(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Krissie,
isit? ok, will monitor and see whether it continues on, hope it is a one off thing which was caused by something I ate last night. Hmm, probably coz my starting weight already quite jialet, I was never consider slim

Hi Zhimin/god's child,
I got about:

10 shorts
3 long pants
9 short sleeves tops
2 long sleeves tops

My sizes are various ones, most of them 3-6 months, or 6-12 months, I only have a few 0-3, coz not sure how long my bb can wear them. Think I overdid it on the shorts, but they were on sale, $1 for 1, so not too bad, and mostly were bigger sizes.

Clare,
poor thing, sleeping alone is very sian, everytime my hubby play mahjong, and go out with frens, I cannot sleep well until he comes back. For your V pain, monitor and see how it goes, is a good idea to go toilet more often, but if you dun feel the urge, how to tell whether bladder full? Hmmm...

Queen,
I do worry that with bb coming, life will change so drastically that dun know whether can cope or not... coz that is the end of honeymoon period. On one hand, excited to see bb, on the other, worried how life will be? haha, so confused.

SY,
My MIL also want us to go back and drink soup even though we have had dinner already. Even though we stay nearby (about 5 to 10 mins by car), I mean, it's just simple soup right? Not like special brewed soup. Must we go back?Sometimes she'll want us to pick up desserts like red bean soup but it's 9 plus already! And my HB will still want to go back and take. I appreciate that my MIL makes these stuff for us (but not specially for us also lah) but I mean don't have to do this so often right? Another thing I don't understand is, she knew that we went back to my mom's place for dinner. My MIL called him and told us to go back and have some porridge and fried beehoon (can tapao if we want) cos she thinks 'maybe' my HB will still be hungry. I'm like Huh??? Meaning she thinks my mom won't cook enough to feed us??? One thing is my MIL is a good cook also lah. In fact, other than going back to my mom's place for dinner once a week, we usually go back to MIL's place for dinner at least 2 or 3 weekday night since she has to cook for my FIL and brother-in-law anyway.

Queen,
I bot the nighties in OG pple's park. Those dress with button front type. Ideal for breastfeeding.

Durianlover,
Yup, pronounced as dong1 tong2 cao3. The wormy thingy. Yeeks! Heard it is not cheap too, like bnest.

SY,
No lah...hubby only buy the bnest. So far my granny is the one who brew for me. Hubby dun even know how to make simple nice yummy milk for me. The other day I asked him to make 1 cup of anmum for me...ha...it turn out like plain water. *Faintz! Next time must get him to practice until perfect hor!

god's child - thks for the detergent offer in cold storage. will get it soon.

all - i went to seiyu yesterday but cannot find any kodomo detergent that is selling at 6 bucks
avent, nuk, pigeons are having disc at 20%. wanted to buy nuk bottles but realised they have different pricing. some 8 plus some 9 plus. have anyone started buying milk bottles. i know NUK is highly recommended. bottle i know is for 0-3 mths. what abt teh NUK teats. there are 2 kind, latex(brown colour) and transparent. and they have different sizes...Small, Medium Large holes. which one are u getting, i am so confused and ended up NOT buying any single item.

even the pigeon sterilise is selling at 118 and after disc is still 90plus. i rememembr someone get it at 60 plus before so i didnt buy it.

gee i think i am so lost in that dept. keep walking ard but dun noe what to buy. anyone know if have seiyu card got further disc??

as for disposable undies, get the cotton one and not teh paper one. it will be more comfortable. watson have sell one pack from japan. not bad but the waist line state 28 inch onwards and i am not sure if it is too big so didnt get. but it is reasonable. can go check out.

Hi Sleeping dear,

There are two types of ocntractions pain. One is the very bad tummyache type and the other type is like menstration cramps. Mine was the second type.

Talking about tummyache and all, towards our due date, we tend to pass motion more often. I have the watery type of motion a few days before my water bag burst. It's our system trying to clear our tummy to prepare for child birth.

Queen/Durianlover/Sleepingdeer,
Yah I think next time I must really go whenever i wake up in the middle of the night whether i feel the urge or not just to play safe... but i just sleep through also boh bian right?? Sigh... another dilemma of pregnant women...
But thank GOD i have u ladies to share with the same boat...

Oh talk about giving up of seats... i met a very nice lady last week in the MRT.. boarded at Somerset n alighting at Dohby Gauht to change to North East Line... I was standing near the 2 seater; 1 occupied by a teenage gal (with her 2 other friends standing n chatting) n the nice lady on the next seat. The teenage gal saw me then exchanged looks with her friends for while before offering her seat to me, so i just say no thanks only 1 stop.. then the gal sat down. But the nice lady next to her immediately stood up n insisted I sit down though i told her again only 1 stop. She said "No, this is a privilledge I am a mother too so I know... no one will give up her seat to you anymore once your baby is born." So i took her offer n sat... n of coz i returned her the seat. So nice of her right?

Hi SSF,

My gal has been using NUK bottles and teats since birth.

LAtex (brown) teats is softer but must chage often. Silicon is more durable but harder. For newborn, get the samllest size (Size 1) but two type of holes. One is for thicker feed, meaning milk. The other hole is smaller and is for liquid feed, meaning water.

thks Yuki!! so i shld buy the brown teats with MEDIUM for milk and SMALL for water. correct? how many bottles shld i buy to start off? is 2 big bottles sufficient?

All,
i know breatspumps have been discussed earlier...
But Can I check with you all again, what pumps are good to bring to work? Is the Medela Mini Electric good enough?

durianlover,
yah lor, coz he super lazy, alarm clock go off already, always snooze away, waiting for me to get up first, but I also super tired mah, so i always use my foot to kick his butt out of bed, hee hee.

SY,
my tummy also very sensitive, eat a little spicy or not so good food, will definitely get tummy upsets.

SY/Wenyl,
thanks for the definition, now I have a mental pic of dongtongcao. How about if we eat the cordyceps tablets? Does it work? If we boil the natural herbs, will it be bitter?

Queen,
Going to MIL's home 2-3 times a week is quite alot, must be tiring. I go back to my own home twice a week, and sometimes, I get so tired, I just tell my parents I not coming back liao.

Yuki,
thanks for the info, at least not constipation, not so bad uh?

Clare,
that lady is really sweet to say that.

Yuki,
I bought 1 big & 1 small NUK bottles for BB.. both size 1 transparent teats coz we thought the brown looks dirty n harder to wash hahah... didn't know there's actually a difference! So besides the colour, how to tell the size of the hole?? Is it indicated anywhere on the bottle?

sleepingdeer..

wah, where u get the shorts lobang? S$ for 1 is cheap!!! nowadays i become so calculative on myself, HB also cant stand me @ times. when he splurges alittle more like buying an expensive phone recently, i grumbled so much.. was telling him hw many pampers and milk tins we can buy for Celeste... blah blah..haha , oops! im becoming an auntie!!! HELP!!!

Hi SSF,

No you should get both in size one. But the packaging is different. They do cater both for milk feed and water in Size 1 (0-6mths). Size 2 is for (6-18 moths). Size 3 is for 18 moths onwards.

I personally prefer the silicon type cos more durable. The latex one, after sterlising changes colour...... But my gal like the latex type and i only manage to change to the silicon type when she's about one.

Those used in hospital is also the latex type. Like i mentioned before, if they nurse do bottle feed your baby, the teats can be washed and bring home. Need not throw. I threw a few away thinking it's disposable, not knowing that i can use them after sterilising.

My sister visisted a pte gynae and the gynae gave her lots of these teats. Maybe can asked if your gynae gives them. Mine don;t.........

Hi Clare,

Like i mentioned to SSF, When you buy the teats, it is indicated on the packaging. I differiate by buying different colour so that i constantly use one for water and the other one for milk. But actually if baby on total breastfeeding, need not feed baby water.

today the thread move very fast!!

sleepingdeer,
so far i have
10 tops
4 bottoms
8 rompers

think buy more tops than bottoms cos they dun really need to wear bottoms in the day and they tend to change tops faster. but my tops are all different size from 0-12 months. also dunno what size is baby when he is born so i got a few different sizes.

queen,
do you think sometimes we are oversensitve? the minute i read that when you have dinner at your mum's place and your MIL still call you guys to go and eat somemore, i get the same tot as u too!! i find that more MIL are unwilling to let go of their sons than daughters. and it can be tiring for u to keep going back cos u can't just go and leave immediately after drinking soup. still got to sit for a while and by the time reach home also ard 9+.

wenyl,
my hubby also the same thing!! the only time i ask him to make milk for me, it turn out like plain water. never asked him anymore....

durianlover,
think at least you HB know how to tell his parents abt what u like. my HB doesn't do that and it irritates me. what's so difficult abt telling his mum right? really cannot understand. maybe he expects me to tell her myself but of cos i can't say too much.

yuki,
thanks for the advice. i find that even now, i get tummy upset quite easily. and i get tummy ache quite often after i eat.... is that a side effect of pregnancy? as long as it's not contractions i m ok with it.

yuki,
how many teats shd we buy for a start?

when i bought the steriliser, they gave some free bottles and the teats that came along were fo 0+. then when i bought extra bottles, they had teats for 1m+. i bought avent so not sure whether u will be able to advise.

Thanks Yuki,
Will go home & check what i've bought. Another question... I've actually bought only 2 NUK bottles for BB coz i heard NUK is good. But i've got the following bottles from friends:

Brand : Pur (gift set)
1 big x 250ml
1 small x 150ml

Brand : Pigeon
2 big x 300ml
2 small x 200ml

So total plus my NUK I've got 8 bottles. Is it enough? The thing is I dun know if its ok to mix the different brands?? And anyone heard of PUR? Is it good?

gals

i see that u have the same probs as me. MILs are all the same. Can't let go of their bao bei sons. Hope we don't become like them when our sons grow up.

My MIL also had probs letting go initially and insisted we go home during weekdays to eat. We did at first, and slowly weaned her off.
Think you'll need your hb's support in this. If not, it will not happen. Now we just see her on a weekend for dinner. She's learnt to let go and started having her own activities.

Cookie
My MIL also like yours. She'll say that my hb has always been like that and defends him. Well, i'm glad that my hb is on my side, no matter how unhappy he is. So he changes his nail biting habit, brushes his teeth at night before sleeping even though my MIL says that's how he is and they don't have a custom of brushing teeth at night!

Hello gals

Aiyo! i was so busy tha i couldnt chat yesterday.
Actually u gals very xin4fu2 liao. My MIL never cook for us. (even if she cook bu3 tang1, she never offer to us. she cook for her daughters n FIL)

queen - i'm frightened lor, i really dont know how my life will be after i give birth. (i sure quarrel with hubby over PIL)

clare - i do have leg cramp. Mine almost every nite n will be very painful after that.

yuki - oh no! last sun i bought the pigeon bottle liao. Can NUK teats fits into pigeon bottle?

Dear ladies
I am so angry with the TMC Parentcraft!!

As I have mentioned yesterday I called them up once. Then the lady told me she can't help me check whether they receive my cheque cos they are busy and she asked me to call tomolo... I am alright with it...

Then just now I called again to ask have they mail out the course schedule... she said I need to go down personally to take... then I told her I already sent them the payment, then she said "then not so fast to receive the schedule la!" I was a bit unhappy le so I ask the lady's name, and she SHOUTED back her name to me over the phone.
kao_sad2.gif

I tot they are awarded with the super brand thing how come their service so bad? Until now I still unable to check whether they receive my cheque or mail out the course schedule... think I will have to check my own account whether they deducted the amount already.

I understand sometimes if busy then the staffs' mood also no good... but no need to SHOUT to me right?

Confused,
My leg cramp is not everynight but do come at least once / twice a week... someone recommended wearing socks to keep feet warm so i started doin that... Just spoke to my friend who says her ante-natal class teaches them to standby a towel n when feet cramp to put the towel over the feet n pull towards you... this mornin i told my HB last night very painful leg cramp so he immediately went to go look for towels & old bolster case to use but they were all too short, finally he dug out an old single bedsheet, fold n ask me to put beside me when i sleep alone tonight so can use to pull my feet... but I told him so funny by the time the cramp starts I already in pain and yet have to find the bedsheet, fold properly n loop round my feet... hahah... so in the end i told him I'll just ren n try to stretch my feet on my own n pray that it'll go away quickly... But it was really sweet of him n that brought a smile to my face after going through the pain last night.

SY
Sometimes... I do feel is good my HB is a bit bo chap even toward my PIL...maybe it's really the upbringing of my MIL. but of course deep down he is still listen to his mum la esp... when his mum talk to him in "secret". In fact I can sense it when she "need" to talk to HB, I just walk away and leave at dinner table. Then after that then I grill my HB what they talk about..hahhaa...
So far... my MIL ok la, except for last week she brew cooling tea for us to bring back but tell me to drink too much. I'm ok about it cos I never like liang teh, besides my HB tend to get Fever easily so I rather he drink it all.

But then another things is .. if my MIL help to take care of my bb in future... I dun wan my baby to be heavily influence by my MIL, I mean the way she act and treat others lor...
sigh... so many dilemma ...

Queen...
jia jia you ben nan nian de jin...
MILs comes in different shape and size and character... and some so similar...
after reading your MIL... a bit buay tahan, last time my MIL also like that want...even she knows we gng back to my mum place for dinner, she still ask..." are u all coming for dinner"... she is always asking the obvious...but luckily she stop doing it now.

mashy
very buay tahan abt MIL hor...
SOmehow... I know I can never depend on my MIL during bad times... cos she is not objective...

Confused
try not to quarrel with HB over PIL, not worth while... most impt is to "win" your HB heart to your and bb side. So at least PIL family not supportive, still have HB... dun bother about the rest...

re: Milk bottle
Talking about milk bottle... I bought 4 "B-Free" milk bottle from UK... they are having the same comcept as Dr-Brown, dunno if u gals heard before.
This bottle is suppose to minimise or zero colic discomfort... I know usually pple use NUK and pigeon... so I dunno if make the rite decision but my HB was so interested in buying.
I have a friend using Dr-Brown... and her baby really so far no colic problem lor...

clare
I expereince my 1st cramp a week ago and I quickly wake my HB up... instead of pulling the foot inwards, he push outward... Faintxzzz... instead of releif my pain, he worsen it...
I "suan" him later...kekeke... then he say he sleep until blur liao...so funny...

Wow...so much to catch up on

My HB is the elder of 2 sons and is not as close to my PILs as my BIL. Lucky or not , I do not know :p

In my case, my PILs also did not ask me much abt my pregnancy or bought me anything until last month. My HB told my MIL "My MIL bought a lot of things for the baby and us...what are u buying?" In the end, they came over with 2 boxes of Ginseng with Cordyceps during the mooncake festival.

I told my HB "Pls tell mum not to be offended but I will only drink the Ginseng with Cordyceps after I give birth. I do not want to take any of such things now." He agreed too.

When we found out the gender of our baby, I called my parents and told them. Both were so overwhelmed. Told my PILS also no reaction. The baby is the 1st grandchild for both sides. I am the only child and so closer to my parents and my HB knows that.

It is also good in this way. There won't be much interference in the future
So gals, if your PILs are reaction-less towards your pregnancies, take it as a good & positive sign.

I also have to pee pretty often at night. Sometimes I feel the urge but go toilet nothing much. Understand that we will hv more urge as we get bigger? Sometimes when i'm in certain position and I sneeze, I'll leak abit. do u gals? I also get hungry easily now. It was terrible during my 1st trimester. Everyone was so shocked of my amazing appetite. I simply eat and eat still not enough.

My toes get numb easily too....normal?

I'm having a boy.

cookie - i know but i really dont know wat to do lor. (since MIL not concern abt us n bb, wat if PIl carry my bb will they ill treat her.) And hubby very side them n if i dont let them carry then hubby n i sure quarrel liao. Wow! really envy u cos your hubby bo chap type.

oh ya! i oso bought 1 bfree bottle from Hype mart. (i only buy 1 small bottle to try it out)

clare - wear a sock to sleep? i feel warm leh. so whenever i have leg cramp, i'll get out of bed (my feet will step on the floor n after that the cramp stop liao) very effective n u can try.
yalor! so sweet of your huuby hor! my ah, sleep like a pig ah!

Afternoon gals, the thread is running fast, vrey busy with work so never log in...

Sleepingdeer, i think my bb clothing is far exceeding... initially i was thinking if i have enough but after seeing yr qty, i think i am really too kiasu... i tot bb change alots of clothing everyday...

tonite gg for the class at mt a, will update wat is gg on there...

Zhimin

oh... tats a bad experience... think they reali r very busy.. cos they get piled up wf calls from mums, mums-to-be...but they reali nice in the sense tat though they were bz, they actuali told a mum over phone tat she can come the next day wf bb for advice.. another colleague was saying but the next day abit bz, then they say but so poor thing bb suffer, so let her come in la... maybe you call in late afternoon lor, they do keep track of payments on a list i saw..

Hi SY and Clare,

Which brand of steriliser did you buy? I am using Avent. They come with bottles but as my gal is used to latex teat which Avent bottle cannot accpet, so i switch to NUK.

So far i find almost all bottles are alike except for Avent. I can fit my Nuk teat to pigeon bottle etc so the most i don't use the pigeon teats. When you give birth, sure got lots of hampers with different brand bottles. For me i stick to one type of teats lor. Bottles can switch here and there. So i didn't really remember how many bottles i use. My friend mentioned to get more cos baby feeds every 3 hourly, sometimes don't have time to wash and steriliser bottles. For me, i try to latch on baby so i have time to steriliser the bottles. To be safe, get four. that should be sufficient. Not again Avent but because it's so 'teat' unfriendly - all the four that i bought can't be used. ....

cel_cel
I think depends on individual staff also... the first one I called up and register the class the girl also quite friendly and helpful... But this lady definitely not...

This makes me think over again whether I want to deliver at TMC le... cos if stay inside the ward then all the nurse are so busy will they be as irresponsible as this lady anot... that time think my stress level will be higher and of cos I will expect good service from them.

My gynae able to deliver at Mt A as well as TMC... but initially my mind has already set at TMC cos my sis delivered there... however now this incident make me think twice again.

wow.. thread moving reali fast.. tonight I'm going for the first antenatal class in Mount A. Think there are some classmates in this thread liao.

Hope they'll have some refreshments, dun think i can tahan going hungry till 8:30pm..

zhimin,
don't get too angry! think of your baby... vent your frustrations here and share with us. then u feel better

confused,
your situation harder cos your Hb may not side u at all times right? do you have plans to move out in future?

cookie,
i also need to grill my HB when his mum calls. i told him many times he shd tell me without me asking what she call for but he doesn't remember. he always walk away when she calls him. my PIL are still quite dependent on my HB to give allowance etc. That time the HDB windows need to change the rivets, they din even do anything until my HB reminded them and we are not even staying there.

actually sometimes i see the parallel btwn my PIL and my grandparents. my grandparents are very dependent on my father and they used to call him for little things and expect my father (though he has 5 other siblings) to provide for them and dun ask the rest for money. they do not realise that my father also has his own stress and health problems and always bother him over little things. i can only hope my PIL are not like that. my MIL will refuse to see doc and just complain abt her problems and my HB has to keep nagging her to go see doc.

sysa,
PIL may be reaction less towards our pregnancies but doesn't mean next time they won't be reactionless towards the grandchild, esp when i now my IL are very happy that we are having a boy. i just hope that the interference level is kept to a minimum.

yuki,
i bought the Avent steriliser. i know that Avent bottles can't fit other teats so if baby rejects Avent, i have to go get other bottles. Actually i find Avent teats quite confusing. got so many different kinds. if i buy according to age group only, is it alright? or must i look at what kind of flow etc?

SY - ya! hubby did say that we'll move out/sell away the hse 2 yrs later. hopefully he dont change his mind lor. anyway i make up my mind liao, i told him that if he didnt keep his words, bb n i will move out. (i afraid PIL acting again then his filial son soft hearted n change his mind)

hi zhimin
it's shocking to know how that lady treated you....
i plan to hand the cheque to them when i go for the class since they didn't email me as promise.

hi confused
how about your food taken? maybe you took some liang food, that's y there's cramp at night?

hi Y
congrats expecting a boy!!!

toe numb? did you stand/sit/walk too long? try to lift up your leg when you sit.

zhimin, sunny

i just attended my first antenatal class with TMC last night. It was ok leh. In fact, they reduced the no of pp to 13 pp only.

How come that lady so rude leh? Maybe should pay in cash. When i went down, Mrs Wong helped me settle my payment personally. So far, didn't have to deal with anyone else. What schedule? I didn't receive any leh. Just got an SMS from them to tell me of change of date and venue.

Hi SY,

I can't remember anout Avent teats. Maybe you can check with the staff? Or just go those places selling Avent bottles and get someone to advise on the teats?

For those gng for MtA classes... there will be refreshment serve during 15 mins break. Not to worry. But refershment not alot... maybe can eat 1 or 2 curry puff. But they provide 3in1 Milo and coffee ley, but must take fast bo will run out.

COnfused
Hmm...I think PIL will not ill treat bb ba , bb is their grandchild ley, hopefully when bb arive, they will like bb so much then relationship will improve. SOmetimes bb can help to improve replationship.

oh u bought the Bfree too... I hope this bottle is good... cos I bought 4, 2 from hyper mart, 2 from metro. Then they give free 4 extra teats and a drink water training mug or something..
Bfree also has mirco wave sterilise box for milk bottles and cap and teats...just pour a little a water in it and put in micro wave a few mins...
My HB very keen... but I suspect my MIL sure canot get use to using it one...

SY...
hmm I think usually if there is something bad.. my HB wun tell me the whole conversation bet him and mum one...he doesn't wan to suffer if I face black black...
talking abt the window revert things... it's reverse for us... my PIL change first and recommend and remind us to change... finally they even come to our house to wait for the worker to come plus clean up our house cos we were away in Phuket...
Sometimes I really cannot complaint....

Sunny/mashy
I also quite surprised how come this lady reacted like that... cos according to my sis and a few friends giving birth in TMC, they said the service very good lo...

Shouted at me probably she tot I want to make a fuss by complaining her... but I think is necessary to ask who attending to me lo... then in future I can look her back in case got further clarifications. The first lady when I registered I did also ask for her name too for further reference and she was ok to give me her name.

The funny part is when talking about the payment, the lady registered for me asked me to mail the chq to them in advance so they can mail out the course schedule... the class going to start next week and I did not receive any, that is y I tot should give them a call to enquire, probably I myself write my address wrongly or the chq bounce or wat... but wat piss me off is they are so irresponsible just to help me check out this thing... I did ask also if I make the payment on the first day of the class, the lady said I need to pay them weeks before the class start le...

zhimin,

when's your class? Is it Mrs Wong's?

U just go to the class as scheduled lor. It's at the basement 1. My class was brought forward by 1 week leh. Dunno whether yours also affected?

hi all..i completed my antenatal talk with Mrs Wong. i personally find the class very useful. prepare both me and hubby for the arrival of the baby. finally its is over..as it has been taking up my sat night for the past 5 weeks :p

Zhimin

i got the class schedule with me ( cos i went down n paid by cash ). the venue is at TMC, 6th floor Conference room.class will start at 7 and ends at 9.

god's child

my lesson yesterday was held at the basement. they said change of venue.

I didn't get any class schedule leh. What else is in there?

Thanks mashy and cel_cel.

So cel_cel the class is start on 14 Oct on Friday no change right?

Mashy
my class not conduct by Mrs Wong le.

cookie
do you rem what's the topic for 4th to 6th class, pls? So xian, my hb cant make it for a few dates, so am thinking of rescheduling.

Mashy

Our class is by Staff Nurse Chong. i dun think theres a change cos i was there in person on Tuesday and she din mention anythin. the schedule din mention much, except for the course outline ( which can b found in their website ) and asking us to wear pants for first 3 lessons lor...

sunny - no leh. i eat as per normal. maybe i walk too much liao.

cookie - i dont think so cos they dont cherish thier own son n how can they cherish their grand child. Till now they didnt even ask a single thing abt bb. (MIL only concern abt her own daughters making bu for them) whenever my SIL come home for dinner, MIL will cook rice wine chicken (those food for mother doing confinement) My SIL not pregnant n she get to eat this kind of food. When i m doing my mini confinement in mar, MIL did even bother to cook for me ah. anyway i dont expect anything from them, so long they dont create trouble i happy liao.

ya! the sales gal introduce to me n i dont know whether gd or not so i only buy 1 small bottle to try.

god's child

i didn't even know have to wear pants. but i figured that may have to do antenatal exercise, so wore pants.

my class with Mrs Wong only have 13 pp leh. hehe