(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

krissie,

im into my 23rd week this week... reali shocked when i saw the number flash out on the weighing machine..i have never never crossed the 60 kg mark, so a little sad yest. HB also shocked when i shouted while in the gynae room... but gynae say all for baby, wat to do... but stil think i too kiasu aldy.. will take alternate days for milk n cheese aldy... last week, bb was measured at M size, 359 gm but think baby gettin vy strong,from her punches i can reali tell...

sleepingdeer,they say if having ger, complexon very bad.. cos gers steal their mother's looks..haha dun know how true, but *touch wood* mine is stil ok... if not i reali dun know hw to face the world!!! aldy now so fat.. arms never so fleshy before.. but stoopid HB say good! good! better than skinny skinny time.. *angry*

I back from my detail scan on Tues... confirm is a gal gal... bb weighs 321g...

I now very headache... cos haven sign up for any antenatal class yet... and many ppl told me is very beneficial... but my hubby on shift work... very hard to accomodate the timimg of the class... now really dunno how liao.

zhimin, i think its beneficial if your hubby can come along with you as they will teach you some stuffs which they want hubby to remember for you when you are delivering like back massage, breathing techniques. if you can someone else, that person will not be in teh delivery ward with you. so its no use.

FYI in TMC, can change classes. No problem.

SSF,
when is the latest we can sign up for antenatal class? i haven't sign up also cos of work schedules. Popular time slots are also taken up very fast.

Zhimin,
i try to read up more lor in this case since i not going for the classes.

Hi SSF

ya... this is what my colleague told me too...

Change class means if my hubby cant make it on certain days we can join other classes? But if there isn't any vacancy for the class I wan to change to?

Thanks for the advice.

SY - its better to go when you are in your second trimester and tummy still not that big. easier to move around. also some massaging technique and exercise are useful at early stage.

yes zhimin you are right. thats what many of them do in my class. cannot make it, then join another timeslot or another day. sat has 3 classes i think.

I also notice there is a price difference to pay for the class if deliver in TMC... however if I decide to go to TMC for delivering but this is still not my final decision... I should pay for which rate?

SSF,
that time when i check with KK, their classes in Sept are pretty full. If i start in Oct, is it too late?

Zhimin,
i m a bit lazy and some pple tell me no need. but i think it is good to go. maybe i discuss with my hubby again. he has been very busy lately and dun think he will be able to go also.

sigh, hubby not ard for 2 days cos he go workshop. think me and bb will miss him very much... do u find that you are more needy when pregnant? i find myself a bit like that leh

Hi Durianlover,
mine is a gal, hee hee, and it's true, my pimples... yeeks! before I didn't really have problem skin, just enlarged pores, hardly any pimples... now my skin is so rough...!

Durianlover/SSF,
me stools also greenish, and suffer from constipation sometimes... I do take neurogain, calcium and iron pills, and since I started taking, poo becomes green liao..

Mashy,
was the treatment at National Skin centre expensive? I will go see my facial lady and see whether she has any cure... if it doesn't get better, then maybe try National Skin centre...

COnfused,
no worries, just take more meat to substitute the iron. For Calcium, either take the pills or drink more milk.
I keep forgetting to drink milk, but since I pop calcium pills daily, should be ok.

SY,
Quidam was nice, though more suitable for adults than kids, as the theme is a little dark. Yah, very expensive, we got heavily discounted seats, coz I know someone in M1 loh... if not, I would also save money for bb. Which show did you go? I went to see Satimbanco, and loved it!

I loved the clown act in Quidam, keep laughing until I couldn't stop and was tearing, was in serious danger of fainting coz cannot draw enough oxygen into my lungs, was laughing too hard... haha! A few of the other acts were pretty impressive...

Krissie,
so looking forward to seeing my facial lady again, really hope she can do something about the pimples... you go facial too?

Cel_cel,
durianlover and me both having gals too, and both got pimples liao... buuuutttt... Krissie and Mashy having boi, but also got pimples... I also feel fat and ugly... some more so difficult to get pretty and dainty maternity wear... those that are nice are so expensive, think have to resign myself to look like aunty liao...

Some more, I am going to chop off my long wavy hair tomorrow! And cannot colour or highlight! I don't mind short hair, but I like to colour, now cannot colour, sure very ah soh looking.

Zhimin,
congrats on your bb gal! If you wanna sign up for antenatal classes, better do it soon... i signed up, and response was so good, that I wouldn't get the October class, have to go for November one, which is a little late. Maybe on days your hubby cannot make, ask your mum or sister or galfriend to go with you?

sleeping deer
u having gal gal already rite... dunno who told me galgal will make mummy break up...
I also start to have lotsa pimple these few days.. dunno why...my pimple settle for a while not come back again...

zhimin
COngrats on your Gal gal!

SSF,
I went to see my gynae yesterday. yes, it is infection. Was given cream to apply and pill to insert down there.

Read from babycentre on pregnancy complications, stree, pressure, tiredness and lack of sleep.

I got quite serious breakout during first trimester... but now still ok... my friend commented my complexion better... except that the scars left during first trimester still a bit reddish.

I heard that if referral by polyclinic to NSC will be much cheaper... if go to NSC straight they will charge higher...

sleepingdeer - thanks. i'll take note. yo! me too leh, b4 pregnant face hardly got pimples n complexion very nice but now juz like a ugly duckling. (my pimples also keep popping) but now slightly reduce liao but skin very dry.

Notice some of you have names for your baby already. I am trying to name my baby girl but have problems finding books that explain the meaning of the names. Especially bibical meaning.

Any recommendations?

Hi Yuki,

Me also looking for a nice biblical name for my gal... yet to think of any so will be going to Library these 2 days to see if i can find any good books... meanwhile just pray for GOD to reveal... = )

talk about weight gain, i hope that i only gain max 12 kgs.... so, i try as much as possible not to take white bread and white rice.

eating dark green colour vege can give us iron, too. so far, i don't take any other supplements, other than the obimin doc gave me.

haven't got the name for bb yet.... hb also don't know where to start from. haha...

i have signed up TMC antenatal class, Saturday morning, Mrs wong's class. it will start from early october. oh, so, we can change the classes if we are not able to make it?
i still haven't decided which hospital to deliver.... anyone going to deliver at mt a?

zhimin - opt for TMC first as you need not register when you apply for this class.

SY - i think oct is fine. my hubby is also out of the country since Monday. me 4 days worst. but he be back tomorrow and i am going to pick him from the airport

so looking fwd to tmr. this morn, my leg cramped again and no one to massage for me. sob sob. i went to the wall and do stretching.

peipei- take care of your infection and avoid sex for the time being.

yuki - some suggestions....hannah, ashley, kate that i like

SY & Durianlover,

Bought and ate the small ones. Been told the big ones and Del Monte ones will cause phlegm in babies. Thanks but not to worry gals. I have been warned and advised adequately

sleepingdeer,
the one i went to is allegria (not sure whether i spell correctly) but i was very impressed by their acts.

the problem with my skin is that it gets more oily. any one of you notice that your face seems more swollen? i think most pple can tell i having boy from my face. i certainly dun take that as compliment...

mashy,
maybe i will go get referral if it gets worse. just that lot of big and ugly pimples and cannot get used to it! i never did facial before and now i m starting.

i also tot having gals will have nicer complexion. my fren who's having gal has such nice complexion and even her beautician commented that. but i guess it's different for individuals.

SSF,
u must be very happy that your hubby is coming back. lucky we have our bb to accompany us.

Sy - i have been telling my baby that daddy is not ard..you must be good and ting hua. ya tomorrow i taking time off in the nooon and will go airport to chill out first. you be patient...2 days very fast.

clare & Yuki

U can find name books at Life Bookstore.

SY

Just remember if u going to get referral from polyclinic, try not to stay inside too long. Coz got a lot of sick pp there. no gd to get infected. Best if u can get company and get him/her to help u while u wait outside. Go in only when your turn is coming.

SSF,
yup,
i keep telling bb to kick me so that i won't feel lonely. i told him if he miss daddy, he can kick me to tell me.

hee..enjoy your leave tmr!

i going back to my parents place these 2 days so at least i can see my beloved dog...not too bad also.

mashy,
thanks for the tip!

cel cel
You're better than me.. My hb dun like fat women.. he like thin type like Stephanie Sun type.
So, I feel like a hippo now..

Zhimin / SY
Congrats on your little princess.
You better call the hosp to ask abt the class. They are quite full very fast. Better to call to reserve a slot.

sleepingdeer
No, I dun go for facials regularly.. only once in a super blue moon, like 2 yr, maybe once.

Sunny
cookie, sleepingdeer & I are delivering at Mt. A, coz we have the same gynae.

will you be using cloth nappies? which brand of cloth nappies is good? i saw tollyjoy one but i think it looks quite ex. it was selling for 18.50 for a pack of 10. is that the norm?

Hi SSF,

Thanks. Coincidently my elder girl is name Ashley.
It means peace with God. The other books that i saw are all explaining Ashley means "ash' etc..... A friend loaned me a name book with bibical meaning and that's how i find out the meaning of Ashley. So far Praise God that my girl is indeed peaceful in nature.

Hi Clare,

I am also praying hard. Maybe God will just impress on our heart about our babies' names!

Hi mommies.

I think different gynae has different expectation on weight gain. My gynae's recommendation is only 12-15. For my first pregnancy, once i gained 3kg in one month during my sixth month, kena scolded by her. Says if i continue at this stage, i will put on even more at a later stage. For this current pregnancy, so far my weight gain at 21 weeks is only 2.5kg and she just commented that it's slow and steady.

In the third trimster especially the last month, we will out on about 2-3 kg per month......

Yesterday I went Kids Mall at Suntec and I saw one girdle (dunno spelling is right?)... from the front of the box I think this is for use after pregnancy on our waist...

Read from previous post someone mentioned to buy a binder to use... wonder this girdle is it the same as binder... cos the price much cheaper... only $20+ I think.

krissie,
u confused liao. mine is a boy

think i will ask my hubby again when he back from his workshop. want him to go with me. if not i feel that i dun really want to go...lazy hor..

yuki,
do they look at your build to recommend weight gain? cos i read that there's different expectations depending on pre pregnancy weight

in the class, they mentioned the ideal weight gain depends on your weight also. the least is 12-15 kg. but if you are on the heavier side, range can be wider.

yuki- thks for sharing the meaning of Ashley. i like that name so much btu my husband surname is Lee so sounds like Ash Lee Lee. he said not nice. anyway, now its a boy, that name can be on hold till the next one. hehee..

mashy, whats ur boy name?

hi clare n yuki,
i'm also hving great difficulty choosing a meaningful but nice biblical name for my girl. Problem is that all the names i like my hubby doesn't like n vice versa...we hv run out of choices already!! biblical names quite limited.

yuki,
i'm relieved that there's someone out there who's putting on same amt of weight as me...was so concerned i wasn't putting on enough!

SSF,
my hubby's surname also Lee...

so many of you started on names already. I haven start yet. still arguing on whether to have english name

mine's a girl! hosea is a boy's name right?
i also like ashley actually...but husband's surname also Lee! same as SSF! so ashley lee will sound weird.

hahaa durianlover..so we are in the same boat. i jokingly told my hubby to adopt my surname instead. haha.. actually i like the name Issac also. but then he said Issac Lee sounds like EXACTLY. so i find Lee hard to match christian name with. sigh*

Hi Mashy Brainz,

Ha ha. Your boy will be a fighter! But that's ok for a boy.

Actually may not always mean it. My friend's boy is named Brian and girl, Chloe. I recalled she mentioned Brain suppose to mean active and Chloe suppose to mean gentle but turn out the girl more 'rough' than the boy.

Hi Zhimin,

When i did my malay massage, at the end of the seven session, the lady recommend me to buy girdle as well and i must say it works wonder. But have to wear it often. She bought for me from some store she frequent and it cost only $10.....

Hi Sy,

I suppose they will look at our body build.... I was about 50kg and 1.63m tall and my gynae recommended 10 - 15kg weight gain.

Hi Durainlover,

Actually hubby and i was deciding between Faith and Ashley for my elder girl but lots of teacher friends warned me that older generation may not be able to pronounce Faith and will end up sound like 'fai' which means fat.....

Hi SSF,

For boys names, i like Joash, Joshua, Zachary (remembered by the Lord), Elijah.

SSF,
i know what you mean! Lee makes many names sound weird!! And the names better not have a 'lee' sound in it if not will be funny. Sigh...gotta search ard n pray hard abt the name! hee

mashy,
thanks for the link! will check it out tonite perhaps!

my first son name = Duncan Toh (Scottish Gaelic dark-skinned warrior)
baby going to be named = Damian Toh(Greek constant, tamer)

Will leave the chinese for Yu Long Zi to name