(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

I told my hb better talk to bb more if not later bb don't recog his voice, don't want him to carry. :p

I get him to be more involved by reading proverbs and psalms to bb every night. We got a prenatal stimulation set with microphone, so he can use the microphone to talk to bb. Now, he's very diligent. Every night will read to bb.

Zhimin
Can help find out where your PIL bought the beansprout husks?

My ILs didn't buy anything for bb at all. My FIL just pass my hb some money, tell him kaki go and buy tonic for me and bb stuff. Guess they don't wanna end up buying things that we don't like.

btw... my friend make his HB to read to her baby before birth... and right after birth when her HB call his galgal when he see her... she open her eyes and response wor like can recognise like that....
maybe really talking works...
we have encourage HB to do it...

Hi MAshy brainz,

Need not buy the beansprouts husks. Just go to the market and ask those sell bean sprouts store if they can keep some for you.

Mashy
I will try to ask them where they get the ready bean sprout shell from...

But seriously I think buy the ready made bean sprout pillow can save lots of trouble. But my HB said wan his mum to do it cos his mum got a new sewing machine.

I read from other thread there is an online shop which sells bean sprout pillows and you able to customise bb name on the pillow cover, so cool... think is $16.90. But provided you already decided on bb names.

I have been to Life Babies to look at their pillow also... way too expensive le... but quite unique design.

Queen
Thanks..Will go check out the pads since so many says it's comfy.

Cookie
Oh, I think I know who you are. Were you late and registered at abt 6.30pm at the Business Office? hee hee.. I was eating the sandwich loh.. you were wearing black dress, right?

Queen
Can try JL for the nightgowns.

Ya, agree that bb can hear and recognise our voices. My colleague's son also stopped crying when her hb sang him a song after birth. Anyway, my bb can recognise my hb's voice coz he'll always kick back in response. ;)

ok! we must really encourage our hubbies to talk to bb then! after hearing all these positive stuff abt bb recognizing voices...i think it's true also leh! read abt it somewhere that talking to bb now will help when bb comes out coz bb can recognize our voices

mashy,
i'll also ask hubby to read psalms to bb. That's a gd idea! Esp when hb doesn't know what to say to bb!

zhimin,
do u know what's the website for the shop that sews customized beansprout pillow with bb's name?

Don't know why I kept on thinking the price for the customised pillow is $16.90. But just surfed again and see the price should be $19.90.

Just called up TMC to ask whether they receive my antenatal cheque... end up the girl told me she under staff... asked me to call up tomolo again
kao_frustrated.gif

hi zhimin
i haven't paid leh....
the person said she will email me the payment detail weeks ago... till now, i haven't seen any... so, haven't paid. :p

when's your class?

thanks zhimin!

sunny,
the modess pad can be found almost anywhere - watson's, guardian, supermarkets, etc. Think it's modess or modesto or something like that...can't really remember the right spelling. But i guess u'll know it when u see it!

kriss
Aiyo that's you!!!... you were eating sandwich from Prima deli plastic bag isit...heehee...I rem you

Hi Cookie,
yah, shy to admit it, but I damn spolit by my hubby, hee hee... my bb only recognise my hubby's ear, not his voice. Everytime he places it on my tummy to hear bb, she will give him a karate kick to his ear, ha ha

Cookie/Queen,
Bean sprouts pillow is to put across your baby's tummy so that they won't be easily startled, as they feel more secure. Normal pillows may be heavier, whileas beansprout ones are lighter and breathable.

SY,
why your hubby dun want English name? Coz we are chinese? Yah, actually wanted to buy the pram only after bb is born, coz intending to use sling, but since we bought the cot and car seat from same place, we bargain for lower prices with the pram also loh... who knows Seiyu selling with 20% discount
kao_frustrated.gif

Krissie,
the pram we got was the one mostly grey, but with a little bit of red one... handle cannot reverse though...

Zhimin

then i think u better check again tmr. they reali do seem very busy when i went down yesterday, cos alot of calls from desperado new mums calling bout babies crying and wind n stuff... but they r very nice people

oh, bout the kodomo bb detergetn, cold storage was stil selling for $12.95 for 2 packs of 1litre each. so mummies might wana go n grab them b4 the sale runs out tis week, forgot to chk when end... sorie...

hee, thanks to all the mummies for listening to my complaints and sharing your experience with me!!

cookie,
i do that sometimes leh. complain here pain and there pain and he say then we have one kid only.
so think that doesn't work well. he is just more stubborn when it comes to his mum. think i will try different tactic. use reverse pyschology. find that works on him at times. but he knows my tricks already so cannot use too often..

confused,
she make soup not just for us. it's also for the whole family. so even if we dun drink, there will be other pple to drink. and sometimes she very weird, she make already then tell me pregnant pple cannot drink too much of it becos cooling.

mashy,
i try to ask my hubby to read to baby but he only read a few sentences and he stopped. this book that i read say that bb in our womb can hear low voices better so i think it is good if our hb can talk to them more. i also tell him the same thing that if he doesn't talk to bb now, next time bb dun like him :p

durianlover,
i try to cook cos i dun get to eat homecook food at all throughout the week except on sun when i go to my mum's place for lunch and dinner when i cook. i used to cook on weekdays as well if i get home early enough but now find it too tiring. plus hb's stomach very sensitive (think from eating out too often since young). i think eating home cooked food is better for his stomach so i try to do it. hee...but getting very lazy now so sometimes just end up doing soup.

sleepingdeer,
he doesn't wan english name cos we are chinese...bingo...and he say if next time our kid wants, he can choose his own.

hee..my posting so long cos i just come out from meeting and realise got so many posts to catch up!!

is beansprout pillow really useful? does it work? cos my mum keep saying i old fashion. i also thinking whether to get it.

re: PILs
actually my PIL so far never buy anything for me and bb also. i guess they dunno what i like as well. only ask how is checkup every time we meet. then will tell me to buy food to cook that is supposed to be good for baby. quite different from my own parents cos they always make sure i got fish to eat when i eat with them cos it's good for baby etc. i guess cannot compare cos parents always know wat we like better. the only time when i was quite pissed was when i complained to my MIL that my HB doesn't go market with me and i have to carry everything by myself and my MIL instead of asking him to go with me, just commented that my HB doesn't like to go market. so different from my fren's MIL. Her MIL will tell the HB that he must go and fetch her everyday etc....

SY,
wow u also go market? i'm impressed...hee so authentic! i only go supermarket :p

on the contrary, i think i'm blessed with good PILs. In fact, it's my MIL who will make sure that she cooks the food i like to eat whenever we go over for dinner. And she'll dun4 tang1 for me to drink, cook bird's nest, etc etc. Then when i told my MIL that gynae said my bb growing well n slightly bigger than average, she was very proud n said she knows tt my bb wld be big - implying tt all the gd food she feeds me is going to the bb!
It's my own parents who don't do this kinda thing! But i think it's also coz my parents not as knowledgeable as my PIL when it comes to this kind of thing, so they also dunno what to prepare / cook. But they'll also buy bird's nest for me n stuff. So gd enuff lah

SY
Actually I am the one dun want english name... haha... cos very hard to come up with nice name nowadays, Chinese name already a big headache for me... and I am thinking next time she can choose a english name she really likes... But I still narrowing down some names which I like in case I last min change my mind.

Hi Everyone.
I'm new and would very much like to join all the mommies here. It has been great reading the stuff and def. the complains abt hubby. Mine the same, TV and Computer. Ask him to give me a quick hug and kiss before i sleep and he would roll his eyes n give me the look (com'on give me a break look)....sian....man and their unromantic behaviour.

Durianlover,
the supermarket beside my place too small. so i go to the market and i find the selection there better.

your PIL are so good to you! sometimes i think it depends on HB also. my HB is not very proactive in telling them what i wan to eat. whereas i will always tell my parents what he eats and what he doesn't.

zhimin,
i also thinking of keeping a few names just in case. i also got headache thinking of chinese names! so i decided to use chengjun (pending approval)

Y,
welcome!!
haha, my hb has to give me a hug everynight or i will wake him up!!

SY
When you talk about PIL subject...I find your MIL and my MIL alike ley.
I remember...long time ago la.. there was an hitted arguement between me and HB, I also forgot exactly what is it... but mainly cos my HB very bo chap abt something...
My MIL also instead of at least be natural or in my opinion she could have correct my HB... she just tell me that my HB all along is like that one. She just condone with my HB action.
and I was really angry with her... but then again my HB is her son mah surely she will side him.
Last time I will still tell my HB must go PIL place regularly to visit them and eat dinner with them basically my HB really bo chap abt many things after that incident,
I never "counsel" my HB to visit them often anymore. I practice her quote... my HB all along is like that, when she unhappy we too long never go back, let her complaint herself.

Of course to give her credit.. whenever we go back for dinner, she will cook sumptous meals and soup for us and her cooking is yummy yummy :p

Y
heehee... we have lotsa complain abt HB today..
Man like that one la.. for Hug and Kisses I always must "request" one then have... never automatic one ley :p

Thanks everyone!

My gynae Dr Esther Ng and EDD 25 Jan. Prob going East Shore as i live in the east.

haha....totally agree with the "request". somehow he doesnt understand how good it feels. Its also so diff to make him understand dat we get tired easily. He once commented dat now i only eat and sleep.....urgh!!!

Why not to take too much bird nest? I thought that its good? Mum was telling me that the chinese sin seh told her 8 months preg. eat tonic will not beniefit BB liao so eat now....

krissie
sorry, i forgot to find out the brand of the disposable panty. will try to remember tonight. :p

gals
i saw disposable panties selling $1+ for 7 panties at watson. but it's paper type. i used before, easy to be torn.... but it's really cheap.

Y
my gynae says may cause allegy...
generally western gynae will recommend dun take chinese supplement etc one cos of the unknown...
I think it's up to individual...
U can check with your gynae and see what's her view with Bird nest.

SY,
I certainly wish I can be a SAHM cos I would want to breastfeed my boy next time for as long as I could. Although I bot a 2nd hand Medela pump from a galfren to standby in case I need to go back to work, but I wish I dun have to use that. I prefer baby to latch on directly. More convenient & hassle free.

Queen,
I got my nighties from OG when they had 20% sale. Nice & comfy.

SY/Cookie,
Somehow most MILs will always side their own sons. I have experienced it many times since married. Not like our own parents/grandparents hor. My 90 yr old granny & my mum are making the beansprout pillow for me now. I just mentioned casually to them that I would like one for bb & maybe buy the ready made. Then, last nite my granny took out a bag of dou ya ke & asked me is it enuf cos she wants to go buy somemore today! I think they have been eating a lot of dou ya for the last few days! haha! Me feel so touched!

Durianlover,
My MIL does cook nice soups for me, actually its for everyone lah. Only thing is that she makes sure she doesnt cook those soup that she find not suitable for pregnant ladies when I am around.

Y,
Welcome!
Not advisable to take too much bnest as it may cause bb to have sensitive skin. Bnest not of superior quality may contain feathers & other impurities.
My galfren told me during her pregnancy, for the last 2-3 mths, she will take Bnest & 2 weeks later take dongtongcao. ALternate betw the both. So now, my hubby buy bnest (since PIL din get any for me) & I get my granny to "dun" for me. Gonna scout for dongtongcao this weekend. Make my hubby buy on behalf of his parents. haha!

Morning Ladies,
one more day till Friday!!!

Had a sleepless night yesterday, after waking up twice to go toilet, suffered from major stomach upset, and there was a stupid bird making so much noise outside my window in the middle of the night... my mood was so grouchy this morning that I was growling at my hubby and nearly kicked him out of bed in frustration!

Do you gals thinks that contraction will feel similar to bad tummy aches when our time comes? Coz tummy aches olso come and go, just that the pain is higher, whileas contractions are lower?

cookie
ha ha.. yup, that's me.. you're so funny, cant rem me but can rem the prima deli plastic bag.. ya loh.. too rush for us liao.. I'm very fat hor? put on 12+kg liao.

Sleeping deer
I think I also saw that pram. we shortlisted this grey one and another red one, I think.

Y
welcome..

Sunny
It's ok, no prob.. dont worry, if cant rem, nvr mind.
Thanks..

Krissie,
yah, like the pram coz super light weight, I dun like to lug heavy things around, feel very 'mang chang' whenever got lots of stuff to carry. But after I got the grey one, I saw Seiyu having another egg shock one that handle can reverse, I think... but since buy liao, so dun think about it liao

Hee hee, dun worry, I am keeping up with you in terms of weight, I also gain 11kg when I went for gynae visit last sat, the nurse tell me, better control your diet ok, eat less, ok
So now, must control more

Krissie,
i also thot is Braxton hicks, but since I had Diahearro also, and tummy really painful, then shouldn't be, whew!

In the middle of the night, very easy to 'lu si wan xiang', for a moment, I also thot is contractions, scare myself!

Sleepingdeer
Better tell Dr Ho. My colleague says that diarrhoea is a sign of early labour. Don't think it is for you lah, but to play safe, check with him.

Good Morning ladies

Yesterday did a stock take... haha... I dunno whether I have prepared enough bb clothing le...

For NB (some are pass down by my sis)
8 tops (short sleeve)
7 rompers
2 s/s top and shorts set.
3 l/s top and long pants (pyjamas)

How?? Enough??

Morning all...

kao_welcome.gif
Y... wats ur baby's gender??? come join us more oftern lor, we got loads to share here... haha

Zhimin

wow, tat seems reali well stocked leh... wat sizes do u buy? for those number ones, do u get 12.14 or 16? i very scared too small, so i always buy 14 and 16, one each. i haven got long sleeve tops cos i thot since bb will b swaddled in blanket or nappy, then long sleeve mayb not so necessary now.?!.
for rompers, i oni got 3, cos i dun think i dare to dress up over the head
kao_scared.gif

complaining bout hbs into computer games yesterday, tis mornin while on bus, no one offer seat to me!!
kao_frustrated.gif
my legs so 'suan' and the 2 young guys right beside me din even offer, guez wat, they were discussing bout their LAN games strategy and which level blah blah...

Morning all...

I'm super tired today also despite sleeping at 11pm (usually go to bed ard 11plus but really fall asleep almost 12pm).... think its caused by my work load for the past 2 days and right shoulder aches due to prolonged PC use...

In the middle of the night I was woken by sudden painful left-foot cramp followed immediately by a pain just above my vagina area due to overload of bladder i believe... the thing is dun know why as my tummy gets bigger i dun really feel my bladder full although everytime i go toilet in the middle of the night there's always quite a lot of outflow.... last night was really my 1st time experienceing the pain just above my V n its really painful as i can't even walk straight to the toilet... n just as i guessed, the out flow was like FOREVER... I was praying while sitting on the toilet bowl that it won't lead to anything sever cos i heard urine will become toxic if left too long in the bladder n lead to serious infection... I believe the cramp n V pain is non related but nonetheless to have both at the same time is really trying

In case u were where's my HB all these while... he's on overnight shift these 2 weeks so I have been sleeping alone... I felt so lonely when i got back to bed, and when he came back early in the morning ard 6plus I told him about my cramp n i actually teared (secretly)... guess I'm starting to be more emotional nowadays...

Wenyl,
Which OG did you get the nighties, can find in the OG Orchard Point?

Talking about nighties, nowadays difficult to feel sexy with tummy sticking out. Used to wear nice lacey bras, now just wear functional cotton bras. Later got to breastfeed, have to wear nursing bras. Wah... Are you all worried after BB is born, whether sex life will be affected? Maybe lower libido or no time for HB etc.?

welcome Y!

wenyl,
wow ur mum & granny so nice n thoughtful to you! hee yup my MIL is a great cook...i like her cooking
she also makes sure she cooks stuff that i can eat whenever i'm ard.

yah, and what's dongtongcao? how to pronounce? is it dong1 tong2 cao3? never heard of it...must go ask my dad.

SY,
actually i think it's coz my hb is very proactive in telling PIL what i like n dislike, etc, that's why they know better how to 'cater' for me. In fact, my hb very thick-skinned n buay paiseh about telling them things! and if my MIL cooks something that i dun like, he'll go n tell her one leh! make me feel so bad n paiseh abt it! but i guess the gd thing abt this is that i always get good food

sleepingdeer,
haha u're so funny....almost kicked ur hb out of bed?! wow.

cookie,
hee, our MILs may be alike but HBs definitely not! if my HB half as bo chap as yours, think i have easier life...

my MIL doesn't really cook. once in a while when she does, she still cooks things that she say i cannot eat a lot. once i not very happy abt it and my hb say i shouldn't complain cos she took the effort to go and buy. but i dun think it's for me cos the first thing she say is i cannot eat too much. know what i mean?

wenyl,
i m thinking of taking no pay leave to look after my son till he's 6 months. but i highly doubt my employer will be open to that arrangement. must really pray hard hard!

sleepingdeer,
i always get tummy aches one leh. is it contractions? i hope not. i did tell my doc that i had tummy upset but he said it's ok. maybe this sat when i go see him i shall ask again.

wenyl,
your hubby so nice. still got brew things for u. mine won't do such things one.

sleepingdeer,
dongtongcao is cordyceps. the pple at hock wah say it is good for development of organs and bb will be bigger. but if u want to go for natural birth, dun take after 8 months.

cel_cel
I also very blur when buying bb clothes le... they seem to have different sizing... I normally will choose new born size wor... or 0-6 month... haven come across sizing like 12,14,16

But I know those 60,70,80, 60 is for 0 to 6 month.

Sunny
Many clothes are pass down by my sis... I only bought a few.

Clare,
I also have to pee at least once in the middle of the night. Sometimes can be up to 3 times and everytime a lot of urine. Same as you, don't feel as if the bladder is full, just have the urge only. But I don't really get the pain that you are describing. Did get a right calf cramp once some nights ago and my HB bend my foot up and pointing inwards towards the shin (like how athletes do), the pain gone liao. Could the pain you are getting be related to your sleeping posture or position?

Sleepingdeer,
Dongtongcao is that chinese herb tat looks like a worm. Supposed to boil it with some other herbs like gouzi & others.

clare,
yah nowadays in the middle of the night when i wake up to pee, i also dun really feel that bladder is full. But when i pee, a lot of outflow. Strange huh...i mean if i continue to lun4 n stay in bed, think it won't be very healthy for bladder!
Think we just hv to be careful n keep conscious effort to empty our bladders!

god's child,
yesterday i was on crowded bus too n no one offered seat to me though there were a few rows of young men sitting down! hmmm....then my hubby was unhappy with me for wanting to take bus so we alighted a few stops later n took cab home. Heart pain...spend so much money on transport again!