(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

zhimin - you can Nilanthi at 81747366. You can tell her Tampines one intro to you.

all - ok baby is moving alot last night and this morning too. so i think i shldn't be too gan cheong if he is not active for one day. hehe..anyway monday visit to gynae will go and see which position he is in now.

Hi Sleepingdeer,

I have 4 bumper sets. 2 brand new sets plus an additional cot sheet I got from Spotlight. The other 2 bumper sets were passed over by friends. Will be kept aside for stand-by.

Bolsters - 5
Pillows - 5
Quilt covers - 2+2 (fr the new bumper sets). Mum & fren sewed the 2 additional ones.

Tell you mummies something funny. Every nite, I will rub my tummy while watching tv. Last nite, the baby tapped rhythmically & consistently on my right side of my tummy. He tapped for abt 5 mins. HB also felt it. Told him "He is going to be a rock & roll star! Can keep to the rhythm"

confused
think I better be careful too... dun over walk...
can't wait to see my gynae and see what he says...I tried benting, no obvious pain... always in the morning after I shower, try to put on undies and stand on 1 leg that the pain most obvious... when I walk my dog in morn is ok...

SSF
me also paid package but gynae see me once in 4 weeks.. but beofre that he also seeing me once in weeks...

Wendy
DUn worry... I also have dogs... 2 dogs somemore. Lotsa pple keep telling me abt dog fur no good. But there are study show that infant living with pet build better immune system.
Of course hygiene has to be maintained.
actually asthma etc... not necessary cause by pet. Any pollution, dust mite, dust are the cause except as human we couldn't see dust mite which is so tiny so human nature always blame on something can be seen which is pet be it cats or dogs...
so somethings I feel sad for pets for being blame for something which may not be their fault.

RE :Baby Movement
According to my friend... it seems like the time of the day where your baby always very active is usually the time where we will pop...
so do take note of the most active of your bb...see if it's accurate...
My friend say it's accurate for her.

Sleepingdeer,
Thats how I feel exactly. I grew up surrounded with dogs & I hope my kids will be able to grow up with them too. Only thing is pple say kids may kanna asthma due to close contact with the animal's fur.

Sysa,
Next time ur bb can be a drummer leh. Can keep to the rhythms. Last nite I was watching the makan program where they introduce this delicious looking Hainan pork chop. I was telling my hubby...wow...looks yummy leh. Must try...must try! Then bb start kicking away. I tink he must be excited after hearing mummy talking abt food. Haha... my hubby say boi boi "hao jai"!

cookie,
check with your gynae in the next visit that you want to see him more frequent now that you are in teh third trimester. by right he shld say that. ya thank GOD, e sign up for the package, coz we visit him so often. so at least worth it.

oh no, my baby moves a lot in the wee hours and like now. so i guess he is a early early morn baby then. actually also better, lesser traffic on the road.

hello gals

Gals - can i ask where can i find nice maternity clothing for wedding cos my brother getting married n i dont know where to find. help!

sleeping deer
I totally agree with you abt pets...

Celine
me too.. can't wiat for my gal to be buddies with my dogs :p

SSF
my baby seems to be acive in afternoon... :p

wenyl
actually i prefer to wear 2 pc more than dress leh...
kao_smile2.gif

ya my pom sheds a lot, sometimes can see fur balls at the corner of the house. but lucky he is a very quiet pom, won't really bark unnecessary. hb intends to shave him when bb arrives first. easier to maintain and cleaner.

you know even my sisters and mil asked us to give up the dog but we refused. i told them bb growing up with pets will have higher immunity to allergies like wat sleepingdeer said. but they just don't agree to my view.

SSF
thanks for the contacts.
kao_smile2.gif

Hi Wenyl,

Yep. A little drummer boy
Have you started playing music for your baby to listen to? I noticed that when I play soothing music in the bedroom, I feel calmer movements. Whenever I tune to 95FM in the car, his movements are more vigourous when it's pop music.

Hi cookie,

Initially, I also felt slight pain/discomfort when I changed clothes and had to stand on one foot. Maybe, you can try to sit to wear your bottoms. I started leaning against my vanity top in the bathroom and did not feel it anymore. If in the bedroom, I try to remember to sit on the bed.

Even in the office, when I suddenly stand up aft sitting for while, I do get a slight crampy feeling that spreads from left to right. Now I try to remember to strectch out before standing up. Now that my tummy is protruding, then I do such things. Previously, keep forgetting that I am pregnant, do things as usual until I feel the crampy feeling then rem I am pregnant.

sysa,
could it be ur bb's hiccups that you are experiencing? my bb have hiccups almost everyday. i say he lousy boy lah, can't even drink properly, always kenah hiccups! but i remember the first time he kenah hiccups, he was very "mang zhang", kept tossing and turning. now he doesn't anymore, guess he's gotten used to it liao. keke

my bb most active in the morning and late afternoon to evening time. we shall see if he will pop during those times. keke

confused,
last time i was also asking where to get dress for wedding. and many says m'phosis for they they simple baggy dresses. so u may want to try popping into one and checkout. ya gg to due soon, still want to invest? i have a wedding at end dec and i will just wear wat i have. haha..not buying coz anyway couple of more weeks, i be due.

Hi Celine,

Interesting! If they were hiccups, then it was a long bout of hiccups
5 mins of continuous & consistent tapping.

If really hiccups, then poor boy, must have been really thirsty and drank too fast. Haha. Must share this with my HB.

Zhimin,
We in same boat. Evryone say cannot keep dogs in hdb with infants around. Guess, we just need to keep the hse REAL clean after bb arrives. I got those balls of fur too...at the corners of the balcony. Next time, We can all bring baby & doggie out for gatherings liao! Yippee!

Sysa,
Yap...started playing instrumental music since 1st trim. Now added some children's songs. Told hubby must start practicing now. If nt, next time dunno the lyrics to sing to bb.

hi sysa
i also keep forgetting that i am pregnant. still moving up and down like pre-preg. :p but the tightness at the tummy and occasion cramp will remind me not to have too big movement...

missy - thanks. no choice leh cos its my brother wedding n i have to invest. I dont think m'phosis have my size cos by then my belly very big liao. Now headache dont dont where to get it. (And worse now cant really go shopping)

SY - Wah! your pain is juz a while n mine is different leh. (mine can be the whole day or few days n disappear the next day any time)

Hi mommies with pet,

I don;t have a pet at home but my mum (who's my gal caregiver) has two dogs at home. When i gave birth and did confinement at my mum's place, i was constantly worries about my gal.... whether the fur will affect her, whether each bark will startled her, whether the dog will bite her!!! etc etc.....

My gal is two now and i must thank God that she has excellent health.
But i must say she's not too gentle with the dogs lah. They are afraid of her. At times when my gal walked past and will accidentally step on the dog tail....... So when they see her coming, they run away.

so busy the whole morning that i only log in now.
sigh...feel a bit guilty cos i have been so busy with work and not able to take better care of myself and baby. feel like crying with all the work to do and my boss not very sympathetic. he keeps rushing me for info! i can't even finish my core function and still have to do all the extra things....

i also hope my bb can be good frens with my dog. now everytime i see my dog, i will tell him abt bb and then tell bb abt my dog so that they know each other...

ask you mummies something. my mum said that women who are more than 3 months pregnant can take the flu vaccine. is that in the papers and news? i haven't been following cos was very busy.

today feel a bit sad that i live very far from my parents. my mum told me that my dad actually sighed when he thinks abt how far i live and that they can't come over more often to help me out.

hi sysa,
i would say high chance it's hiccups if it consistent rythme and last for 2-5 mins. my boy does that too. juz like us adults loh, sometimes the irritating hiccups can last for a while. keke

SY, please dun get overstressed. do manage your time properly. if need be, talk to your manager. remember ya happy baby will also be happy. so REJOICE!

yes i read in papers that WHO advised all mummies to be or those with diabetic or health prob to go for the jab. i am gg next monday for my gynae visit and i know he will advise me to take the jab. before tat he is already warning me abt bird flu btu the thing is i am sooo afraid of needles and injection. still procrastinating. so do u live near your in law? normally its either ya staying near inlaw or ur parents. my in law also complaint that we live so far away but no choice his son also love the east..haha..so they got no say. oh btw, they live in the west! so its really east meet west.

Krissie

They didn't put it there coz it's clearance stock. Only the plastic cover is slightly dirty.

30% is for all 'white tag' items with purchases >$30, i.e. those not on sale. 20% if u buy below $30.

Yup, cot bumpers.

I dunno when the sale ends leh. So better go fast...

just to check with you all whether intend to get those cloth diapers like bum or fuzzi bun? Don't know should i get 1 to 2 pieces to standby? not cheap leh...

and for the cotton balls, roughly how many types should we prepare? i know one type is sterilised and one type is just normal... so we need to prepare both type? how about cotton pads, tissues, wet tissues? all need to buy?

hi confused
doc advised you don't walk or stand too long? do you have low placenta problem?

hi zhimin
i heard that cotton wool is better than balls leh....

yes zhimin, all need to buy. i have bought sterilsed cotton balls from pharmacy. will be using that for baby first few days. other days may use the normal one coz its cheaper. you buy the big pack. i think its sold in most pharmacies or even watson. wet tissues i bought 3 packs of pigeon brand for a start. cloth diapers, i will buy pigeon brand i think in malacca for 5 pcs selling at RM25. i think its cheaper than in SGP. anyone know how much sgp is selling? still plannig my next trip to Malacca in Nov after those holidays

I'M Toy Year-End Sale
50% discount* off all I'M Toy products
Now till end Oct 2005

35% discount* off all I'M Toy products
November 1 30, 2005

10% discount* off all I'M Toy products
December 1 31, 2005

* You'll be entitled to free gift (if any), if your order minus I'M Toy total is equal or more than $150.

Visit the web site at http://kidzloft.com/brands/imtoy.html#

Hi Zhimin, Sunny and SSF,

I did not used any cotton balls. (more expensive).

I bought a big roll of cotton wool from those chinese medical hall and tear them into pcs myself. More cost effective.

Sterilised cotton balls - for what purpose?

The cotton pads may be used to wipe baby's eyes. Remember - wipe once and throw and always use a new one for each wipe. Use cool boiled water.

I start to use baby wipes only when my gal was two three months old. All the while use cotton wool to clean her pee and poo.

Last night hubby bought a new set of toys plus a soft toy for my gal. When it's my gal's bedtime, she asked for her new soft toy to hug and then asked me "Where is mummy's bear?" and i replied to say that i do not have any. She looked sad for a moment and followed by "I buy a big big bear for Mummy, ok?" So sweet right? Melt my heart.

oh so its abt the same price in malacca. if i recall its only 5 pcs. anyway will check when i go down. or krissie..ya gg soon right..can check for me?? :D

yuki - sterilised as it is cleaner esp when u clean sensitive areas like eyes. but my frd is also saying no need. normal cotton balls will do. so its up to individual.

Hi SSF,

Sterlised does not necessary mean it contain alcohol right? If yes, then it's not suitable for eyes...........

yuki
your girl is so sweet... hope my girl next time also will have sweet nature...

for the cotton pad... can use those normal one bought in watson's?

SSF
the bum and fuzzi bunz also another type of cloth diapers but very expensive... can refer to the website www.whoopeekiddies.com

Confused
can try 9mois or Maternity House (only some dresses are nice, but they're too big for me). There is this other shop at Paragon which is v nice, but exp. cant rem the name liao. On 2nd or 3rd flr. Mphosis also can, but I thot they're less formal, like for colleague's wedding.

SY
Best to check with your gyane lah. my colleague checked with her gynae and he said it's not necc (unless you always have flu, etc), so, I'm not taking loh.. coz when I asked my GP few mths ago, he was also not in favour of it, coz he said it introduces the bacteria into our body.

Mashy
Thanks. Will grab the clearance one. If not, got 30% off normal items also good enough.

Zhimin
I'm using diapers throughout, no nappies.

Sunny
hmm.. I thot I read in one of the threads that the cotton balls are better? Maybe I rem wrongly. Anyway, bought 2 packs of Pigeon cotton balls. BTW, for the rest, the cheapest cotton balls I've surveyed are those sold by Guardian. I think it's their house brand $1.30 if I'm not wrong.

SSF
I think Pigeon nappies are selling at ~$22.90 or $25 for 10pcs. Sure, will try my best to rem to look out for you.. my memory is v v bad now. Or you can buy in Sing during those 20% storewide sale. Then it will be slightly cheaper.

Yuki
You gal is always so sweet.. Wonder if my son will be as sweet to us next time.

sysa
ya my HB also told me to sit on the bed to wear pants... heehee but I find so mah fan :p
ya... when I'm 5mths preggie sometimes I still forgot I'm preg... do things the pre-preg way..
now want to forget also difficult cos tummy so big and there r pain around...

confused
I rem seeing some shop in plaza Sing selling stylo milo maternity wear... glamourous dresses too, I rem I was thinking if I have impt function will have to buy from there... cost problem between $100-200... if I'm not wrong or can be more exp. check plaza sing out... 2nd or 3rd level I think it's a corner shop.

Yuki
your gals so funny....heehee... lucky my dogs are very hardy... I'm sure they can tahan kids roughness in future heehee...kinda look forward to that :p

SY
dun be stress... earlier in AUg I also very stress with my work and my colleague passing down work to me...those are additional task..and I become very weepy at home...
Then I prayed to God and my prayer are answered soon, things settling down and I felt better already... sometimes during transitional period we feel abit low, try not to think abt it and stay positive, you will be better soon.

I'm also attracted by the fitted Cot sheet from kidloft....

confused
can try suntec cloud 9... newly open... beside toy r us... i like one of their flowery tube dress but abt $89.90...

RE : CordBlood banking
Hi mummies... are you all considering Cord Blood Banking already??
What do you all think?

kriss
Tues class was Ok... I was 45 mins late
almost wanna give up gng... but luckily it's some talking session by Nurse kang and there were notes on the slide she talk about so I didn't miss much...mainly abt stages of labour etc... No video on EPI but there was a video on the natural birth showing directly how the baby come out from the birth canal etc... blood and water gushing out etc...then many of us like eeeeee. Then my HB was telling me... the ang moh lady looks really in pain when she push hor...look at her face... then I think of my turn...scare scare.
Last part was delivery ward, nursery and maternity ward tour.
Weekdays lesser participant, no need to fight for milo and chicken pie and hot water, no need to queue even...hahahaha... but was really rush for my HB plus evening traffic jam...sigh...

dear mummies,
i haven't been able to log in since last Sun coz i was at a work-related camp! Spent the past hour browsing thru all the previous postings n remember i had a lot of things to say, but now forgot everything liao!

Anyway i got bitten by mosquitoes over the past few days n very concerned that i'll get dengue! sigh, shd stop worrying abt such things since there's nothing that i can do.

krissie,
the lady doing the beansprout pillow has some advice for you which she mistakenly emailed to me, so anyway this was what she said:

"Saw that you have some itchiness. that is due to the stretching of your tummy. Best if you can apply the stretch mark cream or jojobar oil diligently. cos both are oily enuf to help your skin stretch better. otherwise you can use normal moisturizer but you will have to apply many times a day. By doing this, your itch will stop. Do not apply calamine cos this is not due to skin rashes or mosquito bites."

SY,
Hmm seems like workload won't lighten just because of the fact that we're pregnant huh! Must tell urself to take things easy n dun be too stressed...good for both u n baby

Re: Aussino cot bedding set
Aussino has some new designs for the baby cot set ($69.90). 4 new designs! Can check it out! i'm going down to buy 1 later

Re: bird's nest
anyone knows how often / frequent shd we take bird's nest? 1 fren told me she took one spoonful every day coz supposed to be better to take it consistently rather than take all at 1 shot. Is it true?

clare, sleepingdeer & ariel,
i'm also going for the Mt A antenatal class starting 10th Nov. Can see each other then

Hi all ...

Cord banking - HB n i not doing liao since my SIL has done it and the person says it can be used for family members also. HB n i discussed and said mayb we will bank the blood for 2nd baby then...

Durianlover - the video for epi very scary. actuali i think its better nto to see hw its done cos u wont b able to imagine how gross its gona b... even my HB flipped out on seeing...
kao_scared.gif

Cheaper rompers - WOW! lunchtime was a real bargain juz now.i got 2 pc rompers at Embrio for oni $2.50. so one pc oni $1.25... so so so cheap

Read in the news that it is recommended that pregnant mums in their 2nd trimester and above to get vaccinated against bird flu. Have you all heard about it too?

cookie,

there's only 2 companies in sg. Stemcord and Cordlife.

Stemcord - local co. run by moonlighting docs.
Cordlife - australian listed co. founded by a doc. has a dedicated research team. Accredited.

the way the 2 co. store the cord blood is oso different.

reason why hb and i chose cordlife is becoz it's recommended by our gynae and the fact dat it's a listed company and accredited. our gynae cited the eg of banking $$. u would definitely prefer to bank ur $$ in a reputable bank. of all the friends we know who banks the cordblood, half uses stemcord and half use cordlife. but a very concidental finding, lower income group chose stemcord, higher income group chose cordlife. strange finding thou, coz both are around the same price. cordlife is only slightly more exp than stemcord.

btw don't quote me hor. these are juz my 2 cents worth.

yuki- no sterilse is not having any alcohol content. basically it is prepack and just like normal cotton balls.

Hi Zhimin, Krissie

Thanks. That's the childhood innonence. When i asked her how she's going to buy for me, she replied "Ask Daddy buy".........

When i took the epidural, i don't feel any pain cos the contractiions were painful enough. But the relief was EXCELLENT and all worth it.