if he cries a lot at night, then how will the maid have energy to look after him in the day next time when i go back to work? i rather the maid have enough rest and be alert when i m not at home when i go to work.

stylobb,
your room will be so crowded! did u go to the mothercare sale? think it's quite worth it for your gals cos they have those buy 3 get 1 free offers for their body suits.

sounds like nipple cream is not totally necc...

cookie,
the medical hall is the one that is more inside. the latacyd is placed at the shelf facing outside and its like at the bottom. so when u walk past, actually cannot see it one...

Mongs,
I was told by my friend the latest is "The Baby Whisperer Solves All Your Problems : Sleeping, Feeding, and Behavior- Beyond the Basics from Infancy through Toddlerhood(HRD)". SGD48.58 is for hardcover. I remember seeing it at Kino Bugis paperback at $30+ so if less than 20% would be around $20+.

SY,
Hmm... did not hear her talking about expressing milk in the middle of the night... will ask her n let u know again. = )

so tired today... yesterday woke up 5 times to go toilet!!! very frustrating.....
now in 3rd tri already, can feel a bit of diff... feeling hotter, going toilet more frequently, movement must b slower, legs get tired easier etc...

other than metro warehouse sales, where r the places having sales?

cookie
I went to the Orchard outlet, seems they have more things than Robinson's leh... esp the children's dept but I did not have the energy to look around...
Haha... yah lor, but think hb lately telling me his energy macham can't match our boi's..!!! U know after his nap, his eyes looks so alert and full of sparkle we also pa-pa!!!!

SY
Room crowded ah? Surprisingly it can take two cots.
Yah, going to Mothercare is my fave pasttime on weekends..hehe... I did not buy body suits, I bot the sleepsuits and quite a few Pack of 2... hehe..different colours. Kept the coupon from the newspaper that day intending to get some stuff. But now is mostly long-sleeved, their winter range, so will wait till Dec and see... think their stocks come in quite frequent. Got some bodysuits for my gf's bbies..

Beta to put him with u lah...

U can use yr bm to soothe the nipples too....

clare
thanks for your baby book info... tonight I will pop by borders to see if theyhave the book.
Book store is one of the place my HB will be please to go shopping with me :D

Cookie,
Most welcome. I wanted to check Borders website to see if they have it but I cannot find the webpage address leh... any idea?? In any case I'll only be able to go tomorrow but do share with me if they dun carry it so I wun make the trip down. Thanks in advance!! = )

sunny,
i feel hotter too! sometimes in the living room, cannot stand the heat....and my legs just feel tired no matter wat i do, even when i wake up in the morning, my legs ache too..not as if i walk at night in my dreams.. :p

stylobb,
your room so big? how u manage it? think i need to rearrange my things a bit.

i also kept the coupon. never know when i may need the coupon

just now went to mothercare browsing again... i find the bath tub worth it leh... after disc is $22.40... the inside is flat, only got the drainage thing... feel very tempted to buy...

anyone got any idea when mothercare sales last?

Think will be doin a bit of shopping this week. Why dun we consolidate the sales going on?

John Little 20% Baby & nursery : Till 6 Nov

MotherCare 20% storewide : Till 15 Nov (if i dun remember wrongly)

Metro ???

Any more?

cookie,
no, I have no itch accompanied by the discharge. I heard it's normal to have more discharge but I think it's good to inform the gynae just in case.

Clare,
oic, so it's the 3rd on the list I attached above. don't know got softcover or not hor?

SY,
I have a separate room for my gal. my cot is coming this sat, so excited. I want to train my gal to sleep alone. there is 2 sch of thoughts, some say that baby maybe insecure, some say that baby will more independent. anyway, we decided to do it that way. I will need a baby monitor and for the first 2 weeks, the cot will be in my room but after that, I would want the baby to sleep by herself and try to soothe herself to sleep. actually, this is the plan, don't know if it will work. My MIL staying next block and looking after my gal in the day. she is quite agreeable to this arrangement. I was initally afraid that she will say that baby is too small to sleep alone. luckily she is supportive. anyway, I am a light sleeper, should be able to monitor the baby thru the baby monitor.

mothercare is still 13 Nov, not 15 i think.
for the coupon, it is stil 25th Dec.

Zhimin,
which bathtub did u see? i tempted to buy the pooh one.

mongs,
of cos i will let my bb sleep separate after a while. but think until a routine is establised, i will put him in my room. of cos i want to make sure that the maid is ok before i put him with the maid.

SY,
that's what my sis planned to do as well. for the time being, her baby sleep with them on the king size bed coz the baby cot is too big to be moved into her room. she will let him sleep with the maid once she is make sure the maid is ok with her son.
but actually, one point to remember for all mothers who plan to room in with your baby for the time being (for those who have a choice, eg u have a spare room available), it's good to really consider when u really want to put the baby in a separate room. I have a colleague who is sleeping with her son (3 going to 4 years old) on the double bed and her hubby sleep on the floor mattress. they bought a bed for him in his room but he don't want to sleep alone. poor husband. then my young cousin scare of sleeping alone until she was 8-9 years old.

SY
U have to decide what to do about it lor. Some parents (esp mothers) get jealous once they find their babies close to their maid... when they were the ones who brot it upon themselves. Also I still dun trust to leave bb alone with maid... who knows what the maid will do?? Sorry ah, me just being extra cautious.

My room ah, can, cos is resale flat, so the masterbedroom is rather big...

mongs
My boi is with us but he sleeps on his own mattress... we dun allow him to co-sleep cos it's not healthy. But also thinking later on must train him to sleep in the other room but if maid also there, then how? Only have three rooms, third room is the study...

JL having sale on baby items? reali? din it from papers wor..anyway, if tats the case, i will go down look look see see later aft work...

i reali gota get more things ticked off my list...gettin very immobile nowadays...cos next mth stil gota busy wf the washing of baby clothes n stuff...

hi i planned to have baby sleep with me and my hubby for the first month at my mum place and even after i am back to my house. my master bedroom is quite big so its able to accomodate a cot ot mattress even when he is bigger next time. i find it easier for him to sleep with us so we can ehar if he cries or not as we can really sleep very dead. hahaa...

i went to kidsmall earlier and saw a bathtub ..that yellow penguin character..pyo pyo? hehee..its white in colour with teh yellow cartoon inside...no seat inside and a drainage. its very nice but costly $39.90. i think i will go MC and take a look at the bath tub as well.

yes god's child..JL is having sales. the pigeon steriliser is 89 bucks with free 2 milk bottles, one small bottle cleaner, and a free pack of 60 pcs wet tissue. also inside is a tongs.

styloBB n cookie - i think i'll become ah siao one day. we let them say whatever they want but out reputation will be gone lor (how will the relatives look at us) Anyway, our conscience is clear. Ya! now my main concern is bb. And once bb is out, i can go to war liao

i called gynae juz now, he say my bleeding maybe be due to my cough n flu. now i more relief.

styloBB - Mothercare giving 30% for feeding product (eg: sterilizer, bottle ...)

anyone know if MC discount card got further disc? or any credit card can get further disc? i gg to suntec to check out later. suntec have?

styloBB,
ya lor, that is wat happen to my sis and me too. we furnished the house with one of the rooms as a study room, then baby come and we realise we are short of space. for her, she is going to let the baby sleep with her maid after a while. for myself, my MIL stay in the other block so my gal will have a room on her own but when the 2nd one comes, no single room for the kids liao. take a step at a time lor.

confused
They went to complain to your relatives? Sigh... why they make life so complicated..
Your mil also scolds ur hb??
U take it easy hor... dun get so agitated... already more than half-way thru pregnancy...
Ur mil not looking after ur bb right?

I always go MC to see the gals' clothes... hehe..

mongs
But the study is like a mini sanctuary for us..keke..to read and surf the net... hb saying fort. we bot 5-room otherwise dun know how to put so many ppl hehe... but he is adamant that the kids be with us.. no-no with maid... also dun know how...

SSF
I know DBS Women's card has 10%, HSBC, Maybank too.

SY
the one i saw is with the rubber duckie... original price $28... the classic pooh very expensive le... but after discount still cheaper than the Piyo Piyo from Kiddy Palace.

Hehe just now i went to buy the bath tub liao...

stylobb..i guess so too..cannot be so good of an offer. hehee..

zhimin..how much is the rubber duckie? where buy?

SSF
What do u intend to buy??
Actually I kinda like the sponge mat to put bb on while bathing but I also think it's difficult to keep that clean.

SY,

Reply from my friend wrt expressing milk in the middle of night:

"My breasts felt so full of milk every now and then during the first few months I had to wake up and express the milk initially to encourage milk supply and relieve any engorgement. Although baby slept through, I still cannot sleep through! After a week or so, my body got used to it and I stopped waking up in the middle of the night, but still need to express first thing in the morning. I'm blessed with lots of milk so I didn't really care about preserving too much milk supply. But my milk flow suddenly dropped in about 5 plus months, also when I was extremely busy with work project then. I finally weaned her off completely recently, at about 6 plus months since she is already eating much solids. She still love suckling for a while towards the end when there is not much milk left, just for comfort I suppose. Overall, I enjoyed my breastfeeding experience more and more, especially after the first 1-2 months. Got to hang in there cos that's when your milk supply stablises, you learn to manage breastfeeding a lot better and you finally see the benefits of breastfeeding! "