(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY, so is your fren's fren's baby using S size diapers since the baby is quite big in size. 4.12kg! wow, must be very painful for her.

gals, have u heard anything about some saying that the first child will normally be delivered earlier than the EDD? will wondering if my baby will be a 2005 baby or 2006.

morning gals

missy - glad to hear that your result is good.

krissie - gynae say my bb is big. I oso standby 1 pack of NM pampers n 2 pack S size pampers. Oh! i mum oso having diabetes but gynae didnt ask me to go for GD test leh. i'll ask him on my next checkup. (next checkup i got to go for injection liao)

yeah the test is not compulsory unless gynae detect high sugar intake in your urine. for me, that's teh case and also i got family history. ok yesterday last test, the reading was 6.8. gynae said OK but definitely higher than my lunch and breakfast. basically i ate what my mum cooked, rice+soup+meat..maybe its the soya chicken :p put some gravy over my rice. but i am glad my reading is OK. so need to monitor once every week and erpotr to gynae the reading until i deliver. sigh!

morning morning all...

b taking half day later, going Seiyu to shop shop and see see. din get the kodomo bb detergent over weekend, hopefully later stil hav...
kao_smile2.gif

bout the pampers sizing.. i saw on the packaging NB - <5kg. S - 3-7kg.. puzzling rite??? anyway i bought the sealers one on 10% promo at JL, 2 NB and 1 S.

Thanks Ivory!
Do you all notice that boys seem to come earlier in the month while girls later part of the month (based only on our list anyway)?

cel_cel
can help me check whether the disney baby still on 30% discount at seiyu

and also the TMC course schedule hehe... thanks so much for your help.

SSF - the papers last fri advertised at $12.95 for 2 packs of 1 litre refill each. cheap cheap

Zhimin - no prob. will check it out and let your know... the placemat from Korea very tempting hor

ok god'schild please let me know if the stock is still available. i am not workign near seiyu or town, so sad. gonna miss all those special offers.

hello all
last weekend.. I went to place deposit for a sStroller and baby cot... but in case I change my mind.. Hyper mart is flexible enough that i can use my deposit to buy other things.
I also went for metro sales and bought a few stuff for baby...
All the clothes looks so small... and I'm so tempted to buy M or L but scare new born bb cannot wear.. so confusing...

Oh Then good new..my MIL already convince by my HB that my confinement will be at my place and not hers... but beyond confinememnt yet to confirm but I hope I will not be separated from my bb or need to go to and fro every day.

Just to complaint a bit...
Sometimes I dun understand what's wrong with my MIL... we have dinner at her place last weekend and she said nothing on Sunday nite, then came Monday morning 630am!! her daughter ( my HB sister) sms to tell me, my MIL ask her to bring her buy baby stuff and get her to ask us what we have and dun so dun buy duuble etc.
I'm really puzzled... if my MIL wanna buy stuff should tell us and we go buy with her mah... why get her daughter come into pic... well maybe she thinks her daughter has more experience since she already has 2 kids...

But... I wonder if it's my problem or what... while I'm open to listen to advise from experienced mothers but I wun want to do my own shopping and what I wanna get for my baby instead of someone... buy things on behalf of me.
I mean... everyone's perception of "good" and "bad" or suitable or not is different....

Then my SIL in her sms say in very inpolite way one lor.. maybe their upbringing is like that... but I just felt like she is telling us what to do.. even buying a stroller... she haven't even see what stroller we have in mind, then she comment..."not expensive means it's good".. we never even tell her ANYTHING abt the things we wanna buy...
anyway since one is MIL one is SIL... I just lun.. and not be unhappy bo my husband also very fan...sigh...

mongs,
my fren said her fren looks good in fact and din seem to be in much pain. so i very pei fu....

SSF,krissie, confused,
do take care of your diet and hope everything goes well till delivery! mothers are all very wei da...

cookie,
is hypermart expensive? i tot some pple comment that it's not cheap.

dun think too much abt your MIL and SIL. can never understand cos we all grow up differently. but strange that she din even tell her own son her plans....

at least good that u can do confinement at your own place!! so that's one thing less to worry abt

oh by the way... I'm gng to MT A to start the Prenatal class...
Just wondering is anyone here starting the class at Mt A tonight too??
We can be classmate :p

Once again. For those who missed the earlier post.

Baby Check list
Infant Milk powder (those with Omega-3, DHA etc) Similac Excellence S$28++
Enfalac

Baby clothes mittens, socks, tops, wrapping clothes, long pants, nappy wraps
Receiving towel to wrap the baby upon checking out of the hospital.
Bring 2 sets of clothes to the hospital for baby &amp; me.
Ask for more disposable spirited wipes for the babys umbilical cord.
Diapers for just in case.
Baby bathtub

To buy list: -

1. Milk bottles &amp; teats (get soft &amp; good ones) Avent/ Nuk
2. Baby milk bottles cleanser
3. Feeding Bottle Sterilizer tablets (Boots) - Disinfectant/ de-sterilizer for the sterilizer
4. Baby Nappy liners (2 boxes for S$10+)
5. Diapers - Use NB until your baby fits S, which all brands are available. Get lots. One day need about 6-8 changes as newborn shits very often. Then get 2 types the best and cheap one is Mommy Poko use at night. Then get Drypers from Robinson for normal daytime usage. Or ToysRUs home brand buy one get one free at S$18. Fitti baby diapers cost less than S$10. Value 4 money if bb dun have sensitive skin.
6. Baby cot/ play pen/ bed
7. Electrical breast pump
8. Breast/ Nursing pad
9. Ru yi you for colic
10. Baby wipes
11. Drapolene cream for nappy rash
12. Woodwards Gripewater for colic
13. Baby oil/ olive oil
14. Baby lotion
15. Cord spirit or alcohol swaps from Guardian
16. Baby bath
17. Baby shampoo
18. Baby pacifier
19. Baby stroller (after delivery?)
20. Baby chair (after delivery?)
21. Towels for baby
22. Handkerchiefs for baby (for bathing &amp; general cleaning/ wiping of baby)
23. Baby bib
24. Waterproof sheet - Rubber mat for mattress (pink &amp; blue one)
25. Baby mattress
26. Baby pillows/ bolsters
27. Pillow/ bolster covers
28. Sanitary napkins/ pads
29. Red dates/ Longans
30. Shampoo for baby cradle cap if baby has cradle cap
31. Baby toys
32. Bedding sets (2 sets)
33. Bedding sheets (2 sets)
34. Clothes detergent
35. Cotton buds

SY
ya lor.. at least now I 1 less thing to worry.
I try to not to bother abt my MIL and SIL...
yalor.. so I told my HB ... "how come mother so funny one"...sometimes I dunno what my MIL has up in her sleeve.
ANyway if she doesn't want to take of my bb after confiement... I will look for other means lor.

Hypermart sell the baby cot at $299, include 6pc bedding set (not as nice as Aussino), matteress, 2 free toys, delivery and installation...what else...err I dun have the brand but something like those selling at Kids paradise, can be converted into junior bed. if buy just the bed frame with no matress and bedding cost only 199 cash and carry... I thought it was ok.

As for the stroller...I getting the ped perego one, it is indeed no cheap but we wetn shopping at dept store and other place but found nothing good and for ped perego brand all pretty exp.
Hyper mart is the authorise service agent for this brand and offer warranty and even after warranty... the srvice cost is suppose to be 10% only. I think baby kingdom next door is selling at cheaper price but they dun give warranty lor.

hi all...I am gg to Malacca this weekend and see if can get some stuffs at cheaper rate. thot of checking on my hospital nighties, baby bathing stuffs, sports bra (to be wore during BF as instructed by Mrs Wong. cannot wear bra with wire), clothings. and also to chill out,...slow drive out of town. now looking so fwd to weekend.

hi cookie...dun get so fed up with MIL and SIL. sometimes, they are just too insensitive and think whatever they do is right. talk to your hubby lor. that the only way you can complain or we will always open out ears for any MIL issues. hehee...

as for my MIL, she is OK. so far so good. just worry when baby is due, issues will surface since the way of handling baby is different and you cannot scold her. i told hubby, if she do anythg wrong, i will tell u and you tell her off. my mum, i can scold but my MIL, how to? sigh..always a problem lah.

i went to seiyu bugis during weekend. bought some sleepwear which got button in front for BF, bras, disposable panties to be used during confinement and bra pad.
didn't buy lots of bb stuff, only pigeon detergent, baby wipe, brush to clean the milk bottle and the thong....

hi cookie
i also plan to buy peg perego at hypermart. it's the price which makes me still pondering... and also, might buy it later 'cos got warranty period. for the cot, plan to go bb kingdom leh. 'cos seems there are more choice.... do they give warranty for the cot?

For those who attended Mt. Alv's antenatal class, can I check if there's a break in between, pls? I dun think I can tahan till 8.30pm for dinner.

SSF
ya lor... that's a good idea... heehee... sometimes I just hint hint my HB, then he go tell his mum... I also told my HB I dun wanna confinement at MIL place so he went to tell her off :p
u are rite... usually I will pray about ( sorry not being religous here)... and soon prob will go away... it's just that sometimes still a bit " not shiok" heehee when pple tell u this and that and expect u to follow.

krissie - i didnt ask the gynae clearly. he say to prevent positive (measles) cos my blood rare lor. (very mah fan got to go through all these.) and worse ah! the medicine not cheap.

SY - thanks. yalor! all mothers very wei da

cookie,
yah can understand what u mean...think i wld be unhappy too if MIL did suggest such a thing as to buy stuff for my bb w/o me being ard! well, perhaps can just give her the benefit of the doubt...she might end up getting better stuff for ur bb! just treat it as a blessing from her

SY &amp; SSF,
my glucose test is compulsory one leh...even my fren who went to this same gynae underwent that test though she didn't hv any high blood sugar or what. Perhaps different gynaes have different practices?

cookie,
think i will go and check it out. but think peg perego really quite ex!! was looking at combi. but may not buy so soon cos i thinking of using those sling carrier first for the first few months. then we say we will bring baby to test try his strollers and see which one he likes!

SSF,
enjoy your Malacca trip!! think i must start to plan short getaway already. cannot take it... what's the difference between nursing bra and sports bra? shdn't we wear nursing bra during BF?

i also always tell my HB that if anything to do with my mum, i tell her and he tell MIL. but he never keep his end of the bargain one so i get quite pissed. how to make sure your HB will keep to this arrangement?

sunny,
is the disposable panties for maternity one? i saw at watsons. not cheap. think must check out more places.

cookie,
sometimes i do the same thing also. even after praying abt it, still feel that must say it out to feel better....

SY - i am also not sure abt the difference. nursing i think will be more ex. i think as long as not wired shld be fine. ya was planning a quick getaway as don;t want to travel on planes. nowsaday go where also not safe. sigh!

abt the maternity pad.. my frd was saying kotex is good. anyone know the price? also how much are the disposable panties. arent they the same as those normal one we use for travelling?

for nursing bras, you all may wanna try getting at Eros. My fren said she's surveyed all the different nursing bras and found that eros one is the cheapest at $19.90.

Also, heard that may not need to get maternity pad...just get normal sanitary pad meant for heavy flow n that shd be fine. Anyone planning to do that?

SSF,
yah i wld think disposable panties are the normal kind we use for travelling!
and yes i think it's gd to go for the glucose test..no harm lah. But i haven't been eating durians for a looonnngg time....dun really see many durians being sold nowadays leh!

SY,
it's a gd idea to delay the purchase of your stroller actually...coz i know of many mummies who end up selling or giving away their stroller coz baby prefers sling. Yup so it's prob not a necessary item to buy!

Hi SSF and SY,

Disposable panties is a good idea. Staining - can just throw away. It's the same as those normal one that we buy for travelling.

As for maternity pad, i bought those maternity pad from mothercare but i find using those that we normally use during our menses are also good enough.

Actually seeing you all so gear up for the birth - only to realise myself that i have not prepare anything yet. Have not buy chest of drawers, wash baby's clothings etcs......... ;p

cookie - i agreed, ask your hubby to talk to his mother. (ya! i agree, maybe your MIL thought that her daughter got experience mah (2 kids liao) n knows wat n where to buy. heng ah! you doing confinement at your home liao.

i oso like the peg perego stroller but very ex leh. dont know is it worth buying or not leh?

sunny - aiyo! i forgotten to buy sleepwear with front opening. Whch department did u go to? Do they still have sales ah? Aiya! i only buy bb clothing on sat n forgotten abt my own stuff.

sunny
hypermart give warranty for baby cot for 3 yrs if I'm not wrong.
Ped perego product give 1 yr. If I rem wrongly then it's the opp.
I decide to go for hypermart cos if we buy outside and something wrong we need to go back to hypermart for servicing... dunno if the sales smoke me, but accordingly if we buy from hypermart if our warranty expire and need to pay, we pay only 10% whereas the public will pay 100%. e.g. change a wheel cost $39, but we change cost $3.9 only. Sound incredible.

which model of ped perego u plan to buy?... I'm buying the MT P3 ( I think)

kriss
I'm gng for class at Mt A tonight... will check if got break.
I also cannot tahan dinner after 8 plus so I bought bread stand by liao.

Sunny
Did u also asked abt the warranty commencement date?...
ANyway those buying from hypermart... according to the sale lady (u all can confirm again) the warranty will start to count ONLY from the birth of baby. We just need to provide them a copy of the birth cert for their reference regardless when we request their delivery.

durianlover
yalor.. I will think positively abt my MIL.

Hi gals..
U were talking abt disposable panty... I'm alittle confused. the disposable panties is for after delivery har? why cannot wear normal panties? is it becos we will have heavy mensus?
btw the way I saw disposable panties for preggie selling $3.90 for 7 pcs... is this price reasonable?
I bought 1 pack for my phuket trip and it's ok...

yuki, SSF

i tot got maternity disposable panties also. is tat different from normal panties?
how long do we need to wear maternity panties? can i just wear normal disposable ones? i saw maternity disposable ones and much more ex than normal ones!

yuki,
u r experienced mummy so not like us all go shop and shop! my mum thinks i shop too much already!!

confused,
i haven't bought my nighties also. want to get cheap ones so in case stain can just throw away. dunno where to buy the cheap ones...

cookie,
hypermart warranty sounds good. think will go there look lookg see see since it's quite near home

Cookie
Just saw your posting. I'm going to the class tonight. See you.
Are you taking the Sat class? Poor me, taking the Fri class.

SY,
I also had a friend who went completely natural for labour. I'm also considering this as i want to have the experience of natural labour. Unless really pain until want to faint, then I'll ask for pain relief. Won't opt for epidural unless I can help it.

What about the rest of you?

confused
ya lor..heng ah not doing confiement place..
But hor.. tho my SIL got expereince, but she spenda fews in USA when her kids still small... stuff bought in USA and things in SPore different mah.. I wonder she know exactly where to buy meh... anyway... we will go shopping together... I will learn from her.

hi queen..i asm also thinking of that..not using epidural until i cannot tahan. but i was also warn that if its too late...even if u want it they will not give. coz baby is coming out. so i just live it to GOD's hands
i was thinking in the past where got epidural. they still survive. hehe..

Hi queen,

Wow i admire your courage. i for one will go for epidural partly becos my gynae highly recommends it. he said the chances of having complications are slimmer if go for epidural. and he said the kind of pain, no many pple can take it.

and btw backaches are not caused by epidural, if that's what some of you mummies are worried about. backache after pregnancies are mainly due to osthoperosis(spelling??) and bad posture. so juz don't forget your calcium pills even after delivery! :D

Hi SY,

I think maternity panties are bigger in size? Cos our stomach don't go back to original size so fast.

Hi cookie,

Can wear normal panties. It's just that first week of flow are usually quite heavy and may stain the panties. So if wear disposable, can just throw away, need not scrub and wash like mad.

For me personally, the menses flow weren't that heavy. I think maternity pads can 'tahan' heavy flow better. But for me, normal pads is sufficient. Maybe because i breastfeed and it helps to 'lessen' the flow..........

So disposable/ normal panties or maternity/ normal pads are up to individual.

confused
ya lor..heng ah not doing confiement place..
But hor.. tho my SIL got expereince, but she spenda fews in USA when her kids still small... stuff bought in USA and things in SPore different mah.. I wonder she know exactly where to buy meh... anyway... we will go shopping together... I will learn from her.

yuki
thanks for clearing my doubt :p

But I find the maternity panties kinda lose... so even if stick the pad on it... the panty will run about ( dunno if u all know what I'm saying) :p dunno the mensus will miss Q or not...

Anyway it's a good idea... cos during 1st week if still painful from delivery where got time to wash panties....
somemore stay with MIL... surely she dun approve me wash my undies in washing machine...
now that she not staying with us... I actually wash undies in my washing machine... not the soil one la... will rinse then wash in machine.

SSF,
Yah loh, I also think when my mum's generation where got epidural. But my mum did say her first labour to my elder brother was quite painful. I was the second one. By the 4th one which was the last to my youngest sis, she said like going to toilet to do big business. Very easy. Haha...

celine77,
heehee, I'm not sure how courageous I'll be when I actually feel the pain. Maybe can only tahan short while only. But my pain threshold is quite large (I think!) so thinking of trying loh. When I told my hubby, he was like "why put yourself through the pain!" Not sure whether my gynae whill encourage natural birth. He'll discuss this in my next visit.

kriss
wow we will be classmate!!
I taking some tue class some sat class... cos my aqua fitness start on Sat few weeks later so I no choice got to take weekday class...

Hi cookie,

I know exactly what you mean. Ha ha. It's very inconvenient especially when we have to move about to change baby's diapers and all, sit for hours to breastfeed. If the pad misalign........ sure stain one....

Worse if staying with MIL. Can;t expect her to wash for you and don't ever let her see your hubby wash for you etc.......... Think the older generation will flip man!

Like you, i also wash my undies in the washing machine. ;p after all the scrubbing, should be clean enough to throw into washing machine right?

queen
i did think of that before but my fren told me to just go for it. she said if i want to experience just experience for a short while. cos if too late, doc will not let you take even if you ask for it.

yuki,
so normal disposable is different from disposable maternity right? it's not a must that i must buy maternity disposable right?

cookie,
i also think those maternity will be quite loose. the feeling will be so uncomfortable! yucks.

Cookie,
Dun bother too much with ur MIL &amp; SIL. I think maybe ur MIL getting a bit kancheong abt ur bb's arrival cos she suddenly realised she hvnt done anything yet. So its natural she will turn to her own daughter to convey her thots.
For my case, I complain to my hubby why his parents behave like bochap. This is their 1st grandson so I was expecting them to be very excited but so far their behaviour quite disappointing leh.....din buy anything for baby....no birdnest for DIL....sigh! Haha!

Btw, where r u attending ur aqua fitness class?

Wenyl,
Haha...no bird nest for me from my MIL too! But she did mention to me that she 'heard' that bird nest is good for bb's complexion. I told her that I heard of it too and my mom had boiled some for me in the first trimester. She just said during her time where got drink bird's nest but my my HB's aunt told my HB to go buy those instant ones for me. I just attribute to the fact that maybe my MIL doesn't really think that pregnant ladies need this kind of pampering. So just brush it off loh. In general, my MIL also not gan cheong, only sometimes will ask whether we need baby stuff like strollers so she will go and borrow from her nephew. Other than that just ask whether BB is ok after the gynae visits loh.

Cookie,
I also have to stay with MIL for confinement. Have never really stayed with my PILs except during weekends for a few weeks after marrying my HBs. So I actually handwash all my undies and clothes myself. Now have to live with them, dunno wther MIL will wash my clothes for me. Undies boh bian loh, not my own home. So have to handwash myself (I also throw into the washing machine after hand scrubbing in soap water at my own home). Anyway, whatever it is, we have to lun if staying with MIL. Boh bian. Who knows you and your MIL will be able to understand each other better during the confinement?

hi SY
i bot the disposable panties for normal one. 'cos the lady showed me how big the maternity one is, i find it too big. moreover, we are going to use the pad, so, can't get big panty 'cos i think it will be troublesome to adjust it here and there. :p the maternity one cost $4.50 for 5 panties. normal one $4 for 5 panties.

hi durian lover
i plan to buy the normal sanitary pad for heavy flow to use during confinement. Carrefour sells kotex maternity pad. can't remember how much. but i notice that it's without 'wing'. so, if i buy normal type with wing, i will feel more secured when i sleep side way.

confused
i bot it at seiyu. think they still have 20% sales till 25th oct. i went to the department Impression which also sells undies to buy. it costs around $10+ to $20+.

cookie
i am eyeing for P3, too!!! hehe.....
i didn't ask them about the warranty. 'cos that time i went there just to do 'mkt research'. oh.... need to give them birth cert... that's pretty troublesome leh. hmmm...