(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Zhimin,

I think it's fine to see dentist. As long as the dentist knows you are pregnant, he/she should know what to do and what not to do.

Hi SSF and SY,

I bought those storage too. Still using it to store my girl's clothings. But gotta get a chest of drawers since now i have to put two girls cloths. Actually still waiting for them to grow up a little so that i can decorate the room with girly things.

Anyone addicted to coffee? I can control my urge for my last pregnancy but this time round...... Am having one cup per day. Read somewhere it's ok to drink as long as not too much but i still feel guilty nevertheless............

ya SY its cheaper and does not take up much space. best is got wheels to transport it ard. on top can still put a basket of baby small items. actually i got mine from my cousin who use it to store baby's clothing. now her kid 2 yrs old so have a cupboard of her own clothes. so she dun need that anymore.

Yuki,
i also read that it's ok to drink as long as u dun drink too much. my fren also drank during her pregnancy but she limit herself to one cup a day. i still drink my tea and coke as well!

Hi SY,

Thanks. It;s just us, being mothers, you'll feel you are responsible for every well being of baby.
That's why sometimes i will tell my hubby of the sacrifices that we had to make to give birth. Give up food, body shape etc.........

Worse period is the confinement period. I think that was the worse time of all from pregnancy to giving birth. Cannot bath, must always drink red date tea even if the weather is hot ...... Tell you, my saliva was literally dripping when i see my brother drink coke......... Ask him to drink out of my sight!

I checked out the plastic one at carrefour... toyogo one... the 5 tier one cost around $60+ to $70+ Then I saw the 5 tier drawer chest from Ikea catalogue, one cost only $99... but yet to see the real thing la...

I now put all the baby stuffs I bought in one room... so unsightly... want to quickly get a drawer chest to keep all the things nicely le...

As for the dentist... hope I can tahan until I delivered... I hate to go dentist as well... but will check with my gynae next visit... Think all because of that time MS I can't really brush teeth, the moment I brush I want to vomit... so everytime just quickly end the process of brushing teeth.

I got craving for bubble tea with pearl also... everytime see bubble tea I sure buy... average about 2 to 3 per week... feeling guilty sometimes...

cel_cel

It is alright... the changing table sounds nice... can put the toiletries below? ... but think my room can't squeeze in so many furnitures... still dunno how to squeeze in the drawer chest leh...

BTW... what brand will you all buy for bb toiletries?? Is Johnson & Johnson good?

Hi Sy,

I didn't imagine it would be that bad. All the time was worried about baby so wasn't concern about what we can do or cannot do during confinement. It's all the worries and stress of having to handle a newborn and all the extra things like cannot bath, eat and drink hot tea during hot weather minus the aircon etc that makes us even more stress and frustrated. My friend always tell me that the period in hospital is the 'honeymoon' period cos you know help is easily available, the room is aircon, you can take shower if you want to etc.

I envy the ang mohs who are encourage to take a stroll with the newborn in the garden in the evenings etc, eat fruits, drink fruit juices etc and they don't seems to have backache problem etc when old. I have to beg my mum to buy fruits for me during confinement and the best she can do is just apples, but the apples cannot be refrigerate.........

Hi durianlover,

Yep, mum's happening. That's y when I got pregnant, I told her "You will be grounded in Jan. Pse go for your holidays and your shopping for the rest of the year." Haha.

Hi SY,

If you intend to take care of baby at night, then let baby sleep with you.

For me, baby's room used to be study room and my original study room was used as the dining area and the original dining area was the cosy corner with a zen table and 2 long cushions. When we decided to do up the baby's room, we moved the cabinets and the computers to the original study room and the dining table/chairs back to it's original dining area. My cosy corner table and cushions are in the baby's room along with the toy racks and the up and coming baby cot. What a long story! :p Now you know why I do things so fast. So much to do.

My mum is gettng her own room becos we have also got a queen sized bed in the 3rd room along with TV and CD/DVD player. Can push the baby cot over to her room during the day too.

I have 2 spare drawers in my bedroom so I will be storing my baby's stuff there. Mum's room has a 4-drawer cabinet and so can store baby's stuff there too.

Hi Yuki,

I love coffee and know it's okie to have a cup a day. But I took myself completely off when I got pregnant. So whenever I smell aromatic coffee, I will roll my eyeballs and ren :p

Told my good friends that when they visit me in hospital after I deliver, they are supposed to bring along a thermos flask of coffee for me to smell.

Hi sysa,

I can don't take coffee when i am not working aka weekend. It's the weekday........need it to keep me awake. ;p

zhimin,
i thinking of using pigeon. saw some websites that recommend mustela but think quite ex.

yuki,
i saw the today's parents just now but din have enough cash on me during lunch. later will go buy after work!!

yah, i dun understand. why ang mohs and all other races dun have such practices but they seem fine.
u mean in hospital, they are ok abt u bathing etc? cannot even eat fruits? i think i will sure cry during that period!!

sysa,
the only thing i m afraid is the bb will wake hubby up at night and hubby has to work next day.

so your mum will be coming to stay over with u? her room sounds cosy man and luxurious...

you have a lot of moving to do!! i think i need to move stuff out of bb's room next time also. cos i intend to get maid and CL and both will be staying in the spare room. but when i go back to work, i probably will have the maid take care of baby at night. hmmm..still haven't decide yet. got to see whether my bb easy to care for. suddenly feel i dun have enough rooms...

Hi SY,

Basically the nurses and gynae will encourage you to bath. Anyway they don't restrict you or anything.

I shower a couple of times in the hospital knowing that my mum will object to it. Only the cleaning lady make noise and offer her advice..... As for fruits, i ate them in the hospital too and even drink orange juice. Once back home, everything is restricted.........

Zhimin

i think as for the toiletries, i will mix n match.. some J&J, some pigeon.. just c which ones got good bargains lor... hee

sysa

tat was alot of shifting.. for me, i actuali got my HB to shift the study room's shelves to his leisure room ( his so-called Fish room wf 4 big n 2 small tanks ) and make space for nursery room..haha.. sometimes cant help but think when the fish room can empty out

god's child,
your HB likes to rear fishes?? mine too!!! sometimes i get so irritated cos he spend so much time looking at them....

Now expecting a bb... I start to realise my house not really suitable for bb and kids...

Cos the handles for all the cabinets are very sharp... then got big glass kitchen door which my 3 year old nephew always knock into the door without fail... then my house no windows grill.

Thinking of moving house liao... but can't at this moment

Sysa,
I'm not even sure whether my EDD 6 Jan is the accurate date since I don't know when I conceive. But that's based on the size of the BB right? Cos when I count back, 6 Jan can't be accurate cos the week of conception is when I had my period! Well, if doctor say 6 jan, then it's 6 Jan for me loh. Though I think it should be later. heehee.
It's very sweet of you and your HB to make so much effort in decorating the BB room. Me and my HB didn't even think of doing that. MY BB room is a spare room, used it for mahjong session sometimes. Think my HB's male friends will feel weird playing mahjong in a room full or babay posters and alphabets!
I'm also thinking of shifting my piano from my mom's place to the room cos it's nice playing the piano to the baby right? But my HB feels it'll take up space.

Yuki,
A bit a caffeine a day is not harmful. It's just that the harmful effects of prolong exposure to caffeine in big amounts on the foetus is not properly understood yet. But we all know caffeine is not good for the body if we take too much. Same as alcohol. Thus will be worse for foetus as they are more vulnerable. So most gynaes will advise to abstain. But I still take some. A cup of tea or coke a 3 or 4 days a week. Coffee a few sips only when my HB makes his cappucino. Alcohol, total abstinence. Except in samll amount found in food and bailey's ice cream.

queen,
EDD shd be based on LMP. so they will count from first day of your cycle. it won't be based on when bb is conceived.

zhimin,
i also think my house not very suitable. no grilles also and a lot of glass. next time need to put all those table corner stuff. my place got a lot of edges!!

Pochacco,
I only going for Nov one
a bit late hoh? Too bad the Oct one is full already.

God's child,
i saw this sleeping bag in one of the Motherhood mags, thin and breathable material, so wondering whether to get that or not... probably just use clothe diapers and swaddle bb will do...

Zhimin,
yep, I also read that pillows may change the shape of bb's head, so confusing...

I for one will be showering, coz I cannot tahan not showering or washing my hair... probably use hot hot water, and shower quickly... think my mum will grumble, but she won't stop me.

Hi Zhimin,

I know what you mean! After i got pregnant i realise my house is not child friendly at all!!!! When renovating the house, never take children into cinsideration. ;p Lots of sharp corners and i have an island table in the middle of the kitchen with all sharp corners, real sharp-pointed. Have this day bed in one of the rooms who almost 90% of the guests will comment it's dangerous when they visit my house. Bought a lot of corners protection when my girl starts to crawl and when she's 10 months old, i fixed my window grilles.

The midwife who's teaching the antenatal class which I'm attending says no need special diet during confinement. In fact, all those food with ginger, herbs and alcohol will be bad for breastfeeding mothers. And the thing about bathing and washing hair, as long as you ensure that the water is warm and be mindful of not catching a cold, we should be bathing, both for hygiene purpose and also for personal comfort. I intend to follow her advice, My MIL is doing confinement for me, I hope she doesn't insist on the traditional practices.

SY,
So the EDD is based on LMP? What if my cycle is more than 28 days? Mine is 35 days or so...

By the way, what is SIDS? I bought a blanket already...

Hi SY,

Shifted all the stuff already. That's why can do up baby room. We did everything in one day. I didn't help much except wiping all the stuff. My bro-in-law and HB moved the stuff. Both of us just woke up one Sunday morning, made the decision and moved everything according to its place

Hi Queen,

Just place the piano in a corner. Thot it would take up space when I first shifted it over but actually it does not. Other than the hi-fi, I have placed a mini-fridge on top of it. Can use it store milk next time.

To all mummies,

Who is planning to bathe and who is not planning to bathe during the confinement period?

I am planning to bathe and told my mum already. She is okie with it becos my grandma allowed her to bathe too when she had me. Just need to buy the Chinese herbs (she calls it Pek Jiu in Teochew) and pour into hot water for my baths and to wash my hair in.

with regards to baby's pillow, there's this Babysafe brand that was highly recommended by my cousin. It is flat and the material is very good, breathable material. I bought for my daughter but she seldom use it now cos she toss and turn on the bed........ It cost about $25 for the single pillow. If can afford, the mattress is also recommended but cost at least $100 and above.

Shape of baby's head - i'm sure all the old folks will encourage us to let baby sleep in sarong so that baby's head will be round and nice........ Personally my girl sleep in sarong from three months onwards, mainly for two reasons. First, like what i mention above, her head shape. Personally i couldn't really tell that my baby's head was kind of flat on one side as she always sleep on that side. But my parents, etc all commented that her head is flat on one side so better sleep sarong to have a round and balance head......... secondly my girl sleep only a little and wake up very fast. It was very tiring for me. But she can sleep for 2-3 hours straight if in sarong.

I try not to rock the sarong thou and i insist she sleep properly on the bed at night. Don't want to be too reliant on sarong.

SY

Same!! my HB also irritates me at times, most times actuali. once we step into our hse, he can juz go in fish room first n feed them, top up water, use his fingers play wf them...then when u call out for him or ask him do sometin, always one rpely oni " wait har wait har'... as if he waiting for his fish to sleep first
then sometmes his fish bite his fingers and i c little scratches on his hands...

yuki / zhimin

oh ya, my hse also not friendly at all.. no grilles. and alot of glass, the tanks are more than enuf.. our wardrobes full height sliding glass door also... at first HB say no need do grilles ( when renovatin ), if got kids then train them to stay away from windows. but now tat bb on the way, he speaks differently. say kids will never stay where they shld b so grilles is a MUST!

pochacco,
though I will be going to Mt A for my delivery, I am attending the antenatal at KKH. coz my gynae at KKH decided to go private from next mth onwards. I will be following him. there are 10 lessons (1hr 45 mins) at KKH, understand that other hos has lesser lessons. want to visit Mt A delivery theatre one of these days to be familiar.

SY and god's child,
my hubby likes fish as well. but his is marine tank. maybe not so time consuming but quite expensive to keep. Told him that he can't spend too much time with his fishes after baby is born.

anyone planning to bank the cord blood? private or public? I am planning to go to stemcord but it will amount to S$7500 by the time the child is 21 years old when he/she can decide whether to cont to keep.

yeah looks like we've to slowly change our house to make it more baby-friendly! i also hv no window grills...but will prob install them when bb is abt 10 months or so. Don't really like the look of window grills but bo bian.

sleepingdeer,
i think i will also be showering, but prob using the herbs! But that's still considered bathing right?

My beautician who used to be a chinese physician said we should always keep ourselves clean as we will be perspiring a lot. Just make sure that we bathe with warm water and dry up immediately, not catch a cold! My mum is ok with bathing but not washing hair though.... Don't think I can tahan! Think my mil (non chinese) will be horrified if she knows I'm not going to wash my hair! hahha....

mongs, we are considering it as we went for a talk and the representative from Stemcord strongly recommended it especially for mixed race babies.

mongs

my HB has decided to do cord banking too..think we can oni bank privately rite? cos the public one is for donation.. or does it allow us to bank wf them too and keep??? HB says its good insurance for baby... rather than wat AIA... but indeed initial cost abit high..

mongs,god's child,

there's 2 options. u can refer to today's "mind your body" one is public and one is private. private is very expensive and like what mongs say, it will cost a few thousand bucks by the time baby reaches 18/21. whereas to go public, u are donating the cord blood, but no guarantee it is there when u need to use it.

i read an article on it and this doc say the chance of actually using the cord blood is very low. but think my HB wants to do it as well. a guy thing??

queen,
i m not sure if your cycle is about 35 days but dun think there shd be a change in the theory right?

sysa,
i m planning to bathe once i can manage. my fren told me her gynae told her not to bathe for 3 days not becos of confinement practice but more for safety cos initially can still feel giddy etc and may be dangerous when u are bathing.

god's child,
i also told my hubby the same thing abt the fishes but he kept insisting that he doing it for baby.... so that baby will have a nice fish tank to look at next time!!

yuki,
my head is flat on one side cos i used to lie on one side of my head often.

so shd we still use pillow? my mum had to keep turning my head or else i think it will be worse!!

queen

SIDS stands for Sudden Infant Death if I am not wrong... can't remember the exact words also...

But there are some things we have to ensure, for e.g. bb sleep face up, bb not too hot etc...

Hi SY,

My girl don't use pillow anymore. I used to use the babysafe pillow which is flat on surafce so it's the same as sleeping on the mattress itself...

Ya, have to keep turning baby's head so that they won't have the habit. In any case, besides flat head on one side, i heard my mum and granny mention that baby will have stiff neck if sleep on one side constantly. That really scare me off so i also diligently turn my baby's head.....

pochacco, i'll be going next thurs for the Mount A class.. will be your classmate then!

saw the cord blood article too. A fren was recommending Stemcord coz the blood will not be used for research. can't decide bet these 2 companies too.

Wow.. so many posts to catch up on. I just came back from my Melbourne trip.

Sleepingdeer
Thanks.. Dr Ho didn't say anything. I asked if bb was "too" big. He says there's no such thing as too big. Dun really understand what he means.. maybe he feels that bigger babies are ok, coz smaller babies are weaker. I also dun know leh. I'm also very fat now.. put on 11kg liao.. now at 26 weeks. hee hee.. ate too much in Melbourne.

Stylobb
Hi.. long time didn't "see" you liao..Good to hear that bbs are good.

edd2jan
hee hee.. your bb's size is qt close to mine. My bb was 760gm at 25weeks too. Did your gynae say that bb is big?

read that some of you are discussing the stem cell storage thingy. think i'm the only one who's going for Cordlife :p

My 3 main reasons is that:

Cordlife is AABB accredited whereas Stemcord is not.

Cordlife is an Australian listed company whereas Stemcord is not listed anywhere. As my gynae puts it, if you want to put your $$ in a bank, of coz you put it in a reputable and stable bank right.

And lastly, Cordlife is founded by my gynae's patient who is totally dedicated into this business, whereas Stemcord is run by a group of moonlighting doctors.

Oh and Cordlife has been in SG longer than Stemcord althou Stemcord advocates they are the first. Yes, they are the first to get the licence but that's because when Cordlife was in Sg, there wasn't a need nor ruling to get a licence. It was only implemented later. So apparently Stemcord applied for it before Cordlife.

Anyways juz my 2 cents worth. And don't quote me on the facts that I give. last thing i want is someone from Stemcord to sue me! keke....

Morning all
its Thursday!!!

krissie - welcome back!! how was ur trip??? done shopping for bb there???

pup_pup - my hb will b going for stemcord. his fren is currently using it for his 2 kids and he highly recommends it...

one more thing to add regarding the stem cell banking thingy. For those who says they have friends that recommended Stemcord, i don't know if you are aware that your friend will get $100 off her annual storage fee if she refers a friend.

a friend of mine also store her bb's stemcells with Stemcord so she told me that.

Hi Sysa,
your baby room sounds luxurious, have mini fridge some more... envy...
We are putting bb in our study room as well, but probably will not decorate it so much... hubby has to decide what to do with his study table, PC and TV first, haha...

Yuki,
thanks for the recommendation on pillow, can we buy it from anywhere? Talking about bb head make me wonder how we can ensure her head is round, Yuki, you mean every few hours you shift your bb so that her head will not be flat? Very 'wei da' leh. So if the Babysafe pillow is flat as well, then can also don't put, right?

I'm afraid of bb getting too used to the sarong as well, and won't sleep in the cot, so was planning not to use it.

Hi Krissie,
welcome back! How was your trip to Melbourne? Must have been shoik right? The nice weather and good food.. Sigh, now I feel like going to Perth... How was the flight? Could you tahan the long hours in the plane? We wanted to go to Perth in Oct, but my hubby worry that I cannot handle the flight.

Hee hee, don't worry, my next appt is this sat, I think Dr. Ho will scold me about my weight, coz I think I also gained about 11 or 12 kgs liao!

Durianlover,
Yep, still bathing, but as long as we dry ourselves quickly and blow dry our hair, should be ok. Just have to be careful not to get cold.

my hubby and I were just discussing about Cord banking on our way to work today... still haven't decided whether to do private or public...

BTW, hubby and me went NTUC yesterday to stock up pampers, and ended buying tons of baby stuff... baby bath and shampoo, baby detergent, baby towel, cotton buds and cotton balls, Maternity pads... hubby was taken aback when he saw final bill was close to $100, hee hee... say that no wonder his frens always say have to win money at mahjong coz need to buy pampers!

And I still have tons more to buy, scary...

Celine,
I think cordlife has that kind of arrangement as well whereby there is a discount in the fee when u recommend a friend.
am aware that the lab that stemcord is keeping the cord blood is not accredited. that will be one of the questions I want to ask when I meet their sales people. why they are not accredited and when they will do that.

think for the time being, those mothers delivering in private hos still can't donate to the public bank. that is what I understand from KKH. they are only getting from KKH patients but eventually, private patients eventually will be able to donate as well but don't know when.

read the sunday times where a article says that it's really not too useful for the child himself if he is to develop any blood disorder in the future because there will be this inherent problem with his blood that has causes that disorder and hence his cord blood won't do much good. it's more for the use of his siblings. that's why they say that unless u plan to have a few kids, else it's really better to donate coz other people have higher chance of using it.

hi mongs,

oh really? didn't know tat. i only know stemcord has that referral program thingy. maybe coz none of my friends are with Cordlife. keke... anyways good to find out more info before banking... :D

regarding that AABB accredited thingy, i understand that Stemcord is in the midst of getting it. think it was stated in last week's papers.

does anyone knows what brand has good infant car seat. and shld we get the infant car seat or those infant to toddler car seat(ie. can be used from birth to 3yo kind)?

cel cel, sleeping deer
The trip was good. Weather was good. Nice break for hb and me. Bought only 3 sets of bb clothings + some socks. Didn't buy much, coz I didn't know what type of clothes were more suitable for bb. Hee hee.. didn't buy much stuff other than souveneirs.

Flight was ok. Abt 7hr+ to Mel. Perth is only abt 4hrs. Shld be no prob at all. But, if going to Melbourne or Sydney, best to get BA rather than Quantas, as the plane is bigger, plus, we have our own personal inflight entertainment screen.

Hi Sleeping deer,

you can get the pillows from Kiddy Palace and Robinson etc. I think the brand is rather establish. There's a thread going on collating orders so that they can get discount from the direct supplier.

The flat pillow is about 1 inch thick..... maybe no difference to us but don't know if baby can feel the difference or not.

My girl tend to sleep on one side of the head so gotta turn her head every few hours. Not a hassle cos have to wake up to feed her anyhow. Just like breast feeding where we have to remember to feed on which side, likewise for the head.

A few of my friends succeed in bringing up their children without the sarong. Thank God my girl is not too attached to it. My niece also sleep on sarong but she doesn't not insist on it either. Depends on the child i guess. I have also seen examples of the child being too reliant on sarong that the parents had to rush home to let the kid sleep on sarong.

For my second child, i will still start off without sarong. Heard some studies that says too much rocking is no good for the baby's brain. was so worried about it that i kept nagging at my mum not to rock the sarong. But as my girl grown up, no more worries lah. Sha can speak well, play tricks on us etc

krissie,
welcome back!! must have been nice to go on a hol!

celine,
my fren is with stemcord also. i shall go and ask her more abt it. good to find out more!

sleepingdeer,
which brand of maternity pads is good? those tie string one or adhesive one better?

mongs,
i also read the same article. so i a bit hesitant to want to do this thing..quite ex also.... and some pple also tell me that if i intend to have more than one kid, it is ok not to bank the cord blood..but who knows right...

Yuki,
When you girl sleeps in the sarong, do you normally leave her in the sarong or do you carry her out and sleep on the cot? Of course this may wake her. I was thinking of letting the BB sleep in the cot in the day but use the sarong at night so he can fall asleep more easily. And I'm not sure if can leave the BB in the sarong the whole night. My HB is doing his Masters and I don't want the baby to wake up too often at night. Very difficult for my HB to concentrate in classes if he doesn't get enough sleep.

krissie,
welcome back!
Was it convenient for you to walk around? Where did you go? Did you go places like the Great Ocean Road, Yarra Valley etc? Did you get anything for your BB at Melbourne?
My sis is studying in Melbourne now. Cos if there's anything worth buying, I'll get her to buy them for me and bring it back during her hols.