(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi celine...i mean get another fridge if you do not have enough space. cos you mention you will have a lot of supply *wink* i have frds who actually bought another fridge just to contain milk bottles. hehee

celine

Is the Ikea cot the $129 one? It's untreated wood leh. So means you'll have to kaki paint over it or there might be splinters. Not so ideal for bb.

SSF,
is it becos of their abundant milk supply? my fren told me some pple got so much milk supply until it keeps dripping non stop and they gave up breastfeeding becos they wanted to ask doc to stop the supply....

Mashy

no..no... its not untreated wood, its white sprayed paint wood.. about $329, theres a sample there of it being converted to junior bed as well. very sweet leh...

SY

The $99 is normal price i think, cos i went a few times and its always tat pricing unless its for a period lor..but its reali the same...

SSF,
so did your frens continue to BF? i know my fren's frens gave up. i think that is quite scary. but such things really beyond our control.

I am expecting my second baby, in my 18th week now. By right for second pregnancy should be able to feel baby's kicks earlier but till now the kicks are not so frequent.... Thou being pregnant a second time, it doesn;t stop me from getting anxious about baby's kicks..........

Anyway saw many of you discussing about baby bottles. From my own personal experience, don;t buy too many. I bought 6 Avent bottles for my first child but when i was at the hospital, the nurses feed my child using NUK's teats (latex type). My baby got used to the soft latex and doesn;t know how to use silicon teat which Avent bottle uses. End up we had to rush to Kiddy palace to buy Nuk's bottles and teats. Other type of bottles can accept both silison and latex teats but Avent has only silicon teats..........

I am using Avent steriliser thou. Can accept Nuk's bottles thou it dioesn;t sit well. But can still sterilises....

just wondering. what are the brands that are recommended for different things? For eg, steriliser most pple buy avent. what abt things like milk bottles, stroller, car seat etc?

SY

i think for stroller alot pple buy Combi. saw one at metro yesterday for $189, not bad, quite sturdy looking... colour also very nice.. quite a few choices. but if u hav frens who b getting u gifts or company welfare budget, can leave these items to them. for me, i b leaving the stroller in the company budget since bb wont b using it during first month also..

had my detailed scan yst and i am also expecting a boy! really many boys among our jan 06 MTB thread huh... ya i also have the line in the middle like some of u mentioned. and indeed realised tummy abit hairier now... cannot be because of a baby boy in tummy ba.. i think its normal when one is preg...

hi ivory,
can update me, i m expecting a boy too!

Cel_cel,
thanks for the info. I was also thinking some of the things no need to buy too soon. only buy those really really essential ones..

edd2jan,
congrats on your boy! realised there's a lot of boys also in Jan.

hi mashy brainz, SY,

Ya, i won't be moving myself. infact my mil ask me to go and stay at my mum's place for that few days of moving. keke...

i think i will get an advent manual pump and later if need electric one, will get ameda. coz heard that the medela mini electric is very noisy. like cutting grass.

SY,
ya i heard from a few friends already. all complain about the noise. unless u get the very exp one. i think $600+. if it's the medela mini, be it dual pump or single pump, it's going to be very noisy. one even commented tat it's so noisy, her milk couldn't flow out! and another one said, when she first turn on, she tot the thing is spoilt coz the sound is like cutting grass! oh an another one said, it woke up her daughter in the middle of the nite...so i suppose i won't be taking the risk.. furthermore it's not cheap.

SSF
I wished I had that kinda of problem - excess bm!!! Mine just enuf for my boi that time... next time hope will have more.

Haha..so many boys, hope I can tilt the gender ratio a bit to gals...

krissie
Yes, u are right...either transfer to Avent bottle or into storage bag. Why dun u try direct latch-on first? More convenient and less to clean up...hehe...

SY
So u identical twin... interesting.
Yeap, me also into my 17th week.

Yes, the Medela portable one is v noisy. I used the PIS, borrowed from my friend... super quiet and efficient...

Were u asking for the list? Yah, think mashy brainz sent.. I also kept it cos I have forgotten wat stuff.. but guess for me I dun need to get much lah..

celine
I suggest u go to Tai Sing at North Bridge Road to see the whole range of Combi prams and strollers, they also throw in freebies with purchase. Also got discount.
I just got a stroller (can recline all the way) after my current stroller is about to give way, they say they will also try to see if the current one can be repaired...

mashy brainz
I sterilise the stuff till my boi was about 18 months.. maybe becos the steriliser is sitting there, so I just do it.

yuki
Thankfully my boi super flexible from day one, breasts, teats (avent) also take... never reject, never fuss ...haha....

Mashy,
i din know abt the sterilising is only till 6 months. shall go and check it out before buying anything then. but can always use for the 2nd one.

Celine,
i shall ask my fren abt it. i know she got one so will ask her which one. if it's too noisy, will attract too much attention and not a good idea.

styloBB,
so we are in the same week. i haven't felt bb yet. dunno whether is it cos it's first one so not very sensitive. can't wait. all the mothers here making me very excited!

What does PIS refer to? Must go and ask ard more.

Mashy sent me the list already

is the place at tai sing a wholesale place?

StyloBB
Thanks.. I also prefer bf directly.. I'm just enquiring for times when I need the breast pump. BTW, when do we need the breastpump if we are on mat leave? I know when I come back to office will need to use it to pump, but during the 1st few weeks, do we really need the pump?

The Tai Seng shop is near where huh? Have not heard of or seen it. Is the whole shop all selling bb stuff?

Juliann
Congrats on getting a little princess.

StyloBB

wow, u r so informative..do share wf us the address k? thanks!!!

Juliann

wow, a little princess!!! congrats...

Hi Krissie,

I gave birth at NUH.

As for the question you asked about having the pump while on materity leave, well, to pump out the milk means you can store in bottles and your hubby gets to feed the baby as well.
That helps in their bonding and you can take this time to rest as well. When i BF my baby initially, it can take up to one hour per feed. Then have to feed every 3 hours. If you pump out the milk and hubby/CF helps to feed, you get more rest in between.

And yes, the medela pump is noisy. Sounds like cutting grass.
So for night feeds, i just let the baby latch on. After the second week, i master the art of lying down to Bf
At least not much backache.

Hi StyloBB,

Lucky you! My daughter is fussy about teats and we only manage to switch them to silicon type after one year...........

Celine, you are renovating your new place now? I just booked my flat, hoping to get my keys soon. Schedule seems very tight for me, cos I am hoping to renovate the place before I give birth 1st Jan (I will most likely give birth earlier, usually the case). I am scouting for IDs and contractors now. Can you recommend me your ID if you think she is good? If you rather email, my email address is [email protected].

Hi SY,
goodie, another reference we can learn from! Am also reading up on what the MTB in the earllier threads are doing...

Mashy,
thanks for the advise, I'm hoping to bf as much as I can, then can minimise on bottle feeding...
The babytown website seem to have quite alot of interesting things also, if it is online sales, then think will be a little risky, but since can go take a look, no harm...

edd2jan,
congrats on your bb boy! Wow, so far only pochacco, Juliann and mine is girl girl, let's see the rest.

Celine,
the cot sounds good, will go take a look also. I bought one, the Tom and Stephanie/taka one for my mum's place already, now looking for another one for home.

am also looking around for breast pump and pram. Think I will invest in a good breast pump as I heard from some mums that they can get tired out using the manual, and I am a very lazy MTB, hee hee.

I love the Quinny strollers, so cool looking and easy to move around. Only thing is the price which is so expensive. ANy mums using Quinny strollers with advise to give?

krissie
If I recall correctly I direct latched on for almost the first six weeks, in order to build up ss. At nite I let my boy take 1 fm but I still expressed at 11pm when he was drinking the fm. Reason being I was really too tired out and he drank v often (stimes can be within 1 hour!). Of course when he woke up in the nites I direct fed him... v xin ku but worth it lah. Apparently bb's suckling is more efficient in increasing the amt of bm.

If u intend to total b/f, do ask for your bb once u are cleaned and back into your ward, put bb to your boobs to let him start to suckle.
Also take note that on third day u might suffer from engorgement, so try to massage with warm towel and if boobs too engorged, try to express out the bm.

SY
I also never feel any movement but from the scan, can see they are both active lah...

PIS means pump-in-style... the one I used was dual electric pumps. V efficient for use in office but expensive, I borrowed from gf. I think the version they sell now is the haversack type. Might not be worth to buy it.

yuki
U having a gal or boi this time?
Yah v thankful that my boi feeds v well. For me no point pumping cos he drank v frequently that time, demand feeding, whenever he was hungry I just put him to the boob. He was also v good in that he can suckle each boob for 15 mins each, and then was done. One thing that spurred me on to b/feed otherwise would have given up that time!

celine
My gf gave good feedback for the Ameda pump altho I haven't used it before.

No problem mah, any useful info we share share..
Btw they repaired my current stroller w/o any charge. Wl probably be going down this Sat to collect it.

Those of u asking about Tai Sing....
750/752/754 North Bridge Road
(Along the way of the the mosque)
U can see a Combi signage outside the shop
Tel: 6392 1095
www.taising.com
Open from Mon - Sat, 9am - 5pm
U can ask for Eileen, she's pretty helpful.
They are the agent for Combi. Besides Combi, they sell a lot of other toys. Go down to take a look!

sleepingdear,
I like the quinny prams as well, but it's quite heavy leh 9 - 11kg. And can't recline fully. If for newborn, got to buy additional infant seat.

Hi prettycloud,
ya i'm in the midst of renovating. but mine is a terrace house.i'm afraid my designer don't do hdb. sorry can't help u on this one. i believe hdb has a long list of appointed contractors right? maybe u can use one of those.

Hi stylobb, thanks for ur feedback. ok set, me shall get the ameda pump then. but i will probably get it after i deliver, won't buy so soon.

Hi StyloBB,

Don;t know the gender yet. Waiting for the detail scan in early Sep.

Like you, i have not feel the baby's kick and is getting anxious about it. I do feel them just not too frequent. Mostly in the evening, once or twice..........

Thou tiring, i enjoy BF my daughter cos it's really good bonding session.

Hi Krissie,

Actually i BF my baby immediately at the delivery room after the midwofe cleans my baby. I read in books baby is most alert in the first hour of birth...........

I agree with StyloBB that baby's suckling is more efficient than pump. Actually nurses advise that it's better to feed direct for the first three weeks to establish the supply.

Another important thing i must warn mummies to be here is to make sure your hubby and whoever looks after you and baby to be supportive of BF.

My mum did my confinement and i took for granted that they will not opposed to BF. To my surprise, my mum always feel that BF is not 'full' enough for my baby and insist on giving formula milk. Being first time mum, i am also worried whether i have enough supply etc so sometimes give in and feed formula just to make sure........ One month passes and my mum found out for other aunties looking after theor own grandchildren that BF is very good for baby that she starts to encourage me to BF.

smiley

I'm also not sure how long. But since it works the same as the steriliser (using steam & very instant too), i think should be abt the same timing.

Those who used the bottle steriliser, may i know how long u let it on for?

celine: I got the Ameda pump and it serves me wuite well and it is not as expensive as Medela PIS. As I got sore and cracked nipple in the 4th day, I turned to pumping so as to maintain milk supply and to let it recover.

Celine, I see. Thanks anyway. Yeah, I went to the expo last two weeks. Got some IDs' contacts. So far, not very satisfy... will go on searching.

mashy brainz,
the bottle steriliser takes about 8mins.

MH,
ic. dat's good. btw where did u buy your pump? i only see is selling on momsinmind.com.

prettycloud,
no worries

btw does anyone know where is having sale for avent breast pump?

wow, all the mummies here very efficient. log on so early. trying to catch up on the info.

StyloBB,
thanks for sharing the address. will pop by one weekend to check it out...hee maybe we will see some of us there. just that we don't recognise each other...will they have sales? some places like robinsons have offers at times so will that make robinsons cheaper?

from the feedback seems like the avent pump is not bad. is it electric as well?

sleepingdeer,
like u i thikn i will be too lazy to use manual...already so tired so will be too lazy..

thanks to yuki and styloBB for sharing their BF experience. hope it won't be too difficult. my fren told me BF more painful than giving birth...

for things like breast pump and number of milk bottles, do we need to buy immediately or can wait until the first month over? if bb can latch on, then no need to buy so many right?

for those who are interested in KKH's antenatal classes, think they are filling up fast. only Tue and Fri 6.30 and Sat 9am still available starting in Sept.

btw, styloBB's msg reminded me of what my fren shared. she said that after she gave birth, she din get to BF her bb immediately and the nurses din even pass the bb to her until her hubby went to ask for the bb. apparently a lot of bb born at that time and the nurses were bathing them and took quite a long time. like what styloBB said, best to let bb latch on soon after birth (some books say within first hour of birth). so must remind hubbies to ask for the bb if the nurses forget.

Hi SY,

NO lah. Bf is not painful if baby latch on correctly. If nipple feel sore, can buy the medela nipple cream to apply, Safe for baby. Alternatively you can use your BM to apply on your nipple. It's a good form of moisturiser.

The nurses need to clean and check the baby before passing baby to you. For my case, i think they took about 45 mins. Afterwhich i asked to BF my baby.

Actually my advice is to buy the pump lah. During the confinement period, you can;t go out.......... Milk bottles, if you buy the Avent steriliser, they come with bottles. Thou it's ggod to let baby latch on but it's very tiring. If can pump out, can pass baby to hubby for feeding.

Hi celine77,

I think Robinson have them but they are rather costly. Average price about 400 plus. There are those very very pretty one and cost about 1000 dollars. But they are very light.