(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF,
my fren's son also named caleb. think he quite a good boy and very cute.

sunny,
i also always want to go toilet at night. feel so tired already and still go toilet...sian. then recently wake up feeling hungry. couldn't drag myself out of bed to get something to eat. just force myself to go back to sleep.

seems like suddenly got a lot of princess ard!

confused

thanks! i'm stopping myself from eating all the sugary stuff now. Hope that will help...

And yesterday's starving (due to my stomach flu) made me lose 1 kg!!!

mashy - dont starve yourself. try to eat something light. (at least got food inside so that your bb wont starve) i still eat a little sweet stuff once a week. Very difficult to control.

missy - thanks for the info
today i bring banana cake for my tea break but after reading the info i dare not eat liao.

confused - can eat just eat moderately and drink plenty of water. yesterday i also eat mooncake..hehee..but 3 slices only.

mashy,
no good to starve. this book that i got says if we go hungry for too long, it will have impact on bb's health next time. something to do with insulin and higher chance of them getting diabetes or something like that. can't remember cos i read it quite some time back. but moral of story is we shouldn't go hungry for too long.

mashy,
can drink milk or eat porridge? eat really small meals. today better? can at least eat more?

sunny is right. there's this thing on glycemic index of food. to maintain sugar level, we shd take more of certain group of foods that have lower index. maybe can check out internet for more information?

clare,
haha your dreams sound so cute! same thing for me! before preggie, i used to dream of running after something or being chased, so wake up feeling exhausted. But now preggie more clumsy so no more running liao. Heehee

mashy,
wow to lose 1kg overnight is quite a lot!

hey gals,
anyone of u intending to go for pre-natal massage? my fren says it's supposed to be v gd n can help easy labour and delivery.

How to Switch to a Low GI Diet

Use breakfast cereals based on oats, barley and bran

Use "grainy" breads made with whole seeds

Reduce the amount of potatoes you eat

Enjoy all types of fruit and vegetables (except potatoes)

Eat plenty of salad vegetables with vinaigrette dressing

sunny

he didn't say lah, just that i could have taken contaminated food. But i strongly suspect i got it from my FIL. Coz he just had it over the weekend and i shared food on Mon with him.

So gals, remember hor, don't share food with anyone. Use gong kuai.

hmm didn't know stomach flu is contagious? thought it's usually coz we eat something wrong, rather than coz of germs?

anyway mashy do take care n nurse urself back to health!!

durianlover

yes, it's contagious and it can live in the body even after you're ok. So be careful when u eat outside with friends/family lor. U know lah, chinese way of eating is not very good.

Mashy
Are u feeling better now? Sounds qt serious, your pain. My gynae didnt ask me to go for the test. Did yours ask u to go for the test? Hee hee.. see if bb is still big next Mon.

can try drinking some warm milk before sleeping. I find that it gives me better quality sleep.

yup i also drink warm milk before sleeping! makes tummy feel nice, warm and comfy and can curb whatever hunger pangs u have! only thing is that i'll hv to wake up to pee in the middle of the night!

For the past week, I have had a sudden craving for bananas
Eat ice cream, got to be banana split...bought a comb of it to eat. Had to control finishing it at one go.

So far, that's the only craving I have had in the pregnancy
Funny baby!

Stomach flu in infectious. My hb also had it last, last week. We never shared anything.. hee hee.. never even kiss.

sleepingdeer
thanks..hiya think Dr Ho forgot to tell me Baby's weight ley... I will check my scan print out again if go any weight indication.

Celine
Wow your gal gal already has a name...
I'm leaving this job to my HB...now my turn to comment on his choice...hahaha...
I think of boys name earlier... and he make fun of most name I told him

Durain lover
Stomach flu is Definitely contagiuos... I had it earlier.. LS the 1st day then vomit the 2nd day... my HB got spread by me the next evening... end up both of us MC at home... very shiong.

Sunny
Thanks... good to know another princess!!!
heehee ya lor... suddenly like lotsa princess liao.
My colleagues... 5 of them guess me having BB boy..tho I have instinct that I have gals...
So Mummy instinct is very jun one???....

hi cookie
ya i think mummy instinct very zhun. i also got feeling that i have gal. then really it's a gal.

hee i think my mummy instinct not very zhun! i wanted a gal but coz my hubby thought it was a boy n was quite sure abt it, so i got confused n cldn't 'sense' whether gal or boy! haha
but glad it's a gal!

last time my brother always kena stomach flu n my parents didn't 'quarantine' him...eat meals also all share together and none of us got stomach flu. So i always had the impression that it's not contagious!

cookie,
i also dun like milk but i find Anmum choc flavour tastes quite nice leh..like milkshake! u may wanna try

i also think mummy's intuition very zhun. i had a strong feeling mine is boy and quite right even though hubby wanted a gal.

sysa,
some pple say dun eat too many those del monte type of bananas.

cookie,
try the choc flavor milk. i dun like milk also but i drink that. and i drink half a cup each time so that can quickly finish.

Hi Gals
I have scary expereince last nite...
i was stir frying some egg and added Oyster sauce to it for dinner...
Later my HB wanna cook somemore to eat and use the same oyster sauce but noticed the bottle rim has turn white colour... after a close look it's actually mouldy...
As all our sauces are placed in Fridge so I'm overlooked to checked before using it the first time...
so I'm a little worried... if I have accidentally eaten some mouldy oyster sauce tho I fry it over the wok for a couple of mins.
I do not feel uncomfortable... will there be a chance that baby is affected by mummy dun feel unwell??
Just worry

cookie...

b more careful next time...i dun think it will affet since u wont b adding chunks of sauce to your egg... just watch out these few days for stomach upsets.. shld be fine...

cookie,
shd be fine lah. Not like u're eating mould or what...perhaps just a little contaminated that's all. Anyway yah like wat celine says, just be more careful! i realise my oyster sauce bottle always has mould round the rim too. Must be careful abt these sauces!

mashy,
yah guess our resistance is lower now! But i always hv this feeling that i'm stronger now coz taking vitamins everyday...previously never used to take at all. haha so gives me impression that i'm stronger

celine/durainlover
ya lor.. I'm so carless and blur ley...
Only part of the rim turn mouldy... really hope the sauce didn't get in touch with the rim lor...
hmm... thanks.. will monitor...

cookie, remember to always wipe the rim with tissue before storing it. you and baby should be fine. don;t worry too much.

i always store my sauce outside and not in the fridge. so far never see any mould on it. could it be temp difference when u take in and out from the fridge?

cookie,
dun worry too much.

i used to store oyster sauce in the open, till i found out that always got mould, so i started storing in the fridge. After that, no more mould on the rim. So i thought fridge better?

same same, i thought fridge better also... not so easy to attract germs... and u know nowadays wf the aedes mosquitoes going around, we reali gota b XTRA careful...

think the mosquitoes now mutate to b very strong aldy...so we hav to b stronger!!!

morning gers...

gosh!! went gynae yest and realised total put on 9kg aldy!!!
doc say ok, cos it ranges from 15-25 but but... i dun wan to fall under the EXTREME group!!

when doc ask me wat i eat, he got a BIG shock! I said milk, cheese * his eyes getting bigger * , eggs and soya bean milk * his eyes even bigger * he say its too much aldy and very fattening. says our body can oni take in tat amount of calcium a day and the prenavit he gave me has gt calcium in it aldy.. and he say excess calcium can b told from darker yellow uringe and greenish stools.. (which is reali the case for me)

*sob* i gona dilligently swim from next week and do more walks.. no more white bread, oni wholemeal bread!!!
kao_frustrated.gif

Cel cel
I've put on 9+kg too.. My gynae also seems to say that my wt gain is ok. He says that if I put on 2kg+/mth now is ok. I thot the greenish stools is due to the vitamins? Anyway, last time my stools used to be greenish too, when I just took the vit. Now, they're back to normal colour. So funny, hor?

This am my colleague was just telling me that I must eat well (dun diet). Coz she said that one of my colleagues couldnt eat well & when bb is born, he was v weak.. So, I guess we have to continue eating, but maybe cut down on fatty and sweet stuff. Eat more of steamed, soupy, wholemeal, etc.

Krissie / Celine,
I hardly take milk and cheese on top of the multi-vits. At most 1 slice of cheese on 2 or 3 days a week for breakfast. My stools also greenish, urine also dark yellowish. So don't think it is due to excess calcium or iron? The colour should be due to the multi-vits? In any case, there is no need to take extra milk and cheese daily in addition to the vitamins unless on doctor's advice. Cos alot of the food we take daily contains calcium and iron as well, like spinach, bread, fish, beef, ikan bilis etc. If your daily diet balanced, with the multi-vits given by the doctor, should be adequate enough. But I think nutrients from natural foods are more easily absorbed into my body compared to pills. So if there is enough supply of calcium and iron for the day from food, then may not be necessary to take the pills from the doc. But mothers to be are always gan cheong lah. We always think excess better than not enough right?
But all these extras to contribute to weight gain loh.

morning gals,
yawn, really sleepy today, stayed up until 1am last night, coz we had discounted tickets for Quidam, so went for it, today morning, could barely wake up..!

Cookie,
dun worry about the mould, should be ok
Actually if we are on calcium tablets, it provides sufficent calcium for bb already, so dun need to drink milk

Cel_cel,
me also put on 8+ kg already lah, and that was 2 weeks ago... think now should be 10 already
We can't do much now, the extra weight is all for the sake of bb
I also dun want to hit the 20kg mark, hope can control around 15kg...

Hey gals,
how is your face so far? My pimples are popping out, so many, yuck! Going for facial on Sat, think my facial lady will be shocked, 3 months never see me, my face like volcano erupting... hee hee

my stools also greenish since i took the prenatal vitamins...i think it's also due to iron pills leh! ever since i took iron supplements stools even more greenish.

cel_cel,
actually the kind of food u take is also wat i eat leh! u mean no need for so much meh? but i like to take cheese, soya bean milk and all those kind of food! in fact, i think i've been eating many many eggs - average of at least 7 per week...hmm....

sleepingdeer,
is ur baby boy or girl? can't remember. Coz i've got some frenz who firmly believe that when u expect a boy, will hv poorer complexion! Well, i think i proved them wrong! i'm expecting a girl n i also hv more pimples
In fact, my complexion started to get worse right from the very start of pregnancy - that was the reason why i suspected i was preggie (other than late menses)!

hi all! i also take the iron, calcium pills, folic acid and neutrogain pill but my stools aren't green. normal colour but at times i do get constipation but now i drink lots of water and its better.

Hi gals!

the greenish stools is due to excess iron lah.

sleepingdeer & durianlover

remember my face in a big mess? well, i went to the national skin clinic and it has improved. Really relieved. It's still pimply but not as bad as it was the last few months. maybe u can visit them.

hello gals

wow! u gals taking iron, calcium pill n ... i only take neurogain. Will it affect my bb har? gynae only give me calcuim pill n neurogain n i seldom take calcium pill.

is the greenish stools due to extra iron? i dun take iron pills but my stools are also greenish and sometimes also loose.

my face also very bad.
so sad. the pimples keep coming. i tot supposed to improve in the 2nd trimester but no leh.

sleepingdeer,
is quidam nice? i wanted to watch it but so expensive!!! sigh..i like the previous show very much. but now need to save money.

mashy,
what do they give uwhen u go to NSC?