(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi celine77...thanks..

hi celine, think ur coy cannot deduct the 2days MC for sat & sun. my coy dont do that....and i think they dont have the right lor. y not ask ur HR to show u proof from MOM stating what they says. MC to us now is very precious lor cos we would anytime take MC..

celine

i think you've an unreasonable boss who is trying to cheat u. Big or small co? I think if your boss so unreasonable, no matter what MOM says, she won't believe coz her point is to make u think you've no case. And what can u do abt it? Maybe she'll just sack u for it. That's why there's been recent talk in the media that abt unfair treatment on preg women who can't get help anywhere.

hello gals

Long time didnt chat with u gals liao. I juz came back from my detail scan n confirm that my bb is a gal
hooray! my triple test show negative but i m having a problem, my sugar content quite high

krissie - yo! me too leh. gynae say that my bb quite big oso. (abt 360g++) i m shock leh. (he say my bb is european size bb)

mashy
think i will go check out motherworks after my detailed scan. hb doesn't want me to buy things before that.

cel_cel,
i read somewhere before that for executives, we will not be covered under the employment act. but it shd be stated in company's policy abt such treatment of MC.

smiley and mashy...

i reali feel so sad..cos of this, i had argued wf her once and things became sour...jus when things are looking up, she mentioned bout deducting 1day annual leav cos i exceeded the 14 MC, so i told her bout the MOM thingie( not deductible for non-working days ) but this MOM keep changing their advices and this girl whom i talked to said up to coy... and the call was done in front of my boss somemore..

u c y its so precious to me.. i had 2 bleeding incidents in first tri and so 2wks MC = 14 days MC... had 0 MC now n little leave to play ard wf...

i might call up again later whn boss not ard and get the person's name..if boss dun believe me, she can either call or jus stand firm her decision lor.. i feel so maloo, wana hide in a hole aldy..

celine

think u should get hold of the MOM gal and complain to her boss. Ai yah, think u better look for alternative job. Even if your boss should give in, relations are already sour. Anyway, this kind of boss not worth working so hard for. Quit after u get your maternity leave.

mashy

hw i wish i can complain.. but i forgot to take her name down... indeed thigns are a little sour... so sad, been here for coming 5years and relai enjoyed working here until my 2 weeks MC thingie upset my boss... though i hardly take more than 3MCs a year in the past...

wow detailed scan sounds so exciting!! congrats to all of you! hee i can't wait for my detailed scan too! hopefully by then can double-confirm that mine's a girl...coz last scan gynae said most likely a girl but i think this kind of thing cannot confirm till later! but my detailed scan won't be so early...think only 1 month later or something...still got long time to wait!

confused & krissie,
may i ask what did u all eat to make baby so big??
any secret?

durianlover

don't think u should try to make bb big unless your bb is too small. Wait u end up with a bb >4kg. Anyway, since u love durian so much, it's a good way to help bb grow bigger.

Hi Celine77,
I'm interested in item 1, can email me at [email protected]?

Hi cel cel,
think it is very unreasonable for your company to deduct full 7 days leave! Since Sat and Sun is yoru off day, though on youe MC it may include Sat and Sun, the company should only deduct off days that you are supposed to work...

Mashy,
the system sounds interesting, will take a look the next time I'm there... seems like a good way to stimulate bb learning...

SY,
yep, the cots are really expensive, coz they are 'branded', but really really nice. They do stock some interesting toys and learning aids for babies too, so worthwhile to pop by if you are there...

Hey Ladies, asking whether anyone know of this...? I recently saw a documentary on Baby Signing, and seems pretty good for baby communication...am keen to let bb try when she is a few months old... basically, the parents use very simple sign language to communciate to the baby the item or the action... so that the babies pick ups the signs and can communicate to parents their needs and wants even before they learn to talk! The programme showed that contrary to some beliefs that signing may slow the development of speech in babies, it is actually reverse, babies who sign, pick up speech and language faster than other babies.... sound pretty cool uh?

celine

*sigh* sometimes it's the female bosses who are the least understanding and will be jin jin ji jiao. MCs not supposed to include non-working days what. U haven't said whether it's a big or small co. I suppose must be a small one right, else they will not do that. Only if she's the owner of the co, then she will bother whether your MCs should include in non working days.
Or why don't u go back to your gynae to reissue the MCs to exclude the weekend? Can be done?

sleepingdeer

I'm very interested in the signing thing. Do u know where they conduct this course? Wanna teach my bb next time. Or can we invent our own signs?

celine,
After reading an article about a woman being dismissed during her 7th month pregnancy, I was really upset about how much government can help us pregnant woman. I really hope there is a support team from government to help us MTB and make sure that companies don't discriminate pregnant mums. My company is under going restructuring and I'm worried about my position now...

celine

the website i provided above has a link to all the baby signing resources including video demo. Very good. Can see very clearly all the signs to teach.

celine
you can check MOM website
http://www.mom.gov.sg/FAQs/LabourRelations/EmploymentAct/SickLeave.htm

If an employee falls sick on a rest day, public holiday, annual leave, non-working day or on a day when he is on no-pay leave, is he entitled to paid sick leave?

No. An employee will not be entitled to paid sick leave on these days even if he is given a medical leave by the doctor. This is because the employee is not required to report for work on these days and there is therefore no necessity for him to apply for sick leave to stay away for work. However, he is entitled to claim for the medical examination fee. His entitlement to claim for other medical expenses would depend on the medical benefits provided in his employment contract.

so your boss should not incl sat and sun cos employment act say there is no need to apply sick leave on non-working day.

durianlover - i didnt purposely eat any food that make bb bigger leh. (gyane say maybe i eat too much that cause the bb to be big)

mashy - really thanks for informing us the sales. i'm so busy that i didnt even know there will be sales going on. and no time to go shopping. btw, when's the taka sales n isetan sales until?

Celine,
think must really fight for your leave. I find leave very precious nowadays and in your case it's really not fair. can write in to MOM to lodge an official complain?

Mashy,
thanks for the tip off on isetan sale. But i find isetan things more ex than the rest. and sometimes they mark up first as well. so must really do our checks before buying anything

Sleepingdeer,
i saw the signing course also. think darren lim and evelyn tan went for it in one of zoe's show. getting popular now.

thanks everyone for the consolation...

mashy, mine is a MNC - multi national company somemore.. not small. but HR matters controlled by Finance which is my boss n I. so if she says 1 means 1, 2 means 2..

i asked her if i can get gynae to re-issue MC, she say no. cos where got pple fall sick thur-fri, and mon -wed excld the weekends.. *sounds not so logical though, how bout annual leave? asked her also but she defended saying AL is different..*

Bulma, thanks for the weblink.. i saw that and even discussed wf a colleague..but upon showing my boss, she say it means otherwise.. basically i have tried ervy mean of arguing but FAILED!!!

Berlin, ya when we become preggie, suddenly our 'position' jus drop.. number of years here n working attitude in the psat doesnt seem to relate to them aldy.. the only thing on their mind seems to b only our ML and disruption brought.. haiz...

celine

since it's MNC, i think you've a bigger case. Bring it up to MOM or ST forum. Ai yoh, your boss so ngiao. Not even her own company what! Does she have a bigger boss? Or is she the biggest liao?

hello gals
i brought forward my detailed scan to this thursday.

hope to see bb is doing well inside. 'cos almost 20 weeks liao, still can't feel the movement...

mashy

its not her company la.. but if like according to employment act where salary above 1600, then i got no case aldy wor.. but i think MOM shld set guidelines for pple earning above 1600 lor, cos they are plenty who are above this range, not at managerial level and needs help.. the bigest is my CFO but i dun reali wish to cause alarm n unhappinness when i hav to stil bear until delivery.. moreover i need the job if not HB b stressed also...

Hi celine

Have u checked this?

FAQ on MOM website
Does it mean that if an employee is given a managerial or an executive title, he will not be covered under the Act?

The job duties rather than the job title given to an employee will determine whether he is covered under the Employment Act. In general, an employee is deemed to be holding a managerial or an executive position if he or she has direct authority or influence in the hiring, firing, promotion, transfer, reward or discipline of other employees.

So do u have pp under u?

hi celine
you company seems to have diff practice from other companies...
did you check with HR on the their standard policies? or it's all depend on what your boss said?

Mashy

i got 0 pple under, cos Finance dept oni got my boss n I. but MOM is reali contradicting.. they actuali say not covered if above $1600, regardless of level.. anyway i dropped them an email and hopefully the answer can b CLEAR enuf..

sunny

i do think its alittle different. HR will b my boss liao lor.. so who else to turn to..? but its not oni my coy doing it, my boss say he husband's coy also the same..though most coy will not deduct the non working days.. think if coy compassionate enuf, they shouldnt also.. i mean, how often do we have such cases.???

Mashy - ok thanks. i'll take note

sunny - no worries, this morning i told gynae abt no bb movemen n he say no need to worry. Some people feel it earlier n some later.

celine - your boss really stingy on mc

Hi Mashy and Celine,
Thanks for the resources, the website is very detailed, wonder if we can learn it ourselves afterall..? But the Babies n Cream workshop is pretty affordable also... hee hee, will definitely try to do something about it... I think it's worth while to try out, as long as we know what are baby's needs, think both mum and baby will not get so stressed out...

Celine,
i think the reasoning your boss give is totally ridiculous. Think you really have a case to fight against, I never heard of anything like this before boy!

Sunny,
good luck on your scan. DOn't worry about not feeling baby, some people only start feeling it at 24 weeks

sleepingdeer

i think i'll self learn. I know a bit of sign language myself, so remembering them are easy. It's just the teaching to the bb part will be more tricky and needs a lot of patience.

Sunny
don't worry. I asked my MIL how it felt to have bb move in you, she said she didn't feel a thing then.

celine,
think mashy gave a good suggestion
that time me and hb got a problem and he wrote in to PMO office and we got a good response. Can't remember the exact problem but something to do with ROM policies and we brought up the point that it contradicts govt initiative of encouraging pple to get married. so can write in to PMO office i thin.

Sunny,
i also haven't felt bb move yet. but doc told me 20 weeks.

Sunny

dun worry, im sure your BB will give u a powerful kick soon

thanks gers for all the advices... its good to know ur share my thoughts.. thought im the only one who thinks this way.. anyway, kinda resigned to it, cos if things turn sour again, its gona b bad...

the other time cos of my 2wks MC, boss not happy aldy, had an arguement, cried so badly and we had a cold war for some time...shall not go into the arguement details in case i bore all of you

i just hope to stay happy mum to be for bb now...

yes cel, not worth it to be upset over this kinda person. more impt to maintain a happy mind! think of ur bb and u will be happy liao! :D

Have been following the thread . Singapore MOM is indeed not helping the pregnant women . I left a job of 6 year to join this company and they retrenched me after knowing I am pregnant at 11 weeks when I am there for five mths already . No compensation just one mth notice . Check with MOM and they can't do anything . only if you are at last three month pregnant then the company need to pay . If that the case you need to disclose only when you are at your six mth ?? but the stomach shown ???

This is how the government is taken care and encouraging us to give birth ????

Celine ,

Try to ren till you are at least six month . Don't argue with her . They cannot do anything if you are near to deliver if not they need to pay just like the one on the paper . Three month maternity plus one mth notice ...total four month .

Hi all, have just fixed an apt to TMC for my detailed scan... was not going to do it but changed my mind last min. So excited now... = P

Cel_Cel - I think your boss basically is just trying to be difficult & mean, she probably made a mistake but yet not admit & argued her way through instead... so terrible... Think u should write in to Straits Times Forum, dun mention company name of coz, but must talk about MOM's different standards & inconsistent replies.

mashy - i dun have cramps on tummy but on legs. it could be your baby moving inside or playing with the cord?

clare - yes it is a good decision to make. i wish i can see the scan anytime so can see which position he is and what he is doing. hehee.. when is ur scan btw? also do ask abt your placenta position. mine was abit low but she said its normal. FYI, i understand if its low, will have to opt for C-sect so i am praying hard that it will go up up.

Clare

when is ur appt? i called TMC wanted change to Sat, they say fully booked til end Sep.. cant save up my AL liao...

Mashy

think sometimes when i bend alittle too much, i get a little stiffness at my sides also... try not bend so much lor..

Thanks Def, surely i will tahan... for bb for hb...

Celine & SSF

it's not from bending leh. bb tugging the cord? Is that possible he's so strong? Anyway, i was thinking, if contraction pain is going to be like this (magnified many times), i will def go for epidural. Ouch!