(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

krissie - great to hear that your bb is OK. I cannot wait for mine next monday.

wenyl -share with me on ur experience on thurs

mashybrainz/celine,
The lady say can be convertible to playpen if you lift up the plank on top. It comes with wheels and can rock as well.

Pochacco

I recommend using FITI..the quality is comparable with paper premium but the price is much more cheaper..

try using pet pet before..dammn lousy

babylon - me will check out the price... do you think we should buy the diapers as early as in sep??? me thinking of buying early in sep since it will not turn bad one rite...

Mashy - i think will not degrade... was thinking since i am free now to think, might as well buy during sep... very KS mummy, too free liao...
i think probably will not buy the new born one...

there's supposed to be baby fair at taka in sept. will it be cheaper than?

babylon,
does fiti have for NB as well? will check it out. thanks!

krissie,
that's very cheap compared to pampers.
so is it better that baby use fitti for the day and pampers at night or just use fitti? not very sure cos never used any before.
or in the day shd use those cloth diapers and then use nappy liners?

wow, so fast talking bout diapers..??? hee.. how come no one mention drypers? no good har?

Berlin, thanks for the info. will go check it out. sounds rather good..

saw this romper at raffles place which im getting, the wordings juz got my eyes ;) it reads : I MAY BE SMALL BUT I'M THE BOSS! cute, is n't it? HB din see it, but when i told him the words, he say must buy!!!

i heard from my gal friends that pampers is still the best followed by mamy poko. but of coz these 2 brands are more exp. one said she has tried so many brands, ended up she still chose pampers coz the quality is better.

Did anyone catch the show "In the Womb"?

Watched it twice and thought it's a good educational show. Very overwhelmed with the birth part :p

My detailed scan is next Wed. Hopefully got gender news to share. Can't wait :p

Talking about diapers now ah... me used pampers premium last time. Used fitti but it leaked twice, then I stopped.

Now my boi's using Nepia and MP.. I have Pampers P but have not opened the pack.

Btw, I thot of something that u might consider : a binder for your tummy after delivery.. cos after delivery, tummy is loose and u will feel awkward as u walk about, it helps to firm/hold up the area around the tummy. It can be bot at Guardian. Just thot I share with you.

Mashy
Should not degrade...hehe... I stock up diapers for my boi too and have also bot NB Nepia for the twins...

queen
Not getting a seat on MRT is quite an occurrence but lately I do get, maybe cos tummy is rather big... usu given by middle-aged women(mummies)..

Pochacco,

Dun think need to buy too early coz we do not know the size / weight of our new born baby yet..

if the baby born small..we will need to get new bron..anyway..hosiptal will provide a pack..able to last for 1 week..

babylon - i think i will still buy the S size for bb diapers cos S size can be still usable even after bb outgrown new born size... i feel safer with stock at hm rather than last mins... veri kiasu mummy,,,hehehe

Hi Krissie,
happy to hear that your detailed scan went well! The feeling we get when is see bb moving on scan is very emotional and nice hoh?

Krissie/Mashy,
I read that for slim women, can afford to put on more weight, so dun worry so much ya? For me, very ba ba to begin with, have to control more

I will be heading down to see Dr. Ho today, this morning woke up with painful cramp on my left side, though when I got off the bed and started walking, it disappeared. My hubby keep insisting I call the clinic, and one thing led to the other, in the end the nurse advised me to better go down and check that everything is ok...

sleeping deer,

u b fine, dun worry... juz hav a check and gve ur husband a peace of mind
and bout weight gain, i think so long as its reasonable and you dun look like a ball, its ok.. i had a fren who put on 15kg but stil looked ok.. lets juz motivate each other to lose those kilos aft birth!!!

Hi all... have not read through yesterday's post but just came across this joke quite funny so thot i'll share with all of u... = )

Have you ever wondered why bras are lettered A, B, C, D, DD, E, F, G, & H and how the letters are actually used to define bra sizes?

Well, if you've ever wondered, but couldn't figure it out, here's the code:
A. Almost Boobs
B. Barely Boobs
C. Can't complain
D. Dang!
DD. Double Dang!
E. Enormous
F. Fake
G. Get a reduction
H. HELP ME, I'VE FALLEN AND CAN'T GET UP

Happy Tuesday!!

sleepingdeer,
i also get those pains sometimes when i get up too fast. it disappear too when i start walking abt. thing it's muscle cramp due to uterus expanding. a book i read say we must get up slowly. sometimes when i lie too long on one side, also feel a bit of pain.

hope your checkup went fine.

stylobb,
can bb wear S size immediately? I think i will buy some NB ones and if bb can move on to S, then it's better cos not so ex. never heard of nepia. is it found at ntuc?

i also tot of getting a binder. what brand did u buy?

hello gals

krissie - so happy that your detail scan went well n bb is fine. btw, hos much u paying for the detail scan? u did it in hospital or clinic?

sleepingdeer - me too leh, feel cramp on my abdominal. Mine is on the right side. i quite worried but i dare not ask gynae leh. I wait till next fri.

sy - wat is the purpose of binder?

sleepingdeer,
I have the soreness on my right side from my calf to my waist few weeks back. I went to see my gynae and he says it's due to hormones change and our nerves are tend to be soft. He ask me to try massaging and don't strain too much. It's goes away now after some massage.

thanks for all the concern and advise! just back from the doc's, everything is fine
Dr. Ho said that sometimes it could be a strained ligament or muscle. He also scanned my left side, and found nothing wrong...

Celine,
yah, actually, I felt that I was okie, but my hubby was very insistent I call the clinic, and you know the nurses will always advise you to come down for check just to be sure...

SY,
me too, think it's because I was sleeping on my left side too long, so felt pain..

Confused,
Understand how you feel, dun worry too much ok?
it's probably strained muscles/ligaments like me too, if not then uterus expanding...

Off the side gals, I also asked Dr. Ho about this embrassing problem which I have been having... when I sneeze, sometimes I leak a little urine... have read about it and though the book says it's stress incontinence, it should only be happening late in pregnancy. So anyway, since my hubby wasn't around, I asked Dr. Ho about it. He says it's normal, and that if I wanna improve the situation, can do Kegel (not sure how to spell) exercises, but hoh, have to do 100 a day! *faint*

So anyway, just some info, in case some of you may have this same problem as me

thanks for all the concern and advise! just back from the doc's, everything is fine
Dr. Ho said that sometimes it could be a strained ligament or muscle. He also scanned my left side, and found nothing wrong...

Celine,
yah, actually, I felt that I was okie, but my hubby was very insistent I call the clinic, and you know the nurses will always advise you to come down for check just to be sure...

SY,
me too, think it's because I was sleeping on my left side too long, so felt pain..

Confused,
Understand how you feel, dun worry too much ok?
it's probably strained muscles/ligaments like me too, if not then uterus expanding...

Off the side gals, I also asked Dr. Ho about this embrassing problem which I have been having... when I sneeze, sometimes I leak a little urine... have read about it and though the book says it's stress incontinence, it should only be happening late in pregnancy. So anyway, since my hubby wasn't around, I asked Dr. Ho about it. He says it's normal, and that if I wanna improve the situation, can do Kegel (not sure how to spell) exercises, but hoh, have to do 100 a day! *faint*

So anyway, just some info, in case some of you may have this same problem as me

confused,
binder is to bind the tummy muscles so that we recover faster from the loose tummy muscles. i read somewhere also about it. let me go and dig up the article but i did remmeber telling myself shd buy one.

sleepingdeer,
glad to hear you ok.
i also had back ache for a while past few weeks cos i almost slipped once and think i pulled a muscle. our ligaments and muscles become softer so we need to be more careful. my cousin (who's a doc) asked me to go swimming. he said it helps and good for pregnancy. so those who got your swimwear..dun waste

do 100 kegel a day!!??!! that sounds a lot. i read abt it too and it's supposed to help ur muscles recover faster also after you give birth..hee so we shd all start doing.

sleepingdeer
glad that you are ok.... me also experience cramp occasionally... but so far, everything is fine...

SY
how to do kegel exercise har?

i got this from the net cos i dun think i can describe it nicely.

A kegel is the name of a pelvic floor exercise, named after Dr. Kegel who discovered the exercise. These muscles are attached to the pelvic bone and act like a hammock, holding in your pelvic organs. To try and isolate these muscles trying stopping and starting the flow of urine.

Once you have located the muscles simply tighten and relax the mucsle over and over, about 200 times a day. These are basic kegels. There are many variations on kegels: elevator kegels (Where you tighten slowly, in increments going in and out, like an elevator stopping on several floors.), you can hold the muscle tightened for five seconds, you can bulge the muscles out at the end, and many other variations.

haven't try so far but think must do it.
let's remind each other...

sleepingdeer

I've the same problem! I also leak when i have a hard cough, or when i'm vomiting. But i find it so hard to do the Kegel ex. Cannot hold on for 5 secs.

sunny

u wanna know how to do kegel is it? ai yah, just try to stop your pee halfway while you're peeing. That's the muscle that we've to exercise.

SY
hee hee... I'm also 1st time mummy, so also dun know leh.. but my colleague told me can use the cheaper pampers in the day and use pampers premium for nite.

StyloBB
Where can u find Nepia? and how much is it? have not seen it before. Is there a particular brand which we shld buy for binder?

Sleeping deer, Confused
Thanks.. am so happy.. bb was so co-operative..

Sleeping deer
I asked Dr Ho if I'm putting on too much & he said it's ok. 2 kg a mth is alright.. can you believe it?? Yup.. Kegals are v good for helping continence.

Confused
My gynae did my scan. It's $100.

Mashy / Sleeping deer
You can do the kegels in sets. So, you hold for 1 sec and release for 1 sec. Then, you repeat say for 20times, maybe you can count it as 1 set. Or you can try holding for say 10-15sec, then release, also considered as 1 set. Then, elevator method is also considered as 1 set. But, elevator is harder to do.

Hi Sleepingdeer,

Just read your msg on BF. Ya It's tough work but very rewarding. The first few weeks are the most tedious. Just bear in mind that most mother go thru this. If we can, you can too.
I never thot or can imagine how it's like till i experience it myself. It's only when i looked back then i realise i can actually survive with such little sleep.
That's also why we are advised to rest when the baby is sleeping.

Kegal excercise and other stretching exercise taught at antenatal class are very useful. For me personally, i did those stretching exercise almost every morning and i had a very easy delivery. Push twice only the baby came out already.

Let me share with you my birth experience and put your mind on ease.

My water bag burst at abt 2pm and i went hospital at about 5pm after a nice shower and meal (cos i was afraid that these two will not be allowed....). Dilated only 1cm and doc says still a long way to go. Contractions came at about 8pm. By 10pm the contractions was strong and frequent but diliated only 2cm. Asked for epidural at 12 midnight. With epidural, i was able to rest and sleep for a while. Was so tired by 5am, fell asleep. Nurse woke me up at 630am and says i am ready to push cos diliated already. So they called the gynae and she arrived at 645. Push twice and Ta! Ta!...... Baby girl arrives.

So mommies, don;t worry too much about child birth.

Krissie,
Great to hear that ur detailed scan went smoothly. Can't wait for my turn on thurs.
I get emotional real easily nowadays. Sometimes my eyes will start tearing if I read some touching articles.

Sunny,
Ur turn will come when some kind soul gives up his/her seat to u. I was wearing babydoll top tat day. hee hee! It will make u look more obvious than if u wear normal tee. Tats the only time someone give me her seat. *Sigh!

Celine77,
Do let me know the waist & hip measurements. I might be interested. Thanks alot!

SY,
Thanks! Guess we wont feel paiseh after a while. Just the initial few times we aren't used to the attention cos we 1st time preggies mah.

SSF,
Will keep u gals posted after my scan on thurs.

Any of u went for hospital tour recently? I went for both Mt A & TMC. Was surprised TMC actually called me up to invite us back for a tea session with them this Fri.

The documentary "In the Womb" is interesting. I watched it twice too. Wonder if our gynaes here have 4D scan machines???

MashyBrainz,
Me too. I tried to do Kegel excercise but can only hold for a few seconds only. Must practice harder till can hold for 10 secs!

krissie, wenyl
so u tried the kegels? think i will try tonight. do u do it standing up or sitting down? think must really practice already

i haven decide whether to go for antenatal class. some pple say no need but i guess the exercise part is good. what kind of stretching exercise do they make u do?

think it's really exciting reading about all the mummies going for detailed scan. can't wait too!

Hi Etelle, ya i just joined. Got 2 know this website from my gf MTB soon this week.
Interesting! Got 2 know so many mama here to share experiences..^^ Nice 2 know all of U!

Hi Queen, ya i kena Dengue but thk God no need 2 stay in hospital. Fully recovered now. Bibi's fine. I was so super worried when my fever shot to 42degree.=P

went for checkup todae....still unable to know the gender of my baby, leg closed...
checked with the nurse about his leaving in december...but they said not confirm yet...

as for the batteried operated breast pump..im using tollyjoy, also not bad, only when the batteries running low batt then the sound will be louder...
as for pigeoon, i tink the assembling is almost the same...i choose the tollyjoy breastpump because the color is purple n white mah..i like purple color...therefore i choose the tollyjoy brand lor...
as i observed, on the market,i tink that the brand tollyjoy n pigeon is the most budget 1...if im not wrong la...

Hi Jas
I am sure you would feel comfortable here everyone here is friendly and nice

Jesyln
you are under Dr Ho right? Hmmmm so still haven't confirm ah wonder when then he decide hor???

morning gals!

Thanks SY!
Yep, if we practise more kegels, think we will be able to train to hold more than 5 sec. Hee hee, I haven't started yet, have to be more disciplined..

Sunny,
try to hold your urine when you are peeing halfway, sound easy, but without peeing, it's hard to imagine...

Hi Mashy,
yah, jialat when we have the problem. I've tried crossing my legs, or holding my breath when i sneeze, but still same results. I tried kegels yesterday, but realise after a few seconds, lose the sensation, so dunno whether I am still flexing the muscle or not...

Krissie,
sigh, my total weight gain as of yesterday was also 7kg, and i only 19th weeks, but true enough, Dr. Ho never mention a single thing about my weight, though my mum and hubby already starting to place restrictions on how much I eat liao
I tell them that as long as my doc never say anything, should be ok

Hi Yuki,
agree with you, I think of attending to bb needs, and crying, and have to admit it's scary. But like you, I tell myself can want, since other mums can do it... hee hee. Will see how it goes

Welcome Jas!

Rachel,
Good luck for your scan today!

Yuki
What time of stretching do you do every am? maybe I shld start also.. : )

Wendyl
Thanks.. I was qt surprised myself too. : ) Maybe it's diff feeling with our own bb.

SY
Can do Kegels in any position, even when you're in office typing. Do you have those preg books, can refer to the book for positions. They usually have pics.

Jeslyn
Thanks.. ya, they're cheapest for batt operated pump. So, the Tollyjoy is easy to use and easy to assemble? then, might take that too..

Etelle
Wah, your mum and hb so nice.. for me, everybody will give me strange looks when I tell them that I'm watching my diet, so worried that I'll starve bb. I tell them that I will still eat, but restrict my intake of fried food, sweet stuff, ice-cream, cakes etc..

Krissie,
glad our scan went well! Mine is on Friday at TMC. bSame here, my MIL 'scolded' me when I didn't want to eat so much rice during dinner. Say the BB will not get enough. Aiyo...

Wenyl,
I watched 'In the Womb' too! I think 4D scans is quite advanced, probably a very expensive equipment as well. Doubt most of the gynaes here will have the machine. But the baby in the show is so cute right? Yawning, rubbing her eyes, picking her nose. I wonder if our BBs are also doing all those in the womb.

I don't have the pee problem (yet). But I tried the Kegels anyway. Not easy to hold more than 3 secs leh.

Queen
Thanks.. I'm sure yours will be good too. As for rice, we still need sufficient intake of carbo as insuff carbo affects bb's devt. just fyi.