(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sleepingdeer/SY
Pillows - FYI I bot from the Centrepoint outlet.

Clare
I only bot the flat one..it's so thin anyway... but the one with the hole looks rather cute but I think that one is not on sale...

Clothes - yah, cos u will be losing weight mah, ok, ok, can buy shoes...hehe.....
U buy bag for what ah? U won't be going visiting right??? U're so cute....

Hi SY,

If your baby does not require sarong, then don;t use.
For me, my gal refuse to nap or nap for a very short period of time when she was three months old so my mum suggest sarong. As she's the main caregiver, it's hard for me to object.

Hi SY and Clare,

Actually i read from somewhere that we can start getting the nursing bra from our six months onwards. I bought mine at Mothercare sale, each costing about $35 - $40 during their sale. The girl will help to measure your bust line and suggest accordingly.

Hi Durian lover,

I guess as our tummy gets bigger, it's easier and normal for us to get breathless. During my first pregnancy, i have heartburn somemore............

Rachel
Think positively, bigger babies are easier to look after and stronger. Some smaller bbs are weaker. Anyway, as long as bb is healthy, we mummies suffer a bit also no choice. I've seen matt protector. But, it's not incld in the price for the cot. I think you have to get it separately.

stylobb
Wah.. 2 babies, so surely tummy will be bigger than ours. Good to hear that bbs are good.

SSF
Where can I find nursing bras in Malacca? At Parkson?

SY
Thanks.. so what's so special abt this playmat? Seems like a lot of grp buys for playmats, but I dont know why lah.

Durianlover
I think only need to get nursing wear after our MS is established. Qt a lot of maternity shops sell them. Spring sells at a reasonable price. My colleague bought from http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/breastfeedingclothes.html

Pochacco
Where were you sitting? What did u wear?

Yuki
I saw the mothercare nursing bra.. very sweet. So tempted to buy. But, am afraid that I'll be fatter. Maybe buy in Dec lah.

StyloBB,
haha... think is I have a feeling my 1-mth confinement would definitely end JUST before CNY starts... so i still have to go visiting right?? Or can i be excused??
kao_confused.gif
Is there such a thing women who just give birth cannot go visiting?? If yes then good lah i got excuse to save giving out Ang Bao $$ yet will receive for my BB hee hee...

Harlo mummies,
recently im oso hving some discomfortable. take for example this morning when waiting for the transportation, i broke into cold sweat n start feeling giddy..
kao_dizzy.gif
ended up i really need to find a seat n rest my head lower. @ tat point really scare will faint.

now im only taking multi vit. gynae said no need take folic liao.

same as durianlover hope to work till the day start labour, unless my back really cant tahan the load of sitting infront of PC the whole day den will think of taking a few days in advance of my EDD. this coming CNY definitly is out for me, since my EDD is 25 Jan. so think can only be stuck @ hm n "njoy" my confinment

SY,
who is ur gynae? mine is Dr Jeanette Chen.

wow this threat is really going vy fast, really hv to take some time to go through everything.

krissie...no i saw it in tesco not in mahkota. far from there. u can try asking in Parkson lingerie section though.

stylobb,
so the pillow on sale is probably the one for infants right? think the one with the hole in the middle is for NB.

yuki,
i also get heartburn! really dislike it. sometimes i will take antacids but i try not to take too much medicine!

rachel,
i agree with krissie, bigger babies are easier to look after. that's why i so worried that my bb won't be big enough. if bb is below 2kg, think they have to stay in hospital for sometime.

krissie,
hee, i also dunno why this playmat so popular but seems like a lot of pple think very well of it so i went ahead to get it. after getting it, i can see why cos the material is good and soft and when u put on the floor for baby to crawl or walk next time, it won't be painful for them. they can learn to flip or crawl easier i think. if put on bed, the surface is too soft for them. and this material is easy to clean also.

rachel,
mine is Dr Han How Chuan.

I get the same thing sometimes. when i m on MRT, sometimes i break out in cold sweat and will feel really uncomfortable. and worse still no seat somemore. really got to sit down and rest for a while. once i got off the train cos the train ride just wasn't making me feel any better.

SY & rachel,
yes i know what u all mean...sometimes i also break out in cold sweat n feel giddy, and just feel really uncomfortable. Difficult to breathe, etc. Then i'll try to get to someplace with more air circulation and sit down. thank God so far on buses i've felt ok..can't imagine if no seat n feeling faint then how?!

SY,
i dun think bb will be below 2kg....quite rare unless premature. Think urs shd be able to hit more than 2kg at least! Dun worry too much!

Clare
Actually hb/I dislike visiting so I guess we are pretty happy staying home this CNY!!!! Hehehe....

SY
NBs dun really need pillow leh..... anyway u go take a look and see if the thin one is suitable...

Hi SY and Rachel,

Do take care of yourselves and rest if you feel giddy. Don't be embrassed to ask for seat if you need one. Sy, if got heartburn, try to eat smaller meals, more times.

Hi Clare,

I think some people do mind about the CNY visitation during festival period. They considered us as 'dirty' during this one month period so do check with your relatives/friends before visitation.

My SIL got married during my confinement and my mum who did my confinement forbid my hubby from attending his sister's wedding. But we didn't really care and my hubby still drop by. Till date, my mum still doesn't know.
And after my SIl got married, she cannot come visit me until 12 days later etc.......... Wierd rules. I was complaining to hubby that if in the West, i reckon everyone will be rejoiceing the two happy occasions together, the proud mum showing off her baby, attending the party etc..........

durianlover,
i just read this article from young parents think it's a few issues back. this lady's baby was born only at 1.5kg! so scary. at 36 weeks her doc found that her bb was too small so suggested to her to deliver early. i tot usually from 32 weeks they will track the growth so din quite understand why her gynae only realised it at 36 weeks. anyway, cannot totally rely on gynae. must also do our own reading!

stylobb,
i will go take a look. i saw the one for NB before. think yuki also mention the one that u bought.

hee, actually i m quite happy that i might be staying home this CNY. me and hb can't agree on visting arrangments for CNY so since we can't go, save us one argument!

can ask something, do u usually go back to your parent's place for reunion dinner on the actual day or the day before?

in case you are interested, i saw from the babysafe thread that the robinsons offer is indeed cheaper than what they got for the infant pillow. only thing is must get 2....

does baby need 2 pillows?

I will need two pillows, one at my home, and one at my mum's place.

SY/SSF and the rest,
didn't pop by today, but i will drop by tomorrow at the City Hall one to take a look at the pillows. I will get the infant ones, coz no point getting NB ones, as they dun need pillows. So if anyone wanna tongbang, let me know. But if really the case as what Stylobb say, then probably have to settle for one pink and one blue...

Those looking for nursing tops, can try momsinmind.com.sg. My fren passed me a few of their tops. She has mastered the art of BF discreetly so doesn't need the tops amymore. She is still BFeeding her 16 mth old boy, wearing normal tops & sometimes using the bb sling as a cover.

SY,
Normally we will go back on the eve of CNY. First to my parents' place for lunch reunion & evening, to inlaw place for reunion dinner. Dunno abt next yr when bb arrives.

SSF
Thanks. Where's Tesco?

SY
oh, I see. how much is the mat? How big is your bb now? For us, we'll eat at my parent's place first, then hop over to my MIL's place fo reunion dinner on CNY eve.

SY, sleepingdeer, Yuki
The babysafe pillow for infants can be used from which mth till which mth? Coz I was told not to give bb pillow for 1st 2 mths.

Does anyone have very bad itch, like rashes? My SM are v itchy.

MOrning gals,
bad headache yesterday and didn't go away today even after a early night... you think doctor will give MC for headache?

SY,
I'm also pondering over the arrangement. This year after I got married, we had dinner at my parents house a day b4 New year's eve. I told hb, that next year, maybe we should do two dinners, earlier one with MIL from 6pm to 8pm, then back to my home with my parents from 8pm to 10pm...

Krissie,
actually NB don't need pillows loh, just that for me, my mum insist on having pillow, so was thinking of getting babysafe infant pillows which can use from 0 - 3 years old. It's only about a inch thick, so think will be ok for bb.

Morning all...sigh! my hubby went away for biz trip again for 3 days and be back tis fri. be gg to my mum place to stay.

krissie,...u need a car to get down. abt 10 mins drive from mahkota, it is like carrefour, sell groceries as well as clothings as well. i bought my Palmerrs nipple cream, sleep wear from there. toiletries there are cheaper than in Giant in Mahkota. but for you as you are not driving, it is difficult and inconvenient for you. there are also some lingerie shops in mahkota not in Parkson. you can go and have a look. as mentioned, parkson has one very sweet pink button down and pants sleepwear by Young ones. it is selling at RM59. very nice so you may want to get that. for me, i am afraid of staining it as it is white and pink so in the end didnt buy.

for me, this yr reunion dinner will not be eating la as i will be doing my confinement and cannot go out,. the most i will host it at my parent's hse. haha..and eat from there. anyway i am based there already. hubby wants he can go back his parents hse alone. haha..

ALL - yesterday went to JL and finally got the pigeon rapid steam sterliser at $79 (after using 10 dollars voucher). The price is so cheap as i still have additional 5% rebate. Those who havent get yet can go down and take a look. even the avent steriliser is selling at 118 bucks. usual price is 179 bucks. as avent can only fit avent bottles, i didnt get that. if not, i find it is a better bargain than pigeon.

btw, anyone know if avent bottles can fit into pigeon sterisler? it mentioned it can fit all bottle sizes. i am using NUK bottles but have one free avent bottle from my antenatal class so was wondering if it can be fit in as well.

sleepingdeer - you are pregnant now..hence, if you dont feel well or even slight headache. go ahead and ask for mc. i always think pregnant woman need ample rest. so pls rest and dun over tired yourself.

Zao An, everyone!!!

too busy to log in for the afternoon, wow.. so many posts to catch up on..

SSF - baby haven turned down yet. yest when gynae did scan, her head was somewhere near my belly button.no wonder it was popping out alot nowadays..baby celeste being very nottie, keep kicking my bladder. can go pee then step out of toilet feel like going again.. colleague noticed i been running to n fro the ladies nowadays

SY - yup. i got your e-mail address aldy...

ladies, we are closing the orders today. so if you are interested, you might wana add in
kao_smile2.gif
and also, we are short of 1 order to hit 10 to qualify for the 15% discount, so if someone can show a little interest, tat will b GREAT!!! no hard-selling har, just hoping

sleepingdeer the JL sales is until 23 oct. i saw that the pigeon steriliser left like ard 5 boxes on the shelf. so if you want to get it, hurry!

Hi Krissie,

The babysafe pillow is only one inch thick and flat - shouldn't be a problem.

As for itch, i had very bad rashes from 32nd week onwards for my first pregnancy. Rashes all over my body, thighs and stomach. Went to visit a demertologist and she diagnosed as "PLUPPS" - quite common for first pregnancy and usually happens in the last trimster.

If your itch is really bad, maybe you can see your gynae and ask her to refer you to a demertologist or whether can she prescripe some medication. My itch was so bad that i couldn't sleep..........

Hi Clare,

Sorry, forgot to update you on the meaning of Ashley.

It means Peace of God and the verse that comes with it is Phil 4:7

"and the peace of God, which surpassses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus"

hi mummies, does anyone have the contact number for BB hypermart or BB kingdom? i'm looking for toys from Tiny Love. Or does anyone know where i can get toys from Tiny Love? thks!

SSF
Thanks. Don't think I'll get the PJ, since it's long pants. very hot leh. My colleague used her Avent bottles in a Pigeon steriliser. she said that it works fine. So, shld be no prob lah.

Yuki
Thanks.. I told my gynae that it was v itchy & he gave me a cream to apply when I cant tahan. I'll monitor. So far, my butt and tummy is affected. If it gets worse, will tell my gynae again.

Hi Krissie,

Maybe you can try the calamine lotion. It wasn't suitable for me cos i have very dry skin and calamine lotion make it worse. Try to moisturise more. I also bought those army powder with 'cooling' effect. Apply after bath - very shiok.

Yuki
Thanks..I'll usually put the Clarins oil and sometimes powder. Really cannot tahan, then will apply doc's cream. Was also thinking of trying calamine lotion but forgot to ask gynae if it's safe. Ok, will go buy some to try. Thanks.

SSF,
I tink I remember someone mentioned that the Avent steriliser can fit most other bottles. Cos avent bottles are broader so the steriliser can accomodate to most other bottles.

I will be using the old method of boiling cos if I managed to total BF, then wont need so many bottles. Then steriliser will be under utilised.

Anyone bot maternity pads.... Madame brand good? I can't find it in Carrefour leh. Initially thot just use the normal nite extra long pads...but someone mentioned the flow will be terribly heavy. I tink I better standby some maternity pads liao.

SY,
i go back to my parents' place for reunion dinner after the 1st few days of CNY. Mainly because my relatives are all in M'sia and we usually go back to M'sia on eve of CNY till 2nd day to celebrate. So now that i'm married, my family will continue going to M'sia but i stay in s'pore!

krissie,
better monitor ur rash. Hope it gets better! sigh all the woes of pregnancy!

i was bored on the bus to work today n noticed something - pple tend to be more willing to let others sit down when they are already standing in the 1st place. Eg. quite a few times i've encountered pple who are standing n when the person sitting in front of them alights, they'll ask me to come n sit in the empty seat right in front of them. Whereas pple who ALREADY hv a seat find it tougher to give up their seats...it's as if their bums are glued to the seats. Heh, just an interesting thought on the psychology of our thinking!

Anyway on the bus today i was standing n found it difficult to breathe. Any of u have heartburn? i wonder if what i'm experiencing is heartburn though my heart doesn't feel like it's burning...just a sense of tightness n difficulty in breathing!

wenyl - i bought sofy 28cm for night(2 packs). abt avent steriliser, my frd who is using that told me so. can only fit avent bottles. so for those not using avent bottles..may want to double confirm before buying.

Do you all have the list of things to prepare for baby and ourselves? I remembered someone posted a list once. Me now start to panic cos i have not prepare anything...... hee hee

Will appreciate if those who have the list - pls post it again. Thanks!

is it? that's strange. then why are ppl hesitate to buy avent other than its pricing? i heard lotsa of comments abt avent not being flexible. anyway thks Yuki!

Hello gals

Wow! tis thread really fast moving. i was so busy tis few days.

krissie - i dont have any rashes on my belly but i do feel belly itchy after a very full meal. (dont know why leh) ya! if u still having rashes, better let your gynae know.

Durianlover, Confused
Thanks.. I'll monitor. My colleague passed me this, looks qt scary.

Is it normal to itch all over during pregnancy?
About 20 per cent of all pregnant women have some kind of generalized skin itchiness. Hormones and your stretching skin especially over your growing belly are probably to blame for your discomfort.
About two-thirds of all pregnant women will get red and itchy palms and soles, a condition experts think is caused by an increase in oestrogen. It usually disappears straight after delivery.
How can I get some relief?
Apply moisturiser or try a warm oatmeal bath (some chemists sell them ready-made or you could just wrap a handful of oats tightly in a muslin square and dump in in your bath). Heat rash can intensify the itching, so wear loose cotton clothing and avoid going out in the heat of the day.
I've heard that itching in the third trimester could be a sign that something's wrong. Is that true?
It depends. Some women develop harmless itchy bumps on their abdomen, thighs, buttocks or arms in the last few months of pregnancy. A cream to ease the itching is all that is needed for this.
In rare cases, severe itchiness in your third trimester can be a sign of a serious liver problem called obstetric cholestasis. In this case the itchiness is very widespread and often includes itching of the hands and feet. It may also be accompanied by nausea, vomiting, loss of appetite, fatigue, pale-coloured stools and jaundice. Make an appointment with your doctor or midwife if the itching is very widespread. A blood test can be carried out to assess your liver function. If the liver is affected, you may be given medication, but it may also be necessary to deliver your baby a little early. Contact the Obstetric Cholestasis Support and Information Line if you would like more information.

SSF
My colleague used Avent and said it was very durable, compared to the other brand. So, I'm getting that loh.

SY,
dun worry too much. ur baby is still growing now n i heard fr other ppl tat they grow quite alot in their last 3 mths. cheer up!

durianlover & SY,
wow seem like we r hving the same thing. not sure whether is it bcoz of the pressure our BB is doing on our body or is it due to us standing for too long n not enough blood tats y coz us breaking out in cold sweat n giddy... mayb will ask my gynae abt tis.

talking abt seats... i oso encounter ppl who pretend to be asleep or jus stare blank in front of them... cant they be more considerate?? theres once i actually hv to stand thorough out the whole bus ride. ppl jus dun seem to c my tummy! in the end my hubby still hv to grab a seat for me when someone is alighting @ a stop. he keep shocking his head
kao_frustrated.gif

as for me, my PIL is in msia. for the past 2 yrs my renuion dinner is spent on CNY eve w my PIL. on the 3rd day of CNY den me n my hubby went to my parent place for dinner. coz got to spent a few days @ PIL place.

but this year i think will be a totally different arragement. my EDD is 25 Jan, so jus a few days b4 CNY. therefore got to stay in spore n be in stand by mode
so this yr will give a miss to hv reunion dinner w my PIL. n since i will be hving my confinment @ my own hse n my mum helping me, most prob will be asking my parent over to my place n hv reunion dinner instead
since i live quite near to my parent.

Hi girls, me back from Bintan liao! It was nice and relaxing. The only thing about Mayang Sari is that they don't have a pool, so got to take shuttle bus to Nirwana.

cel_cel, I'm interested in the beansprout pillow, will drop you an email later.

Girls, just checking, for those of you who had been to baby hypermart, are their prices cheaper than the departmental stores during sales? We are going to start our shopping this weekend and since Robinson is having a baby fair, I thought might as well get from Robinson. I'm getting a bit stressed as there seems to be so much to buy!

Does anyone know if the babysafe newborn pillow actually helps to prevent flat head symdrome? My hubby's friend mentioned that asian bbs are very prone to flat head!

I also have problems with my existing bras! They seems to cut into my skin. I guess it's time to get new ones.... but also scare that they will expand again.

curly,
so nice to go Bintan!! i love beach places

i just bought some new bras yesterday coz i find it difficult to breathe when bra's too tight. For your info, Carrefour having bra sale now - buy 2 get 1 free for some brands like Pierre Cardin & YoungHearts. And many others too. Can check it out if u happen to be there

rachel,
hmm only once that u had to stand thru' whole bus ride? i hv to stand thru whole bus ride most of the time when i take crowded buses. No one seems to wanna give up seat to me leh
in fact, the no. of times tt pple actually gave up seat to me is so few that i can count with one hand!

do u think we can be excused from going visiting during CNY since it's confinement? hmm i really wonder... i hv a feeling my hb's side relatives will at least expect us to be at reunion dinner even though my EDD's 27 Jan! Just hope that there won't be any bad-mouthing or what if we don't go. i really dun wish to bring my newborn out to crowded places so early!

I visited my gynae yesterday. My baby has turned as in his head is downwards now. After pressing my tummy, Gynae told me that baby still has space to turn back.

When he pressed my tummy, my baby was kicking him at the pressed places. He remarked "Wow, he's really active!" Heartbeat is very strong too. Detailed scan is scheduled on 11 Nov.

I bought 3 nursing bras from Thyme & Spring some time back. Got 2 a cup-size bigger and another 1 2-cup size bigger as recommmended by the lady. She said our boobs will usually be 2-cup size bigger at delivery.

For those taking iron pills, not to consume any dairy products 4 hrs after that. This is because the dairy products will absorb the Iron pill nutrients and not our body. That's what the nurse tells me when she passes me the pills.

Beansprout Pillow Updates :

1) Cel_cel ( 2 pillow + 2 add'l casing ) $55.80
2) Queen ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) $27.90
3) SSF ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) $27.90
4) Durianlover ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing )$27.90
5) celine77 (1 pillow + i add'l casing) $27.90
6) beluga (1 pillow) $19.90
7) SY ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing) $ 27.90
8) Connz ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) $27.90
9) Curly ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) $27.90

yipee!!! Girls... we have hit the 10 orders to qualify for the 15% discount!!!