(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Yuki
no problem... actually I took your hint.. about your friend book and went christain book store to find.. this book is good... it has a bible verse for every name...
But the only thing is my HB find this book lotsa Boy boy name... lesser gal name... so he didn't choose many name from there so far...

Thanks gals for the warm welcome! This thread really moves very fast, I just came in and saw so many new postings oredi!

For chinese name, I am thinking of Shi1 Qin2. Poetic musically heeeee.

Cookie - Thks for recommendation of the book on names, will do some more research

I am eating Nerogain too, recommended by my gynae - Dr Fong Yang.

Thank God my parents did not insist on "suan" name. (My PIL are christians.) For Clare, I think the best thing to do now is to pray for God to help you in this delicate situation. I will pray for you too!

sigh. so busy the whole afternoon and realise got so much to catch up on!!!

hee, will go guardain and check it out this weekend...

Hi God's child,

I have abt 150 guests. It will be Hurricane Sysa if I hold the celebration at my house. If split lunch and dinner, it will be too long a stretch for baby & I. That's why planning to hold it at a place for 3-4 hrs. Everyone will attend at the same time, eat/party and then baby & I can go back to rest thereafter.

Hi SSF & SY,

Yep, the Church people are so sweet. They are either buying cute baby stuff or sewing something for baby. I am Catholic so they are my parents' Rosary Group. A very close-knitted group.

Hi Zhimin,

Choz is used by the Mediacorp celebrities for their babies one month celebrations. Everything looks delicious too
Getting greedy over such kuehs & tarts :p Haha.

I visited babytown when I first got pregnant. The place has a lot of stuff. All the new stuf are actually still in the boxes or wrapped up. Most on display are out in the open.

BTW, I am naming my baby boy Cephas. It's Biblical meaning is "The Rock".

dear mummies,
didn't hv time to log on today n there're so many posts to catch up on!
wow i haven't put much thought yet into baby's full month celebrations...looks like it's time to start thinking a bit!

sleepingdeer,
shannon is nice! i like that name too! but hb didn't like.

cookie,
charlotte gives me the impression of a good n sweet girl.

i've decided to name my princess Janelle. My hb & i like the name n it's meaning - it means God is gracious

clare,
wow so sweet of u to do the 21st birthday journal for ur girl!! i won't hv the patience to last so long! hee

Ariel,
welcome!!

Hi cookie,
have a friend called Charlotte, very pretty!

durianlover/mongs,
thanks, that's the only name both me and hb agree on, it's tough to find one that both likes!

Clare,
I am just too lazy to start, though it is a very touching gift, your girl will definitely love it!

ACtually gals,
where is Babytown and Kids Mall? Keep hearing about it, but have no idea where it is?

BTW,
my bb's beansprout pillow arrived already... it's a little shorter than I expected, but very nicely made, with two layers... impt to have two layers, just in case one layer breaks. I chose the cotton in the end, it is thick and looks lasting, just that silk may be softer and smoother to the touch lah...

Ariel,
welcome! I nearly went to Dr Fong Yang too, coz heard he's good! But my hb preferred our current gynae...
Your gal's chinese name sounds very poetic, nice!

pup pup
The Palmers cream is not as easily absorbed as the Clarins oil & some pple dun like the smell. But, it's ok loh. I'm ok with the smell, but my colleague dun like it.

SY
BB's brain is developing rapidly now, so must take your fish oil, okie.. my hb is so cute. Since he read it somewhere that bb's brain developing rapidly now, he must be asking me almost everyday if I'm taking the fish oil.

Hi gals...
this afternoon provide wrong info... the moisturiser i am using is The Natural Source Daintree Sugar Cane... not LYCHEE hehe...

Got this from another thread. Here's all the cakes. And added sysa's sweet surprise.

http://www.sweetsecrets.com.sg/baby.htm
http://www.kyo.com.sg/products/fullmonth00.html
http://www.melrose.com.sg/cakes.htm
http://www.primadeli.com.sg/cakes/cakeofthemonth.htm
http://www.blossoms.com.sg/Baby%27s1stMonth2005.html
http://www.bengawansolo.com.sg/gift.htm#baby
http://www.jacksplace.com.sg/cake/bundle.html
http://www.chozconfectionery.com/full_month2.html
www.sweetsurprise.com.sg

I personally like the sweet secrets one if I'm delivering the cake. But, since it's so troublesome, will most prob get Bengawan vouchers which though boring, is convenient for me & for pple to collect.

ya, learn a thing or two about buying cakes for colleagues, one of my colleagues bought cakes for us when his son was 1 month old but there are so many departments and some departments are big so he bought 20 over boxes but he has problem storing them as he has to collect them one day in advance. nowsdays, most of my colleagues use begawansolo voucher, easier and they have a lot of branches to collect from.
think primadeli and sweetsecrets and some other shops also have vouchers but there may not be as many shops as begawansolo.

I am using elancyl SM cream, onto my third tube. it costs S$46.35 (think). think now promotion at guardian where they give us a leg relaxation cream free. I think the cream is quite good. those who have tired legs can also try that leg relaxation cream, ask your hubby to apply for you.

I also started taking neurogain less than a month ago. bought it at KKH pharmacy, S$31, seems to be the most expensive one compared to the prices some of you mentioned. will remember to get it from unity. been diligently taking one everyday. comes to baby development, think we have a part to play.

sleeping deer and durain lover...
thanks on the comment for Charlotte...I also think the name is sweet

but hor I got 1 biggest problem :p... my HB dun really "feel" for the name...hahaha...
So difficult to come to name that both of us like..

SSF / SY
Last nite I went Tampines Mall and bought the Lactcyn (think wrong spelling)...as informed by SSF it cost $14.50 and expiry is 2008...
But they ONLY has 4 pack and according to the lady that was their last stocks... so I bought all of them...intend to sell if any gals wan...
hahaha I also went to Watson and they are selling at 11.90 for just 1 bottle...

SSF you wanna get an extra pack rite? I can pass you 1 pack ... cos I scare by the time u go down already sold out.
SY... you want? I can pass u 1 pack too.

Mong
I agree begawang solo really convenient... my colleague also using....though the cake maybe a bit boring... but it really save lotsa effort and time for us...

Cookie, ya a bit boring but actually u can remind your friends and colleagues when u give out the cards that they can change the cake to something else that they like. in fact, I jus change my voucher for 2 cakes yesterday, suppose to be medium pandan cake but I like walnut and the cheese roll so change 1 medium cake for 2 smaller cakes still have extra cost, so bought a pc of chocolate and durian cake each and ate on the spot. yum yum!

Good morning

Lactacyd
as i mentioned i intend to change my own shower gel... yesterday passed by compass point guardian, there are still quite a bit of stock left for this promo... but i got one query... i read from the direction of use, need to dilute it in water then shower, but we normally just take shower using the water straight from the tap... can this lactacyd use as normal bath gel and apply straight to body?

went to take a look at the seba med and eucerin too... but a bit ex.

hey gals,
can i take any kind of fish oil or must be the one recommended, ie. neurogain? i hv fish oil capsules by Blackmores - will that do?

SSF,
i went to 2 guardian and can't find the lactacyd. maybe must go to the bigger stores.

zhimin,
choz is not bad. a lot of pple give choz i realise. my fren also gave it during her baby one month.

durianlover,
janelle is a nice name. thinking of names is so hard!

anyone tot of chinese names already?

sleepingdeer,
where did u get your pillow from? which website and how much?

krissie,
i will try to remember to take my fish oil diligently. cos i like fish so i sometimes will forget to take

cookie,
thanks for the offer. i will try to find the lactacyd again. if really dun have, then i wd be very grateful if u can pass to me.

re: 1st month cakes
seems like got a lot of options! bengawan solo seems to be the most convenient option but think quite nice to get cakes to distribute. then can show my bb pic as well...

durianlover
i am not too sure also abt the fish oil... cos my gynae recommend neurogain so i just take.

god's child
the class today change to basement le... they sms me.

yesterday my company has a farewell party for a colleague, took some photos and so SAD i am so plump now... look like a penguin! my face also rounder... haiz...

Mongs
ya I plan to change my cake to walnut cake...yumyum looking forward to collect my cake...
wow your colleague actually give medium pandan cake... pretty big hor.

Hi durianlover,

Janelle was the name I picked when we first thot that our baby was a girl. It's a nice and unique name
Your baby girl will definitely be sweet and pretty

Then we found out our baby is a boy. Gonna name him Cephas. Shall hold on to Janelle for my 2nd baby - Hopefully a girl!

Hi Krissie,

TQ for the list. Now more options to choose from for the baby's 1st month cakes

hi cookie..wow..so hot the stocks. hehee..what time u went down yesterday? i got my mum to buy for me at TM yesterday as well in the early evening. hheee...so now i have 2 packs.

anyone else want it? if not cookie you can keep it. it is really a good bargain. and expire in 2008. i will use that for quite a long time since baby skin is so delicate and they bathe in the tub. so easy. and the small bottle, can use when travelling
thanks anyway for offering to buy for me. so nice and sweet of you.

so did you get the pigeon cleanser? for that also out of stock?

Hi durain lover,

I am also taking neurogain. I can't commend whether blackmores fishoil is ok....maybe can check with your gynae. The package stated on Neurogain is specified 'dietary supplement for pregnant mothers'.....

Morningz... wow!! its friday...

Mashy - yup juz realised its 2nd hand, so am dropping the idea...thanks for highlighting...

Zhimin - ya, juz saw the sms from TMC. so excited. u think there b refreshments served??? am ordering food in at 5pm so tat i wont starve there or worse stil, grab attention wf my stomach's growling...haha

SY, i also just ordered my beansprout pillows online for my new born niece and also my own Celeste
its $19.90 for one 45 by 15cm and $8 for additional cover. got the baby's name embroidered on it...

yes SY i stay in the east.

god's child, if you are referring to TMC antenatal class, tehre is only beverages provided. no food. however, tehre is a delifrance there. takeaway is 95cents each for each pastry. not sure if the promo is still on. but can grab a bite before class starts.

hi god's child, can i take a look at the website where you purchase the beansprout pillow? may want to get one for my son if nice. hehee.. gee i just cannot stop spending. somebody help me!

Hello gals

Wow! tis thread is really moving fast. Aiyo! i still havent choose name for my bb gal. See u gals chose liao, i very gan cheong.

mashy - me too didnt receive any from JL. ya! i think they pick at random.

durainlover - i'm still taking the neurogain.

SSF,
hee, cos i realised u always shop in the east!!

so TM has no more stock? think the stocks there run out fast cos always so crowded!

god's child,
what kind of material did u choose? i saw some got so many different kinds like silk, satin etc etc

yeah la..nothing to do..shop ard and see got good bargain. nowsaday like aunty, go ntuc, guardian, watson, isetan, metro etc and hunt for good bargains. hehe..

hee..SSF, me too! realised i m always poring over the papers and go straight to all the places u mentioned to see whehter got discount or not...

yeah but SY like the LACTACYD, newspaper never advertise. i bump into it while window shopping. this weekend will be gg to JL to buy the pigeon 6 bottles steriliser. hopefully still have stock. will get from my sis the 10 dollars off voucher later today.

all- has anyone buy any bath tub yet? i saw somewhere mothercare bath tub is pretty nice. Mrs wong said when buying, maybe sure its flat inside and dun have any seat or bump. also do not need to buy the non slip mat. she said if it is not wash thoroughly, the suction cap will be turn mouldy and need to wash everytime after bath. and during sunning, bacteria is still will be trap. so no point. just the bath tub will do. it seems bath tub can be quite ex. from 19 plus to 20 plus also have. any recommendation?

god's child
you ordered the bean sprout pillow which can customised the name one!! i so tempted to buy but hubby asked MIL to sew one le.

zhimin

actuali my MIL aldy bought one but she said it was too heavy (though oni 220gm and of reasonable size) and split it into 2 pillows - one for my niece and one for my Celeste. its reali small & light and i wont like to toy wf the idea of it being accidentally stuffed onto Celeste's face should she manage to throw it up...
nono.gif
so i prefer to order one more which i feel comfortable wf. will just tell her tat can use as alternative when sunning the other one...

SSF,
i was just thinking abt bath tub as well!!!
think someone (was it Yuki) who mentioned that can get ordinary bath tub from those HDB shops? those shopping centre bath tubs quite ex....

SSF
no problem... those extra shower bath I can keep lor. My HB also has sensitive skin, he can use it too besides the expriy so far away... so baby can slowly use them
Oh I bought the bottle cleanser too.

RE :Beans Sprout pillow
How many do we need ?? my friend gave me one... she said she has a few more if I not enough... just wondering do we need more then 1?

cookie..great to hear you got those 2 good buys!
as for the bean sprouts pillow, i think one is enough. i am still combing the website for one. hehee..

god's child and sleepingdeer, my hubby agrees to pay for it. can i ask wat colour did you choose and for the pillow casing...i am suppose to choose one picture to go along with the name is it? wat pic did you guys choose?

SSF

i chose the praying angel in blue casing and the giraffe in pink casing. i ordered an extra casing in case dirtied by baby..

God's child, thanks for the link for the pillow, I think I will get one too. I recently ordered one from yahoo auction but realise that they put beans instead of the bean sprout kernel, so the pillow ended up being very heavy :S

Sleepingdeer, thanks for your compliment.

god_child - i just had a check with my hubby and we are gettign blue with angel as well. i think thats nice. i also like that yellow and blue giraffe. but my hubby ask me why giraffe. hahaa.. not sure if we order in bulk ..can we get a better rate?

who else is getting?
> SSF
> Ariel..anyone else? then i call and enquire.

I already bought a white coloured bathtub for my baby. It's the exact size as the ones from Mothercare. Got it for $30 as compared to Mothercare's $75. It includes the board to place the baby on. Bought it at a neighbourhood shop which sells kids' stuff.

SSF

i juz e-mailed the person to ask if its possible to give a discount if we order more...so waiting for her to come back... a 5% or 10% also better than nothing rite..
smart SSF