(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

this thread is moving fast!

cookie,
Congrates on feeling your BB. This feeling will come more often, usually below the navel. Next time you feel it again, should be confirmed!

SSF/Wenyl,
Wah, my BB seems big at 372g compared to yours. I'm at 21 weeks during my detailed scan. Overall, I put on about 5kg. Wonder whether if BB's weight gain is proportional to ours? What about you?

confused/Krissie,
Looks like our BBs are all in the big sized category!

Celine,
Sorry to hear about your MC troubles with your boss. I understand your concern about saving as many medical leave and annual leave. How about taking this matter up one more level to your boss' boss? But might damage relationship with your boss further... Does your boss has kids? How come she is so insensitive?

Seems like pregnant ladies more prone to sickness, my MCs this year has increased by quite a bit! Am worried it will reflect badly with my boss.

Clare,
glad to hear that you decide to go for the detailed scan after all! The scan will check for physical defects and problems with the major organs. We will all feel better after the scan knowing that BB is fine. Even if BB has some problem (touchwood!), we'll at least be mentally prepared.

SSF,
how will the placenta move up? anything we can do? i think my tummy looks quite low. also want to ask the doc abt it the next time

mashy
i also get cramps at times and it is like muscle pull and can be quite painful but it goes off quite quickly. try not to bend or move too quickly. i find that each time i do that, i m more prone to muscle cramps

sleeping deer
yup, my tummy is showing. look preg now.
dun worry, after a while, the shape will be obvious.

Celine
Am interested too.. but, not too sure if it'll be too big for me..
I'll take a look at the designs first to see if I can take the risk. Some designs are easier to alter.

SSF
Me just had my 1st leg cramp last nite.

Pup pup, Confused
Congrats on your little princess.

SY
hee hee.. ya loh.. my friend says maybe it's growth spurt.

Confused
Gynae didn't say that bb is big leh..
But, based on baby centre's devt charge. He does seem bigger than normal.

Cel cel
So sad to hear abt the mc thingy.. I think some bosses are more careful when it comes to preggie women. Recently, my boss also just took a big project which I had been handling for years (and put in so much effort into) to pass to another new colleague. Though he had reasons, I cant help feeling that me being preg had a bit to do with it. Although, I'm sad, but I tell myself no choice loh, baby have to come first.

Durianlover
I have no secret... appetitie just increased, so eat more... I think bb was hungry.. he heee..

thanks gals for your encouragement. so, i will wait for bb's to hint me he/she is ok inside.

celine
ya, don't argue with your boss. if she insisted like that, just follow loh. you have other HR colleague who's close to you. maybe you can ask privately. and know if it's really co policy or boss is picking on you.

Mashy,
thanks. u really have a lot of info!

think i must make it a point to ask doc next time.

sunny,
i also can't wait to feel baby. it's the only way to know that bb is ok.

Heehee sorry forgot to mention my apt is tomorrow morning... HB was told suddenly tomorrow his shift change to afternoon so I decided just do it.. so I called my gynae assistant & ask for tomorrow morning 9am apt. very last min hor? But no choice me already into my 23wk liao so its now or never... = P

SSF - yah, i'm doin it more of to see my BB in greater detail while she (most likely) is still inside me & also to get a more detail stats of BB for my BB journal... hahaha.... Thanks for low placnta advice will take note tomorrow... hopefully i'll get a good doc who's chatty & willing to explain lots to me. = )

Clare

Wow! U actually managed to get an appt so quickly. I had to wait for mine.
I wanted to book for next Mon but they say fully booked and i can only go to the Mon after next.

Mashy,
I didn't know its so hard to get a slot... think Cel_Cel too right couldn't get change of date? Guess I really have to Thank GOD coz If i couldn't get tomorrow morning's slot most likely may not go for it since HB's shift work doesn't allow him to go.

Will update all of you tommorow. =)

Hi celine
I think it's better for you to write in to MOM to enquire and get a black and white proof of what was being told instead of over the phone where no one can verify...I did email MOM before regarding of some other MC policies nd was being assisted immediately which was very helpful.

I think it's not really fair for them tod euct sat and sun as mc as you're not required to work on both days so how could they deduct when you're not working? crazy hor...

celine
since you have emailed MOM, let's wait for MOM's reply. But try to fight for it cos leave is v precious to us, preggie, esp u r like me no more sick leave..... we nd it for gyn's appt if on weekdays and also when we r unwell.

hi krissie,
i'm left with items 2,4,and 6. the others are sold. do let me know if u need more details on the measurements. i can measure it for u and let u know. so u can be more clear about the sizing

ladies... pls see reply from MOM

The Ministry is of the view that sick leave and hospitalisation leave are deducted only for the employee's working days. Hence it would exclude all off days, rest days and public holidays. This is because the employee is not expected to report for work on a public holiday, rest day or non-working day. Hence there is no need for him to apply for medical leave to stay away from work.

You may also wish to note that the provisions on sick leave/hospitalisation leave in the Employment Act is applicable only to manual workers (regardless of salary) and other employees earning $1,600 or less per month. For employees not covered by the Act or for non-manual workers earning above $1600 per month, their terms and conditions of employment pertaining to sick/hospitalisation leave etc are purely governed by the employment contract. If the contract is silent, it is subject to negotiation/mutual agreement between the employee and the employer.

* so it means its up to coy aldy lor. though most coy will b compassionate enuf to not deduct, think mine just very strict...

SSF

thanks for sharing on the info bout getting up from bed... hav been doing the wrong way :p now shall learn to adjust

SY - eventually the placenta will move up as the tummy grows bigger. i have been talking to bb to move it up for me every night. hehee..

the placenta is tied to the umbilical cord that provide food to the baby.

cel_cel
so are you plannign to talk to your company abt it again? has it happened to anyone before in the company?

SSF,
thanks. hee..think i shall talk to bb every night also to be good and move up.

My boi has been kicking me like siao last night. And my hb was actually amused and enjoyed tapping my tummy and feeling his kicks.
Noti boi, think next time, he'll be a handful.

SY

by doing nothing? hehheh. Dunno lah, think he's just one active boi. He's been kicking me everyday since 17 weeks. And not only does he kick, feel like he did somersaults and elbowed me. And feel my tummy turn. My hb was diagnosed as hyperactive when he's a kid, so maybe my boy also inherited that from him.

Does anyone of u feel like you wanna pee very often? I feel that whenever i'm standing, i wanna pee. I only feel better when i'm lying down, or sitting.

Is that becoz bb's on my bladder?

hi mashy..yes i pee more frequent after being pregnant. but i don't feel like peeing when standing. hmm..maybe i go to toilet very frequent so don't have that problem. do you go toilet frequently? if ya urgent, must go don;t tahan.

SSF

I go very often. Sometimes can be after pee, wanna pee again immediately.

But after i sit down, i'll feel better. I was already a pee queen even before pregnancy. Now it's worse.

Queen,
I was 19+weeks only when I went for detailed scan. My weight gain so far is abt 4-5kg. I tink ur baby is not big as u r already in ur 21 weeks.

Mashy,
Same here. I pee very often nowadays. Thot it shld be in 1st trimester that preggies will feel frequently urination. But I didn't get it then. Only started feeling the frequent urge to pee in 2nd trimester. Guess its baby weight pressing on our bladder. Sometimes the urge is quite strong but the amount is not so much leh.

Can feel bb kicks more obvious in the morning & before sleep.

sunny
you will soon, and you'll hope that he/she doesn't kick so hard. :p

Wenyl

Yah, i think i'll ask my gynae next time i see her. My boi kicks anytime leh. He esp loves to kick when i'm in a car. maybe it's the car vibration.

I pee more often in my 1st trim. these 1-2 weeks my pee frequency is bk to normal as before pregnancy.

COuld it be your placenta is low so press on yr bladder? or u have been drinking too much water?

bulma

Actually i haven't been drinking enough water. Been trying to make myself drink more often. I don't think so abt the placenta, coz during 1 of my visits, i ask my gynae whether i've low placenta and she said no.

So i think maybe it's my boi kicking my bladder.

hello gals

mashy - i do feel abdominal cramp n i think its normal. me too leh, pee very frequently. Yo! your boi boi so cute leh, i still dont feel the kick. Envy you

krissie - oh then u need not worry liao cos gynae didnt say any thing abt bb. Mine say did make some comment.

Bulma,
My detailed scan shows placenta not low leh. Dont think I over drank. Still not drinking up to the recommended 1.5 litre. Anyway, my gynae ask me to drink more as our body tends to get very heaty nowadays!

confused

Dun envy, you'll feel it too soon. And you'll wish he/she'll stop and take a break sometimes.

But i think i've low threshold for pain. Maybe that's why i can feel better.

Wenyl

I've been drinking more Chrysanthemum to be less heaty. I do agree now more heaty. Actually i was thinking i'm heaty based. Should be able to take most liang stuff.

Ya, confused, dun envy. ur turn will come. Initially i find bb kick very fasinating. But sometimes, if he keeps kickg & moving ard too much, you can't rest well, especially at nite.

So sometimes, at nite, I will talk to him & tell him that mummy gonna sleep now...so bb also must rest together & to stop kicking me. Hee Hee!

Mashy,
I got a bit of sore throat lately. so I make honey with fresh lemon to drink. Quite effective. Nowadays i dun quite like chrysanthemum smell. Dunno why. used to like it alot. So now, i make lohanguo to drink once in a while.

wenyl

hahaha, me too. Have to keep telling him that mummy wanna sleep and stop kicking me.

U better take care. I've been looking for lemons, dunno why the AMK NTUC always don't have. It's been more than 1 month already. Eee, i don't like luohanguo, find the taste too strong.

Sy
I will be staying in Crowne Plaza Karon beach... it's suppose to be a new hotel newly renovated open in Aug only... I'm looking to see it. From pic it's nice. We are having a seaview deluxe room.

mashy n cookie - at least u gals know wats your bb doing mah. For me no feeling n hopefully can feel it soon. yesterday gynae told me i might feel it later cos bb very deep in n i may have early delivery. (ask me not to be too active)

Re: Dr HK Ho

Hi Jan mtbs, I'm from Dec. Post here cuz noted a no. of you are with his package same as me. Just came back from his clinic and found out that he'll get a new 4D scan machine today. But he said his current one is already very good for diagnostic checks, so 4D would upon personal requests only and will costs abt $200. He also told us that 4D is not necessary as it is not for diagnostic purposes, more for "viewing desires" only.

My SIL did the 4D scan for her bb. But i fl when her bb gal born, still look bit different.

Anyway, dun intend to do cos too luxury. now must save save save for delivery and bb's items.

hi moonbell..wah that's ex! trying to keep my expenses down already..as i think i have spent quite a lot on medical bills.

Sunny

detialed scan is done on tummy... they say aft 3months normally gynae wont b doing through v aldy... ouch! tats painful...

SY

im not toking to my coy aldy la... no point keep on arguing, spoil my mood.. just gota b careful wf leave usage now... though not much left also..haiz...

mashy - i oso dont know leh, gynae say bb lying very deep in n cant see very clearly (though his machine very advance , still cant see very clearly) i didnt ask gynae much cos whenever i go for checkup i very gan cheong n forget wat to ask him liao

sunny - its scan thru tummy.