(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

durianlover...faith is a nice name but yeah ppl may mispronounce it. recently i told my MIL my son name, caleb. she said..isn;t that lou puo (carrot in english). nearly faint. haha

speaking of names, my fren named her gal hazel and the hubby said that he scared MIL will mispronunce as 'hei se' cos they always find english names hard to pronounce...

Sy/SSF - haha... that's funny...

Chinese so mah fan oh... I also thought of Faith & i really like it... but my husband surname Tan.. so may end up "Fei Tan" (Fat Egg)... then I came across Natalie (means born on Christmas) & i thot its quite nice coz most likely i'll be due around Christmas... then again when add with TAN, it may end up as "Nai Ta Li Tan" (Big Breasted Egg).... Tan also very hard oh... = (

Yuki - My first few choices way before I got pregnant was ASHLEY or ARIEL for girls.... but I dropped them coz i thought they have no biblical meaning... Since Ashley means Peace with GOD then I may re-consider again... thanks! = )

hahaaa Clare ya so funny...laughing so hard on your na da li dan. *LOL* anymore funny names anyone??
actually i got one friend son called Ryan and her MIL always call him Lion come Lion. haha...

hahaha all of you are so funny! yah must think carefully about the names we choose for our babies...dun want them to grow up being 'suanned' by others!

SSF,
faith too difficult for parents to pronounce...i can just imagine my dad pronouncing it as 'fate' or something like that! words with "th" a bit for older folk to pronounce leh

hehee...true..if they cannot pronounce, frankly speaking i will encourage them to use chinese name la. easier for them and soothing to our ears :p

wonder if any of you feel that your tummy's very tight, like going to burst?? i always feel very tight esp after dinner n can be very uncomfortable. Feel as though my skin is super stretched and if i stand up straight, i feel as though my tummy will burst!

durianlover..yes i do. normally after a filling and satisfying meal. what i always do is walk ard and refrain from drinking too much water.

hmm yah but sometimes i dun even hv to eat a lot to feel really stretched. Then when i walk i feel i musn't stand up too straight if not tummy feels even tighter! like gonna burst!

anyway i'm gonna zzzz already...u shd sleep early too! chat tmr

Hi everyone..morning!! TGIF!!! Yippy...
Woke up so early this morning..excited to pick my hubby from airport later at 2p.m. he said he bought me a maternity jeans..but he don;t really know how to buy for my size. always oversize! hehee... told him not to buy but he said he like the design. see la if its on sale in this forum means i cannot wear. haha...

btw, are you guys having any itchness around your tummy? i don;t know if its becoz my tummy is small, i don;t find it itchy. with that, i can be very lazy to apply moisturizer. havent been applying for so long. anyone same as me?

durianlover,
Heehee... you still crave for durians?
Yah, my stomach also feel tight at night, below the navel. But usually when I go pee after dinner, the tightness will ease.

SSF,
Get itchiness on my stomach sometimes, but quite minor. Scratch a bit, the itch will go away. Got 1 or 2 tiny pimples poping up on my stomach too. I'm also very lazy, don't apply moisturizer and stretchmark cream often. Bought 1 tube a few months ago and only used them once or twice a week, if I remember.

Morning Gals!
IT's Friday!

Durianlover,
normally my tummy won't feel stretched, but these few days, seems to have suddenly grown in size hee hee, so feel tighter. Remember to apply your stretchmark cream to help ease the tightness

SSF,
me too, have itchness, normally at night. Somteimes I'll scratch until the whole area is red, and kana scolding by hubby.

Queen,
i was also lazy to use the cream previously, but since I find tummy have grown quite abit, better to put, so I try to apply everyday.

Morning everyone!!! its the most anticipated day of the week

durian lover, i share your sentiments.. tummy like wana burst. so full n tite esp at the end of the day.. and i always drink alot of water cos very dehydrated. somemore weather not so good, plus heaty.. so cant afford to not drink leh..

the creaming part... at nite i get HB to do it. morning when i apply moisturiser to face before make-up, i pour extra to apply on tummy... haha 2-in-1

anyone wana sign up TMC Oct class? i b calling them in a while to check on availability.. HB also works shift, will try to go wf me. if not my sis will take over
think i better learn so that lesser conflicts with MIL on baby caring...

Better to start putting the stretchmark cream. My gf has purple stretchmarks on her tummy already. I just discovered a few dark pink strechmarks on my backside too.. so sad..
I never put on my backside so far, so maybe that's why. So far, only put on tummy, thighs, breasts.

morning gals!!
so happy weekend is here.

SSF,
u must be really excited. hee, i can almost feel your excitment. hubby always ask me whether bb got miss him or not

durianlover,
i also feel the tightness ard the tummy after a meal. sometimes so tight until the skin feels like going to burst and a bit painful.

i try not to drink too much water when i eat but drink more after i digest my food a bit so that i dun get too bloated.

sleepingdeer,
i also itch a lot!! in fact, think mine is throughout the day. i put baby lotion everynight on my hands and legs but still dry and put baby oil on tummy but also itch. think not power enough. i got red spots on my tummy from the itch.

krissie,
i can't recognise stretch marks. i try to stare at my stomach to see got or not but can't tel leh.

oh yah, forgot to mention.
anyone of you have pets? my mum keep telling me not to carry my dog or else my baby will look like my dog...got such things meh?

Krissie,
Actually I thought stretchmarks will only show after the delivery when we start to lose weight quickly? Stretchmarks are formed when the skin 'slackens' and loses its elasticity after being stretched due to weight gain. Rapid weight loss will create the stretchmarks due to 'excess' skin as the body loses weight. So now shouldn't see stretchmarks? I used to be a few kgs overweight in uni and when I lost all the weight, I had faint stretchmarks on my butt and upper thigh area. Same case for my hubby, who used to lift weights. Now married, he seldoms go to the gym and stretchmarks are forming on his triceps area due to lost in muscle bulk.
Maybe those purple or pink marks are just veins which became more obvious as the skin is stretched thinner due to extra flesh and fats?

no lah SY - no such things. But try to be away from pets as they have fur and now that you are pregannt, you are more sensitive.

I also find my tummy like suddenly grown in size like that... then feel quite bloated at night as well...

Very lazy to apply the cream but still make it a point to apply twice daily... cos gynae told me better prevent... cos stretch mark is permanent...

Hi clare,

I know what you mean. I borrow lots of baby names book from the library but not all gives a bibical meaning. The book whereby i got the meaning of Ashley was borrow from a friend whom i have not contacted for sometime so pai say to approach her to find my second baby's name. The book is really good, besides the meaning of the name, it comes with a bible verse.
Maybe will try the Christian bookstore to see if i can find similar book.

Another suggestion to look for meaning of names is to look out for those bookmarks with names. They usually explain the meaning too.
Saw some at the Life Bookstore.

SY - me also got a cocker spaniel... but i always never carry her cos she is too big for me to carry... she got really thick and long fur, so nowadays i always to got spent money to groom her often otherwise scared not good for me...

SY,
Aiya, the older generation always have 'pantang' things to tell you. Like cannot go to the zoo else your baby will look like monkey. Or cannot shift furniture or drill things etc. No scientific basis one lah. But some gynaes will caution about being around animals which carry bacteria easily, especially stray animals we see outside. But I guess as long as your dog is clean, should be ok loh. You might want to check with your gynae.

Hi Celine

I am interested in the class... plan to call them today to check on availability also...

Hubby also on shift work so sianz... if he cant make it for the class I also dunno who can accompany me liao.

Hi Queen,

Stretch marks will form during pregnancy. As our tummy grows bigger, our skin are stretched, thus the stretch marks.

I guess itch on the tummy is normal cos as our skin sttretch, it gets tighter.... For myself, i always have very dry skin and and so the itch was very bad. During my last trimster, my whole body itch and had to be refered to a demerterlogist.... Can't sleep at night cos it was so itchy.

Do try to apply moisturiser constantly and diligently. My friend got stretch marks from her pregnancy and it was very bad. It takes quite sometime for the stretch mark to fade. Her baby is 16 months already but the stretchmarks are still there. But then again, i heard someone mentioned that stretch marks are really the genes. If your mother haven't got them, you have lesser chance of getting it too.

SY

My MIL also warned me not to watch "Lord of the ring" dvd... But I think these are all pantang...but if can then follow their advice also no harm... I keep a dog as well... now still play with him occasionally... but all the cleaning up leave to hubby to do...

SY
Then, I think u dun have any stretchmarks.. It's qt obvious. But, keep looking out every week to check loh..
Re dogs, I'm not sure how true it is, but my cousin's ears are very soft, can flip type (a bit like dog's). Coz, my auntie was also playing with the dog when she was preg, even though my granny kept nagging at her to stay away from the dog. So, my granny sort of blames her for it loh.
So, dun know how true it is or mere coincidence.

queen
Can get strechmarks when we increase or decrease wt sharply. I had a few gf who also had stretchmarks during preg. Maybe coz we put on too quickly? My gf has purple stretchmarks on her tummy now is 8mths preggie.

SY
BTW, not only Chinese have such beliefs. Ang Mohs also have.. when I read the book, they also avoid like nailing, etc.. someother stuff which I cant rem. So, I was pretty surprised that ang mohs also have such stuff.

hmmm...but my dog doesn't get much attention at home except from me so i try to play with him more when i can. but of cos i dun put my face too near him nowadays. and if i dun give him attention, he will keep jumping at me for it!

pochacco,
my dog's fur was cut very short recently cos it was tangled. so now easy to maintain. mine is a maltese but we try to keep his fur short.

Zhimin,

called TMC aldy...only left a few slots. its $168 for weekday Mon-Fri (w gst) and HB encouraged to join at no xtra cost.. Mrs Wong's class oni left sat 7-9pm.i dun wan burn my sat, so i b taking Fri nite 7-9pm by Staff Nurse Chong.

im calling them to confirm now... quick! quick!

hi Celine...Mrs Wong classes is highly recommended. She wrote books sold in TMC and she is the creator of the popular Papaya soup to enhance more milk for breast feeding which Zoe Tay swears by it. So you may want ot consider.

I am not so sure abt Nurse Chong.

queen,
i also heard abt the going to zoo one....was plannign to go to zoo when a colleague kept telling me not to go

krissie,
surprised that angmoh also have such things!!

i hope i got no stretch marks. they say stretch marks permanent one. maybe next time i will ask gynae to help me see. i not very good at looking. but just can tell that my skin is realy really dry.

thanks to all for the comforting words. i also dun want my hb or MIL to blame me if my baby looks like my dog. but i really think such things got no basis. even my frens laughed when they heard abt this.

will ask my gynae abt keeping dogs next time. must write down or sure forget again...

durianlover

yah, i feel that too, esp at night. In the morn, it's like deflated. At night suddenly swell! :p Tight tight...

Celine
I'm going for the Wed night class in Oct, conducted by Mrs Wong.

Gals

I heard some pp can get their stretchmarks in their last mth of preg. So be diligent and apply your moistuiser faithfully. Anyway, my gynae also says it's in the genes one, so may not help too...

Morning Ladies!!!

I have been using Clarins HUILE Body Treatment Oil since 3months pregnant n so far i like it very much. Coz its really like massage oil n smells not bad I'll apply & massage my tummy after shower everyday n at the same time tell BB its "Oil Oil Time!"...

Me having dry & itchy throat n have been coughing since yesterday... just went to see doc near my office n gotten an MC. So now in office clear some work then go home rest. U gals take care too... = )

SY and gals,
no lah, these are all pantang sayings only, I go to the zoo every month!

As for pets in the house, as long as you wash your hands after playing with them and before meals, should be fine... in fact, there are studies done that show that babies who grow up with animals or pets in the house have higher immunity towards allergies and asthma, rather than those who live in sterile conditions! They social and interactive skills are also better than those who grow up without pets... I am trying hard to use this finding to get my hubby to have pets in the house next time, coz I love animals!

mashy fyi i am using PALMERS Cocoa butter cream. not greasy at all and will not leave u oily all over. it is priced at 30 plus for 125g.

mashy,
i also heard that the creams may not help much. so i just use baby oil. read that from another thread

clare,
take care! a lot of pple sick now. drink lotsa of water

SSF

thanks for the advice.. but i signed up for the Fri Nurse Chong class aldy.. cos Sat will be busy for HB n me.. if i gota burn my Sat, there are so many things i cant do... so Fri b good...

Sleepingdeer

oh, u r a zoo lover??? y every mth go zoo? i also like the zoo..juz tat now not so convenient to carry my Celeste wf me... tummy indeed getting heavier...

anyone stil looking for CL? TMC provides at $2500 (w gst) and also includes surcharge of $200 if it falls during new year. At least i have an alternative on hand if MIL decides to not do it for me.. actuali i will prefer CL, though gota burn my pocket... but at least no worries bout gettin post-natal blues if MIL were to hovering over me..

yuki,
can check with you whether you used cloth nappies or just pampers? not sure which brand of cloth nappies and nappy liners to buy.

anyone buying and got recommendation?

sleepingdeer,
u got zoo membership is it? hee, i also like to go zoo but nowadays quite lazy.

cel_cel,
i got my CL at 2200 (but she not coming for 4 days during CNY). so you getting CL or MIL to do for u? Initially my MIL did offer but i pester my hb to let me get CL. i also dun wan to get stressed out with MIL ard.

SY

the TMC CL will b on half day on the eve and 1st day of new year. cos i couldnt find anyone else, so i thought this TMC one can b my best standby sonce they are trained also...

ya lor, MIL do will b vy stress one.Since nid to pay her $1k for being my CL, i rather top up $1.5k (though super super heart pain)
to get a CL whom i can feel at ease wf.. no nid to owe MIL a BIG favour...