(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Zhimin - i have named my princess Celeste.

oh, i so haapie cos i got a set of 7pcs bib online for $5. its lucky baby brand and says mon-sun wf pictures... think there is another seller wf the same thing. anyone wana take a look?http://page.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/auction/93369831

SY

branded bb clothes like levi's,disney, oshkosh.
I bought a pair of disney bb socks for $6. Half price. There's another disney design is 3 for $6.

Medela is 20% off. usually they only have 15%. Fisherprice toys are at 30% off. Beddings also 30% off.

Got a disney wind up mobile at $39.90 with free tambourine and rattle.

Bags/Clothes are cheap. Some at 50%-70% off. so sad, cannot wear normal clothes liao. so tempting.

god's child,
i went to the link. the design so cute. but i got one set already so no point getting even though very tempted!!

Mashy,
wow, a lot of things to buy!! i have a feeling i will end up with big bags.

i also tot of buying bags (for myself) and shoes (for myself) but see whether got time. now all these not impt. buying bb stuff first is more impt!!

i hope they still have nice things left cos i can only go after work...

Hi SY,

Thou i am a christain, i did 'consult' You Rong Zi for my girl's name. I don't believe in him but just want to get some suggestions for Chinese name. A few of my friends who believe in him got very nice chinese name for their child so i don't mind trying.

Well, the result was that i don't like the name he suggested andi also feel a sense of 'bondage' to it. Not at peace with God at all. So end up i waste the $100 and end up choosing my own baby's name. The names YRZ match was horrible. Mine's a girl but the names given are very boyish sounding. Eg Ming2Hui1, Xin1Wei4 (sounds like fishy smell), Xin1Hui1 (broken hearted).....

Then YRZ describe the character of the child etc. Basically all sounds familar..... baby is stubborn, smart etc...(same as all my friends child), Then list of things not to do eg. no swimming until after 3 years old, no travelling until 5 blar blar blar...........

zhimin, don't bother what others say. true frds won;t say those words. the more you feel hurt, the more they are happy that their words dampen your spirits. first of all you aren;t the bride, why dressed up so nice to steal the limelight. blessings that you are giving are more impt. wat u wear is secondary. so childish of your colleagues to say those mean word. i will also be hurtful if they say such nonsense.

just be happy and don't let them ruin yoru day. its not worth it

yuki,
actually i dun really know who is you rong zi. but the names he gave for your girl suddenly sound weird. i think it's more like if i go and i dun use, i won't feel peace cos i will keep thinking if i dun use whether anything will happen. i can be quite paranoid so better don't try!!

quite ex hor the consultation. 100 can buy a lot of baby stuff... i tot most of them dun have fixed charge. u give what u feel comfortable but of cos got a market rate or something like that...

I saw these contacts at the other link, maybe u guys will be interested.
Master Lu- Shaw Centre #04-64 tel:67347132 S$180
Master Zhao- International Plaza #26-18 tel: 62226815 S$180
You Long Zhi- 393 Guilliemard Rd (opp Hong Hwa Sch) tel: 67440148, 67435738 S$100
according to that link, Master Lu seems quite good. anyway, my sis went to YRZ as well. she wasn't given much choices but in the end they still used the name proposed by him. my colleague aslo went to YRZ but she changed his son's name when she encountered another sifu who said that his name is too big for him and advise them to change the character, still the same pronounciation. what SY said is quite true. my MIL is not too keen to go to a Master to get a name, my nephew and niece names are given by her and she sort of thought that I would like that as well. problem is my own name was changed when I was very young and I sort of believe that it did bring my good fortunate so I want to consult a Master. however, I have not decided which one to go to.

Yuki
I read somewhere in the forum You Rong Zi increase the price already... but I also not sure... cos I having hard time catch up the thread so I tot I saw some ppl stated down.

How many combis he will give? Can share your gal gal's name with us?

cel_cel
Celeste is a nice name!

SSF
Got it!

SY
I saw Kids Mall and Kiddy Palace sell Pigeon disposable breast pad at $12, so I think $8.90 should be ok so I ask my friend to get for me.

hey guys...i went to hypermart and baby kingdom recently and their prams are very limited and ex!
preggo brand has only like 1 or 2 models. and quinny is nice but also ex. has anyone bought already? any recommendation? coz i guess i will start hunting for one pretty soon. those warehouse doesn;t seem cheap anyway.

Hi SY and Zhimin,

$100 was in year 2003. You just call and tell them which day and what time your child is born and your surname of course. Can just leave a message on the phone. Then go to their place one week later to pay and collect the names.

YRZ gives 10 choice for the second word and another 10 for the third word. He will select and match one he think is the best for the baby. But if you don't like it, you are free to match using the twenty words given.

For my case, a lot of cheena words like "Lai2, Di4, Dai4" etc which i cancelled off cos i didn't like the word at all. So left without much choice.... In the end i name my girl Ying3 Qi2. My own choice.

My friends' children has very nice name by YRZ. Eg. Kai En, Jia En, Le Xuan, Shao Ning etc.... Only my girl's combination sounds wierd lah.

mashy,
must have been holding buy from buying the toys!!!

SSF,
i dun think i will buy prams so soon cos one thing is cost and the other is i intend to use those baby carrier first. and won't need one so soon so intend to wait. i only saw a few so far and seems like combi is more affordable. i like aprica also but very ex. my hb doesn't like the preggo handles cos it sticks out so he ruled that out already (even though i like it)

my fren did sayd that these places not cheap and more ex compared to shopping centres when they have sales.

zhimin,
think i may buy the breast pads then since it's cheaper. i also dunno the price of that.

Yuki
My niece is called Ying3 Qi2 too!! Younger one is En1 Qi2. I love their names... but too bad my sis uses the name first

Btw my friend just passed me a brochure on pre and post natal massage by Heritage of Traditional Javanese Massage.

Pre Natal 60mins $50.00
Post Natal 3x package $200
5x package $320
7x package $420

thks SY. thinking again..first month...baby and myself will not go out..so maybe will not buy yet. maybe someone can sponsor for one during first mth celebration. ehhee..

ok, so next item to buy is steriliser. cot i loan from frd. breast pump i will buy second hand frm frd. and the rest are all smaller items like bathing items. Still looking at pigeon steriliser and hunting for the cheapest. last heard JL or robinson go as low as 60 plus.

Hi Zhimin,

Ha ha. So coincidence. Maybe i name my second girl En Qi? Ha Ha.

Btw, any address or contact no. of Heritage? The pre natal massage price looks cheap! So tempted to go for one!

Yuki

I think you can call up to ask the pre natal massage cost again cos I scare sometimes the price not up to date or wat.

261 Upper Thomson Road Tel:6457 1477
709 East Coast Road Tel:6241 1626
10E Sixth Avenue Tel:6467 3306
14B Kensington Park Rd (Serangoon Garden) Tel:6383 3594
329 Upper Paya Lebar Rd (Quemoy Bldg) Tel:6285 9796

Yuki,
if you have UOB Card, this month got some prenatal massage offer at 38 bucks. can't remember the name though.

SSF,
that's my plan also. was thinking of asking pple to give vouchers (robinsons or something like that) so i can use it to buy baby stuff that i need. some pple say if get clothes, usually the clothes may be too small already cos pple buy NB clothes and by the time one month, some cannot wear already...

SSF

i think there is a brand called Kraft, not too exp rite at hypermart ( kaki bukit ) cos i rem HB rec'd brochure from citibank/dbs wf some promo items. and in it is a kraft pram wf infant car seat at oni $159 or $189. usual price was $239 or $259... gota go back n check again...

actuali does the pram need to be 'branded'???

God's child
i think it's more of choosing a pram with the features that u need. and of cos choose a trusted brand. sometimes brand can be impt when u need to fix the thing ( like after sales service lor).

Mashy, which isetan on sale huh? Thot of going Seiyu Bugis this sat. Heard their sales end this sun.

StyloBB,
So wonderful to see ur twins. Make me
Always wanted to have twins but dun tink got chance. No twins in my family history leh. I remember when young, they always say if u eat bananas which are joint together (twins bananas), then next time u will have twins. How true hor....hahaha!

Krissie,
Welcome back! I missed Melbourne. Wanted to go back visit Great Ocean Rd & Philip Island. Very memorable places. I remember eating this very yummy fish flake near a town in Great Ocean Rd. My hubby & I missed it terribly. Next time, I must include Grampians. Never been there. But hubby studying now. *Sob Sob! By the time his exams finished in Oct/Nov, I will be 8+mths liao. No airline will take me anywhere
kao_sad2.gif
. Told hubby we will end up in Sentosa or Pulau Ubin. *Sigh!

Hi Wenyl,
actually, I just went to SIA and Quantas website, they still accept pregnant women travelling until 35weeks leh... hee hee, I checking coz 'xin yang yang', after hearing about Krissie's trip, feel like going back Perth to visit my good galfren in early Nov... same time as my wedding anniversary

Just 1 day n had sooo much to catch up... = )

StyloBB,
WOW... really amazing to see Twins scan... n u only put on 10kg?? Me also put on 10kg but only having 1 BB... = P

Wenyl,
Yah me always eat the "twin" fruits, like bananas, longan, lychyee, etc... but think maybe no chance also coz my family no twins leh... = (

I managed to bid for a PIGEON UNIVERSAL STERILIZER (the older version which is hard to find now) for only $10.00. Just collected it today after work... looks a little bit old but according to the seller still in good working condition (oh.. my HB says of coz seller will say in good condition la coz he's selling mah... hee hee). I thought since its so cheap so dun mind trying lor... if really not as good i can still use it as a spare n leave it at my mum's place next time. Only thing is it doesn't come with any instruction manual n I was taught by the seller only need to pour in the water using their small measuring cap n that's it!
I intend to try it out this weekend with the bottles my friend pass me... anyone use before?? How long would it take n hoew do i know when's ready??
kao_confused.gif

wenyl/clare
U two are so funny, u can get identical twins even w/o family history....

clare
Come to think of it, my weight gain not so bad hor... but my tummy is v big leh... hopefully all the weight goes to the babies.

SY
HOw is ur harvest at Isetan?

Sleepingdeer,
Really.... SIA & Qantas!!??
I must go check it out NOW. Xin yang yang liao! heehee! But I tink we still need doc's letter b4 airline accept us hor.

Mornig all!!! wow ~~~ its Fly-day!!!

SY - hmm.. i think we will go try out the mechanics and see if its good or not. if not mayb go for combi... cos hubby wanted sometin tat comes wf car seat...

Think Guardian is selling drapolene cream at $7.95 for 2. cheap??? might go n get them during lunch and strike them off my to-get list. Cold storage selling 1 litre refill of Kodomo baby detergent at $12.95 for 2. also considered cheap rite?

hi all...guardian is selling drapolene cream for nappy rash. 2 tubes for 7 plus. usual price is 11 plus. it gives a free rattle toy as well. thought of buying to stock up since its cheap. anyone know if its good brand and anyone getting it?

hi god's child...great minds think alike. haha..i just posted on the drapolene tubes. yeah i think its cheap too. kodomo is it cheap??

HI SSF,

My girl has been using drapolene since birth.

Sometimes NTUC have such promotion, selling them in twin packs too plus a toy or something.

Worth buying.

queen/SY
What u describe re MRT is my sentiment too. I usu get a seat cos my tummy is big! hahaha...!!!! I am thankful cos I find I cannot stand for long... think my legs macham gonna give way..... I dun mind standing if I can, but lately I really cant......

Well at least it teaches us to be more sensitive next time to other preggies...hehehe...

durianlover/queen/SY
How I feel ah? When they both kick at the same time, macham v happening loh!! Left side, right side all kena!!!!!

zhimin
Scan - haha... thot I just share it w/ u gals... that was at 10 weeks, now can't really see so clearly cos they have grown...

SY
Hehe...last time ur mum's time no scan right...imagine this is you and ur sis...but maybe u two were in one sac since identical......

Good morning

The Metro sales start today is only exclusively for card member. 20% storewide. Not sure is it only available at Paragon outlet.

Wow you all always know where to get good bargain
kao_smile2.gif

stylobb,
i spent abt 500 bucks at isetan!! but of cos not all on baby stuff. hb bought his stuff also. got the avent breast pump at 59 (my fren said it's cheap) bought clothes for bb again as usual, bought milk warmer, bought the pigeon breast pads (Zhimin, i think it's a good buy cos i saw a lot of pple getting it!!), bought shoes for bb, bought handkerchief, bottle cleanser......wanted to buy toys but not sure baby will like it or not so stop myself. if not i thikn my bill will hit the big 6!!

sleepingdeer,
they still accept at 35 weeks? that's kind of risky right??

SSF,god's child,
read some threads and they say it is not too bad. think i will go get it also later
thanks for the tip!!

wenyl, clare,
no need twins in family history to have twins! i m also the first pair in the family!!

stylobb,
yah, can imagine me and my sis will look so funny in one sac. maybe all squash together.

i already feel that bb kick a lot now. cannot imagine yours....

god's child,
think i will go down to the combi place to look at it. also want something that comes with car seat so no need to buy separate. too many things in the house already!!

Drapolene is good? I was thinking of buying mustela barrier cream cos heard that it's real good for sensitive skin, highly recommended but it's very expensive. maybe I try drapolene first.

I think I bought kodomo refill at $7.9 at JL, I have a 20% discount in my receipt, don't know if it's for member or what, end up paying only $6.32 for 1 pack but I think $12.95 for 2 should be cheap. also bought 1kg pigeon detergent powder at $8 yesterday. is it good? thought can use it to soak those soiled baby clothes.
I also bought the pigeon breast pads at $8.9 (36 pcs) bought at box at isetan sale earlier and thought 1 box not enough, so buy another box at JL.
styloBB, sounds very exciting to have twins, my hubby love twins and when he sees them, he will ask when I am going to give him 1 pair.
SY, the breast pumps are real cheap! too bad I am not a member of isetan and I have bought mine already. I bought mine at S$69.30 (original S$86.6) S$10 difference but nevermind lah. at least don't need to think about it anymore.

mongs,
i think i saw some places selling the pigeon detergent powder at 6. dunno whether got see wrongly. where did u buy the powder from?

i was wondering whether 1 box of disposable breast pads enough or not. my fren actually advise me to get some washable ones. but i tot disposable ones easier...

ha..i was thinking whether to get one or 2 breast pumps. my fren got 2 for convenience but in the end i got one first to try out. if really like then i go get another one. yah, sometimes we can't anticipate the discounts also. at least buy already no need to think abt it!!

i also heard mustela good but much more ex!! so better start them on the cheaper one first..if no choice then switch.

for those using cloth nappies, i read in another thread that if u use washing machine for tollyjoy nappies, the lint tends to come of (or something like that). it doesn't really happen with some other brands. just a note...

My sis and friends are all using dropolene... think is pretty good and the price reasonable too...

SY
The breast pump you bought is manual?

SY
Pigeon breast pads are good. I just got a box.
1 box is not enuf. I did not find the washable ones good... found it too troublesome to wash....and also they were rather thick. No need to get two breast pumps, u will be on ML for three months... more than enuf time to get another if needed.
Hope to go down this weekend to stock up on some other stuff.

Toys - no need to buy yet. At bb's first month, u will get a lot of presents. Then u evaluate what u need to buy.
Did u get any bb blanket? I wanna get the Pigeon one, in light pink, so sweeet....ahaha..

Did ur mum know she was carrying twins???

mongs
Twins - then u tell hb he also gotta aid u, hahahaaaa. If identical, then one egg splits into two... if non-identical, then two eggs fertilised by two sperms...hahaha.....

SSF

haha.. ya, both of us think alike... nowadays, i never fail to check the papers int he morning at the pantry, in case i miss out any discounts...
so auntie-like...

wat a list of things!!! slowly get one by one...

Seiyu got farther discounts til tis sunday, 30% off baby disney items..

zhimin
yah the pump is manual. i did think of whether to get manual or electric. in the end got this manual one first. not sure whether will be BF long term so dun want to spend too much. and my fren said she got used to it after a while though tiring at first.

stylobb,
hmm, then maybe i shd have gotten 2 boxes of the breast pads. how long can one box last btw? think i will get a few more if i see them on offer. yah, the reason why i dun get 2 breast pumps in case i end up with 2 white elephants!

i din get any bb blanket. i saw hte pigeon ones. very nice!! i tot no need to use blanket at first? i got a wrap so intend to use that.

haha, i think i m the one who's more amuse with the toys. u r right. probably will evaluate after 1st month.

i think my mum knew she was carrying twins. will u be going for c-section or natural? hers was natural and not very long i think.

hi ladies, so envy many ppl got so much cheap sale stuff as Isetan... i applied for the card but have yet to receive so didn't able to go... so sad...

Disposable breast pads - i didn't use alot. First of all, my supply was managable, no much leak so i am able to keep myself dry most of the time. Secondly, since i am at home most of the time (SAHM for 5 months), sometimes i tend to go braless. Change T-Shirt more often.... ;p

my friends recommend to use electric pump cos they said manual tiring. I also dun intend to get those very expensive one. Cos not sure will breast feed for how long... my office not convenient to express the milk out le cos no enclosed room.

I saw Tollyjoy electric breast pump @$89... some places are selling the pump with a free gift at ard $59.90... but I not sure whether these 2 pumps are identical? If yes then $59.90 very worth le. Anyone use TJ breast pump before? Any comments?

Hi Wenyl/SY,
yah, can still fly till 35weeks, no kidding, and I think no letter unless you are carrying twins, or flying beyond 35 weeks. If I do fly, will be in week 31, dunno whether I will be too tired or not, so still thinking about it. Will also check with my gynae first and see what he says

Wah, looks like lots of mummies going shopping this weekend!

Me won't be buying pram until bb is 3 months or so, will be using sling first