(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wenyl,
i tell u, my hubby when he stressed, he will have a lot of weird things during sleep one...hee of cos he say cannot tell pple cos so embarassing but never mind lah. sometimes i think abt it i also will laugh. must spread some joy. got a few times he will kick me or sometimes accidentally elbow me. and he always talks in his sleep!! hee, maybe next time i box him when he disturbs me. maybe he won't even know.

U got mail! U saw from where? website? Pillow is in white. They dun show the pink / blue pillow casings there.

hey mommies-to-be...

just wondering if any of u looking for gently used maternity clothes? i have quite a few in my wardrobe... thanks! sms me @ 96927526..

confused,
dat's good. at least the gain went to the bb. i put on 2.9kg from the last mth and only 500gm went to the bb. the rest is on me. but i think so far still alright coz i have put on ard 7kg so far. not too much right? my gynae said luckily i still look slim else he will nag at me liao! :p

krissie - i think this sat class will be interesting as it is gg to talk about pain relief...

sleepingdeer, me worst... till now have not taken any photos at all... everyday i ask my husband if i will ever slim down... he always say after give birth go post natal massage can alreadi....

confused - gd gd tat ur bb is bigger.... hehehe... i saw most of the oct'05 forum people have alreadi give birth...

wenyl
i went to look at the pillow very long time ago... at kids mall and kiddy palace... all i come across is plain white one leh... dunno?

krissie - our bb abt the same size
i was shock when i see the gals here bb small/average size n mine so huge. now i more fang xin liao. ya! talking abt sleeping at the side, i oso feel bb kicking n thought maybe she i press onto her, cause her to be uncomfortable n that's y she'll kick me. i agree some time when i sleep 1/4 side way on on my back i dont have such feeling.

cookie - ya! its me. i ask gyane abt tis n he say its ok.

SY
u were asking abt the opening hours earlier...
were u asking for baybsupplies.net??
Their opening hours on weekend is from 1-5pm

Sleepingdeer
it seems to me most men has no problem sleeping rite after a fight. Same for my HB...he can even sleep in the middle of a arguement...or rather in the middle of my "scolding"...heeheee...
Super frustrating... and I get really red eye when I see him sleeping while I'm stil fuming.

Wendy
thanks for the reminder on the colour bleeds of the sling...

Wow after reading... realise I have shopping to do again, my HB sure drag every week must do shopping... let see :
(1) mother care, Ikea and spotlight for cot sheets
(2) BayBsupplies - baby sling

I find my memory really poor these days.

Then I wanna ask something very paisey... :
Is baby 1st month celebration different from baby's shower celebration? I tok they are the same....

Oh tonight I'm gng Antenatal class again... think I might be watching the video that gals have mentioend here... think I better get prepared..

Hi Krissie,

I am not too sure abt other colours. I saw white, picked up and con't on. Nowadays, I just narrow down on what I want and move on. Very focused :p

Hi SY,

Happy digging. Maybe can let Krissie know if there are other colours other than white.

Hi all mommies,

So far, I have put on 6.5 kg. Was a bit worried and so asked my gynae abt my weight gain during my last visit. He said it's fine cos I have another 2.5 months to put on.

I try to sleep on my sides nowadays. Baby movements are on the sides too in that position. If I am sitting/lying straight, his movements will be frontal. HB says he's making right angle turns in his personal space. Sometimes, the movements are so major it actually jolts me forward whether I am sitting or lying down. Think most of us will miss the movements in our bellies when they are born. So, let's enjoy the moment

Hi cookie,

No need to pai-seh.

Baby showers are held before baby is born. It's a party where your family and friends present you with gifts for your baby before he/she is born. Usually held about 2 months before your due date.

As u know, 1st month is post birth celebrations. Don't know if times have changed in Asian culture. Baby showers are usually held by the ang-mohs.

Hey all,

During my last class on Sat, we were showed a video of 2 births. One with epidural and another without. I actually teared when both babies were born. Kp telling my HB "Oh my goodness, it's looks so darn painful.Child birth is freaking me out."

A part of me is scared of the pain, a part of me felt so touched when the baby was born. I told HB "Think I will cry when I see our baby." I feel that it will be a defining moment for me and then finally seeing the baby in the flesh after carrying him for 9-10 months.

Lately, I have been experiencing sharp back aches. As a result, I am not opting for epidural in case it will worsen my back pain after birth. However, I may change my mind shd I not be able to tahan the labour pain. HB said final decision is mine

confused,
so my gynae is quite right. keke coz me and my hubby are on the long, lean side. gynae said bb oso like us.

sysa,
actually my gynae said backache is not due to epidural leh. but it's up to u lah. i'm certainly going for epidural! keke...

Confused
The bbs in the Dec thread are also qt big.. most imptly, bb must be healthy & strong.

Cookie
Update us tom on the class.. hope it's not too scary.

Sysa
I'll pop by Spotlight if I can. Where's your antenatal class? I think I'll also cry when I see my bb. Anyway, rem to ask for epi before it's too late. Accrdg to the Mt. A antenatal class, they wont give epi if we're more than 8cm dilated. Accrdg to my mum, backache will occur when we don't have enough rest (lie down) during confinement. If you lie down a lot during confinement, shld be ok. Coz the old generation didnt have epi also there are pple with backaches mah.

re: epidural
think i also read that epidural won't cause backaches. it's more due to lack of rest after birth. so must remember to rest.

yah i think i will miss the feeling of bb's kicks. someitmes can see my tummy bob up and down. so funny.

zhimin,
what is raspberry tea supposed to do? i forgot again...

Hi Celine,

Because of my sharp backaches, that's y I am nt likely to opt for epi. I have a colleague who gave birth recently. She suffered from severe backaches towards the end of her pregnancy and was advised by her gynae to give birth w/o Epi as it may worsen her condition.

Hi Krissie,

My classes were at NUH. Will monitor my backaches first. What I meant is not that Epi causes back pain. What I meant is that I do not want to aggravate any after birth back pain with Epi shd my back pain persists up till labour

Surprisingly, most of the HBs in my ante-natal class are not for Epi. B4 my classes, I had the notion that many pple were for Epi. When the topic came out, there were so many questions asked abt it. Majority of us are thinkin of not opting for it. But then, if cannot tahan the pain, then it's the last resort

sysa
thanks for clearing my doubt... heehee... I really dunno baby's shower are held est 2 mths before due date.. :p
guess I will be following the asian culture if really celebrating...

kriss
Ok... hope I;m brave enough to see thru the whole video...
Hi... tell us abt the spotlight cot sheet when u pop... I'm thinking of gng to take a look too...
Spotlight at where?? Plaza sing there is one rite..

sysa
during antenatal class it was also mentioned backache could be due to bad posture during delivery...as we need to be in labour for many hours... if we maintain in bad posture for these period...definitely after delivery we feel horrible ache so I think not related to epidual.

cookie,
think tampines got a spotlight is it also right? if they are still there...

sysa,
actually i also have quite sharp backaches. it usually gets worse at night after the pressure from baby as i sit for majority of the day. cannot take epi if this continues?

sysa

actually find the hbs in your antenatal class quite selfish leh. It's the wife who's suffering leh. Just let her decide lah.

I read that a lot of mothers initially wanted to go without epi but in the end all cannot tahan. So kudos to those who went thru delivery without epi. I think i'm one of those with low pain threshold.

SY
I have never came across other places that sell raspberry tea... not too sure the normal type can do the same?

But MIM mentioned prob stock will be in next 3 weeks... the website actually did not state it is out of stock.

Hi SY,

U have to speak to your gynae abt your backaches & Epi then. My colleague & I share the same gynae. As a result of her severe back pain, she was advised not to try Epi. As a result, she gave birth to both her children really the natural way.

Hi Mashy Brainz,

I do not think they are being selfish
Most of them read stories abt side effects of Epi. They asked so many questions and wld prefer their wives to give birth without Epi. That's why I said it came as a surprise. I wld think that men wld prefer their wives to have Epi. But it was a different scenario when the topic came about and the views shared. It brought on a different light on Epi.

All of them had their say and then ended with "I wld prefer her not to but the final decision lies with her."

sysa,
my gynae oso mentioned that epi don't cause backaches. it's bad posture and ostheperosis that causes it. so juz make sure have enuff calcium even after we give birth. he feels that there are more pros than cons in taking epi. anyways, it's up to individual lah.

does anyone knows if drinking fish+papaya soup really works in generating more milk?
drink during pregnancy or after delivering?

celine, think it does. but according to my sis, can't drink too much as well. baby may have diarrhea. I think twice a week. or something like that.

mongs,
u mean if take too much b4 delivering, bb will have diarrhea or take too much after delivery, bb upon drinking our breast milk will get diarrhea?

talking about pain relief, I have a friend who just gave birth. And she went through 6+ hours of labour with absolutely NO drugs pain relief. No gas, no Pethidine, no epidural. She worry that the the drugs will be passed on to the baby although she knew it's low risk. So she just tahan and tahan, breathe and breathe and did some pain relieving exercise. Imagine that! I have decided not to go for epidural if I can help it (my HB wants me to actually).

Zhimin,
Mine blue leh. U still want it?

Confused/celine,
Me & hubby just average size leh so dun think bb will be big size. I was telling gynae that I hv 2 more mths to endure. Gynae say just tink of rhinos... they have to bear for 16 mths! Worse right?

Cookie,
Bayb supplies also opens on weekdays 1-5pm, except tues & wed close.

Sysa,
I will sure cry when I hold my baby. Already tearing when I watch the clip during class. Will definitely miss bb-in-tummy feeling next yr.

Celine,
My CL recommend the not-so-ripe type papaya. Can drink before due but not too often. Heard Zoe Tay drank the soup before due. Tatz why she got soooo much milk.

wenyl,
wow really? rhinos carry their bb for 16mths? faint ar!

ok, so it's the not so ripe papaya. wonder if it tastes good. keke... i suppose too much milk oso no good lah. very heavy leh. i'm already feeling and dreading the extra weight on my breast now!

wenyl
ya i know yours is blue... i am ok... just wondering how come all i see is plain white... of cos coloured will be better than plain.

cookie
ok, will update u gals if I do go spotlight, which might be next week. going malacca on sunday.

Celine
I think someone in the Dec thread mention that we can also take the papaya soup now.. So, I might want to try. Anyway, it's only papaya + fish. just a nutritious drink. It's green papaya.. those not ripe type, like thai papaya salad.

Wendy
Was thinking of drinking the papaya soup twice a mth now. Is it too frequent?

Celine,
Ya...tatz what my gynae say. I also din know. Hee! I think it's better to drink it just before due or after delivery. If drink too early, scared oversupply also problem....then really look like papayas!

Zhimin,
Ok. Just wanna re-confirm. Tks!
Maybe now they hv pink & blue...for added choices. Anyway, the promo set of 2 at centrept robinson all comes in blue blue only.

krissie/wenyl,
seems like there are mixed comments. but i suppose like krissie mention, drink in moderation shld be ok lah. but how to cook huh? wat kind of fish? juz put the 2 together and boil ar?

ya i don't want over supply oso, wait really papaya then i faint ar! can't imagine wearing DD or E cup!

Krissie,
Really dunno if can drink now leh. My mum wanted to make the soup for me to try out the taste but my granny stopped her. Say too early. My CL also say to drink after delivery. I thinkg of drinking it in Dec, say maybe 2 times before delivery.

Read the Nov05 thread, got a few ladies already popped last week. Now got to mentally prepare myself that bb may arrive 2-3 weeks earlier...then he will be a dec baby liao.

Celine,
I got the recipe from TMC class. Here it goes:

FISH & PAPAYA SOUP
200gm Green (unripe) or semi-ripe papaya
1 no. Fish bones. eg. Carp, snakehead, seabream, promfret or Kurau fillet.
4 slices Ginger
METHOD:
1. Scale & clean fish
2. Simmer together with pieces of papaya & ginger for 1/2 hr or till soft.
3. Remove bones before serving.

thanks Wenyl!
do we need to eat the papaya and fish too? or juz drink the soup. i don't really like papaya and fish leh. :p

Celine,
Its just using fish bones. Tink just drink the soup will do. They say it's a waste to use the fish meat. Fish meat can use to cook other dishes.

If u want induced labour, u got to check with ur gynae liao. I personally prefer natural....let baby decide his own timing....unless no choice.