(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hello gals

Wow! yesterday so many people at isetan sales.

SY - the Avent breast pump so cheap ah? oh i didnt get it
i only bought clothing, shoes for bb n thought of getting the pump later. Do they have any warranty for the breast pump? Me too spent abt $900 at the isetan. (i must really stop myself from going to any sales liao)
btw, seiyu having having sales today? Do they sell Avent or pigeon products?

Pochacco - oh so sad! u miss it. nevermind today seiyu n metro got sales. aiya! i didnt know u dont have the card, if not we can go together.

pochacco

you applied the Isetan card... is there any subscription fees?

I got mine card in yr2003, that time no card subscription fees... den I never update Isetan I moving house so I never renew my card. Now heard my friend said they going to apply subription fees.

zhimin,
now got 12 annual fee.
think no need to apply. we can always update each other here and combine or bring one another in. i also told my sis not to apply anymore.

confused,
which store u at? i was at isetan scotts. hee maybe i walk past u..

i think there shd be warranty. i got it cos i asked my fren and she said it's cheap. wow u really buy a lot of things!! all bb stuff?

seiyu got avent and pigeon also. infact i think they have more stuff.

pochacco,
dun be too sad. realised isetan have their private sales more often now. think they shd have one more at the end of the year.
or next time we all go together.

zhimin,
i also din wan to spend too much so got this one to try first.

sleepingdeer,
where u going for your hol?

SY - i was at isetan scotts. Yo! so many people hor! usually i dont go to the bb department n yesterday went there, so many things to buy. i bought abt 10 clothing for bb n stuff for myself n hubby n that's y spent so much. Pocket got holes liao.

thanks for the info. maybe tomoro i go seiyu n see the breast pump.

Zhimin - they going to charge subscription next yr. but i m not sure for the new applicant.

confused,
haha..then did u see this small lady carrying a huge plastic bag by herself and trying to buy a lot of things? my hb din come till quite late so i was struggling to take all the things i want!! i din buy that much clothing cos i buy on and off. my pocket also got big hole. every week buy bb stuff until hb ask me when we can stop shopping.

Zhimin
Dun be upset over their comments. Can try Maternity Hse if you want to get nice maternity dresses for dinner. I saw one abt $70. Quite reasonable.
I also plan to only buy one dress from there and wear for all the dinners.

SY
I hope can go for another trip. Dun know if hb can make it.. he's so busy at work.

Confused
Thanks.. yup, nice getaway.

Yuki
Ya loh.. I walked up to see the Jaws of Death & was so super tired. So, didn't climb down the steps to MacKenzie Falls, I waited for hb on top.. he went himself and was super tired, had to climb 400 steps up.

Queen
Yup, went Philip Island too... yes, it was cold.. Wore 3 layers.

Wendyl
ya, the town near Great Ocean Rd is called Apollo Bay.
Can go Grampians, but must be fit enough to hike loh..
Ya, my gynae's letter says that I can travel till abt 34-35weeks, late Nov. I was qt shocked too. Ya, must get gynae's letter.

SSF
My colleagues highly recommend Desitin cream for nappy rash, so I'll be getting that.

sy - I didnt see leh. Too crowded liao. i only see many pregant woman busy buying things. Some even buy toys liao. i'm oso tempted to buy but feel that it's still early lor. i'm opposite, hubby keep buying bb stuff n i tell him we better stop liao cos so many sales coming up so no need to rush.

i fing the pigeon baby wipe worth buying. too bad i bought it at OG liao n i pay slightly more

i am back from my gynae appt.
i am now 23w5d. bb is at 519g... is it below average? doc didn't say anything, just said bb is growing.
but he mentioned twice that bb's head is at the bottom. didn't ask him any implication.... hope nothing is wrong...

see that you've got yourself a lot of good deals!
Just went to the Toys R Us Warehse sale. Ai yoh, end up buying toys for my boy. hehe!

The warehse sale will be open to public tomorrow. So u gals can hop over to Safra Toa Payoh. Not a lot of infant toys lah. but i saw a lot of them being stacked up at the back. Maybe they'll release bit by bit.

Oh, just realised that it's S$6 for the pigeon detergent. I bought it from JL.

SY, u bought avent isis which is the manual pump so unlikely u can use 2 simultaneously because I think u are suppose to use the opposite hand to pump. if u want to pump both at the same time, should use 1 electric and 1 manual or 2 electric pumps. my colleague was saying that pumping 2 at the same time results in no wastage as most of the time, the other breast leaks when one is let down.

Zhimin, think it's quite important to get a good breast pump that is able to mimick the sucking of the baby, coz u want to be comfortable and be able to express the most amount of milk. for electric pumps, think most of the good reviews are for medela electric pumps (mini and single) don't think a lot of people use tollyjoy ones.

Hi Krissie,

My friends and i sit on teh edge to take pictures at the Jaws of Death! Those were the days! Don't think have the guts for it now! Hee Hee

I did went to the Menkenzie fall. Didn't realise we had to climb so many steps so feel like cheated when i had to climb all the way up. Luckily you didn't go cos the steps can be slippery.

Mongs
I will take note when I decide on the brand of the breast pump.

Krissie
ya I saw a few dress at maternity house too, quite nice... but dun think I will get anymore dress... prob will buy a few new tops cos easier to mix and match.

*yawns* waiting for 6pm to come for knock off... going JL later to get the baby tops at 3 for $8.told HB i b getting 3 pcs 'i love mummy' and 3 pcs 'i love daddy' since material is good n cheap, i dun mind repeating them. and also to cold storage to get the detergent refill... not bad not bad, quite a fair bit of shopping for baby today...

god's child,
i tot it's literally shopping for baby everyday, the way we all keep comparing bargains!!

mongs,
good that u got it at 6 not 8.

my fren uses 2 pumps leh. i shall ask her how she does it. but i think one will do for the moment.

sunny,
dun worry too much. my gynae always tell me not to worry!

ya lor, Sunny... no worries la... gynae always say as long as baby growing, its GOOD!!! must b happie happie... my MIL was saying tat i look very much like a happie n bubbly preggie, as compared to my sis-in-law whos also pregnant...haha, actuali sometimes my happiness comes from not juz baby, but also FOOD!!!
kao_shy.gif

sunny,
hmmm...just to share a bit, normally at 6 months (24 weeks), normally baby should be upright, by 8 months (32 weeks) baby should turn in preparation for birth, by nature of gravity. sometimes baby don't have enough space to turn, so breech and have to go for caesaran. see link http://www.babycenter.com/pregnancy/fetaldevelopment/index
but of course baby will move about and sometimes even lie sideways. I don't think we need to be too worry maybe 2 days later if he has enough space, he will move head up but if u are not comfortable and want some professional advice to settle down, talk to your gynae for reassurance. also talk to your baby.

confused/SY - worst thing is i work in Shaw centre which is a stone throw away from Isetan Scotts... never mind, maybe god is trying to help me to save money... hahaha... cos already got most of the things except for some ointment, cream...

Zhimin - i called up the card center, they informed since i applied last week, no fee required. WEF Oct, there will be a fee chargeable i think $12.

Tonight, i will got Seiyu sales... hahaha...

I read somewhere in the forum other than this thread... I keep on seeing this sentence "opt for 4-bedder but gynae manage to upgrade to 2-bedder at no extra cost." True? Anyone know this?

sunny,
like what mongs say, talk to baby. my fren also had her baby's head facing down at 20+ weeks then later bb's head face up again but now in breech position. so gynae told her to talk to baby.

pochacco,
i tot the 12 fee is an annual charge? cos when i received the letter informing me of it, it says that if i dun use the card further, it means i dun wan the card. but if i use, they will charge me the 12.... a bit confused

happy shopping at seiyu tonight!!

not sure whether i will buy that. will ask ard for opinion as well.

Zhimin

as to wat i know, certain gynaes from TMC will offer free upgrades from 4-bedded to 2-bedded. you might wana check wf ur gynae.

Hi Pochacco and Mashy brainz,

There's this bottle of liquid that we can buy from those Chinese medical shop to clean baby's tongue and gums to clear of the milk residue. Old sayings - if we don't clean, the tongue gets thicker and thicker and it will reduce baby's taste buds and eventually reject milk etc.

Not too sure what's a nipple shield. If i'm not wrong, it's only for those mums with inverted nipples. Nipples cream - actually breastmilk is the best moisturiser for our nipple. After feeding/ cleaning etc, can squeeze breastmilk to apply round the nipple. Otherwise, there's this brand Mustela Purelan 100 that is highly recommended by BF mothers to cure cracked nipple etc.

god's child,
Me also bought the 3 for $8 tops but me only buy 3... 2 x I LOVE MUMMY and only 1 x I LOVE DADDY... hee hee....

Anyone knows if ISETAN is still having sale today?? I thot of going shopping but recently have been to JL & Seiyu so many times i thot of going somewhere else... nowadays really its ALL SHOPPING FOR BB... = )

Clare

Don't think Isetan still having the private sale le... but maybe you can call them up to double confirm?

If you have Metro card or your friends have may consider Metro cos they got a infant fair but I think only exclusively to card member... I going later...

Thanks Zhimin... going off now... most likely will be going Isetan since i have not been there yet to look at BB stuff...

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND EVERYONE!!! = )

Yuki
Now, cannot go to the edge of the Jaws of Death liao.. they're barricaded it due to safety reasons, afraid that they will be sued for mishaps.

Hi MAshy Brainz,

I guess alternatively can use just water and cloth to clean baby's mouth.

During my confinement, my mum said that people used to clean baby's mouth using the used nappy (contain baby's urine), claiming that it is very effective. Scare the hell out of me and i told my mum NO WAY i will do that and i will not allow anyone to do that.

As time pass, you'll realise that there are a lot of nonsensicalold wives tales. When my friend's daughter is teething and mouth was constantly dripping with saliva (which is the norm), her mum claim that must get the neighbour's used table cloth to wipe away the saliva once and for all..........

Hi Krissie,

OIC. I was there almost 8 years ago ;p But it was really dangerous. we went in a group of ten and all of us tried to squeeze in to take a group photos and i wondered what if one of us nearly slip and knock onto the rest......

thanks gals....

metro sales is only for 3 days for card member? if i am holding metro credit card, does it consider as membership? which metro has the most bb stuff?

all - what i learn from TMC Mrs Wong is that to clean the tongue, please use a sterlise gauze and twirl tightly round your index finger, moist with boiled cool water and wipe it one way. that's it. do not wipe over the tongue again and again to introduce more bacteria. and also because baby tends to suck in whatever put into the mouth, its impt to twirl the gauze tightly round ur finger. wipe it quickly and out you go. use a new piece each time. Do NOT use cotton wool!

also i went to suntec yesterday to buy the drapolene cream but sold out
today i ask my hubby to go guardian and he manage to get a pack
can choose the free gift..either a rattle toy or bib. i chose the latter.

read in papers that there is a sale in metro. bathing tub for 30 plus and cot on sales. my frd was telling me in dec there will be a major baby fair. so i am trying to 'ren' and get only those best buys. the drapolene is selling one box at carrefour for 7 plus. so ex! so the promo pack is really worth it. my frd said 1 box can use for very long time. so i just bought one pack la. dun want to be so kia su. hehee..

i also went bb shopping yesterday at JL! Spent more than $100...thot i spent a lot but realised that it's not that much after hearing from the rest of you! i wanted to buy the same I Love Mummy / Daddy t-shirts but ended up buying the one with some doggy pattern on it - it's exactly the same other than the pattern and costs $2 each, which is cheaper than 3 for $8 for the I Love Mummy ones. Not sure why also!

Went for my detailed scan yesterday and gynae says my bb is slightly above average size! She's 500g at 22w5d. In fact, the report shows that my bb's head, weight, etc etc all slightly higher than normal! Was so surprised coz i didn't put on much weight but glad that bb's growing normally!
Just hope she doesn't come out too big if not will hv difficulty hving normal delivery!

Have a great weekend everyone!

StyloBB,
was running thru the earlier posts & saw your scan results. Congrats on ur twin princess! Ha ha.. have to spend more $$ to doll them up.

Does anyone know if I can use the Seiyu card for additional 5% disc when they have the 20% disc storewide? I went to the DBS website & they said that the 5% disc is applicable to red, blue, grey and selected green tags. This excludes sales, nett and fixed price items as well as purchases from Seiyu Bugis Basement 1 and all customer service counters. If can use the 5% disc, then it'll be cheaper than Robinsons liao. Coz Robinsons card gives 3% more.

Yuki
Does the Pureen detergent for bb's clothes have lots of suds? My washing machine can only use low-sud detergent. Am considering ABD, Pureen or Kodomo.

SSF/ Mashy / Zhimin
I also have to go for the GD test next visit. So sian.. hope results are good. SSF, update us again after your next test. I'm trying to cut down on sweet stuff too.

Durianlover
Ya, most impt is that bb is healthy and growing. My bb is also qt big. In fact, now it's starting to be too heavy and uncomfortable. Cant walk or stand for too long. My legs will be painful. Cant eat too much also, coz tummy is v bloated, but yet still feel hungry.

Now everyday is bb shopping... bb department is the place I frequent most of the time liao.

Today went Seiyu Bishan... nothing much... but I bought a pigeon baby binder cost $2.70 after 20%discount is $2.16... think quite worth it... so far the cheapest I see is $2.90.

just to let u know. i saw the drapolene cream at unity at 7.40 for 2.... i bought at ntuc for 7.90 for 2. so for those who haven't buy can go to unity.

durianlover,
congrats that your baby growing so well! i m going for my checkup next week so hope baby is good. he's very active this week and really uncomfortbale at times.

SSF,
is there really a major bb fair in dec? at all shopping centres? then i must stop buying stuff. i bought so much. din realise until we were packing the room.

krissie,
hope your test will go well. i was also looking at the seiyu card today. is it good?
i also cannot stand too long. fortunnately leg cramps haven't started. but find that i can't sit too long either cos my butt will hurt!

zhimin,
i also went to seiyu today. couldn't find much. probably cos we already buy too much.
i was trying to find those diaper covers but not sure which one is it. i saw some from pigeon and some from benbeni but find them quite thick and wonder whether is it too hot.

Sunny
the metro sales is open for all metro card members. Metro credit card can use also... I went to metro paragon but they got not much bb stuffs also... but I manage to get those elle baby clothes which I think is real cheap. The top is $5 and pants $3... still got further 20% discount... I also got those small small wash cloths 6 in 1 pack at $3.90 which Kiddy Palace sell at $6.50 I think.

I saw the bath tub... nearly buy cos the colour so sweet in pink colour $32.90 got give hooded towel and a few more things but too bulky so lazy to bring back... And the medela breast pump is on 20% sale also... aiming at the single electric breast pump... $178 got 20% discount but in the end din get also... cos still considering...

Krissie/SSF/Mashy
think we really need to control the intake of sweet stuffs... must take good care of ourselves ok.

krissie...tmr is my next visit to do blood test after every meal. i be on MC tomorrow as i need to go down 3 times. lucky hubby can work from home, so he be there with me.

i have been eating wholemeal bread every morn. and eating only soupy stuffs and less noodles and rice. i hope my test tmr is fine. please pray for me. i hope it back to normal and need not buy the test kit. but hubby was saying it good to buy and monitor even if sugar level is back to normal. coz i have family history.

so i will update all tmr again! take care mashy and zhimin as well.

SSF,
all the best for ur blood test! Hope it goes well

zhimin,
i bought the small wash cloths 6 in 1 pack for $6.50...din noe that Metro selling so much cheaper. Thot $6.50 already quite cheap! Hee. Looks like u got better bargain!

are u all dreaming more during sleep nowadays? i dream all the time of funny things...like gd frenz getting pregnant, hurricane striking s'pore, etc etc! Really amusing but it's not gd coz dun feel rested enuff!

hi krissie
my washing machine can only take low-sud powder, too. checked with other mummies, they said pigieon works fine with it. so, i bot pigeon detergent already...

Morning All!!!!
just eaten my breakfast and will be going to see my gynae 2 hrs later which is at 11a.m. thanks all for your support.

wah zhimin..metro card got so much discount. wonder why it didn't open to public. will it open to public soon? the hand cloth is so cheap.

SSF
all the best for your test.

The metro sale this time round only offer to card holder, same as Isetan Private Sale. I just found out their in house credit card quite worth to apply...