(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

babylon,
will your hubby be staying over?
i shd be getting 1 bedded cos i want him to accompany me.

babylon - your gynae need u to confirm so early??? mine only think in week 28 or 32...

agreed with SY, room u will be getting depend whether you wan ur hb to stay overnite with u... if you dare enough, 2 or 4 bedded, if otherwise, 1 bedded is the onli choice.

babylon

i'll probably go for the 4 bedded. Anyway, the nurse says can just choosed 4 bedded first, later if wanna upgrade, then upgrade.

hi SY,
hahaha this is so amusing. I think i'm ur sis' classmate who's the same age as you! fancy meeting u here!
well it's gd to be able to keep in touch thru this forum!

i started to feel baby already...quite sure it's baby coz can feel the little 'pop' on my tummy and when i put my hand on tummy, can feel the movement. It's quite exciting
First felt it when i was on the bus and i started smiling to myself! heh.

celine,
yes i know what u mean...i think my tummy like suddenly grew v big overnight...hubby also shocked. But i realised that my tummy's usually bigger at night as compared to early morning. Strange...

babylon,
i think i'll be getting a 1-bedded room so my hubby can stay overnight. Also we hv lots of relatives n considering it's our 1st baby, think there'll be quite a few visitors...more privacy if we get 1-bedded room.

Pochacco,
dun worry too much abt the delivery...when the time comes, it comes! n i've heard of frenz who had relatively pain-free n short deliveries! So just pray n hope that all will be fine

ivory,
my EDD is 27 Jan, gynae Dr Douglas Ong, delivering at Mt A. Baby girl. Am 26 this yr. Thanks!

mashy,
got a colleague who advise me to go for 4 bedded also and upgrade when things are ok. she said that's what she did after delivery as she was being push to her ward. she told them she wants to upgrade to 1 bedded. cos if got any complications you won't be charged at the more expensive rates.
did consider this at first so will see how when the nurse explains the package.

durianlover,
coincidence to meet here!
i haven't felt bb yet. my doc say shdn't be so fast and told me i will feel bb at 20 weeks. but i did feel a small vibration before so dunno whether that's bb.

my tummy is also bigger at night. is it cos of all the things we eat in the day??

can ask something? i heard that after delivery, will have a lot of discharge etc and it can be quite painful. i tot that part sounds scarier than the birth process itself. my fren's sister told her it's really very uncomfortable and like any slight movement, u can feel a lot of discharge coming out. how long does that last usually?

etelle
the blood test we do also include triple test. I got back my results liao..Thank God Generally alright...hmm.. but Dr Ho didn't explain much...dunno if he very busy... my last appt he like very rush like that but my appt was last min one... so he squeeze me in.. my HB like that very good already.
the blood test come in 2 report, 1 on other test, 1 on the triple test... tell u the ratio and some percentage etc..
At least u still drink HL... I dun drink at all...I only started to eat cheese...

SY
talking abt kerger... I only did for 2 days then I forgot...hahaha... got to rem tonight... I dunno ley according to my gynae nurse and my book.. she say can do anywhere, sitting watching TV, standing, even in office typing...but I noticed after I did for 100 times one nite... next day my bum has some muscle ache...hahaha I wonder I use the right muscle...
Hope u get deals from natas...!!
I booked my trip to Phuket, tho cannot do much there... but I book a nice looking hotel to relax there.. but before I go I must slog in office to compleet lotsa work first...*faintzzz*
Aiyo... my HB same as yours... ask him go shopping check out bb stuff... he will say here crowded there crowded etc...buay tahan...

babylon...
I should be taking 4 bedded... heehee... me want to save the money to buy other things for bb

Hi ladies!! It's been a while.... Hope everybody is fine.

Me haven't started on baby shopping yet. Think I'm the only lazy mum!! hahah..... Went shopping with my mum last week and came across this shop selling bb stuff which I think is really cheap. 6 pcs for $10! Think I'll get some later.... Will also try to ask my friends if they can lend me some new born clothing as I was told that bb will be easier to look after if he wears 2nd hand clothing...

Think we felt bb's movements on Saturday night but I'm not very sure. Hubby was certain it was the bb moving. I was doing nothing then and was staring at my tummy and suddenly I saw it twitching for a few seconds...... then hubby put his palm on my tummy and said it was certainly moving!! Didn't feeling any bubbles though.

i will be giving birth at Gleneagles Hospital, it is either 1 beded or 2 beded..still considering of getting 1 bedded...coz i got vey bad experience taking 2 beded..sharing room with someone.
You can't really sleep coz the the visitors from your next bed..they are talking and chatting loudly without considering there was another patient beside her..and keep opening and slamed the door.

Hi SY,

For me personally, the discharge was like normal menses. It lasted for about three weeks. No pain. For your info, Breastfeeding helps to decrease the discharge.

You will be so intrigue by the baby that you would notice any pain. I had episomy (Spelled wronly?) but with some pain killers for the first week, i didn;t really feel any pain. Gynae helps by precribing laxative to 'loosen' your stools so that you don't have to force them.

my experience yesterday..
i was taking MRT from orchard to city hall..
and got myself a seat at a corner..suddenly 2 philipino ladies also get ino the train from the same station as me..and there is only 1 seat available that was next to me. and both of them shared the seat..and trying to occupy another 1/3 of my seat...i felt rather uncomfortable coz i was holding 2 shopping bags and also my own bag..i get pissed off and stand up..stared at them. From their eyes..i can see that they were very embrassed..coz a preggie woman gave up her seat for them.

wonder any of you got bad expeience in the MRT..

I did encounter everytime i took mrt after..

Me went for my gynae apt on last Fri & am in my 22wk now. Gynae says BB is "hyper curled". BB looks like she's doin yoga/stretching coz i think i can see her bending at 90degrees head down with fingers touching her toes..hahaha... then again its 2D scan so may not really be so, but we had a hard time seeing if Boy or girl... after some time gynae says in her opinion most likely a girl... but many of my colleagues & even my MIL still are saying might be a Boy instead coz of the way my they say my tummy looks. = P

Have actually decided not goin for the detailed scan but after reading many of your detailed scan it sounds so fun... now i'm abit wavered... more of to see BB & getting a detailed report on BB's growth for BB to keep as a momento in future... heehee... My gynae says if i wan will have to go by this week liao n she can help arrange to be at TMC $200. Can i ask if:
1) Do we get to keep the report? Will there be a scan pic of BB as well??
2) Cost - I saw some of you detailed scan at TMC costs less than $200. Was it arranged by your gynae or did u just call up TMC & book yourself??

What's Kerger btw??

Mashy,

Thanks for the compliments on my mum.... yah she really looks young & i'm used to it liao... my closer friends even say I look older than her... hee hee = P

will be visiting gynae tonight. shd be able to tell BB sex liao. so excited! hope BB will be co-operative and open legs wide wide..

Hi Cookie,

which resort will you be staying at phuket? remember not to go for any jacuzzi, steam bath or massage. hee, let's remind each other to do the kegels, very impt!

Hi Yuki,
thanks for sharing. feel more comforted. maybe the BF part makes a difference. i think my fren's sis din BF so probably that cause her to feel more discomfort. for the episotomy, is it a must?

can ask something? is it safe to use yu yi oil on the tummy? I get gas in the stomach at times and i used that.

babylon,
no particular bad experience but just no seats during rush hour! and sometimes pple just stare at me. maybe they trying to decide whether i just fat or pregnant.

Hi SY,

I don't know if it is a must for the episotomy. You can discuss with your gynae. Some people are not comfortable with it. I guess it just aides in the coming out of the baby, especially big baby. I read in some reports that it's better to have episotomy than to force naturally cos if force, you can't control the tear and sometimes it affect the anus....

I don't know if it's safe to use ru yi oil. I do use some on my tummy at times. I thot if it's safe for a newborn, should be ok. If you are unsure, can check with your gynae also? I super kiasu, everything also ask around or call and ask gynae, sometime just the nurses.

Hi Yuki,
i tot the same way too....extrapolate whatever that is safe to use on NB to myself. will remember to ask my gynae next time. but tot that since i already use, no point asking... but still good to check

i think shd be safe to use the oil on ur tummy...my colleague who was pregnant before said she always used that to get rid of bloatedness n her baby turned out perfectly fine

Think gynae wld assess during the labour process if an episiotomy is necessary. Most gynaes wld rather give one than to risk a tear, which may turn out more painful n messy. My fren who gave birth & had episiotomy said it didn't cause much pain coz she had painkillers to take n the stitching was done well!

Do u all notice that there're more pregnant women ard nowadays? haha, or mabbe it's just that i happen to notice pregnant women more now that i myself am preggie? And i realised that on crowded buses, pple still don't give up their seats to pregnant women! there were quite a no. of times i was on crowded buses with other pregant women standing and no one gave up their seats to them. (i think pple still do not think i'm pregnant coz tummy not big enough!)

Also, ask u all, do u know if it's unsafe to take the chinese herb 'dan gui'? not sure if this is the way it's spelt...but heard that no good for pregnant women to take. Is it true??

Sy: it is not a must for episotomy but most gynae will perform that. If it is a big baby, episotomy will cause the perineum to tear even more. Just imagine cutting a paper and tearing it.

Durianlover,
that offers some comfort cos i have been using it.

I do notice more pregnant women ard. Maybe baby bonus is really working??

MH,
i have heard of that before as well. if bb is really big, then episotomy is needed. just think that it sounds really painful...

Hi SY,

Hee Hee, with epidural, i feel nothing at all.

Just read in another thread title something like " feel like dying after childbirth'. The lady mentioned that hers was a overdue baby and when gave birth at week 42, her baby was 4.3kg.

As the baby was big and she delivered naturally, it causes her to have some fractures or something like that. Says she was bed ridden for 8 months and had to go thru a few operations.

Sounds scary. Anyway in her case, she was wondering why didn't her gynae advise her to have C-Section instead of letting her go thru these problems.

Hi Babylon,
was thinking either 2 bed or 1 bed. My hubby more towards the 1 bed as he wants to stay over, and he concerned about the amount of rest I will get if it is a 2 bed and there are lots of other visitors...

Cookie,
wah, I must be more displined like you, I haven't started yet. Swim suit got already, then last weekend too lazy to go swimming also... I try a little kegels for fun also, but not sure whether am using the correct muscle or not. Best is to do when we are peeing, but how many times can we pee in the day right?

Hi durianlover,
yeah, I do notice more pregnant women around, even my hubby comented on it, and says that the baby bonus must be working! Dun know whether it is coz' we never notice them before, coz' not pregnant?

I went Great World City on Saturday, and popped by the Mother Works there. Was looking at their baby cots, some of them are soooo beautifully crafted and finished, but so so expensive also, like one 4 in 1, which is a cot, toddler bed, changing station and can be converted to a 2 seater, but it costs $1000 over, wah, crazy uh?

sleepingdeer,
not supposed to do kegels when peeing. it will cause the bladder not to be emptied fully and be at risk of urinary tract infection. u shd only try to identify the muscle during peeing and once identify, do it under normal circumstances.

motherworks is ex! i went to their website once and though the things are nice, i dun think i can spend that kind of money on it.

Yuki,
i also went to the same thread. it actually happened to a colleauge's relative so when i read that i asked him abt it. he said she's going for op soon and let's hope she can get better.

durianlover
I heard from TCM chi phy say no "dang gui" for preggie unless they are the ones who prescribe it with some other herbs to balance.

Hi SY,

IT's even scarier when it's someone you know even thou very distance........

I will be delivering in NUH and they only have 1 or 4 bedder............ I opted for the 1 bed for my first delivery so that hubby can stay with me.
A friend of mine also delieved at NUH has to opt for 4 bed cos 1 bed full....... Says hers is a multi racial room. Opposite of her is a indian lady, diagonally is a malay and the one beside her comes from China. The disadvantage is the lack of rest like what others have mentioned.....

But i guess for those hospital which have two bed then not so bad.

hi all...i just returned from my detailed scan in Serangoon today. Baby is fine and its confirmed to be a boi boi. the detailed scan is really worthy to go. can see baby's spine, ears, eyes, mouth, limbs, heart etc. Clearer than the normal scan and you can confirm the gender on the spot as well.

I saw my baby opening his mouth, and sucking his thumb. so cute! such thing I don;t see in normal scan. and the doc saw my baby's side view and compliment that he got a nice nose. haha.. so funny!

anyway, its a relief to know he is growing well and healthy. His weight is lesser than yours Queen..about 318 grams. But the doc said its within normal range.

I also went for Mdm Wong classes at TMC last sat. And it is really fun..doing exercise with my hubby..the dos and don'ts..myths..what to believe and not. really worth to go. Now i get my hubby to do hand massage for me when he watches TV. haha...and I know the right way to get up from bed.

I saw in th lift the prices for the delivery in TMC and based on Jul 2005, TMC prices is cheaper compared to Mt A. So far cheapest is EastShore. So FYI for the rest.

hi durianlover, yes from the classes in TMC, no dang gui. You are correct. and they mentioned abt bird nest that in the past, bird nest is scrutinise under magnifying glass to ensure there is no hair but now they just bleached the bird nest and most hairs are not so obvious. So dun drink too often and don't ever give baby drink.

SSF
congrats on your good scan. i also hope bb will be active during scan so that it's more fun.
what is bb's normal length at the time of the scan?

Queen,
If u have Std Chart card, its $98 (promo ends 31 Aug). Normal price $128. So far, I have used it for disc on the detailed scan & antenatal class. If u gonna stay in 1 bedded at TMC, its a $100 off. If ur gynae is under this scheme, we get disc from delivery charges & later, we are entitled to disc on padiatric fees. Tats all I can remember for now. But if u want more details, can give TMC a call.

Berlin,
I tink there's another class on sun 3-5pm by Mrs Wong, besides the 1-3pm class.

Etelle,
No prob. Wont be needing it liao. Thanks for your initial offer anyway!

Celine77,
Its ok. I got myself a pair of Dorothy perkins jeans liao. Happens to be quite similar to Petrol colour. Was hoping urs is the Rodeo colour.

Clare,
U shld go for ur detailed scan before u reach 24 weeks, if not, it wont be accurate liao. I paid less than $100 last thurs. They gave me a detailed report with scan pics. My gynae wrote me a referral form. I made the appt myself.

Babylon,
I will be opting for 1 bedder at TMC. More privacy & I want my hubby to stay over if he is tired to travel to & fro home. I heard that if ur bb is fine, they will sometimes let him sleep in the same room together with the mummy. For 2 or 4 bedder, the nurse will normally push the bb out after u finish bf.

SSF,
Congrats! Me also saw bb opening his mouth during the detailed scan. So exciting! He weighs abt 310g. Can't wait for my turn to go for the antenatal class next Sun!!

Nowadays, I ask hubby to help massage my neck & back at night. Helps me to sleep soundly throughout the nite. Can include 1 more finger/hand massage. hee hee! Told him if he practice more often & do it veli well, next time I dun have to spend $$$ on outside massages liao!

Hi gals!

durianlover

My hb and i also think that there's more preg women around. My hb even says that he just throws a stone sure will hit a pregnant woman. hahahaha! I can just sit in 1 corner of a restaurant and have another 2 preg women next to my table!

sleepingdeer
i just went to motherworks today. They've a very good range of things. And i'm particularly interested in the leapingpad learning system. So cool! My hb said, with that kind of price for a cot, he can buy a cot, a toddler bed and a double bed. Don't need to use the same one thru' out bb's life.

Hi SY,
oic. okie then, have to practise, practise, practise...

SSF,
so cute, can see your baby sucking his thumb. They saying that sucking thumbs are good practise for the babies so that in future, they latch on better to the breast and milk bottles, hee hee! Hope my detailed scan next Monday will be equally good!

Mashy,
I didn't see the Leapingpad learning system leh, what is that about? Just saw some strollers and cots... and some cute outfits... can't wait to start buying baby clothes! Yah boy, no way will I spend that amount of money on a cot...

cel cel
You mean the Mothercare cot? They have 2 sizes. Saw it more 2 weekends ago.

Celine
Where are you posting the clothes? too big for you??

Cookie
Congrats on the good triple test results.

Yuki
4.3kg s super big.. My gynae told me he suggested C-section for his patient when baby is more than 4kg, i think. But, that patient insisted she wanted natural. In the end, bb cant come out, still take C-section.

SSF
How many weeks are u? I think my bb seems big now. When I did my scan last week, at 21 weeks, bb was 450gm.

Wenyl,
I got your info. But called TMC, can't change cos Mrs wong's class are full. My instructor sounds like an indian lady, very long name.

Krissie

no no... im not toking bout the mothercare cot... was toking bout the Lucky Baby brand i saw at Carrefour Suntec @ $158, matress another $35 (4inch) rather big... its definitely bigger than the mothercare one... and so much cheaper!!

SSF

care to share share a little on the TMC course??? me stil thinking if taking the course.. HB works shifts so might not b able to make it wf me at all times... lonely girl... can you elaborate alittle on gettin up fr bed? is it from the side??

Hi Krissie,
wah, your baby big at 21 weeks... is your tummy showing alot?

Mine sometimes still look fat, not pregnant, make my hubby and me worried...

sleepingdeer

sorry, it should be leappad learning system. It's a pad where u can buy their books and place on it. It'll read the words, , tell stories, play games, spell in accordance with the book. You can just touch the word that u want the system to spell and it'll spell for u. Portable like the laptop too. Really cool. Not very ex, abt $100 for the system. Think i'll buy it next time when i teach my boy how to read.

krissie

sometimes i think these patients got no sense one. They keep wanting everything to be natural but end up suffering themselves. I was talking to some March MTBs abt big babies and the dangers, and some insisted it's alright to give birth naturally to big babies and says their mothers, sisters also can. *faint*. I give up, i just hope those other gals don't take their advice and insist on giving birth naturally when they've huge babies.

hi krissie,
ya those clothes are too big for me even thou they are S size. I will be posting them at the market exchange and here as well. u interested?

SY - i am not sure abt the baby length. sorry cannot comment.
Wenyl - same here i am also opting for one bedded in TMC so that my hubby can stay over with me and witness my breastfeeding. heehehe.. it be a good experience.

krissie - i am in my 20 weeks now and baby wgt is abt 318 gm.

sleepingdear - there are classes during weekend. afternoon and evening classes. so you can find the best time. all of them came with hubby so if you go alone or with ur mum, it be really wierd.

ok to get up from bed. never let ur hubby pull both hands up, it will sprain your back. what you should do is to lean on your left with your left hand under your head and the other by your side. And then use your left elbow and right hand to lift your upper body and halfway getting up, open your right legs about right angle to the floor and lift yourself up.

When squatting, always place both hands on your knee to push yourself up. i hope i am describing it well. hehee..

All - have anyone got any leg cramps recently? I got cramp on my right leg suddenly while sleeping and wake my poor hubby up to massage for me. haha...but one time only. oh and btw, the course mention to wear socks every night to prevent cramps.

went for scan yesterday..i'm expecting a GAL!!

the gender predictor is inaccurate.. ahhaa..

now already thinking of wat clothes to buy.. so sweet!

mashybrianz, sleepingdeer,
is motherworks generally expensive? i haven't visited their store but when i went online, their stuff seems ex but so nice...

krissie,
your bb sounds big!
but think bb are growing very fast at this stage.

ssf
thanks for the tips on getting up from bed. will make it a point not to let hubby pull me up. sometimes too lazy and will ask him to do it but usually i get up from the side cos it feels more comfortable.

hi gers...

got an issue to check wf your...

esp those who work in HR department and know the labour laws well.. pleeeeaaassseee help!

i took MC which spread over a weekend(first trimester when i had bleeding) and my employer deducted 7 days off my medical leave even though i was on a 5day week, and not supposed to work on sat n sun... my sis called MOM for me and they say shouldnt deduct, but when i called in front of my employer juz now, they say so long as u earn above $1600, its not covered under employment act so its up to discretion of company...

*sob sob* please advise

SY

The price for cots are very ex. For other stuff, it's comparable. They've a greater variety of stuff there including toys compared to other shops, so u may wanna take a look there.

Celine
Your company is just trying to cheat u of your MCs. Even though you're not covered under the employment act, i think u still have grounds for argument. Check your employment contract.

Mashy

but my employment contract also very brief, oni say 14 days medical leave... the thing is MOM keeps saying different things... my sis called up for me again and this ger say position n salary doesnt matter... but how to make my boss believe me now... she muz b thinking im damn sturborn!! so maloo...